Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of GetARoom

GetARoom reviews

626 reviews
3010 LBJ Freeway Suite 1550
Dallas, Texas 75234
Tel: 800-468-3578
customerservice@getaroom.com

626 Reviews From Our Community

Service
33
Value
34
Shipping
14
Returns
19
Quality
25

All Reviews

kayvonj
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/23/17

We contacted the hotel the next day to inquire about early check in and they told us we had no reservations while my credit card was fully charged almost immediately. We called and I am still unclear on the matter

lynng75
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/23/17

While visiting the Fairfield Marriott "official" website to book a room I was also scammed by getaroom.com. I called getaroom with my concern over the excessive tax and service charges. They couldn't care less. They can't break down the charges and at this point have not offered to make any refund. I am still pursuing this, because some clients have stated they did get some or all of the excessive charges refunded. I will not book another room with any of the Marriot affiliates if this is the way they treat their clients.

Tip for consumers: WATCH OUT FOR EXCESSIVE TAX AND SERVICE CHARGES

Service
Value
Quality
maureenm68
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/23/17

GetARoom deceives you by thinking you are on the hotel site. The rates look great, but READ THE FINE PRINT. They charged and extra $140 for hotel recovery fees, whatever that is. I cancelled the reservation within minutes because it said the cancellation policy was that of the hotels.
They wont refund my money.

stevet156
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/20/17

I have booked before with GetARoom and found the experience to be great. Lately, the experience has been declining. The representative on this call wasn't all that helpful. I used to be a huge fan, not so much anymore

josephinav
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/20/17

Great value for money, very easy to fill in details online! Contacted hotel later with reservation number to request bed option and they came promptly back to in a positive way. Definitely check them out again!

wayned41
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/19/17

I went to Marriot.com to book a room and a pop up ad come up. I just assumed that it was Marriot with prices, I decided to proceed and didn't realize that it was a third party. I booked the room assuming that it was Marriot. When I asked for a receipt at the hotel they said that it was booked through a third party and can not provide a receipt. It turned out that I booked it through Getaroom.com. I called Getaroom.com got a receipt and it had a "Tax Recovery Charges & Service Fee" for $155.85. I called the "company" (scam) and asked what the breakdown of these fees and they could not provide that information. I then asked for a supervisor and was placed on hold for several minutes and that person was not able to provide the information either. So, I have no idea what the $155.85 included in this "fee".

lizd34
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/19/17

This seemed to good to be true! I canceled our reservation with the hotel and we were still charged for the room. The staff on line will can not help us because we did not canceled with the 800 number. They claim that the confirmation email instructs to call 800 - it clearly doesnt. The staff I talked to actually threaten me that no action could or would be taken because I didnt call them. They were rude and nasty calling me out as a liar. I asked how they could reimburse a hotel with out proof of us staying there. They said it happens all the time. Stay safe and book with hotels directly. This company is awful

gurcana
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/18/17

Everything was ok except, noting mentioned in reservation document about breakfast inclusive. I wrote to customer service to check again if there is something wrong with breakfast inclusive. They answered that breakfast is included in reservation but is it is not writen in reservation form.

rond201
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/17/17

when it jumped over from trip advisor it accidentally put that I was a party of two, not one. it didn't matter to the price. all I asked is if they would alert the hotel that I'd be just one guest not two. I was told that was impossible. so I just emailed the hotel myself and they took care of it and thanked me.

svena5
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/16/17

I also was hijacked to renting a room through this third party rip off company. MAKE SURE YOU ARE ON THE CORRECT SITE BEFORE MAKING THE RESERVATION. While I was 'only' charged for the two days that I was there, the room rates and recovery charges were EXCESSIVE. I was not aware that I had used "Getaroom.com" until I asked for my receipt at the front desk and was told I could not get one, that I had to get it from the third party company. Nothing was sent to me via email, and trying to get a receipt from customer non-support was laborious. If I could give a rating lower than one ... I would do so in a heartbeat.

brendat54
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/16/17

Update. GetARoom did reach out to me and reimburse me half the booking fee that showed up after my reservation was confirmed. They seemed sincere in their effort to want to make it better. However, I still feel that if there are additional fees related to a booking it needs to be prominently shown before a room is booked. Otherwise it seems very shady. I am satisfied that they listened to my complaint.

