SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government’s NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of CardPool

CardPool reviews

291 reviews
27%
Categories: Gift Cards
268 Bush St., #3744
San Francisco, CA 94104, USA
Tel: (800) 240-6188
support@cardpool.com

291 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
44
Value
43
Shipping
38
Returns
26
Quality
38

All Reviews

tomr118
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/22/16

I sold a card online. Typed in the card info, got an offer. They approved my transaction and after a phone call mailed me a check. The whole process took 7 days. Sold card on Tuesday. It was approved and a check was mailed on Thursday. Got the check on Tuesday. Im not sure why they are getting so many bad reviews, because the process went fine for me.

Ask Tom about CardPool
Advertisement
christopherg65
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/19/16

Where is my MONEY????? Is this a criminal enterprise? I sent in $2,500 coach gift cards for $$2,125 and that was 3 weeks ago. I have emaied customer service 3 times.....

Ask christopher about CardPool
alb1668
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/2/16

Sold 6 Nike gift cards, entered all the info online and they were accepted and sent them in. A week later I get a call to verify address, etc. and ask where I got the cards (directly from Nike store). All perfectly valid cards. They said thank you and a few days later I get an email saying their "risk assessment" team deemed the cards to risky. Wth? They were perfectly fine. No third party, nothing. So why did they tell me to send them in in the first place? And of course they will not tell you why they deem them risky. Very infuriating. Now I have to wait probably a couple more weeks just to get the cards back with the additional risk of getting them lost in the mail. I will NEVER do business with these guys again. Why would you send in cards to these guys not knowing if they'll arbitrarily deem them too "risky" and just send them back to you again wasting all your time shipping them and waiting.
Spread the word. These guys suck.

Ask Al about CardPool
kimg69
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/1/16

Wonderful service! Couldn't believe how quick it was! Ordered on Tuesday & check sent that day.Received on Monday! Couldn't have been any easier! Will recommend to everyone!

Ask Kim about CardPool
kathys74
3 reviews
6 helpful votes
8/22/16

I use discount gift cards all the time, so I know what to expect. When i use other sites...such as Raise and GiftCardZen ( I recommend both of these companies) I get the online cards emailed to me literally within seconds. Yesterday morning (36 hours ago) I ordered a card from CardPool that I really needed yesterday. I've followed up twice and still do not have the card. Avoid CardPool!

Ask Kathy about CardPool
tyrons10
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/22/16

This site is a $#*!in scam these people have no lives whatsoever..

Ask Tyron about CardPool
eileenl14
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/2/16

Well, I should have read these reviews before doing an exchange with Cardpool.

I sent in a restaurant gift card two weeks ago using Cardpool's own pre-printed mailing label. I included the packing slip I printed from their site which had my name, address, and transaction number.

I wrote them asking where my Amazon gift card was and, surprise, surprise, they supposedly have somehow never received my gift card. How do you prove you mailed something? You can't. So, I'm sol.

They discovered a great way to scam people. Stay far, far, far away!!

Ask Eileen about CardPool
deborahp44
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/21/16

I purchased one electronic gift card online. Received a verification phone call the next day. A few hours later I received an email stating that there was an "inventory error" and my order was being cancelled.

Ask Deborah about CardPool
jaclyns6
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/3/16

I was worried after u made my purchase and reading reviews. I ordered a lowes gift card took a little longer than other companies to recieve. ALMOST 10 DAYS. But it arrived with the full amount ordered. Rating 4 star only because of delivery time. Would be nice to recieve within 3 days like some companies

Ask Jaclyn about CardPool
dianej29
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/2/16

I have used Card Pool for a few years now. I used to receive my electronic gift card within minutes now it takes days. My last purchase was Regal Entertainment. I wanted to take my grand daughter and 2 of her friends to see a movie. Three days later I am still waiting for the email. I received the confirmation and the Thank You email within minutes but not the electronic cards as yet It's been 3 days. I will be looking for another company to do business with. Same problem last time I used Card Pool. I purchase Longhorn Steaks and never received the card in time.

