We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    BackCountryWorld.org

Corporate Values

Overview

BackCountryWorld.org has a consumer rating of 1.2 stars from 41 reviews indicating that most consumers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. BackCountryWorld.org also ranks 103rd among Outdoor Equipment sites. The most common issues with BackCountryWorld.org are around returns, which are more complicated than expected by some customers.

  • Service
    3
  • Shipping
    3
  • Returns
    3
  • Quality
    2
View ratings trends

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

No positive highlights yet

Critical highlights

  • I let them know if i didn't hear back from them, I would be disputing the charge with my credit card company.
  • Worse customer service ever, I wouldn't recommend doing any business with this company ever...
How would you rate BackCountryWorld.org?
Top Positive Review

“Replacement no hassel”

Jerry S.
2/2/18

I did not give 5 stars cause it took sometime for them to make contact with me after I emailed, texted and left voice mail. Once we made contact the only thing they asked if I could send a picture of the defective part. I did and a return/exchange was authorized and fast. Other than the delay in answering I found the service was good and the customer service person friendly. Thank you

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Don't be a sucker like me.”

Kris W.
2/3/19

Ordered a sweater from this company. It took forever to arrive and when it did I wished it hadn't. A total piece of crap. Evidently it was made in a part of China where modern sweater making technology has not yet penetrated. My wife instantly threw it with items to give to Goodwill, though it saddens me to think of anyone walking around in such a ridiculous failed attempt at an article of clothing. This was a truly astounding rip-off.

See critical reviews

Reviews (41)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

credit card company (5) customer service (6) confirmation email right (3)
krisw57
1 review
2 helpful votes
February 3rd, 2019
Ordered a sweater from this company. It took forever to arrive and when it did I wished it hadn't. A total piece of crap. Evidently it was made in a part of China where modern sweater making technology has not yet penetrated. My wife instantly threw it with items to give to Goodwill, though it saddens me to think of anyone walking around in such a ridiculous failed attempt at an article of clothing. This was a truly astounding rip-off.
martinc221
1 review
4 helpful votes
December 17th, 2018
Not having a good experience. Ordered via their Facebook ad on 12.11.18. Anxious for Christmas delivery I too now find no response to emails or voicemails. Having read the reviews I'm always going to look at the sweater I ordered with buyer's remorse, if I ever get it. I ordered this sweater in XL black. Don't order from those Facebook ads!
jerrys132
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
February 2nd, 2018
I did not give 5 stars cause it took sometime for them to make contact with me after I emailed, texted and left voice mail. Once we made contact the only thing they asked if I could send a picture of the defective part. I did and a return/exchange was authorized and fast. Other than the delay in answering I found the service was good and the customer service person friendly. Thank you
samr212
1 review
2 helpful votes
January 3rd, 2019
This is a scam website, look at other reviews. They do not refund and the items are all horrible quality form China.
jimh477
1 review
2 helpful votes
January 24th, 2019
Ordered two articles of clothing, totally wrong size. No way to return or contact the company. Emails multiple phone messages, no answer. They are not worthy of anybodies business! Stay away
johnh1960
1 review
1 helpful vote
February 20th, 2019
This company is a total scam. I placed an order 6 weeks ago. My credit card was charged immediately, but I never received the item. I tried to call the number on the invoice, the number does not exist. I tried their website, not available. Luckily, I was able to dispute the charge to my credit card, and I received a full credit. DO NOT BUY from this bogus company. It is a total rip off!
roberth899
1 review
0 helpful votes
August 4th, 2018
NO response to customer communications. Did not follow through on promised tracking number despite repeated calls and emails. Never received merchandise; this is the time limit of the promised delivery window. Think I lost my money in this transaction.
joannk42
1 review
0 helpful votes
May 1st, 2019
Be aware of merchants who offer products and have a Shopify account. Shopify does not vet their customers who sign up to "sell" products that don't exist. They rely on people getting ripped off and figuring out that they should contact Shopify to complain. How many people go to the trouble?
gilesb17
1 review
1 helpful vote
February 2nd, 2019
Total sham company. Can't get any answer from merchandise I ordered in early December. Can't get a response by any method. I'm glad it wasn't an expensive article. Never, ever buy anything from this company! They have a great advertising campaign but they never deliver. I have already reported them to the better business burearu.
lauram639
1 review
4 helpful votes
January 4th, 2019
I ordered a jacket for a Christmas present on 12/13/18. I waited for the email from them notifying me of my tracking number, no email. I contacted them after 10 days by email, no response. I have called them and get the recorded message telling me to email them! I called and left messages requesting a call back - no response. No email response but still get emails advertising their products! I wish I had researched this company before falling for their lying sales ad! Buyer Beware!! DO NOT ORDER FROM THIS SCAM COMPANY!!!
isaacl19
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 26th, 2018
Horrible customer service. After placing numerous calls and emails I have yet to hear from them. I ordered a shark skin soft shell jacket size 2x. It did arrive however the size was not a 2x. I've been trying to contact them to exchange it for a larger size to no avail. Would not recommend buying from this company.
rebeccab354
1 review
3 helpful votes
January 8th, 2019
DO NOT Purchase anything from this company!!! If I could give them negative stars I would. They are a SCAM! I ordered a sweater for my Husband on December 12th for Christmas. They never said anything about it not arriving in time for Christmas. I emailed and called them on the 22nd and told them that I had not received my purchase and needed to know if/when it was coming. No one called me back but they sent an email with a tracking number. It is now January 8th and I still do not have the sweater. When I click on the tracking number the USPS website says that a label was created but they are waiting on the package at their facility. After calling again and leaving another message with no response I was luckily able to get my credit card company to reverse the charges. At least this scam of a company will not be getting my money. Just terrible!
maryc544
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 3rd, 2018
Pants did not fit, returned within the 30 day for full refund. No response from them for refund to my card or refund at all. Have called and emailed, no response!!!!!im thinking i lost my money.
deweyr13
1 review
1 helpful vote
February 16th, 2018
This company has horrible customer service, I have been waiting over a month for a simple order of gloves. I have sent multiple emails with NO response. Now I am seeing all the negative reviews here, and on BBB. I would not recommend ordering anything from this company. Buyer beware.
danf158
1 review
2 helpful votes
December 21st, 2018
I ordered a sweater from them and it took close to a month for them to ship it. Once it arrived I took the sweater out of the package to find loose threads everywhere along the sweater and a big hole in the front. I contacted them multiple times to receive a return authorization - including sending them an email picture of the defective sweater. I finally received a return authorization form, filled it out and sent the defective sweater back to them. They received the sweater almost 2 weeks ago and have yet to credit me for my return. The communication with this company is almost non-existent. They never answer their phone and rarely return emails.
I strongly recommend avoiding this company. They are a shady operation at best

