Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Groupon

Groupon reviews

Is this your business?
5,253 reviews
600 W. Chicago Ave Suite 400
Chicago, IL 60654, US
Tel: +1-800-766-5086
dmca@groupon.com
2018 Customer choice award

5,253 Reviews From Our Community

Service
269
Value
247
Shipping
198
Returns
186
Quality
213

All Reviews

marinam98
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/16/19

I bought a voucher in which said it was worth double of how much actually the product cost. They lied to me and many others, they are thieves!!

kristino13
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
1/14/19

The purchase agreement clearly states that the purchase value (what you actually paid in cash) NEVER expires.
So when a gym in my neighborhood went out of business I called to get my purchase value refunded in "groupon buck" as they will never actually refund you any cash. I was told since the Groupon had been expired for over a year, I would only get 50% credit!?
I said, no - you cannot keep half of my money for a service I will never receive, please upgrade my call to your manager.
Another rep, told me same thing - half of the purchase price only. I was firm in that you cannot arbitarily assign a diminished value when my agreement with you clearly says NEVER EXPIRES.
What part of NEVER do you not understand.
FINALLY after 30 minutes, they acted like they were doing me a huge favor in giving me "Groupon Bucks" for the purchase price.
I'm going to use them for something and promptly close my account. Not worth the hassle!

kimberlc
6 reviews
1 helpful vote
1/12/19

Groupon is an one of the lucky based site i think. Because sometimes its works for me sometimes not valid any i ll use it every time.

waltere28
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/11/19

made a very small purchase of a personalized item but could not find a way to personalize that item...could not get any help no matter what I did...first and last time dealing with Groupon and their associates

jamesf698
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/8/19

in the groupon small print it says they will not mail to an Alaska PoBox, but after trying to redeem the wines.com voucher it turns out they will not deliver to Alaska period.. Groupon did not have any interest in fixing the small print which to me spells fraud.

katherines148
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
1/7/19

Hello all: I have noticed a weird pattern over the past month concerning the multiple daily emails that Groupon has been sending me. The emails will contain products at an unbelievably awesome low price with a discount of up to 60%, however, when I click on the link the price is barely discounted enough to cover the shipping cost. I'm really disappointed in Groupon and I think I'm going to send them to spam from now on.

noahf25
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/5/19

Bought the "tickets", which were just a voucher for the actual tickets, which I then had to buy, except that I had to pay full price anyway, because the ticket prices had changed, and the code didn't apply to both tickets, and I didn't immediately realize they gave me two different codes, so I basically ended up paying for three tickets. So useless it was disgusting.

destinya10
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/5/19

This site is very frustrating and does not help fix there mistakes. My boyfriend and I purchased tickets to a show and instantly it said refunded when we never refunded or canceled our order. It didn't work yet it still charged us 200 bucks. I decided to try to purchase it on my account and it did the exact same thing. Groupon still won't tell me why it canceled & "refunded" my order if it was sold out or what the problem was. Turns out they weren't sold out. I tried to talk to five different people who work for Groupon on live chat as well as a supervisor who constantly said they would try to fix the problem yet didn't fix anything. One of them even canceled and left the chat without saying she was leaving or bye or anything with no help. After sending attachments of my bank account which they asked for cause they said they refunded the money they still did not fix the issue. Just continued to say we will look into it for you. Finally after 6 hours of trying to get my money fixed as it's my last day of vacation so I missed two shows they said it would take 7-10 business days for them to refund my 200 dollars. They made this mistake yet still Didn't fix it so not only did I get charged with no tickets to a show I got to wait 7-10 business days for my money and it's my last day of vacation. They even had the audacity to say the tickets r available for the show and I could purchase it again. Why would I ever purchase from them when they charge me and the order doesn't even work because Groupon doesn't work?? Especially when the shows have been over for hours now. Not happy at all. Worst website ever don't use it.

kathyd9
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/1/19

Regarding trying to return a product from Groupon:

They finally sent me a return label for this one order after several emails, but refused on another order that was accidentally double ordered due to a bad internet connection.

"The only reason I said good(choices were only good or bad) is that they finally sent me an RMA and label to return 1 item that I did not receive in time. However, they didn't make it easy to return this, or any item. I am not sure that I will be back.

