Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Cravetv.ca

Cravetv.ca reviews

Is this your business?
89 reviews
Toronto, Ontario, Canada

89 Reviews From Our Community

Service
6
Value
5
Shipping
1
Returns
1
Quality
6

All Reviews

lucask39
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/22/19

I cannot believe how bad the service is. You can't autoplay on the PC or Phone. On the smartTV it doesn't keep an accurate record of what episode I'm on or the time and to top it off I cannot browse the episodes through my cravings. I need to search for the show, that means typing with the remote. IT'S UNBELIEVEABLE. How can a network that produce such good show put up such a bad product?

bettyh133
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/12/19

Commercials! So annoying! Was watching Cardinal season three and the episode kept being interrupted by commercials for CTV. Couldn't fast forward through the commercials, system says this function is not available. I could pause and rewind but could not fast forward so forced to watch the commercials totally infuriating!!! the show was interrupted several times With the same commercials. How many times do they think I need to see them. I thought commercial free streaming was the whole point! Called my service provider and called CraveTV directly both booked my complaints but it's not gonna do anything I guess I'll just cancel my subscription

Tip for consumers: X

evang52
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/10/19

It amazes me that any company would ever feel comfortable putting out such a terrible product. Crave has so much potential but if they don't fix this embarrassing dumpster fire of an app they will never be as successful as their competitors. As of right now I've made sure anyone who's asking about crave knows to avoid it at all costs. This app is not worth the money and whoever had a part in making it should be ashamed of themselves. Can't think of a better example of a company shooting themselves in the foot. DO NOT BUY CRAVE.

wyldep
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/9/19

Like many other people complaints. Can't resume from where you stopped, glitchy. Nowhere near as good as Netflix

danal104
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/8/19

Platform wouldn't work on new tv - can't stop, pause or ff. Platform doesn't work in old tv either won't work with updated programs - the worst platform I've ever seen - 6th grade dropouts for IT

bryanh178
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/7/19

Put a movie on pause, had a phone call, tried to restart it, kept asking me to enter the password. Would not accept the password, spent four hours talking to various service people, kept forwarding me to different sites. After the four hours passed to my wife, she spent a hour being passed around, still no one could fix the problem. I cancelled the site !!! Back to Netflix for us.

cjb33
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/4/19

To peddle a mostly non-functioning online presence is bad enough, especially when in my experience, signing in through any web browser the most BASIC links like the unending "search" function cannot even find the most popular titles, and most basic functionality failures are met with questions like, "what brand of computer do you use" and that the product is "fully functional on Chrome, Firefox, and Safari" when Safari doesn't operate on Windows officially anymore and Firefox browser most links DO NOT WORK and return an error message no matter how many times they ask you to "clear your browser history." It is NOT CROSS PLATFORM so should not be openly marketed as such especially as "Online" if the basic web browsers are NOT SUPPORTED for FULL FUNCTIONALITY of the service.
When signing in online, you are met with 2 choices - Online account or through the TV Service Provider; anyone who has signed in online through any browser knows what we're talking about, right? But I have a question...do the others through their TV Provider have the same issues with functionality? I bet (and have heard) not. Functionality seems to be intact for new devices as well - just NOT A UNIVERSALLY USED WEB BROWSER. Does it work on Internet Explorer?
if they continue to market this "product" without the necessary immediate corrections made, then BELL CANADA should be brought up on FRAUD CHARGES for continuing to sell "Online" functionality when it cannot even work on a basic web browser. The "sales" department doesn't acknowledge any issues or multiple ongoing complaints.In my opinion, Better Business Bureau and the CRTC should take notice as well. Thank you and hope all is well with you and yours, but do not waste your valuable time or money

enochd9
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/2/19

If bell or any provider promises this as a add on to your telecom service DONT GET IT. Crave needs to pay me a subscription fee for all the time i wasted trying to get it to work.

kevinb670
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/2/19

Trying to subscribe to crave tv for a week now , the site is not worth 1 dollar hello 20 dollars a month . Plus no support calling back , Bell time to shut it down
What a waste of time

gundb
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/1/19

Can't relax and watch a show. Tried a few new seasons. Won't let u watch them saying there is a problem with my account

michaelm2035
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/30/19

I just got off the phone with ROSE from Customer service. She was reading out of a book and kept dancing around my problem. Not caring at all or listening to anything that I said to her. I have already been through this and know what happens next. For two months in a row now when apple took payment from me I couldn't view any content. I got an error message reading "A subscription to crave is required to watch this content". So naturally I call Crave customer service. As soon as they hear that I pay through iTunes, they put all the blame on them and tell me to contact iTunes. So I do and of course iTunes tell me that they took the payment and submitted it to crave and tell me that its up to crave to fix the problem. I then call crave back and demand to speak to a supervisor. Last time I asked for a supervisor there wasn't anyone higher then her to speak to. Now all of a sudden there is. They make my take about 4 screen shots of different things and email it to them. Why should I have to do this. I do it anyways and about three days later I finally get it to work again. I tried to tell ROSE this and again there is no one higher then her. All she said to me was that there has been many problems with iTunes and it has been escalated whatever that means. Good tv shows and movies but probably the worst customer service ever. Watch out cause this is going to happen to you to. I just cancelled my Netflix subscription. What a mistake

michaelj577
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/24/19

It beggars belief. If you haven't experienced it you simply won't believe that it was possible for a large corporation to release an app this bad. I sometimes TA at a coding camp: this app is buggy in a way that would guarantee a failing grade for a student who submitted it as a project. Can't pause. Can't fast forward. Can't rewind. Half the time when resuming a show it starts at the beginning. Will be cancelling before the end of the free trial and finding another source for the shows I'm interested in. Setting up a proxy to spoof country of origin will be far less effort/hassle than trying to use this POS app.