I was unknowingly redirected to this site and the price was clearly shown when I booked, but my confirmation email had an additional $202 "tax recovery and service fee" charge!!! After speaking to the hotel and reviewing my email I realized the reservation was made with GetARoom.com--I'd never even heard of them. ALWAYS look at the site name before booking to make sure that you weren't inadvertently redirected without knowing it.

paulac94
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/15/17

Quick, great selection, great prices. Never used them before so was pleasantly surprised and will use them again as long as all goes well.

pamelas161
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/15/17

Highly recommend this company!! Price matched and was lovely on the phone. The representative was kind and helpful. I will know more after we check out at the hotel.

christophert53
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/15/17

GET A ROOM SUCKS, THEY STEEL MONEY. A MISTAKE BOOKING AND YOU WONT GIVE BACK. YOU WILL NEVER BE USED AGAIN.
Update.
GetARoom just called and said they will refund the full amount.
i'm starting to like them again.
So GetARoom did return my money, yeah!
Thank you, GetARoom.com

robertd341
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/14/17

I was directed to GET A ROOM through Trip Advisor. I assume they are affiliated. They booked me at a different hotel than the one I was trying to book and when I checked my credit card account, the amount was different than what I understood the charge would be. Within a few minutes after I received the email confirmation listing a different hotel than the one I was trying to book, I contacted Get A Room to get them to change the booking and they were not helpful at all. The reservations were not cancellable and they hid behind that and refused to make any changes to what I think was their error. I just hope I really have reservations...and I plan to check that before I pay my credit card bill.

I will never book anything through Trip Advisor/Get A Room again.

josephk101
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/11/17

I went to book a room at the same site that I always do only to find out by the hotel on arrival that it was book through this third party site. Then comes the credit card statement. I apparently paid for two days that I was not there due to early check out due to being called to another job site by my company. After finding out that I paid $819 for 5 nights and the hotel was only paid $617 for those five nights. According to this site their reservation charge was only $15. Where did the rest of the money go that the hotel didn't get paid???? So on top of that almost $200 and the $244 for the two nights not used, they got me for close to $450. Now I have to pay that money out of my pocket to my employer because I can't expense more then what the receipts show. After calling customer service, which was no help, all they had to say was that because I checked out early, they were not liable to refund any money. Getaroom.com IS A RIP OFF THIRD PARTY SITE.. Hope your plans don't get changed cause you will not get any money back. I am going to write a review on everysite that I can about them

Tip for consumers: DO NOT USE GETAROOM.COM !!!!!!!

runqil
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/10/17

Very professional, quick, fast, easy. High end rooms with good price. Skrt skrt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Response from Bell P., GetARoom Representative
Thank you for the positive feedback. We appreciate it very much. Getaroom.com.
eduardos39
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/10/17

I looked in various pages and this was the best price, I totally recommend it for your hotel reservations

Response from Bell P., GetARoom Representative
Thank you for the positive feedback. We appreciate it very much. Getaroom.com.
anaa52
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/7/17

The service and customer service was horrible, their term and agreements are not clear. I booked a hotel room through getaroom via online, once I got to the hotel they told me it was 100% full capacity. I called getaroom 7 mins after the reservation to get refund and they told me they couldnt because check in time is at 3pm not before however they dont have that statement anywhere in their policy and terms. They assumed one is supposed to know that. What about if you are not from here (USA)? I attempted to talk to a supervisor and they never allowed me to talk to one. They kept saying none was on duty or that they were late for work. I Spoke to 5 different people, I would say the worse of them was Frank and Angie. Extremely, rude people and made me feel so disrespected. They took 162.10 from and never even got to the room. I got charged 162.10 to get humiliated over and over... over the phone.

samc160
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/6/17

I went online to a particular hotel website and, unknowingly, was re-routed to getaroom for booking purposes. I booked a room and then received an emailed itinerary for a completely different hotel name. I called and was informed the hotel had been bought buy another chain which is not a huge deal but one that I feel should have been disclosed prior to booking. The representative from bookaroom.com also informed me that my entire cost is non-refundable. I then went to the correct hotel's website and checked prices. I believe I could have paid less by using the hotels website due to the service fees charged and would have the option of cancelling should my travel plans be unexpectedly postponed. I am very dissatisfied. I was mislead to believe that I was booking directly through the hotel and this seems to be an unfair and unethical business tactic.

kristis23
2 reviews
9 helpful votes
11/2/17

I booked a room at the America's Best Value Inn Grand Canyon Gateway in June for September. When I found I had to cancel the reservation, I called the number listed on my credit card statement--they billed the same day I booked the room!

I called the hotel to cancel the reservation. They said they did not have me listed for ANY RESERVATION ANY TIME there.

I grieved the billing with BofA. Hotel and Getaroom are in cahoots and have charged me for being a "no show."

