Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Groupon

Groupon reviews

Is this your business?
5377 reviews
Daily Deals, Discount Shopping, Local Advertising
600 W. Chicago Ave Suite 400
Chicago, IL 60654
Tel: +1.3128705288
sysadmin@groupon.com

5,377 Reviews From Our Community

Service
248
Value
226
Shipping
182
Returns
173
Quality
196

All Reviews

edwardm111
12 reviews
2 helpful votes
6/27/17

although they say they have some , like $10 off , or free shipping , you have to perform some other action, sell an item in 15 days or join a paid site before you get coupon. waste of time.

Advertisement
mindyj3
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
6/27/17

after being barraged with emails from this company, from what source I don't know, I finally stopped and read it and saw a good rate for Mackinac Island. I clicked, got in, they decided to wait until I discussed it with husband. So I signed out with out accepting. We decided against it, so that was it. My statement came from the bank and they charged me anyway. After an investigation, the bank refunded me the money, saying they were not an acceptable company to deal with.

jingt
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/26/17

I was shopping for Whale Watching tour in Victoria BC Canada on Groupon. When I searched the item, I did specifically indicate I was searching for tours in Victoria. I also set the region preference as in Victoria BC in my profile with Groupon. I did find the items, 5 whale watching tour tickets, but through out their whole website and the whole purchasing process they did not even mention once that the Canadian tour was quoted in US$. Why would somebody do that? I didn't realize the currency issue until the transaction came to my credit card as pending. Later, they even charged a service fee on that. Eventually, I paid C$100 more than what I would pay if I purchased directly from the tour company. Tried to solve the issue with Groupon, and in total talked to about 20 customer services. Every time they asked me to provide the full detail of my purchase like they couldn't find my order. They only used template answer to tell me that there was nothing they could help. It is a complete SCAM website. I would give 0 star if I have the option. Stay away from it by all means!

Tip for consumers: Just stay away from it by all means!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
annep63
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/26/17

Since Group On customer service has been outsourced to India, their customer service is terrible. I bought a salon service for $69.00 and have called the salon and left voice mail messages, emailed them with no response since february. I even drove to the salon only to find they had moved and their website was taken down. I was told by Group On that there was nothing they could do after contacting them 3 times.

jamesm668
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/25/17

Below you will find a chat conversation between myself in Groupon. I feel like this should have been refunded due to the circumstances. Regardless, their policy is that you have days to refund the order. Needless to say, I am unhappy with the outcome of the situation.


[James McC***] Issue: Location is too far
for my elderly parents to use this groupon. I would like it refunded in order to purchase something closer to them in Cleveland, Ohio. Order #: 7336XXXX
Deal concerned: the-melting-pot-25


[Groupon Customer Service Chat] Hey there! Thank you for reaching Groupon Customer Support. Ill be more than happy to assist you. May you please provide me your email address associated to your Groupon account?

[James McC***] james.f.mcc***@gmail.com
[Groupon Customer Service Chat] Thank you for your information. Allow me 2-3 minutes while I pull up the account.

[James McC***] ok
[Groupon Customer Service Chat] Thank you for your patience, so this business is located too far from you?

[James McC***] I purchased this for my mom for mothers day. She's elderly and this is too far for her to travel to.

[Groupon Customer Service Chat] Oh I understand, James. Well, I was reviewing this order here, but the deal has been purchased more than 3 days ago. Groupons new Cancellation Policy allows customers to cancel and get refunded for the purchase as long as theyre in the 3 days window. Anything past 3 days the vouchers are non-refundable and cant be canceled. Neither can it be exchanged for one closer. I'm sorry, James.

ndh1
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/23/17

I bought a Brio luggage set through Groupon.com in April, 2017 and during my first trip in June, 2017 the handle of the luggage broke. Groupon sent me to deal with Brio. Brio would not accept return nor store credit and offer to send the replacement handle (same flimsy handle) which I have to install it myself. I went back to Groupon requesting help for store credit and was denied with the explanation that they only have 14 days return policy although the item was broken. Groupon supervisor, Trevor, insisted that there is nothing they could do and told me that Brio replacement part is fair. He offered $20 Groupon credit as if that would resolve my problem. I declined the coupon and would not purchase physical items from Groupon again.

