Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Spectrum

Spectrum reviews

Is this your business?
15 reviews
36 _???_?_?___???_? ??__?___???__?? _?. _?. _?_?___????____???
Sofia, Sofia City Province 1797, Bulgaria

15 Reviews From Our Community

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
Service
1
Value
1
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
1

All Reviews

km611
2 reviews
13 helpful votes
10/10/19
I have had Spectrum for my internet service for almost a decade. As some reviewers have stated I have always gotten slower speeds than I was paying for but didn't complain as I was never sure if it was my hardware v. their connections. Otherwise I was reasonably happy with their service as I use them for home and business use.

I recently moved and now I understand all of the negative reviews. For over two months Spectrum continued to apply my payments to the old residence which had been switched to someone else's name and intermittently turn off my service claiming that I was late in my payments. I spoke with 4 or 5 different people there including 2 managers all of whom assured me that they had fixed the issue and would soon follow up with me to confirm. I never got a single call back from any of them and they continued turning off my service every two to three weeks. I literally overpaid the bill just to have my service on since it is critical for me for work purposes and they continued adding on late and service fees even though I was overpaid the error was completely on Spectrum. The last manager I spoke with (Curtis) did a wonderful job of being professional and thorough and complete in addressing the issue but it has only been ten days or so and I'm fully expecting the late calls and for them to turn off my service again within the next few weeks. I am looking diligently for a new provider as we speak. I have never experienced such incompetence and frankly what appears to be just a lack of concern for the customer in my life.
anthonyb67
3 reviews
0 helpful votes
9/8/19
Been on hold for almost two hours now. Even since the switch from Time Warner to spectrum, the internet and customer service has been terrible. I am on the Nextdoor app and the neighborhood consensus seems to be the same...See photo of how long I have been on hold....
maryj792
2 reviews
29 helpful votes
7/17/19
Here is a cut and paste of my chat tonight. I have deleted personal info. I have TWO accounts with them unfortunately. They are totally useless. Still can't get Internet to work at the second house. After I asked to speak with a supervisor, "Jasmine" disconnected me.

Welcome! An agent should reply within 2 minutes
Jul 17, 6:33 PM

-
Read
chat
You are now connected to Ask Spectrum
Jul 17, 6:33 PM

-
Read
Hi, how can I help you today? I can answer questions about your Spectrum products and services, or transfer you to an agent for more assistance.
Jul 17, 6:33 PM

-
Read
I can help you quickly with most issues without waiting for an agent.
Ask a brief question like the examples below:
How to get a New Remote Control
How to make a payment
Problems Logging In
Jul 17, 6:34 PM

-
Read
customer service
Jul 17, 6:34 PM

-
Read
To connect with a representative select "Live Chat". If you need additional assistance call us at *******357.
Launch Live Chat
Jul 17, 6:34 PM

-
Read
Launch Live Chat
You are being transferred to another agent. An agent should reply within 2 minutes.
You are now connected to Joshua M.
Jul 17, 6:34 PM

-
Read
Hello! My name is Joshua and welcome to Spectrum's billing chat!
Jul 17, 6:34 PM

-
Read
Will be more than happy to assist with your question or concern to find a resolution today and thank you so much for the previous information you had entered!
Jul 17, 6:34 PM

-
Read
How are you this evening xxx, did we have a good day there?
Jul 17, 6:35 PM

-
Read
I have two accounts. For some reason, my first account does not contain any information any longer
Jul 17, 6:35 PM

-
Read
Apologies for the inconvenience then, but happy to help review what might be going on there
Jul 17, 6:36 PM

-
Read
What is the other address?
Jul 17, 6:36 PM

-
Read
xxxx
Jul 17, 6:36 PM

-
Read
Thank you and which one is showing nothing when you try to login
Jul 17, 6:36 PM

