Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Groupon

Groupon reviews

Is this your business?
5,223 reviews
600 W. Chicago Ave Suite 400
Chicago, IL 60654, US
Tel: +1-800-766-5086
dmca@groupon.com
2017 Customer choice award

5,223 Reviews From Our Community

Service
266
Value
244
Shipping
195
Returns
183
Quality
210

All Reviews

alisonj39
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/18/18

I have been a customer of groupon for years and they were great until this year. I have had 2 undelivered packages and bought 2 vouchers that were unusable because the company would not respond. Apparently they only give each customer 1 refund per lifetime and treat you like you are trying to rip them off. Never again will I use groupon and be treated like a thief because I want a refund!

ericj237
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/17/18

Had multiple problems with receiving groupon that you can use at the vendor. Can't get in touch with anybody. So deleted the app and protested the charges on my checking account. Get your act togeather Groupon.

cynthiab257
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/15/18

PSA:GROUPON.
FRAUD/THIEVES
Please Share!!!
I'm going to try to make this as concise and quick as possible, please read and help spread the word so no one else has this experience!
We booked a flight from 3rd party (Orbitz/Kayak) for American Airlines to depart from Louisville International Airport on 11/12/19 at 6:38pm, to Chicago O'Hare Airport, landing at 7:19pm, with 1 hour 1 min layover, and connecting flight to LasVegas departing at 8:20pm. Arrival to Vegas for 10:19pm (1:19pm East Coast time). Total cost: 696.35. Our Hotel at Circus Circus hotel was booked from Monday Night until Thursday morning. Cost: (included in hotel cost) Our departing flight was scheduled from LasVegas at 1:36AM Thursday morning. So, essentially we planned for two days in Vegas (11/13-11/14) We additionally through Orbitz booked tickets to Mandalay Bay Shark Aquarium... cost:40.00. Our initial flight was delayed 1 hour 20 minutes causing us to miss our connecting flight. The only available alternative flight was from Chicago to Vegas at 5pm on 11/13. Meaning we would not arrive in Vegas until late Tuesday evening/Early Wed morning. We chose not to be stranded in Chicago overnight and most of Tuesday. We called Orbitz customer service that night. Immediate response, AND FULL refund of flight/hotel/shark aquarium tickets!
Now... Groupon because we had ZERO intentions of NOT going on our trip, we purchased a Helicopter tour of the Grand Canyon, VooDoo Zip line Package, HighRoller Ferris Wheel tickets, Package for 2 at the Stratosphere Tower AND 2-Two day passes for the LasVegas Monorail for transportation during our stay. We have tried to contact Groupon, via phone (no answer) and via email (they block incoming emails), via live chat...(no resolve) and via Facebook messenger (more resolve). We spent a total of $887.98. We have been given ONE activity trade in with value of $39.00. Upon opening THAT email, were given 24 hours to trade in amount (a timer was visible on Groupon) If full trade-in is not utilized, its lost. We additionally contacted Mustang Helicoptor tours, to maybe even get a partial refund (as we now know Groupon ROBS businesses of revenue for services) they referred us to Viator, who is the parent company. Viator will happily return the portion of money they received, IF groupon contacts them on ourbehalf, validating we have voided our voucher. No response of course from Groupon on that matter.
Please do NOT use Groupon guys. It is a good deal. Sure. But in the event of things beyond your control, there is NO customer service. Zero. Useless. You will be robbed of your hard earned money, not to mention the companies that provide services are robbed as well. Please make this viral!!! Will update if there is any change... though I'm certainly not holding my breath.

alexs673
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/14/18

After purchase impossible to get a refund unless contact them same day. However, they are not opened on weekends and then they refuse to issue a refund because it is not the same day

abrahams35
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/11/18

I ordered a power wheels remote control for my little boy on the 5th of November and they claimed it would be here on the 9th of November and now they can't even find it.

nh79
N H.
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/9/18

They were impossible to get in contact with for a problem I had with a groupon that I had purchased. I emailed them and got an unhelpful response. So I finally got a call from them through requesting a call and had the most obnoxious conversation with an employee there. I had never dealt with such rude and unprofessional service or behavior. I then realized I could not speak with him and asked to speak with his manager who was extremely helpful.

bertiew8
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/8/18

2nd time this year, can't call the assholse, TRY and get live agent HA HA FINALLY. . USE AMAZON!THEY RESOLVE YOUR PROBLEM I UNDER A MINUTE.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
conir
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/3/18

Do not trust. Dont believe the reviews they clearly pay spam farms to leave. Fraudulent cowboys.

