Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Chess.com

Chess.com reviews

75 reviews
Palo Alto, CA 94306, US
Tel: +1-801-880-1098
info@wholesalechess.com

75 Reviews From Our Community

Service
6
Value
7
Shipping
2
Returns
4
Quality
7

All Reviews

marcob96
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/14/19

I have used the free version and have paid for the full version also. I can only say that I have come back to it almost two years later and the site has improved once again. So many features. Most bad reviews are ridiculous. "I kept losing". "My rating went down". "Time was rigged". Ridiculous defaming of a wonderful company doing so much to further chess. Keep up the good work.

Response from David K., Chess.com Representative
Hi!

I am glad that you enjoy using Chess.com and believe that the site has improved after your return. It is great that you enjoy all of the features on the site and that you have decided to upgrade for full access.

Please let us know at support@chess.com if you have ideas about how we can make Chess.com more to your liking. We will continue to work on improving Chess.com.

Thank you!
-The Chess.com Team
livluvl
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/12/19

I took the 1 month trial.
As part of this deal I need to "pay" 50$ for a yearly membership, and they promise that they pay it back if you decide you're not interested within the first month. "trial".

I'm trying to cancel this membership and getting my money back, tjough they have no costumer service online, neither a phone number and noone is answering the messages I send.

This is an absolute lie, nerve wrecking. They put so much effort in looking like a legit business, though what they do with the monthly trial is nothing but - STEALING PEOPLE'S MONEY.

Response from David K., Chess.com Representative
Dear Livluv. I am David Kaufmann from Chess.com team. Please, write me at david.kaufmann@chess.com and I will be more than happy to help.

Thanks a lot!

D.K
zachv9
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/28/19

I like playing chess, and I like playing online. The site does not allow for moves at very convenient times. The computer is meant to beat you, no matter what you play or at what difficulty. I played at difficulty 1, and you would think that it would be easy, right? No. I have a rating of 1600, and I lost consistently. Out of 7 plays, I won 1. I do not recommend this site simply because it does not teach you anything, it just puts you in defense where you cannot do anything.

Response from David K., Chess.com Representative
Hi!

If the computer levels seem to be an inaccurate representation of the difficulty, you might want to try challenging the live chess computer. If you go to live chess (https://www.chess.com/live), in the right side menu there is an option "vs Computer." These computers are all rated based off of their games with other players, so they are likely to have a rating that is an accurate representation of their difficulty.

Please let us know at support@chess.com if you have ideas about how we can make Chess.com more to your liking.

Thank you!
-The Chess.com Team
santost4
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/26/19

Este sitio es una mierda como son los Rusos. Jugare unos juegos mas y lo dejare para siempre es fustrante en vez de gustando el chess lo terminas odiando.

Response from David K., Chess.com Representative
¡Hola!

Realmente nos gustaría recibir sus comentarios en Chess.com para que podamos mejorar su experiencia.

Háganos saber en support@chess.com si tiene ideas sobre cómo podemos hacer que el sitio web sea más de su agrado.

¡Gracias!
-El equipo de chess.com
rogerr116
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/22/19

Look, I'm not a sore loser, it's just casual chess, but when I get to 1700's ratings and then go back to 1500's because I suddenly begin to lose to a bunch of 1400 rated players, there just HAS to be some bull$#*! going on. Either chess.com does not care about program users or they are in on something that stabilizes ratings for some business purpose. But my experiences is just not possible. Very bad chess site.

Response from David K., Chess.com Representative
Hi!

It could be that you are playing opponents who have recently joined Chess.com so their rating is not a completely accurate representation of their skill level. If you would like us to examine any of your games to make sure that your opponent was not using outside assistance, please let us know their usernames at support@chess.com.

We would really like your feedback on Chess.com so that we can better your experience. Please let us know at support@chess.com if you have ideas about how we can make the website more to your liking.

Thank you!
-The Chess.com Team
anthonyd273
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/29/19

Good chess program, but be aware that you are constantly exposed to penis enlargment advertising and Japanese soft porn cartoons.

