SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government’s NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of Meetup

Meetup reviews

Is this your business?
171 reviews
18%
632 Broadway, 10th Floor
New York, New York, USA
Tel: +1.2122557327
domainadmin@meetup.com
This business is not yet responding to reviews. If this is your business claim it and respond free.

171 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
18
Value
19
Shipping
6
Returns
7
Quality
14

All Reviews

skl7
4 reviews
0 helpful votes
12/1/16

First what needs to be understood is the business model of Meet Up. Most of their revenue is gained from collecting information on the interests of it's members. This is quality data that is based on only on what members state what their interests are but also what they do with those interests. Secondary revenue is gained from subscription fees of site organizers and reselling of events of interest to third parties

Meet Up can be bad to great for regular members. it costs nothing and they are able to find groups of interest.

For organizers it can be a grind. The groups are entirely public and you cannot make them private regardless of the fees paid. You are exposed to the mass of humans and all the negatives (and positives) that come along. This tends to create a lot of work for organizers. The overall quality of the web interfaces is excellent and that is the primary factor I have used to host on Meet Up rather then the alternatives. If you want an audience, you will get one.

If as an organizer, you intend to run a business from Meet Up, that can work. The basics are in place, but it does not feature any association with accounting or other business tools. You had better know what you are doing before creating a Meet Up group. Liability also seems to be a major factor.

All should understand that Meet Up is wild west. You will encounter both the worst and best of people as members and organizers.. The worst of them can change their identify, profile, avatar, and behave badly. Organizers can start groups for which they have zero expertise, yet Meet Up tends to lend the appearance of expertise.

The bottom line for all is buyer beware. It can be good to great as long as you understand the clear benefits and pitfalls.

Ask SK about Meetup
Advertisement
larsr10
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/24/16

....but Meetup did just that.
This is probably the worst upgrade in the history of app development.
I don't even know where to start.......it sux big time.

Ask Lars about Meetup
mattl64
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/19/16

- Try to upload multiple photos... omg, sux. No option for multiple selection.
- Join a scheduled meeting, and it can enter an appt in google calendar... great!
- If that meetup changes dates or times... forget about it updating. Lol.

We pay $ for this?

Ask Matt about Meetup
xaviern1
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/9/16

I'm not sure what the company was trying to accomplish with its September update but from nearly all of the reviews, it clearly didn't work. A reply from the company is in order. Terrible update.

Ask Xavier about Meetup
peterj121
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/1/16

There seem to be a lot of groups which cater for the interests of 'ethnic minorities'. The clue is often in the title of the group. Persons from other ethnic groups may well find themselves not welcome. And if you attempted to set up a group that excluded various ethnic minorities you might have a problem. And by that token, Meetup should not be tolerant of the former.

Ask Peter about Meetup
meetupo
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/27/16

Meetup updated their policy regarding singles groups and began closing groups, namely those associated with speeddating/dating event services. Even if the organizer made the changes requested by Support, they still lost their groups. Support has been made aware of dozens and dozens of groups in my area that are connected to or promoting dating service events. Support has been given proof the events are organized by dating services. Those groups are still active. They're applying the new policy arbitrarily. If you complain or in any way vocal about their questionable business practices, they close your group to shut you up. There is no consistency in their support and communication. I spoke with three different support reps to try and save my groups and received three different sets of instructions. All complaints fall on deaf ears. They know they are the only platform with such an expansive and know many businesses use Meetup to promote their services. Because of this, they know these organizers won't leave the site. That's why they're so arrogant and show such little concern for customer complaints. Take the awful new app as an example. RSVPs and new memberships have dropped because of the horrible design and limited functionality. Their search function for members to find groups is useless, as it pulls up the same groups month after month after month after year after year. New groups have no chance to grow because their groups are buried by these ancient groups with a mostly dead membership or by social groups run by club promoters who clutter 50-75 groups calendars with the exact same events. This, too, has been pointed out to Meetup and they've done nothing. Most of the organizers in my city who organize singles or social groups don't even organize events, they just promote other people's events. It's become impossible to get 20 people to an event without sending near daily emails or posting the event across 10 or 15 groups.Many people join Meetup thinking it's a service designed to organize free events. The end result is that Meetup attracts a slew of socially awkward, unemployed/cheap bottom feeders. Ever since I uploaded a photo to my Organizer profile i've been inundated with OKCupid-type sleazy messages from men. Oh, I've reported that to Meetup, too. "Block and report them!" No kidding. How about you step in and tell these creeps to stop harassing women? One male organizer threatened me and I reported that to Meetup. They said they couldn't do anything because the threat came via text and not Meetup. Meetup Administration does not care about female member's safety.

