Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of RentalCars.com

RentalCars.com reviews

Is this your business?
11 reviews
Sunlight House, Quay Street
Manchester, LONDON M3 3JZ, UK
Tel: 1465368706297
peterrooney@rentalcars.com

11 reviews with 2 stars

brucet101
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/12/19

Rented a car for 5 weeks in Australia, hard time getting to off site pickup. The insurance we purchaced on your site, they didn't like. Nice car, price was great ,no problems.Now on return, a micro chip on windshield was discovered . Took two months for $35.00 refund.Why kill a good transaction for $35.00? Remember ACE cars don't like rentalcoverage.com.as offered on your site.

williams1180
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/10/19

Part of Priceline collection of companies and terrible experience. Will never rent cars thru them again. Great price when booked, then more than double when forced to buy liability insurance, even tho Rentalcars said bring proof of coverage. I did, Green Motion said no good since my car was too old (what's that got to do with liability insurance I asked, no answer). 7 AM off site and either pay it or walk out and find a way to rent another car Thanksgiving week in Orlando (fat chance of any deal last minute) Rentalcars support said that I was overcharged and to call customer service. I did and got NO HELP. Kept all the documentation and just ate the costs. Never again.

ryans313
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/11/18

We were charged more than double what we expected we would need to pay.

We booked the option to have a second driver through rentalcars.com and therefore thought it was included in the price but we got charged for it again by Europcar.

Also we did not get the small car we wanted (Toyota Aygo) but an "upgrade" which was just a car that needed to be in the country we ended our holidays. A car that needs to be brought back to its home country is totally fine, but not the huge model (Toyota Avensis) we got instead of what we booked.

They told us to not hand in the car with full fuel because the fee for fuel there would be cheaper than what we would pay for it (because they have a deal with gas stations which made sense for us at the time). That was definitely not true, since we had to pay about 50 EUR for 20 liters of standard gas.

Also there were additional 30 EUR for taxes from Europcar on top of what was stated that the fees for gas, one-way and additional driver would be costing.

When we complained when we brought the car back the guy just told us "I can not do anything about it, that is how it works".

We looked at everything very closely and read the contracts at the counter but because of the explanations we got there and the additional deposit it is very unclear what you actually need to pay in the end.

Tip for consumers: Be ready to pay more than you thought you will, even if you check thoroughly.

rolandf11
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/30/18

Rentalcars.com are making promises that they don't keep. They offered a free second driver. Thrifty Lamezia did not know anything about this offer and demanded more than 10 Euros per day. When contacted, rentalcars.com wrote (after four days!) that they were only the brokers and could not do anything about it. They said I should contact Thrifty (in the meantimes 500 km away), pay the second driver and then claim a refund by using their claim forms. Instead of doing their job they expected me to make phone calls in Italian, contact the rental company and fill in forms. There was no support whatsoever! Rentalcars.com let their customers down!

Tip for consumers: Never book with rentalcars.com!

Service
Value
louisec94
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/20/18

Do NOT use this company unless you want to overpay for car rental.
I rented a car in the UK through Europcar rented via rental cars.com. I had worldwide car insurance through my American credit card and have managed to utilize this in the last 15 years of traveling to the UK.
On arrival in the UK after 2 long flights I was told that Europcar would not accept any 3rd party insurance. As I had to have a car and had a meeting to get to I had no alternative but to accept the Europcar insurance but I told them I would dispute it once home and that I was very unhappy.
The cost of the insurance was almost double the original cost of the car rental.
I feel misled by both companies and rentalcars.com customer service has been less than helpful.
Btw when I was collecting my car in the UK there was another person from the USA having exactly the same issue.

billh180
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/26/17

My daughter booked a car on this site and everything she clicked reversed when the confirmation cam through and at a lot mote money so be careful.

In fairness after phoning and some argument on the phone they gave a full refund to my daughter but tried to charge her 50 euros cancelation charge, but eventually dropped this as well.

I cant say whether the way they build their prices is fair and reasonable or not but my daughter is very on live savvy so I would say be careful thats all.

But they did do a refund so I cannot criticise this at all.

rt83
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/31/17

I booked a rental from Darwin Australia, with the website stating that the booking was unlimited mileage. The contract forwarded to me says that my rental is 250km per day free, then charges per additional kilometer. I have telephoned the company - and was told "250 kms free" and then have twice forwarded screenshots when I made the booking. Each time the reply does not refer to my screenshots. Be aware !

timthetoolmant
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/28/17

I have used rentalcars.com before in europe and have had an overall positive experience. However, their North and South American Services has been terrible.

Chile-2016. Rental car company offices were closed upon scheduled arrival. 10:00am on a Sunday, and were not scheduled to open for three days... If I had know this during my booking I would have looked elsewhere.

