Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Groupon

Groupon reviews

Is this your business?
5,259 reviews
600 W. Chicago Ave Suite 400
Chicago, IL 60654, US
Tel: +1-800-766-5086
dmca@groupon.com
2018 Customer choice award

5,259 Reviews From Our Community

Service
270
Value
248
Shipping
198
Returns
187
Quality
214

All Reviews

jakes171
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/14/19

The code on voucher never worked. Live Chat did not help. Very poor customer service. Contacted PayPal and they agreed and got Groupon to refund my money.

michellez51
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/12/19

I just learned from personal experience that Groupon's Promise is nothing but an empty promise! I have contacted both Groupon's vendor and Groupon's customer support ( if you can even call it that) and my problem is still unresolved. My UNUSED AND UNREDEEMED Groupon can not be refunded to me. They suggested me to gift someone else the Groupon I bought but unused but why would I do that if the product or service is unsatisfactory to begin with? It's a joke how Groupon Promise gives a fake impression that they are behind you on your purchase but when you need help, they can even offer a real person to help you. I had to talk to a robotic messenger and learn that they are sorry they couldn't refund my purchase even though it was UNREDEEMED. They just canny stand to spit that money back out once they took it from your hand. Why Groupon can't match Amazon in its customer support is incomprehensible to me. The only reason I can think of is that it's too big to care about each small individual customer but not big enough to back its 100% satisfaction guarantee like Amazon does. Shame on Groupon.

sonyac29
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/12/19

Spent 3 days trying to resolve an issue that was a miss on their part and I'll noresolution. No one came on chat, when they called there was static on the line and when finally spoke to them the reps were not knowledgeable and arrogant.

thomasn131
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/7/19

Beware of this company. I have been trying to get a credit since October, but I am getting the run around from Groupon. I also have been attempting to get a voucher on something that i have purchase in October from Groupon. Though several emails to them and phone conversations that ( they claim they have email me for the voucher), I have not received said voucher. I have also called them 6 times with their promise to call me back. I have never received a single callback from them after they promise do a return call. I am being charge for something that I cannot use because I cannot get a voucher from them. Good luck ever getting a credit from them also. I am so done with them!

theresam199
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/7/19

I wish there were negative stars to give. I bought a Groupon for Channel Islands Whale Watching in 2018, and the cancelled the trip 20 minutes before boarding the boat, with no reschedule that season. I was told by Groupon, that the money would apply to the business the next Whale watching season. The cost of the Whale watching trip was $3 more in 2019. Groupon has my $55, but they will not apply it to another Groupon. I can only apply it to the full cost of the $100 trip.

GROUPON HAS NO "IN GOOD FAITH" REFUND or apply to another groupon POLICY. In 2012 , Groupon would not refund or apply to another groupon $65 spent on a Parasailing venture in Avalon, CA. The waiver was not a normal waiver. It stated no liability for the company, INCLUDING INTENTIONAL INJURY OR DEATH by the employess. Groupon and the companies both state, that groupon has the funds.

palt
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/4/19

Was told by a supervisor that I could only ever by one Groupon when the 'Fine Print' says one per customer. But I have bought many repeat Groupons to Fav.restaurants before when it said one per customer. Told my buddy and he went online and bought the Groupon no problem even though he had bought the same deal 4 times last year. Bye bye Groupon.

jasont234
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/30/19

I purchased a set of wireless headphones which didn't work properly. You would think it would be easy to do an exchange, not exactly. After a drawn out process, I got an exchange started. What I DIDNT notice in the small print, is your not actually doing an exchange, you are returning your product in exchange to get a new product, with the small print saying that if the new product is also defective, you will ONLY get a credit towards groupon, you will NOT get your money back. So needless to say, the 2nd pair of headphones didn't hold a charge, had ear wax on them, music already stored on them, and the charging cable looked like a dog chewed it up..... absolutely disgusting! I will never order Groupon again, they do NOT stand behind their products.

marthag110
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/26/19

Terms and Conditions Clearly say Never Expire, yet Groupon would not honor their commitment when restaurant went out of business. Didn't ask for refund, simply asked for groupon to make repeat customer whole, but all they could offer was 50% of the purchase price when picture below clearly states NEVER expires. Cannot upload picture due to file size but encourage everyone to read voucher that clearly says "Never"

Tip for consumers: BEWARE Never does not mean NEVER

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
aprils180
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/21/19

I had paid for a hotel in New York for the weekend. I live in Ohio an unfortunately there was a huge snow storm coming through the midwest to the northeast. They were advising people not to travel. I had spoken with someone from the hotel an they said they didnt have a problem with me changing our reservation to the following weekend. I however had to get in contact with groupon. I went back an fourth with them all weekend one person would tell me one thing another would tell me something different. They were rude an ended up telling me there was nothing they could do. They weren't gonna do anything about it even though the hotel was fine with it. So needless to say they kept my money. I could totally see them saying no if i was wanting my money back. I'm just really disappointed cause i have been a great cutomer an now i won't use them again.

raje3
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
1/20/19

Our expectation when we buy online (Actual Price - Discount = Lesser than actual Price)
In groupon Exaggerated Price - Discount = Actual Price.

