We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    Roomster

Corporate Values

Overview

Roomster has a consumer rating of 3.9 stars from 827 reviews indicating that most consumers are generally satisfied with their purchases. Roomster also ranks 1st among Roommate sites.

  • Service
    309
  • Value
    266
  • Shipping
    118
  • Returns
    218
  • Quality
    309

This company responds to reviews on average within 9 hours

Positive reviews (last 12 months): 71.3%
Positive
196
Neutral
39
Negative
40
View ratings trends
23
See all photos

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

  • Had a good experience on Roomster listing my available room for rent.
  • Great resource to find roommates or list rooms for rent.

Critical highlights

  • Helpdesk_messages Csrep009 February 11,2018 20:05:42 RE: Help & Support All customer service is done via this helpdesk.
  • I wouldn't have signed up for 3 days only if I wanted a monthly service!
How would you rate Roomster?
Top Positive Review

“It's very nice that people come forward offering places...”

Andy C.
9/2/20

It's very nice that people come forward offering places for other people to live instead of letting them be homeless

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Feels a bit dodgy”

Amanda C.
8/29/20

Feels a bit dodgy. Spend all this time making an account and listing then pay us to see any results. Wish I had known up front. Apparently I have 17 messages from people. Payed the 5 days to see if they're legit.

See critical reviews

Reviews (827)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

customer service (41) 3 days (18) credit card (22) people (148) place (140) rent (179) new york (17) 3 day subscription (9) roommate (177) good experience (15) 3 day trial (5) trial period (7)
andyc286
0 reviews
0 helpful votes
September 2nd, 2020
Verified purchase
It's very nice that people come forward offering places for other people to live instead of letting them be homeless
calvinc105
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 25th, 2020
Verified purchase
Please inform me when Im at my end date, so I can decide if I still need your service
Reason I chose this business: I need a roommate during these hard times
claireb221
1 review
0 helpful votes
September 10th, 2020
Verified purchase
Too many people answering ad with a general message and then NEVER respond back when I contact them, In fact out of about 10 people that I answered after THEY first contacted me, only 1 got back to me. Now this is not really the fault of your service but rather the rude and entitled nature of so many people now!
I also do NOT like the automatic monthly renewal. Not many people need it for more than a short time. Just a way to hope that people don't remember to discontinue. Also- tooooo many without any pictures or anything
Reason I chose this business: I had to get the messages that were still there in HOPES I will find someone for my room
kimberlym514
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
August 31st, 2020
Verified purchase
Security is paramount and this is the second time I have used this service to find a tenant. I have not had any issues and the people I have found have been quality individuals! Praying it stays that way! I recommend this app for sure above all others
Reason I chose this business: Used it previously with good results
miak34
1 review
0 helpful votes
August 24th, 2020
Verified purchase
Great service. Really recommend for people who is looking for a roommate or a room.
sharlota
1 review
0 helpful votes
September 12th, 2020
Verified purchase
Interesting. I had a lot of scam calls after posting my listing onto my cell phone.
Reason I chose this business: I was tired of the scam calls. I am not currently able to rent an apartment or studio.
jasonm1402
1 review
1 helpful vote
August 29th, 2020
Verified purchase
Im hoping to find roommates or houses pet friendly. My expectations at first were worrisome. Now I have no choice but to try this purchase for thirty days and hope to find better results.
Reason I chose this business: I need a great place to stay asap
patriciar950
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 28th, 2020
Verified purchase
Good I did not see the charges. I hope I get messages I previously posted.
Reason I chose this business: Need a roommate.
kamolaf
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 24th, 2020
Verified purchase
Reason I chose this business: Best application ever
mouradw
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 26th, 2020
Verified purchase
claudiab198
1 review
0 helpful votes
September 1st, 2020
Verified purchase
I think the subscription should end immediately. I do not understand why it is a recurring payment.
Reason I chose this business: My mom told me to.
johnn1167
1 review
0 helpful votes
August 13th, 2020
Verified purchase
Have been sent to this site off and on to only once be in contact with the proper person for a rental transaction.
chips53
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 26th, 2020
Verified purchase
Found an awesome roommate through this app. Hope to do the same again!
johns751
John S. – Roomster Rep
Awesome, Chip! Glad we could help and best of luck on your current search!
peterh939
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 27th, 2020
Verified purchase
jormasp
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 27th, 2020
Verified purchase
I love the idea, seems you have a lot of activity which is great for a provider, but not all accounts are kids looking for roommates or sublets, if the site was business-friendly I think it would bring more appeal and more listings.
Reason I chose this business: Looking for additional exposure platforms for our properties.
charleneb157
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 31st, 2020
Verified purchase
Good user interface. Pictures load clear and quick.
Reason I chose this business: Received message
mikel1244
1 review
0 helpful votes
September 8th, 2020
Verified purchase
The fact that I have to pay to use this service is a little annoying.
Reason I chose this business: Because I need to get out of a lease
javir2
1 review
0 helpful votes
August 1st, 2020
Verified purchase
eliseor8
1 review
0 helpful votes
August 2nd, 2020
Verified purchase
antoniof87
0 reviews
0 helpful votes
August 3rd, 2020
Verified purchase
Reason I chose this business: Need a room
alexanderp178
1 review
0 helpful votes
September 2nd, 2020
Verified purchase
There are a lot of scams on this site. But I'm desperate for a new place so here I am.
Reason I chose this business: Because I really_really_ need to find a new place to live.
chriss2449
1 review
0 helpful votes
August 4th, 2020
Verified purchase
aarfatk
1 review
0 helpful votes
August 4th, 2020
Verified purchase
Reason I chose this business: Looking for a tenant
sandersw8
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 25th, 2020
Verified purchase
Reason I chose this business: It worked for me before.
darreong
1 review
0 helpful votes
August 4th, 2020
Verified purchase
Reason I chose this business: Need a room asap

