Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Joss & Main

Joss & Main reviews

1,273 reviews
177 Huntington Avenue, Suite 6000
Boston, MA 02115, US
Tel: (800) 632-8158
service@jossandmain.com
2018 Customer choice award

1,273 Reviews From Our Community

Service
235
Value
252
Shipping
240
Returns
133
Quality
210

All Reviews

ayj2
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/11/19

My wife is in love with Le Creuset cookware and when she saw a pot that is averagely priced around $600 for the price of $125 she quickly bought the cookware & funds were taken from our account. The company and website tried to say they made a mistake on the price & that the product was not available now. You cannot change the price of something after a customer has made a purchase or remove it after the fact. This company & their customer service sucks. Don't buy from them & I'm reporting this to the BBB.

andrewp304
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/8/19

So I ordered a set of four chairs from Joss and Main back in May of 2018. As of today, February of 2019, I had the welds on the back the chair legs let go, and almost collapse underneath me (bizarre, since I'm a 6 foot, 180 lb dude; not exactly obese). I called J&M, and they were extremely sympathetic (none of this "what did you do wrong" crap that a lot of companies give you), and sent me a 2 pack replacement of chairs right away. No equivocations, no BS. THAT is the kind of customer service that I can get behind. They didn't manufacture the chair so it wasn't their fault, but they still stood behind the product. J&M, you will have plenty more of my business in the future. Thank you for being awesome.

jamieh311
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/8/19

I placed an order for two cession solid wood dining chairs on 31 Dec 2018. My item was scheduled to be delivered on 4 January 2019. Order never arrived. I checked the status of the order. It was rescheduled to 8 January 2019.... Its now 8 January at 7:56pm EST and my order is NO WHERE TO BE FOUND. I called the customer service department to be told that FedEX picked up the item on 3 January 2019. (Funny because my order was supposed to be delivered on 4 January 2019.) They called FedEX this evening (8 January 2019) to track my order and was told that FedEX never received the item. WAY TO GO, YOU HAVE TAKEN MY MONEY AND LOST MY ORDER! Was told that a case manager would be assigned to assist in the locating my package and they would reorder the chairs that I have paid for and it should arrive in just 3 days. Disappointed to say the least.

loraleef2
1 review
3 helpful votes
1/1/19

I have dealt with their partner company, Wayfair and they are such a good company, I assumed Joss and Main was the same. So incredibly wrong! I ordered $840.00 worth of goods (two carpets and two comforters). The $840.00 US turned up as $4707.18 Canadian on my Visa.

Staff very good, said it was their mistake. Today I received a credit on my Visa of $2050.

That brings my order of $840.00 US to $2700 Canadian. With exchange factored in, the items cost $1140 Canadian. That leaves charges of 1600 dollars for shipping and tax. This amount did not show on my order or I would never have purchased the items.

farannem
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/11/18

I first have to say, for me to actually take the time out my day to sit down and type this up, means this has gotten way out of hand. I placed an order for a 9 X 12 area rug on 11/24/18. When I received the rug the following week I realized Joss & Main had sent me the wrong rug. I contacted customer service and they said they could fix the problem by placing another order for my correct rug. I asked them if it would be possible to order the rug I want in a size down (8 X 10) because looking at the incorrect rug on my floor, I would prefer the size to be slightly smaller. The gentleman said I would have to process the replacement prior to processing an exchange. So basically, return the incorrect rug, let him order a rug in a size I don't want, have them deliver the correct rug in the size I don't want, then call back to tell them I want to return it and exchange it for a size I do want. He also asked for me to repackage the incorrect rug to be picked back up by FedEx. I told the worker the rug came in a sealed plastic bag which was cut open for me to discover it was the wrong rug. There was no way to reuse the packaging. I was then asked to buy supplies to use. I told them I would NOT use my own money to buy supplies to fix something that was their mess up. They offered me a credit to cover the supplies. Although annoyed with that logic, I went ahead. I went to Lowe's and bought plastic wrap and tape and re-rolled the 9X12 rug. The CORRECT rug (wrong size) was scheduled for delivery 12/1/18, but did not get delivered until 12/3/18. On 12/3/18, FedEx also came to pick up the incorrect rug. Joss & Main sent me a return label for my correct rug (wrong size) to be picked BACK up by FedEx for 12/4/18. On the return instructions, it specifically states "We'll issue $XXX.XX in store credit to your Joss & Main account within 1 business day after pickup" which would have been 12/5/18. By 12/6/18, I had not received a refund so I contacted Joss & Main because I was anxious about repurchasing the correct rug in the size I'd like so I could have it by Christmas. The worker stated he would "release the funds" and I should see them in my Joss & Main account as in store credit by the next day (12/7/18). The next day, still no refund. I again contacted Joss & Main. This time the agent stated I was wrong to believe I'd receive a refund the day after the item was picked up from me and that it's ACTUALLY the day after the warehouse receives it. I disputed that "policy" since I had email proof that Joss & Main sent me stating otherwise. Regardless of the fact I had proof that I should have received a refund days prior, the agent stated my item was received in the warehouse Thursday, 12/6/18 MEANING at that time a day had passed since the item was received in the warehouse and I was entitled to my refund (per their new made up policy). AGAIN, I am told by a worker that he is releasing my refund and it will be available no later than Monday, 12/10/18. Monday rolls around and no refund. I call customer service again. Same story. The refund is released a day after the warehouse receives it but the worker was going to release the hold and it will be available by the next day. Next day comes (Tuesday, 12/11/18) and STILL no refund. At this point, I haven't had any products in over a week. Joss & Main HAS both rugs but I STILL HAVE NO REFUND. I call customer service. The agent places me on hold for awhile. When he finally comes back I'm informed it's been escalated and I should be hearing from a "case manager" regarding my refund. He told me it looks like my case is "sitting waiting to be processed". WHAT DOES THAT EVEN MEAN?!! I've been getting the run around since day ONE. I'm mad I'm being forced to receive an in-store credit (whenever that'll even take place). If I had the option, I wouldn't spend another dime towards this company. As quick as they are to take peoples money, they should be in returning it when the customer returns the product. Also, don't false advertise. They made this return process seem like a breeze. Here I am a week later still trying to get my money back. What's sad is, after reading countless reviews, I'm somewhat relieved to see I'm not the only one dealing with horrible customer service. Save yourself the hassle. Just RUN!

