Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of eBay

eBay reviews

Is this your business?
3,196 reviews
2065 Hamilton Ave
San Jose, CA 95125, USA
Tel: +1.4083767400
hostmaster@ebay.com
2017 Customer choice award

3,196 Reviews From Our Community

Service
192
Value
175
Shipping
164
Returns
151
Quality
174

All Reviews

michaels364
7 reviews
28 helpful votes
12/14/17

Expensive, slow, no up to date tracking. 5days ago said out for delivery but was 3500 miles away, total junk . Never update, no idea who carrier is, got stuff faster from China. If you have another option would use, Global shipping from Ebay, is horrible. Would never use again

Advertisement
venessaf
5 reviews
0 helpful votes
12/14/17

When you need help they're customer service is not working as it should work. Theres great items sometimes but no thanks

mohammadk31
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/10/17

Offshore customer support is not help at all, after many hours of being on the phone and between 4 or 5 transfers, they were not able to resolve the issue.

wendyn24
2 reviews
9 helpful votes
12/7/17

I received this insulting email from eBay because I received poor quality item from therenmystore (The RenMy Store and Homewares). I was so upset when I received the item that I just left honest negative feedback. At no stage did I ask the seller for a refund of $15 because I just decided to have my say and suck it up as a poor purchase.
The meaning of the word extortion is to threaten someone in exchange for financial gain.... I simply did not do this. The seller contacted me to change my feedback and I said no because I would be lying to say I was happy with the purchase when I wasn't\ she went and complained to eBay and in return I received this email.
eBay policy breach: Feedback Extortion

Hello XXXXXXXXXXX,
Weve looked at your eBay account and see that some of your actions do not follow eBay's Feedback Extortion policy. As a result, we've taken the following steps:
- The following feedback you left has been removed:

Using the feedback or detailed seller ratings (DSR) systems in exchange for any of the following isn't allowed:

Buyer:
- Forcing a seller to provide goods and services that weren't included in the original item's description.
- Demanding a return or refund.

Seller:
- Requiring buyers to leave positive feedback or DSR in exchange for receiving the purchased item.
- Offering monetary compensation or an additional item in exchange for positive feedback or DSR.

For more information on this eBay feedback policy, go to:
http://pages.ebay.com.au/help/policies/feedback-extortion.html

I find this email highly offensive, contentious and borderline slanderous.
Not only have they taken my rights away as consumer they are hiding the truth away from potential customers who may think that same item is great when it isn't. eBay have also managed to make me feel like a criminal...because that's what extortion is, it's a criminal act.
When you try to lodge a complaint to eBay it's like banging your head into a brick wall with only half hearted answers, like you shouldn't feel like this. Anyone would be upset to be accused of extortion when you did no such thing.

Tip for consumers: Don't trust Ebay feedback when purchasing items, customers don't like to give negative feedback because they want to receive positive feedback in return.
This sign was advertised as a plaque...I don't really think that it falls within that category. The hanger was a flimsy bit of wire and the backing was cheap and nasty and made the item worse than what it already is.

Service
Value
Quality
gloriat19
11 reviews
31 helpful votes
12/7/17

I bought a i phone 5C for my granddaughter for christmas recently. I decided to activate it to make sure it was all the seller said it was. It activated just fine, the problem is it doesn't keep time. It runs 5plus hours behind, wifi doesn't hold, I requested a return with no word from buyer. It is easy to charge a persons credit card, but hard to get people nowadays to admit they got a problem, I have decided for a few reasons that it is not a good season to sell or buy on ebay. Buyers & Sellers catch a bad rap. If you are not a big name, you probably don't get your item out there before you have to relist, more fee's. Auction style listings is just a license now to steal expensive products. People bid on your items and then don't pay, or claim they thought it was new. I just came back to ebay, and I will be leaving just as quick. I will pay my bill and delete my listings and close my account. This is not the season to support any business, that is shaky about supporting you. I will take a loss on the phone purchase and list it on another marketplace with truthful facts and the bigger loser will be the seller, who's reputation won't hold water as news travel that his or her products are indeed questionable. I am a vendor, who moves products, and work with people who also sold on ebay for years, but outrageous fees or too many problems pushed them right out the door. Ebay is a large marketplace, so you can expect problems down the road. I just assume keep it small, and have a say in my product.

spirosi1
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
12/7/17

very easy to shop, great communication,quick response to my problems, 100% money back warranty . Ebay is still better than the others .Great to find some good deals.

triciap12
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/7/17

Customer service is one of the worst in the business. When you need to return something, you are only given 5 business days, but the seller has 6 days to give your refund. My item was shipped back immediately after I received it. That allowed for 7 days to reach the seller. Unfortunately, the post office claims there has been a delay in delivering my package to the seller with no explanation. Please beware when ordering on Ebay as you may never receive a refund.

sallym73
3 reviews
5 helpful votes
12/4/17

The title says it all. Except for Amazon, Ebay is still better than the others that have popped up. I read the reviews for Posh, I tried Swap, and some other sites to sell on. Just getting up and running is too complicated. They want your contacts information; they want this and that. I do well - not fantastic - on Ebay and though it's going through some dramatic changes, I appreciate that it's around for 3P like me.

