Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of FreeTaxUSA

FreeTaxUSA reviews

115 reviews
PO Box 51048
Provo, UT 84605-1048
Tel: 0714654879171
support@FreeTaxUSA.com

115 Reviews From Our Community

Service
11
Value
12
Shipping
5
Returns
5
Quality
11

All Reviews

christineg85
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/16/17

I received a letter from IRS this summer (2017) telling me that I had not paid taxes on my retirement income for 2015. I remembered entering the data from my 1099R when I filed my 2015 taxes, but it was not there in my return. Unfortunately, I had not checked the arithmetic myself so I had not noticed the error. When I filed my 2016 taxes, it was easier to enter the 1099R data because the software remembers the payer information and prompts you to fill out the form. When I contacted FreeTaxUSA about the error on my 2015 taxes, the support person insisted that I had failed to enter my 1099R. Now, I had to pay the federal taxes plus interest, amend my 2015 federal and state forms (for a fee), and pay additional state taxes. The refunds I received in 2016 for my federal and state taxes were greater than the amount I had to pay after recalculating. I had used FreeTaxUSA since 2012, but now I cannot trust them.

Response from Sam S., FreeTaxUSA Representative
Hi Christine, thanks for writing and I sincerely apologize for the frustration. We guarantee the calculations made by the software to be 100% accurate based on the information entered and would be happy to look into this further. Will you please private message your email address?
Advertisement
cherylf39
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/3/17

I will never use this free tax service again. A mistake was made on my 2015 tax return and we received a refund. I just received a letter from IRS stating that we owe them $5,000 for retirement income that was not reported! All of this information was input but FreeTaxUSA failed to include it in our total income. I will go back to using TurboTax as they are much more reliable. Not happy...

Response from Sam S., FreeTaxUSA Representative
Hi Cheryl, thanks for writing. One of our customer service agents would be more than happy to help sort this out. You can contact them by logging into your account and clicking on the "Contact Support" link to the left of any screen or by sending an email to Support@FreeTaxUSA.com.
cynthias93
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/5/17

I have send my taxes in about 10 have been rejected. Most company will have a telephone number listed. No number listed to contact them. Just a list of questions and answers on their website. What if you have questions that are not listed.We never use them again.

Response from Sam S., FreeTaxUSA Representative
Hi Cynthia, I understand that rejections can be frustrating and I’m sorry to hear that you weren’t able to get your questions answered. We do offer customer support, so if you have questions, you can send an email to Support@FreeTaxUSA.com or you can click on the "Contact Support" link when logged into your account. Our customer support team is standing by and is happy to help.
sams354
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/3/17

I have been filling my own taxes for 8 years, I usually use H&R block free service online, this year they wanted to charge me so I searched the internet for a new website to file for free. I found freetaxusa.com it appeared to be a safe site so I filed state and federal with them. It has been four weeks since I have filed I have yet to received my refund back. That's 20 business days. I have never had a refund take this long, the website cannot even tell me when it may be deposited and I'm unable to get in contact with a live person, when I called I just get a recording that tells me the same thing the website does that it is still processing. So after 20 business days not only do I not have access to my funds, I also don't know when it will be deposited. I've received no further email apologizing for such a delay, or explanation as to why I don't have my money in my account. I will never file with them again.

Tip for consumers: Don't use this site.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Response from Sam S., FreeTaxUSA Representative
Hello Sam, thank you for writing. The first thing you'll want to do is double check the date that your return was accepted. To do this, log into your account and click on the "Home" link followed by "Check Return Status." The IRS says that most refunds will be processed within 21 days, but there are some exceptions. Once your return has been accepted, the processing and timing of that refund is in the hands of the IRS. Unfortunately, we do not have a way to expedite the processing of your refund, and for security reasons, the IRS will not discuss refund information with software vendors. Therefore you can continue to check the status by going to the IRS web site and clicking on the "Where's My Refund?" link.

