Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Expedia

Expedia reviews

Is this your business?
1,739 reviews
3150 139th Avenue SE
Bellevue, Washington 08512, USA
Tel: 1-800-319-4834
hotline@expedia.com
2018 Customer choice award

1,739 Reviews From Our Community

Service
44
Value
39
Shipping
17
Returns
26
Quality
36

All Reviews

sueo37
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/8/19

Booked a hotel through Expedia 6mo ago; 24h prior to arrival, hotel tells us the room is no longer available and found us a subpar space for almost same price as original. We thought Expedia would help us find another hotel, but Expedia tells me they have to "wait to hear back" from original hotel before they can move forward with finding us a new hotel. Expedia expects us to wait till morning of arrival in a foreign city to find me a hotel, "because they haven't heard back from original hotel". They probably want to make sure the money is refunded to them before finding us a new hotel. Expedia is NOT on your side as a customer, you are at their mercy.

janetc304
4 reviews
0 helpful votes
7/7/19

Their UI is a bit clunky and they don't give the best prices. Much better options online, if you take the time to do your research.

jackr211
4 reviews
0 helpful votes
7/5/19

I never used expedia for my bookings before I needed to plan a trip with a lower budget, and was looking at all the possible places.
We found great deals on 2 hotels that we booked and literally could not believe the price was so low, as it was almost double on the main website of the hotels, and on other sites it was a lot higher too
Will try and locate more offers through here more often

sk248
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
7/3/19

I booked a hotel for a week and PRE-PAID but my actual bill was $600 less and EXPEDIA will NOT refund the difference!!! I've been on hold to try to talk to a manager for almost an hour now. Don't ever pre-pay!!! Research using Expedia but book on the actual hotel website. This was a costly lesson learned...!!!

davidg225
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
7/2/19

I'm a long-term user of expedia so I have a fair amount of experience. When you run into trouble and need help you will find it's not worth it... just can't get it done. Long wait times on hold, then transferred into nothingness.

I'm just trying to warn you off... you'll get stuck. Use some other service.

My personal experience was that the airline cancelled my flight about a week early...Not expedia's fault. But I couldn't cancel with expedia! Frustrating.

jamesr923
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/29/19

Booked a tour via Expedia. Received expedia itinerary number but no confirmatory e-mail. Contacted Expedia Customer Service and told itinerary number was no good. Called trout co and told we had no reservation. But they did, rapidly and efficiently, charge my credit card. Disputed the charge but expedia said there was no problem and the fee was non-refundable. Seems once expedia gets you money they are through and feel no obligation to deliver the service you paid for.

carlosc234
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/24/19

So I booked a bundle deal with Expedia, purchased the travel protection and used their financing option via affirm. Everything was fine until I decided to add an extra day to trip, doing so was a nightmare, I called and was given 4 different prices within 30 minutes by 4 different people...whatever I paid and due to my travel protection I was told I'd receive a 356 dollar refund, so I was like cool, money back. Note that upon upgrading my trip I used a separate payment method, that being my own, from the first purchase (6 months ago). I spoke to a supervisor when making this purchase, and never did she tell me that I'd be getting a refund to affirm financing payment I used 6 months ago. Why would that make sense? I use my mastercard and I get the money back to payment method that I didn't use for the transaction? I called for a whole week trying to get this resolved and in the end I couldn't get my money back. If it's "policy" to give refunds to a first payment, you think they'd tell you that! But no, and they did nothing to fix it after they said I was guaranteed a fix to my issue. Don't use expedia.

robertj497
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/23/19

I booked a "budle trip", roundtrip air, hotel and car. I personally made an error and immediately called Expedia and they cancelled the flight and re-scheduled us with another carrier. However, on my credit car the charge from the cancelled airline was posted in the allotted time so I telephoned Expedia. Eventually I was connected with a supervisor named GERALD who did an outstanding job of navigating through the red tape and handling my problem. Now I don't travel as much now but when I get great service like what was provided by GERALD, I can be assured EXPEDIA will do the job or make it right.

suef98
4 reviews
1 helpful vote
6/20/19
• Updated review

We booked a flight from Shanghai to Hong Kong, paid for it on line, never go the tickets, after over 60 calls to their so called phone number which they don't pick on, we finally got another number by chance, they said our email was wrong!! then sent tickets through. We got to the airport, stood in line for 40 mins to be told our tickets had been cancelled by Travelginio!! we then had to buy two more tickets twice the price with another airline to get back to Hong Kong in time to fly back to Australia. I have since contacted them and they were happy to tell me that our email wasn't working and basically too bad!!
Best advise< look on line for feedback and make sure they are safe to book online with, we will never use them again and make sure we tell everyone we know not to bother with them, they are a disgraceful organisation. Will never book with them again. shocking customer service the worst I have ever come across. They have since contacted me yesterday and offered me $45Euros instead of the $502.00 AUD we paid. they are dishonest, tell everyone looking to book online to stay away from them. There are 100's of reviews on line telling people how bad they are. please pass this on

Tip for consumers: Read all travel site review before you book anything that isn't mainstream we fly Hong Kong airlines when in China and didn't know they are connected for them to be used as a third party . our fault.

