Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Etsy

Etsy reviews

Is this your business?
1,928 reviews
55 Washington St., 5th Floor
Brooklyn, NY 11201
Tel: +1-718-855-7955
2018 Customer choice award

1,928 Reviews From Our Community

Service
95
Value
93
Shipping
85
Returns
64
Quality
83

All Reviews

katef96
6 reviews
7 helpful votes
12/25/19
I love Etsy!
I don't shop anywhere with poor reviews on the site. I have bought high valued items there. Vintage antique rings over $100.
no complaints or scams. I didn't have to deal with etsy customer service since the sellers I had were amazing. Answered all my questions and went over their policies via etsy chat. Depending on the seller, shop policies vary so be aware of that.
I will be starting my own shop soon. I have heard this is one of the safest selling platforms. I'll try and update after.

Tip for consumers: read policies for each and every shop
stay away from sellers who are "ghosts"
I try and reach out to a seller prior to purchasing and read the most recent reviews. (preferably ones with pictures)
No reviews= not interested unless they are responsive to messages

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
douglasr8
25 reviews
49 helpful votes
12/19/19
I ordered two items for Christmas gifts. Unknown to me they are shipped from independent vendors. When neither showed up, I tried to contact Etsy. Their site only allows you to go after the vendors. I bought from Etsy, not the vendors. (One vendor say they'll reship, but probably not till next year, the other vendor says let them know on the 23rd if it not here.)
Obviously this is a sham mini-Amazon, but without the quality service.
Never again will I risk using this poorly managed outfit.
steves1180
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/19/19
Havracking and shipping information.

Have been selling on Etsy for years. We shipped a package recently. The post office lost package, customer did not take out insurance and we were made responsible even after showing tracking and proof of shipping.

They took money from our account when we did nothing wrong.

IF YOU ARE THINKING OF SELLING WITH THIS CORRUPT ORGANZIATION, think twice.
linac20
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
12/16/19
I have been happy with my transactions on Etsy. I bought a lovely glass lampwork pendant and a beautiful opal from Australia. I don't know if I was lucky but after reading all the negative reviews, I am very hesitant to buy anything else on truthfully.
terriw8
15 reviews
21 helpful votes
12/8/19
Sold item on Etsy made $5.35.after several months of trying to get my money deposited into bank account.
They are saying I have to Have credit card and bank account.no longer have credit card so they are saying they can't give me my money. This is bologna.Give me my money!
tj124
4 reviews
0 helpful votes
12/8/19
The recent changes were really the last draw for me.

As someone who made very few sells, who struggled with even getting views unless I PAID EXTRA for a promotion for my listings, the recent changes of showing "free shipping" items over non-free shipping items was really the last draw for me.
Mind you, I didn't have shipping on anything as I sold digital content, but I was seeing how unfair Etsy was being towards sellers in general. For some, it would be fine. But for others, this just would not be feasible. But Etsy clearly does not care. So many sellers who don't play along will simply get even more buried.

As a buyer, I've never really had any issues that I can recall. Except once I bought from a seller stating they were located in one area but I got the item shipped from somewhere completely different (Isreal) which I thought was suspicious.

It's mainly not the users on the platform that have been a problem. It's been Etsy! The constant site changes and experimentations is too much for some of us. Depending on what you're selling, there are better alternatives (eBay, Mercari, Poshmark, Creative Market, etc.)

Etsy needs to stop trying to be new and edgy and stick to what works. Stop expecting sellers who are already paying listing and selling fees to pay for Promotions just to be seen! I know of many who have closed down shop. No they were not all unsuccessful like me. Some were doing quite well but just would NOT out up with it.

Actually another issue I had with Etsy was the obvious Trademark infringements. This was especially true with t-shirts. Fake well-known name brand shirts were allowed to be posted. Do they not do scans. WE are supposed to report them.

Same as how it seems they rely on US, the users, to help each other in the forums.