Response from David K., Chess.com Representative
Good morning dear Anthony,

We always block that kind of ads. Could you please send me a screenshot to david.kaufmann@chess.com?

I will make sure to handle that immediately.

Thank you so much for your time and help.

All the best,

D.K
The Chess.com Team
robertp896
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/12/19

Chess.com is frustrating to play. Slow, lags, inconsistent performance and gameplay even in the same game.

Lichess has a much better interface.

Response from David K., Chess.com Representative
Hi!

I am sorry to hear that there is a connection issue that causes lag and slow, inconsistent performance. Please contact us at support@chess.com with your username and we will work with you to improve your experience. We do NOT want players to have a difficult time because of connection issues.

We would really like your feedback on the interface so that we can better your experience. Please let us know at support@chess.com if you have ideas about how we can make Chess.com more to your liking.

Thank you!
-The Chess.com Team
peerb1
Peer b.
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/5/19

I notice that there's a lag when I moved my peaces. So many times when you've moved there suddenly is an other peace moved. Also getting warnings that I rejected a game. But I didn't. Also a lot players using chess engines. And the most irritating thing is that when you leave a comment ,they delete you.
They are bad losers.

Response from David K., Chess.com Representative
Hi!

I am sorry to hear that there is a connection issue that causes lag, and that sometimes when you move one piece another piece moves. Please contact us at support@chess.com with your username and we will work with you to improve your experience. We do NOT want players to have a difficult time because of connection issues.

If you could send the username of opponents you suspect of using computers to win, we will submit a report on these players and our cheat detection team will analyze their games for potential use of outside assistance from computer engines. Chess.com invests a lot of staff, time, and resources into making sure that people cannot cheat and use outside help during games. We also encourage players to report opponents who they suspect of cheating, and we thoroughly investigate these individuals to make sure that they are playing according to the rules.

You can report players for potential cheating directly. Please go to their profile page and click the exclamation point icon below and to the far right of their profile picture. Then you can submit a report on this player. You can learn more about our cheat detection efforts here: https://tinyurl.com/y5fcxb6w.

If you are ever again concerned about possible cheating, please let us know here or at support@chess.com. Please also feel free to send us any questions or suggestions that you may have.

Thank you!
-The Chess.com Team
mathewg25
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/5/19

Its good for everything except playing chess. Lags so badly. Pairing takes a lot of time. players are disrespectful. A lot of cheaters.

Response from David K., Chess.com Representative
Hi!

I am sorry to hear that there is a connection issue that causes lag. Please contact us at support@chess.com with your username and we will work with you to improve your experience. We do NOT want players to have a difficult time because of connection issues.

If you could send the username of opponents you suspect of using computers to win, we will submit a report on these players and our cheat detection team will analyze their games for potential use of outside assistance from computer engines. Chess.com invests a lot of staff, time, and resources into making sure that people cannot cheat and use outside help during games. We also encourage players to report opponents who they suspect of cheating, and we thoroughly investigate these individuals to make sure that they are playing according to the rules.

You can report players for potential cheating directly. Please go to their profile page and click the exclamation point icon below and to the far right of their profile picture. Then you can submit a report on this player. You can learn more about our cheat detection efforts here: https://tinyurl.com/y5fcxb6w.

You can also report your opponents for inappropriate behavior. We work to make sure that Chess.com is a safe, appropriate environment for all players. If players are found to be in violation of the community policies (https://www.chess.com/community), they may face penalties like being muted or even a potential account closure.

If you are ever again concerned about possible cheating or abusive players, please let us know here or at support@chess.com. Please also feel free to send us any questions or suggestions that you may have.

