We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    Chewy

2018 CUSTOMER CHOICE AWARD
Corporate Values

Overview

Chewy has a consumer rating of 4.02 stars from 590 reviews indicating that most consumers are generally satisfied with their purchases. Chewy also ranks 10th among Pet Supply sites.

  • Service
    33
  • Value
    33
  • Shipping
    33
  • Returns
    20
  • Quality
    28
Positive reviews (last 12 months): 48%
Positive
60
Neutral
5
Negative
60
View ratings trends
64
See all photos

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

  • I am over the top impressed with this pet food company Chewy.
  • I have been ordering my pet supplies from Chewy for 2 years now and have never been disappointed.
  • 2018 Customer Choice Winner

Critical highlights

  • There customer service has definitely started going down the drain.
  • And chewy also no longer have high quality dog food brands like orijen and acana.
  • They never contacted my vet like they claimed, they just pulled her prescription food from the order instead.
How would you rate Chewy?
Top Positive Review

“Priceless”

Hollie R.
5/16/20

I absolutely love Chewy !! So glad I finally found the online store. I have Always received my orders in super fast time. This company is honest, friendly, kind and so easy to deal with, if there is ever a problem no matter what It is !! They are on top of it - and taking care of their customers asap !! I don't need to shop local anymore it's delivered right to my front door with savings no other stores around here even compares with !! So happy & pleased with Chewy Hollie R. Kiki, Kitten, and the Feral cats time ewy

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Worst process ever!!!”

Heidi S.
7/30/20

Cjewy is the worst for prescription medicine. There was a mishap with the dosage chewy sent my vet so my vet denied the order. Instead of notifying me about that Chewy just let it go until I called them to follow-up on my order. This resulted.in my sickness going 2 additional days without their medicine! YOU SUCK CHEWY. if i could afford to get the medicine for my 3 rescue dogs from the vet I would but I guess I have to sacrifice competency for low prices

See critical reviews

Reviews (590)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

customer service (214) dog food (92) order (322) cat food (38) pet food (30) 2 days (24) pet supplies (16) auto ship (30) animal shelter (13) pet stores (14) vet (41) great prices (21)
hollier19
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
May 16th, 2020
I absolutely love Chewy !!
So glad
I finally found the online store. I have Always received my orders in super
fast time.
This company is honest, friendly, kind and so easy to deal with, if there is ever a problem no matter what
It is !! They
are on top of it - and taking care of their customers asap !!
I don't need to shop local anymore it's delivered right to my front door with savings no other stores around here even compares with !!
So happy & pleased with Chewy
Hollie R.
Kiki, Kitten, and the Feral cats

time
ewy
heidis263
1 review
1 helpful vote
July 30th, 2020
Cjewy is the worst for prescription medicine. There was a mishap with the dosage chewy sent my vet so my vet denied the order. Instead of notifying me about that Chewy just let it go until I called them to follow-up on my order. This resulted.in my sickness going 2 additional days without their medicine! YOU SUCK CHEWY. if i could afford to get the medicine for my 3 rescue dogs from the vet I would but I guess I have to sacrifice competency for low prices
christinag272
3 reviews
0 helpful votes
June 15th, 2020
I've ordered from them a number of times over the years and have had many issues. Shipping is dreadfully slow and takes weeks to get my order. I also ordered dogs bones a while back and they sent four that were completely coated with mold. Gross and certainly not something you want to give your beloved pets. Customer service responds quickly and is friendly and eager to fix issues. But with the shipping issues and quality of products they have a lot of improvements to make. I've decided to buy my treats and food locally so I don't have to deal with them anymore.
kayj74
1 review
1 helpful vote
March 15th, 2020
Chewy is a great site! They always have high quality products, and when buying in bulk (dog food, treats, etc.) you can save with their free shipping option. Also, AMAZING customer service. I wanted to return a sweater that didn't fit my dog, and they refunded the amount, waived the shipping fee on my new sweater, AND let me keep the old one to be donated to a local shelter. I'll be shopping here again!
kurtm301
0 reviews
0 helpful votes
June 27th, 2020
We have been a customer for over a year for auto ship. It was easy and affordable. Recently both of dogs passed on. Our customer service rep Isreal was so kind to us asking questions and showing true concern for our loss. To our surprise he credited our last order and even sent flowers to us. That really touched us So many times we see large companies treat people like numbers and show little care for their customers. Not Chewy. What a culture they have there.
anthonyg713
1 review
2 helpful votes
May 8th, 2020
Set up on auto ship was the worst decision I have ever made with this company. First they charged my card days before I asked them too. Second my shipment is suppose to go out every two weeks. But they can't meet that but still try to charge me before the product is even ready. They tell me they are weeks out. Let me tell my dogs they have to wait before I can feed them.
Never will use them again. Poor service
henryy31
1 review
6 helpful votes
March 7th, 2020
I have been using Chewy for my pet food needs for at least the past six years, and I have been very happy with the services that they have provided. All that seems to be over. I called to inquire about a recent order that should normally have arrived that day. I waited for phone help for 25 mins (at 8:00 AM). This is unacceptable based on the excellent service they have provided all these years. I sincerely hope that things change with them. Maybe they have become too successful?