ricks163
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
12/3/17

been ebaying for about 2 years and like the return policy on goods not delivered. Etsy is also a good site to but it now pieces of art and handcrafting.

albertf39
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/2/17

A recent experience where I purchased a 'refurbished' PC from a company called pcdeals09 on ebay turned into major problems. The computer OS or HDD failed. I contacted the seller, he offered to send me another HDD with OS. I told him maybe it was only the OS failed proper install, if he could just send me a copy with the activation code and I'd try to install it and see if that fixed it, the computer had Win 10 installed, but had a Win 7 product code on it. He said not possible, he would have to send a HDD with OS. I agreed. After 4 weeks, it still hadn't arrived. I left negative feedback explaining the computer was defective and I ended up buying a HDD from another seller and OS. Of course it was negative. And ebay deleted it.I was not aware that ebay had a policy where they could delete feedback, other than profanity etc. of which there was none. No explanation as to why they deleted it, and I asked.. Apparently certain sellers are allowed to scam their customers. This tells me that ebay feedback cannot be trusted. I know I won't trust it any longer. I should have just opened a case and sent the computer back to start with. I have it fixed now at my own -additional- expense.

brookef9
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/1/17

My first and worst experience with eBay was when I was selling a code for a skin (digital character costume) that was exclusive for a virtual game. I didn't read the enormous sales agreement and once I had a buyer, I sent them the code to their email address immediately. Little did I now that in the sales agreement, the buyer had so and so days to request a refund and so they did! They received the code and took back their money fraudulently. I forwarded this information soon after in a report to eBay. What did they do? They absolutely ignored my concerns and charged me $14 for the posting, which I paid. I wish I didn't, because I made postings shortly after that didn't sell and then they charged me an addition $17, though I made no profit. This time I refused to pay and now they've deleted my account. I hope the karma they receive is suitable to their sociopathic nature as a company.

georged98
3 reviews
0 helpful votes
11/30/17

I've been selling on eBay for some years and had my first experience of someone who bought an item but didn't pay for it, so I wasn't able to relist it. I called eBay and they sorted it out for me in a few minutes, I was very impressed, thank you.

stefanoc18
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
11/30/17

great site, a lot of items, you can pay with paypal so no problems at all. it s great because you can find itemss from all the world

annettes43
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
11/29/17

I would highly recommend it to whom ever needed computer help and asked me my option she called me back to make sure I had any other concerns or questions, which I did not..

carlose27
13 reviews
3 helpful votes
11/29/17

This is safer than Craigslist. Ebay still has its share of problems and after MANY years of use I have had problems with sellers and buyers with every kind of problem imaginable. My favorite feature is earning eBay Bucks with every purchase which you can redeem after every quarter period. It is relatively safe to do business with. There is no perfect place.

sandrae38
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
11/29/17

Ive been buying and selling on eBay for a while now and I love it yea Ive had a few bad experiences but they were quickly handled and I was refunded or sent new items Ebay has a guaranteed get the item you ordered or money back guarantee and they stick to it just some people dont know how to go about getting their money back if you ever have that problem you just go to resolve problem in resolution center before 45 days of delivery or you wont get your money back Ive never had any problems getting my item or money back on Ebay their money back guarantee over rides any Ebay sellers return policy no matter what but that dont mean you should take advantage of a seller because that makes it very hard and difficult for sellers they dont deserve that and thats one reason Ebay will get bad reviews from dishonest buyers I only return if the seller is at fault not if Im at fault always read descriptions and ask questions before purchasing any thing so that you and the seller have made a great business decision together sellers if you decide to sell on eBay make sure you add as much description as possible and add ask any questions then document what you sent in mail that way when a dishonest buyer claims you sent a defective item you have proof you didnt and you can handle the situation over with Ebay or if your item didnt arrive open a case before 45 days you will get your money back please every one be honest when selling and buying because bad business is no business so thats all I have to say I rate Ebay 5 stars

sureshp13
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/28/17

such a stupid service i ever had , need to WAIT TO hear the customer care for more than 1 hour just to incrise your buying limits , its kind of they are doing a favor on you to buy.

christopherb144
13 reviews
5 helpful votes
11/27/17

There are ALOT of inaccurate descriptions of items and the quality is questionable most of the time unless you buy it new,and they're actions are set up for failure and the notifications can make You lose important deals,especially now it's the holiday season. Much BETTER PLACES TO SHOP FOR SURE.

sharond130
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/26/17

Somehow Ebay changed the nickname on my account as well as the shipping address. I didnt see the shipping address change until I'd made two purchases. They went to the wrong address. It was an address I had absolutely no connection with and the nickname is not something I would ever do. Ebay continued to say it wasnt their fault and they couldnt do anything about it. The constantly pushed it off and refused to help. I spent hours on the phone with them. One order I wound up paying more in shipping and the other just got sent back to the seller. I am so tired of companies who teach their customer service to not listen to what is being said but just read disclaimers from a screen and Ebay clearly is one of these. I'm concerned as to where my information actually went but they are no help.

