Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of RentalCars.com

RentalCars.com reviews

Is this your business?
400 reviews
Sunlight House, Quay Street
Manchester, LONDON M3 3JZ, UK
Tel: 1465368706297
peterrooney@rentalcars.com

400 Reviews From Our Community

Service
22
Value
19
Shipping
10
Returns
13
Quality
15

All Reviews

brucet101
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/12/19

Rented a car for 5 weeks in Australia, hard time getting to off site pickup. The insurance we purchaced on your site, they didn't like. Nice car, price was great ,no problems.Now on return, a micro chip on windshield was discovered . Took two months for $35.00 refund.Why kill a good transaction for $35.00? Remember ACE cars don't like rentalcoverage.com.as offered on your site.

vitaliil3
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/5/19

I rent the car on Check24 for 7 days, after that I came to the Frankfurt airport and they did not have the car what I booked and paid for. Also, they told me that I paid nothing, and if paid, it means not to them, and I need to pay extra. I do not know how the system works in this business, but it looks like I booked the car on Check24, then they booked on rentalcars.com, and they booked on "global rent". In the end of this story, They told me that they can refund only 50% of the amount that I paid, but it was there mistake that they did not have the car what I booked and paid for. Also, they charged for boarding crossing extra 20 EUR.
My booking number is 321780134

janisb36
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/27/19

just scam service, they charge before you can see actual cost of renting the car. and the fact, that you choose full insurance does not change that you need HUGE deposit.

albertl76
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/26/19

I booked a car with 2 drivers for a trip to New Zealand. Instead this company charged me for two cars, instead of 2 drivers. I notified them immediately in October (before I even left for my trip) and have had a huge run around ever since. I have proved this with everything they have asked for. My trip now is over so the car rental company in New Zealand even notifies them that only one car was taken. Still no refund. Every email is from a different service rep, they all ask again and again for my credit card statement, my booking number, and more. They asked me to phone and was left on hold to the uk so long my cell phone bill was outrageous. Still no resolution. I have had the run around so often I have now reported it as fraud to my credit card company. Beware! I will NEVER book with them again.

khwajas
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/20/19

Have just returned from holiday to find out car hire company has charged me double rate for my hire and this after i already paid rentalcars.com..

normann13
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/15/19

Nice app, but if for any reason you have to cancel your reservation after the scheduled time of pickup, you will not be refunded. Even if you did not pick up the car. A cancellation fee would be fair, but they take the entire amount. My planned pickup time was 20:30 on the 3rd of Jan, I informed them of my cancellation 10:24 the morning after.

williams1180
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/10/19

Part of Priceline collection of companies and terrible experience. Will never rent cars thru them again. Great price when booked, then more than double when forced to buy liability insurance, even tho Rentalcars said bring proof of coverage. I did, Green Motion said no good since my car was too old (what's that got to do with liability insurance I asked, no answer). 7 AM off site and either pay it or walk out and find a way to rent another car Thanksgiving week in Orlando (fat chance of any deal last minute) Rentalcars support said that I was overcharged and to call customer service. I did and got NO HELP. Kept all the documentation and just ate the costs. Never again.

sandram507
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/6/19

I rented a car for our trip to Maui 2 weeks before arrival. Got an email to download the app to get my voucher. Wasn't my first time ever renting a car so waited two days before trip to download voucher from app which was required. I didn't realize this until I tried to get the voucher thru the app for which I had to create an account. To create the account I needed the app to send me a password to activate the account. I never got the password emailed to me and there is no way to speak to a human to try to resolve the issue. I ended up having to book directly with a rental company at the last minute meaning I had to pay a premium price.

robertr708
7 reviews
12 helpful votes
1/4/19

The price quoted for a rental car means nothing unless it includes insurance and collision damage waver. I'm an American living in Thailand and have used them 5 times to rent cars with no problems.
The best part is that for USA rentals to foreigners (or Americans living abroad) is that they package up the car rental, liability insurance and collision damage waiver into one price that's far less than I could buy it at the counter. They use all the companies, but avoid Dollar and Thrifty. You'll be happier and wait about an hour less if you spend a little more and get Avis or Hertz.

avielr
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/27/18

I advise to stay away - deception and lies
Be aware! Don't order with this Company!
Fraud and deception can easily be written as the company's values.