Tip for consumers: Stay away

lilyr37
1 review
1 helpful vote
January 1st, 2019
I received an email confirmation and a shipping tracking number from USPS on 12/19 but they never created a shipping label!? And I have yet to hear a reply back to my numerous emails and phone calls.
richardm825
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
March 7th, 2019
No product just and scam from China? Called my credit card company so I will not be on the hook. I'm afraid that the credit card company is going to eat this. A SHAME THAT FACEBOOK IS NOT DOING MORE DUR DILIGENCE TO PROTECT THE CONSUMER. It's all about ad money. Will NEVER buy anything that is a paid for ad from facebook.
teddyg12
1 review
0 helpful votes
November 19th, 2018
Ordered sweater, took a month to get to me. Ordered an 3XXX and got the equivalent of a large. After reading the reviews I will not be sending it back. Will gift it as a Christmas present to someone's 12 year old. The person in Florida probably established a business name and is just a middle man for the company in China. Cannot image how the size difference is such between the US and China. Company is the pits. Also the sweater has pockets but the openings have been sewn shut. Come on man!!!!
richardw809
1 review
1 helpful vote
January 23rd, 2019
Purchased A Jacket (3)X it could not be warn by my 134 pound wife ,mislabeled sizing?Called four times ,emailed "8"Times.No Answer No Reply
Just look at the reviews and be warned DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THESE PEOPLE
GAVE THE JACKET TO THE NEEDY?
WOULD LIKE TO GIVE A RATING OF LESS THAN ONE STAR WAS NOT ABLE TO DO SO.
tisas4
1 review
1 helpful vote
December 20th, 2018
I ordered the same sweater as Martin C in Nov! After one email confirming the order absolutely nothing! No notification of shipment and no response to emails and voice mails! Will wait to see if I ever get it and if not will dispute the charge with my credit card company.
jeffp237
1 review
2 helpful votes
January 1st, 2019
I ordered a sweater as a Christmas gift on 12/3. It did not arrive before I left on 12/21 to go home. I requested the order be canceled since it wasn't going to arrive on time - request was submitted well before it shipped. No response.... I let them know if i didn't hear back from them, I would be disputing the charge with my credit card company. Still, no response. I initiated the dispute and emailed again. I did receive the product when I returned home - it was a joke. The sweater was a different color and just a cheap product altogether. I finally got an email back when I asked how to return the item telling me to pay for the item and stop the dispute.

Bottom line, they sell cheap crap and have zero customer service or communication skills. Avoid this company at all costs!
roym84
1 review
1 helpful vote
December 29th, 2017
I ordered two flashlights. I received the confirmation email right away but after more than 2 weeks there was no shipment confirmation. I called and emailed and never received a reply. I finally did receive an email that said the package was "on its way" but so far the USPS facility still hasn't received the package yet. If their products are as poor as their service, this company is a total scam...
sonyaa19
1 review
2 helpful votes
December 30th, 2018
I ordered two sweaters for Christmas gifts and have yet to recieve any shipment notification, let alone the product. I have sent countless emails requesting information regarding my order and they have NEVER responded. DO NOT ORDER FROM THIS COMPANY. THEY ARE A SCAM COMPANY AND THIEVES!!!
davidl393
1 review
2 helpful votes
February 22nd, 2017
Took over a month to get the jacket, then to find they sent the wrong size, they never told me it was coming from China. Worse customer service ever, I wouldn't recommend doing any business with this company ever...
brentc24
1 review
7 helpful votes
December 3rd, 2015
Iv ordered 3 green laser pointers from back country world, and was hoping for a tracking code within a couple weeks. I have yet to revive my package or any information(besides that the order had been fulfilled) after around 40 days. I am very displeased with the service of that site.
Iv even called various times throughout the day to ask, but have not gotten an answer.
If anyone from the site or others that have experience with this site, please let me know.

Q&A (9)

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the BackCountryWorld.org staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Find the best selection of hunting jackets, tactical flashlights, tactical shark skin jackets and more! Come check out our selection and visit us today!

How do I know I can trust these reviews about BackCountryWorld.org?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about BackCountryWorld.org?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business