They take your money. Never deliver item and wait weeks to provide any sort of dismissive and irrelevant response to correspondenc

olgav33
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/30/18

You charge MONEY from my card twoce for the same transaction. After i try to contact you by pive chat you can't dp refund pr credit bec it was final sale. Crazy

johnh1762
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/25/18

I have been a Groupon Merchant for 4 years now. The first 2 years? Fantastic! A lot of sales, revenue of $500,000 a year, wife finally quit job and was able to take care of the small babies. Move forward to 2017....my worst nightmare...Some idiot decided to implement a Program called "Merchant Graduation". Once a seller reaches a sales threshold of $1,000 in 30 days, they get to graduate to Level to which is $5,000 in 30 days. But wait....there's a catch! They have a Scorecard which the metrics need to be all GREENS before graduating to Level 2. I was not graduated for 4 MONTHS! 4 LONG MONTHS! When I finally complained as to why my account has not graduated they stated that they did not have an answer for me but that they would send a request to the people that handle Merchant Graduation. Low and behold, I finally graduate to Level 2...I made $5,000 in three weeks. Account gets suspended again. While account is suspended for review, I receive an email stating that I have been demoted to Level 1 again because I had a red metric on C2M. For any real professional seller out there, let me explain to you what C2M is....Customer 2 Merchant. Can you actually believe that? This people actually have a metric for how many times a customer opens up a ticket. So all those questions about "Product Questions, Order Cancellation, Address Change Request, Asking about Tracking Information (while it's displayed there), Wanting to know about more color options". Yep, you heard me...better yet...you read it...you get penalized for customer inquiries like that. So instead of the $400,000 I was making a year, I'm around $50,000 for this year. When the account gets back to being reinstated, you lose your algorithm and good views on Google. So it's like starting from zero all over again. I had had products that used to sell over 10 a day, now some of them not even 1 for a whole month. Also! Beware of Returns! Groupon sometimes refunds your customer quietly without sending you any notification, email or any type of communication. I had had returns/refunds that I only found out because I was curious to look on the "Returns Tab". Customers don't even need to return the products, or even open up a ticket with you for getting a refund. They just contact Groupon and they refund the customer without contacting you or not letting you even know. They also close listings due to "Low Ratings". Sometimes I think they do it if they think you are making too many good sales out of an item as I asked to see my ratings out of a closed listing that had sold over 500+ pieces and 95% of the complaints were due to USPS slowness. So instead of closing a product because of the actual PRODUCT review, they close it based on USPS speed. They also don't take into consideration the people that don't rate the product. They can't seem to understand that this is not Amazon. Out of 100 orders, 70 customers will rate the product. Groupon customers like to get deals, quality items for cheap prices, they won't leave the most honest reviews. Instead of balancing out the bad reviews with the people that don't leave reviews(probably satisfied with order) they just judge the ratings only on the people who review. Really smart right? Leave it to the Groupon "Dream" Team to show your listings only through the website instead of app and website (generate more sales), To close the listings based on only the bad reviews that have nothing to do with the product itself, To refund items quietly without contacting the merchant (that does not sound legal at all), To create a Program that limits a seller's growth and potential while stopping production for days or weeks and playing with the algorithm of listings which creates 0 sales DAYS. Thank you Groupon, it was a pleasure working with you at the beggining but I'm leaving for greater and bigger things like AMAZON. Where they DON'T suspend seller accounts for reaching threshold(they don't even have that) where they DON'T limit the amount you can make a month, where the algorithms are well designed for $300-$1000 sales a day. Where they contact you before refunding a customer, where customers can look up your items either desktop or mobile. Where liberty and justice stands for all.

