Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Alibris

Alibris reviews

25 reviews
1250 45th Street
Emeryville, CA 94608, US
Tel: +1-510-594-4500
sellers@alibris.com

25 Reviews From Our Community

Service
2
Value
2
Shipping
2
Returns
0
Quality
2

All Reviews

patrickv188
5 reviews
0 helpful votes
5/10/19

I ordered a book from alibris and I was so disappointed by their service. The book arrived a month late and it was not even what I ordered. I tried to refund but now there's no option to get a refund here. Worst experience with an online retailer I have ever had

ne18
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/10/19

We ordered two books and the website would not accept our credit card from the U.S. It was a British site and we are in Sweden. Okay so we asked them to bill us. They sent us an email with a link to pay, and the payment company also would not accept the credit card NOR a Swedish debit card. We called Alibris and they said they could not help us. They asked us to call their collection company. Which we did explaining everything over the phone. They said they'd send us a physical bill and extend our due date. When the bill came, it was already past due. We paid it immediately through our Swedish bank. A few days later, we got another bill of higher amounts from a collection company. Just to get the buzzards off our backs, we paid those also. We'd never patronize this horrible business again. They make everything difficult and have no sense of customer service.

machellec
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/9/18

Do not order from here. You cannot talk to anyone. Its email only. They do not want to refund. SCAM, SCAM

caroll249
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/24/18

Faith Full Circle is a nonfictional autobiography of a man in search of his identity, beliefs and values. It describes his early childhood experiences, his family relationships, parental expectations and his educational experiences. It includes the religious training and experiences in a fundamentalist protestant denomination and the values he was introduced to as he participated in various activities.
Ifakorede Awoyefa, the author of this saga describes his search for meaning, direction and purpose of his life. He explored African religions and cultures in an attempt to discover himself. He discusses his triumphs and defeats and the lessons he learned in interpersonal marital relations as well as in career and professional endeavors. Trying to incorporate the values and beliefs to acquire wisdom and knowledge and mesh them with his beliefs was a challenging experience that brought him "full circle" in his faith.
Review written by Carol F. Luper

pjs16
3 reviews
13 helpful votes
5/4/18

If you are looking for obscure book, etc, this is the site for you. I found a book that I loved as a child here. Great resource for hard to find books, records etc. Check it out!

louissr
1 review
3 helpful votes
9/24/17

I ordered a $#*!ing textbook that I needed for my class which I found on this website for cheaper price. After buying the god dam book the person said they shipped it but here I am a month later. WHERE THE $#*! IS MY BOOK? I contact them and they blame it on global warming and bad weather. $#*! YOU SCAMMERS, GO EAT A $#*!! DONT ORDER FROM HERE EVERRRR!! DEAD ASS GIVE THEM A 0 STAR BUT ITS NOT POSSIBLE. EVEN EBAY IS NOT LIKE THIS $#*!.

jimc232
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/15/17

Alibris is a scam. If something goes wrong, good luck in contacting them or getting any response. No book, no response from Alibris (or the seller) despite repeated tries. Alibris does not have phone contact and e-mails just get a canned response but nothing addressing the specific issue. It looks like I'm out $128.99 despite an e-mail telling me the book had been shipped (that was an outright lie). I would give minus five stars if that was an option. Avoid Alibris like the plague.
Jim Casada

ke15883
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/21/17

I placed an order a couple of months ago. The book was shipped in a timely fashion but the packaging arrived torn and resulted in dent that would not otherwise have been there. I appreciated having the ability to go back to the site and rate the seller on individual aspects of the order which included the shipment packaging. After providing my rating with some comments I received an email notification from Alibris' customer service and my shipping cost was refunded! I was surprised that my comments would be reviewed and responded to, I'll be shopping there again.

susanp182
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
6/28/17

Unfortunately, I can't give less than a 1 star rating, but a lower rating is richly deserved. I ordered a book from Alibris a couple months ago. The day after placing the order, I received a notice that it had been shipped. A month later, it still hadn't arrived, so I contacted the seller through Alibris. After several days, no reply, so I contacted Alibris. They said they would contact the seller. I still got no reply, so I contacted Alibris and was told a refund would be processed and to allow 3 to 4 days for it to appear in my Paypal account. After 10 days, it still isn't there. I emailed Alibris - again!

As far as I can tell, Alibris is just a money collecting agency under the guise of a book dealer. Avoid at all costs! A lower price is no bargain when you don't receive what you ordered.

paulac78
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/5/17

I wish I had researched this business before ordering from them. I ordered 3 items from them and noticed immediately that the set of books I had selected had been switched to a cheaper printing size. I looked back at the website and I was correct that they have it listed wrong. I contacted the company and the individual seller but couldn't prevent them shipping the wrong set. They wouldn't admit their error until I sent them a picture I took of the actual page on their website, that showed that the set is listed incorrectly.They then gave me the form to return the set, which I did and now 3 and half weeks later I have not received my refund and they don't respond to my emails. NEVER do business with this company.

