Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of SwansonVitamins

SwansonVitamins reviews

Is this your business?
129 reviews
Fargo, ND 58108, US
Tel: 1-800-824-4491
customercare@swansonvitamins.com

129 Reviews From Our Community

Service
10
Value
9
Shipping
9
Returns
6
Quality
9

All Reviews

mikec12
1 review
4 helpful votes
5/21/19

Ordered 05/11/2019. Order processed 05/14/2019. Promised 05/17/2019 delivery date. Was postponed til 05/20/2019. Today is 05/21/2019 and I still haven't received it. Chatted with Swanson Customer service to process refund on 05/20/2019. Kept waiting on chat and got p***ed off and hung up. In today's day and age, NO ONE should have to wait over 10 days to receive an order. This company stinks and I for one, will never EVER order from them again. I ended up ordering from Vitacost for about the same price and received excellent customer service. Stay away from Swanson unless you like to get frustrated.

Tip for consumers: They are easy to order from, but hard to get a hold of and they do nothing about the shipping. I think they get business because they are slightly cheaper than other vitamin & supplement sites. If you can put up with the crummy customer service and long delivery times to save a few pennies, by all means, order through them.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
donnt5
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/14/19

Inexpensive supplements, good quality, but poor customer service, especially on returns. Discounts offered sometimes are not applied to some products and the website makes it difficult to verify whether the discount was actually applied or not. They also will not publish any bad reviews for their Swanson brand products on their website.

andrewa187
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/9/19

They delayed my order for over a week, stating I had to give a authorization code for the payment to leave my account, however they did not inform me of this. They said an email was sent but it was not. The payment was clearly showing as left my account on my online banking, however I had to call my bank to obtain the code anyway or they would not ship what I had already paid for. I provided them with this code after calling my bank and they debited my account again! So now they have taken 2 lots of payments from my account. I paid for the quickest express delivery which was meant to be 1-3 working days. The order was placed on the 01/05 and still my products haven't arrived. I called and have been on hold for 20+ minutes. I used the online chat to try and resolve this and was told that the 2nd payment was an authorization and it will be returned to me when the status of my order is shipped. My order status has been "shipped" for the last 2 days and still the funds have not come back. A payment authorization should surely only be for a small percentage and not the total. This means that their business model is take 2 x the amount of money from your account every time you place an order and mask it as an authorization which doesn't get returned to your account. I asked them to simply send 1 of the payments back to me and they said they do not have to do that and suggested I take it up with my bank! I have no idea what the hell is going on, i am overdrawn and about to miss a payment deadline for my credit card, this will incur a charge and void my interest free period on my card causing every months repayments until my card is cleared to increase by over 100 ponds. I have submitted 2 emails so far over the last 2 days and both are unanswered. absolutely shocking company. DO NOT USE.

sandyc183
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
4/24/19

I tried to let them know both times - can't find a way to talk to the main office to let them know.
I would up my stars if they fix the security on their website - or I could talk to someone who knows about the web site.

jennyd81
4 reviews
2 helpful votes
4/19/19

The customer service told me to send a couple of unopened items back at my own expense. They do not bother to listen but kept insisting that I do not understand. That was my last order given that I had been their established customer for many years. It was the first that I had the chance to speak to their highly professional customer service!

dans781
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/3/19

If it's Monday, it's 15% off. Tue, Fri or April Fools it's 25% off but shipping is extra. Source Code, Web Code and Catalogue Codes are all separate so make sure you USE THE RIGHT ONE. (However, if you call customer service and haggle, you can always get a better one). Oh yes, $4.99 shipping is still showing up on your order but they will take it off when the order goes through... Maybe.

annieb128
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
4/1/19

LIED TO Customers are lied to by Swanson and told shipments "went out" and another story for "shipped". "Went out" simply means order was placed outside the Swanson building on a trailer owned by Swanson, where it sits as many days as it takes to fill it up. I investigated this thoroughly. Then packages cannot be tracked when Swanson tells customer it was "shipped" because it was not really "shipped." It is still in the hands of Swanson for many days after customer told it "went out" or was "shipped." This is why orders cannot be tracked normally like any other package from any other company.