Returns are a part of sales, and should not be this difficult. Please Groupon, revisit your procedures on this issue. This experience is probably going to be my last one with your company unless you can show me that you have addressed this issue.

And, yes, I am posting this EVERYWHERE!

jimmyw96
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/27/18

I bought more than 10 groupons this holidays- from sushi to hotel, from lights show to water park... lots of fun and saved a lot. thanks Groupon

kellyb425
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
12/25/18

Do your research on any company that you may consider purchasing a Groupon with. Some of the companies have horrible customer service and Groupon is unable to support any issues that may occur.

lanitad3
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/24/18

I ordered 600mg CBD gummies from myCBD aka number1cbd.com. What I received was gummie worms in a smaller size . myCBD will not respond to my emails and Groupon suggested I contact them. There is no chat with Groupon and to find the email to send a complaint is like pulling teeth from the invisible man.

Tip for consumers: Dont waste your money they are a scam

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
alw19
4 reviews
8 helpful votes
12/21/18

Tried to get a Groupon experience but health issues precluded using it by the deadline. Missed it by a week. Fortunately, the Groupon clearly states the cash value never expired... except when I called the vendor to use the cash value (even though the deal had passed), the vendor said they no longer accept Groupon's because it's such a bad deal for retailers. I tried to contact Groupon, got no response, so I put it into dispute with my CC company. Groupon eventually decided to contact me, only to say that since it was in dispute with the credit card agency, that they can't do anything. What a scumbag operation. No wonder Groupon has so many one and two star reviews.

juliel250
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/21/18

Groupon has horrible customer service because it does not offer live support. You can't speak to anyone about what you want to order. I also did not receive the correct order and again, no one to call. The email support is super SLOW, so I was very stressed out wondering if I will get more ey back for the item that was not sent. Doubtful because there was no paperwork at delivery!

haroldr79
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/20/18

I had thought that I was the only one having problems with Groupon, but after reading other reviews, I can see that I am not. Quirky website resulted in multiples of my order. Attempts to rectify the problem have been in vain, and now all phone contact has been cut off. I would strongly suggest that others go elsewhere for their buying . Rest assured I will stay away from here if I ever get my money back. Credit card was hit on day of purchase over three months ago.

angelad169
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
12/19/18

No customer service or phone number to contact a live person. Groupon basically sold me tickets to NYC Lantern festival that weren't available. Says refunded but have yet to get a refund. I will give a week until I take further action. Live and learn.

jennas91
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/17/18

They no longer have a phone number for customer service, when you call it directs you to the website. There is no one to email either. Basically if you have trouble with a purchase (which now is almost inevitable) you are screwed. You won't get a refund and now they have your $.

I have been using Groupon for years and I will never use them again. They are now scamming their loyal customers....very sad.

aminea9
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/15/18

This company has the worse customer service I have seen, 2 times in row I had bad experiences buying through them,
1 time my order was canceled the day I was supposed to get my package
2 my order arrived late than it was supposed to be
when i called they were careless
I won't advice you to use this company

tawanam2
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/13/18

This company should be shutdown. They are stealing people blind. Stay away and save yourself the headache. There is no phone number to call, no online support and no way to get a refund once they scam you! I am reporting Groupon to the BBB. CROOKS IN PLAIN SIGHT!!

fredf126
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/13/18

Codes don't work a lot of time ... there is NO customer support ... the money you think you are saving you spend trying to redeem your codes and trying to get help ... NOT worth the time and "saving"!

kelvins35
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/12/18

I was reviewing some tickets and i got a phone call and it logged me into my paypal and purchase the tickets i try contacting and finally open a chat with someone and all they told me its final and that it very rude wont use grupon ever again. Opening a case with paypal they dont help you at all.

jayc238
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/12/18

I have to say that this has been probably one of the worst experiences i have encountered. I went to place an order for tickets. There were two options. One for $50 and one for $100. When i went to the $50 option, it said that i could not place this order. So i went to the $100 and placed the order. I come to find out that groupon charged me for both the $50 and the $100 order. Even though i did not place both of these. They said that all orders are final and will not cancel my second order. Even though its their system that messed up, not me. So i will dispute this on my credit card. The company offers no help. I can't get a person to talk with. I would NEVER use these guys again.