tiaraw2
1 review
5 helpful votes
10/20/16

Stay far away from this company! This is a fake company and they should be banned from operating. I ordered my book almost three weeks ago. It stated that it was being shipped from the same state I am in however I still haven't received it. So clearly that's a lie! When I purchased the book from then it started that I would receive the book by 10/18 the latest. It is now 10/20 . They won't give me a tracking number even though I sent many request and they won't respond to my emails. To top it off they don't even have a real customer service department. You call a number and it tells you to go on their website to submit an inquiry or a live chat. Guess what?! There's no live chat!! I have sent several emails to them and the seller no response. HORRIBLE!

heatherb132
5 reviews
10 helpful votes
10/4/16

My experience with this online business has always been most favorable. Their sellers are top notch.

jonl50
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
8/15/16

I attempted to contact the customer service department about a book sold to me advertising a specific ISBN. When I received the book, the ISBN was completely different, and I couldn't use the book. For anyone who doesn't know, the ISBN is like the book's "fingerprint."
Advertised ISBN: 9780133750218
True ISBN: 978-1-292-01949-9 Not even close.

The following is the email chain.

Hello,

Thanks for writing regarding your order (xxxxxxxxxx-1).

Im sorry we sent you an order that was different than what you expected - Alibris accepts returns when the purchase you received does not match what was described on our website.

The next day...

This is to notify you that Alibris is unable to process
a refund for the following item:

Order #: 59398287-1
Order Date: Jul 27, 2016
Media Type: Book
Title: International Edition---Engineering Economy, 16th Edition
Author: William G. Sullivan And Elin M. Wicks
Alibris ID: B058756407

Stated reason for return:
Return to Seller - Seller Error (Incorrect ISBN)

Your refund was declined for the following reason(s):
Not eligible for refund under Alibris return policy:
item condition/description is as described on Web site

johnp418
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/29/16

I've bought dozens books and CDs from Alibris over the years and have always had good results. They often have the best prices available, ship very promply, and items have arrived in excellent condition.

aandosd
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/13/16

I've placed a number of orders over the years on Alibris and I have always received my items on time and in the described condition. I like the selection on Alibris and the fact that there are usually a number of folks selling the item I'm looking for with different conditions and prices. The few times I've contacted customer service I've always received a prompt and courteous reply.

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
juliar42
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/25/15

I ordered 3 books, only 1 of the 3 came in correct. Sent back the other 2 valued at over $100 and received a refund of less than $5 for shipping. Now my daughter was out 2 weeks in college without books and now I am out my money. They have my money plus the 2 books to resale. DO NOT USE THIS SITE!! THEY ARE THIEVES! !

stevee21
3 reviews
17 helpful votes
8/20/15

Shipping policy sucks. Very expensive and slow for international orders. Try Thriftbooks more options lower cost.

michaelb188
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/18/14

I recently placed an order with Alibris. Despite some stumbling with the checkout process, I received very efficient and quick help from customer service (turned out to be Internet Explorer causing the problems, NOT Alibris) and placed my order with no further trouble! I've received the books in a week in great condition and would recommend Alibris wholeheartedly!

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
josepht32
1 review
5 helpful votes
3/10/14

The worst buying experience I had in my life. Stay, far, far away from this website! If you have a problem they will not even attempt to help you in any way. It is amazing in this day and age that there could be a company so bad. Shame on them

normac1
3 reviews
5 helpful votes
10/8/13

customer service is non existent. Poor, poor experience.

ashleyc17
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/8/13

I am a college student and had ordered 2 books from this website. However, i am not pleased at all with my order. I HAVEN'T RECEIVED EITHER OF THEM. It has been over 2 weeks. One of the orders was sent back to the seller, because apparently my address is incorrect, which is BS. I always make sure my information is correct. The other book i ordered is stuck in a city near me, with the additional comments saying,"delivery confirmation". If i received the book properly and on time i wouldn't be on this website. I NEVER RECEIVED MY BOOKS. i am extremely unhappy with this website, and quite frankly am never ordering from them again. I emailed the sellers and contacted the website a day ago and have not been responded to since. I have a feeling i'm gonna end up asking for a refund. NEVER ORDER FROM ALIBRIS.COM! They are extremely unreliable and unprofessional.

danaw11
6 reviews
19 helpful votes
3/8/13

Alibris.com has a lot of neat books and stuff you can't find in other places. And they also have used books, textbook rentals, and a bunch of deals. I'm a big fan of alibris!

jamesb11
3 reviews
7 helpful votes
5/19/10

I've used this site to find out-of-print books for years. Never had any trouble.

brandtf
5 reviews
7 helpful votes
12/28/09

I've bought a couple books from this site. I've always gotten my purchase and the books were pretty much as described, the main thing going for it is that if you want a book but don't care how it looks you can get them very cheap.

chelseys
1 review
6 helpful votes
8/1/09

This is not a legit business. They provide a bogus phone number that doesn't work and never reply to emails. I bought a sticker book for my daughter and it arrived with no stickers in it. Yes, a sticker book arrived and all the stickers were gone. Stay away!

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Alibris staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Alibris?
Post Review