If you have questions about your return or would like to make sure that your return has been accepted, one of our customer support representatives would be happy to help. Please send them an email at Support@FreeTaxUSA.com or click on the "Contact Support" link when logged into your account.
samc126
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/26/17

Hey listen, I never wanted to use an online tax service because I generally get my taxes done for free by the military. But on the day before tax day deadline, they weren't taking anymore clients. I was then faced with using one of tax sharks...won't put any names here, but you know them all so well, and you know their commercials on Tv and radio. A friend recommended me to FREETAXUSA.COM. One of those sharks gave me an over the phone estimation of $300 - $500. Now, going back to FREETAXUSA.COM, remember, I filed on tax day deadline, my federal refund was deposited exactly one week later, one of my two state refunds will be deposited tonight, only 9 days after filing. This is what I call great service. It only cost me $23.31 because I had two state returns to file, otherwise, it would have been half of that price for one state. Federal returns are free. So, if you live in one of those income tax free states, then this is a great service to use. Their online software is very user friendly. Don't be discouraged by the negative reviews posted here, this is my first experience using this service and a very positive one. They get a 5-star rating from me.

CHEERS!!!!!

Sam (Newport News, VA)

fuf2
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/18/17

Under the impression I could e file my state tax I went on the website spent about two hours filling out forms, paid and then was told I could only e-file used both federal and state. The whole reason I even paid for this service was to submit my taxes on time since I all ready sent my federal taxes by mail. I can't get a refund for the $13 I wasted and now my state taxes are late.

Response from Sam S., FreeTaxUSA Representative
Hi Fu, sorry for any confusion. You can only e-file a state return if you also e-file your federal return using our software. This is a policy for most tax software companies and is done to add an extra layer of security to all e-filed state returns. Similar to mailing your federal return, a mailed state return would still be considered filed on-time as long as it’s postmarked by the deadline.
vickiet9
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/18/17

I would rather have a root canal than do my taxes! I used FreeTaxUSA because my brother recommended it and this was the easiest return ever, I had a W-2, 3 1099's, vehicle depreciation and itemized deductions which are enough to make my eyes roll back in my head so naturally I waited until the last minute. Entering the info for my return took less than 1 hour and the system prompted me through every step, finding deductions and credits I wasn't aware of and I'm getting a refund :-) I live in FL which does not have state returns so my transaction was totally free. Love this site!

allanc41
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
4/18/17

I think it is great they offer their free service. So they get a couple stars for that. :)

I signed up for their Deluxe service for $7, that is a great deal and it is only payable when you finish the return. Their online chat was responsive and generally knowledgeable and helpful, even on a busy day (April 18th). So if you are going to try this service, I definitely recommend trying Deluxe.

They did offer the ability to import information for my 2015 return from TaxACT (and several other large providers), which impressed me.

They offer two-factor authentication (sending verification codes by email or text). For this type of sensitive financial and personal information, I thought that was an important security feature for them to offer, and I was glad to see it on their web site.

This was the first year I have tried FreeTaxUSA. In the past I had used TurboTax for a number of years, then switched to H&R Block TaxCut, then switched to TaxACT. So I have lots of experience using other products, and with complex tax situations. I file complex returns including married joint return, homeowner, itemized deductions, charitable contributions, Schedule C (small business income), child tax credits, children in college, and withdrawals from retirement accounts.

My first impression was that the product is not nearly as mature is I would expect. Just entering my W-2 and 1099-R forms, I was running into limitations such as the FreeTax web site would not accept data that was on the forms such as parenthesis or dashes, the W2 had two address lines but FreeTax only accepts one address line, the 1099-R had a box blank but FreeTax insisted I had to enter a 0. Based on how many years they have been offering this service and how many returns they have processed, this immaturity surprised and disappointed me. It did not inspire confidence.

The deal-breaker for me was that when I entered the 1099-R from a well known investment firm, there was a box checked "Taxable amount not determined". TaxFree was then calculating the entire amount as taxable income. I contacted customer service and they advised me to check a box on the 1099-R that said "SEP/IRA/SIMPLE". Then FreeTax did calculate the taxable amount correctly. However, at that point I had lost confidence because that box was not checked on the 1099-R form from the investment firm. So FreeTax provided a work-around, but I was unable to enter the 1099-R "as is" as it came from the investment firm and to still get correct calculations.

Because I had lost confidence in FreeTax, I moved on to try the online version of TaxACT 2016 instead.

One final comment, beware all the glowing reviews (4.8 stars out of 5) on the FreeTax web site. They only let people submit a review after they have completed their return. So those are only reviews from their satisfied customers. It would be a lot more impressive (and accurate) if they would also accept online reviews from customers who had given up on submitting a return through their service. Therefore, I submitted a review on this web site instead.

Tip for consumers: I recommend using the Deluxe service, which provides online chat support.

Also I recommend going into your account settings and enable two-factor security authentication (receiving authentication codes via email or text).

