Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Hulu

Hulu reviews

Is this your business?
780 reviews
12312 W. Olympic Blvd.
Los Angeles, California 90404, USA
Tel: +1.3105714700
support@hulu.com
2017 Customer choice award

780 Reviews From Our Community

Service
22
Value
23
Shipping
7
Returns
9
Quality
23

All Reviews

barbb54
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/18/18

I spoke to Brandon about an issue I was having and he went above and beyond to help me. I seriously haven't had such amazing customer service in a long time. I am a happy customer
customer!!

xxxxxxx2
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/17/18

Even in trying to cancel, I'm finding it difficult

So now it's becoming theft on their part

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

rezas13
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/5/18

Light commercial is a big lie ! in 50 min episode they showed like 3 times 90 second commercial !!!! is that light ??? big lie . also they dont have a lot of movies and serries we were interested

mattb190
6 reviews
13 helpful votes
8/3/18

I wanted to write a review about Hulu, I really wanted but I couldn't, and I still can't. I'm sorry, but I'm not from the USA so I'm not allowed to witness the magnificency the service that Hulu has to offer. And since the internet is becoming more user-unfriendly by the day, due to policies, limitations and other stuff, I decided why not; I will write about how I see Hulu. Hulu is now sadly, everywhere on the internet, you can "see" its videos under most news articles and such. But it's all USA-restricted, while the internet is still a worldwide thing as far as I know. So, dear Hulu, become a worldwide service or get the f*ck off my worldwide internet pages!!!

Oh and lastly, if you want to actually use Hulu, you have to go live in the USA or get a VPN... but I'm afraid a VPN alone will not be enough to register, since I read you can only register with your credit card or PayPal address, that belongs to a resident from the USA. I wouldn't be surprised the least if somebody would actually go through the hassle of getting a fake credit card just to be able to register. Hulu in my eyes is a parasite of the internet, with such limitations and should be either expanded or forgotten.

tarab112
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/2/18

I started Live TV service on the 11th. I found out it does not work on the device in my bedroom, so I was going to cancel Live TV but keep streaming before it renewed. On the 2nd I was billed for the next month. Customer service told me that's the day they bill and my prior bill was prorated.

I said, fine, ok, please cancel Live TV and I explained why. I was told I would be charged an entire month and could not be issued a refund because I had "a lot of usage". I said, you just charged me today, how can that be a lot of usage? I was told that if I had only watched one show, they could have refunded it, but since I had the TV on in the background for a few hours, they refused. I escalated and was told the same thing. I asked for the next level up and was told there was no one higher to talk to.

So because I was STREAMING, not even watching live TV in the background for a few hours, they were refusing to refund the month I was not going to use. I told them to cancel my service completely.

I would have renewed the live TV portion of the service, and kept the streaming, once I upgraded my device in the bedroom, but not after that terrible customer service.

edh134
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/1/18

I never opted in for anything outside of the basic $11.99/month service. Then I got a rude awakening with a $42.26 charge for add-ons I didn't ask for. I then logged into my account to see that I had supposedly opted in for EVERYTHING at almost $100/month!!! I requested a refund and an immediate cancellation. If they had appealing programming beyond "The Handmaid's Tale", I might consider forgiveness. But everything else is a yawn fest. so, buh bye, Hulu.

sarahl377
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/30/18

This service is a total rip off! Stay Away!! They try to lure you in with a free trial and then when you cancel the service even during the free trial period they post it later and force you to pay for the entire billing period even if you cancel before. For example they said that my cancellation didn't post until July 22 but even though I clearly don't want the service they are forcing me to pay until August 11. Stay away!! Way too expensive and terrible customer service!!

jillw107
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/29/18

I pay for 11.99 plan that says "NO COMMERCIALS" yet they still play 1 ad before and after each movie or episode. When I call they say with the 7.99 plan you see 5 to 7 commercials. My argument is I'm not paying for a limited commercial plan. My plan says NO commercials that means zero not 1 or 2. They won't do anything about it cause they are in a contract with those networks. But they shouldnt label their plans limited and no commercials when in fact all plans have commercials, just each plan differs on how many commercials you see. Also dont get their live plan, it constantly goes out and doesn't work we dropped it the same day we added it.

oliviar31
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
7/26/18

Hello all, I hate hulu with a burning passion. My reasoning? I paid every month for about a year and out of that year my hulu probably work 7 of those 12 months. I finally canceled when I couldn't even open the app on my tv anymore and when I called customer service (multiple times) they would do something through my computer or tv and it never fixed any of the problems. Currently my father is paying for a family account and whenever I try to use to use it, I get logged in, I get to the "Who's Watching" page and when I try to click on anyone is doesn't go anywhere, I can't create a new profile, but that doesn't help, and when I refresh it logs me back out! Stupid streaming service with far too many bugs to be worth having.

scornm
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/19/18

Wow, Hulu just is clueless aren't they... Their old app was superior and the fact they replaced it with this garbage is absolutely insane...