Ask Meetup about Meetup
susana159
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/27/16

The latest version of the app is horrid, clunky, and hard to navigate. Also, the redesign of the app icon/logo looks more like a Strawberry Shortcake design than a meetup site. The whole thing feels like little thought was put in other than to just change it - not improve it.

Ask Susan about Meetup
lisam348
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/24/16

The new app is horrible, confusing, can't post a meetup from my phone, have to go find a computer. I know many, many people who have emailed them to tell then that their app sucks, but they are just ignoring everyone. They know they're the only game in town, so they do whatever the heck they want to. Eventually, they won't be however, and everyone will flee their site immediately!! I heard they are going to load the new version on-line as well. If they change the computer access to look like the app, I'm going to stop being an organizer and drop out of meetup. I'll just use Facebook to create invites to all the people I met on meetup, and abandon meetup until someone else comes along who does a better job of listening to their customers.

Ask Lisa about Meetup
joey397
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/22/16

I hated the latest version of Meetup (v. 6). It lost so much useful functionality.

Luckily, I had an old (before the Meetup update) iTunes back up of my iPhone, and was able to restore the prior version of Meetup from that back up.

This YouTube video showed me how:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=SO_3gFB_sS8

Ask Joe about Meetup
disappointedg2
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/22/16

The old calendar that allowed you to scroll through all the events by day and time was WAY better. Hate the new app.

Ask Disappointed about Meetup
kennethg39
1 review
4 helpful votes
10/19/16

I second that the new Meetup site is horrible and it sucks I need to put the old one back

Ask Kenneth about Meetup
susanc212
1 review
5 helpful votes
10/16/16

The new Meetup Site is awful... confusing & frustrating.. the old site was great. Easy to use & the calendar was so much more functionable ...
Upgrade is really a downgrade!!!!!

Ask Susan about Meetup
nilac
1 review
7 helpful votes
10/15/16

The new upgrade is really a huge downgrade! The site is extremely hard to navigate, the design is crappy and distracting, and above all else-- they removed the calendar view for looking at your events! Now your stuck scrolling and searching for events. It's extremely time-consuming and I am very disappointed in this company :-(

Ask Nila about Meetup
tangk
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/15/16

Guys to gals ratio super unbalanced. Can be as bad as 20:1
Organizer simply does not care. Only concern about profit making; the more the merrier. Feedback from some gals they are targeted and disturbed by organizer (male). The whole thing feels like a scam -> organizer use this entirely to his own benefit. That is, to get both gals and income AT THE SAME TIME. The RSVP list also seems to be faked up.

Avoid, avoid and Avoid!..............................................

or

Enter at your own risk!

or

If you simply has nothing better to do

Ask Tang about Meetup
vanessat32
1 review
5 helpful votes
10/12/16

I used to use meetup to find new events and new groups and new things to do on a daily basis.
I would just browse the calendar for that day oe the upcoming days and find new and interesting things to do and groups to join.
Now i cant even navigate the app and they took away the BEST part of meetup...THE CALENDAR!
It looks like a pinterest board now. I hate it!
Hope th3se messages reach the owners and they acually do something about it

Ask Vanessa about Meetup
billm166
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/11/16

Is Meetup insane? What twisted logic causes an internet company to create and enforce such hostile policy against paying customers?