I highly doubt I will ever return to Etsy as a seller. I may buy something off Etsy but I'd honestly rather not. I'd rather take my business elsewhere and reward sites that don't treat people the way I feel I've been treated... like I don't matter. (I rarely even have a look around on Etsy anymore. Maybe once or twice a year I'll browse about but that's it.)
vickia208
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/4/19
I am a first time ETSY customer. On the 9th November I ordered 2 different personalised cushions, from 2 different sellers. I requested both to be delivered to the same address. The first was delivered in a timely manner, to the address I requested.
The second cushion is currently being help hostage by the seller Currents and Clouds. They are demanding additional delivery charge. I can't get my head around this as the first seller managed to deliver to the address given.
I have tried to have ETSY intervene several times and they seem unwilling.
Would love some advise on how to resolve this. I am reluctant to hand over more money.......
lckk1
2 reviews
9 helpful votes
12/1/19
Etsy is implementing all kinds of harassment and bullying to their lil artist shops, Do NOT buy from etsy!! See more info on youtube,
amylynb
5 reviews
23 helpful votes
11/24/19
I have been a seller and buyer on Etsy for over 10 years and never have had any terrible issues really. The only complaint I have is that they are now over populated with not so honest drop shippers that sell knock offs or copyright infringers. Etsy will remove them when you file a complaint but there are so many and its takes so much time. It's like that everywhere now. Etsy was fantastic in its early days with the look and feel of real homemade and one of kind place to sell and buy. But now it is just another place online where you have to sort through the trash to find the treasures.
lidas7
3 reviews
0 helpful votes
11/20/19
I bought a jacket and couple of linen tops from this seller, Linenfox. All were exactly as described and precisely the size in the listing. They also sent color samples with my orders, so it was easy to select color for the next order. Well made and the seller addressed all concerns immediately. Could not be happier.
kitk20
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/15/19
If you plan on selling here, DON'T. LiSten to the echoes of people all over the internet saying the same thing. There is no customer service from Etsy themselves. It's all done through email, past the canned response front liners on the phone. Most times you go ingbored but If you're lucky enough to get someone to respond.. prepare to get bullied like a school yard victim. I sell on several platforms across the internet. My Etsy store alone has thousands of sales with a perfect 5 star rating. I know how to play their game. It's not often that Etsy stores make it this size and maturity. Most leave, some are
Removed for no reason. That's right.. literally no reason lol They are HEAVILY buyer friendly and treat sellers like absolute garbage. They need to be called out in a big way. The trust team doesn't even read your messages. They skin them. Want examples? I've got PLENTY. They've become incredibly money blind since that first television commercial. Forcing free shipping on sellers (or you loose ad placement) and a lot of their storeS sell mass produced items now. Etsy doesn't care anymore. Their trust team is the worst I've ever encountered. Super unprofessional, even bullying at times. It's actually crazy. Literally the worst and again, Please understand that I am a veteran online retailer. They use us sellers as a shield for the angry masses. It's appalling. They also have hidden fees in fine print so watch out. NEVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER SELL HERE!!!!! Seriously. Don't make this mistake. They treat sellers like peasants and expect us to treat buyers like actual royalty.. accept personal threats, extortion and even blackmail. Many Buyers are well aware that they can do awful things to sellers freely because our livelihood is at total mercy of Etsy who is much like that of a story book tyrant step mother. Sellers are at complete mercy. It's really REEEEEALLY bad. Maybe if they treated sellers like people they might have better luck in a chain reaction.
jordieg
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/14/19
Etsy is totally awful. I changed my address for a jewelry delivery I'd ordered, but their system defaulted to an old address I haven't lived at in 7 years. They are refusing to reimburse me the $60 I spent, for a technical issue that was 100% their fault. I have now spoken to two of their customer service representatives who were utterly useless and refused to help. I will never use them again.
breed22
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/12/19
My account with Etsy got deactivated and I called to ask why. The customer service agents I talked to over the next 2-3 weeks kept insisting that I received an e-mail (I didn't) and they don't know and all they could do was submit another ticket to the department who is in charge of accounts. I waited about 3 weeks before calling customer service again and today I asked for a supervisor, and the agent put me on hold, then came back and told me our business dealings are over and to quit calling them. He then hung up on me. I still haven't received any sort of reason as to why my account was banned.deactivated. This is TERRIBLE customer service.
marciw10
3 reviews
5 helpful votes
11/3/19
For the second time in a month, I've tried to order items on Etsy for a remodel. The items weren't inexpensive. If I were the seller, I would have been highly motivated to get them shpped. But, no! Neither of the sellers bothered to ship. Sellers were given 3-5 business days to ship. When, after 11 calendar days I attempted to cancel on Etsy, I got a mealy-mouthed message from customer service offering me a list of potential excuses for why the seller didn't bother to send me my purchases:
"We're politely considering that the seller might be having an emergency, are part-timer, crafting orders or running an errand for the store (resulting to lack of response). "
Excuse me? I made a purchase. I expect it to be shipped. Since the seller didn't ship, it is time to give me my money back. I really don't care if the poor seller got a splinter in his big toe - or about anything else. End of story.
The response from Etsy made me so angry that I'm not going to wait for their process to finalize. Plus, I see that I'm not the first to experience this lack of response and poor customer service from Etsy. I will dispute the purchase with my credit card company. They, at least, are responsive!

