Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of uShip

uShip reviews

22 reviews
205 E. Riverside Dr.
Austin, Texas 78704, United States
Tel: 800-698-7447
support@uship.com

22 Reviews From Our Community

Service
3
Value
3
Shipping
2
Returns
2
Quality
3

All Reviews

geor1094
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
5/1/19

Received my new bike with damaged paint have had issues trying to get the cargo insurance to pay me for repairs

camo
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/27/19

Easy use and good people. Was able to get my pets shipped in a timely manner and a great price. I would use this service every single time. If your looking for a particular driver check out "maryslittlelambs".

johns3633
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/14/19

One of the problems associated with bidding sites is that transport providers often mislead the public. One such provider calls himself HD_Buell who can also be found on shiply and delivery quote compare. This is a man who claims to deliver motorcycles for Harley Davidson, BMW and KTM. He doesnt.

Enquiries at his local dealerships around Newcastle and Durham being Gateshead and Leeds found that Harley Davidson have their own transport operation. BMW had never heard of the man who drives a car towing an open trailer. BMW don't use open trailers for the delivery of new bikes.

If you place a listing on Uship for a motorcycle to be collected and delivered do not use this individual as it is suspected he may also not have the required insurance to transport motorcycles.

mattl180
1 review
3 helpful votes
1/4/19

They will quote you X amount for the shipment. You give exact measurements etc and they come back and add an unauthorized amount to your account. TOTALLY UNTRUSTWORTHY.

timb441
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/30/18

The first time I used them all went as
The first time I used them all went as planed . We booked Old Dominion they were out of this world perfect . You always had contact with driver and they did not find ways to increase you charge . The next time I booked NMU Worldwide . This was a joke , very bad customer service the operator had problems with English speaking and understanding and before they could pick up they were talking about increase in pricing . Can not put you in contact with driver , You can not pay through u-ship who seems to be more secure , then you have to print another BOL . So I call u-ship they cancel pickup first thing in morning and relist pickup but then had to deal with trucking company trying to charge me for there bad service . Uship did fix it but did nothing to this company . after all that there truck 18 wheeler shows up at 5;30 in afternoon turns in wrong driveway and just goes tru 2 neighbors yards and yes it messed there yard up good . I asked the driver what he was doing and he said no one called him ... Once again no communication . So now i am fixing yards and u-ship says they can do nothing Other than this they have been great but NMU is a joke NEVER USE THEM

aarong120
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/7/18

First, I had used Uship for several months to handle my LTL and they always tried to charge more for the freight company and I had to fight them on almost every shipment. Most recently they lost $8k worth of product on a pallet and they will not help me with my claim. it has been 8 plus months, hundreds of emails and seems like we are still nowhere closer to getting paid for our claim. I have supplied them with all the documentation 3 times and they keep delaying paying out my claim! Worst customer service! Do not USE USHIP!!!

michaelw992
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/6/18

Uship has horrible customer service. a driver for Uship picked up my dual jet skis on a trailer. Trailer is almost brand new and so were the tires. Driver went only 105 miles out of 2500 and blew out the tire. They left the jet skis at a gas station and left. I then had to drive up to get them. Upon arrival I noticed the fender bent up as well as the blown tire. It was obvious he had hit something. I replaced the tire and went to hook up the trailer to my vehicle. The lift was now broken on the trailer so I had to lift it up myself. The driver broke this as well. The next day I called Uship. Uship stated that the load was marked as delivered. I explained to Uship what had transpired and that it had not been delivered. I asked for a refund of my money that they are holding in escrow. They stated that they could not release the money to me because the driver had marked it as delivered. They stated that I had to work it out with the driver. I am not willing to work anything out with the driver. He thinks he was due gas money even though he damaged my trailer. He owes me money not the other way around. A supervisor by the name of Vanessa even had the nerve to say that he did deserve some compensation because he did transport it part of the way. She made this ignorant statement even after they had all the evidence. Pics, admittance from the driver that it had not been delivered, etc..
The driver even admitted to marking the load as shipped but stated it was an accident. In any event, I had to go to my local court house and file a Warrant in Debit against them. Not to bright on their part considering it's not their money and it will cost them a lot more to pay a corporate atty to defend the case. I do not know how this company is surviving considering not only horrible customer service but ignorance as well. So basically if you are a driver and you win an auction. You can mark the shipment as delivered when it is not and try to fraudulently get money out of someone and Uship will facilitate this. I asked the Supervisor "well what would happened if the parties did not reach an agreement? Do you think you can just keep the money?" She replied and stated "we can keep it for a year". Guess what. Tell that to a judge.

