We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    CheapOair.ca

Corporate Values

Overview

CheapOair.ca has a consumer rating of 4.35 stars from 695 reviews indicating that most consumers are generally satisfied with their purchases. CheapOair.ca also ranks 2nd among Plane Tickets sites.

  • Service
    158
  • Value
    160
  • Shipping
    80
  • Returns
    74
  • Quality
    134
Positive reviews (last 12 months): 0%
Positive
0
Neutral
1
Negative
18
View ratings trends
17
See all photos

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

  • We will certainly use Cheopoair again to book flights.
  • Share your experienced and tell to your friends the web site.

Critical highlights

  • First of all your customer service department is terrible.
  • BELIEVE I HAVE BEEN BOOKING FLIGHTS WITH THEM AND THEY DO A TERRIBE JOB!
How would you rate CheapOair.ca?
Top Positive Review

“Great service at a very reasonable price”

Chris D.
9/12/19

I highly recommend cheapOair.ca Great service and good prices. Very easy site to maneuver and very user-friendly also.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Very Poor Customer Service”

Modassir A.
8/7/20

Since lasat more than 03 months i am waiting for my refund, but everytime i call and send email, i m told it will take 05 to 07 business days. I am very disappointed with customer service. During this hard financial situation, my ticket money is blocked there and no effort from Cheapoair Canada, to get it back.

See critical reviews

Reviews (695)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

customer service (61) book flights (14) web site (11) ticket price (9) booking flights (9) credit card (16) flight tickets (6) good service (13) return flight (7) air canada (7) travel agent (6) air tickets (6)
modassira
1 review
1 helpful vote
August 7th, 2020
Since lasat more than 03 months i am waiting for my refund, but everytime i call and send email, i m told it will take 05 to 07 business days. I am very disappointed with customer service. During this hard financial situation, my ticket money is blocked there and no effort from Cheapoair Canada, to get it back.
sanjoyg
2 reviews
11 helpful votes
February 6th, 2020
I am scheduled to fly to Hong Kong from Sydney next week. But there is a huge coronavirus scare and the city is practically shut down. I want to cancel my tickets... but the first time I was cut off after 40 minutes of holD. Next time it was 1.5 hours AND i WAS CUT OFF AGAIN. I am right now on my 3rd attempt. And it has been 2 hours plus. And holding...
Never again... Once they have got your money. It is upto you to deal with whatever comes next.
mariev81
1 review
0 helpful votes
August 3rd, 2020
Cheapoair does not respond, communicate or provide service
My flight # 62229780 was April 1st and canceled with air transat due to COVID. No communication from cheapoair since. I call in all the numbers he posts. I send emails, I have no response. I use the chat service with the robot which me in an indefinite wait, without result. In addition, when I wanted to fill out the online form, it says that my flight has expired. He finally sends me a link that does not work to speak to an agent. For air transat, the cheapoair agency must either reimburse me or change the date of the flight. I don't know which saint to speak to. It is a scam or what. If you are also a victim, think about a collective complaint
dexterp20
1 review
2 helpful votes
December 29th, 2019
My mother just got double charged by CheapOAir (which she will not be purchasing from again if I have anything to do with it). I spent an hour on the phone with them to get it cleared up. They then tried to slap on a two hundred dollar fee to change the name on the ticket which was right the first time, and messed up the second time due to their buggy online interface. After arguing about this fee, their representative states that we won't be charged, but the fee is coming out of his salary. Businesses like these should be boycotted.
markb1940
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
June 12th, 2020
I wrote a review on here about three weeks ago that CheapoAir was not responding to my requests for help in cancelling several flights I booked with them earlier this year when I cancelled my Asia tour and flew back to the US. They just kept sending me emails about flight being cancelled and changed and did nothing. After they saw the reviews I wrote here and Trust Pilot their management team called me! I almost dropped the phone! After that they were extremely helpful and I have since been getting refunds for the flights. On a side note, I also booked a Europe tour and US and European based airlines have not been offering refunds, just credits on future flights... so beware! So... in the end, I must give CheapAir a compliment on resolving my issues and getting me refunds on some expensive flights!
johnz604
1 review
1 helpful vote
June 12th, 2020
Trying to cancel my booking 65790945 because of corona virus pandemic. Submitted cancel form online. No response! I have travel protection insurance. Customer support phone number not working. Are they trying rob my money? Is cheapoair legal company?
anupama3
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
April 19th, 2020
Never ever book from this website. I have wasted my hard earned money on them. They are not at all socially responsible.
Neither me nor I will let others buy tickets from these scammers.
bijuv
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 12th, 2020
All airlines are cancelling/changing ticket dates free of cost due to COVID-19. But Cheapoair still charges their customers with a change fee ( at least CAD 35) to make these changes. What a shame! The whole world is hit by COVID-19, and cant they wave off these change fees? Interesting!
cernant
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 12th, 2020
Had my booking done Nov-2019, Tried to cancel my booking (Air Canada) starting from 2-weeks before our flight due to COVID-19. Tried 72 hrs before our flight (3 x a day), emailed them a couple of times, still not able to contact them in any given time of the day. They sent (via email) me a new flight schedule through Air Canada asking to confirm or cancel through online and replied back via computerized automatic reply saying one of their agent will contact me back BUT NOBODY from CheapOair called/contacted me. I can't even cancel it online because my original reference booking number NO longer valid and accepted.
Come less than 24 hrs before my original flight schedule, finally I decided to contact AIr Canada direct and waited for 30-45 minutes and finally they manage to refund (credit) and cancel my flight.
After all these, till date STILL HAVEN'T HEARD A WORD from CheapOAir.
irened81
1 review
1 helpful vote
April 3rd, 2020
I received an email said that they had notification from the airline that there has been a schedule change with my flight. I already emailed them back and tried to call them but no one answer.
idowua6
1 review
1 helpful vote
January 24th, 2020
I bought a ticket for a flight from edmonton to lagos nigeria. No ticket was issued despite several calls and promises
madeleinev
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
April 11th, 2015
When I booked flight to Toronto my friend happened to accompany me, so we booked seats simulteniusly. It appeared that I payed $17 more than him for no reason. Later on I saw on reddit that booking companies might increase ticket price if you are using an apple device because their marketing department think that apple owners wealthy people and they can charge more from them. Be aware!
tommyb148
1 review
3 helpful votes
April 14th, 2020
THIS COMPANY IS A BIG SCAM