Thank you!
-The Chess.com Team
alanh235
1 review
3 helpful votes
1/28/19

I was a paying member for 2 years then I stopped when I realized that my game is not getting any better. Not necessarily the chess.com fault I agree, but when I went back to play as a non-member the 3 minutes and the 5 minutes games the system would freeze my pieces and take away my ability to move my pieces in the last minute or saw and always when I was winning!! I remembered the same thing used to happen to my non-member opponents in the past, they would be winning and stop playing with only 1 minute to go when they were winning!!! What a shame. The 4th time this happened to me I promised myself not to ever play chess on this website and probably never online. They made me hate online chess. Will always recommend against this website.

Response from David K., Chess.com Representative
Dear Alan. I am really sorry to hear that. Could you please email me at david.kaufmann@chess.com so as we can take a look please?

I would be more than happy to help you with all these issues.

All the best,

David Kaufmann
The Chess.com Team
charliev25
1 review
4 helpful votes
1/28/19

Product has failed since their new version. .. have complained and complained and done all their million solutions but nothing works. .. I am paid up until September but they are ignoring me about my request for a refund... I want to move on and use a service that works but they want to keep the money despite it not working... After 5 years on here this is a nasty taste in the mouth... seems they are greedy fat cats after all... not a "community" site like they like to make out

Response from David K., Chess.com Representative
Dear Charlie. I am really sorry to hear that! This does not represent the way we work. Please, send me an email to david.kaufmann@chess.com and I will make sure to make you a refund IMMEDIATELY.

At your complete disposal,

All the best,

David Kaufmann
The Chess.com Team
nicholash118
1 review
4 helpful votes
1/16/19

Poor customer service and high latency. Seems like they are way over capacity on their servers, while refusing to add more servers.

Response from David K., Chess.com Representative
Dear Nicholas. I am here to help you. Please, write me at david.kaufmann@chess.com and I will be more than happy to try to help resolve the issues you are facing with your account.

Wish you all the best,

David Kaufmann
The Chess.com Team
vanceb28
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/24/18

I was a paying member for years. Then canceled the credit card I was using to pay. Could not figure out how to switch to another credit card. Asked. Many times. No helpful reply. Bottom line, I am no longer a paying member. Now, as of a few weeks ago, Chess.com has taken away my messaging privileges. Chat is disabled in all of my games. My opponents know that they didn't disable chat, so they assume that I did. I have no way to tell them that I didn't. Losing chess friends over this. Asked Chess.com to fix the problem. Several times, in fact. Not even the courtesy of a reply.

Quick update ... David Kaufmann has been great, as in, polite and professional in getting back to me promptly, so I do appreciate that. And he also clarified why I am muted (I sent some harsh messages to other members who were rude to me first and, on that basis, probably deserved to be told what I had to say to them). Difference of opinion aside, it is their site, not mine, so I accept that I am bound by the rules. I just wish that 1) I knew what those rules were and 2) I was given a warning the first time I violated said rules. Since I never did get any kind of warning at all, I figured that I was probably NOT violating any rule (I'm sure the list of policies would be available somewhere, but I have never found it). Now that I am aware, I agree to these terms. Doesn't matter. I will NEVER get out of chess jail unless I open a new account. But I already have my chess friends tied to this account. Tough dilemma. Of course, I cannot open a new account and still keep this one going at the same time, so really damned if I do, damned if I don't.

Response from David K., Chess.com Representative
We are really sorry for that dear Vance! Could you please send me an email to my personal email address (David.kaufmann@chess.com). I will make sure to personally handle your issue.

Thank you so much and I am really sorry for all your inconveniences.

