Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Groupon

Groupon reviews

Is this your business?
5,208 reviews
600 W. Chicago Ave Suite 400
Chicago, IL 60654, US
Tel: +1-800-766-5086
dmca@groupon.com
2017 Customer choice award

5,208 Reviews From Our Community

Service
265
Value
243
Shipping
194
Returns
182
Quality
209

All Reviews

xxxsepirothxxxl
14 reviews
2 helpful votes
10/18/18

I got no ideas what this site is, I never signed on and I never did business with them, but they keep sending me email spams. So much spam I have to throw up most days. I cannot even understand why I unsubscribe 10 times and it does nothing.

focusp1
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/17/18

A customer used groupon and called me. I provided service and was never paid by groupon. Since there is no contact number for groupon, i had to use emails. Customer service kept giving me the run around, but in the end, would not pay me.

kellip19
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/16/18

I paid for a canvas picture in which I got a deal for 12 pictures and i understood that I would be paying for shipping. I didn't know the shipping would be three times the pictures. I requested a refund or exchange of the voucher and Groupon wouldn't help me at all. I will never order from there again, no matter what Tiffany Haddish says about this terrible company

tamarad10
11 reviews
17 helpful votes
10/15/18

I am giving it 4 rather than 5 stars because the "good prices" comes with the caveat "check around first". They have some great deals but you have to be careful because I have found instances where prices are way lower elsewhere. So, like with any discount site, do your homework. Customer service on returns was outstanding! I found a chat feature immediately (without hunting all over and practically "accidentally bumping into it" like on Amazon). I had inadvertently ordered 2 pair of the same slippers. (I'll get to that issue in a minute). Customer service on the chat feature was excellent. Easy print of the return label at no cost to me. Popped them in the mailbox and got my refund within 10 days. The issue I had was with the website itself. I couldn't get the slippers in my cart when I was ordering and tried several methods to work around it. I am sure that's the reason I ended up ordering two. I went with the chat feature to handle the return to make sure my return attempt had taken because it was not reflected on the site. The chat agent completed the return again for me and, evidently, mine had worked because I ended up with 2 return labels in my email inbox. I think the site issues I experienced could be just browser issues, as is the case sometimes (certain browsers work better with certain applications). It certainly will NOT keep me from ordering from them again. If I have any site issues in the future, I'll be patient and log out and log back in. Oh, and I LOVE my slippers! Great quality at a super great price. Groupon and Jet have become my favorites for online ordering.

cathyb176
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
10/15/18

I enjoy finding a good deal with Groupon. I wish they would offer more deals on concerts though. They have some good ones for bigger city's near me too but not much closer to me. If you're willing to go to the bigger city's they offer more. It depends on what you want if it's worthwhile.

nb85
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/12/18

Jewellery order does not indicate shipping cost at all makes up for the discounted necklace price in high shipping charges whereas coupon voucher does not work either BeWare

deed155
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/4/18

I had installed the Groupon app on my phone. By doing this, I accidentally purchased a $200 cleaning service. By the time I noticed the purchase, it was too late to cancel. I informed Groupon and explained the issue. They admitted there were other customers who had installed the app and issues as well. Even after admitting it was their issue, they claimed there was nothing they could do.
I gave up and tried to schedule the cleaning. It took 2 weeks to get them to return my call, postponed the cleaning twice, and cancelled 30 minutes before they were to arrive. Then the owner hung up on me when I called back. Dont ever use Groupon! Biggest scam ever!!

jessicad235
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
9/26/18

I've found the best deals and coupons on Groupon. The trick is to subscribe to the newsletter service so you can be notified of ongoing deals on a daily basis.

zoeyd4
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
9/25/18

They have plenty of activities for everyone! They even have stuff for events! I got to see an awesome concert for a great price!

tasiahm
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/25/18

Worst customer experience ever X 3. I will never use groupon again. This is the second time I have planned a trip around a groupon event and been completely screwed! Both events didnt even exist when we got there. And then the rep says he gave me a refund of the 41$ ticket only nothing more, and I call back 2 weeks later to find that the rep "forgot" to issue the refund...... LIKE WTF what kind of company is this?!

hannahk86
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/24/18

I purchased a hotel room on Groupon for the Ramada in Glenwood springs. When I looked up the Ramada to find directions I found out that the business was permanently closed. I drove over to the hotel and it was no longer in business and was taken over by another hotel. I was not able to redeem the Groupon so I immediately contacted Groupon customer support and explained the situation. I send pictures of the hotel that was now there, pictures of the website saying it was permanently closed and pictures of the Groupon they advertised for the Ramada. It took them forever to get back to me and when they did they told me that there was nothing they could do. They also told me that if I contacted them sooner they could have done something but I have proof that I contacted them immediately. They told me for weeks that they were working on the issue and would get back to me but I constantly had to contact them. They are very rude and do not care about their customers at all. Do not trust Groupon getaways.

clarar37
376 reviews
98 helpful votes
9/24/18

Discounts and enev more discounts . i love this for when im going out with friend to dinner or on an outing to get deals.