Service
Returns
nikkir38
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/23/17

We bought a mystery getaway deal from groupon for four of us! No wonder it was a mystery and sold at the price it was! It was a company called https://weekenderbreaks.wufoo.eu/forms/groupon-mystery-deal-by-weekender-breaks/
They would cal you and tell you all the details and give you literally 40mins to decide, if you ask for other destinations or flight time costs you more!!
The hotel was meant to be 3*, when we reviewed it online, had 2*, worst reviews ever and was more like a hostel than a hotel. Flight times were ridiculous, stupid o clock in the mornings. The airport was an hours drive away and not the 5mins one... just appalling companies can fib away and get away by conning people! NEVER EVER buy anything mystery related!!

deanneb3
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/21/17

I have recently purchased numerous items from Groupon. None of which do as stated. The chair arm organiser. Doesn't sit straight on slightly curved arms and anything you try to balance on it falls off. Charcoal whitening tooth paste - after 2 weeks of use has turned my teeth more discoloured and caused bad oral health. Black blackheads mask - absolutely nothing! Not one came out. Crap!!! The holiday travel shoulder bag with loads of pockets. So cheap it doesnt keep its shape and the lining has started fraying when just trying out in the house. A power bank - paid for 1600 and got sent 800. Lol scammed!
It's completely laughable.

jenniferp163
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/21/17

Bought a laptop from group on...its been 20 days still no laptop...and it said it was shipped and delivered..so I contacted seller...and she never answered... Total emails 3 and I got an email asking how are we doing...they never answered me...so I looked in my group on box and it is not even available yet...wtf...and come to find out its from 3rd party which is NOT in the fine print...asked for refund NO response... They had a box down below for similar laptop..but they are more expensive than the one I paid for...wtf...I dont think so...first and last time user...lost money on a laptop I will never receive...

belindab34
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/21/17

I ordered a king size comforter with pillow shams. The comforter was paper thin and fit my queen size bed like a sheet, keep in mind it suppose to be KING size. I was very disappointed and will never order from them again. I'm not going through the trouble of returning it because I don't think it's worth the headache. ($40 down the drain) I will use it at the park for my grandkids to sit on.

cynthiaj30
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/21/17

We use Groupon often for restaurants and services and usually feel it is a savings.
Not so with a recent purchases for moving services and Groupon did not back us using the 'read the small print' claim.

All the savings of buying 2 hours of truck packing services from Atlanta Pro Movers was lost when they added a $50 charge (the fee that goes to Groupon) for "mileage, (we were 2 miles away) , 'OK then it for packing & supplies (we had it all packed & wrapped, " OK then it is for insurance" ($50 for two hours of insurance?). Then we were made to watch a video that clearly said they had to do everything their way, don't help, don't hand them anything or even speak to them. Then 2 young guys sauntered back and forth sometimes the one just followed the other not carrying anything. They were amicable enough but worked very slowly and seemed to be in a happy dream like state (hmm) Of course they didn't fiinsh in the two hours and of course but offered to stay for $125 each extra hour. No thanks.

Groupon's response at first was "that's not right" but later said we should read the small print which indicated additional charges for mileage, packing or insurance could apply and should add they will negate any savings of the Groupon.

Buyer beware and check with the company before purchasing the Groupon - often they will give you the Groupon price without purchasing a Groupon and you both will enjoy the savings. One star to Groupon for this purchase for no savings and one star to Atlanta Pro Movers for poor service to upsell and hidden fees.

Tip for consumers: Check with the vendor directly - they may give the same price without purchasing a Groupon instead of adding fees to recoup their commission to Groupon Atlanta Pro Movers is not a good value regardless.

Service
Value
Quality
jillm98
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/20/17

Groupon "Book A Photographer" and then a second Groupon for "Carpet Cleaning" have been the worst experiences ever. Both are impossible to schedule with. They don't answer emails. They do not return calls. They have been impossible (literally) to "work" with. Can't really "work" with someone if the businesses are basically a ghost.
I did an online chat with someone through Groupon to try and sort this out and he was no help at all. I also exchanged several emails with Groupon and their attitude is flippant and entitled. I did not get anywhere with Groupon. Horrible company that does NOT care about the consumer. In short, I have purchased TWO Groupons in the past month and cannot use either one!! Groupon doesn't care. Do NOT do business with Groupon. I've had TWO separate horrible experiences in the past month alone! BEWARE.

carlyb6
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/20/17

I wrote to Groupon because I am deeply disappointed in their customer service department and would like a refund. I am a long-standing customer (5+ years) and have bought many Groupons (28+) personally and recommend your site to many family and friends.

On June 16, 2017, I purchased two tickets to the Dinner Detective (https://www.groupon.com/deals/gl-the-dinner-detective-cincinnati-3) for $80.00. I went to their site right away and saw there were no dates that would work for our trip to Cincinnati, OH. I immediately went back to Groupon and requested two refunds well within my refund time. Both pages said they would send my request to Groupon.

I checked my email and never received a confirmation email from Groupon. I did not think anything of it since many times it takes a few days for request to go through, especially since I paid through a third party, Paypal. I never received an email, so I figured it must have been deleted or went to spam so I checked my Paypal account today, June 20 2017. Paypal showed that my $80.00 was never refunded.