Its the lack of buffering that makes this app almost useless. If I get a bad LTE connection, this app will pause over and over and over and over and.. well you get the idea. So when I use this anywhere where there is a bad LTE signal, every single show is unwatchable. And, Netflix NEVER has issues in the same location that Hulu has, and in terms of buffering, I don't think Hulu buffers AT ALL...

The fact Hulu does not buffer is mind boggling... So whenever the signal is affected, so is the video and then you get absolute garbage quality. Who wants to watch a show that pauses and unpauses practically the entire time...

The old app seemed to work a LOT better in low signal situations. Or at least I don't recall it pausing, unpausing, pausing, etc. etc... Anway, I'll keep Hulu for the desktop/laptop version which is great, but this mobile app is absolutely pathetic... Please FOR THE LOVE OF YOUR FRICKIN CUSTOMERS ADD BUFFERING to the #*#$ app!!!!

michaelk618
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/14/18

Basicly a chore to watch things on desktop since they changed it. Hulu was already slow for loading and at times would have constant buffers even with 300MB/s internet. But now it has all those problems, AND is even worse. The new layout makes it hard to find something to watch, they mixed the sub and dub episodes for anime into 1 list, and they even removed the watch next button from the bottom of the player. Honestly they video player just looks like they just ported their mobile player to the desktop. That player works well on mobile, not so much on desktop.

christophers323
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/14/18

I pay $45 a month for Hulu and can't even watch an on-demand movie without seeing 4 minutes of commercials at a time. It's absolutely ridiculous. This will be my last month of subscription

pamelab229
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/11/18

You have saved my life HULU! Tried other apps. They all had something I had to do without. Finally
Subscribed to Directvnow. tried to cope for about a year. Just couldnt take the issues of buffering, stopping, and asking if I was still there. Decided to pay higher price and get Hulu! Boy was it worth it! Love it! What a relief. Thank you. (Have had Roku stick and no problems)

Tip for consumers: Get Hulu and save yourself a lot of headaches, frustration and wasted time. Relax and enjoy this valuable app!

Service
Value
Quality
danam187
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/11/18

Its awful funny how the showes themselves will jump a glitch out but an add that kicks in, in the middle of said jummping and gliching episode, run miraculously perfect. Explain please

marshallu1
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/9/18

I am writing this review while i wait for a TV show on Hulu to load. It is slow has many ads and is a pain to watch. I got it so that i could watch the world cup and its costing me 40 dollars a month. I will admit that it has a great variety of shows that i want to watch, but it is hard to watch when it stops every two minutes.

tanyal66
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/8/18

We love Netflix and AmazonPrime so we thought we would give Hulu a chance. It is terrible! I can't stand the fact that they charge another $8 a month to have no commercials! Then ontop of it I was in the middle of watching a show and it just totally signed me out and wont let us back in to finish watching what we were. Terrible experience.

ryanw189
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/5/18

When you buy the top of the line with limited commercials you would think there would be a couple per episode. This Is A Lie. The commercials are getting worse and worse by the week longer and longer. Crooked greed just like regular cable

allenj43
10 reviews
36 helpful votes
7/5/18

If you are looking for a viable alternative to cable, hulu is not a bad option. The live TV service is really good! However, as far as their other content not great at all. They claim to have the largest movie collection on the web. I have yet to search for a movie and find it on hulu! Now they do have some series they have produced themselves that are ok, but not nearly as good as Netflix. Overall they are just ok especially if you choose the live TV option for 40/month.

sn52
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
7/5/18

Have to open a completely different browser JUST for Hulu (don't use the browser for ANYTHING else).

Trying to use Hulu on Chrome is a joke. Freezes up constantly, sometimes 5+ times on a 20 minute program. Inevitably I get what I call "the crop circle"... this circular white dotted pattern on a black screen that I can't get past and have to CRASH MY COMPUTER to get rid of it. I have a brand new MacBook Pro, too. Customer service said to try a different browser or restart the computer (instead of them fixing the bug... can't be bothered).