doch28
1 review
3 helpful votes
9/24/18

As a business owner I strongly recommend that other business owners do not use Groupon. They recently changed their policy where you no longer get reimbursed once your customers Groupon has expired. Groupon has now gotten greedy, and takes the entire amount instead of paying you out your portion. Also, as a merchant, when your customer no shows they do not allow you to get paid for that no show because they say you "haven't serviced that customer" and therefore aren't entitled to the voucher amount. Uhhhh how is them taking up a time slot on my schedule that a full-price paying customer could have had not servicing a customer exactly? Who's fault is it that the customer didn't show? Definitely not mine, and my job isn't to babysit people to ensure they arrive on time (or at all), so I still should get paid. Further they aren't getting serviced if they arrive late because I'm not making other people on my schedule who arrive on time wait for these inconsiderate people who feel entitled to arrive as late as they please. Further to that, the retention rate is low for everyone I've talked to that has run a Groupon because customers are only looking for a cheap deal, most don't tip, these customers are the worst offeneders for not respecting your time, and they expect the world for a price that basically isn't paying you anything. In a nutshell don't waste your time merchants. Groupon sucks and so do most of it's customers!

triciad24
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/24/18

I really wanted this top and Groupon sent me a totally different shirt. Did a live chat with them online and all they did was email me a return address label for the wrong top. I asked if they would be sending the shirt I ordered and they told me I'd have to order it again if I wanted it. Very poor customer service. They should have sent me the correct shirt as soon as I told them about it. Very rude.

amys506
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/23/18

I purchases Wiseguys comedy club groupon for a night out with my husband. Every single show was listed as a special event making the groupon not valid for it. We tried at least 8 shows ... one only $12 to get into... still categorized as a special event. Asked groupon to refund it due to not having availability at the merchant to use and they refused. Even the value of it won't be honored at the merchant as they say it is after expiration. I spend at least $100 a month on groupon and they just lost a loyal customer over $15. Speaks volumes of their customer service and any recourse you think you might have. I'll be using my remaining groupons and deleting the app permanently. Do not recommend site at all.

se56
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/22/18

I have had good experiences with Groupon until now. I was looking at tickets for an event (just looking). I was not ready to buy yet. I hit one button, and $150 later, I tried to stop the order, and was told that the sale was final, and I could "give it away" to someone if I couldn't use it. REALLY? I asked the girl if she had $150 to just throw away. Yes, we want to go to the event, but I was not ready to buy it yet, and I didn't want it to go on that credit card. Really let down, and don't know if I will use them again. Too bad, because like I said, I have had good experiences in the past. Another reason I hate to buy things online. :(

glennb103
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/22/18

I went to purchase tickets for an aquarium from their web site. I hit the send button and I got an error message that my internet was spotty and it did not go through. So when I hit the send button again, it still didnt' go through. I tried once more time it I still received an error message. So we called the aquarium directly I just purchased tickets. Groupon then charged me 3x for my family to purchase tickets for the aquarium. I called them and explained what happen and they said they didn't care. They have a policy that if if you hit the send button, you will be charged. Even if you made a mistake. I complained to my credit card company but they could not help me either. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY. I now have 3 $120 charges that I now I have to pay.

kerrim35
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/21/18

Do not fall for the statement Groupon makes saying you can buy now but get a refund within 3 days of purchase. This is a lie! I tried to get a refund within 2 days, I was asked a barrage of questions why I wanted it and then told they won't refund it but would turn it into a credit for another groupon or give the current one as a gift. I don't respect anyone that doesn't honor written policy and they want your reason for cancel so that THEY decide if it qualifies as a good reason. I purchased it for a special occasion only to find it wouldn't work for other parties involved, NOT A GOOD REASON??? HOW RUDE AND DISHONEST!

allisonr45
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/20/18

I cannot believe that such poor customer service exists in this day and age. I can't believe they are still a functioning business.

I personally have spent a lot of money on and through Groupon to eat locally, get products, and literally go abroad with them. I have been a loyal customer to them for many, many years and have spent thousands of dollars. I will NEVER use Groupon again.

I recently purchased a Groupon for 2 nights at a hotel that quotes $45/night. I chose two nights and was charged $97.00 + even though as I was booking my nights it quoted me $48 plus change a night. I thought it was a little low after the "fees" they rack up but being a loyal customer I had faith in them.

When we arrived to the hotel we were told their nightly rates were $80.00 a night by Chris. Then we were told we had the room for only one night. When we went back to the confirmation that originally said $48/night it was replaced by one night only for $97.00 plus change. We paid more than the hotel was charging through a "discount coupon service".

When we confronted the hotel and Groupon we were told there was nothing they could do because it was what it was. We asked them why we should use their service and they had no reason to. We smelled fraudulent behavior.

After all the workers played "hot potato" with the phone and we talked to 3+ people, the "manager" that we talked to, Amanda # 913 645, told us there was nothing they could do for us, we clearly just didn't understand.

This is not the first time there was a glitch in the system. I signed up for a service that was $100+ and when I went to book an appointment, the service said they hadn't signed up for/nor been on Groupon. She was sweet enough to accept that technology has glitches and she would respect some of the Groupon, however, the Coast River Inn at Seaside, OR didn't have any empathy.