Update: I initiated a dispute with my credit card company, providing them with screenshots of the ad. This showed the 3-5 business day shipping promise, and where Etsy showed that the seller had many of the items I'd ordered in stock. This negated the seller's claim that this was a "custom" order, and his claim that he had not missed the shipping parameters. I had several conversations with the seller, and I provided the screenshots to him as well. Aso, the seller thought that he'd be the one working with my credit card co, and that he'd talk them out of any dispute. I had to let him know that Etsy was the contact for that, not him. After taking more abuse than I should have, I told him he had a choice: cancel the order and refund my money, or go ahead and ship late. If he chose the latter, I would have an opportunity to review him and his work, and I guaranteed that that review would NOT be complimentary. He finally canceled the order! Meanwhile, my cr card co had suspended the charge and was working with me.

Lesson learned: when I shop online, I'll do it with companies that have respectable customer support. As much as I dislike Amazon, they do host crafters, and their support has always been there for me. There is a reason why some bad players list on Etsy.
patriciam614
54 reviews
140 helpful votes
10/23/19
• Updated review
(Warning, if you do have an account at Etsy: Do not allow people to "follow" you. Block them when you get the notification. I have seen the following function used to harass.)

In the end, I got my refund as a chargeback executed by Etsy, but it was a ridiculous fight to get there. Unethical seller still has his shop on this platform!
“Etsy customer support lied to me! Do not use this website. They will screw you over.”
10/18/19
• Previous review
Update: I phoned Etsy customer support today and the rep hung up on me. Stay far away from Etsy.

Phoned back and asked for a supervisor. Was transferred to a man who identified himself as such. He repeated pretty much the same script I heard from the first rep I spoke with: "This has to be escalated to management." In other words, I am supposed to sit back and wait, and trust that Etsy will intervene. Someday.

Later, I received this absolutely bonkers communication from the seller, Shaynegreco (this rant is is harassment, btw, since I told him not to contact me):

" ETSY DOCUMENTATION:
This woman "patricia" is a scam artist and a skilled manipulator. Her extremely aggressive behavior, abusive language, and constant threats are a tactic to scam victims. It is apparent she has probably done this before to other people. Her main objective is to keep what she has ordered through Etsy and bully the artist into issuing a full refund without returning the item. I have not allowed this person bully me into getting ripped off. I have spoken to UPS and they have agreed that this is most likely a scam. I will issue a refund after UPS has inspected the box and made sure it is not filled with garbage or some other refuse.
I have been a member of Etsy since 2010. My reputation is crystal clear. I have written documentation of everything that has happened with this transaction. Also of My Contact at UPS, Seth SXXX can verify everything that has happened up until today including his recommendation that I wait to refund this "woman" until UPS can verify it is not a bunch of dented tin cans...
Further more, I ask that you consider banning this buyer "patricia" from ripping off anymore unsuspecting artists on Etsy. I will pursue this matter though the proper means after this specific incident is closed."

FYI : UPS packed the broken item for shipping, so who do you think they will back in this fight? Right. They don't want to pay the parcel insurance. UPS picked up an unopened parcel, for return. So how would I have replaced the (broken) item with "tin cans"?

This tantrum would be funny if this deranged person didn't have almost $1000 of my cash.

So, be aware that this quoted convo is from one of Etsy's longtime sellers. Such a fine man! And example of all Etsy stands for. I guess I really wanted to keep a pile of broken ceramic? Why? Astounding. As if I like wasting my time with people like this?

Totally through with Etsy. I feel sick having had any contact with people that are so clearly unbalanced. Etsy offers zero protection. And this guy has my address.