boydv6
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/5/18

I used to ship for UShip. Had a perfect rating. Night before my last trip my partner broke his leg and I was unable to find a replacement. UShip told me I would no longer be able to accept deliveries if I cancelled my shipments. So I did it on my own. I scratched a ladies floor and offered to pay for it to be refinished. Now I am kicked off the site and they tell me that I won't be paid for my shipments I already did.

anf5
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/3/18

They lost 2 expensive items, we had insurance but they have a loophole. Do not trust them if you have impt/expensive items more than $500. The insurance states 25k if somehting happens to your items, but in order to get that deal you need to pay 700.

noellew14
4 reviews
13 helpful votes
7/19/18

I used them for an interstate move two years ago and I was really impressed by their service. On-time, polite, hard-working, and truly nice people. I don't know about now, but back then your money was held in escrow until you approved their service. The total cost was much less than I had paid previously for local moves. Since I couldn't afford a big tip, I ordered a huge take-out lunch for their 400 mile trip home. Could not have been more satisfied. Why do people mess with success?

Service
Value
Quality
chrisl470
1 review
4 helpful votes
7/12/18

We used Uship as a back up broker every once in a while, and it was a big mistake, they use dirty tricky to lure in customer by give initial good rate and then rebill them x20 times more few month after. I should've known better since they got low review score by the time I used them.

our first shipment with Uship was assigned to UPS freight on an expedite weekend freight because it's a hard access area only reached by a few carriers, after we book the shipment, printed BOL and everything from Uship we were told "we are all good, just wait for the driver" guess what?? the next thing we know UPS freight never showed up, after I called to UPS freight, we were told the pick up request from broker(uship) was never sent, even our status on Uship shows "assigned" so we had to spent hours with UPS freight to get a drive for something we booked through Uship.

And the first hitch is nothing compare to the price scam they pulled on us recently. around later May, we booked a shipment to NY through Uship and assigned to Old Dominion, because their rate beats our current carrier by $20, so sound like good deal right? and we booked the shipment as usual. then on 7/11/18, we got an email from "Uship" simply says "oh hey! we adjusted your bill without reason, here's $1100 more for the single pallet you shipped" As you can see in attachment. Notice that we always input the correct freight info, last time we had dispute freight info was back in 2014 over $35 lift gate, just ask yourself have you ever shipped anything $1200 on a single pallet? and is it right for any broker to bill you an initial amount and then charge you whatever amount they want without your consent?

This is board line criminal business, now our office is seeking legal action on this scam shipper.

My advise, avoid them at all cost!!!

johnv1
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
3/29/18

Motorcycle was picked almost immediately and then I was hostage to the carrier who doesn't bother to answer email or text messages. He answers calls, but only to give promise of delivery date which is not kept. This happens day after day. Two weeks later I am still trying to get my motorcycle.

steveb308
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/22/17

I had to cancel a shipment due to the carrier not being capable of picking up. Extremely frustrated with this company and the shipper - while not wishing to take it out via reviews and the internet, I feel that I must bring the full force of that on EBAY and other sites so that others can avoid the business to find a reliable source of shipment. I was not handled correctly - no full refund (they could not pickup my car), only an 84% refund and the rest as a uShip credit. Unacceptable - completely, and totally unacceptable.