All the best,

David Kaufmann
The Chess.com Team
hannahp158
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/10/18

Chess.com has the first step of a tournament!!! A great source in my family.To be honest, I do have one con. The chat could be rude. I have got called a "loser". And somebody said "Bad Move". No problem with that just go in to settings and turn off chat. If you agree with this review and download the app 95% turn off chat.I do like that you can play some one and choose up to 30 min. A big question is "Are they bots?" No they are not. My proof is that I coordinated with a friend and searched the account and guess what, It worked.If you don't know how to play. Play a lesson . If you want to use your skills play a tactic.BTW you only have to pay $5 for more tactics everyday. Please show chess.com support by making an account or as many as you can. I hope my review convinsed you to get Chess.com.

joshk100
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/23/18

When I played a blitz tournament on chess.com, I made a move and then my opponent somehow pulled a queen out of nowhere and checkmated me. He must have found someway to hack into the software and do this. If there was a coach present and saw what happened my opponent would have received a huge penalty for cheating. Atleast I play by the rules. After that game, I played in an online tournament, and in the middle of the game, I wanted to offer a draw. Well, the draw button was missing. Then I clicked out of the game and logged back in and there it was the draw and resign button. There must be a glitch in the website. I want to know how one of my opponents literally pulled a queen out of his ass and check mated me. I will delete my account on chess.com, and never go back on the website again. I will not be cheated on by the website.

elliotz4
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/14/18

I joined Chess.com to play with some friends. I got into it and soon was watching a lot of videos. Next thing I know I'm banned. They never exactly told me in any specific terms the reason. But they have a magical algorithm or statistics that say I must have used outside help, though I didn't. Clearly they do this just to try to take your money and run. From everything I've read they have lots of actual cheaters with fake accounts they do nothing about. Yet they ban real customers who do nothing wrong. Stay away!

Tip for consumers: Don't

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
guyb75
1 review
4 helpful votes
10/18/18

It's all cheaters, bots whatever. Complete waste of time if you want to play a real person. They will "analyze" your game after you play against a "person" and tell you about a bunch of mistakes you made but will tell you what they are only if you buy something. YOU ARE WASTING PEOPLE'S TIME WITH YOUR SHADY SITE!

mikek399
1 review
5 helpful votes
10/15/18

I just reached out to chess.com yesterday because I noticed that everytime I realized I was playing a bot, (you can tell by the profile sometimes and lack of history). However everytime I played a bot hiding under a low rating only for them to use expert techniques in the final seconds to win. I believe they do this to keep ratings down so people buy memberships to their site and they can then hope to become a better chess player.
Chess.com doesn't let you block users though. If you block them you will still get matched up with any of their hundreds of fake bots that run all the time. It's not fair if a free member or a paying member wants to play a "live person" they should have the choice. And if they want to never play a certain user (regardless if they are real or a bot) they should be able to restrict that user from being matched up ever again and having their rating lowered (and simply time wasted). I reached out to chess.com help support and then today they just disabled my account with no response at all, all because I emailed them calling them out on the user blocking not working and simply asking them how do I fix it. Rather than tell me it's a real tech support issue they disable my account? So because I discovered their secret rather than find a work around they decide to try and hide my knowledge from the public. Forget them. That's so shady.

ameliar31
21 reviews
8 helpful votes
9/18/18

I've never won the opponent. The timing is programmed somehow on the behalf of the opponent. I do not recommend wasting time by playing chess at this site.

Response from David K., Chess.com Representative
Good morning dear Amelia. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences. As you can imagine, we would never manipulate the time of any of the games. If you see strange issues, it could be because of the internet, the lag compensation and many other factors.

We will be more than happy to help you at support@chess.com

All the best,

The Chess.com Team
mandys53
1 review
5 helpful votes
8/16/18

Well in chess.com my opponent was a time cheat, I played bullet and my opponents time went slowly, while my time went at the speed of light. Also one player forced a draw when they were losing, it was the same move again and again.

myratingisf
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/11/18

Bans me for allegedly cheating with no evidence. Full of overrated weak players, got 2200 live blitz on that site while only 1900 in lichess.

The ratings on this site says everything LOL.