STAY AWAY FROM THEM

WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER

FILED AN OFFICIAL COMPLAINT T BBB CANADA
clarises
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 12th, 2020
Booked a flight ticket with them with lots of extra charges. I thought I got a good deal with them but they have what they call "POST BOOKING CHARGES" this are the extra charges for flight dfferences. So beware people, it was extra $200 plus taxes and other fees. Came this covid pandemic flight was cancelled by my airline. They charged me another cancellation fees of $152.37 for all the tickets I purchased, i did not request for it. Besides, they weren't allowing me to when I called them, they said they can only give me credit or refund of 45% of what I've paid for. Ridiculous! When I spoke to one of their csr, she told me she will refund me the cancellation fees in usd. But when I received email, REFUNDED AMOUNT was in CAD. Called again to clarify and assured me that this was in usd and the email was just a glitch. Now i dont know who or what to believe. Doesnt care for people at all. Money making business especially in this COVID times.
georgiar74
1 review
1 helpful vote
August 8th, 2020
I bought a return ticket for my mother last year, she came to Canada in November and was planning to go back to Romania in April 2020. Due to covid-19, I cancelled the flight when I heard that Edmonton international airport was closing. On Jun 23,2020 I received an email from Cheapoair stating:

"You have a credit of $689.46, valid only for flying on KLM, only. You will have to call us and get the tickets reissued on/before 6/30/2021 in order to utilize your credit and your travel must be completed by 6/30/2021".

I tried to book a one way flight to send my mother back to Romania. I got in touch with 4 different agents through Cheapoair online chat. They asked me to pay between $650 and $1000 difference for a ticket whose price was about 1050 on their website and other websites including KLM. I asked them why would I have to pay so much as ignoring the "credit" it would be much cheaper. They kept telling me that my ticket is "discounted" without explaining anything else. However, they said I could book the flight using the "credit" through KLM directly. Yesterday I approached KLM on their facebook page and I told I was having a "credit of $689.46". KLM said to me:

"If the travel voucher was issued by us, you may use it to book new flights with us, Air France, Delta Airlines, Virgin Atlantic, and Kenya Airways. The validity of our vouchers has also been extended until 31 December 2021. You would also have been issued a voucher number. We did not find one issued in your name.
We also do not just advise clients that the have received a "credit of $xxx. Xx, valid only for flying on KLM, only" This may be an internal policy of your travel agency. We therefore advise you to contact your travel agent and seek clarification from them."

