SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government’s NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of Kayak

Kayak reviews

395 reviews
64%
7 Market Street 

Stamford, CT 06902, US
Tel: +1-978-451-0771

395 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
16
Value
14
Shipping
5
Returns
6
Quality
10

Review Highlights

sheilar2

The first customer service rep i talked to said he wasn't able to refund my money. (in 32 reviews)

williamf21

I work as a concierge and marketer at Hotel Maison De Ville. (in 75 reviews)

audreys

It scours a ton of travel sites to deliver optimal combinations of itineraries and low prices in an easy-to-use display. (in 10 reviews)

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

bernardot5
6 reviews
1 helpful vote
6/28/16

I've used Kayak a few times to get me somewhere. The first time was when I was traveling to San Diego for a marketing conference. I got the flight through them while I ended up staying at the hotel on a deal I got for being at the conference. Other websites would've cost me around an extra $200 for the whole thing.

Another time I actually managed to save $800 by getting my hotel, car, and air travel through them. I compared this around getting directly from the companies I was purchasing from as well as a couple of those other sites I see on television. There has been one time when they weren't the cheapest, but given that it was a smaller airline, I can't really blame them.

Ask Bernardo about Kayak
Advertisement
donnay6
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/23/16

I searched the site for two hours before finding multiple flights that would work. When I went to book I was led to Delta website where I was told the price could not be met! What a huge waste of time. STAY AWAY!

Ask Donna about Kayak
isajob
11 reviews
1 helpful vote
6/21/16

My husband and I travel frequently locally and internationally, for work and for fun. Since he owns his business, he shops for the best routes and fares on Kayak. Kayak is the best place to narrow down the choices to 2 or 3 airlines by routes, by dates. Of course we check our frequent flyer airline first, but that is often not the best value fare overall or not the fastest routes.

Service
Value
Quality
Ask Isajo about Kayak
dereko11
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
6/18/16

This is a helpful flights search tool as it helps to compare the fares of different companies. But making payments on the site was somewhat a challenge for me. The card was rejected a couple of times and I couldn't find a way to contact someone so they could help me out.

Ask Derek about Kayak
allaa2
5 reviews
3 helpful votes
5/30/16

I literally end up booking all my flight via Kayak. I've tried many: expedia, skyscanner, opodo, last minute and etc - but every time prices on Kayak are better and they have some great search options, allowing you to quickly compare and book your flight. Highly recommend it.

Ask Alla about Kayak
susank70
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
5/23/16

My husband bought a flight ticket from Kayak.com. We waited till the next day without receiving a confirmation, receipt, itinerary, anything etc...nothing. I found two methods to contact them. Both were useless without having the information we needed from the confirmation. The bank showed two tickets were booked, but did not show by whom because the ticket(s?) were pending till the day before the flight. I finally called the airline and they were able to provide us with my husbands itinerary, receipt, etc..that Kayak.com should have provided us to begin with. Never! Ever! Again, will I waste my time with this search site.

Ask Susan about Kayak
fredericks33
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
5/16/16

Kayak always come handy when you want to book for hotels. They make the entire process very easy and flexible.

Ask Frederick about Kayak
terriev
21 reviews
6 helpful votes
5/3/16

Great comparisons. They do provide what comparisons one is looking for but many times other sites make less expensive options available.

Ask terrie about Kayak
andrews179
18 reviews
6 helpful votes
4/29/16

Kayak has become my go-to site to find airline prices. Very quick and efficient!

Ask Andrew about Kayak
theag4
6 reviews
0 helpful votes
4/5/16

Very helpful
TDG

Ask Thea about Kayak
ongweno
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
3/29/16

very efficient

Ask Ongwen about Kayak
smileyf1
15 reviews
39 helpful votes
3/19/16

I have used this website to find hotel deal quite a few times and have never had a problem. It compares many companies that don't always show up on other sites and I found some good deals. Never had a problem, no complaints here, will use again and recommend.