Ask Diane about CardPool
dennisr51
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/30/16

Three orders, three cancellations after waiting several days. But I'm one of the lucky ones, compared to all the reviewers who got fleeced.

Ask Dennis about CardPool
wayneg29
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/29/16

Bought a $102.00 gift card for $76.00 and when I went to use it, it had a ZERO balance. These people are crooks!

Ask Wayne about CardPool
elliottt4
1 review
6 helpful votes
6/18/16

STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY. After placing an order over a week ago for an electronic gift card, they just called me to "verify" my information. The person doing this verification was extremely rude, and frankly, I do not think questions like "what cross street are you near", and "what is the telephone number for your credit card" are necessary at all. When have you ever had to give that information to place an order? I hesitantly gave them my information, and still have not received the electronic gift card I purchased from them over a week ago, and cannot get in touch with anyone over the phone. Never mind that the item I initially wanted is no longer in stock, and the gift card is useless to me. It states on their site with regards to electronic gift cards that:

"We'll typically email you with your electronic or mobile gift cards within 1 business day. During peak holiday periods, please allow 1 additional business day for processing transactions and also consider the USPS holiday delivery schedule."

My credit card has been charged, and no one is giving me any information regarding my order. Between the sketchy verification process (that everyone seems to go through), the horrible customer service, to the fact that it's been over a week and I still haven't received an _electronic_ gift card - AGAIN, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND STAYING AWAY FROM CARDPOOL.COM.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Elliott about CardPool
kevinw126
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/18/16

Purchased a Red Lobster gift card and order was cancelled because it was not available. Just look again and there are over 300 still for sale ???

Tip for consumers: Caution

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Kevin about CardPool
conniec46
1 review
7 helpful votes
6/17/16

cardpool offered to buy Apple gift card. Sent it in and never heard from them again. can't get ahold of anyone to talk to.

Ask Connie about CardPool
evettef2
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/16/16

they cancelled my order for no apparent reason and then failed to deliver a gift card in the time that had been promised to me....i'd stay away in general...you will always be disappointed

Ask Evette about CardPool
jeffb155
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/15/16

Yes, they tend to be better deal than other sites, but they are getting worst. Usually when they hold my order on pending status, and I waited to long for them to approve. I send them an email to have it canceled, which they usually do.

Now when I do that, they would approve my order and than send me an email a few mins later saying that we see that your card was deliveried to you earlier. When I requested them to cancelled my order hours before the gift card was even sent out.

If you going to try something this shaddy, at least waited a few hours before you reply to my email, instead of replying a few mins. after you approve my order..

Ask Jeff about CardPool
caitlinp6
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/14/16

Received my check within a week of mailing it. Will do work with them again. Thank you

Ask Caitlin about CardPool
jojor2
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/5/16

Do not use this comapny! They stole money off my credit card and never delivered my gift cards. "customer service" keeps hanging up on me telling me they communicate through email only, except they NEVER respond to e-mails. I've been dealing with this headache for over a week now so save yourself the trouble I couldn't.

Tip for consumers: DO NOT USE!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask jojo about CardPool
edwardt31
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/4/16

I ordered gift cards from them. They have never emailed a card back as promised. I have never been able to get through on their 800 number except to leave messages and they never call back. Be very cautious with this outfit. Sitejabber should investigate this firm and warn potential customers.

Ask Edward about CardPool
caten2
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/29/16

I have bought over $500 of gift cards. I was then not able to use them and they will either somehow sell them off without your knowledge or you will not be able to use them the majority of them. They do not send you email alerts when the cards have been sold off without my knowledge or consent. ... Rip off!!!! Do not buy any or your card and credit cards will be compromised.
Pain to deal with! !