Mexico-2016. Visa's CDW (Collision Damage Waiver/Basic insurance) was not accepted by rental car company. Instead, to rent the car for a week the company Firefly would charge us $638/week for insurance... Beyond ludicrous pricing... For this price, we asked to see the car first. We were led to a nearly empty parking lot with one car remaining. The sales person said he was surprised how busy they were and that eh only had one car left (ours from our prepaid reservation). The car looks like it had driven through the trenches in World War I.... Scratched, dented, dinged, and any extruding appendages the car had initially had been ripped off as it most evidently had been birthed through a cinder block wall... good heavens... the imagery of that prose...

Needless to say i will not be renting with RentalCars.Com in North or South America.

johnb682
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
8/31/16

I booked a Ford Fiesta via Rentalcars.com, for collection at Newcastle Airport, and was directed to Easirent. What was advertised on Rentalcars.com as a GBP21/day rental ultimately cost GBP505 (GBP168/day) when factoring in the insurance, extra driver, GPS, wrongly applied fuel charge and GBP305 deducted from our deposit for a small scratch on an alloy wheel rim.

It was not made clear on the Rentalcars site that the Easirent office was off-airport (in fact, a 10-minute drive away). My return flight was at 0600 on a Sunday morning, so I was looking for an on-airport rental which would allow me to drop the car and walk to the terminal. Because of this, my wife had to take a later flight so she could return the car when Easirent was open.

When we arrived at the airport at 11.10am and tried calling for a pick-up, the phone rang out with no reply. We were finally picked up at 11.45 35 minutes later.

At the Easirent office, the assistant could not tell us what insurance or other services we had paid for and said we should have printed out a receipt. We made the booking from our hotel and did not have access to a printer.

We asked if we could use the wifi network to get online and check our booking through Rentalcars.com (my overseas mobile does not have a UK data package). We were told the wifi service was "unavailable" even though there was a strong connection. He gave us some $#*!-and-bull excuse about network security.

I then asked if we could use his phone to call the Rentalcars hotline, but he refused, telling us that Easirent couldnt call Rentalcars directly. This was clearly nonsense, but I then had to call from my overseas mobile. After waiting for 10 minutes listening to call holding music (and incurring roaming charges), I hung up.

We asked for a GPS, but as the Ford Fiesta did not have it, Easirent wanted, GBP10 per day to rent one. The assistant offered an upgrade to a Skoda Oktavia with GPS for the same price. He then told us that it was "policy" to charge for the fuel in the tank, and we could return the car empty.

I have rented more than 100 cars around the world in my time - every other rental company I have ever used offered a return full option. We only needed the car for local driving, probably 50-60km in total. When we complained, the assistant grudgingly phoned a superior and finally agreed to let us return the car with the same amount in the tank.

Despite this, the fuel charge of GBP30 was charged to my credit card and has not been refunded, although we were told the transaction was cancelled. We finally drove away from Easirent at 12.45 more than 90 minutes after we arrived at Newcastle Airport.

When my wife returned the car, a scratch was found on the nearside front wheel alloy rim. For this, an additional GBP250, plus a GBP55 administration fee has been deducted from our deposit.

We will never use Rentalcars.com or Easirent again. I strongly recommend anyone considering either company to check the hidden costs very carefully - and read the small print. Then go to Budget, Avis, Hertz, Eurocar or Sixt, which is what we should have done.

monicad29
1 review
4 helpful votes
6/15/16

Every time I travel overseas I use the same company but this time I thought I would try RentalCars.com. I was thrilled when I found the great rate they offered. As is often found in real life SOME THINGS ARE TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE. Their paperwork said we could opt to add insurance to our rental. I even made a telephone call to the company to verify this information. They were not able to find out and said they could not reach anyone in Shanon to confirm. I decided that since I had it in writing it must be true. When we arrived at the Shanon airport in Ireland, feeling rather travel weary and exhausted, we were informed by the car pick-up desk that insurance was not an option. It was required. What could we do at that point? My family was tired and staring at me...We had to have a car and the desk had the keys. The only choice was to pay the insurance which cost more than the original car rental. I will NEVER rent from this company again and I will do what I can to inform others that they need to be prepared to pay twice what they expect. My advice is to rent from a more reliable company.