Q&A (158)

Answer:

We do not post on Craigslist and do not spam or send any messages like this.

By John S.,
See more answers (7)
Answer:

Roomster has a 24/7 fully staffed Help Desk. Please login to your account and you will receive excellent customer service.

By John S.,
See more answers (8)
Answer:

Roomster has a 24/7 fully staffed Help Desk. Please login to your account and you will receive excellent customer service.

By John S.,
See more answers (6)
Answer:

These are untrue statements. We have asked our many satisfied customers to post their positive experiences about Roomster to counteract the negative, and mostly untrue statements posted about us. If you notice that Sitejabber has negative reviews of almost every company doing business in the united states. If it was all true, there would be no business left and everyone would be out of work. People never write good reviews, people love to be negative. Its sad.

By John S.,
See more answers (3)
Answer:

Hi Aminah, Roomster did not post that ad on Craigslist, we did not create that link and there fore we can not offer support for it. This looks to be one of our affiliates, who should not be doing this. We will be removing this person from our affiliate program. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

By John S.,
See more answers (4)
Answer:

That makes little to no sense. Undeleted? What does that even mean? N you want to create an account after you deleted it? Go ahead.

By John S.,
See more answers (4)
Answer:

Roomster has a 24/7 fully staffed Help Desk. Please login to your account and you will receive excellent customer service.

By John S.,
See more answers (2)
Answer:

I don't know why you would be asking questions about Roomster on this site, when we have a 24/7 customer service help desk. Go to http :// /www.roomster. Com

By John S.,
See more answers (4)
Answer:

I suggest contacting Roomster's 24/7 customer support service help desk.

By John S.,
See more answers (4)
Answer:

Hi David, Thanks for the question. We do not send text messages or spam our clients so its not us! Text messages can be sent on Roomster to from one member to another.

By John S.,
See more answers (3)

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the Roomster staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Roomster connects people at all price points, in 192 countries. With 24/7 customer service and an always expanding community of users, Roomster is the best way for people to monetize their extra space and make it available to a membership of authentic...

Company Representative

johns751
John S.
Typically responds within 9 hours

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Roomster?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members

See reviews as you browse with our Chrome extension

3.9
818 reviews
Have a question about Roomster?