On Tue, Oct 11, 2016 at 11:58 AM, Meetup HQ <policy@meetup.com>­ wrote:

Hello Bill,
We are writing about your Meetup group, Makers of Phoenix, because we noticed you are hosting online events. Meetup is committed to bringing people together in real life to do what matters most to them. Thats why Meetup groups that are primarily about online interactions are not permitted.

In order to comply with our policies, more than half of your groups Meetups should be local, in-person events. You may host a webinar or online discussion as long as, overall, at least 50% of your Meetups are in-person.

Please review your upcoming Meetups and make sure at least half are in-person. If necessary, remove online Meetups or add in-person Meetups. If you cancel any upcoming Meetups, please issue refunds to members who paid you. You do not need to alter past Meetups.

In 2 weeks, we will review your group again. If your Meetup continues to focus on online interactions instead of in-person activities, it will be closed.

Please see our Help Center information on these recent policy updates. You can also read our Community Guidelines. We reserve the right to remove groups at our own discretion per our Terms of Service.

Thank you for your commitment to Meetup.

Ask Bill about Meetup
joem214
1 review
10 helpful votes
10/7/16

They took a decent app and turned it into crap!

Ask Joe about Meetup
runners
1 review
5 helpful votes
10/5/16

It is so bad, a review more than 1 sentence would be waste of time. Total fail!

Ask Runner about Meetup
jenniferd141
1 review
8 helpful votes
10/5/16

I have been an assistant organizer for 3 years and loved the old app. Why did they change it and not ask the organizers of one of the best meetups in the San Francisco East Bay what we thought of the app and gained feedback before they went live with it? It's not user friendly, you can't find comments and the pictures are so small you can't tell who is who. Go back to the old app PLEASE!!!!

Ask Jennifer about Meetup
scotth124
1 review
4 helpful votes
10/5/16

I have used Meetup.com for five years in Nov 2016. They have been a problem ever since I started using them, and the app they just pushed out in Sept 16 has taken a bad situation to worse.The only thing this company will understand is falling revenue. They do not even have a contact us button on their main web page. The new logo is more like a blood splatter from a murderer. Be smarter use Facebook or Socigroups. Meetup just sucks.

Ask Scott about Meetup
deniseh62
1 review
5 helpful votes
10/4/16

They actually PAID somebody to redesign their site???? Must be a third grader; it's total crap. Boring and very time consuming. I used to go there quite a lot. It's too boring now.

Ask Denise about Meetup
tarak21
1 review
8 helpful votes
10/4/16

I absolutely can't stand the updated version of this app!!! So much more difficult to navigate. Can't see all the events for your groups easily. Don't like the look, poor funtionality. It would be nice to at least give users the option of 'classic view'. If you are going to change it, make it better, not worse and hard to use! Especially for new people to the site! Huge thumbs down on this!!!

Ask Tara about Meetup
lesp2
1 review
5 helpful votes
10/4/16

Why change something that was not broken. Looks horrible. Not as good as previous version which looked and felt better to use. I won't use it as much now. Even the App icon looks nothing!
Will you listen...Probably Not!

Ask Les about Meetup
mikef128
1 review
6 helpful votes
10/3/16

The pictures on the main screen is way too small. The app is totally frustrating. Bring back the prior app!!!

Ask Mike about Meetup
cf34
1 review
7 helpful votes
10/2/16

This new app. is not an improvement. It is harder to use than the old one. The app. does not allow you to look at all past meetups. on your mobile phone. You could do so much more with the old app. It is not user friendly. I could do everything with the old mobile app. Now I have to wait to get to a computer. It stinks!

Ask c about Meetup
1 rating was submitted through the SiteJabber Browser Extension

24 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the Meetup staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
scotth124
Scott H.
on 10/7/16
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
brendanw6
Brendan W.
on 10/7/16
Answer
scotth124
Scott H.
A: They will not go back they paid for the new app and it will remain in place
on 10/7/16
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
See 20 more questions
See more Q&A
Questions? Get answers from the Meetup staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Meetup?
Post Review