Service
Value
Quality
“DO NOT USE TRAVELGENIO - DODGY SITE - UNTRUSTWORTHY”
6/10/19
• Previous review

DON'T BOOK THOUGH THIS DISGUSTING AGENT, THEY ARE DODGY, I BOOKED TWO TICKETS FROM SHANGHAI BACK TO HONG KONG IN JAN FOR MAY, WE GOT TO THE AIRPORT AND OUR TICKETS HAD BEEN CANCELLED, THEY TOLD US THAT THEY WERE NEVER PAID FOR!! I PRODUCED THE BANK STATEMENTS SHOWING THE MONEY HAD COME OUT OF MY ACCOUNT THE SAME DAY OF THE BOOKING!! STILL CAN'T GET OUR MONEY BACK FROM EITHER THE TRAVEL INSURANCE COMPANY OR TRAVELGENIO. WE HAD TO BUY NEW TICKETS WHICH COST $1200AUD - DON'T USE THEM

katd65
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/15/19

The company booked the wrong dates for my hotel. I called the customer service to have them change the dates for me and they said they would have the manager call back. My traveling day was coming up in less than a day and I needed it fixed. They had it booked for the following week. It wasn't until at least 3 weeks after that someone called me back to say that they would give me a credit for the hotel that I no longer needed. I called to dispute the charge with my credit card company but the Expedia claimed the charge was legit (No refunds whatsoever). I had been a customer with the company for over at least 10 years. I wouldn't spend another penny for this company and take my money elsewhere.

davem534
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/13/19

I booked an airline ticket (Itenary No - XXXXX) from Expedia. They booked it through ETIHAD Airways departing March 1st, 2019 from Toronto to Mumbai and Returning from Mumbai to Toronto on March 12, 2019. For some reason, I had to cancel the flight. I called them the day before departing. It took 5 hours for them to cancel the flight. I called 10 to 15 times to both Expedia and ETIHAD. Expedia said call ETIHAD and Cancel it ETIHAD said call Expedia and cancel it. Somehow Expedia canceled it and gave me a case ID (E-XXX) with the $399 charges.
I have been chasing them to get my $1100 refund back. I called them multiple times to check the status of my refund on my credit card. Every call is 1 hour wait time. It has been 3 months I have not received my refund yet. They are repeating the same story to check with ETIHAD's accounting department (Case ID - XXX) and ETIHAD said to check with Expedia. I talked to one of the customer representatives today she said she will call ETIHAD behalf of me and will find out the status and kept me on hold and said if the call will drop she will call me back. I never got a call back from her.
It's a hassle to dealing with them just to cancel the ticket even though you are paying the cancellation fees. It's better to book it through local agents (Old school way).

ariell21
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/9/19

Two years ago i hosted many guests from expedia, they paid online but expedia never paid any penny to our hotel. Everyday with new excuses
We asked them to delete our listing. Today after two years , they didnt delete our listing and still people are booking. However we dont accept guest from them because its for free!
If you book anything from expedia, you just help hotels mafia. Your host will not get anything!

rb291
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/31/19

My family and I were on a weekend get away in Sedona Arizona on memorial day weekend. Originally we booked two rooms for Saturday night. Thursday we contacted Expedia and changed the reservations to Friday and Saturday night. The Expedia representative explained to us that they moved our reservation to another hotel for two nights and cancel the reservations at the original hotel. After staying the first night in the second hotel I am contacted by the front desk, they tell me that we need to leave that Expedia only booked our rooms for one night. I contacted Expedia at that time and they explained to me that our original hotel was no longer available and there were no other hotels in Sedona available in our price range, they suggested a hotel 90 miles away or that I drive from hotel to hotel looking for rooms. I had to book 2 rooms at the last minute at another hotel, at 3 times the price. If you think that is enough to ruin your week end getaway, on Sunday morning we get a email from Expedia asking us to rate the original hotel that they told me the day before was no longer available, but they were kind enough to bill me for. After getting back home and talking to Expedia customer service for hours, they except no responsibility whatsoever and offer no reimbursement. Do not trust Expedia with your vacation, they don't care. Expedia also owns, Orbitz, Hotel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com. I will not trust any of them with a vacation either. After doing more research I have found that you can get the same price and much better service dealing directly with the hotels.

lydiaz7
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/30/19

I bought a $4000 trip from Expedia, then tried to get a refund about a week afterwards when I found the same flights for $1000 elsewhere. I had to spend 12 hours on the phone with the Expedia reps to get my money back as a credit (only usable through Expedia, for the same airline).