I called Groupon right away to seek help with the refund since the website never sent the request through. I spoke with two separate customer service representatives and then a supervisor. None were able to help me. They all said I missed the refund time and they could not do anything. The supervisor and one customer service agent told me I should have checked my email immediately to tell them I didnt receive my refund right away. Unfortunately, I had too much faith in Groupons website and failed to see something went wrong in under 12 hours.

Therefore, I am writing to Groupon Headquarters to now seek help. I am extremely disappointed that a company would treat a long standing, faithful customer this poorly due to their website malfunctioning. I am not surprised though after doing research in contacting Groupon that I saw how poorly Groupon is rated on various sites (2 stars was the average I saw). Many people have the same complaint I do and it does not appear the company is doing anything to help keep costumers.

Groupon has lost yet another respectable customer and I will never recommend the website to anyone.

lellaa
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/20/17

I tried to contact the business and Groupon regarding redeeming my voucher, but their is no answer from the business and NO help from Groupon.

valerieb64
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/20/17

I purchased a groupon for a massage about a month ago. I tried for two weeks to book the massage to no avail. I contacted their customer service whom informed me they could not refund my money but could convert the cost of the groupon into groupon bucks that must be used within 24 hours. I then purchased another groupon massage for a bit more money thinking they would surely call me back. I was very, very wrong. After trying for a week to get ahold of someone I contacted groupon's customer service again. They then reached out to the individual and informed me I would be contacted within 3 to 4 business days to book the massage. 3 to 4 days came and went and still no return call. I then contacted groupon to inform them the individual never called. They sent me an email stating they refunded my money into groupon bucks to use at my leisure. They acted like they were doing me a favor and I should be grateful. At this point I was over the whole situation. After multiple chats and emails I finally spoke to a person whom refunded the difference of the two goupons back to my card but they refuse to give the remaining amount back. This company is a scam. I was a fan of groupon until this situation that was handled incredibly poorly by groupon. They need to screen the individuals that have groupons to ensure their customers get good service. I will NEVER use groupon again.

richardk126
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/19/17

I purchased a refurbished LC 65" TV with a 90 day warranty and upon arrival it was dead. Groupon refused to take it back however their ad stated free returns. When the "refurbished" tv arrived it was dead.I have spent days going around in circles to no avail. I finally got the CEO's name and personnel address and may visit him and his family while watching tv soon. What they are doing is illegal and MUST be stopped by any means possible. I'm a wounded vet and getting madder each and every day. I have the CEO's home address so perhaps he will see what it's like to $#*! somebody. A couple of more days and I have no idea what will happen. I know one thing:Take care of your customer in honest faith or PAY the consequences.
Richard Kelly

sofiam21
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
6/19/17

Have purchased from Groupon several times and would recommend as I've never had any problems! I wish I didn't have to use 100 strokes as I'm not that talkative.

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
mariad128
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/19/17

I am a lon time and frequent buyer at Groupon, NOT ANYMORE.

I purchased a $99.00 dinner Groupon, on the third day tried to cancel, they refused would only give a credit to be used within 24 HRS!!! WT@
This has never happened to me. Their phone support is no longer available, seriously?. It is no wonder they trading at 3 bucks per share. They are THIEVES now. Fool me once...

brianv22
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/19/17

I got a auto care coupon package for $29 in April. Called to make an appointment today and they informed me that they haven't honored the coupon since 2016. That they have called and e-mailed groupon to take the ad down. Contacted groupon today and they refuse to refund me my money back. Instead they offered me to pay another 21.75 to exchange the coupons!! No thanks is all I can say it's their screw up and they should refund!! I will be contacting all of mine and my wifes friends on FB to write a bad review Groupon.

Tip for consumers: Simple put do not use them. They will screw you over

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
geralds67
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/19/17

Bought two of these to take on holiday but with the great weather we are having thought we would give them a try
Good job we did sun loungers out not a bit like the picture and to top it all they don't even fit
What a load of rubbish score 0000

gertrudem12
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/18/17

Yesterday, we went to Walker's bar and Grill in Mississauga. The food was horrible. The chicken was so salty, that I couldn't finish it. Even the pasta with chicken and shrimp had the same salty chicken and my partner could not finish that either. It was a waste of time and money. The add said that we could buy food for $40.00 by paying $25, including wine. It was completely misleading. We not only ended up paying a lot of money, but also were the most disappointed and dissatisfied customers. This is not a nice place to eat. Gertrude Martins

groupons
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/17/17

Bought a voucher for a theatre show in Toronto. Because of an email mix up I was unable to print the voucher. Numerous times I emailed them to explain the problem and try to get them to fix it. No use. Their mantra was to change my password but it was in a different email that I couldn't access because it didn't exist. so I couldn't change it. So I paid groupon $60 for a show I will never be able to see. Beware this company you could lose money.