And I bet you what's going to end up happening is they'll try to consider what they refunded me to buy supplies as a portion of my refund for the rug. So basically...I paid them to return a product I didn't even order.

adrianav4
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
12/10/18

I just received an email saying the item is ONCE AGAIN in back order and the new estimated day for delivery is march 25. THIS IS A JOKE!!!!! Joss and Main is THE WORST COMPANY I've ever dealt with. Joss and Main has LIED TO ME SEVERAL TIMES!!!! At this point I want to cancel my order and I want a full refund IMMEDIATELY to my credit card. Joss and Main basically took my money for more than 2 months and I still haven't received my item and on top of that I've been paying interest on the almost $1000.00 I paid. THIS IS SO DISRESPECTFUL!! Wait to hear from me in all of your social media!!!
I HAVE BEEN WAITING SINCE NOVEMBER OF LAST YEAR!!!!!!!!!!!!

laurenl215
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/5/18

After stating they "made a mistake" Joss and Main refused to uphold their pricing and, even after stating the order was shipped, that they are not honoring it. After writing a review here, other site, and contacting them, they did end up honoring their order.

subashs4
1 review
4 helpful votes
10/17/18

Do not buy any product from Jason & Main. I placed an order on September 24, today it is October 17 and have not receive complete product. Jason & Main ship one piece at a time. When I contact case manager, they are not responsive. Still waiting for missing parts to be delivered. I have horrible experience from this. I give 1,0000 thumbs down for this web site.

alyssal47
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/15/18

I ordered a large mirror and when I received it, it had been shattered (I am guessing during the shipping process). The piece was beyond beautiful but I was unable to use it in its' current shape. I contacted customer service and spoke to a representative named Cindy P. She was amazing! She assisted me with replacing the piece and did so quickly. The entire call, start to finish, maybe lasted 10 minutes! I am thoroughly impressed with this company and with this customer representative. Thank you, thank you, thank you! I will be shopping with them again.

zheniag
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
9/26/18

Ordered a sofa and love seat, ETA end of August, it is now end of September and still no furniture! Freight guy called to set up drop off time, that day rolls around and he cancels(item got rerouted). I am a bit upset by now so called customer service and Anastasia couldn't explain to me where my items are and proceeds to be a smart ass and says "mam, is what I'm saying making you upset"! Of course it is!(horrible service skills)! Transfer to delivery specialist, she says I received the drop off call as a mistake and my stuff appears to be lost in transit. OMG! I am so livid. Offers to reorder and but doesn't guarantee it'll ever come. They don't even sell those couches online anymore, they billed me for things they did not have in stock!!! No apology, nothing. I demanded my money back, we shall see if it is returned in couple days. This company is straight out of your worst nightmare! Never ever giving them another look again. I will be warning everyone I know!!! Do not shop here! This is not the first of this from them

maxi5
1 review
5 helpful votes
7/20/18

I purchased a couch set for my patio and it was like children furniture. No normal adult would be comfortable on their products. Check the size and measurements from the ground before you buy anything from any of these companies.

dianes360
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/26/18

Appreciate the opportunity to write this review. I adore my Ambudkar vanity. It fits my bathroom perfectly and adds sweet charm to the room. Timely delivery as well.