Tip for consumers: Try to find someone as reliable as Chewy used to be.

beckys212
1 review
6 helpful votes
February 22nd, 2020
We recently lost our beloved dog. I emailed Chewy to see if I could return his unused prescription dog food. Not only did they refund me for my entire purchase (some was used from the case) but they told me to donate it to a local shelter. And to top it off, we received a gorgeous bouquet of flowers from them with a sympathy note about the loss of our dog. It's so heartwarming to see that there are still companies out there that truly care about their customers and their pet family! Thank you Chewy for adding some beauty to a sorrowful time for our family!
connied226
1 review
7 helpful votes
February 21st, 2020
There customer service has definitely started going down the drain. Communication is poor. I was told a manager was going to call me. None such call was made. Emailed them regarding situation and was simply told to call the 1800 number. (But I already did...)
Finally got a manager and she apologized, agreed with my concerns BUT gave no resolution. So you agree with me and then nothing else happens? I guess they've gotten so big they dont care for one person's concern. Lost customer chewy.
brieh5
1 review
1 helpful vote
April 30th, 2020
I will let the pictures do most of the talking because the sold proof is in them.... I placed an order on April 19th. It is April 30th, still have not received my package & they keep changing the date for me to receive. They act like my animals don't have essential needs. Also stated if the date changed again they would email me but never did. Had to check the app. I've been waiting all morning for my package. .... Update : it is now May 1st and I STILL have NOT received my package.
stephanien298
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
June 27th, 2020
Chewy is such an excellent company. They have a wide variety of all pet-related products and for a fair price. Their customer service is outstanding- they're always just a call away with little to no hold time. Anytime I've had any food issues, they've taken care of it and allowed me to donate to local shelters- now that's a company that loves pets and supports local communities. I'll always be a Chewy customer!
caseyc294
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 15th, 2020
Chewy is so confused on their pets medication orders. Trying to find out when it will ship, did it ship, they claim it has shipped but cannot locate a tracking number, etc. Nightmare alley. One hour on the phone each time. A week later, still no package. Go elsewhere for your pet medication needs.
sherryw188
0 reviews
0 helpful votes
July 23rd, 2020
I ordered Onguard topical flea & tick protection from Chewy. Well the product poisoned my dogs (they finally recovered). I left a scathing review on Google for Onguard. This morning Chewy called me and said they saw the review and were refunding my purchase! My review had nothing to do with them but they totally stepped up for me! I so appreciate this kind of customer service. I am also very satisfied with their prices, products and free shipping! Thank you Chewy!!!
bohdans1
1 review
3 helpful votes
December 7th, 2019
Permanent rescheduling of delivery dates without notice. For a long time they could not agree with the clinic permission to sell diet food for a cat. It turned out that they sent the request to the wrong clinic. If possible, avoid this store. I ordered the 1st, until today there is still no delivery, although my cat after the clinic needs specialized feed.