I booked a car, received a confirmation with green arrow and the transaction was completed (could see it in my bank statements).
When I reached to Budget to pickup the car, they didn't have my reservation approved, claiming that I only received a quote by email.
I showed the representative at the counter the printscreen, confirmation email and bank statement with the visible transaction and he referred me to renatalcars service center.
A call of 30 minutes didn't assist us, the on the line representative didn't have any clew what happened, his manager basically told us that he managed to find the problem, probably related to an error with the online booking system. he told us that the money was refunded without offering us any real assistance to solve the situation in which we already had plans for our weekend vacation but didn't have a car (we checked with other agencies in parallel, all were fully booked) - so no solution and our weekend was ruined.

I filed a complaint. after couple of days another representative called me, asking what should be compensation that will satisfy me as a client. although I really wanted to tell him that 1,000,000 will do the job, I was polite and told him that he should be the one whom makes the offer.
he offered 100 Euros, I didn't think it was sufficient but I just wanted to get it done and move on.
I was told that the complaint center will revert to me by email.

3 weeks after this call, the complaint center did revert to me, stating that a compensation of 100 euros was approved and will be transferred to my account within 10 business days.

2 weeks after, when I didn't receive any reply I sent them a reminder. they replied that they before the will transfer the compensation amount they need to see over the bank statement my name, my IBAN and the SWIFT/BIC code - all on the same document. I replied that this is absurd but nevertheless i will search for such a document.
I dragged myself to my bank branch - they were surprised as well, mentioning (something that I already knew and mentioned already to rentalcars) that the BIC/SWIFT codes are non confidential details which can be found over the bank website, and also not
being printed over the bank statement.
They offered a solvency statement Instead, which I happily sent to the complaint center - another official document from ING bank which they confirm that I hold an account with them, adding a fancy signature of the bank's CEO.
I though that now rentalcars will come to their senses, but they didn't. I sent over 15 emails, called 5-6 times talking to multiple representatives and nothing helped - their answer remained, asking for a document that doesn't exist.

I was thinking out of the box and offered them an alternative - I will book a car with them, and they can apply 100 discount over this new booking. they agreed.
I did as they said, also have 2 emails from 2 different sales managers that confirmed that i will get the refund in a form of 100 discount, but nothing happened.
Instead, the representative from the complaint center was blaming me that I didn't followed their procedure in order to apply the discount (BS).
You just made me paying you more money... sold me another product by misleading me (and it is irrelevant if this time the rental went smoothly).

RENTALCARS - as i have stated in my last email, you can keep the 100 euros for yourself, it's fine... my compensation would be the collateral damage that this bad review will cause to your revenues.

100 Euros is a small amount... but seeing how you are dealing with your costumers, can't even keep your own promises, makes me wonder how impossible it may be to receive a claim refund from you for your so call 'full protection insurance' (yeah right!).

If anyone from you quality control wish to dig into my story feel free, my complaint booking ref number was: 533330728.

mirnar5
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/13/18

I have booked a car by using their online website, I was supposed to rent from Europcar Ponte Nuovo (RA) Italy, for one day.
I checked if my debit card was accepted and their website (you can verify this) said yes. They have immediately withdrawn about 80 euros from my account.
When I visited the local agency to get the car, the clerk was in a hurry because she had another client after me. When I paid, she tried once to use the card, then she said it was not working. She quickly asked another customer, while suggesting to ask rentalcars for my refund. She didn't even greet me.
The overall story took about 5 minutes.
I have contacted rentalcars, and they replied they can only refund half of the amount.
Basically, I have wasted about 30 euros and didn't have the honour to have a second attempt for my card.

The customer service of rentalcars has contacted the local agency and the lady has promptly replied that mine was a prepaid card. I have a bank account and this debit card was emitted from the bank. It is not prepaid, since their website had withdrawn my money.
Keep in mind, they accept a card when you book, but then refuse it when you go to the agency, then you waste the amount you paid.
Update.
The customer service suggested to contact them today, after the end of the "supposed" rental, and this is what I did. But I have just received this email:
"Gentile Sig.ra xxx xxx

Grazie per averci contattato in merito alla Sua prenotazione con Europcar in Ravenna, numero di riferimento 326556030, completata in data 2018-12-13 11:00:00.

Ci dispiace venire a conoscenza che non sia riuscito a ritirare l'auto.

Europcar disponeva dell'auto per l'orario previsto dalla prenotazione.

Sfortunatamente, a causa della Sua mancata comunicazione in tempo utile, non siamo in grado di effettuare il rimborso.

I termini e condizioni sul nostro sito indicano che non sono previsti rimborsi per le cancellazioni richieste dopo l'orario di ritiro. Potrà inoltre consultare i termini e condizioni della Sua prenotazione dal voucher.