alexs737
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/23/19

Awful awful awful app performance. On smart tv, phone, Xbox, even web browsers. Not user friendly at all. Constantly being signed out, told I have too many devices being used when I don't. Shows randomly start from beginning with no way of fast forwarding unless I use a web browser.

jamesc1157
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/22/19

$10 per month when it first launched. On a long enough timeline a company will pull a blanket over the eyes of the customers in hope that we don't realise we've being scammed.
$10 per month: movies, shows, documentaries, setera-setera...
---------- changes website from orange to blue, a little more of a professional appeal ------- new and improved, presenting in 3....2....1

9.99 for an initial membership fee
NOW for only an additional 9.99 you can see movies in HD, critically acclaimed movies such as ----, yada yada yada ---- BOOM
Fancy words to loop around your brain so you don't pay attention to your ass when it gets f**led...

God dammit bell.... You guys need to feast on a satchel of Richard's....

rickf125
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/18/19

Launching the app, the screen takes a long time to load and this is on an iphoneXr

No AutoPlay so you constantly have to go back to your phone\tablet

The UI is horrid, clumsy to navigate, even setting up your list of titles to watch has WAY too many steps and overall lacking in basic features

TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE - I called with an issue\question and the Gentlemen' <- I use that lightly expressed a tone of irritation. My apologies sir for cause you to have to do your job

All Bell (Crave TV's Parent) had to do was cherry pick the best aspects of competing streaming services and then improve upon them. But it's as if they went about it the opposite way and implemented all the worst parts.

rs323
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/16/19

Have had to spend hours on the phone over multiple calls to get an issue resolved and they either don't understand the problem or have to push it to another person delayed a response for another 24-48 hours. Multiple times have not received their follow up emails and did not receive an initial email for a gift card leading to multiple calls and more problems.

danip24
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/13/19

The shows and movies that are offered are great and not at all the issue, the issue is that I pay monthly for a service that is often unusable and glitchy. I went to the site to try to watch a specific episode of Seinfeld. Firstly, I could not search for the show so I had to weed through all the comedy TV shows until I saw Seinfeld. Not the end of the world, but inconvenient none the less. Then, when I finally found the show, I tried clicking into the 7th season (The whole reason I was on the site was because on my Rogers box, the episode "The Invitations" was missing for some reason), I physically could not go to season 7 because whenever I click another season, it sends me back to the main Crave TV home page.

The only way I was able to watch this episode was to download the app on my Iphone. I tried checking with other shows, and the same problem occurs, so basically, since it starts you on season one of a show always, there is no way to choose a specific episode to watch through the online site. How someone could program this site and not have tested the integral features to check if they actually work is beyond me, especially when they have no problem taking our money regardless of it's functionality.

michaell970
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/13/19

No navigation tools at all (can't FF or RW) doesn't hold your place when leaving a show. Loses HD constantly (bad servers) and just a reason to lock content in Canada to bell. Do not waste your money.

robinm270
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/10/19

you think it'd get better after their hiatus! it's awful - logs out at random times, hard to find your recently played, so slow. Really a shame.

stevenm435
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/10/19

Takes 6-7 attempts to watch a movie/show. Too many glitches need to be fixed. TMN GO was much better.

allanl48
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/9/19

Trouble loading content.
Won't add titles to "my cravings".
Doesn't remember the last episode watched.
Too expensive.
And on and on.

cienaa
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/7/19

Need more meaningful dramas and tv shows added more regularly. Also only have one season for shows such as Power that have had many seasons. What's the point of only buying one season of a 4 season show?

Now that Crave has added HBO current programming (for almost double the price of the original membership), they are also holding HBO seasons back that aired years ago not just current season HBO. Eg Season 3-5 blocked unless you have the new HBO plus membership.

Small pet peeve - can't control program through remote (like you can with Netflix) when casting to your tv. Have to use the ap which is painful.

Lastly why do they keep raising prices ... If you're not pricing in line with Netflix who is regularly adding more product and seasons, your future is bleak.

I tried to include my review & rating on crave tv when their ap prompted me to rate but they wouldn't accept it. (Likely bc of low star rating).

ronb334
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/7/19

Shaw transitioned to Crave from TMN & this eliminated the light porn that used to play late nights occasionally on TMN3. Now the only worthwhile content in this package is from HBO. What a ripoff!

georgea232
1 review
3 helpful votes
1/6/19

Website is so slow to load, the video player is a joke. They advertise movies and shows on the main page that you can't even watch without paying extra (what's the point???!) video lags, takes ages to load for no reason (not internet related, other Windows like Netflix and YouTube load fine), they make you watch all the credits before playing next episode, there is no option to skip the intro/theme song, there is no spacebar play/pause function there is no play next episode button. Often the video freezes, and when you refresh the page they make you sign in again and find the episode and then you need to fast forward to where you are in the show (it doesn't remember where you left off) . Did I mention the website is terribly slow? Can't believe they run such a shoddy website, not even on the same spectrum as Netflix.

estherc57
1 review
3 helpful votes
1/1/19

Customer service is terrible and you have to wait 20+ minutes to find out nothing can be done. I wanted a refund on Jan 1 when the subscription cycle begins but nope they force me to subscribe until Feb 1. FYI I did not watch a single show and am still being charged. C'mon Bell you have lots of money. If you want solid customer service go to netflix or amazon. Ugh..

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I would not recommend getting CraveTV. their customer support and technical support as well as quality is not upto the mark to compete with other service providers.

By Harpal K.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Cravetv.ca staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

1 Photo for Cravetv.ca

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Cravetv.ca?
Post Review