fucky83
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/16/17

Wow... I just bought a Groupon for 2 massages for the same business, redeemed one and hated it.... and Groupon won't do a damn thing for the second one. ALL PHONE NUMBERS... NOT IN SERVICE!!! They completely cut out all and any phone numbers to contact a live person. EVEN CORPORATE... has NO PHONE NUMBER. so no refund according to Diana on live chat... she wouldn't provide me no number to contact anyone. She said she wouldn't provide her supervisors name... I'm so done. They lost me as a customer. No wonder why there running all these deals. $#*! YOU GROUPON. And your Scams.

peter3033
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/15/17

On 10th June I bought two tickets for Gardeners World, Birmingham for 16th June. There was no mention of any restrictions when I bought the ticket. The day before the event I got a message saying they have some important information about the tickets and that they are only valid from 12PM. The fact they sent this email is an admittance to not having told me this at the point of sale. I have tried to cancel my purchase and get a refund and have been told I will not be able to. I have wasted £23.50. I will never use Groupon again.

jillw44
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/14/17

So disappointed in this site. First I had to ring in each transaction separate because you can't combine your total with promo code even if it from the same groupon. Only takes off one coupon. So I was planning on buying 6 seven peaks pass of all passes. Yeah had to have 6 separate transactions. Oh wait! You can only use that promo code 4 times. So went over to Value Pak and what do you know, I can use the 1 promo code for all 6 so only one transaction. And it was even cheaper! So now I come back to cancel my 4 transactions that I just did but only 3 show up. So thinking I just did 3... no it showed up a few days later but now its past the 3 days widow to cancel your transaction so "they understand but can't do anything about it" They literally told me I could give it as a gift. What the!! Oh and never talked to anyone in person only on the computer! I will never be back! I'll never recommend! So bugged!

2,179 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer
11
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes , Groupon is legit. You need to read the fine print before ordering live event tickets- -they will not refund your money even if it's there fault. I only buy tickets for activities that don't expire or you can use the purchase price towards a non-Groupon service the vendor offers. Hope this helps.

By Wylendia E. on 1/19/16
Helpful answer
6
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes, report it but using social media is a very effective way to get a companies attention. Spread the word, Groupon does not honor returns!

By karen h. on 11/21/15
Helpful answer
6
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I do not buy or recommend buying anything with expectations of a guarantee. If it isn't what you expect. It is your problem - not theirs.

By Jackie M. on 6/4/16
Helpful answer
4
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Groupon usually sends a tracking # via email If not do as the other people suggested, check My Groupons

By Storme G. on 11/2/15
Helpful answer
4
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I usually call the merchants I am interested in before buying the coupons, and ask them if the groupon coupons work, and how much more I have to pay. You could do the same, contact the merchants you are interested in and ask them how groupon works for them?

By Julie P. on 11/9/15
Helpful answer
2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I personally do not trust groupon. The question previous to yours printed on this site should answer your question as to its reliaiblity

By SHIRL H. on 4/19/15
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No fees. However, the deals they advertise never add up to be what they seem on the web site. Beware

By Selcuk I. on 9/7/15
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

The one I took by Holly and Hugo at least were I would research the company before buying. Also about twice a year they put all their courses for $5!! I got mine completed it and it helped boost my resume and I was able to get a vet assistant job pretty quickly compared to before where I only got a call back from about one place which didn't lead anywhere. :) hope I could help!

By Melanie R. on 2/4/16
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I wish I could say why, but a solution might be to contact Call Curtis, or your local News station that helps with consumer issues. They always seem to get fast resolutions, because companies hate BAD TV PUBLICITY.

By Patti B. on 8/5/15
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

There should be a Proof of certification provided. Check that first, send Groupon support an email about your concerns. If I looked up the same ring. Is it being offered by Bliss? And 14k white gold? there is a description provided. From what I can see everything is there. I will tell you that there are 2 different scales for determining the clarity of diamonds. One is much more stricter that the other. Sorry I don't remember the names of them, but my guess is that the lower scale is being used to determine the clarity. I-J at 12-13 is about the standard for most diamonds bought in a jewelry store. Walmart would be n-m at 21-24 clarity. Print out the page so you have a copy as proof of the description. Take it to a jeweler and have it appraised. If it doesn't match, you have so many days to return the item. Groupon will keep a record of your emails and question sent. You can also contact Bliss Jewelry to confirm everything before you buy. An additional step that I recommend is to first sign up for ebates if you don't have an account. If you by it through the ebates site you will get back up to 12% of the sale price back. That's a lot of change back. No catch. I by everything through ebates. Yes you can return the item. Just make sure you are following the process.

By Bonnie S. on 6/1/15
Questions? Get answers from the Groupon staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

30 Photos for Groupon

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Groupon?
Post Review