SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government’s NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of Tophatter

Tophatter reviews

428 reviews
18%
Categories: Auction
Palo Alto, California, USA
help@tophatter.com

428 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
45
Value
40
Shipping
40
Returns
31
Quality
41

All Reviews

formerl
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
9/24/16

Most of the items come from China. Takes weeks to get to you. No way to see where item originates from til after it is shipped, no way to see specific seller ratings. Got a pair of earrings that were PLASTIC!!!

Ask former about Tophatter
Advertisement
randyk30
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/24/16

My wife looked at three items. Next thing we know, all three items were charged to us. Stay away from this website.

Ask Randy about Tophatter
lupitag
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/23/16

I don't understand all the bad reviews, I have recently just started using this site and purchased some nice jewelry on here and received every one so far. Some things take awhile as it is shipped from China but overall I'm very satisfied.

Ask Lupita about Tophatter
israelc14
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/22/16

Register free at https://thelandofodz.com

Ask Israel about Tophatter
cindyg42
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
9/20/16

I have bought at least 12-15 items. They are as beautiful as I hoped they would be. Come on, I don't think everyone has the finances to want to afford the real stuff.

Ask Cindy about Tophatter
lorim74
1 review
5 helpful votes
9/20/16

Thought it was fun until I ordered from a couple horrible sellers. They immediately "create" a shipping label but never send item. Have rcvd 2 refunds for non-shipment and have a dispute in with Paypal now for an item that I paid for on 9/2 and never received. If you use this site make sure you pay with Paypal so you are protected.

Ask Lori about Tophatter
michelleh30
5 reviews
5 helpful votes
9/19/16

I purchased a green Dell laptop for my son, mainly because his favorite color is green. I received a black laptop thrown in a prioroty box with generic cords. The computer was covered in adhesive. I attempted to request a refund. Seller does not give refunds, therefore I cannot request. I went through the Tophatter customer service to report the item and went on to explain that it was grossly misrepresented. I was sent an automatically generated response telling me to wait 48 hours. That was a week ago. I have since contacted them three times regarding this topic. No response. I also had bid on a bracelet. I won the bid. I received an invoice for a ring. I have sent four messages to try and resolve this matter. I was of course was unable to bid on another item until the "ring" was paid for. That was actually a blessing in disguise. I simply looked on Tophatter to see if there was anything that I was interested in. I wrote down the items and their cost. I then checked ebay, Google and Amazon. Found the $16 dollar earring on EBay for 2.00 with free shipping. Will be contacting attorney to see what can be done about this situation. Ebay was never known for good customer service, but at least purchases are backed and protected. 15 years on eBay and I have only had to contact them 2 times. I guess I will stick to Ebay and Amazon. Oh, as for fragrances, which seem to be the only actual deals on Tophatter, try fragrancenet. Killer prices on designer fragrances. All Tophatter users, proceed with caution and good luck.

Ask MICHELLE about Tophatter
jessl46
5 reviews
1 helpful vote
9/18/16

I have only ordered from here twice but I received both of my items within a week and both were as expected. The first item I ordered was an Android watch that I got for $15 but with the $5 towards your first order I only paid $10. Works great and looks great. Then I ordered a color changed light bulb with a remote that I got for $7 and that works great as well. I will continue to use the site unless I encounter an issue like some of the reviews I've read and I then will update here. I think a lot of the negative reviews are just because people don't read what they are actually buying.

Shipping
Quality
Ask Jessica about Tophatter
dpnyp
1 review
3 helpful votes
9/17/16

I ordered a cushion-cut aquamarine ring. It took only 5 days to receive and it is beautiful!! Sure, it is gold-plated 3X but what do you expect for the price! Only time will tell if the plating will last. A bit big, but I'm wearing it on my index finger and it fits OK there (my fault when ordering.) I ordered this ring before I read these scary reviews but everything turned out alright for me! Will consider bidding again!

Ask DPNY about Tophatter
alicep39
1 review
7 helpful votes
9/16/16

I ordered an Android Watch, and never received it. Customer service said I could get a refund only if I returned the item....which I can't because I NEVER RECEIVED IT! The tracking number provided resolves to "No Item Found With That Tracking Number."

I have no recourse. Do not buy from Tophatter....you may or may not get what you paid for or get anything at all.

Ask Alice about Tophatter
claudinej1
1 review
5 helpful votes
9/15/16

BUYER BEWARE! This company rips you off. Their merchandise is made to look way different on line then what you get. I bought a ring and could not get a refund or instructions to return it. Plus shipping to China is outrageous. Do not order from this company!!!!!

Ask Claudine about Tophatter
henryc80
1 review
4 helpful votes
9/14/16

is no way to tell where your item is coming from even after purchase about a three-week wait for delivery

Ask Henry about Tophatter
janetl41
1 review
6 helpful votes
9/14/16

Rip off!! Steal your money! Give you what you DID NOT ORDER!! NOT RETURNING INFORMATION!!! IGNORE YOUR COMMENTS!! HORRIBLE COMPANY. THIEVES!!!! EVERYONE REPORT THESE shysters to the better business Bureau!

Ask Janet about Tophatter
marym383
1 review
13 helpful votes
9/11/16

I bid on a smart watch and paid immediately. Bad new is..I never received the watch. To make matters worse, in spite of more emails than I can count, I never received even one reply from customer service. There was no way I could trace my order as it was marked "Untraceable". I would definitely never bid or order from them again.