stopm
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/24/17

Ebay only cares about large sellers small sellers have been priced out and kicked out for a lot of BS reasons they have lost my business for life will never buy or sell on ebay again

hughw15
4 reviews
9 helpful votes
11/24/17

EBay says they protect the buyer it's a lie. They will file a dispute and the seller will win. You will never GET A REFUND from e Bay or any of the low life companies they allow to sell on their shady site.

alandrias
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/23/17

In all seriousness you can make money every month!!! It's Easy!! Let us change your life!! Click link NOW!!!!...http://IncomeDoze.com/?refer=58154

matth2434
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/22/17

We bought a toy for our grand child on Ebay and it didn't arrive, Ebay say when we purchased we didn't log in so it's not their problem we need to take it up with Paypal. We don't have a Paypal account and don't want to open one, so no help. Will NEVER use Ebay again

ebayi
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/21/17

Every negative review is correct. eBay gives option of no returns but makes you accept returns. They steal your money if you have it in PayPal. If someone buys something and then falls off the face if he earth and never pays. Its my issue. But I cant leave negative feedback for people who dont pay. (Totally makes sense). If you give someone your phone number you automatically pay a final value fee, even if the item does not sell. Even if you dont know that was a violation. Even for car stuff and cars which it says you can list your phone number on their own website. If you have an issue a non US person will always tell you theres nothing they can do. They are one of the most ruthless companies Ive ever dealt with and useless for customer service. They lie, cheat, and steal. What a combination. Keep up the good work eBay. If theres anything I can hope its that Craigslist, LetGo, or an other company that does this kind of stuff keeps taking market share away from you and you become a bank with all your monetary transactions you do. Then real banks like Goldman, JP can crush you. Youve been hacked and tons of peoples information has been compromised and youve done nothing about it. No one ever was compensated for your lack of security on customers most precious personal information. eBay I just want to thank you for being the worst. Its a great example to everyone on what not to do.

christinaw81
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/21/17

I wouldn't order from EBay. I ordered from them several times and never received the item. They told me that they can't give me a refund or resend the item I purchased cause it said delivered. I brought a action figure for 35.00 plus 15.00 shipping and never got it and didnt even received a refund. I also ordered a movie and it said the post office delivered it on Sunday. Really? The post office is close on Sundays. They was also so rude about it, even the manager. In my book, that is wrong. I am not a happy customer and I am gonna start buying from Amazon. At least, if you dont get something, they also give you credit and refund you. If I was you, I wouldn't order from them. I would go to EBay or somewhere else.

1,463 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 13
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Ebay is a den of thieves. Even Ebay is evasive on complaints to answers. When looking for items, be sure to be fully informed to what you are shopping and use all that knowledge to cypher the listing, even then have found those that list items to be evasive on answers. Avoid ebay if possible!

By BroC H.
Helpful answer 9
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

For their own purposes and to protect dishonest sellers. I was once an avid EBay shopper, but now avoid EBay. Buyer protection no longer exists. You buy at your own risk.

By Christine P.
Helpful answer 6
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Ebay sells nothing. You are dealing with private sellers. Some are good, some are not. The best way to determine this is to check the feedback. I personally never buy from anyone who has a feedback lower than 90%. 96% is considered bad, by Ebay. Take that with a grain of salt. Ebay management is nuts.

By Valerie F.
Helpful answer 3
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

For myself, will use ebay as a last resort. Ebay is a den of thieves. Had one seller send me a phone book and sex book in place of sander I won to show he sent item of weight and shipped so he could collect off paypal/ebay, found out this seller had ripped off many before ebay closed his "store/ ripoff factory" down. I know they claim to have separated ebay and paypal but my credit card company said its smoke and mirrors, that they still work together. Ebay is on their way out!

By BroC H.
Helpful answer 3
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes . You are right. All what people told you are correct. Don't trust ebay and the seller on ebay. Amazon much better than them. But anyway the best way to buy electronics from the local stores or official stores.

By Alayham A.
Helpful answer 3
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

If you haven't already learned the hard way that Ebay is just pure bull$#*! when it comes to the sellers rights. When someone wants to send it back for any reason other than it doesn't work as described, you will be footing the bill. Not only will you lose the money you paid to ship it to them, Ebay will offer to provide a return label for them at your expense. Yep, that's right. They will bill you the price of the label if you don't provide it. Either way, you are paying for it to get back to you. It's get better. You can't leave negative feedback for the buyer either. It's not an option NO MATTER

By Chris N.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Depends on the seller. I wouldn't buy anything off ebay because there a crappy company.

By Greg L.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

You can contact the seller and ask. Also look at their rating, if it's 99% then they will take care of you! For years, most of my shopping I do is from sellers off Ebay and mostly do great! Good luck!

By brian b.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

The correct thing to do is to email the seller and tell him you are not satisfied with the product and would like to return it for a refund. Most sellers will work with you. If after contacting the seller your problem is not resolved you than open a case with ebay that you the product is not satisfactory and you would like to return for a refund, Go to the seller first and give him a chance to make it right so it does not ruin his business.

By Shirley M.
Questions? Get answers from the eBay staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

33 Photos for eBay

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
eBay?
Post Review