peters718
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/11/19

The deva vegan vitamin bottles I ordered were sent out in a flimsy green plastic bag that was SHREDDED on arrival. One bottle of vitamins was partly sticking out of the packet and has become deformed. The bottle could easily have been removed from the torn package, tampered with, and then re-inserted into the ripped bag. This is not the way to send health products. They should be sent in a sturdy protective box. Not a flimsy, grimy bag. I'm shocked and disappointed with Swanson

treat
5 reviews
6 helpful votes
2/14/19

I ordered vitamins a month ago for an urgent health condition. 4 ½ long weeks
later, still did not have them. As the customer service rep said they ship by Fed Ex., I gave them a send address of a Fed Ex office near my house. Rep said that would be fine. It turned out: so not fine. I had to visit 4 post offices as well as FedEx. to figure out what happened to my package. Then began to contact Swanson.
Email-wise: Cristin was the only one who gave me more specific information on how the shipping carrier works (after I asked specific questions.) Waited 4 days to hear Sammee's sympathetic words. In hindsight, he was the best as he mentioned two other ways to reship with Fed Ex. However, he neglected to tell me what extra charge that would be. Inbetween,
Julie's answer again had empathic words, but no course of action. Finally,
phone supervisor Melanie said they could ship them back to me, but only in the
original way that got them lost for a month. She did not give shipping alternatives,
just perfunctorily, offered me a refund. At that late moment, I surrendered and accepted the
refund. A few days later, I received a receipt of my original order on an email from Vivian with no mention of a refund?? Wrote back suggesting ways of reshipping or was there in fact to be a refund? Finally 2 days later got her confirmation. Throughout this debacle, felt an underlying vibe that I was not valued as a customer to most Swanson reps. Did not get the sense that there was a desire to be pro-active to find a definitive, pragmatic solution to get the needed vitamins in my possession. ( I wasn't opposed to paying for direct FedEx shipping, but no one let me know what that amount would be.)
Lucky Vitamin, on the other hand, in swifter, effective (truly caring), customer service, offered to re-ship the vitamins direct through FedEx straight to the office address I gave them. (no charge.) Henceforth, I will stick with Lucky, whom I've been using for years.
For the items not available at Lucky (that I'd ordered from Swanson), I
will start completely over with iHerb to reconstruct the whole order, using them from now on. Ahhhh

vivianan1
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/31/19

I have read that they became a disaster in but this is a fraud.
I have to travel and I would like to take my vitamins with me. I put the order and in the chat they suggest me that I have to pay the most expensive delivery, 35 US$. I paid, big was my surprise when not only I have to pay again the delivery but also I have to pay the double for taxes, Fedex says that it is the tax office, the tax office says that it is Fedex.
THIS IS NOT THE WORST, they didn't send me the products I paid I asked 3 of a type and they send me only one and another, that I didn't ask that costs 4 times less.
They said that they are going to send me the money, but I paid double with taxes and delivery. I asked that they send me the products that they didn't send in the same conditions, and they must pay the taxes, not they don't do that. FRAUD!!!

Tip for consumers: Forget the old Swanson vitamins, it is dead

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
steveb742
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
1/21/19

Been buying from Swanson for many years. Usually good, but I ordered over $100 of product on January 12th and still have not received it. Live chat agent said that she could not check on it because the post offices are closed today (MLK day), but it's being shipped via FedEx, which is open. I've run out of my supplements and will need to continue to wait. Very unfortunate.

dadad4
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/15/19

It's a fraud ...
It's a fraud ...
I did not get my money back and unsure if they ever will...
Disaster!!
I give 0 stars!!!!

marciab76
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/24/18

Swanson was once an excellent place to do business with. NOW THEY ARE A NIGHTMARE. Ordered package on the 15th of this month. Today is the 24th and was told delivery will be on the 31st. Are they using a bicycle to get here???????