Meaning even if you go directly, you will get the same offer.

linnikt
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/17/19

I waited 2+ weeks, had to hunt down the 3d party delivery service just to find out Groupon had never sent the package. After trying to reach a manager 3 phone calls later. 2hours with customer service. They put me on hold for almost 30minutes twice the call got dropped when on hold.(funny how this never happened with anyone else). Every time I asked for a call back I had a different person who was nonchalant about the problem. After 3 days I finally get ahold of a "supervisor" Paul (probably not his real name) code was 78550645. All I asked was that I get a refund and some credit for the waisted hours. NO HELP AT ALL. If you want to risk having a horrible experience don't go with Groupon just buy the stinking product full price you will pay more if you don't.

marinam98
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/16/19

I bought a voucher in which said it was worth double of how much actually the product cost. They lied to me and many others, they are thieves!!

kristino13
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
1/14/19

The purchase agreement clearly states that the purchase value (what you actually paid in cash) NEVER expires.
So when a gym in my neighborhood went out of business I called to get my purchase value refunded in "groupon buck" as they will never actually refund you any cash. I was told since the Groupon had been expired for over a year, I would only get 50% credit!?
I said, no - you cannot keep half of my money for a service I will never receive, please upgrade my call to your manager.
Another rep, told me same thing - half of the purchase price only. I was firm in that you cannot arbitarily assign a diminished value when my agreement with you clearly says NEVER EXPIRES.
What part of NEVER do you not understand.
FINALLY after 30 minutes, they acted like they were doing me a huge favor in giving me "Groupon Bucks" for the purchase price.
I'm going to use them for something and promptly close my account. Not worth the hassle!

kimberlc
6 reviews
1 helpful vote
1/12/19

Groupon is an one of the lucky based site i think. Because sometimes its works for me sometimes not valid any i ll use it every time.

waltere28
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/11/19

made a very small purchase of a personalized item but could not find a way to personalize that item...could not get any help no matter what I did...first and last time dealing with Groupon and their associates

jamesf698
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/8/19

in the groupon small print it says they will not mail to an Alaska PoBox, but after trying to redeem the wines.com voucher it turns out they will not deliver to Alaska period.. Groupon did not have any interest in fixing the small print which to me spells fraud.

katherines148
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
1/7/19

Hello all: I have noticed a weird pattern over the past month concerning the multiple daily emails that Groupon has been sending me. The emails will contain products at an unbelievably awesome low price with a discount of up to 60%, however, when I click on the link the price is barely discounted enough to cover the shipping cost. I'm really disappointed in Groupon and I think I'm going to send them to spam from now on.

noahf25
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/5/19

Bought the "tickets", which were just a voucher for the actual tickets, which I then had to buy, except that I had to pay full price anyway, because the ticket prices had changed, and the code didn't apply to both tickets, and I didn't immediately realize they gave me two different codes, so I basically ended up paying for three tickets. So useless it was disgusting.

destinya10
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/5/19

This site is very frustrating and does not help fix there mistakes. My boyfriend and I purchased tickets to a show and instantly it said refunded when we never refunded or canceled our order. It didn't work yet it still charged us 200 bucks. I decided to try to purchase it on my account and it did the exact same thing. Groupon still won't tell me why it canceled & "refunded" my order if it was sold out or what the problem was. Turns out they weren't sold out. I tried to talk to five different people who work for Groupon on live chat as well as a supervisor who constantly said they would try to fix the problem yet didn't fix anything. One of them even canceled and left the chat without saying she was leaving or bye or anything with no help. After sending attachments of my bank account which they asked for cause they said they refunded the money they still did not fix the issue. Just continued to say we will look into it for you. Finally after 6 hours of trying to get my money fixed as it's my last day of vacation so I missed two shows they said it would take 7-10 business days for them to refund my 200 dollars. They made this mistake yet still Didn't fix it so not only did I get charged with no tickets to a show I got to wait 7-10 business days for my money and it's my last day of vacation. They even had the audacity to say the tickets r available for the show and I could purchase it again. Why would I ever purchase from them when they charge me and the order doesn't even work because Groupon doesn't work?? Especially when the shows have been over for hours now. Not happy at all. Worst website ever don't use it.

kathyd9
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/1/19

Regarding trying to return a product from Groupon:

They finally sent me a return label for this one order after several emails, but refused on another order that was accidentally double ordered due to a bad internet connection.