paolougob
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
9/9/15

Read this review, because it shows how they try hard to spoil your holiday even when everything else goes smooth. We're speaking of an 11-day rental from Madrid Barajas Airport, August 2015. Reserved through rentalcars.com first a Volvo 40 (Avis, 397,00), then a Ford Focus (Firefly, 194,00), then a Peugeot 3008 (Thrifty, 427,00). Got my money back or balanced quickly (in two to three days). I also bought so-called excess insurance coverage for the Peugeot (100,00). Notice that I ended up with Thrifty because of the Peugeot car they were posting, a small crossover, and of Thrifty's 8.1/10 customer approval rate instead of Firefly's 6.6/10. A common mistake. Customer approval forms on rentalcars.com and elsewhere are built around relatively minor comforts, like how brisk is the process or how smiling the clerk, but they skip the big problems, and all the hidden cheating doesn't show there.
All the same, the 8.1/10 approval rate notwithstanding, when I finally applied at the Thrifty desk I was extensively annoyed by the clerk (by the name of Beatriz) who kept questioning my insurance choice, insisting that I buy her coverage (so forfeiting the previous one) and finally downgrading my Peugeot 3008 to a Ford Focus Trend SW, a station wagon that usually sells at half the Peugeot's price. I tried hard to be given my Peugeot, but she was adamant, no way to get it. She (and her boss) said the booking was for a "Peugeot 3008 (or similar)", and the Ford Focus, in their opinion, was absolutely similar. Facing such a neat refusal, I had to give up and sign for the Ford. My wife and daughter were waiting for me to reach the hotel and start our tour.
Minutes later, at the parking lot across the street I found my 46,000km-old Ford, all with its eight scratches, stationed just in front of a brand-new Peugeot 3008 (picture on request). Now, there's no doubt that if that car was available, they should have given it to me, while if it was booked by someone else before I booked it, then it shouldn't have been posted on the rentalcars.com site at the time I chose it for my trip. Of course there was nothing to do at that point, having already signed for the Ford deal.
A quick look on the internet explained what was going on. The much-coveted 3008 was still there, ready for rent at the outrageous rate of 630,00. What they do is to keep idling any attractive new model as long as they can, so as to increase the online price indefinitely. All in all, I was cheated into paying over 200,00 euro more in order to get the same car I has previously booked for 194,00. By the way, not only the Thrifty and Hertz agents were exactly the same people behind one desk, but I suspect that, at least in some venues, all the car rental market is deftly monopolized. The big money is made in two ways: a) additional insurance coverage which is highly profitable and b) allocating the oldest and less valuable cars in the pool through bare downgrading, based on a very loose understanding of the "or similar" clause and coupled with a kind of artful deception of the online customer.
This explains why I gave rentalcars.com a two star instead of one, because they do not seem to be more guilty than other agents on the scene. Compared to what it used to be decades ago, now this market is rotten. The car you need is only a bait for them to fool you around and drain as much money as they can. This being the outline, such being the people, the question is, What is advisable do to, especially by the occasional customer, who doesn't show up at the desk as a golden' or preferred' client?
It seems obvious to me that 1) It'd be better to avoid multiple and mutually conflicting service providers (like rentalcars.com and Thrifty in my case). 2) Let's book everything directly with the rental company itself. 3) Contact them beforehand in order to make sure that you'll get the car you want. 4) Insist for them to revoke the "or similar" clause. 5) In case they don't do that, don't fantasize about booking a fancy car, because they routinely downgrade your booking and give you the oldest and the least desirable of the "similar" ones under their carport. Book instead the less expensive car you can afford to travel with, something they cannot really downgrade. If you care to, bargain your upgrading at the desk.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Took their bait of "Free Cancellation" and made a reservation then found that the coverage they were including for Iceland was bare bones. Found that for the same cost other rental car companies in Iceland include CDW so cancelled my reservation to get an email back that my deposit had been 'forfeited'. So beware "Free cancellation" is a bait and forfeiture will be the switch if you cancel. If you don't cancel your cost for CDW could double your cost. Then you can also imagine the CDW that a sneaky and scammy outfit would provide you. To carry your own CDW for any car rental I recommend the coverage provided by Allianz. I found them under my AAA membership. Go to aaa.com then look under Travel > Travel & Trip Insurance. Currently the per day cost for 40K USD covergae is $9.

By A M.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I totally agree and I also mentioned the same in my review but the 1 thing I always wonder that when you search for the rental cars, this company appeared with 4 star ratings. It seemed that this company is so CROOKED THAT THEY EVEN TEMPERED THE RATINGS AS WELL.

By Javed W.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Stay away, if something goes wrong and you cannot pick up the car, they will keep your money. All of it.

By Norman N.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

John P Mate I was unfortunate enough to contact these Criminals and pay them money I have nothing to do with them and am simply warning other people not to be fooled by them and to loose therehard earned money. Take up your complains with Rental car. Com if you want to f and blind direct it to them. I understand the frustration with this company. Steven P thank you for your response to John P What a world!!!

By Jean l.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No.

By Xophe X.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the RentalCars.com staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

4 Photos for RentalCars.com

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
RentalCars.com?
Post Review