Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Hulu

Hulu reviews

Is this your business?
587 reviews
Funny, Movie, Music & Entertainment
12312 W. Olympic Blvd.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Tel: +1.3105714700
huludomains@hulu.com

587 Reviews From Our Community

Service
18
Value
19
Shipping
6
Returns
8
Quality
19

All Reviews

brucek45
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/27/17

Use your credit card company as the referee.
They will act as the go between and will give you your money back after you and Hulu state your cases.
so far this year I am 3 for 3 on winning my cases.

Advertisement
krisb56
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/26/17

At end of supposed free month I tried to stop my account. I was given a different end date than actual, so my c/c was chgd. I tried 10 times to cancel. Through calls, chats and email thru app. Kept saying try again. Finally called thru online contact #, & they would not give me my money back. Bottom line, there is no Free month to try it. Did not have enough shows or newest episodes, so I figured it would not work for me. I get better from my library for free. Horrible customer service.

lucp13
1 review
6 helpful votes
7/22/17

wow. who designed the new UI, and who was it designed FOR? You can only see one show at a time, selection bar is OVER your selection, there's a loud obnozious tone at startup, there's no longer an option to "watch from beginning" (at least not anything we've found) and a host of other annoying, pointless, pretty much counter-productive changes.

Good grief, we are ready to cancel our subscription because of the UI! How messed up is that?! Scene from Hulu Development: "duuuuuuh, we got 5 reviews from people who don't want to see a whole bunch of categories at a time because they have cataracts. Let's make it huge (but with tiny text the user can't read!) and only show one program at a time, but also make it a convoluted maze to get to functions that were easily accessible before!". Don't drink and develop, kids.

jacoba32
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/20/17

Don't waste your time or money. Terrible amount of commercials it makes it unbearable.
Hulu should be free to the public due to its ungodly amount of commercials.
I don't get it. The advertiser pays hulu to advertise and yet they make the consumer pay monthly.
Although it will never happen they should offer their normal commercial filled service free and offer a commercial free subscription.
They are worse than cable.
Please save your hard earned money and blow it on something worth while

nugf
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/19/17

I see a bunch of bad reviews and most are talking about video problems and commercials and such. Since I watch hulu on my Xbox one, whenever i have a problem I just restart Hulu and everything is just fine and that's only when I have a problem because I don't have any problems too often. Also I don't even pay for my Hulu my friend shares his account with me and he also has the no commercial plan and it is just so great. I used to always go on Netflix allll the time but now I'm almost never on Netflix because Netflix definitely has good movies and good shows but Hulu also has many shows that I really, really enjoy and they come out with new episodes the day after a new episode comes out unlike Netflix where it uploads by season and takes a long time to upload a season of a show after that season is finished. Anyways I don't have any problems with Hulu because I don't watch movies that often and there isn't that many good movies on Hulu (well they do sometimes but just for a more limited amount of time before they're removed) and one thing that I absolutely loved on Hulu is how they rated shows' episodes instead of just the whole shows in general and it was very useful when I went to find a particularly good episode of a show but my only complaint is I think they removed it because I can't see any of those ratings anymore after the update which Is pretty frustrating because I just loved those episode ratings. Anyways for all the people who have to video problems and stuff like that well it just really suck because youre really missing out.

elenal16
6 reviews
2 helpful votes
7/18/17

I use Hulu and drives me crazy each time the commercials pop up because my computer just freeze. Also, They used to have a good selection of the latest tv shows but no any more. You have to wait a year to watch the latest episodes. It is like Netflix but with commercials and a Medioquer selection of tv shows and movies.

sharynw4
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/11/17

I signed up for a 30 day trial, I cancelled after 12 hours! After several interruptions which prompted me to restart my computer and log back in (can't save ID and password info) I'd had enough and cancelled my subscription.
How in the world are you going to compete with Amazon and Netflix? This experience was frustrating! Bye forever Hulu.

robertw365
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/8/17

I'm presently paying for my Hulu service' and I'm rating it as POOR' lousy connection' programs stall' constantly have to rebuff' sound goes out continually' now lets get the real problem' I repeated asked for a SUPERVISOR' with an agent named SCARLET' she refused' started to asked what other devices I was using' had" I explained to her repeatedly' I a notebook' I wasn't using' she began drilling insisting I had other devices' I asked for a Supervisor repeatedly' I than asked her to hang up' and she would not disengage the call! WTF" Finally I called back talked someone named Andrew' never quite got what his position was except an #** *$#@$' Lousy service lousy company' should be terminated.