Tip for consumers: If your animal can not eat for a week then feel free to order

kelseyt38
1 review
0 helpful votes
May 18th, 2020
I have been using Chewy for over 5 years now and I have nothing but good things to say. They make getting my dog supplies easy and quick. I have to buy prescription food because my dog has allergies and they do all the work renewing prescriptions so I don't have to. There have been times when my dog can't eat/gets sick off different foods because of her allergy and they have credited me for the food. All I had to do is send an email. This company goes above and beyond :)
nancyh702
1 review
2 helpful votes
March 23rd, 2020
Chewy was a wonderful and responsive company once. No longer. Phone calls are on hold, then dropped after 40 minutes. E- mails are promised to be answered in a "few days". Auto ship supplies are delayed, meaning that your pet may run out of food before they arrive. Website is overwhelmed and wonky.
hennya1
1 review
1 helpful vote
March 8th, 2020
I have been using chewy for a while now for my dogs and cat ..and its great ..its fast etc ..never a problem.
Until the last delivery when that came the box was beat up and what was in it open and all over the place :( ..But ..after a call to the help-desk they were right on it ! 2 days later i got a new bag of dog food with no cost ! ..I just wanna say you guys are awesome !!! your service and caring is awesome :) ..I am a costumer for live that's for sure
Thank you so much chewy !! xxx
susanr891
1 review
3 helpful votes
January 21st, 2020
The pharmacy is taking forever to process. Order 6 days ago and still don't ship it. Didn't follow up with dr to see if received the prescription and didn't follow with me to say the order is standing by. I had to call several time. Dr never received notes from them until I called. Then took two more days to get the med. horrible experience and horrible customer service.
rodgerz1
1 review
3 helpful votes
February 10th, 2020
My 14-year-old dachshund, Louie, passed away due to diabetes and finally with blindness. Just prior to his death, I ordered a large supply of diabetic canned and dry dog food. When I asked the vet if the humane society would take the supplies, they told me to call Chewy for a refund which they promptly deposited into my bank account. Three days later a florist delivered a vase of fresh-cut flowers and a sympathy card. Customer service and empathy over and above-------Thank you Chewy
Rodger
jal8
1 review
1 helpful vote
July 3rd, 2020
EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED!! I placed an order for my cat's insulin on Monday. On Thursday, they informed me they had not reached my Vet for the prescription (by fax). I told them to call. They did and got the prescription in less than 10 minutes. They told me they would try to ship overnight on Thursday but at the latest we would receive it on Saturday. I asked about the Holiday and was told it didn't matter FedEx overnight would deliver.
Today, I'm told she was new and didn't know how Holidays work and we will not receive his insulin until next Tuesday! HORRIBLE
kathleenk399
1 review
4 helpful votes
March 14th, 2020
I ordered a cat tree on March 10 and it said two day shipping as of today which is the 14th it says still processing to ship I called them three times with no help from anybody I'm just wondering where my cat tree is not very good guest service
blanceb
1 review
0 helpful votes
May 9th, 2020
I'm not the kind of person that likes to write reviews but this company deserve that. The customer service and the products are outstanding. I've been using "Chewy" around one year ago and I just had good experience. O highly recomend it!!
eugenel
2 reviews
9 helpful votes
April 2nd, 2020
Wow chewy has really gone downhill. Going to have to do my shopping elsewhere. They never contacted my vet like they claimed, they just pulled her prescription food from the order instead. They emailed me after I originally ordered to tell me instead of 2 days it would take 7-10 days. I've been on hold for over an hour trying to get this situation rectified but I'm done, this is ridiculous.
annec357
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 25th, 2020
Thank you so much Chewy for your thoughtfulness! I called to return prescription dog food after my Yorkie LEXI died. Suzanne was so very kind to me. She offered to give me a refund for Lexi's food & said I could donate it. Then out of the blue I received a delivery of the most beautiful flowers from Chewy! Suzanne wrote me the sweetest card & I cried. You are the BEST! You really care about pets & their owners! THANK YOU FOR YOUR THOUGHTFULNESS!
philn13
28 reviews
54 helpful votes
July 20th, 2020
We been ordering from Chewy for several years, with no problems - until now. We placed an order - nothing unusual. But, when I checked my back account, they withdrew the funds twice...?! When I called they said, "Oh yeah. Well, the items are being shipped from different locations so, we billed the entire amount and then had to bill for the items separately. But, we'll credit your account today or within a couple of days." Bull$#*!! I placed on order, and authorized one payment. If they ship from different locations and their accounting can't figure it out - well that's their problem. What they are doing is fraudulently accessing and withdrawing money from customer's accounts. Imagine how many customers they have and how many orders they receive daily. Now if they "innocently" bill every account double, that's a $#*!-ton of other people's money they're playing with! Plus, that particular account is a debit account, where I keep a slim amount of funds in case of a breach. Their double dipping, could have caused an over-drawn situation, and a financial penalty from the bank. NOT HAPPY! If this is a common practice, they need class action law suit!