-
Read
xxxxx
Jul 17, 6:37 PM

-
Read
Thank you ma'am
Jul 17, 6:37 PM

-
Read
Please bear with me just a moment to poke around here
Jul 17, 6:38 PM

-
Read
OK. And that's not even why I am contacting you.
Jul 17, 6:39 PM

-
Read
When I login onto the My Account it fully populates with the information so must be an issue with the page communicating with your computer, but can get you with a tech specialist afterwards to help troubleshoot if you would like to move on to your reason for contacting us today
Jul 17, 6:40 PM

-
Read
OK, so we are moving (the new account), but have still kept the old account until we move. When we move, can we take some of our boxes and reactivate them under the new account?
Jul 17, 6:41 PM

-
Read
If you were to move services directly to the new location yes, but equipment could not be transferred from one account to anothere
Jul 17, 6:41 PM

-
Read
*another
Jul 17, 6:42 PM

-
Read
So how do I return the old equipment?
Jul 17, 6:42 PM

-
Read
You could do so at a Spectrum retail location or a UPS Store if you have a location near you
Jul 17, 6:42 PM

-
Read
Oh, well that's not very convenient.
Jul 17, 6:43 PM

-
Read
I am sorry to hear that xxx, but you could return the equipment at your own convenience
Jul 17, 6:43 PM

-
Read
Any charges you may get for the equipment not being returned would be fully forgiven once you could get them in
Jul 17, 6:44 PM

-
Read
OK, thanks. Got what I needed. Yet, my old account is still not working. Can't troubleshoot or access my DVR options, etc.
Jul 17, 6:44 PM

-
Read
Unable to retrieve account information. Error Code: NO_ACCOUNTReference ID: 679LP-EYHU6-9492K-S2LBS-3CBP4
Jul 17, 6:45 PM

-
Read
Apologies for the issue, but I can now get you now over to a tech specialist to help troubleshoot the My Account and service issue
Jul 17, 6:45 PM

-
Read
If you have no billing questions for me, would the transfer be okay?
Jul 17, 6:46 PM

-
Read
OK
Jul 17, 6:46 PM

-
Read
Thank you and please hold for just a moment and I will get you over to a specialist
Jul 17, 6:46 PM

-
Read
There may be a wait time due to high chat volumes so please bear with us as I transfer you through, but thank you for being the best part of Spectrum and have a great rest of your day!
You are being transferred to another agent. An agent should reply within 2 minutes.
You are now connected to Jasmine E
Jul 17, 6:46 PM

-
Read
Hello, my name is Jasmine E. How may I be of assistance today?
Jul 17, 6:47 PM

-
Read
No information is showing up on my account when I log in.
Jul 17, 6:47 PM

-
Read
Unable to retrieve account information. Error Code: NO_ACCOUNTReference ID: 679LP-EYHU6-9492K-S2LBS-3CBP4
Jul 17, 6:48 PM

-
Read
Actually both of my accounts are showing this.
Jul 17, 6:49 PM

-
Read
Oh no that isn't good, I understand. Can you please provide the full service address?
Jul 17, 6:49 PM

-
Read
First account is xxx
Jul 17, 6:51 PM

-
Read
Hello???
Jul 17, 6:52 PM

-
Read
Yes i am here
Jul 17, 6:52 PM

-
Read
Waiting on the other account address.
Jul 17, 6:52 PM

-
Accept
You didn't ask
Jul 17, 6:52 PM

-
Accept
xxxx
Jul 17, 6:52 PM

-
Accept
Can we move this along? I have spent way too much time on this.
Jul 17, 6:53 PM

-
Accept
Unable to retrieve account information. Error Code: NO_ACCOUNT Reference ID: MZHQF-STYYS-6PU69-8D6CR-D7WAL
We're sorry it's taking longer than expected to reply. Your agent will respond shortly.
Jul 17, 6:56 PM

-
Accept
Hello?????

Jul 17, 6:58 PM

-
Accept
Helllooooo??????

Jul 17, 7:00 PM

-
Accept
Are you going to help me?