Will never be giving my business to Coast River Inn nor Groupon again. Which is a true loss as I was a loyal customer that would take multiple trips a year through Groupon and Coast River Inn at Seaside.

Extremely dissatisfied with a service I thought I could trust.

dmariaq
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/19/18

I bought a one year subscription thru Groupon for BJs I went to BJs and they had no record of my information I got in touch with Groupon and they had no information. But my bank account was charged for it. So they stole my money

jenniferm304
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
9/19/18

made a purchase 3 weeks ago. still waiting. when i contacted via chat on the site was told there was a issue with the courier and i would need to contact them direct.Groupon accepting no responsibiity for delivery yet happy to take my money and depsatch vie their courier company. they refuse to contact the courer. when i requested a refund answer was told can't do that as item despatched. the chat operator was extremely rude. would ever use them again

jessm103
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/17/18

The absolute worst booking website on the internet today! I would not recommend this company for anything! They are a scam and will take your money! Don't let the cheap stuff fool you, they will get you in the end! I wish there was a way to give a zero star because they don't deserve one star!

maggiew49
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/17/18

I refuse to ever again purchase or work with any company that does not offer 'real' person customer support. I guess Groupon got rid of their actual real person phone support because they were having too many complaints. That should tell us something. No matter, I refuse to talk anymore to any company that does not offer the same respect back to me of a real person to converse. To me that says they are just there to collect our money and not care about our concerns. Way not cool Groupon!

donnas511
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/17/18

I moved from Chicago to Colorado with about a half dozed unused Groupons. When I requested they allow me to trade, they declined. When I insisted and threatened to post the truth on Social Media, they sent me an email on a weekday giving me 24 hours to trade them. By the time I opened the email, the deadline had passed. They were worth hundreds of dollars, eyeglasses, massages, etc. I tried to appeal and got a message I am BLOCKED.

danielc500
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/14/18

For the past 2 days, I have been trying to purchase 4 tickets for a Naples Sunset Cruise - Pure Naples. My first attempt was when Groupon advertise 50% off and after 30min with Customer Support assistance we gave up on making a purchase that evening and left it at trying again tomorrow using 25% off with Groupon bucks that worked out to $23.50.

On our second attempt the next day again, we had trouble making the purchase. The customer support person also gave up and has referred our situation to another department. In the meantime, we went directly to the provider for the item and completed the purchase. We honestly won't be shopping Groupon or referring others until such time Groupon gets their act together.

1,623 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes , Groupon is legit. You need to read the fine print before ordering live event tickets- -they will not refund your money even if it's there fault. I only buy tickets for activities that don't expire or you can use the purchase price towards a non-Groupon service the vendor offers. Hope this helps.

By Wylendia E.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes, report it but using social media is a very effective way to get a companies attention. Spread the word, Groupon does not honor returns!

By karen h.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I do not buy or recommend buying anything with expectations of a guarantee. If it isn't what you expect. It is your problem - not theirs.

By Jackie M.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Groupon usually sends a tracking # via email If not do as the other people suggested, check My Groupons

By Storme G.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I usually call the merchants I am interested in before buying the coupons, and ask them if the groupon coupons work, and how much more I have to pay. You could do the same, contact the merchants you are interested in and ask them how groupon works for them?

By Julie P.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I personally do not trust groupon. The question previous to yours printed on this site should answer your question as to its reliaiblity

By SHIRL H.
Helpful answer 3
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No fees. However, the deals they advertise never add up to be what they seem on the web site. Beware

By Selcuk I.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

The one I took by Holly and Hugo at least were I would research the company before buying. Also about twice a year they put all their courses for $5!! I got mine completed it and it helped boost my resume and I was able to get a vet assistant job pretty quickly compared to before where I only got a call back from about one place which didn't lead anywhere. :) hope I could help!

By Melanie R.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I wish I could say why, but a solution might be to contact Call Curtis, or your local News station that helps with consumer issues. They always seem to get fast resolutions, because companies hate BAD TV PUBLICITY.

By Patti B.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

There should be a Proof of certification provided. Check that first, send Groupon support an email about your concerns. If I looked up the same ring. Is it being offered by Bliss? And 14k white gold? there is a description provided. From what I can see everything is there. I will tell you that there are 2 different scales for determining the clarity of diamonds. One is much more stricter that the other. Sorry I don't remember the names of them, but my guess is that the lower scale is being used to determine the clarity. I-J at 12-13 is about the standard for most diamonds bought in a jewelry store. Walmart would be n-m at 21-24 clarity. Print out the page so you have a copy as proof of the description. Take it to a jeweler and have it appraised. If it doesn't match, you have so many days to return the item. Groupon will keep a record of your emails and question sent. You can also contact Bliss Jewelry to confirm everything before you buy. An additional step that I recommend is to first sign up for ebates if you don't have an account. If you by it through the ebates site you will get back up to 12% of the sale price back. That's a lot of change back. No catch. I by everything through ebates. Yes you can return the item. Just make sure you are following the process.

By Bonnie S.
Questions? Get answers from the Groupon staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Groupon?
Post Review