Original post: I was advised even encouraged by a Etsy customer support rep to file a case against the seller (Shaynegreco) who cheated me and violated Etsy seller rules. The rep told me that I would be able to file the case on X date, and that date did appear on the order page (as a click-on notation "file a case or leave a review after X date"). So I believed the rep, and I waited. But when that day arrived, the notation on my purchase page had disappeared, and there was no link for filing a case or reviewing the purchase! (I have since figured out that I could go around their block on reviewing because they neglected to remove the review link from my invoice, so right back at them...). In order to file a case against an Etsy seller, you have to go through your order page, using that link. So Etsy lied to me and sided with their crooked seller, "protecting" him against the evil customer who was cheated. I'm the victim here, not the seller. They did this even though the customer service rep had AGREED WITH ME that the man was cheating the system! What a farce. I cannot believe that a publicly traded company could operate so dishonestly. It's sickening, really. How can Etsy employees live with themselves, knowing that the company is devoid of ethics?
“Discovered a scam: seller manipulating system”
10/12/19
• Previous review
(Update: Seller actually accused me of lying about the breakage! Also lied about when he put in UPS pickup request. Lied about everything, really. So this matter is being resolved through PayPal. Avoid this seller. Better yet, avoid Etsy altogether.)

Ordered a ceramic piece from Shaynegreco that was $850 plus tax and shipping total $945. Projected order fulfillment was several weeks out. Weeks later seller contacted me through direct email to tell me the item was finished and would ship "tomorrow." Days passed and I heard nothing from him. I messaged him on the Etsy site, and he said that it had shipped, but I had no tracking and my order was still listed as "not shipped" on the Etsy site. Next day he took the item to the shipper, and UPS sent me confirmation that it was waiting to go out. So that was the seller's first lie. I noticed that the purchase was still listed as "not shipped" on the Etsy site, and thought maybe the seller was just lazy about updating it. Then the item arrived obviously broken, clanking in the box. I did not open the carton. I messaged the seller to ask what to do. He said he would arrange UPS pickup of the box (I told him, preemptively, that I would not drive it to the UPS depot for him, so don't assume that he was being helpful), and he said I would get my refund "when UPS has it in their possession." That means a delay of several days, if I am to get it at all. I told him he needed to refund me immediately, and he stopped responding. So here is where the manipulative scam became apparent. I went to my purchase page to leave a negative review and put in a compliant with Etsy and I see that those two options are not available on this purchase because Shayne has not activated order fulfillment! (For those not familiar with Etsy, a buyer clicks through her order on the Orders and Purchases page to post a review or to report problems to Etsy. But those prompts do not appear on orders that are still awaiting fulfillment.) Given the fact that Shayne went around the Etsy system to notify me of (delayed) shipping, I am certain that he did not enter the order fulfillment into Etsy's system because he wants to block buyers from reviewing and reporting him to Etsy when orders go wrong. Really dodgy. Makes Etsy look bad. I have reported this to Etsy customer support, and will file a claim against the seller if he does not refund my money. But this may have turned me against Etsy for good.
“I've had mixed experiences here”
9/22/19
• Previous review
Amending this review to give people a heads-up on one way sellers manipulate the system on Etsy. I recently received a destroyed shipment from an overseas seller, and the heavy breakage was clearly due to careless and inadequate packaging. The seller did refund my money, but he also cancelled the original transaction rather than categorizing it as a return or refund. I thought this was odd. It's dishonest because the confirmation for the transaction said that the "seller and customer agreed to cancellation" as the reason for the change. I did not agree to it. What the cancellation did was stop me from posting a negative review. It also keeps his seller record clean because Etsy will kick out sellers with too many one-sided cancellations by sellers, where orders could not be filled.