Tip for consumers: DON'T!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
haroldt10
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/6/17

I have submitted requests using this service four times. Out of the four submissions only one of them resulted in a no hassle ordeal. One of the transporters bid on a transport and that's it! He didn't call, text or email. I called Uship and was told to check the transporters reviewa before accepting. I am currently trying to get the same item shipped with being charged a $40 per day storage fee. Someone accepted a bid this morning who had a very strong rating on Uship. The guy promised he would pick up the jet ski today prior to the business closing. But guess what... He didn't make it.

daniellep52
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/14/17

I'd give it zero stars if I could. I wouldn't even be submitting a review if uShip hadn't deleted my post to their Facebook page and then blocked me after I detailed their shoddy customer service when it comes to someone on their site stealing over $3,000 worth of property from me. That's the type of customer service you can expect to receive when your belongings are stolen.

On March 5, 2017, I hired Perfect Shippers via the website uship.com to pick up furniture and boxes from my residence in Maryland on Thursday, March 16, and deliver them to Florida on Saturday, March 18.

The items were picked up by a driver named Mitchell in the early hours of Friday, March 17. The delivery was scheduled for the next day, Saturday, March 18. Mitchell assured me that the delivery would occur as scheduled the next day. I received no communication throughout the weekend despite several text and voicemail messages.

Late Saturday, I was told that the delivery would occur Sunday, March 19, which did not work as I was leaving Florida. Mitchell agreed to store my items until April when I would be back in Florida to accept delivery on Friday, April 21, 2017.

Between Thursday, April 20 and Monday, April 24, I left Mitchell several text messages and left several voicemails and received no response. On the evening of Monday, April 24, Mitchell finally returned my calls with excuses. I asked him to return all items to my home in Columbia, MD. He confirmed that he would do so on Tuesday, May 2.

On Monday, May 1, Mitchell confirmed my property would be returned the next day. I received no communication from Mitchell on the expected delivery date. On Wednesday, May 3, after leaving several more messages, Mitchell told me that he had car trouble and was stuck in South Hills, VA.

After leaving several additional messages between Thursday, May 4 and Monday, May 8, Mitchell told me that he ran out of money and was unable to pay the mechanic's bill. He stated that he was in North Carolina getting money, and would deliver my property no later than Wednesday, May 10.

I've left Mitchell several additional voice and text messages, and once again have not received a response. Uship.com is currently investigating this company and will not provide full details to me. They advised me to file a police report.

Since that time, Mitchell has promised me about 15 new delivery dates. The last of which was supposed to be June 8. On Jun 21, he said he would provide me with yet another date.

So, yeah, I've been dealing with this for nearly four months now. I continue to call this piece of crap, because it takes all of 30 seconds to do.

Did I mention that this person's name isn't even Mitchell? I do know that he's a mental midget. Because, in the meantime, I've been able to locate this person through a combination of Google, Facebook, and Zabasearch. This person has managed to steal from other people through the uShip site, including vehicles. Yes, CARS!

I know where this person lives and works. And now, so do the police, both in Maryland and in his hometown. Because a warrant has been issued for his arrest. I doubt anything will come of it, but #uShip has been totally worthless in this matter. Their last email to me to was "The provider has been banned. Good luck."

So, yeah, avoid this site.

At the end of the day, it's my fault for not researching both the transporter and the terrible site and service that is uShip. The customer service throughout this entire ordeal has been poor. Poor communication, poor follow-up, poor initiative on refunding charges. Avoid this company. Avoid. Avoid. Avoid.