farahr2
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/8/18

Worst website/company ever. You can never get a hold of them. they have no way on contacting them via phone. You can only email them and they never ever ever help resolve any issues. All they say is "sorry we can't help." I ordered 2 separate packages on 2 separate occasions. Both having nothing to do with the other and they both never got to me. Not only did I never receive the package, GROUPON STOLE MY MONEY! They charged me and I never got the product. And their answer to me, was to dispute the charge on my credit card.... they are $#*!ing horrible. Plus their products are so cheap. It's never the same as the products you buy at the actual store or the actual retail website. DONT USE THEM EVER.

joel270
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/6/18

I purchased a mattress topper form Comfort essentials It has taken 2 week and I still have not gotten my order, Stay away from groupon they can not help the consumer. STAY AWAY

wendellc12
22 reviews
26 helpful votes
12/4/18

I purchased some lotion that I have used for a couple of years as Christmas presents. They arrived today. Nothing close to authentic. Smelled like rotting strawberries and completely different texture. Went to order page to request refund and link to print label. No problem, wrong. The info said I would be given site credit, as if, and that the cost of return shipping would be deducted from the site credit. I want and deserve a refund for the product and shipping if I'm sent something that is not authentic. They do not have a phone number or email. You have to answer questions on there site and wait for someone to respond to you. I had the page up waiting with a message saying "we are to busy to call you right now". What? The two bottles of lotion are heavy and expensive, so I'm just taking them to goodwill, lesson learned. They also have a different business model then when they started, when merchants would offer discounts, etc...exclusive to Groupon. That ended up being a hot mess. They still offer " bargains", like this one, but most of what they do is have a list of sales and coupon codes for other companies that are no different from what the company is offering on their own. They are circling the drain. I for one will not shed a tear when they finally bite the dust.

1,623 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes , Groupon is legit. You need to read the fine print before ordering live event tickets- -they will not refund your money even if it's there fault. I only buy tickets for activities that don't expire or you can use the purchase price towards a non-Groupon service the vendor offers. Hope this helps.

By Wylendia E.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes, report it but using social media is a very effective way to get a companies attention. Spread the word, Groupon does not honor returns!

By karen h.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I do not buy or recommend buying anything with expectations of a guarantee. If it isn't what you expect. It is your problem - not theirs.

By Jackie M.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Groupon usually sends a tracking # via email If not do as the other people suggested, check My Groupons

By Storme G.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I usually call the merchants I am interested in before buying the coupons, and ask them if the groupon coupons work, and how much more I have to pay. You could do the same, contact the merchants you are interested in and ask them how groupon works for them?

By Julie P.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I personally do not trust groupon. The question previous to yours printed on this site should answer your question as to its reliaiblity

By SHIRL H.
Helpful answer 3
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No fees. However, the deals they advertise never add up to be what they seem on the web site. Beware

By Selcuk I.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

The one I took by Holly and Hugo at least were I would research the company before buying. Also about twice a year they put all their courses for $5!! I got mine completed it and it helped boost my resume and I was able to get a vet assistant job pretty quickly compared to before where I only got a call back from about one place which didn't lead anywhere. :) hope I could help!

By Melanie R.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I wish I could say why, but a solution might be to contact Call Curtis, or your local News station that helps with consumer issues. They always seem to get fast resolutions, because companies hate BAD TV PUBLICITY.

By Patti B.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

There should be a Proof of certification provided. Check that first, send Groupon support an email about your concerns. If I looked up the same ring. Is it being offered by Bliss? And 14k white gold? there is a description provided. From what I can see everything is there. I will tell you that there are 2 different scales for determining the clarity of diamonds. One is much more stricter that the other. Sorry I don't remember the names of them, but my guess is that the lower scale is being used to determine the clarity. I-J at 12-13 is about the standard for most diamonds bought in a jewelry store. Walmart would be n-m at 21-24 clarity. Print out the page so you have a copy as proof of the description. Take it to a jeweler and have it appraised. If it doesn't match, you have so many days to return the item. Groupon will keep a record of your emails and question sent. You can also contact Bliss Jewelry to confirm everything before you buy. An additional step that I recommend is to first sign up for ebates if you don't have an account. If you by it through the ebates site you will get back up to 12% of the sale price back. That's a lot of change back. No catch. I by everything through ebates. Yes you can return the item. Just make sure you are following the process.

By Bonnie S.
Questions? Get answers from the Groupon staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Groupon?
Post Review