Etsy does have some reliable vendors. It also hosts some charlatans. I've been buying from the site since the early days, and have been ripped off a few times. But I've also purchased some great stuff. Unfortunately, seller ratings mean nothing these days because Etsy deletes negative reviews. So in assessing a seller you have to look at number of transactions, how long the seller has been on Etsy, and this is crucial look for reviewer photos of purchased items in the reviews. Do they look like the listing photos? Use a form of payment that provides you with a consumer protection guarantee. I am very careful about overseas sellers because three of my worst transactions were from sellers in Thailand and Ukraine, but I do still buy from overseas. (Back when Etsy had a small window for filing a dispute, some overseas buyers would purposely delay shipments long enough that they would arrive after the window closed. But Etsy has since extended the window to I think six months.) Etsy response time for customer service enquiries is good these days, but they still side with the seller in almost all cases. The sellers are who support Etsy, with the fees for listings and extra for promotions. Buyers aren't as loved.
willar4
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/20/19
I purchased baby shower favors August 30th, 2019 for a planned shower the order was never delivered and I have not received the $84.00 refund. The Etsy vendor was Irina Angelkova MOD FAVORS- order # *******525. I have call *******955--to receive a message not a monitored phone message. Additionally I emailed thru the help site without any support from Etsy.
ashleyk72
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
10/3/19
I ordered with Blueorchid Creations for my wedding on December 2018 through Etsy. I was told to pay the full cost of my order upfront at that time (no other options were offered) and an agreement was sent to me confirming final approval photos of my product in July 2019 with shipping of the final products in August 2019. Four problems arose with this order:
1) The order was severely delayed.
- Despite regular messages to request information on my order, final photos were not sent until September 2019, 2 months late. My order was not delivered until Sept 30th, 2019, one month late. No clear explanation was given for this delay and while they were always quick to respond to messages, I only got updates on my order when I messaged them first on a weekly, sometimes daily basis.
2) The flowers are shipped on their side in regular shipping boxes.
- This means the bouquets all came flattened on one side and one of the boxes holding all the bridesmaid bouquets literally got crushed since there was no fragile label or special box used. Blueorchid creations doesn't claim to ship them upright, but I felt buyers would like to know this as it would have certainly affected my purchasing choices had I known I would be responsible for reforming and fixing my products after shipping.
3) The garland I ordered was changed without my approval.
- Blueorchid creations sent a photo of the garland to approve prior to shipping - which I loved. However prior to shipping they added multiple huge hydrangea arrangements to it. This was upsetting as it meant I received a product not as I had ordered and was now faced with fixing it myself or returning it and hoping no more delays occurred so it could be returned to me in time for the wedding.
4) I was made to pay for a product upfront that was not shipped for over 6 months.
- By requiring full payment in December 2018, this meant that when I received damaged and wrong products on a delayed timeline in September 2019 I was unable to open a case on Etsy (only available for 100 days post payment) and unable to leave a review on Etsy to warn other buyers (only available for 100 days post payment). This is a huge gap in Etsy's buyer protection policies and Blueorchid creations has benefitted from it as there was no way for me to review them or open a case against them.
susanm910
2 reviews
18 helpful votes
9/25/19
When Etsy first began I watched for a few years to assess if they would be a venue I'd like to advertise my merchandise with. They seemed so very responsive to sellers and their needs. Then several years after I joined, they went "public" appearing on the stock market. I said to myself, "Oh no, this is going to change everything" knowing they will be less customer-oriented and have to show profits to their investors. Historically going public means a business would be charging more for everything (i.e. eBay).. Sure enough, first they raised selling fees, then they began taking a cut of the shipping fees and passed along the increase in cost to the seller. Many of the sellers are stay-at-home moms, unemployed yet talented and able to craft something that someone will buy but there is a tipping point at which the small business owner/operator can't make any money because all their costs go up so their prices raise. The the buying public says "ENOUGH!" and stops buying. So it went, little by little sellers make less as Etsy greedily eats their way through the meager profits of small shops. Then they did something they said they would never do - they invited in manufacturers globally, including the huge factories of Asia and sellers had to pay more for advertisement competing against conglomerates with large advertising budgets. Their listings pushed the listings of individual sellers out of view, but did Etsy care? Not at all. Next, (this is not strictly chronological), they began to sell a search program that went to the highest bidder pitting small shops against each other and the little shops lost again. All the large businesses in this entire country has ever cared about is greedily grabbing