Tip for consumers: Don't use this site.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Response from Brittney H., uShip Representative
Hi Danielle,

Again, I apologize for your frustration with your chosen transporter. This transporter has since been removed and banned from our marketplace. We assure you we are operating within our full legal rights. Please continue to work with your local law enforcement and follow their instructions.
jaredg11
99 reviews
75 helpful votes
1/26/17

Disrespectful, makes up stories, customer service is a joke, wants to be "fair" to both parties even if one was a total jerk, while the other was just a paying customer. You have to chase the guys these brokers (who don't tell you they're brokers) hire who just so happen to seem to not care about anything.

karenw188
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/21/17

We are a Christian organization who provide living options and community services for the elderly. We were recently blessed with two new vans to assist in transporting our elderly residents to and from doctor visits and our wonderful senior outings. We decided to donate our old vans to our sister location in Missouri.
We Googled shipping companies and one of our first results was uShip. We liked the website and contacted the company on a Tuesday morning. uShip contacted us quickly and after a brief discussion we had a shipment scheduled for pickup on Thursday morning to be delivered that afternoon. Easy peasy, or so we thought.
Tuesday morning came and went with no shipper arriving. We contacted uShip and discovered that the truck driver does not actually work for uShip but is contracted to drive for the company. After several calls, uShip said that the driver was held up in traffic and should be here soon. That was acceptable so we waited patiently.
At about 2am a truck pulled in front of our assisted living quarters with the radio blasting some very offensive music. Our residents awoke frightened and confused. Our staff unlocked the front doors to investigate. They encountered an intoxicated man in a large truck with the name Harkey Transport stenciled on the door.
The Harkey Transport driver rolled down the window and began to slur some profanity laced version of English. He then opens the truck door and in an attempt to climb down, he kicks several pornographic magazines to the ground. According to my staff, these materials contained images of a pedophilia nature.
The staff asked the man to leave. The man began yelling and making threatening gestures frightening our staff and further traumatizing our residents. We finally locked our doors and contacted law enforcement. The entire event was a nightmare.
Shame on you uShip for sending a devil in the form of Harkey Transport to our door!

tomb123
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/8/14

Horrible--I would like to tell you what they delivered from their "guarantees"--nothing--

danim13
10 reviews
14 helpful votes
10/15/13

Very usefull website, it's a great place for carriers, brokers, and dispatcher. You will find people according to your search criteria and you can even make bids on your shipments. Gives you the flexibility to negotiate your shipment, I was glad that i found this website and specially the people for my shipment, they even made me a favor. I gotta say USHIP is a very reliable website.

samanthar10
8 reviews
23 helpful votes
6/26/13

My family's newly established business really deals with items that could easily break during shipping or transporting. We looked for good providers of service in the industry of course. The perfect web-based freight company that we found out that can deliver our items from point A to point B safely and without daily is uShip Pro transportation Services Company.
It is actually considered to be one of the world's largest and most trusted marketplaces for transportation markets and bidders. The uShip continually delivers the best services in terms of freight and logistics.
Truckers and manufacturing companies like us have loved this company ever since we availed of its services. I am sure that you will love them too most especially if you will see their statement of commitment to high levels of client's satisfaction.

sarahm50
11 reviews
19 helpful votes
6/26/13

I have mixed emotions about this site because of a bad experience. I only used them twice and had a couple bad experiences both times. First time the shipper was days late in delivering my table. The other issue was shipper damaged my shipment on a cross country delivery. Both issues were taken care of but it just seems like the shippers could have been a little more professional. I might use them again in the future if I don't find a better service as they are like the ebay of shipping.

nikw5
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
6/10/13

First time using the site overall. I had two different shipments to send to two different places. It took me a minute to figure out the navigation and time frame for when I could expect to receive bids on my shipments, when actually as soon as you post your shipment the site takes care of the rest. I received a few emails through the site about dimensions and time frame which were easy to find the alerts and access. No stress involved or worries with shipping companies as Uship covers generally all liability and credibility. You can also easily access reviews from previous customers that have used the companies to ensure quality before you agree. Uship takes a very reasonable fee in my opinion, I didn't feel like I was getting shafted on the price at all. My overall experience was welcoming and gave me much needed piece of mind, little confusing navigating the site at first but that's not really a general complaint but more of a personal issue. I will be recommending the site to others.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the uShip staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

1 Photo for uShip

From the business

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
uShip?
Post Review