Service
Value
Quality
Response from Sam S., FreeTaxUSA Representative
Hi Allan, we appreciate you taking the time to provide a good balanced review of your experience. We are always looking for ways to improve and value comments like yours.

You expressed some concern over the handling of your 1099-R income. Pension income and IRA income are taxed differently. For pension income, the taxable amount is determined by the amount that is shown in box 2a of the 1099-R. If you enter pension income, as it sounds like you did, then the amount that you enter in box 2a will determine the taxable amount. If the amount in box 2a is left blank by the firm that prepared your form, then usually, you'll need to figure the amount that is taxable using the IRS instructions for the 1099-R. Unfortunately, this is not a figure that we can calculate for you automatically because it requires a great deal of information about your pension, information to which we are not privy. We do provide an alert that suggests that in many cases you can just enter the same amount in box 2a that is shown in box 1. However, this is an alert only, and you can enter the taxable amount in box 2a. Once you do this the software will prepare your return using that amount.
miroslavd
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/15/17

I have been using FreeTaxUSA for 7 years. Always have been happy with their service. Until 2017 -- now I cannot pay the $23 for the services (filing 2 state returns).
I get
"Authorization was declined. Please verify your payment information or use a different credit card or bank account."
error, even though the info is correct. I try a different card. Same result.
My girlfriend is doing her taxes, and hit the same issue. Tried several of her credit and debit cards, no luck. The only option is to have the fee deducted from tax return, FOR EXTRA $20 going to their pocket. Are they serious?!
No thank you, going to file with a different provider instead.
Utter frustration.

EDIT: I contacted the FreeTaxUSA folks through their "Support" section and got a fast response, even though it was weekend. It turns out the payment was failing because I was trying to pay from outside the US (traveling in Europe at the moment). The decline would not have been so surprising and frustrating if the error message was actually saying the reason "You cannot submit payment from this country", preferably at the beginning of the process. Once I figured out that this was indeed the problem, I was able to submit the payment -- if you are in this situation you want to spoof your geolocation, e.g. by using something like tor-browser, or ask someone in the US to submit the payment for you.
Changing to 4 stars, as the only issue really is misleading error message.

Response from Sam S., FreeTaxUSA Representative
Hi Miroslav, I'd be happy to look into your payment issues and will private message you for details.
beccag9
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/14/17

Completing my taxes has taken far longer than needed as their is no support from this site. You are made to wait 24 hours for an answer delaying the already frustrating process of submitting taxes. The fee for state taxes is also more than I would expect to pay due to my low income this year as I was prevented from working due to medical issues.

Tip for consumers: Use a site that has a phone number

Service
Value
Quality
Response from Sam S., FreeTaxUSA Representative
Hi Becca, thanks for writing. I'd be happy to follow up on any issues you had and will send you a private message.
brittb5
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/13/17

I'm trying to pay for the service and it's denied multiple cards from different banks. It then tells me I can pay to upgrade for better support?! Why can't you just work the first time? I just want to pay to file my taxes and be done with it.

Response from Sam S., FreeTaxUSA Representative
Hi Britt, thanks for writing. One of our customer support representatives would be happy to help resolve your payment issue. You can contact them by sending an email to Support@FreeTaxUSA.com or by clicking on the "Contact Support" link while logged into your account. Our customer support services are free so there's no need to pay anything or upgrade.
jr242
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/11/17

why the hell isnt the site working??????????
why the hell isnt the site working??????????
why the hell isnt the site working??????????
why the hell isnt the site working??????????
why the hell isnt the site working??????????
why the hell isnt the site working??????????
why the hell isnt the site working??????????
why the hell isnt the site working??????????

Response from Sam S., FreeTaxUSA Representative
Hi JR., I can assure you that our web site is up and working. Can you send specifics about what you see to one of our customer support representatives? They can be reached at Support@FreeTaxUSA.com.
terrys143
1 review
4 helpful votes
4/11/17

What a time to do maintenance. Right in the middle of the business day. You guys have got to be kidding me with this crap

Response from Sam S., FreeTaxUSA Representative
Hi Terry, we did have a brief interruption this morning but everything is up and running. We're sorry for the inconvenience.
davidr363
1 review
5 helpful votes
4/11/17

Why would you guys be doing "routine site maintenance" the last week before the tax filing deadline!!??? This is ridiculous! This is my first time and if this is the way you operate, it is likely my last!