Response from David K., Chess.com Representative
Dear chess player. We are sorry for the inconvenience. As you can image, we work really hard to prevent cheating on Chess.com. We would love to speak with you so as to speak about the possible mistake we have made. Please, send us an email to support@chess.com

Thank you so much,

The Chess.com Team
alc102
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/26/18

For the past several months, it's infuriating to try and play short time controls at chess.com. Their servers are beyond terrible. I have lost countless games on time, because moves I play in less than half a second take over 4 to travel to the distant realm of chess.com's server. Even pre-moves often take over two seconds, instead of the standard 0.1. I don't know what sort of problem that is, if it's local, and I'm sure it doesn't happen to GMs in the site's much advertised death matches and live streams. I know it's not me, because it happens regardless whether I am playing from home or elsewhere, and more importantly, because it has never happened on chess24, where I occasionally play.

Chess.com is the largest chess playing site. Ensuring an at least decent user experience should be their first priority, but this huge problem has persisted for so long now that it seems they either do not care, or can't fix it. Neither option is appealing.

Service
Value
Quality
Response from David K., Chess.com Representative
We are so sorry to hear that dear AI. Could you please send us a message to support@chess.com so as we can speak with you and make sure all the connections problems have disappeared?

Thank you so much for your time and sorry for all the inconveniences.

All the best,

The Chess.com Team
johnh1473
1 review
5 helpful votes
6/17/18

this website is rigged , the timing is fixed for members to win , if your opponent is losing they had time, i even record the games sometimes just to study the moves and all you see time is being fixed , i just play for the fun of it lose or win,chesscube is way better than chess.com, my username is spellmyname

Response from David K., Chess.com Representative
I am really sorry to hear that John! One thing I would like to mention is that we do not alter the timing of games. When these things happen, it is all about the internet connection and lag. We have NEVER manipulated games or clocks :)

What we would love to do is speak with you at support@chess.com so as we can make sure this issue is solved and you do not experience any other inconvenience.

At your complete disposal,

The Chess.com Team
bonag1
1 review
4 helpful votes
6/2/18

The ios app doesn't even have the report bottom and when you play through the web app and report cheaters, you will never get any response. The game says abort with no penalty but when you do you lose score. People use abusive language and the timer is not synced. I wish there was a way not to give them a single star.

Response from David K., Chess.com Representative
Good afternoon dear Bona,

First of all, our apologies for the inconveniences. We have some good news! We are working on including the report button and it will soon be there. In case you have any issue while this is being done, please do not hesitate to send us an email to support@chess.com with a screenshot, and we will take the necessary steps so as you do not find any abusive users or experiences.

Thank you so much and we remain at your disposal for anything you could need.

All the best,

The Chess.com Team
anthonyc289
1 review
4 helpful votes
5/18/18

On May 3 - 8, I had been on the website. I saw the $29 fee plan but did not opt for it. I lost interest in chess.com . However, on May 10, 2018, Chess.com went ahead and charged my credit card $29. The phone number that appeared with that charge, 1-800-318-2827 is never answered by a person. only an answering machine on which I have plaintively made my request for a cancellation of the $29. I have left that message every day for now eight days. So, it seems that Chess.com is poorly administered, rather sleazy, with perhaps some 'web-fraud' tendencies.
Tony Carleton my email is tonycarleton@gmail.com

Response from David K., Chess.com Representative
Good afternoon dear Anthony,

First of all, my apologies for the confusion/problem. When you start a Free Trial, we inform you always that in case that you do not cancel in 7 days, you will be charged. Anyway, we always want our users to be happy and that is why if you are not happy, we are going to send you a refund RIGHT NOW.

Regarding the phone, it is a system that allows users to leave us messages and we DO check them.

Please, write us an email to support@chess.com and we will gladly make you a 100% refund.

Thank you so much for your time and sorry for any inconvenience.

All the best,

The Chess.com Team
3 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Probably you have your account restricted for some reason. Please, send us an email to support@chess.com and we will happily take a look. Thank you so much!

By David K., Chess.com Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Good morning dear Arving. There is an arrow at the top-right of the board, thanks to which you can make the board smaller or bigger. If you have any doubt about this, we will be more than glad to help you at support@chess.com All the best, The Chess.com Team

By David K., Chess.com Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Chess.com staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Chess.com?
Post Review