Tip for consumers: DON"T USE THIS SITE>

Service
Ask Mary about Tophatter
janea44
1 review
6 helpful votes
9/10/16

I have bought probably a dozen rings via bidding, out of those maybe one was really cheap and dime store looking, while the rest I wear and am proud to wear. In fact I get lots of compliments on my rings and people ask me where I got them. Some of them took some time to get to me while others arrived in 3 to 5 days. Regardless, if you read the descriptions the majority of the items are plated, not solid. It's a great costume jewelry site. If you're looking for "Jared's" jewelry you're not going to get it with starting bids at $1 use your heads.

Ask Jane about Tophatter
debj13
1 review
3 helpful votes
9/8/16

I just bought my first 2 items on Tophatter. Then I read all these bad reviews and all I can say is I really hope all goes well. Looking forward to seeing my items. Hope to post a great review soon for both items.

Ask Deb about Tophatter
henriettaj1
1 review
11 helpful votes
9/6/16

STUPID ME, SAW THE SIGHT AND JUST STARTED BIDDING, THE STUFF SENT WAS DOLLAR STORE ITEMS. TOTALLY DISAPPOINTED, FEELING FOOLISH FOR WASTING MY MONEY.

Ask HENRIETTA about Tophatter
carries57
1 review
12 helpful votes
9/6/16

I ordered more than 30 items...dumb, dumb. Most items are cheap knock-offs from China; many did not work, fell apart, not even close as described... Forget trying to get items returned and refunds. Most of time (95%), just does not happen. Communication takes so long, time runs out; then receive messages such as: did not respond in time, seller does not take return (even when they do not work)!! Scam.

Ask Carrie about Tophatter
cindyf28
16 reviews
44 helpful votes
9/4/16

So far I have received all items I bought Most of the jewelry is very cheap even though tophatter claims its worth more and I mean lots more !!!! Ebay has some of these chinese sellers but at least the price is more in the neighborhood of what its worth plus you get free shipping. Every item just about has a tacked on shipping fee which is around 5-6 dollars. So if you win an auction then pay for shipping then you are probably paying more then the item is worth.Even the shipping is crappy. Most items came cracked because there was no bubble wrap just lots of tape.Dented boxes and ripped paper almost every time. Tophatter should not allow this. One item did not arrive and I did contact their customer service via email. I must say I was impressed on how fast they responded back to me and gave me a full refund with no questions asked .
This site is fun to bid and watch the live auctions but tophatter needs to clean up few major faults like shipping costs, overstating actual costs of product, better quality and decent packaging for shipping

Ask Cindy about Tophatter
lindal210
1 review
17 helpful votes
8/28/16

I won a bis on a bracelet and it was cancelled. At first they said wrong color. I said no it wasn't. They changed it to other. I've asked numerous times why it was cancelled. No answer. I'll not order from them again

Service
Ask Linda about Tophatter
robinl72
1 review
18 helpful votes
8/27/16

I have 3 things that have not been delivered, that came from China.. Basically top hatters said, they will not stand behind the sale and I have to hunt down the products... And file a claim with Ups.....I have one outstanding order, I paid on the 12 of August and it still has not been shipped!

Ask Robin about Tophatter
joanneo7
1 review
10 helpful votes
8/25/16

So far, everything I've ordered has arrived on time, and although probably not anywhere near the MSRP, the earrings and bracelets I ordered are cool. I like inexpensive, funky jewelry, so I am pleased. I was leary at first, after noticing some items were sent from China. So far, no unauthorized charges on my card.

Ask Joanne about Tophatter
ketah1
1 review
8 helpful votes
8/25/16

I ordered 2 large pictures from Collection Room. The next day I ordered 2 and asked for a refund for one of the 2. It was denied. They claimed they closed out the ticket. Within 2 hours. Bull! Then on top of that my privileges to bid were denied for 24 hours. That's fine because after I get my other things I am deleting the app off my phone. Very shady company.

Ask keta about Tophatter
kerris7
6 reviews
28 helpful votes
8/24/16

I joined Tophatter back in 2013 and I loved it. It was small, animated avatars would jump up and down when you submitted your bid - it was fun. Bottom line - it was FUN! Now - it's a hot mess. Change after change has been made and not in the positive direction at all. Now everything is all jumbled up and there are no auction rooms - it's a free for all. No more avatars. They used to monitor the items being sold and would stop you from re-selling fake stuff from China. Not any more. Do yourself a favor folks - and stay away! Because customer service now? hahahha! Yeah - right. Total joke. I used to buy and sell on here - but then I was 'banned'. Am I sore about it? Nope. Why was I banned? .... because I made a comment on the bulletin board (available only to Sellers) that everything has gone right down the toilet with their changes and I'm just hanging around to watch the train wreck. For that - they banned me. I continued to complain, just to make sure they knew that I didn't violate any of their 'rules', that they just didn't like that I was exposing them for what they were.... The owner of the site - has taken other on-line, e-commerce sites and maximized profits and then BOOM - declares bankruptcy and runs away with your money. I warned others that they need to research and arm themselves with information. Be forewarned ... if you get the wrong item. Good luck getting it fixed. Good luck getting an answer. Good luck period. If you've had excellent experiences ... pat yourself on the back. You're a lucky one! I used to purchase soo much stuff from them!! I mean... a LOT of stuff. Now - I've taken my business elsewhere. Their loss. Thanks for the memories.

Ask Kerri about Tophatter
marthar36
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/24/16

the earrings are beautiful..I received them earlier than estimated date of arrival.. the merchandise is always of great quality.., Love shopping on this site. Have recommended it to friends.

Ask martha about Tophatter
1 rating was submitted through the SiteJabber Browser Extension

127 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the Tophatter staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
1 day ago
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
2 days ago
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
See 20 more questions
See more Q&A
LoadingLoading...
Questions? Get answers from the Tophatter staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Similar Pages

×
Have a question about
Tophatter?
Post Review