Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of MAC Cosmetics

MAC Cosmetics reviews

Is this your business?
234 reviews
2316 Delaware Ave PO Box 289
Buffalo, NY 14216-2687, US
Tel: 1.800.588.0070
jane@maccosmetics.com
2017 Customer choice award

234 Reviews From Our Community

Service
6
Value
6
Shipping
6
Returns
5
Quality
6

All Reviews

javaughnl
7 reviews
0 helpful votes
11/12/18

Wow! So happy with the lipstick I received for free from MAC Cosmetics! I had no idea National Lipstick Day even existed! By far the best quality lipstick I've ever worn and since then have also tried their mascara and a couple of blush shades. Thanks also to Macy's who endured the endless line of us waiting to try this excellent makeup line!

jenniferr429
79 reviews
18 helpful votes
11/7/18

For me, I would not shop here anymore. First off, makeup isn't supposed to make you look three shades brighter. I do not like that they recommend shades that does not make you look like yourself. If I wanted to look like someone else, I would. But no. I'm not doing this anymore. Waste of $100. Awful.

stephanier260
9 reviews
1 helpful vote
11/7/18

I love everything I've ordered and tried from them through Ipsy. They absolutely make the best mascara around. My favorite and new staple one is the false lash extreme black. I'll never buy another brand if mascara again. Products are a little pricey but totally worth it.

wilmaf8
10 reviews
5 helpful votes
10/22/18

Mac is a great brand with a wide variety of products. Overall Mac has amazing products but they barely have sales and is controversial because of their animal testing! A little too pricey for me but make great gifts.

bettyb169
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
10/20/18

I purchased a mac foundation and skin care products and they all were great for my skin. Mac products have a great quality, fair price which meets the value and their customer service is wonderful. I trust this provider and I am going to order more products from here.

carmenr95
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
10/11/18

Always great products and the highest range of products, the prices should be slightly smaller than shopping malls though...

nancym486
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/11/18

Great product , Great quality, Great price, and wonderful customer service. I love everything that I have ordered from here.

tl100
24 reviews
72 helpful votes
10/2/18

MAC has a nice website with a good selection of trendy, high-quality products. They're one of the oldest "hip" brands of cosmetics, but they're still on the forefront of innovation and trends. They've long had collaborations with the coolest celebs out there, whether musicians, artists, models, etc.

They're big on the bright, non-traditional colors like blue or silver lipstick, or glitter, or colored mascaras.

I enjoy using their products for the most part - though they can be a hit or miss, like all other cosmetic brands. Many of their collaborations have beautiful and unique packaging - good as collector's items.

But going into their stores, or interacting with their associates, is a different story. There are few places more intimidating than a MAC store, or even a MAC counter. They seem to attract people who look high-maintenance, superficial, and clubby. I don't think I'll ever be able to go to their store - and I'm sure I'll be ignored as usual, and assumed to know nothing about makeup, though I know more than they do.

TL;DR Good website and products - intimidating stores and associates.

Tip for consumers: One of the oldest "hip" cosmetic brands out there. Very edgy, always innovating, lots of cool collaborations that are collector's items. Stores are scary and intimidating. Associates wrongly assume I know nothing about MAC/cosmetics, when I'm more knowledgeable and passionate than they are.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
taegane
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
9/28/18

I've tried several products and enjoyed them. Nothing that amazing, but truthfully I will never buy from them EVER again. Not even use their products. I am 100% boycotting them. MAC Cosmetics is pro-animal testing and TESTS ON ANIMALS. Cruel and unnecessary. Animal testing is obsolete and most results mean nothing or are plain inaccurate. "In vitro" test methods are so much more dependable, less expensive, and much more ethical. Don't bother buying MAC. If you want higher end products then shop with Anastasia Beverly Hills or Too Faced (cruelty-free). ALWAYS worth it. No guilt for you, no pain for the animals. <3

sameeran1
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
9/27/18

Wouldn't buy lipsticks from anywhere else! Such good colour options too and the price is reasonable for the quality you get