I got in touch again with Cheapoair and after going in circles and "apologizing for any inconvenience" they finally sent me a "Refund confirmation" such as "Please note that funds can take 1 to 2 billing cycles to show up in your account depending on your bank or credit card company."

This proves that Cheapoair was holding my money, trying to fool me to buy an overpriced flight ticket! Now I am curious to see if they will ever refund me, otherwise I will go to BBB. However, after buying plane tickets for my mom who is been coming to Canada every 6 months over the last 11 years, I am done dealing with Cheapoair.ca. I have just bought the return ticket now directly through KLM website and I am very happy with the deal! Learned my lesson in an "expensive" hard way!
robr240
3 reviews
0 helpful votes
July 5th, 2020
[Update: day three of waiting on phone. Ignoring my emails. They need to review my credit card statement to correct my refund, but I have been waiting three FULL days on phone. Sent emails but 0 reply; claim they never received my emails]

Do not use them for any issurance or refund product: they will make errors, overcharge you and make you fight for weeks or months to get your correct compensation.

They promised a refund for a canceled flight. But then gave me the wrong refund. They ask for more information (credit card information) but claim they never get my email. I have tried for 10 hours to talk to someone, but they continuously hang-up on me. They don't reply to my emails. They said they would call back, but never did. This is after 60 days when they said they processed my refund.

How can I proce they did wrong, when they refuse to admit that they got my emails with my proof? Even after I tried multiple emails.

They are hoping I will give up, so they can pocket my money.
busrak
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
July 10th, 2020
SERIOUSLY! NO MONEY BACK FOR CANCELLATIONS!

I have been calling them about my parents flight tickets which have been cancelled twice. When it was cancelled first they told us to make changes if we can provide them $300 for 2 passengers. And so we are so stupid we gave that money to them. 3 days later that flight was cancelled too. This time they told me lufthansa does not make any changes for cancellations anymore! I asked for $300 i paid. They told me "THEY CANT GIVE MY $300 even if flight has been cancelled"

SERIOUSLY! I was so pissed and hanged up the phone. I directly called Lufthansa and asked them if we could not rebook our flight tickets. They said "THAT IS NOT TRUE, THEY JUST WANT MORE MONEY! THIS IS NOT YOUR MISTAKE THAT HAS BEEN CANCELLED. YOU CAN EVEN GET YOUR MONEY BACK" and they rebooked another flight for us.
Somehow that flight was cancelled and I called CHEAPoair again (never call them, they are nor helping at all). They first told me "Yes thats possible to get money back because that is not passengers mistake". When i called them second time they told me "you cant get return this flight has been cancelled twice"
These Cheap company seriously lying to everybody! When they book a flight they do not even speak clearly about the rules as well as they make their own rules even if I talked to Lufthansa they still insist "no refund". After representative saw there was no way he could make me better. He put me on hold for an hour and called Lufthansa. After an hour he said "NO ONE PICKS UP".
Freaking liars!
Now I have been on hold with them for 4 hours no one picks up my calls.