meganm207
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/24/18

I Purchased a haircut and highlight on Groupon. Next day contacted the company and they do not have any availability until 11/13/18 because they are at their satellite location. Try to contact customer support, there is no number, no email address and website is not working for me to contact via chat. It keeps telling me My coupon does not work. I find this unacceptable. Don't know what to do now and I spent $220 on something that I can't use until a month later. Which I don't need then.

annb315
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/24/18

Groupon professes that the value of your voucher never expires, though I have two vouchers that have since expired both $12 each now Groupon will only credit me $6 for each voucher in Groupon bucks. I refuse to sit by and accept that and am working on escalating this issue. I trust after I'm done they'll change their verbiage from Never to "will" expire.

nolav
3 reviews
9 helpful votes
10/24/18

Groupon has a ridiculous policy of sales thresholds for merchants. Once a threshold is met in a 30 day period, the merchant's account gets put on suspension so that groupon can "review" the account and the if they so choose take the account off of hold. For merchants that have a good number of sales this suspension period can happen more than once a month - so the products are blocked during this time resulting in Zero product sales for the merchants and likely search engine indexing is affected negatively. So groupon in their non- business like manner punishes merchants who's sales are strong by suspending the accounts for a review. Pretty asinine. Have the people who created that ridiculous policy ever owned a business or are they wet behind the ears, snotty nose lads with no comprehension of actually doing business in the real world? I Hope Lou Dobbs or Stuart Varney pick up on this screwball groupon policy and report it worldwide to make potential vendors on groupon aware and be for warned that when their sales due well, your products will be blocked so groupon can "review" your booth.

danf155
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/24/18

Not an ethical company, return to pairs of shoes with not credit my account for months and months never dead credit it, and just won't respond either and no phone numbers.
Dan

jenniferp379
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/24/18

There is a fraudulent charge on my account. I contacted Groupon the moment it happened. They still let the charge clear my bank, I cannot speak to a live person, it's been over a week and I still cannot receive my money back. Be careful!

xxxsepirothxxxl
14 reviews
2 helpful votes
10/18/18

I got no ideas what this site is, I never signed on and I never did business with them, but they keep sending me email spams. So much spam I have to throw up most days. I cannot even understand why I unsubscribe 10 times and it does nothing.

focusp1
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/17/18

A customer used groupon and called me. I provided service and was never paid by groupon. Since there is no contact number for groupon, i had to use emails. Customer service kept giving me the run around, but in the end, would not pay me.

kellip19
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/16/18

I paid for a canvas picture in which I got a deal for 12 pictures and i understood that I would be paying for shipping. I didn't know the shipping would be three times the pictures. I requested a refund or exchange of the voucher and Groupon wouldn't help me at all. I will never order from there again, no matter what Tiffany Haddish says about this terrible company

tamarad10
11 reviews
17 helpful votes
10/15/18

I am giving it 4 rather than 5 stars because the "good prices" comes with the caveat "check around first". They have some great deals but you have to be careful because I have found instances where prices are way lower elsewhere. So, like with any discount site, do your homework. Customer service on returns was outstanding! I found a chat feature immediately (without hunting all over and practically "accidentally bumping into it" like on Amazon). I had inadvertently ordered 2 pair of the same slippers. (I'll get to that issue in a minute). Customer service on the chat feature was excellent. Easy print of the return label at no cost to me. Popped them in the mailbox and got my refund within 10 days. The issue I had was with the website itself. I couldn't get the slippers in my cart when I was ordering and tried several methods to work around it. I am sure that's the reason I ended up ordering two. I went with the chat feature to handle the return to make sure my return attempt had taken because it was not reflected on the site. The chat agent completed the return again for me and, evidently, mine had worked because I ended up with 2 return labels in my email inbox. I think the site issues I experienced could be just browser issues, as is the case sometimes (certain browsers work better with certain applications). It certainly will NOT keep me from ordering from them again. If I have any site issues in the future, I'll be patient and log out and log back in. Oh, and I LOVE my slippers! Great quality at a super great price. Groupon and Jet have become my favorites for online ordering.

cathyb176
3 reviews
0 helpful votes
10/15/18

I enjoy finding a good deal with Groupon. I wish they would offer more deals on concerts though. They have some good ones for bigger city's near me too but not much closer to me. If you're willing to go to the bigger city's they offer more. It depends on what you want if it's worthwhile.