Thank You..
Diane Schaff

paulaf70
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/8/18

Omg love my pillow. Very good quality, reasonably priced. Was shipped to me sooner than expected. But I'm not complaining. Love Joss and Main.

nickd151
1 review
11 helpful votes
6/7/18

At first everything went so smoothly. I placed my order and got consistent updates on when my couch was going to arrive. Then they day my couch was supposed to arrive it has been a nightmare. My couch was marked as delivered for a front porch drop off, but when i get home no couch is in sight. I had to call customer service multiple times just to figure out what was going on. Finally i got hold of someone saying shipping had my couch but did not drop it off because of weather conditions... (Then I should not get notifications saying its delivered). So i get a reschedule date only to find out that my couch was sent away on a salvage truck... two days before my rescheduled delivery.. I couldn't believe it.. Now customer service has no answer for me and my agent won't answer my calls. I have been notified that i am getting a replacement but it has been a nightmare. Stay Away!

christinek137
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/14/18

i bought a set of nesting tables; nice enough, reasonable price. DAMAGED on one corner. they were packed so well and securely, there was no way the damage occurred in shipping, which means someone saw the damage and packed them up anyway. ridiculous! too much trouble/too heavy to repack and ship back, but i won't buy any furniture from them again. sheets and towels, maybe.

joang52
1 review
7 helpful votes
4/30/18

I ordered a desk from them and kept getting emails of "shipment delayed." When I called customer service, I was told that there was a warehouse reorganization and that the desk would be delivered on April 10, then April 14, then April 21, etc......
Although I was kept updated by a good customer rep, this was ridiculous. Today I got an email saying the item was now backordered and that my order was cancelled. I just ordered something similar from Houzz and am hoping that this problem will not happen again. Bottom line is Joss and Main was selling something that was not in stock and was not advertised as such.

giseleg
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/25/18

I had an issue with a product that was delivered so I did the automated form in the email. That got no response, so I followed up with a call and had no trouble finding a customer service number. I spoke with an EXTREMELY pleasant girl who found my order, confirmed all the details, and had a new item en route to me before the call was over! And I didn't have to return my old item either so I will just donate it to a shelter (it was a cat tree). I am super impressed. I wanted to leave this review because I saw there were quite a few negative reviews, but this experience has been stellar for me!

leem182
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/9/18

i ordered 2 out door rugs in early March of this year. It is now mid April and i currently have 1 correct rug and 2 rugs in different shipped locations that are incorrect. Joss took my $$$, but have not delivered the rug. I have been told over 8 times and they will collect the rug (but they have not) then i will get the rug. They screwed up- and i am paying for their mistake.... worst customer service i have ever encountered. they are like drones that cannot help... avoid at all costs this company

Tip for consumers: run- away- fast.

Service
Shipping
Returns
ks229
2 reviews
9 helpful votes
3/26/18

Placed an order, 30 seconds later changed my mind and tried to cancel order was told it was too late for 2 out of 3 items. Called and stated I wanted to cancel! Was told I could, then because of the way they were charging, they tried 3 times to take the money from my account it was marked as fraud! So I told the bank YES, I placed but tried to cancel. They said fine we have denied payment. What did this company do? They kept my information and tried again and again, THEN shipped the items anyway and went after me for payment. How many times do you need to cancel or deny before you people get it. I DON'T WANT ANYTHING FROM YOU, EXCEPT MY MONEY BACK THAT YOU MANAGED TO GET WHEN MY ACCOUNT UNBLOCKED!!!!!

heatherh134
1 review
4 helpful votes
3/13/18

They charged me nothing to ship 2 bar chairs to my house but when i went to return them because they were damaged they tried to charge me $80

laurenh97
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/12/18

I have had a very impressive experience with Joss and Main's customer service department on more than one occasion. Each representative I've spoken with has been extremely pleasant and willing to help resolve the issue.
My returns/exchanges have been free of charge and I'm so pleased with how prompt the delivery has been. The rugs and barstools that we purchased for our new home are a perfect fit. I will undoubtedly continue shopping here.
One happy customer!