Ci dispiace che non abbia potuto usufruire del Suo noleggio e ci auguriamo di risentirla per la prossima prenotazione.

Il Servizio Clienti di Rentalcars.com"

Basically, they say I have informed them too late ( so, yesterday was too early, today is too late, the length of the rental was 1 day, so..)

aracelif2
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/13/18

Rentalcars.com needs to vet and consistently evaluate its rental car partners - I had a TERRIBLE experience with Green Motion in Orlando, FL; judging by the queue of 10 people in the customer service line that day, I know my experience was shared by many others. Green Motion rented me an unsafe car - the car had a broken speedometer and tires that could not maintain safe air pressure. I realized the car was unsafe about 30 minutes into my first time driving it; however, I was in Orlando to officiate a wedding and had a very tight time table, so I couldn't immediately drive back to return the car. I called Green Motion to notify them of the issue, and after over an hour of back-and-forth, they finally took responsibility for the unsafe rental. They proposed to offer me another rental car, but at that point, I did not trust their quality of service and safety precautions - I declined and asked for a refund. They said they could not refund me the cost of the rental, which I contested for weeks.

About a month later, I decided to pursue the refund with Rentalcars.com since Green Motion refused to refund me. At that point, I was told by a Rentalcars.com customer service representative that because I did not call Rentalcars.com directly during the incident, I could not receive a refund - this is ridiculous! I did my due diligence of reaching out to the actual car company, which took several hours of back and forth. I shouldn't be beholden to then follow up with Rentalcars.com within the same window, especially when I had other more important things to attend to, such as OFFICIATING A WEDDING. I placed my trust in Rentalcars.com to secure me a reliable rental so that I wouldn't need to worry about the car and could focus on the reason I was in Orlando in the first place; instead, my trip was interrupted and impeded by getting an unsafe car - I had to take taxis/ubers to get around which was HIGHLY inconvenient and deal with an unnecessary issue of bad service during a very important trip. To be told that I couldn't get a refund because I waited to report the issue to the third party booking agency is frankly unacceptable. AVOID AVOID AVOID RENTALCARS.COM - it's not worth saving a few extra dollars to then have your whole trip messed up.

marcm161
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/4/18

One agent of Rentalcars canceled our reservation by phone with us, as we needed to do a new one due to some wrong information. They told us the money would get paid back to us immediately, as we needed to pay again for the new reservation. But we never got the payment of the first reservation back! On top of it WE HAVE BEEN CLAIMING SINCE AUGUST THE REIMBURSEMENT and their argument is that since then they are incapable of verifying with the local supplier office that that car from the first booking wasn't picked up. Is totally ridiculous and a total scam !!
Don't spend your money on these service! It's a pain!

markf388
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/4/18

Even though they admit that I am due a refund of my deposit (about $200 USD), they have refused to refund it for more than three months despite my constant demands. They constantly engage in evasive tactics, including writing to you from e-mail addresses that they say you can't respond to. So how are you supposed to respond?? The point is that they get you make a deposit with no intention of ever giving it back. It's theft, plain and simple.

angusd11
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/29/18

Booked a hire car with full protection Insurance. Advised I would need to pay a deposit on collection. I was advised that I would get this back if I returned the car. The deposit was only partly refunded, £122 withheld saying this was an additional insurance Policy! Don't use Rental Cars or GoldCar

julieh416
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/24/18

unable to get a refund!! difficult to contact. people disconnected me with chat quickly as to not deal with any issue.

melg40
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/23/18

For your stress levels do not use this company. Customer service is horrific. We were told that there was a problem with our booking and that we'd be called back before money was taken out. No call was received but the money was taken. It has taken three calls to their rude, unhelpful staff and call to the actual company we're renting from in the Caribbean to find out there was a never a problem. No apologies. Just rudeness.

rossh59
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/20/18

booked a car with Rentalcars.com and was quoted and paid a charge of £66.49. However when I went to collect the vehicle from Budget I was told that the rental cost was £144.36 and I was going to be charged an additional £77.87. I then sepnt over 30 minutes trying to get through to their customer service to resolve the issue. When I eventually got through I was reassured that I would pay no more that the original contracted amount of £66.49 and that if Budget did charge me the additional amount that Rentalcars.com would refund it.

However today they have contacted me and basically told me to get stuffed and that they won't refund me anything as the charges relate to supplement..strange that this was never mentioned in any of the conversations I had at the time of collecting the car.