junkj
1 review
6 helpful votes
7/8/17

HULU's new navigation is the worst ever. I dread having to find any new stuff, it's a chore. Everyone I know hates it. Netflix, Showtime and even HBO know how to present their content in a friendly way. Hulu just blew it. Hulu's new navigation just sucks.

janetw89
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/6/17

Does not stream well (has to stop and load) and it plays commercials as often as regular tv. The commercials are very repetitive. Will be canceling before the "trial" is up!

ginaw29
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/4/17

Like a review I previously saw. It takes hours to watch a 21 minute episode because of constant loading and freezing. At time it'll even cut off I. The middle of the show and say there's a connection error. It buffers like crazy it gives me anxiety! I nearly broke my TV several times. For this much "high tech" services in the world there should not this many issues. Netflix is smooth. I have to keep turning my TV off n on to try to get better connection. Its horrible

dawns109
1 review
4 helpful votes
7/3/17

I really dislike the new format of HULU. I often watch TV laying in bed at night and of course fall asleep during an episode or even watching on the couch I often fall asleep. I used to be able to wake up and just restart/resume the current episode but in the new format you have to go through a ton of screens to do that. Very difficult when you're half a sleep so I end up missing entire episodes. When scrolling seasons, the new format doesn't show you any of the episodes the way the old format did. Please bring back the old format... I really dislike the new.

andyp62
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/26/17

absolute crap. Movie selection crap, streaming crap, links are dead, absolute waste of money-stay away

angele42
1 review
7 helpful votes
6/26/17

Its enough.!! this new hulu app is the worst of the worst of apps. its so frustrating, requires you to go through a lot of steps just to watch or find one show, It is a nightmare owning this shiet. It buffers like crazy. it freezes a lot, is not user friendly. perhaps it was made for techies alone since they seem to be the only ones giving the app more than 2 stars. I am switching. Even though I love watching the handmaidens tale, I will let my memories of the book sustain me.When hulu changes their App, I will come back. For now, forget you Hulu.

lowellc14
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/18/17

Just signed up so I can watch the us open live but Hulu does not have any way for you to stream with a dell computer, Samsung smart tv, only a phone or tablet. They sucker people in claiming you can watch live tv when all you have are phone and tablet options. FALSE ADVERTISING AND YOU WASTED A LOT OF MY TIME . They need to be clear before you sucker people in to signing up. Honestly, how can they claim you can watch live TV, but don't offer a way to stream it on a TV? Explain that...Avoid Hulu, also, it is VERY difficult to get customer support

stephens171
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/13/17

There are comercials, lots of them.
When watching a series and you try to pick up where you lefto off it is not user friendly.

felixr33
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/9/17

estan robando a los hispanos, porque todos los show y movies los tienen en ispanish y no lo ponen en ispanish

charolettew
1 review
7 helpful votes
6/3/17

Does the Hulu company, have a research team, because They failed with this so called update. You can not look up stuff easily or just look at your stuff with out going threw a mess to find the show you want or find the episode. No this is Awful, atleast go back to the old version. And add a like button and star review on the shows and movies , so your customers can give feed back on what they like.

smiless
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/1/17

Hulu charge my account twice and don't want to pay. They did not want to take responsible for that. Talk to about 3 reps to get it resolved was not done, so if you have that issue just know that you will not be refunded for any charge. XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

nelliem21
1 review
7 helpful votes
5/27/17

I don't know what moron came up with the idea to change everything up but the new Hulu sucks the way you find things the way the system setup I don't know what they was thinking

karusunek
31 reviews
21 helpful votes
5/25/17

Hulu is an interesting streaming platform that has for a long time provided some great shows. Unlike other streaming platforms, Hulu provides a free catalog as well as a premium catalog, both of which are supported by advertisers. Competing platforms do not have advertisements on their content, especially when you're paying for the service. Hulu did eventually introduce a more expensive option that removes general advertisements from the content, but every once in a while I will still get advertisements on certain content where they couldn't remove the advertising. However, there have been numerous times where an episode simply will not load for one reason or another and there are times where content gets removed as I am watching it. It is frustrating not knowing whether or not something is going to be there, but that is a limitation that all streaming platforms seem to have.