Same ads over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over. I don't mind ads, but I shouldn't have them memorized verbatim in one hour.

Selection is abysmal! Oh, but you can watch a trailer for everything!

Have to subscribe to additional services (HBO, Showtime) to watch anything worthwhile.

When Handmaid's Tale is over, I'm canceling.

Netflix is far superior, no ads, no additional subscriptions required, lots more options, and I can watch it on my regular browser! Two dollars more.

nickp142
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/1/18

Ads everywhere and youd think that the quality of the shows would be better than Netflix, but it isnt. Sticking with Netflix.

aep
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
6/24/18

OUTRAGED that the anti Christian bigot, hate-speaking Sarah Silverman's show "I Love You America" is still on HULU! Both vile and unfunny, she made news last week again:

Read more: https://forward.com/schmooze/403634/sarah-silverman-says-she-wont-apologize-just-because-youre-offended/

And here: https://www.dailywire.com/news/26751/sarah-silverman-pro-life-law-makes-me-want-eat-paul-bois

She has made "jokes" about such subjects as rape, the etiquette of having sex with God, used racist terms against various groups such as Asians, that she would like to kill Jesus again herself if He came back, feels threatened by the display of an American flag, plus many more vulgar Tweets and references.

There is a definite double standard here: if Roseanne is wrong and got her show axed over one racist remark, this dirty freak should've been canceled long ago for her extensive history of perverse, racist, and anti-Christian remarks, going back to 2001 or earlier.

I will be boycotting Hulu and tell my friends to do the same unless the perverted troll Sarah Silverman and her hatespeaking "show" are immediately cancelled and removed from the lineup so she can no longer USE HULU AS A PARTNER TO DISTRIBUTE HER RACIST, ANTI-CHRISTIAN, BIGOTED, HERETICAL, HATEFILLED FILTH.

elizabethf164
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/18/18

Think your Hulu account is safe?
So did we, we were wrong. Dead wrong.
I turned on the TV and got a message that I couldn't watch Hulu because too many devices already were.
Too bad not one of them belonged to us!
It turns out less than 5 of the devices on this list belong to us, the others? Who knows, Hulu doesn't know and it was just made painfully obvious by two customer service agents that Hulu does not care either. Not only did some one else use our Hulu account for free, Hulu won't look in to it and they don't think we should be compensated for their unsecured system either.
If you think your account is safe, think again.
Go online to hulu.com/devices and see for yourself.
I hope this is going to be enough to shame Hulu into caring more about their paying customers than they clearly care about others who are not paying for anything and are freely scamming those that do pay.
I have no plans to keep Hulu after this and continue to pay for a service that freely allows unauthorized devices to use my account for free and refuse to assist me in safeguarding my account from other further breaches. Obviously having my login info in another language wasn't enough depsite using Norton's antivirus and calling their help line was a waste of time.
Their customer service is just about the worst there is. When I called in the first person I spoke with was way too cheerful (Like it was forced cheerfulness) this csa could not stop talking in circles and repeating the same line over and over. Needless to say in reading her script she missed the part where you help the caller by listening to what's being said as much as she missed the bit where you aren't going to have a postive call if you insult the callers intelligence. She did apologize for that when I brought this to her attention, however that does not excuse the fact that it happened in the first place.
I was also told in the beginning of the call that she could handle getting a credit on my account for the trouble and would be happy to do that. As the call dragged on and continued to spiral out of control I requested a floor manager to speak with. Sadly things did not improve from there. The floor manager was incredibly snide and downright snarky even with his tone. After I gave a short explanation of the current situation that we never used a public device or gave our login information out he started off by telling me "oh well that would mean your account was hacked.". (I had already figured as much.)
I was relieved that he understood what had happened unlike his csa. Next he told me "well we don't credit for this kind of thing.". After she had stated they would do so. This is called a false promise and most companies frown on such practices, apparently Hulu is not that kind of company.
The very next problem according to him was the fact that I had to delete all of the devices from our account because I didn't know who all was on watching it when I wanted to use the service and that wiped the history, even though they said they could see 8 pages back and then he told me "yeah well it would take a subpoena to our legal dept and that won't happen." for me to find out how someone hacked our account. And that was from the floor manager!
All in all it sure sounded like they could do more than he was willingly to. As well as see what was going on and just refused to take any responsibility for this breach of security and my trust.
As for the csa struggling with her script reading rather than addressing the problems at hand I am sure more training can address the issues she had on the call.
However I can see no reason or proper course or action for such rude and unprofessional behaviour on the part of that manager.
If this is the best Hulu can do, I'll use Netflix from now on.