Clearly they are colluding with the car hire companies to shaft customers when they mess up.

arulc1
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/19/18

Beware predatory practices of Rentalcars.com and Budget Scammed 20,000 Kr = 880 US$! Long story short Charged damage claim for minor scratches on tyre rim see attached picture.
Long story: I am a professor at Singapore University. We went as a family to Prague for an academic conference and got hit by a huge damage of almost US$ 900 for scratches on the tyre rim of a rental car, which frankly I think were there before we even left. I booked a Budget car through rentalcars.com through the Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer partners programme using a KrisFlyer credit card.
1. Went through Krisflyer booking prre-paying online for the rental car, which includes insurance.
2. Immediately get an email saying that "your Collision Damage Waiver (CDW) doesn't cover, such as tyres and windscreen", and recommends to buy additional insurance from Budget. Also "If you do buy a policy from Budget, that contract will be between you and Budget. Since rentalcars.com - A partner of Singapore Airlines will not be involved at all, we won't be able to help if you're dissatisfied with the cost of their policy or the cover it provides." Suspicion level 2.
3. At Budget rental car counter in Prague airport, once you to sign a contract you don't have time to read at the pickup; and mark less 'damage' than is on the car, also because you just want to go. The parking lot at Prague airport is a distance away, so they just hand you a blank sheet with no mark-up of damage, and say "no worries, minor scratches do not count". Suspicion level 2!
4. Return car at Prague airport with flight at midnight, and sudden discover the scratches, and refuse to let you go till you acknowledge damages, knowing full well that you are in a rush. Again tell you "that this is minor scratches, and just a reporting detail". Suspicion level 3!
5. Even before you reach home, and they email you an invoice of the 'damages', with no report, and the credit card is immediately charged. Suspicion level 4!
6. I wrote to Singapore Airlines Krisflyer customer service, which refused to have anything to do with this, stating "We have brought the matter that you have highlighted to the attention of the relevant team and they have since gotten in touch with Rentalcars.com for the team at Rentalcars.com to address your concerns." And then silence. Suspicion level 5!
7. I wrote repeatedly to Budget and Rentalcars.com on 13 July, 31 July, 02 August, 14 August, 17 August, 18 August, 9 September, 8 October, 12 Oct. They delay, sorry to hear about level of service, promise to look into it, ask for documentation, then apologize for delay, then talk amongst rentalcars.com and Budget, claim that they are exchanging documents, and then finally, after 4 months, state "we are not in a position to dispute these charges on your behalf".
8. Final resolution from rentalcars.com "If you are unable to reach an amicable resolution to this dispute with Budget directly, then another option available to you is to contact your card provider". Basically refusal to deal and acknowledge the scam being run by Budget Prague.
9. Then they move onto running the insurance scam with the next customer with the same 3 scratches on the tyre rim of the same car.
10. Avoid these unscrupulous companies, Budget and Rentalcars.com. Singapore Airlines should be wary of associating with such companies.
Prof. Chib
Singapore University

siewt
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/16/18

In October 2018, I booked and paid $528 for a rental car. I was to pick up the car Nov.2, but found out my flight had been cancelled, so would not arrive until Nov.3. I contacted Rentalcars.com immediately to let them know i'd be arriving one day late. Rather than hold my booking (I had fully paid for the rental till Nov.8), I was deemed a no-show. Rentalcars.com then charged me a $138 cancellation charge from the supplier, and said I had a $390 cancellation charge from them, but this could be applied to my next booking. Rather than lose more money, I had to rebook the exact same vehicle at more than double the cost of my original booking ($1,072)!! Rentalcars.com treatment of their customers borders on extortion and even after explaining the situation to them, they have refused to refund any payment. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!

cb330
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/16/18

Was charged fees at the agency that made the overall cost the same as renting directly through the agency vice going through this middle-agency. Not worth it and will never use again. Call the rental car agency directly and they will be able to provide a discount and avoid the service fees.

douglasn26
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/15/18

I made a reservation with them at least a month in advance for a weekend in Florida. Upon arrival in the airport, the rental car company told me they had run out of cars and would have to cancel my reservation - say what?

It's now been over 40 days since that happened and I still haven't seen my money back, neither have I seen the difference of the super expensive rental I had to make, because this company doesn't give a damn to their customers.

