Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of GetARoom

GetARoom reviews

464 reviews
Hotels, Travel
3010 LBJ Freeway Suite 1550
Dallas, Texas 75234
Tel: 800-468-3578
customerservice@getaroom.com

464 Reviews From Our Community

Service
25
Value
26
Shipping
11
Returns
14
Quality
19

All Reviews

johnm1114
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/21/17

I recently booked a room with GetARoom through Trip Advisor. The booking process was easy and went without a hitch, as you would expect and I paid in full. Unfortunately, I had to cancel my booking, and that was where this company excelled. One phone call was all it took. My booking was cancelled and my payment was refunded immediately and was back in my account within 3 days. We'll done GetARoom!

Advertisement
josephk92
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/21/17

I booked a room In a foreign country and didn't know what to expect. Get a room got me a room quickly, and at a good rate.

susanc284
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/21/17

I book a room months in advance for a trip to Toronto - ON THE WRONG DATE. Realized my mistake much later. Called the 800 number and was helped by a very nice gentleman. No fuss, no muss. Highly recommend!

elainek25
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/21/17

Getaroom wasvery helpful and accommodating. They were flexible and understanding when circumstances didn't allow us to keep out reservation

donnam227
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/21/17

Best price I found on line...was not sure if it was canadian or American prices ..had to phone to confirm...hard to understand operator..

nehap15
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/20/17

paid $130 through this third party and got to the hotel and had to pay extra for the room. I wasn't told this please help me get a refund.

fredl53
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/20/17

Before making the reservation I made sure they had a free cancellation policy (up to a week before reservation). I cancelled within 24 hours of making the reservation and was charged $366.
I actually thought I was on the hotel's reservation website. I broke my rule of always calling the hotel direct, and paid the price. DON'T USE THIS SCAM SERVICE.

katherinel38
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/19/17

I have had the same experiences and if I could give them zero stars I would . I booked a room at Hardrock in Tulsa, OK for 2 rooms for a Thursday night .....had to pay in full up front but a tax recovery fee of $122 was never mentioned but charged. When we got to the hotel they did not have our reservation so luckily they had rooms available but we had to pay for them in addition to the ones through get a room.....I have filed a dispute with my credit card company after trying to get somewhere with the representative from get a room ( who kept calling me "madam" and did not speak English very well and was most unhelpful saying I just needed to contact the hotel....and I kept trying to explain that our trip was over, we had already paid for the hotel rooms and I wanted my money back....I finally ended hanging up. My only suggestion is to NEVER use this website (although I thought I was booking through the hotel directly). I truly believe it is a scam

brianc188
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/19/17

I stay in hotels for around 40 weeks each year.
I normally book through Booking.com or Agoda and have never had a problem.

I booked with Getaroom and every fear that you might have in dealing with a copycat flyby night lowest life form kind of company comes free with every booking. They advertise a fair cancellation policy however they deny a refund even if you have complied with e ery criteria and have jumped through every one of their hoops.

They are con men. They are tricksters.
Do not believe that just because they appear on the main consolidator sites like trip advisor that they have been vetted. They haven't!!!

W O R S T. C O M P A N Y E V E R

and trip advisor do nothing to help you resolve.
Bad bad bad bad

alann75
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/18/17

Refused to refund my hotel charges after I assured them the Hotel had been informed by email and phone call that I had cancelled within the required time.

sharong94
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/17/17

DO NOT USE THIS RIPOFF SITE!!!
We paid $35.51 for a $77.38 rate at a Quality Inn in Alabama!! Almost 50 percent charge for the booking service!!
DO NOT USE THIS RIPOFF SITE!!!

lisab366
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/17/17

I am in Puerto Rico for a wedding. Booked in the wrong area and even offered to pay more for the hotel I needed. Rolando was very rude and not helpful at all

maxc56
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/16/17

On June 23, 2017 I called the Crown Plaza in Knoxville for a reservation for 8/20/17. I have stayed there many times and am happy with the Crowne Plaza. However on this date I ended up talking to someone with limited English skills, taking about 30 minutes to finalize the reservation. On 713/17 I called the Crowne Plaza to cancel the reservation. I was informed by the reservation desk they could not comply because had made the reservation with GETAROOM.COM (NEVER HAPPENED). I then called Get a Room. Turns out they misspelled my name so the reservation was a moot point. HOWEVER, when I received my credit card statement I was billed $199.03 for a 'booking fee' from CCI*HOTEL RECOUNTER. I called their number and talked to a latino woman with limited English skills who refused to believe I had not ever intended to book a room thru Getaroom.com. Once I asked to speak to the Jeffe (boss) she hung up. I then called another company-HOTELBOOKSERVFEE who was charging me $12.99. I called their number and they were nice enough to waive the fee. I then called my credit card company-they assured me they would erase the above fees and follow up with getaroom.com. My experience with Get a Room is they are a TOTAL FRAUD! Be careful even if you are booking directly with the motel/hotel.

cindylouc
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/15/17

If I had only researched this company first!!! I booked a room at Walt Disney Resorts for a Sept 16th stay. WDW Resorts has not yet received the reservation and each and every time I call or inquire I get the same "I'm sorry it will take 5 days to process". The hotel is booked solid, I'm pretty sure there isn't a room booked on my behalf.

billg68
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/15/17

Booked an Omni Resorts Grove Park Inn in Asheville through them & the charged me $137.86 per night in "Tax Recovery Charges and Service Fees! However, upon checking out of the hotel, I discovered that the ACTUAL taxes & fees came to just $76.22/night. So getaroom.com charged an additional $61.64/night in fees!
When I called them, their customer service claimed this was booked through another website & stonewalled me on their fees! Complete Rip-Off!!