nb85
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/12/18

Jewellery order does not indicate shipping cost at all makes up for the discounted necklace price in high shipping charges whereas coupon voucher does not work either BeWare

deed155
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/4/18

I had installed the Groupon app on my phone. By doing this, I accidentally purchased a $200 cleaning service. By the time I noticed the purchase, it was too late to cancel. I informed Groupon and explained the issue. They admitted there were other customers who had installed the app and issues as well. Even after admitting it was their issue, they claimed there was nothing they could do.
I gave up and tried to schedule the cleaning. It took 2 weeks to get them to return my call, postponed the cleaning twice, and cancelled 30 minutes before they were to arrive. Then the owner hung up on me when I called back. Dont ever use Groupon! Biggest scam ever!!

jessicad235
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
9/26/18

I've found the best deals and coupons on Groupon. The trick is to subscribe to the newsletter service so you can be notified of ongoing deals on a daily basis.

zoeyd4
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
9/25/18

They have plenty of activities for everyone! They even have stuff for events! I got to see an awesome concert for a great price!

tasiahm
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/25/18

Worst customer experience ever X 3. I will never use groupon again. This is the second time I have planned a trip around a groupon event and been completely screwed! Both events didnt even exist when we got there. And then the rep says he gave me a refund of the 41$ ticket only nothing more, and I call back 2 weeks later to find that the rep "forgot" to issue the refund...... LIKE WTF what kind of company is this?!

1,623 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes , Groupon is legit. You need to read the fine print before ordering live event tickets- -they will not refund your money even if it's there fault. I only buy tickets for activities that don't expire or you can use the purchase price towards a non-Groupon service the vendor offers. Hope this helps.

By Wylendia E.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes, report it but using social media is a very effective way to get a companies attention. Spread the word, Groupon does not honor returns!

By karen h.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I do not buy or recommend buying anything with expectations of a guarantee. If it isn't what you expect. It is your problem - not theirs.

By Jackie M.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Groupon usually sends a tracking # via email If not do as the other people suggested, check My Groupons

By Storme G.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I usually call the merchants I am interested in before buying the coupons, and ask them if the groupon coupons work, and how much more I have to pay. You could do the same, contact the merchants you are interested in and ask them how groupon works for them?

By Julie P.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I personally do not trust groupon. The question previous to yours printed on this site should answer your question as to its reliaiblity

By SHIRL H.
Helpful answer 3
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No fees. However, the deals they advertise never add up to be what they seem on the web site. Beware

By Selcuk I.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

The one I took by Holly and Hugo at least were I would research the company before buying. Also about twice a year they put all their courses for $5!! I got mine completed it and it helped boost my resume and I was able to get a vet assistant job pretty quickly compared to before where I only got a call back from about one place which didn't lead anywhere. :) hope I could help!

By Melanie R.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I wish I could say why, but a solution might be to contact Call Curtis, or your local News station that helps with consumer issues. They always seem to get fast resolutions, because companies hate BAD TV PUBLICITY.

By Patti B.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

There should be a Proof of certification provided. Check that first, send Groupon support an email about your concerns. If I looked up the same ring. Is it being offered by Bliss? And 14k white gold? there is a description provided. From what I can see everything is there. I will tell you that there are 2 different scales for determining the clarity of diamonds. One is much more stricter that the other. Sorry I don't remember the names of them, but my guess is that the lower scale is being used to determine the clarity. I-J at 12-13 is about the standard for most diamonds bought in a jewelry store. Walmart would be n-m at 21-24 clarity. Print out the page so you have a copy as proof of the description. Take it to a jeweler and have it appraised. If it doesn't match, you have so many days to return the item. Groupon will keep a record of your emails and question sent. You can also contact Bliss Jewelry to confirm everything before you buy. An additional step that I recommend is to first sign up for ebates if you don't have an account. If you by it through the ebates site you will get back up to 12% of the sale price back. That's a lot of change back. No catch. I by everything through ebates. Yes you can return the item. Just make sure you are following the process.

By Bonnie S.
Questions? Get answers from the Groupon staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Groupon?
Post Review