You may be left stranded!

an77
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/15/18

I booked a car through rental cars.com. Thought it was a done deal and that was the price I would pay. Picked the vehicle up drove it and returned it in exact same condition. Get my receipt and I was charged $260 more than what rental cars.com quoted me. Both the car rental company and rental cars.com said you signed the agreement when you picked it up so that's that. Payless Car Rental didn't honor the agreement I had with rental cars.com and rental cars.com didn't stand behind the agreement they had with me.

israeli4
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
11/6/18

This company charge my credit card, when I asked to cancel the transaction because the rental provider "America Car Rental" wanted to sell me their insurance (4 times more money than the actual rental fee) they said they will not be able to help me at all! they kept arguing it was my fault not to be able to provide with the appropriate proof of insurance which is a ridiculous hard copy letter from your credit card provider, confirming the cards CDW is valid in the whole Country. Which in 2018 is bunkers!!

Worst costumer service of the industry, waiting periods are horrible as well

sebd7
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/30/18

This company is only acting as a broker for actual car rental companies. Be very careful to read their terms and conditions.

Essentially, buying their full premium insurance policy when renting a car do not waive or lower the deposit required by the actual car rental, contrary to what you would normally expect. This isn't clearly communicated during the online booking process and only appears in small print on the confirmation voucher you are asked to print to collect the car. I think that, although operating within the law, the process their implement is misleading, if not downright borderline fraudulent. I felt duped, and mislead, and unable to access the car. I was also unable to get a refund for a car which I didn't end up using.

We went through their online rental process and booked a car to be pick-up from Easyrent in kings cross, london. As we were mindful of both potential damages we wanted to insure against and deposit to be given, we also purchased the full insurance offered by rentalcars.com for an additional £40 for the period. We completed the process, and printed the voucher required to pick up the car.

Arriving at Easyrent desk the next day, I was shocked by being asked for a card to be charge another £ 1,500 deposit to actually access the vehicle (refundable in 15 working days after returning the vehicle!!!).So, essentially I wasn't able to proceed with the rental, not having the funds in my account. The clerk then proceeded by offering me the possibility to purchase Easyrent's own insurance, for an additional £135 to lower the deposit down to £200 instead of the full £1,500. This is an obvious no choice, as it more than doubles the actual cost of the rental. At that point, it was difficult not to feel scammed When complaining about the lack of clarity about this deposit policy, the clerk told me to debate the issue directly with rentalcars.com customer service, the telephone number of which is neatly saved in his mobile for frequent access. I am saying frequent because both the customer before me AND after me were in the same situation, both unaware and unable to proceed with the deposit and actual rental of their booked vehicle. Both came to Easyrent through rentalcars.com.

Of course, I was then explained over the phone by rentalcars.com that this appears clearly in their terms and conditions and as such, I couldn't get refunded for the car rental cost. they did however refund me the additional insurance policy.

Still, I think the practice is misleading, unclear, and I suspect, purposefully so. I have checked the legality of this practice with the UK trading standards. It is unfortunately legal. I call it an abuse of trust. Then I remembered, if it's too good to be true Don't follow my steps, don't be a fool, just don't do it.

1 rating was submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Took their bait of "Free Cancellation" and made a reservation then found that the coverage they were including for Iceland was bare bones. Found that for the same cost other rental car companies in Iceland include CDW so cancelled my reservation to get an email back that my deposit had been 'forfeited'. So beware "Free cancellation" is a bait and forfeiture will be the switch if you cancel. If you don't cancel your cost for CDW could double your cost. Then you can also imagine the CDW that a sneaky and scammy outfit would provide you. To carry your own CDW for any car rental I recommend the coverage provided by Allianz. I found them under my AAA membership. Go to aaa.com then look under Travel > Travel & Trip Insurance. Currently the per day cost for 40K USD covergae is $9.

By A M.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I totally agree and I also mentioned the same in my review but the 1 thing I always wonder that when you search for the rental cars, this company appeared with 4 star ratings. It seemed that this company is so CROOKED THAT THEY EVEN TEMPERED THE RATINGS AS WELL.

By Javed W.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Stay away, if something goes wrong and you cannot pick up the car, they will keep your money. All of it.

By Norman N.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

John P Mate I was unfortunate enough to contact these Criminals and pay them money I have nothing to do with them and am simply warning other people not to be fooled by them and to loose therehard earned money. Take up your complains with Rental car. Com if you want to f and blind direct it to them. I understand the frustration with this company. Steven P thank you for your response to John P What a world!!!

By Jean l.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No.

By Xophe X.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the RentalCars.com staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

4 Photos for RentalCars.com

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
RentalCars.com?
Post Review