johnd776
1 review
4 helpful votes
5/25/17

Ads have doubled recently. It's ridiculous. Didn't get this so that I could watch just as many ads as cable television. Fix it or you're going to lose your customers.

joem254
1 review
4 helpful votes
5/24/17

Can I give no stars? After having Hulu for a week, I lost closed captions for Hulu on my tv, but not on my iPad. After a frustrating hour on the phone help line with two reps, I had no Hulu service at all on either device. Neither rep seemed to have a clue. In fact, I think the first gal realized she had screwed me up bad and deliberately disconnected me. I cancelled rather than go through more torture. Damn shame because I really wanted to binge on Fargo.

kimb1574
1 review
5 helpful votes
5/24/17

Why does it take 3:15 to watch a program that is 1:40 long? It keeps freezing. Very, very annoying. NEVER have this on Netflix or Amazon.

chareyd
1 review
7 helpful votes
5/23/17

The update sucks! I hate it! Ugh... so annoying! If you're going to update something at least make it better than what it was, this new version is the worst!

224 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer
4
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Well, I hate to say it, but yes. I have both Hulu and Netflix. At least Hulu comes out with new episodes of TV shows. I find myself using Hulu 90% of the time. I wish they had it set up for individual users though.

By Heather G. on 12/24/15
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

ABSOLUTELLY!!!!! If you want something more like regular TV, with the newest episodes coming out each week I would definitely recommend Hulu Plus. You can get two weeks free if you sign up here: http://hulu.com/r/ocjVSA That's what I did and if you don't like it you can cancel before the two weeks are up and wont owe anything, but its really cheap anyways at only $7.99 a month. Netflix it great for older seasons of shows and all kinds of interesting movies. It's great cause you can just sit for hours on a lazy day and watch a whole season if you want to. You can sign up here for a month free, $7.99 a month, and cancel at any time as well: https://signup.netflix.com/ I personally have both and love them a lot. I don't have cable, which is four times more expensive than both of these. Plus nothing is ever on TV, but with Hulu and Netflix you can always find something. If your getting rid of cable, I would get both, or at least start with Hulu because it's the most similar to regular TV. Hope it works out!

By Dani S. on 1/28/16
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

First you'll have to download the HULU app on your computer, laptop or tablet. You can "cast the show" from a computer, laptop and certain tablets. I use my Windows 10 Phone with no problems. OR: You'll need a "media streaming device", for example, a Roku, Apple TV or Amazon Fire Stick, or have a "Smart TV". You'll also need a good, FAST internet WiFi connection or have your router close enough to your TV for a wired connection via Ethernet. You then pick from a genre of shows that are available.

By Christopher Q. on 11/27/15
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I have 65mb down and I don't have any trouble at all. I think you only need 12mb to stream their highest quality. That could be a complicated answer. It may be your router, or wireless device. That's where you should start looking. Contact Comcast and have them help you trouble shoot. I know my provider has that service.

By David K. on 10/7/15
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Never heard of that, maybe its was advertising for the HBO service you can add on or for their ad-free options which they do not have a free trial of. But they dont charge for their regularshows

By Dani S. on 12/28/15
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

You can use a wii.. a playstation 3, a ruku box.. I have also used my computer and a svga monitor cable to use the laptop to put it right to the tv. You can use google chrome cast also.. the monitor cable works awesome because you can watch utube on your tv too.. tons of movies on there as well.. hope this helps.. I can answer a little better if you have any more questions

By lisa m. on 6/29/13
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Good luck with that. They are crooks. If you like the British, Canadian and Australian things, Acorn is a terrific deal. I am not affiliated with anybody.

By Gail V. on 2/23/17
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Don't do it. They suck massive puppy sh!t. I have a download speed of 60 Mbps, and their content still won't stream smoothly. F@ck Hulu, and BS claims they make.

By Monterey B. on 12/30/16
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

If you could provide more info on what/how you're getting Netflix on your TV, are you using a media streaming device (like a Roku, AppleTV, "SmartTV" or a WiFi connected BluRay, the apps are already preloaded on most devices. You can go online and set up an account with Roku and add over 1000 channels from their Channel Store. 90% are free for the watching.

By Christopher Q. on 5/29/16
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

A Roku box, or other "media streaming device" along with a good speed WiFi connection. Roku also makes a "TCL brand Roku TV" that is really nice and you can get one at any "big box store" for about $400.

By Christopher Q. on 3/31/16
Questions? Get answers from the Hulu staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Hulu?
Post Review