js452
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/17/18

Hulu is one of the worst streaming apps available. First, I only signed up for their service to watch the World Cup. According to their website and advertisements, I would have full access to all of the World Cup games. Upon logging into the app on my Smart TV, it stated that I would receive 7 days for free and then pay a monthly fee of $7.99. Once I actually signed up, I was informed that I would receive 7 days for free and then be charged $39.99 per month. I did not select any premium channels or other add on programming. Reluctantly, I agreed since my intent was only to keep the service for only one month so that I could watch the upcoming games, and one payment of $39.99 would have been worth it. However, after jumping through every hoop thrown in my way, I was finally logged into the console and quickly found out that none of the channels offered included live TV. Every channel available only showed pre-recorded shows. This is useless to me. Furthermore, I logged into may account and attempted to cancel the subscription since it did not meet my expectations. Unfortunately, every time I selected the cancel account option, I was promptly re-routed to the horrible "404 page not found" error. I immediately contacted my financial institution and reported the card stolen and canceled all future transactions on the card. I would have given Hulu a negative star, but one star was the lowest rating available. Find some other suckers, HULU.

jesykam
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/14/18

Hulu never works! Such a waste of money. They can try to blame it on my connection, but my Netflix and Amazon prime TV work just fine. Hulu constantly stops to buffer when trying to watch anything and usually ends in a loading error. I feel like I'm truly being ripped off for paying for something I can rarely even watch. It's time to unsunscribe. I'm fed up.

njnjnjj
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/8/18

A Hulu account allows only one video to be streamed at a time,Doesn't get any worse than this. Stay away!

225 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Not worth it since they updated their interface into an unusable mess. Customer service is awful, stay far away.

By glenn h.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No. Free OTA TV is better than HULU because with an amplified antenna Free TV actually works!

By Ronald B.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

You don't need a fancy smart TV or an App. Hook up your computer or laptop to your TV with an HDMI cable. Set your TV INPUT to HDMI (go to your tv menu, find the input, and select HDMI 1 or 2... whichever port your cable is plugged into). Turn on your computer, log into internet, go to www.hulu.com, sign in, and you're in business. Cool tip: get a wireless keyboard and mouse and you're surfing the web from comfort of your couch. I watch Hulu, Amazon, Netflix, shop online, go on Facebook and email... all from my couch on the big screen :)

By Jenn S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I have 65mb down and I don't have any trouble at all. I think you only need 12mb to stream their highest quality. That could be a complicated answer. It may be your router, or wireless device. That's where you should start looking. Contact Comcast and have them help you trouble shoot. I know my provider has that service.

By David K.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I have similar speeds, about 50 Mbps, but don't have any issue with streaming shows smoothly on HULU. I watch streaming shows directly off my computer, which is connected to my TV via an HDMI cable, essentially works like a big monitor. I connect my computer to internet, and log into www.hulu.com. Works fine. I travel a bit and I also watch shows over hotel WiFi on my laptop, which surely have much slower speeds. I'm not sure why some people have issues at such high connection speeds. IMO, HULU is worth it IF they have the shows available that you want to watch. HULU doesn't have right to many shows. Or you have to pay extra like for HBO.

By Jenn S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Never heard of that, maybe its was advertising for the HBO service you can add on or for their ad-free options which they do not have a free trial of. But they dont charge for their regularshows

By Dani S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

You can use a wii.. a playstation 3, a ruku box.. I have also used my computer and a svga monitor cable to use the laptop to put it right to the tv. You can use google chrome cast also.. the monitor cable works awesome because you can watch utube on your tv too.. tons of movies on there as well.. hope this helps.. I can answer a little better if you have any more questions

By lisa m.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Good luck with that. They are crooks. If you like the British, Canadian and Australian things, Acorn is a terrific deal. I am not affiliated with anybody.

By Gail V.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

If you could provide more info on what/how you're getting Netflix on your TV, are you using a media streaming device (like a Roku, AppleTV, "SmartTV" or a WiFi connected BluRay, the apps are already preloaded on most devices. You can go online and set up an account with Roku and add over 1000 channels from their Channel Store. 90% are free for the watching.

By Christopher Q.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes, if you have the live TV subscription. The user interface requires a little getting used to but I have had none of the streaming, buffering issues that others report.

By Vincent W.
Questions? Get answers from the Hulu staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

3 Photos for Hulu

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Hulu?
Post Review