every dollar they can get their hands on. They care enough to make it look like they are caring for the downtrodden by throwing a few well-advertised donations to charities but they really do not care. Meanwhile all these sellers were making less and less while the expense of doing business went up higher and higher. Now Etsy's latest thing is forcing people to give free shipping at the expense of the seller or their listings will not receive priority placement. They lie and say it should only cost a certain amount to mail but let's face it, items are mailed by weight and distance and there is no such thing as a single formula that is going to fit everyone. I've watched talented sellers drop out one by one. I even used discretionary income for my family to keep the business going. I'm hoping that a new venue, by the people, for the people - will spring up to knock Etsy on their collective arses. I could not raise my prices and still stay competitive because I continued to lose money and I was earning waaa-ayy less than minimum wage. So why did I do it? Providing a service and spending my time doing what I wanted to do was the pay-off but it won't buy the milk and bread! I hate that Etsy gave in to corporate greed. I hate that they sold out their original mission. Their greed is going to be their downfall, just like it is for so many other businesses in America. I don't see any hope for the future of Etsy so I quit.
nolacaseh
1 review
4 helpful votes
9/18/19
I opened shop on etsy. But next day my shop is suspended by Etsy. There was no any information about why etsy suspended my shop .I tried to contact with etsy seller customer support(I sent many emails but no response) But seller customer support unresponsive(The worst seller customer support ever). This is very frustrating. Because I have my own designs and I spent bunch of $ for design copyrights. I just realized that there is another seller who is selling my designs without my permission. Now As a victim of ETSY, Now I am looking for legal consultant for addressing this issue.
louiseh115
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/15/19
I've purchased from well over 30 different sellers for different products, such as clothing, jewelry, tarot etc. And the transactions have always been safe. Whenever I have stumbled a scammer-type shop (as there are some bad cookies out there!) I do notify etsy support about it and they have replied with a cancellation of the order within 72 hours. There are so many unique sellers on etsy that I have to say you have to give it a shot!
christineg252
1 review
9 helpful votes
9/9/19
ETSY has just announced that if a seller does not offer free shipping, their listings will end up beyond the first page of the search where 83% of sales occur. Not only is this outrageous, in that we are all charged the same fees, I just got off the phone with a befuddled Etsy customer service rep. I was told that unless I offer free shipping, EVEN my promoted listings will go beyond the first page in the search, unless it's very rare with little competition. So, Etsy is charging me for a service they have agreed to but will not honor. This sounds illegal to me.
megr18
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/26/19
• Updated review
I can share that Etsy is working with me to remedy this situation. While it took my persistence to make this happen, Etsy does deserve some credit for seeking to resolve.
“Read This Before You Buy From Etsy”
8/24/19
• Previous review
Apparently in an Etsy review, you cannot share what the seller wrote to you...in this case, Katya from BeGenuine. I opened a case and found out my review was removed at the request of the seller because I quoted what the seller wrote to me. So, in reality, I would assume that most negative reviews are removed. Also, the ability to write a new "compliant" review is not an option. Basically, this reveals that the reviews on the sellers are misleading. Sellers appear to be reputable, but they may not be. This is fraud in my opinion.
markk174
2 reviews
7 helpful votes
8/26/19
Etsy is nothing but a scam wrapped in a nice website. My credit card was used fraudulently to charge $231 for merchandise from a vendor listed as twistedsisterC processed by Etsy. Etsy processed the credit card without address verification or a CVV which is unconscionable. I sent an e-mail to *****@etsy.com as instructed on the Etsy website with a promised response of 24 hours. I followed up with additional e-mails and filed a case complaint verbally with Etsy at which time they promised a 24 to 48 hour response. It has not been 7 days and 6 days respectively with no response. I just called and told it could take up to 3 weeks but that I wouldn't be receiving a response because I don't have an "Etsy Account." Obviously they have no business ethics, no concern for their sellers and certainly no grasp on reality if they think I am going to open an Etsy account so that I can get a response to fraud. Obviously Etsy is only interested in revenue and will let all problems be duked out between buyers and sellers without protecting either. This company has no integrity!!!!!!!!
abdelrahmanh1
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/24/19
etsy doesnt respect the seller and they suspend any account they want. the customer service also are Terrible:
-they not respond to my messages and my tickets.
-etsy team doesn't listen to my complaints.
-They never respond to my appeal more than two months ago
-they suspended me from the chat while I am talking to them .. I swear to you i did not smell or do anything wrong .. Just told me wait a little to see the problem and then they told me without any introductions you will not be able to chat with us again without even talking about my problem !!!!.