Complained to Manager.........his explanation was it is Christmas time. On the day I made this order, I also ordered from 3 other vitamin stores. All of the others presented me with my orders by the 17th. Obviously SWANSON does not live up to their guarantee anymore!

lynnm257
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/23/18

I have been a loyal customer for over 10 years. I even converted several people including family. About a year and a half ago I began experiencing problems. Orders would take a week or so to process, coupons wouldn't be applied unless I called to question it, shipping took a ridiculous amount of time. I complained several times to seemingly indifferent employees who always had a excuse. The order I placed 2 weeks ago will be my last. They charged me shipping AGAIN when I had a free shipping coupon. I had to go online to chat. It was refunded. However, the next day I was charged for the entire order again including shipping! I called to question this! A very nice female with a ND accent said she had to forward it to accounting. I asked that they return my call the same day. They did not. 2 days later when I called I had a foreign CSR who said they would call me. I asked for a supervisor. She seemed polite but defensive. I was told that I had to fax in my bank records showing the 2 charges. I told her I was upset that I had to do the legwork when clearly they had a record of double charging. Pulse no one called me to tell me I had to do this in the first place. I told her to pass on that I will not be returning. Instead of worrying about losing a customer she simply said ok! I then looked up the company online and found out they had been sold to a company out of Chicago...That explained everything! Bye bye values! So just as I told many people how wonderful this company was, so shall I be recounting my bad experiences to just as many if not more people. When will businesses learn that customers ARE your reason for being in business???

nikolak10
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
11/22/18

This is another great online company for vitamins, supplements and health products.
They have excellent customer service, excellent products and very good deals for regular customers whit an account.
It is clear and simple that if you don't have account with them....you can not expect the best deal. As any good, long time online company....they respect the loyalty, so bi loyal and nice, and you'll never complain again.

gs156
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/28/18

"Very poor customer service. Place and order and wait 4 days + for the order to be filled and shipped. Then wait another 4-6 day to be delivered. Long term customer, every customer service and shipping has gotten worse. Just canceled my last order, no more orders from Swanson."

Tip for consumers: On ordering Plan weeks ahead to place your order very slow shipping

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
fn15
2 reviews
22 helpful votes
10/23/18

I am so disappointed that this company is from ND. I expect nothing but integrity from the people that I grew up with. I ordered some products. Never received but kept getting emails to rate the product that I was supposed to have ordered.
Got on their Chat line and spoke with Cheryl. She stated that an email was sent to me on 10/1/18 stating mailing address and billing address were not the same and since I didn't get back to them to correct it by the 9th they cancelled the order. When told I never got an email on the 1st and did not receive a cancellation email on the 9th she stated she was sorry. (But they can get the right email for the review?)
I then sent a review in for the product I didn't receive rating it a 1/5 stating the above reason. Got an automatic email back stating that my review did not meet their guidelines and therefore would not be posted.
P.S. I did check my junk mail folder for the emails on the first and the ninth.

thomasw379
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/21/18

I recently bought a product from Swanson and it did not work as advertised. it had quite a few positive reviews. Upon trying to post a review about my experience with this product I was informed that it could not be published. So Swanson does not publish any negative reviews. I should have check on the negative reviews of this company before I ordered from them

janetw14
20 reviews
67 helpful votes
10/17/18

I ordered regularly from them by phone and by mail between 2002 and 2012, and the service and products were excellent, perfect. During those 10 years they never made a single error, in my case. Recently I finally ordered again, this time by mail, and the service was great, but I'm giving them only 3 stars because of all these negative reviews. I'm afraid to order from them again. Their website sucks too. Today I tried repeatedly to sign into my account created in 2012 but never could. I used the same email address that they still have from 2012, and today I created 2 new passwords. Still no luck. Live Chat was useless as well. The agent couldn't help me one iota. So much for SwansonVitamins.

brettm88
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/5/18

I tried to place an order 3 times in response to an unsolicited ad for 10% off and free shipping. After 20 min and 3 chats, I was told to proceed with the order even though it charged for shipping without the discount.
One operator said I'd only get the free shipping after I entered the card.
When I went back to the offer, it disappeared (now that they had my email for nonsensical ads). Instead, when I logged on, the prices had been increased markedly.