Getaroom is BEYOND A SCAM. Do NOT go there!!

michaelg392
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/29/17

I booked with this company two rooms and found out 10 minuets after I booked we could not make reservations so I asked to cancel this they said no refunds how do you run a business like this

benjamino12
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/26/17

Very fast, efficient, and accurate. The hotel confirmed my reservation. Although I eventually had to cancel and rebook the initial transaction flowed very well.

ronm140
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/25/17

One day my brother-in-law called to ask if our nephew could stay with us the following night on his way north to a job site. Of course we said yes, except that it would have to be at a hotel near us and that we would happily pay for it. A few hours later, after we had made reservations through GetARoom.com, dear nephew called to cancel. Seems his probation officer nixed the idea. PROBATION OFFICER?!?!? We didn't know anything about a fricking probation officer!

Okay, now I've gotta call GetARoom and ask for a refund knowing full well how difficult that might be and knowing full well that the subject of my nephew's probation officer might come up, which wouldn't help. First I called Holiday Inn to ask their assistance and maybe even completely circumvent GetARoom. They said they would do what they could and gave me a ticket number that they said GetARoom would need when they called for refund authorization. Wait, GetARoom needs refund authorization from Holiday Inn? Good thing I called Holiday Inn first.

Next I called GetARoom, expecting the worst. But as soon as they mentioned that it looked like it was too late to get a refund, I gave them the ticket number and said that Holiday Inn had seemed rather agreeable to it when I spoke to them. And that did the trick!, and is the only reason I mention it here... You need to call the hotel in question and see if they would be agreeable to giving you a refund. If they are, that's more than half the battle, right there. imo

So, I have to give GetARoom five stars. A+++ ... They were pleasant. They were courteous. They were professional. In no way did they try to cheat me. I come away from the experience very pleasantly surprised, and happy. I would definitely use their services again.

davidm762
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/23/17

Never use GetARoom it is a total ripoff. I made reservation for the wrong date online and I immediately call them back to get the date corrected and was told I can't and was not refunded my money back. 5 mins had not even past when I was trying to make the correction.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 3
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I would not use it. Better to reserve thru the hotel directly. I used them and thought I was getting a good deal but in actuality paid more than hotel was offering at the time.

By k m.
Helpful answer 3
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

call 800-468-3578 but good luck.They are scammers

By maureen b.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Thought I was booking on the actual hotel sight but was deceived in as much as it was Getaroom. Talked to someone else also staying at this hotel at the same for about a third less. Called them right back and had already charged my card and it would be up to 3 weeks to refund. That's about what it took but did get refund. Then checked reviews and no one had anything good to say about getaroom. Go straight to hotel sight of one you know and trust or stick with something like Travelocity.

By Luva K.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

They are a site attached to Trip Advisor---- if you see them on screen while trying to book a room-- hit cancel. I'm out over $150 because of their fraudulent cancellation policy.

By Patty D.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Wow. This is one bad company. Made a reservation and then needed to cancel. They gave cancel date all along. I called to cancel on that date and was told that date was only for 1 minute of date they told me. I was supposed to forfeit one night's cost. Luckily I made reservation on AMEX and they'll tell this fraud company to get lost. Moral of the story: make reservations through hotel.

By Dennis B.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

They don't guarantee the room. You might get there and have to pay extra for the room you expected to get.

By Cyndi O.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I didn't have a European #. Whenever I have doubt, its the 1800# of getaroom that I rang and most of the people that I spoke to on the other end were very helpful. After finalising my booking through getaroom and got the confirmation or receipt # from getaroom, I have allowed at least 48 hours grace period and rang the hotel # direct to ensure that my booking with that hotel, via getaroom was legit and as I mentioned, I never had any problem of all the 10 hotels I booked through them. The best part was after hour trip, I sent back the coupon discount and got 10% refund (if my booking was more than $400)...My advice is to read all the print and if in doubt, ring the getaroom contact number.

By Tina T.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

hi friends, unfurtunatelly my husband had bought yesterday a room to stay in Dubai, i tried to get to our reservation page we can not find any reservation. so i sent a email asking why such and the reply is that- ~Elia Compton, Apr 15, 8:02 AM: Dear xxxxxx Thank you for contacting Getaroom.com Customer Care. The reservation was just booked yesterday for arrival Wednesday, Jun. 10, 2015 Depending on your arrival date, in some cases, your name may not appear at the hotel until 72 hours prior to your arrival date. Rest assured, getaroom.com guarantees your room is booked from a pre-negotiated block of inventory. I sent a confirmation to email address: xxxxxx@hotmail.com. You can also access the reservation on Getaroom.com. Click on the reservations link and enter the information to look up the reservation. Enter first and last name, and the confirmation code with the letter R in front of it. Once you access the receipt you have the option to print the receipt for your records. Kind Regards, Elia Compton getaroom.com Well, friends hope we are not wrong and everything goes fine in Dubai.

By Angel B.
Questions? Get answers from the GetARoom staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
GetARoom?
Post Review