anns170
1 review
12 helpful votes
1/11/18

Careful with ordering furniture from this company-I'm not sure about smaller items.
I ordered 3 dressers from this company on Dec 13-delivery was supposed to be on or before Jan 10th. January 10th has come and gone. No call, No show. No shipping updates in 3 weeks. I became concerned and called Joss and Main. The customer service rep told me that they LOST the dressers...told her that I had a tracking number. She said that the number doesn't help. I was told by the customer service rep "they could be in a warehouse somewhere...they may have never been shipped. We don't know. The storm really screwed things up with shipping" she said.
She informed me that they have to do some investigating to find out where the dressers are. I inquired about my next point of communication with Joss and Main??? I was told "they may be calling me back within 24 hours, could be next week."
A very wise gentleman on here posted a review and mentioned calling your credit card company as they may be able to help. THANK YOU Discover for taking care of this for me!! My account has been credited and I will never do business with Joss and Main again.

laurac285
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/11/18

I have ordered the stretched canvas piece called "Down the River". As a designer I was skeptical of ordering online but I am absolutely thrilled with on my light grey walls placed over a white loveseat. The greyish appearance takes on a mor navy blue cast.
I wouldn't worry about getting this for a client now. It has an edginess which I love too!
Laura Cascadden

brittneys16
2 reviews
8 helpful votes
1/2/18

I received a conformation email stating that my $400 purchase was shipped, but the chairs were out of stock. A whole week after I ordered them. There was no way that I was spending more money to get chairs that looked nothing like I ordered. She didn't offer a promo code or coupon for their mistake. Will not order from them again. The email states that the $268 will be back in my account within 3-5 days. I sure do hope so.

tmpmustangg
1 review
7 helpful votes
12/28/17

I ordered 2 pet gazebos and received 2 cheap gazebo covers .....6 Days Late.....after Christmas! BAIT and SWITCH!!!!!!
No customer service. Warning, RUN!!!!! Just the run around. RUN!!!!!!! Joss and main is the worst online company that I have dealt with. RUN!!!!!

Offered to sell me a gazebo for over $100. In addition to what I paid. Dishonest!!!!!!

I have no words and no expectations from joss and main at this point just disappointment after disappointment.

NO customer service from case management, and now NO delivery for Christmas.
2 pet gazebo ordered on 12/12/17 with delivery 12/22/17

NO DELIVERY

Nothing under the Christmas tree. Thank you.

Something is clearly shady.

As of 12/20/17 8:36 pm, shipped 2 Laurie pet gazebos. PET GAZEBOS!

Invoice states that I will receive 2 pet gazebo ordered on 12/12/17 delivery 12/22/17. Gazebos covers delivered on 12/28/17 two cheap covers.

Be warned!

Tip for consumers: Stop! Be warned!

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

We are very happy with our purchases and more important, Joss & Main's outstanding customer service. Everything was as nice as pictured. The hanging light over the kitchen table was even nicer chrome quality than we expected. Give them a try, you won't be disappointed. Ingrid

By Iingrid A.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I don't know if they accept Pay Pal but their merchandise is over priced. I will not be ordering with them again because of lousy customer service!

By Sue J.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Sorry I never ordered furniture. Other things I have ordered have been excellent, arrived promptly and are packaged most carefully.

By Carol F.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hello - I always wash any fabric product before using - but I use my "gentle" cycle and only cold water without any soap. This always works for me and keeps the fabric in good shape without any chemical products still there.

By ELIZABETH B.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I suggest you call Customer Service: 1 800 632-8158. They can work something out with you. They are very understanding.

By Jenny D.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I'm a Canadian customer who ordered 2 smaller items as gifts (1 weighed quite a bit, though). I was charged BOTH STANDARD US DOMESTIC SHIPPING & INTERNATIONAL SHIPPING! I couldn't believe that shipping could be so much (over $100 US), so I unsubscribed from their website. Guess what? Two weeks ago I saw one of the products I'd purchased for sale at Winners for a fraction of the cost I'd payed. My advice: tempting pictures, but Canadian Buyers Beware! (I hope this helps!)

By Susan W.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

You get what you pay for with Joss and Main. Google the details like the measurements and comments about the fabric because they often rename their items. I have been mostly happy with my items because I have reasonable expectations regarding quality. I don't expect to get something for nothing. Personally, I wouldn't buy a couch unless I could sit in it first but that's just me. Joss and Main is good with damage claims and they are responsive but you need to be careful about what you buy.

By Kady Q.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Use your tablet.....and you won't have to use your password unless you want to by something. I do agree that on the computer it is a pain.

By Susan O.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Connie, Joss & Main ships from Boston, MA 02115. The complet address is 177 Huntington Ave, Suite 6000. This is also the location of there Flagship store. Hope this helps you out Connie. I would be more than happy to answer any other questions you might have. Kind Regards and have a lovel day. ----- Original Message -----

By tammy p.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I believe someone gave info to her already with phone number and calling the company and I cannot help with info to DC. Thanks for asking.

By Marjorie S.
Questions? Get answers from the Joss & Main staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Joss & Main?
Post Review