Ask Cate about CardPool
jasonh126
1 review
16 helpful votes
5/24/16

Not sure what is going on over at this company but one thing I can assure you of, is that is full of dishonest people and outright illegal business practices...
So the story goes, I used their "services" to sell my Nordstrom giftcard which originally had a balance of 107.97. I received this card from a return that was a birthday present. The card literally went from Nordstroms to my wallet and hours later I typed the numbers into Cardpool's website. I scratched off the pin myself 30 seconds before it was typed into the website. Cardpool offered me a $91.55 giftcard to Amazon as trade for my Nordstrom card and so I accepted. Within an hour I received a email confirming my transaction which included a transaction number and stated that my Amazon card would be sent via electrically the following day. Instead, i received an email that stated,
"We recently received your gift card code transaction but our processing center encountered an issue while processing your cards.

Our risk assessment team has determined that we aren't able to accept the transaction at this time. We have cancelled the transaction and are returning ownership of the gift cards to you. Unfortunately, we're not able to disclose any further specifics regarding this process."

That's strange I thought to myself and retrieved the physical Nordstrom card from my trash where it went right after i received Cardpool's confirmation. As you all may have already guessed, $0.00 balance. I read some of the previous posts on this forum and I truly know how you all feel, but at least Cardpool was generous enough to leave some of you with a dollar or two or even .32¢, THEY STRAIGHT LEFT ME WITH NOTHING! Not sure where the members of Cardpool come from, but where I come from that is classified by the authorities as fraud! I am not so much pissed about the fact that this company, which brags about it's honest policies, STOLE my money. I am pissed that you made my wife cry because they stole her birthday gift to me. THE WOMAN MAKES MINIMUM WAGE WAITING ON TABLES AND EARNED EVERY F'IN CENT OF THAT $107.97. THEN YOU WON'T EVEN TAKE THE TIME TO ANSWER MY EMAILS OR ANSWER YOUR PHONES. INSTEAD YOU HIDE JUST LIKE A THIEF WOULD AND HAVE NO RESPONSE OTHER THAN, "Unfortunately, we're not able to disclose any further specifics regarding this process." Well lucky for me and other hard working citizens like my wife and I, there are local state and government bodies who govern every aspect of your business practices. And to Cardpool, SINCE YOU WANT TO STIR UP TROUBLE IN MY HOUSEHOLD, I WILL STIR UP TROUBLE IN YOURS. THIS WILL NOT END UNTIL YOU APOLOGIZE TO MY WIFE YOU SCANDELOUS, COLD HEARTED DECEITFUL PIECES OF SH...

Ask Jason about CardPool
meighanb
1 review
7 helpful votes
4/29/16

Sent a gift card in for 100.00 and now it only has 2.34 left. Seriously wth... Never been ripped off like that. What a sneaky little way to steal from people. Retailers aren't responsible for stolen cards so there is no way to redeem my stolen money

Ask Meighan about CardPool
stelllab
1 review
10 helpful votes
4/27/16

Had $380 on a BR gift card I wasn't going to use. Selected the mail option to get more back. Mailed card to just get an email that there was now only $2 on my card. Called the BR store to see what was going on to be told that $377 had been spent at a store the day I entered my card info into Cardpool website. They won't tell me where yet and I've filed a police report. The card was still in my possession when it was supposedly spent at a store so only people to have access to my gift card # was Cardpool. I'm still fighting with them...please do not use this website!!! I'm still sick to my stomach over this!

Ask stellla about CardPool
janed150
1 review
5 helpful votes
4/26/16

Run from this company! My bank account was compromised after a gift card was purchased. Can not confirm if it was hacked or someone within the company violated me but I can say it is quite a coincident how the many transactions occurred within miles from the company address and from a single highway from there in California. The savings are not worth the headache I now have from this company. BEWARE.

Ask Jane about CardPool

23 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the CardPool staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
8/1/16
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
6/1/16
Answer
jojor2
A: they'll never send it
6/5/16
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
See 20 more questions
See more Q&A
LoadingLoading...
Questions? Get answers from the CardPool staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Similar Pages

×
Have a question about
CardPool?
Post Review