Q&A (23)

Answer:

No trouble at all. They have the best customer service/replacement/refund practices I've ever encountered. By all means, contact them again if you're having an issue.

By Mary B.
See more answers (7)
Answer:

Because they make it a point to lie and deceive their customers.... I will NEVER use them again!!!

By Michael K.
Answer:

Ever thought of reading the FAQ posted on EVERY SINGLE COMPANIES WEBSITE to answer your own questions? Companies post these FAQ's for a reason. Too bad people are too lazy to read them. Then you scream at the reps you speak to due to your own stupidity levels in NOT READING A COMPANIES POLICIES. FYI it is a CONSUMERS RESPONSIBILITY to read those policies as the company already knows their own policies. FYI shipping from the USA to Canada cost customs fees and taxes which are NOT refundable and if you chose to return an item you will will incur these fees again and YOU are responsible for paying for them not the company you do business with. International shipping also requires proper documentation to get packages through customs. Not every USA company has the man power to deal with this enormous amount of work nor do they wish to deal with the headaches involved with shipping outside of the USA. How so many of you Canadians do not know this information is mind boggling.

By Jasmine L.
Answer:

No

By Angelica L.
Answer:

Ever thought of reading the FAQ posted on EVERY SINGLE COMPANIES WEBSITE to answer your own questions? Companies post these FAQ's for a reason. Too bad people are too lazy to read them. Then you scream at the reps you speak to due to your own stupidity levels in NOT READING A COMPANIES POLICIES. FYI it is a CONSUMERS RESPONSIBILITY to read those policies as the company already knows their own policies. FYI shipping from the USA to Canada cost customs fees and taxes which are NOT refundable and if you chose to return an item you will will incur these fees again and YOU are responsible for paying for them not the company you do business with. International shipping also requires proper documentation to get packages through customs. Not every USA company has the man power to deal with this enormous amount of work nor do they wish to deal with the headaches involved with shipping outside of the USA. How so many of you Canadians do not know this information is mind boggling.

By Jasmine L.
Answer:

Yes I will provide also in pacifica acana but I can take some times to move there.

By Nathan D.
Answer:

If you're going to use dry food, it should be GRAIN FREE. I recommend Nature's Variety Chicken or Wellness CORE Original, they're the highest protein %. However, you really should be feeding your cat mostly wet food, that is also Grain Free. If you can't do mostly then at least 25-30%. Good Luck

By Jax G.
Answer:

I never had any issues with near expired food in my experiences but a great question to ask customer support if you are going to order (and if your item is a sale item, ask when the promo is over in case you need to stock up as sale end dates are not clearly visible)

By Greg B.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the Chewy staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Delivering pet happiness by conveniently shipping 500+ brands of pet food and stuff (for free!) while ensuring at-risk animals' lives are improved across the planet. 1-800-672-4399

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Chewy?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about Chewy?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business