Response from Sam S., FreeTaxUSA Representative
Hi David, thanks for writing. I'm sorry for the inconvenience. Our web site is fully functional and you should now be able to login and continue your tax return.
lisal252
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/7/17

I used FreeTaxUSA for the first time this year, after using Turbo Tax for years. I was super impressed, & will never go back to Turbo Tax. Turbo Tax has all the bells & whistles & is very cool, pulling in my W2 from ADP so I didn't worry about typing in the info myself. BUT, FreetaxUSA is very easy to understand, & is constantly checking you, so you can double check your answers. It's SO much cheaper than Turbo Tax & lets you print out a nice looking version for yourself. My Taxes are fairly straightforward, but I'm always a little nervous doing them myself. I really felt good about using FreeTax USA. I am their new BIGGEST FAN!

sethy7
1 review
6 helpful votes
3/22/17

I have used FreeTaxUSA for two years. While it generally calculates your return correctly, I had issues last year with them wanting to charge a fee when I qualified for a free return based on the information they supplied to the IRS on their free file webpage.

And this year, I am supposed to file Schedule B because I needed to submit a Fin Cen 114 form and FreeTaxUSA can not generate Schedule B unless I had taxable income over $1,500. Also, I noticed that for capital gain/loss transactions, they don't allow you to make adjustments to the information reported by brokers. And when they are faced with having an issue, they just say - sorry we can't support your return - a sad response after spending many hours inputting your tax return information (I had at least 50 capital gains/loss transactions).

Their customer service replies (while fairly fast) seem to skirt an issue. After they replied they just let my responses sit for days until I sent multiple other messages to find out what was going on. This process took over a week to get a definitive reply (that they could not properly submit Schedule B as required by IRS guidelines). To me, this also is not reasonable.

For 95+% of people that have typical returns, I think this website will do a great job. People who have more complex situations, I would think twice about using them to file your return.

Response from Sam S., FreeTaxUSA Representative
Hi Seth, thanks for writing. As you said, we do support most taxpayers and their returns, but there are certain situations that our software cannot accommodate. We are always looking for ways to improve the software for our customers and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. I'm sorry about the confusion over Schedule B and making adjustments to your capital gain income. I'm also sorry to hear that your issues weren't directly addressed by our customer support representatives and will contact you directly to find a resolution.
carmena22
1 review
5 helpful votes
3/19/17

Sad some of you say this is a bad software. Free Tax USA, besides being a good software and easy to follow, is the cheapest. I was able to include deductions and 1099 forms in my return without being charged extra for it. Please, FreeTaxUSA, do not change.

jehanzebz
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/14/17

Pathetic company. Don't use their software. I spent hours preparing a federal and state return. At the time of payment, I saw my card got declined. I checked with bank and they confirmed there was no attempt from merchant and therefore error is on merchant's end. Then I tried four more credit cards from different banks on two different machines, it didn't work.

I contacted support and was surprised and upset to see their answer: "I apologize, at this time we cannot determine why your credit card will not authorize. If you wish to file a tax return, you will need to find another service to do so. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience."

Not only they were unable to help, they posed as if error was due to my credit card when the problem is in their portal. Now they suggested me to spend all that time again using another software. Instead of bypassing the payment requirement for me and letting me file, they are sending me to find some other software????? That's absurd.

Tip for consumers: Just don't use this software. You'd regret.

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
Response from Sam S., FreeTaxUSA Representative
Hi Jehanzeb, thank you for writing. I'm really sorry to hear that you had trouble paying and will contact you directly to find a resolution.
mariav84
1 review
5 helpful votes
3/5/17

Maybe it was your error. This software is good. I owe federal taxes because if a loan discharge and I figured that. State taxes are good. Don't blame the software when u input your numbers wrong and then get mad. Double check your $#*!. Simple.

markh292
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/5/17

I was looking forward to using the site, but was blocked from proceeding when I hit the SSN for my spouse screen. Without a number, the software will not let me proceed.

As a non resident alien with no US income or assets, who has never been to the US and has no plans to in future, my spouse has no SSN or ITIN and is not required to have one.
Other tax preparation sites don't have this glitch.

Response from Sam S., FreeTaxUSA Representative
Hi Mark, thanks for writing. At this time our software requires that you have an ITIN or SSN for every person that you have on your return. This includes you, your spouse, and any dependents.