my advice to anyone who want to sell on it .. please try any other platform because etsy will make you lose all the time that you spent to build the shop, the traffic and the customers.. and will make you lose any investment like marketing budget on promoted listings, fees and social platforms ads.

In the end, I loved etsy more than any other platform in the world, but after being disrespected, I hate it very much now and most of the reviews I have seen agree.

And I think etsy is a bubble and will explode sooner from any competitor who builds good relationships with his vendors. and It follows the interest policy of sellers and buyers, not just the interest of the company
jeanf99
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/18/19
Etsy has fallen from its original global conscious platform. It is literally exposing loyal buyers to greedy carpet baggers. It protects their vendors by taking down negative reviews . There's now a lack of integrity and transparency
They victimize their purchasers which I've been for 10 years spending close to 10k I've now closed my account because I was swindled by one of their vendors "yourlinenwish" order #*******666 , Etsy took no steps in mediating the transaction. I paid handsomely for products that were suppose to be handmade by a family business instead my neighbor delivered my package which was a series of bagged items littered with Made in China labels on them ... what would any consumer do but ask WTF? I contacted the vendor they said I was racist for asking the question...umm not likely cuz I'm Asian... lol
Seriously I'm done with Etsy ... as an artisan and maker or fine things ...Etsy is a scam
I feel bad for the legitimate vendors I've purchased from and supported in the 10 yrs sorry guys pls find a better way to sell your items don't use Etsy my money is going to be spent elsewhere
If you decide to buy linen clothing on Etsy look for "notperfectlinen" they're from Lithuania... the quality and price point is legitimate.
914 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

You don't. You can check feedback and hopefully it will be honest, not a fake review. personally, after what etsy did to me as a seller, I would NEVER shop there again! If they treat the seller like $#*!, they won't be nuch better for a buyer who has a problem. Frankly, they have become all about the money and don't give a fig about buyers or sellers! Its a shame, they used to be a good company. Guess going bigger wasn't better for them....but they have to pay for that new bldg in NYC somehow I guess.

By Bre g.
Helpful answer 5
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I would have to say no, with LOTS of exceptions. In the past few years Etsy has allowed business to claim handmade if it meets certain criteria. I often see many items that claim to be handmade but I have seen them on Alibaba being sold in bulk. That being said I look very closely and have purchased some wonderfu items from great sellers. The biggest problem with Etsy is that they no longer protect customers from fraud (they say they are not liable) but in doing that lots and lots or resellers and counterfeit items have saturated Etsy' s marketplace. I would never buy anything "vintage" there. What I have seen you are getting thrift store rejects or modern fake. Buyer beware! Investigate all vendors carefully!!

By Tracy Q.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I am agree with Ramina. 90% is not hand made . all comes from Factories . when someone has over 8000's item don't you ask who made it . They are all over from Pakistan to turkey east to west up united state . Etsy is happy just to take your money and every 4 or 5 months closing one store to show off and if you have some money as a credit they take it too . no customer service , no respect no manor , they made policy just for FUN and they have FUN with our pocket . stay far from them FAR FAR.

By Behzad G.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I agree with Steve J on this one. A lot of sellers on Etsy work from home in the evenings for extra money. Most of them are not big businesses with massive inventories so I would give them the benefit of the doubt. Give them a little more time and if they dont send it out then file a case with etsy

By Peeved O.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Business checking isn't necessary (the banks now charge a monthly fee for a small business checking). You can pretty much set up a regular checking account

By A S.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

If you do, I would be cautious about ordering from international sellers, use a credit card in case you need to contest the charges, and do NOT expect ETSY do a thing if you get ripped off. They are useless and could care less once the sale is final.

By jean w.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I am no sure why this would be the case. I have only paid through paypal and have never been asked personal financial information beyond paypal. It is odd that you have experienced this issue. What personal financial information have you been asked to divulge?

By Nancy M.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

The best and quickest thing to do is to email the seller and let them know that you would like to return for a refund.

By Shirley M.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes, it certainly is. I've also been selling for many years, never had a problem. Using PayPal is great if you ever should have a problem, as you're protected in the event of theft. If you were hacked somehow would be the only way it would be a concern for me, so I am careful about using good passwords and changing them often (Etsy password) I would not worry about the safety of Etsy direct at all.

By Jodi H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Etsy is making alot of changes to their site, DO NOT TRUST THEM.

By Lck k.
Questions? Get answers from the Etsy staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Etsy?
Post Review