saiprasadg
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/15/17

Please whoever stay here do not keep your valuable things in your trolleys unlocked..they robbed my 40 thousand bath and when i mailed them they dint even reply me back..worst hospitality ever..

billh162
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/15/17

As others have stated, Getaroom charges a fee for booking a room. We did a 3 night stay at the Homewood Suites in Glastonbury, CT , the Hotel charge was $396 while Getaroom charged $546, that's $150 just for using their booking service. On top of that there was no availability to cancel the reservation. Their website is very deceiving as you believe you are booking directly with the Hotel. DO NOT USE!!!!!!!

sarahc264
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/15/17

Googled the actual hotel's name, got toll-free number from website that came up, which appeared totally legit.
Come to find out it was this 3rd party vendor, who then gave me a rate $10 more than the actual rate, and advised me that it was a lower nonrefundable rate.
Plus the additional taxes & fees were approximately 1/2 of the room rate!
When I finally found the number of the actual hotel, it was then I learned that this is a 3rd party vendor.
I feel scammed!! Currently working on getting my refund! Very angry!!!

myrnac4
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/14/17

Getaroom doesn't let you know that you are bpoming through a U.S. company!!! After you book at the 888 number you receive or you are suppose to receive a confirmation email with your conf #..i didn't so i had to call back...received it from a second agent...in that email it says it will be processed in the United States...does not state payable in U.S. dollars...guess what...312.87 turned into 416.00...NOW WHY WOULD A CANADIAN WANT TO PAY US DOLLARS FOR A ROOM IN OTTAWA????..If i would not have paid the refundable price i would have been stuck paying 416.00...phone number showing to call is not TRAVEL LODGE number....... 888-724-1575 is GETAROOM....

foleyf
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/14/17

the people were nice... the room, two broken lights... toliet that hung up and ran every time it was flushed... and roaches!

philadelphiar1
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/14/17

They don't tell you about all of the additional charges/amenities you lose by not booking direct such as parking, breakfatst, etc.

sharadk
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/14/17

Easy booking experience with no problems. Very satisfied with the hotel. It was clean and the staff was very courteous.

jimq4
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/12/17

Good service. Booked hotel room near CDG Paris from Transit airport. Got a decent rate. No problems at all.

carthagemou
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/12/17

Had a great stay on a very busy weekend.The hotel had multiple sports teams and families scheduled and the accomidated is with laundry and bedding.

pohungl
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/12/17

This is my first used Getaroom.com to booking room, I can know any booking info when I checked booking order, ex: booking order ID, total prices, even each night room price, I feel very Satisfied

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer
3
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I would not use it. Better to reserve thru the hotel directly. I used them and thought I was getting a good deal but in actuality paid more than hotel was offering at the time.

By k m. on 5/18/16
Helpful answer
3
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

call 800-468-3578 but good luck.They are scammers

By maureen b. on 1/12/16
Helpful answer
2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Thought I was booking on the actual hotel sight but was deceived in as much as it was Getaroom. Talked to someone else also staying at this hotel at the same for about a third less. Called them right back and had already charged my card and it would be up to 3 weeks to refund. That's about what it took but did get refund. Then checked reviews and no one had anything good to say about getaroom. Go straight to hotel sight of one you know and trust or stick with something like Travelocity.

By Luva K. on 4/21/16
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

They are a site attached to Trip Advisor---- if you see them on screen while trying to book a room-- hit cancel. I'm out over $150 because of their fraudulent cancellation policy.

By Patty D. on 1/9/16
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Wow. This is one bad company. Made a reservation and then needed to cancel. They gave cancel date all along. I called to cancel on that date and was told that date was only for 1 minute of date they told me. I was supposed to forfeit one night's cost. Luckily I made reservation on AMEX and they'll tell this fraud company to get lost. Moral of the story: make reservations through hotel.

By Dennis B. on 10/6/16
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

They don't guarantee the room. You might get there and have to pay extra for the room you expected to get.

By Cyndi O. on 7/7/15
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

HEY, friend send them a email. o try to call them. good luck!

By Angel B. on 5/1/15
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

The hotel has nothing to do with these scumbags.

By Dennis B. on 9/11/16
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I didn't have a European #. Whenever I have doubt, its the 1800# of getaroom that I rang and most of the people that I spoke to on the other end were very helpful. After finalising my booking through getaroom and got the confirmation or receipt # from getaroom, I have allowed at least 48 hours grace period and rang the hotel # direct to ensure that my booking with that hotel, via getaroom was legit and as I mentioned, I never had any problem of all the 10 hotels I booked through them. The best part was after hour trip, I sent back the coupon discount and got 10% refund (if my booking was more than $400)...My advice is to read all the print and if in doubt, ring the getaroom contact number.

By Tina T. on 6/27/15
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

hi friends, unfurtunatelly my husband had bought yesterday a room to stay in Dubai, i tried to get to our reservation page we can not find any reservation. so i sent a email asking why such and the reply is that- ~Elia Compton, Apr 15, 8:02 AM: Dear xxxxxx Thank you for contacting Getaroom.com Customer Care. The reservation was just booked yesterday for arrival Wednesday, Jun. 10, 2015 Depending on your arrival date, in some cases, your name may not appear at the hotel until 72 hours prior to your arrival date. Rest assured, getaroom.com guarantees your room is booked from a pre-negotiated block of inventory. I sent a confirmation to email address: xxxxxx@hotmail.com. You can also access the reservation on Getaroom.com. Click on the reservations link and enter the information to look up the reservation. Enter first and last name, and the confirmation code with the letter R in front of it. Once you access the receipt you have the option to print the receipt for your records. Kind Regards, Elia Compton getaroom.com Well, friends hope we are not wrong and everything goes fine in Dubai.

By Angel B. on 4/28/13
Questions? Get answers from the GetARoom staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
GetARoom?
Post Review