Currently, the IRS requires that you have an SSN or ITIN for your spouse if you wish to file married joint or married separate. On the instructions for Federal Form 1040, it says, "If your spouse is a nonresident alien, he or she must have either an SSN or an ITIN if:
You file a joint return,
You file a separate return and claim an exemption for your spouse, or
Your spouse is filing a separate return."

Since we are required to follow these instructions, the software will require an SSN or ITIN for your spouse.
lt64
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/4/17

This is the first time I have used this service. I had overpaid social security tax which was credited back to me on federal form. However since the state tax numbers are automatically placed from the federal, my social security tax for state tax schedule A
was incorrectly calculated. When I contacted support, they said "it would not affect my state taxes"I double checked this with Turbo tax and HR Block which calculated correctly. This error was serious and the support group was not knowledgeable enough to understand or tell me how to correct issue...Do not use free tax usa...They will get you into trouble!!!!

Response from Sam S., FreeTaxUSA Representative
Hi L T., I'm really sorry about the frustration and would like to make this right. We guarantee our calculations and would be happy to make sure that your state return is figured correctly. I will private message you for details.
juanm101
1 review
10 helpful votes
2/20/17

I have been using freetaxusa.com for about 12 yrs now. I had never had an issue filing my fed or state tax. The fed is 100% no matter if you got schedule C or dependents. I use a 10% off for state. which I only pay $11.65 every year. My whole family uses freetaxusa.com. It's quick and easy. One of the best parts is that you don't have to pay $25 to pull previous years returns. Its free. Instructions are so easy, they guide you thru the whole process. I hope freetaxusa don't change.

courtneyd28
2 reviews
7 helpful votes
2/14/17

I have been using FreeTaxUSA for the past 4 years and I have never had any issues. Overall, the process is easy to follow and straightforward even with more complicated needs. I always "double check" my return by using another online tax service to see if the numbers come out the same. For some reason this year, I lost my mind and ended up doing my taxes on TurboTax, H&R Block, TaxAct and Tax Slayer. I got the same amounts on all but H&R block which was $1,500 off from all the rest. I don't know why anyone would pay $70 for federal and state when you could submit the same thing for like $10.

Value
Quality
brucec76
1 review
9 helpful votes
2/12/17

First, everyone should remember that FreeTax, Turbo Tax, etc. have NO CONTROL over when you receive your refund. Once your return is accepted by the IRS (mine was accepted within 30 minutes), it is up to the IRS to process and transmit any refund.

As for FreeTax itself, it is fairly simple to use, and unlike other "free" services, you can use this even if you have more complicated returns that include stock sales, etc. Sometimes the explanations are not as explicit as they should be, but if you just stop and think for a second, you'll most likely figure it out yourself. For example, there was a very simple way for me to enter information for a tax credit, but Free Tax didn't tell me it was there. My brokerage information was not automatically entered for me, but FreeTax made it simple for me to enter myself.

After 3 years of usage, there's never been a problem with calculations, nor have I received any inquiries from the IRS.

I really didn't mind paying $12.95 to file the state return, I understood going in that there would be an extra charge for this. It was worth it, as I was able to complete the state return in about 5 minutes. All and all, I believe I spent about an hour doing both returns. It probably would have taken 3 to 5 times that to do them myself. I found you can shorten the process by having all the paperwork/forms you need organized and at your fingertips.

I have recommended FreeTax to others and will continue to do so.

kayleneb
1 review
10 helpful votes
2/3/17

I used FreeTaxUSA to do my taxes for 2014 and 2015. In June of 2015 I reciecved a letter from IRS stating my taxes were wrong. The taxable social security was calculated wrong. I went over everything I had entered. All was correct. I took my tax copies to H R Block. Sure enough it was wrong. I had to pay another $2,000 plus a $90 penalty. Now if the federal tax is wrong
, and the state tax is figured from federal tax information then state tax is wrong. Sure enough I owed another $900 and a $19 penalty to the state.
After some thought I decided my 2015 was probably likewise wrong. Had it checked. The 2015 taxes were wrong for the same reason. Miscalculated taxable social security. Thr results were much the same. $2000 plus owed to Feds and slightly over $1,000 to the state. Had to pay H R Block to file an amended form to each Feds and state plus had pay penalties to both.
This mistake ended up costing me almost $7,000 in back taxes, penalties,and fees to H R Block.
If you are on social security Do Not Use Free Tax USA!!!
Now to top it off site is 100% guaranteed, but there is no way to reach them. No phone, no email. Tell me how to get their guarantee!