During that time the Expedia reps tried their absolute hardest to get me to stop pursuing a refund by giving me misleading information, long wait times, and occasionally outright lies. I was only able to confirm that a refund was possible thanks to the American Airlines phone reps.

Now, every time I try to use this credit with Expedia, they give me the same runabout for 2 hours. I have been blatantly lied to multiple times in this process regarding: The existence of my Expedia credit, the amount of credit remaining, the eligibility of a certain flight for use with the credit, the credit rollover policy, and American Airlines policy.

amberk65
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/13/19

If I could give less than one star I would!
My fiancé called Expedia regarding a condo we saw displayed on there website he wanted to know if room service was included and gave the room number we were inquiring about. He was very pushy and insisted we book and he would give us a discount my fiancé asked if he could see what was getting booked and that we wanted this specific room due to how nice it looked on line the guy then spat off some random numbers and asked if we wanted to book the room we had been discussing so we agreed $2000 later we get an email of this horribly ugly room that was booked for us. We immediatly called to dispute spent hours each night fighting this just for them to say they need to pull phone recordings and to give them 72 hours we have them 6 days!!! Once we called back after not hearing from them we were informed they were in no means wrong on their behalf and we agreed to this horrible room that we had never even seen photos of and was never informed that is was in fact not the room we were inquiring about. They told us there was nothing they could do since it was non refundable except for call the condo which NOONE has been able to get ahold of in 6 days! Then she claims the room we want is not on their site even after I tell her I am looking right at it now and I'm on your web page and Mobil app!! She rudely informs us that can't be possible..So basically we spent our $2000 for our honey moon and are stuck in a room that is not even displayed on their site and the room we requested is still available even though they claim it is not on Expedia. Horrible company and I will be posting this review on every outlet.

petyab
2 reviews
9 helpful votes
5/9/19

I started booking a package flight and hotel on Expedia.com. The quoted price was about $1,200. All the way through the reservation flight and hotel selections this price was showing. On the last step, right before purchase, the price went up to $3,000. I called on the phone and representative told me that she is experiencing the same issue, that probably the price will fall down when we make the reservation and that the reservation has a 24-hour cancellation-free policy. She recommended me buying it despite the high price. Later on it tuned out the reservation does NOT have a 24-hour cancellation-free policy. The flight could be cancelled, but the hotel was non-refundable, which basically made me stuck into the whole reservation.
I contacted Expedia numerous times, most of the responses were that they work in a live environment. On the other hand the same reservation on Priceline.com was around $1,200, so I would guess that would be the "live" and reasonable price.
Expedia also refused to match the price because they said they do not have such a policy any more, since they guarantee the lowest price. Despite that their price of $3,000 is outrageously higher than the Priceline.com's $1,200.
I attached not only screen shots of the website of Expedia with a SUDDEN almost THREE times increase of price, but also screenshots of Priceline.com for the same reservation. Despite that all Expedia responses seem to be copying the same standard reply about the "live environment".
Very disappointing experience with Expedia! Very misleading phone representative and an extremely inadequate customer service!

johnnyn38
4 reviews
0 helpful votes
4/27/19

Expedia.com are professional, i always do my trip booking ( flights, hotels, cars) through there website.
They are honest fast and reliable.
I really recommend it.

brandons98
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
4/22/19

My wife and I book all our trips on Expedia. It is much cheaper than booking a flight directly from the airline. The points are nice and although it takes forever for them to redeem, I definitely have been able to use them and get free hotel rooms. App and website are very easy to use. Although sometimes if I am booking a hotel flight and car, the app does not work as well as the website

lynnet49
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
3/24/19

I have used Expedia in the past and didn't have an issue however, they have changed their policies AND fine print! Buyer BEWARE!! Do not use this service. I lost so much money with this ripoff service. As hurricane Michael moved in they rubbed their hands together at the amount of money they would steal from innocent customers. They kept all my money for airfare and hotels saying they were non- refundable tickets! Really? Eff you Expedia, I've told everyone I know how you steal from hard working Americans. I will never recommend or use another service for travel again. Out 700.$ thanks to a natural occurrence and a crooked business operation. Stay away from these scammers!!!!!