Freaking liars! Once i get back home i will sue them.
ns200
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 17th, 2020
I bought a ticket through cheapoair.ca to fly to Dubia from Kuala Lumpur. Airline changed scheduled flight and I objected to suggested flight schedule and I request to cancel my flight due to conflict in new schedule. I request a call back from Cheapoair but non one has calls. I spent the past week trying to get hold of all telephone numbers and put it through voice message on hold for hours then directed to a disconnect number that leads to hangup my calls.
I strongly discourge anyone to book through Cheapoair. They are not trustworthy people, would rob your money after you complete transactions and then you lose all of your money.
DO NOT EVER BOOK OR BUY TICKET THROUGH THIS WEBSITE. NO ONE WOULD EVER RETURN YOUR CALLS
tonys858
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 19th, 2020
BOOKED my CX tickets for late April flight with Cheapoair, the flight was CANCELLED due to COVID-19... Supervisor (Irwin) AGREED to GIVE me FUTURE CREDIT. I BOOKED for UPCOMING Oct flight, my CREDIT CAN'T be USED for that flight & I've to PAY the FULL FARE for this trip... what's the PURPOSE of the FUTURE CREDIT?... IF I PURCHASED the April ticket DIRECTLY with Cathay, I'll be REFUNDED IN FULL with NO PROBLEMS... Cheapoair is a one BIG FRAUD & SCAM online travel agency with MAJORITY of their agents SPEAKING with south Asian ACCENT as the OWNER (Jain Shaileshkumar aka San Jain) of this company is also from that PART of the world... TAKE one to KNOW one... such an UNSCRUPULOUS company... NEVER ORDER Your tickets from this travel agency as it's SAFER to PURCHASE DIRECTLY from the airline itself
shaquallep
1 review
1 helpful vote
June 25th, 2017
It's been very good in helping me find the lowest and best fares. Being a college student especially I can't afford to do anything too expensive. Also in a time of family emergency, I was able to change my ticket date to a time period where I was able to be with my sick family member before they passed away. A heart felt review and a heart felt thank you, will be sure to use Cheapoair in the future.
rafaels74
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
March 20th, 2019
Yeah i 'll always advanced people no to get tickets to cheapoair they are the most scammers in the entire world please don't do it it's really sad to see another person that works his or her entire life to have a little vacation and have it screwed but this cheap as unprofessional and scammers company. If i had the opportunity to give them zero reviews i would because they deserve that. So You 'll get treated the way you treat your customers. Who about that people?.
amandeeps11
1 review
2 helpful votes
May 2nd, 2017
The site is good and easy to use it doesn't confuse you. You are able to go back to things you started. Just don't like the fact u can't book more then on ticket on the same person name
anam272
1 review
6 helpful votes
May 7th, 2019
Waste of time and money! I will never book them again!
Unfortunately, I didn't read anything on their cancellation policy before I booked. What a mistake! After only two hours from booking, I called their customer services to cancel the ticket and I was sure there will be no fees or any charges in the first 4 hours. I was shocked to hear about their cancellation fees of 75$/ person. But worst of all, the agent kept on arguing that Cheapoair has no choice to charge that fee because of the airline company. It doesn't make sense! They have no respect for their customers!
mircead1
1 review
1 helpful vote
September 22nd, 2018
This company is a scam! They hide their fees in the price so you do not notice that they charge you 80$ per transaction. There is no cheaper price for the air ticket... you can get the same ticket at the same price or cheaper from the airline web page or any other honest site.
They do not send you an invoice specifically so you do not notice the hidden 80$ charge (it is included in "taxes and fees")
Of course, customer service is in India... enough said...

Tip for consumers: Do not use this site.... you will be scammed.

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
nikkif34
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
June 21st, 2019
I have used Cheapoair about 4-5 times this year so far. I was planning was planning to use this company for the other 3 trips I have planned this year. I will definitely be finding another company from now on. I will also tell everyone of my friends and co-workers who all travel a lot to never use your service again. As well as post on all of my social media sites, and my friends with YouTube channels to keep as much business away from your organization as possible. First of all your customer service department is terrible. I had to stay on hold not once, not twice, not three times, but four times for over an hour. Getting disconnected several times was rather annoying too. Your online system needs a major update as well. It changed not only my flight date but most of personal information as well. Computer errors is one thing but to not fix the errors that your system makes is another. I have never seen a company so poorly ran in all my 45 years. The charges were extremely unnecessary but after multiple phone calls, being on hold for many hours, being disconnected many times, live chat service being non responsive, even corporate supervisors not being able to resolve your failures as a company should have, I have decided otherwise. I have given up too much wasted time, effort and my hard earned money to ever spend another dime with you poor excuse for a company. I will be booking my next flights and my families flights with a more organized and efficient company. I would say thank you for your time but I feel that no thanks should ever being given to a company so poorly ran.

Q&A (6)

Answer:

These guys are a team of scammers. Even I am trying to get my refund. Try calling their headoffice in Ontario

By Anupam A.
Question:

Are you in canada?

Answer:

Yes, I am. Any problem with that.? Or are you feeling lonely and need a few friends.?

By Anupam A.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the CheapOair.ca staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Company Representative

dejaht1
CustomerService C.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about CheapOair.ca?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members

See reviews as you browse with our Chrome extension

4.4
693 reviews
Have a question about CheapOair.ca?