Response from Sam S., FreeTaxUSA Representative
Hi Kaylene, I'm sorry to hear you weren’t happy with FreeTaxUSA. The taxable amount of your social security income can be tricky because it's based on the other income that you have claimed on your return. If all of your income is not included with your return, then the taxable amount of your social security income will not be correct. We do publish worksheets in your account to show how this amount is figured. You can view them by selecting the Summary menu option. In regard to our guarantee, we do stand by our calculations and one of our customer support representatives will be more than happy to find a resolution. The best way to reach Customer Support is to click on the “Contact Support” link while you are signed in to your account. You can also send an email to Support@FreeTaxUSA.com or click on the "Support" link on our homepage.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Mimi, we’re more than willing to help you with any concerns you have. If you need help, or feel like there’s been a mistake, we’re always standing by to assist you. You can reach our friendly customer support representatives at support@freetaxusa.com. To be clear on some of the accusations from your comments, security is our top priority. We use bank grade encryption on all transactions and have securely filed millions of tax returns with the IRS. The five star reviews on this (and other) sites are from real customers, many of whom have filed multiple years using our service. You can read more reviews from verified customers at http://www.freetaxusa.com/reviews.jsp. FreeTaxUSA.com has been approved for e-filing with the IRS since our founding in 2001. Most recently we've been working with the IRS and state tax administrators as part of the IRS Security Summit. The focus of the Security Summit is putting together even tougher safeguards for protecting taxpayers in 2016. There are steps we all should take, on a personal level, to help protect our information as well. The IRS has some great information about that on https://www.irs.gov/Individuals/Taxes-Security-Together.

By Sam S. [FreeTaxUSA Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Jaime, yes you are always given an option to print and mail your tax return. In this case, since it's a prior year tax return, it will have to be printed and mailed. The IRS only accepts e-filed returns for current year taxes.

By Sam S. [FreeTaxUSA Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Felita, if you've already tried the Forgot username? and Forgot password? tools, you can email me directly at sam@freetaxusa.com with the email address you use in your FreeTaxUSA account. If you'd like to contact support directly you can email support@freetaxusa.com.

By Sam S. [FreeTaxUSA Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Latonia, our website offers prior year tax return preparation for 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2013. The pricing is the same as our current year product: Federal returns are free and State returns are $12.95. To prepare a prior year return: 1- Go to the FreeTaxUSA home page 2- Select the "Prior Year Products" link located at the top of the home page 3- Click on the year you would like to access and follow the prompts to access that software. Please be aware that the IRS only accepts e-filed returns for the current tax year. The only way to submit a prior year return is to print and mail the return.

By Sam S. [FreeTaxUSA Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Kant, FreeTaxUSA is an online tax preparation website owned by TaxHawk, Inc. The company was founded in 2001 by a certified public accountant and a team of professional software developers. Their combined experience in tax preparation, programming, and internet technology has made FreeTaxUSA one of the fastest growing tax websites online today. FreeTaxUSA is an original member of the IRS Free File Alliance and an authorized IRS e-file provider. The company has securely filed over 14 million federal tax returns with the IRS. Each year, the website helps taxpayers save millions of dollars in tax preparation fees with free federal and low-cost state offers.

By Sam S. [FreeTaxUSA Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Rachelle, you can login and print your tax returns at any time as long as you know the username and password. So if you'd rather come back later to print and mail your 2015 returns, you can do so when it's convenient for you.

By Sam S. [FreeTaxUSA Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Rachelle, thanks for writing. At this time our web site is only configured to e-file 2016 tax returns. Therefore if you wish to prepare and file a 2015 tax return, you'll need to do so with paper forms.

By Sam S. [FreeTaxUSA Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Daniel, thanks for writing. We do not charge to prepare or e-file your federal return, regardless of what you need to file, so you can file your federal return for free. If you wish to file your state return, the cost is $12.95. If you would like to upgrade to Deluxe, which includes audit assistance, priority support with live chat, and free amendments, the cost is $6.99.

By Sam S. [FreeTaxUSA Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Sharnae, thanks for writing. We use Santa Barbara Tax Products/Civista Bank to facilitate refund transfers. Also, FreeTaxUSA is owned and operated by TaxHawk, Inc.

By Sam S. [FreeTaxUSA Rep]
Questions? Get answers from the FreeTaxUSA staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
FreeTaxUSA?
Post Review