susans831
3 reviews
9 helpful votes
9/27/18

For me, make up Is fun. It's about enhancing the parts of us we love and yes ( covering up) those we don't ie pimples. It's the colours we see and the beauty of the ingredients used to make the products we love. Happy fun time. Companies such as Mac destroy that by taking these beautiful ingredients and using them to inflict pain. On an Animal. Mac is actually the most vile of these cruel brands. It was originally a not tested on animals brand and took pride in that. Their makeup was about fun, as it should be. They lost their sense of fun will chasing that almighty dollar. Even though they were a very successful brand they wanted more. They wanted the Chinese market. A market that insists by law that all products must be tested in animals. Mac cannot even use the excuse that they are worried about the safety of their clients. Pure greed at any cost. Do you really believe they would put your safety before the dollar.

aliciag63
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/24/18

I Like Very much the product of Mac Cosmetic, I have spray, mascaras, lipsticks, Eye Shadow all are of best quality, Its not have any side effects.

arianam20
13 reviews
7 helpful votes
8/31/18

Mac seems to be average to me. I've tried their setting spray, mascaras, and lipsticks in the past and although I've never been disappointed I do feel that you can purchase products that are way cheaper and are the same quality (if not better) than mac

paulinap11
16 reviews
3 helpful votes
8/28/18

I looooove the eye shadows. They are amazing. They blend perfwctly and I always get my desired look. The lipstick is great too. Just still a huge fan of their eye shadow.

clarar37
377 reviews
101 helpful votes
8/26/18

At MAC store near you or where MAC cosmetics is sold they are giving away foundation samples...no purchase necessary yall!! I got three and they are very nice and full coverage and blend with a blender or brush

jessicab462
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
8/13/18

Mac lipsticks are always my favorite. and Eye Shadow are also best. Foundation is also very nice, I Like Mac.

briannas36
6 reviews
1 helpful vote
8/8/18

Although the pro palette duo is a great compact for many single eyeshadows it is not magnetic what so ever but I just bought a pack of magnetic sheets to place on both sides

schelbyh
5 reviews
1 helpful vote
8/7/18

Very very expensive brand! But sometimes it very worth it! Some of their shadows are a little chalky and have tons of fall out. But other than that's its good

samr199
31 reviews
5 helpful votes
8/7/18

Overall Mac has amazing products but they barely have sales and is controversial because of their animal testing!

kaleed1
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
8/7/18

Mac is a great brand with a wide variety of products. Some a great and some over the years have been flops but their overall quality is great. A little too pricey for me but make great gifts.

mariaha8
15 reviews
1 helpful vote
8/2/18

I purchased a mac foundtation and was very disappointed with the product. After using my foundation a few times I noticed that it oxidizes and leaves me looking very orange. Given that the company is so expensive I expected more out of them.

rikzab1
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
7/26/18

Mac lipsticks are always my favorite. It just feels incomplete without them. Big fan of Matte lipsticks and in my opinion no other brand can replace the quality of their products.

johns2664
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
7/26/18

I cannot rave amount the pigmentation and blendability of their palettes enough. the eyeshadows practically blend themselves. I saw some people saying the purple shade in the palette wasn't very pigmented so I wasn't expecting much but wow mine had almost full pigment with one swipe. so happy with this purchase. The only thing that draws me back is if they use animal testing which is disgusting if true.

ashleyd180
4 reviews
1 helpful vote
5/28/18

Personally I am a little afraid to use the products as so far every single one I have tried I have had allergic reaction to which makes me wonder what they put in something that you put on your face and near your eyes and mouth. I'm a makeup artist and I wouldn't put it on any client even if they weren't allergic to MAC products

Service
Value
Quality
elizabeths267
6 reviews
1 helpful vote
5/8/18

Can't live without my Mac Cosmetics, especially for my eyes! Long lasting always makes me look and feel good!

109 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I have only needed to make one return and customer service was great. They use UPS. So I had to wait for them to email me a return label, which took a few days. Then I repackaged the items and brought the box to a UPS pick up and MAC refunded my card within days.

By Kristen S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the MAC Cosmetics staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

6 Photos for MAC Cosmetics

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
MAC Cosmetics?
Post Review