Sneaky stuff. Would stay away.

debg66
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/16/18

I googled Swanson Canada, and went to their site. They had an icon that showed the Canadian flag. I ordered $105.00, but when I checked my credit card bill, the charge showed 105.00 USD which was converted into $140.00 CDN.

nicolec306
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/13/18

Absolutely Not Recommended. Try visacost.com instead. The customer service is horrible, it's like talking to a teenager who has no clue how to speak in the workforce.

tt112
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/19/18

I was punished for daring to contact them by email simply because of their tracking problems. Then they made me pay for asking them for the return address by challenging me that the item has not gotten in. They told me that I was wrong and made fun over my name and then demanded that I tell them the person's name who was rude to me. They then made me read their strict no refund after thirty days guidelines and welcome me to send the items back at my own expense. It will be the last time I shall want to buy from them again!

kevb9
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/14/18

Ordered a product from this site, the item was lost in post, customer service told me to wait 30 days for a refund, opened a dispute with payment merchant. TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE, AVOID at all costs.

vezz
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/3/18

Great selection, great price (if you use the coupons), fast shipping. Their store-brand has a good value too (frequent buy one get one).

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
1 rating was submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Swanson phone reps are very knowledgeable and helpful so I suggest calling them and asking the question. Let us know what you find out.

By Sue L.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Dear Sir, I am from India & my customer id is 15828287. I placed the order No.51941925 dated 19-01-2016 & I used my credit card No. xxxxxxxx5012 for the purchase of Swanson products. Yet I have not received my order even passing 24 days. You have not intimated me when the order was shipped to me & what is the present position of the consignments. Secondly I want to brought in your notice that following fraud transactions were made on my credit card on 09-02-2016 at 0.29 am & 4.34 AM at SHP*SWANSON HLT. I received the message on my mobile for these fraudulent transaction. The detail of fraud transactions are given below:- 1. On 09-2-2016 at 0.29 AM a transaction of USD 42.72 using my credit card No.4xxx5012 is made at SHP*SWANSON HLT by some one. 2. On 09-2-2016 at 4.34 AM a transaction of USD 42.72 using my credit card 4xxx5012 is made at SHP*SWANSON HLT by some one. I have not made any transaction on 09-02-2016 at SHP*SWANSON HLT . nor purchased any products . I am astonished that how my card was used at at SHP*SWANSON HLT by unknown person. How the secrecy of my credit card was passed to some one who used the card for two fraudulent transactions at Swanson HLT. Where stand the secured system of Swanson who made various provision of security to avoid the fraud transactions like by entrust, tested for safety, BBB, NSF, seven leaf guarantee & seal of guarantee . This is the first time in my life that my secret information of credit card has been passed on to unknown from Swanson health products by some one who is not faithful to the company. It is therefore, requested to inquire the issue and find the factual position of two fraud transaction. It is once again made clear that I have not made any transaction on 09-02-2016 with Swanson Health products nor placed order for any products. Plz. get these transactions cancelled immediately under intimation to me so that culprit be punished. Early response plz. regards, C.L.TEGTA INDIA. CUSTOMER ID;15828287
Answer:

To C.L. Tegta, my husband and I have also had experiences with hackers who used our credit card. These criminals first ordered something that cost less than a dollar from a travel agency. After this went through, the next things they ordered was a trip through this travel agency and then hotel bills and other things. You wrote many months ago, but I hope you did what we did and called your Credit card company about this FRAUD!! Always call your Credit Card company to report fraud. Our CC company took care of this whole fraudulent activity, sent us a new credit card, and stopped these horrible hackers. Everyone should always check their credit card transactions regularly to catch fraud as soon as possible. I don't think our case was done after an order to Swanson's.

By Roseann Z.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the SwansonVitamins staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

4 Photos for SwansonVitamins

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
SwansonVitamins?
Post Review