"The only reason I said good(choices were only good or bad) is that they finally sent me an RMA and label to return 1 item that I did not receive in time. However, they didn't make it easy to return this, or any item. I am not sure that I will be back.

Returns are a part of sales, and should not be this difficult. Please Groupon, revisit your procedures on this issue. This experience is probably going to be my last one with your company unless you can show me that you have addressed this issue.

And, yes, I am posting this EVERYWHERE!

jimmyw96
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/27/18

I bought more than 10 groupons this holidays- from sushi to hotel, from lights show to water park... lots of fun and saved a lot. thanks Groupon

kellyb425
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
12/25/18

Do your research on any company that you may consider purchasing a Groupon with. Some of the companies have horrible customer service and Groupon is unable to support any issues that may occur.

lanitad3
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/24/18

I ordered 600mg CBD gummies from myCBD aka number1cbd.com. What I received was gummie worms in a smaller size . myCBD will not respond to my emails and Groupon suggested I contact them. There is no chat with Groupon and to find the email to send a complaint is like pulling teeth from the invisible man.

Tip for consumers: Dont waste your money they are a scam

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
alw19
4 reviews
8 helpful votes
12/21/18

Tried to get a Groupon experience but health issues precluded using it by the deadline. Missed it by a week. Fortunately, the Groupon clearly states the cash value never expired... except when I called the vendor to use the cash value (even though the deal had passed), the vendor said they no longer accept Groupon's because it's such a bad deal for retailers. I tried to contact Groupon, got no response, so I put it into dispute with my CC company. Groupon eventually decided to contact me, only to say that since it was in dispute with the credit card agency, that they can't do anything. What a scumbag operation. No wonder Groupon has so many one and two star reviews.

juliel250
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/21/18

Groupon has horrible customer service because it does not offer live support. You can't speak to anyone about what you want to order. I also did not receive the correct order and again, no one to call. The email support is super SLOW, so I was very stressed out wondering if I will get more ey back for the item that was not sent. Doubtful because there was no paperwork at delivery!

1,623 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes , Groupon is legit. You need to read the fine print before ordering live event tickets- -they will not refund your money even if it's there fault. I only buy tickets for activities that don't expire or you can use the purchase price towards a non-Groupon service the vendor offers. Hope this helps.

By Wylendia E.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes, report it but using social media is a very effective way to get a companies attention. Spread the word, Groupon does not honor returns!

By karen h.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I do not buy or recommend buying anything with expectations of a guarantee. If it isn't what you expect. It is your problem - not theirs.

By Jackie M.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Groupon usually sends a tracking # via email If not do as the other people suggested, check My Groupons

By Storme G.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I usually call the merchants I am interested in before buying the coupons, and ask them if the groupon coupons work, and how much more I have to pay. You could do the same, contact the merchants you are interested in and ask them how groupon works for them?

By Julie P.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I personally do not trust groupon. The question previous to yours printed on this site should answer your question as to its reliaiblity

By SHIRL H.
Helpful answer 3
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No fees. However, the deals they advertise never add up to be what they seem on the web site. Beware

By Selcuk I.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

The one I took by Holly and Hugo at least were I would research the company before buying. Also about twice a year they put all their courses for $5!! I got mine completed it and it helped boost my resume and I was able to get a vet assistant job pretty quickly compared to before where I only got a call back from about one place which didn't lead anywhere. :) hope I could help!

By Melanie R.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I wish I could say why, but a solution might be to contact Call Curtis, or your local News station that helps with consumer issues. They always seem to get fast resolutions, because companies hate BAD TV PUBLICITY.

By Patti B.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

There should be a Proof of certification provided. Check that first, send Groupon support an email about your concerns. If I looked up the same ring. Is it being offered by Bliss? And 14k white gold? there is a description provided. From what I can see everything is there. I will tell you that there are 2 different scales for determining the clarity of diamonds. One is much more stricter that the other. Sorry I don't remember the names of them, but my guess is that the lower scale is being used to determine the clarity. I-J at 12-13 is about the standard for most diamonds bought in a jewelry store. Walmart would be n-m at 21-24 clarity. Print out the page so you have a copy as proof of the description. Take it to a jeweler and have it appraised. If it doesn't match, you have so many days to return the item. Groupon will keep a record of your emails and question sent. You can also contact Bliss Jewelry to confirm everything before you buy. An additional step that I recommend is to first sign up for ebates if you don't have an account. If you by it through the ebates site you will get back up to 12% of the sale price back. That's a lot of change back. No catch. I by everything through ebates. Yes you can return the item. Just make sure you are following the process.

By Bonnie S.
Questions? Get answers from the Groupon staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Groupon?
Post Review