almonds1
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
3/21/19

Last night I made a reservation at a hotel with expedia. I failed to navigate their website successfully and "somehow" reserved the hotel for dates that had no relevance to what I "thought" I had indicated. I immediately called their customer service line and was kept on hold for over hour while I tried to remedy the situation. After talking to the Service Rep, her boss & a call to Corporate, they were capable of changing my dates but at a surcharge of ~ $30.
I expected them to be a "service" company. They are not! Use their site at your peril.

josew29
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
3/5/19

My brother recently had a wedding and we needed to rent a few cars for guests. It turned out to be convenient and fast, that you do not need to wait until they find a car. We rode 2 days and returned the cars.

josephinet27
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
3/4/19

I, like many customers, were sweetened by the free cancellation policy. Yet be aware this is totally subject to airline rules and they would not honor this policy in spite of their own mistakes. A few weeks ago I bought tickets from a cheap airline company in Asia because Expedia is the only website showing the fare was for business class and hence no need to pay for luggage -- cheap airlines have very strict rules and your carry-on luggage cannot exceed 12 kilos. So I was happy to make the purchase. However after I received the itinerary, my ticket was mysteriously changed to economy class. I called them up even if I was out the country, and they acknowledged that it was a technical error, yet they cannot cancel the ticket even if the ticket was booked less than 20 minutes ago. Worse still, when I complained that I would bring up the issue to BBB, the supervisor got very aggressive and eventually offered compensation (less than one-third of what I paid) on promise that I will let the issue rest. So instead of rectifying their mistake, they have no shame in covering up and ribbing off the customers.

georgeh329
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/1/19

I had my accommodation listed with Expedia.com with reluctance but 30% of reservations are made on these type of site. Their 15% charge means travelers paying higher rates than booking directly with the business, especially if you reserve with the small owner-operator business. I was force to cancel my business with expedia because a person in London decided that all gas hot water heaters located in the same building guest accommodation are is dangerous or at least mine are. This is ridiculous as 90%+ gas hot water heaters are the same and installed the same in the US. This so called health and safety expert from London has another agenda for blocking my sales and is not about to tell. By the way my business is BlackHillsCabinsmotel

shawng96
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/21/19

Beware and never book anything on the American express online FHR website. You are really booking through Expedia and not Amex. If you have any problems you need to call Expedia customer service to fix reservations and Amex travel will not help you. It is a scam that they don't mention Expedia on their website and even the charge on credit card statement says AMEX FHR and not Expedia. I booked a 5 night hotel stay in Miami at Mandarin Oriental and wanted to change it to 3 nights inside the cancellation period. They could not and would not change it. They stated I needed to cancel and rebook reservation which I could not because the hotel was sold out. I filed dispute with amex and then received call from Danny Iovanna in credit card dispute department at Expedia who told me I better cancel the dispute or they will cancel my reservation and hung up the phone on me and then kept sending me threatening emails. I finally contact a head supervisor at AMEX after I threatened to move all my business to mastercard and they resolved the issue. Beware and never book anything through Expedia or AMEX FHR online website - Call American Express travel and book through them where you receive the proper customer service.

nathant67
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/19/19

When booking a flight through expedia, they will sell you tickets without important details like baggage allowance. Additionally they will sell you departing and returning flights without important details that do not match, such as being allowed to check a bag on a departing flight, but not bring the bag back home with you on the returning flight. The information is not display anywhere on the expedia website. This is a terrible and rather deceptive user experience. When booking a round trip ticket one would assume that the baggage details of each flight would match up and if they did not that one would be alerted to this fact.

They make you feel like you are getting a good deal on a ticket, when in reality they are scamming you.

In the end I had to purchase a new return ticket that allowed me to bring my bag back home with me. Expedia would not refund my return ticket. So I ended up paying much more.

678 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Here is the email for Mark Okerstrom, CEO of Expedia Group. I researched this with a fair amount of effort and assumed that after getting ignored by Expedia's customer "service" for two months that I would receive a refund from someone with authority and business sense. I did receive several very quick replies from high-end customer service people, and even a phone call... What I didn't get was any common sense, honestly, or refund for Expedia's documented error. However, at least they finally replied... Here is his email: mokerstrom@expedia.com

By J S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Expedia staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

14 Photos for Expedia

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Expedia?
Post Review