Jul 17, 7:01 PM

-
Read
thank you
Jul 17, 7:01 PM

-
Read
I am here
Jul 17, 7:01 PM

-
Read
just a moment

Jul 17, 7:02 PM

-
Accept
When are you going to service my accounts? You are helping other people and I need help now. I have been on this chat over 30 minutes.

ul 17, 7:05 PM

-
Read
The online account errors that you are seeing seem to meant the online account is unavailable at this time. This could be cause due to updates. I recommend waiting a few hours clearing cache and cookies and then try logging in
Jul 17, 7:06 PM

-
Read
That's it? I waited this long for a stock answer?

Jul 17, 7:07 PM

-
Read
Have anyone who can speak proper English?

Jul 17, 7:07 PM

-
Read
I want to speak with a supervisor.

Jul 17, 7:02 PM

-
Accept
When are you going to service my accounts? You are helping other people and I need help now. I have been on this chat over 30 minutes.
rainak2
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/2/19
I moved to Ohio few months ago and my husband got us Spectrum for internet and cable. He went with the 89.99 deal. They messed up the days for installation my husband came in from Florida early to be here and they didn't show. They were oh sooo sorry and waved the install fee! We get a bill for over 300.00 a week or so later. We call they knew nothing of waving fees which we paid in end! Our bill is 179.00 a month when we ask where our 89.99 deal is we get BS runaround from the beyond RUDE customer service!!!! They are Criminals THEY LIE TO GET YOU TO USE THERE SERVICE. I DO NOT BELIEVE THEY HAVE AN 89.99 Deal they LIE and say they do then you get a 179.00 monthly bill AND HAVE NOT GOT A STRAIGHT ANSWER FROM ANYONE THE 7 or so times we've called!! Whoever is responsible for the scamming and false offers to the public should be BEHIND BARS THATS WHERE CRIMANALS BELONG!! They should not be allowed to get away with this. Yes I will switch companies but doesn't make what they've done right. And I will bring an attorney into it if need be if my bill isn't alll waved As to where I owe them nothing!! I had my issues with Comcast in past but NOTHING like this garbage with Spectrum. I wonder if can get a class action lawsuit started against this disgusting company!! I would love to see the company fold. Would be sad for any decent workers there but would love the money hungry disgusting higher up to lose everything!!! Would love to send this to the ceo. But I am sure he's busy spending the money he cons outta people! Karma is a $#*!!!!!!!!!!!!!
barbarat85
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
11/26/18
Nothing like trying to watch a movie & the screen freeze or the voices are with the picture.
On top of that you try the guide to change channels you get the error ( grey box) I really miss time warner NEVER had problems
malkys1
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/29/18
Let's be clear about this..... DO NOT GET SPECTRUM!!!! You'll F'sure regret it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I wish I can give them ZERO stars......
adab18
3 reviews
8 helpful votes
10/5/18
IF I COULD GIVEN THEM A ZERRO STAR I WOULD,GONNA MAKE THIS SHORT AND SWEET. STAY AWAY FROM SPECTRUM.

HORRIBLE CABLE SERVICE
HORRIBLE INTERNET
HORRIBLE REMOTE CONTROLS
HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE.

WILL BE GOING TO DIFFERENT PROVIDER.