Ask Smiley about Kayak
toms209
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/16/16

not going to use it because of all the Spotify ads. Going with expedia

Ask Tom about Kayak
frankt48
6 reviews
13 helpful votes
3/11/16

I bot an hotel via this site and when I arrived the hotel was not even close to what the pictures shown in the web site.
I called and they said they couldn't verify my card, which doesn't make sense as my card was already charged. I asked for my money back and they said at least 5 buisness days. I believe that they could sell the room for more so they cancelled my trip 3 days before. Then I had to rebook with the hotel and it was double the price. When I called to ask questions I was hung up on 3 times and when I finally talked to the manager he kept saying I need to talk to my bank. I asked why the money was off my card if they couldn't verify it. He kept saying I need to talk to my back. I said he needed to answer the question but never did.

Ask Frank about Kayak
bassema1
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/28/16

good

Ask bassem about Kayak
alexc113
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/11/16

I bought a hotel for all star weekend 3 days before my trip after my credit card was charged they sent me a email saying it was cancelled. I called and they said they couldn't verify my card, which doesn't make sense as my card was already charged. I asked for my money back and they said at least 5 buisness days. I believe that they could sell the room for more so they cancelled my trip 3 days before. Then I had to rebook with the hotel and it was double the price. When I called to ask questions I was hung up on 3 times and when I finally talked to the manager he kept saying I need to talk to my bank. I asked why the money was off my card if they couldn't verify it. He kept saying I need to talk to my back. I said he needed to answer the question and he replied with. I don't have a answer for that. I wasted a hour of my day on hold with them and I am waisting more time Reviewing them. Horrible buisness. Do support them ! Don't stand beside wack. We as consumers have the power to take down any corporation!

Ask Alex about Kayak
catherinem37
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/31/16

Just to warn you that this is the worst service ever. They do not have any responsibility for nothing. My husband bought a ticket fly using this website and suddenly he ended up booking with the company directly which is American Airlines and they didn't give any confirmation of this transaction. We thought that it was not a purchase made cause we haven't been charged so we bought the same flight ticket from American Airlines to Flight Hub where it went well..then 5 days after we found the charges that we made using Kayak and when you go through its privacy terms, there is no way to get a refund. We spoke to American Airlines cause we have double ticket flights and they say we can't get a refund cause is a non refundable ticket. We explained to them the issue and we didn't receive any notification from them but AA say that they only can give us credit for 2 years, what the heck!..Very disapointed of both Kayak and AA , they have the worst service ever and I won't buy any tickets from them even though they say they are the cheapest..Be aware !!!

Ask Catherine about Kayak
briannew1
44 reviews
20 helpful votes
1/27/16

been traveling for months and kayak always had the best to offer, most especially the hotels. Cool!

Service
Ask Brianne about Kayak
ml63
13 reviews
31 helpful votes
1/27/16

I have never found a good deal on here... when I go straight to the hotel or airline sites... they are offering the same deals! So, why give them a chance to screw up my reservations? !

Ask M about Kayak
oliviaw13
8 reviews
50 helpful votes
1/19/16

I like combining searching for cheapest tickets with other websites. Sometimes they do find the cheapest options, but most time they don't

Ask Olivia about Kayak
miket113
49 reviews
495 helpful votes
1/18/16

Sometimes I find the lowest prices here and sometimes I do not. I use it as one of many sources to check for travel prices. Do not limit yourself to just using Kayak.

Ask Mike about Kayak
sauda5
26 reviews
5 helpful votes
1/6/16

Most sites tells the cost info with margin, but this site tell me right information.
That good. Also good experience

Ask Saud about Kayak
lewisr6
5 reviews
7 helpful votes
1/4/16

Don't list all airlines, e.g. Southwest. Also fares sometimes appear more comparable than they are because some carriers (such as Spirit and Frontier) have additional charges, like luggage, which aren't mentioned.

Ask Lewis about Kayak
artf14
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
1/1/16

Kayak works with a Vayama.com. Their performance in helping me rebook a canceled flight was below average.

Ask Art about Kayak
justint42
118 reviews
1,588 helpful votes
12/24/15

Kayak is the best. For flight searches - simply unbeatable. The user experience is simple and powerful.

Ask Justin about Kayak
193 ratings were submitted through the SiteJabber Browser Extension

1 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the Kayak staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
6/29/12
Answer
mariom3
A: I did a direct search to the actual airline sites, and I found a flight cheaper than 100 bucks , so is it just me or does kayak only list flights up to 100 bucks and up ?
4/19/12
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
Questions? Get answers from the Kayak staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

9 Photos for Kayak

From reviewers
×
Have a question about
Kayak?
Post Review