THEY BUMP UP YOUR BILL EVERY YEAR, I JUST WANT CABLE SERVICE,I DONT WANT TO BUY THE COMPANY
stephanier222
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/5/18
They don't tell you on the day you install service that you have,a billing statement being cut the day its Installed. My first bill arrived to my home two weeks after installation already showed me as,having two payments and one being late (payment is due by 29th and final payment prior to shut off is the 8th). I received my bill 15th. When i called they told me it appears like this and its fine. I would have until the 8th of month to pay my bill for that month. When i called i informed them i couldn't make payment til 6th @ 9am. i was informed that this is fine as its prior to 8th. Today is the 5th and they turned my stuff off .this company is a total joke. I work as a contact center supervisor and no way would I tell a person one thing and do the opposite. They don't explain anything about the bill or explain why there is miscommunication from their end. All they do is apologize and tell you nothing can be done. You can't charge someone a service they haven't used yet. I am canceling services after my contract with them and going back to a,company that stands by their word and explains billing better with a person PRIOR to services being installed.
blainel11
3 reviews
4 helpful votes
8/20/18
If I could have selected zero stars I would have. I have now completed two complaint letters via land mail which included photos and have received absolutely no response after several months. We attempted to watch the Olympics, the Tour De France, World Cup Soccer and Racing events. Any pictures that have motion will consistently break up into large tiles on Spectrum's DVR. We paid good money on a top of the line Samsung HDTV but Spectrum can't deliver a signal that is not compressed to an extent where it does not break up all the time. If you are watching a National Park video with beautiful aerial camera work it will look like a stuttering jerky series of frames. We have had it with their ridiculous prices and poor product. Customer service is a zero. VHS would be better.
katiet70
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/26/18
Absolutely disgusted with this company! Cable and internet are HORRIBLE!!! 4th day in a row with screen turning black (on all tvs) for 15 minutes up to an hour! Can see guide and info but no picture! First night on hold for 40 minutes before I hung up! Last night got through to a nice tech who said he see exactly what Im talking about and its surges on my block. Someone coming tomorrow but I pay over 200.00 a month for garbage!! Have to turn off WiFi on phones to even be able to pick up signal! Otherwise it takes forever to load!!
Definitely looking into different cable options!

THE WORST!!!! Grade: F
waynes94
6 reviews
22 helpful votes
7/14/18
• Updated review
Did I mention that Spectrum is horrible? I'll keep this short because it's beating a dead horse. I handed in a receiver today as I was told by a representative the policy had changed and I no longer needed it and could still receive cable using my ROKU. I come home AND THE CABLE IS OFF! I call Sprectum and told me that I DO have to have the receiver (even though I don't use it) and cable can't be turned on until I get another receiver! I signed up with the streaming plan (no receiver needed) and asked to be transferred for a possible credit. That rep. tells me I CAN have regular cable without the receiver and she would give me that. After 20 minutes she says it's set up, but I can't log on. So she sends me to Customer Tech. who barely speaks English, doesn't understand the issue, can't help at all. After 30 minutes with her (with no progress or clue), the cable suddenly comes on. Can't wait to see my bill when it updates, I'm sure that will be SNAFU too.
“Worst Service Ever”
6/26/18
• Previous review
I can't believe this company has the audacity to present itself in commercials as a well run company. I've never had such poor service for any industry, both cable and their customer service. Cable service constantly cuts out (with the app) or is completely down (all across the country today). And "NO", it's not my ROKU device..all other apps work fine, and many others are posting issues. After my "special Offer" expires, I'll be looking for an alternative TV service, Sling, DirectTV now, etc. I had Sling for a few months with no problems. Goodbye soon Spectrum, I hardly knew you (and don't want to know anymore!)
ilonaf3
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
6/30/18
Warning if you have family members working for spectrum and you have problems with your account they will fire your family.
dadc
2 reviews
37 helpful votes
2/22/18
So what's new, another evening of the TV and the internet cycling off and on over and over. Customer noService phone tree is a joke, only serves to make us customers angry.
Service
Value
Quality
elizabethw75
38 reviews
36 helpful votes
10/8/17
The salesman out and out LIED to me to get me to switch from Dish Network! I told him it was PIVOTAL on my decision that external hard drives can be used with their boxes, and he said ALL boxes can be used with ALL hard drives! He said I could use external hard drives with their boxes. LIE!!!! Only certain external hard drives will work with them, the cable installer knew NOTHING about external hard drives and spent 30 minutes trying to convert me to HIS religion, not helping me with their services If I knew then what I know now, I would have NEVER switched services. Most of the salespeople have been rude save a couple of them, far inferior to Dish!!!!
1 rating was submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the Spectrum staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

1 Photo for Spectrum

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Spectrum?
Post Review