Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Roomster

Roomster reviews

559 reviews
285 West Broadway, Suite 320
New York, NY 10013, US
Tel: +1-916-445-1254
help@roomster.com

559 Reviews From Our Community

Service
307
Value
260
Shipping
113
Returns
218
Quality
303

All Reviews

viciy
1 review
4 helpful votes
7/15/19

I registered only because I saw a posting on Craigslist and it turns out it's a bait for registering.
The post was carefully crafted looking for roommate and a girl get back to me in email with a bitly tracking link asking me to signup and she will call me back. Then roomster just started spamming my mailbox with content: "contact me directly zxxxx@xxx.com," or "call to schedule a tour"
It's totally a waste of time and the worst way to get people email and phone number.

kylert3
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/15/19

I opted into the 7day trial and then canceled my subscription. Somehow it enrolled me into a 5 day trial for 24.95. I don't know how this occurred. Please do not subscribe or give them any card information.

katieh180
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/9/19

Site wasn't helpful at all. I also cancelled my subscription the day it was ending and they had already billed me and wouldn't give me a refund. I definitely don't recommend!

marya950
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/9/19

Run away from roomster, once the have the card details, the will keep taking money from your account. I only subscribed for 5 6 trial, which is $7.95 .But the later took out $24.95. Pleasw dont be a victim like me. You cant contact them on phone. They only have automated texting which will not resolve your problems. Beware

dgv
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/7/19

The site is infested with scam artists who've manipulated the algorithm. The site also makes it profit by not giving you the ability to request refunds on all payments.

hsinc
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/6/19

So you want to find a room, right? Probably you would like to try Roomster.com! Let me tell you my experience with Roomster.com, OK? On the 29th of May, I was so desperate to find a room. Then I paid Roomster.com $7.95 for trial period and got a receipt. When I tried to access the room list, I was prompted to plug in Google extensions. At that point, I got stuck and moved nowhere. I got no help from customer service. Too bad I did not cancel my subscription right away. On the 4th of June, Roomster.com charged my card for $24.95. They sent me no receipt. They claimed if I did not cancel the subscription during the trial period and will be billed again for the regular monthly service. So what is
the point of trial period. Do you think Roomster.com showed efforts in making service? Do you agree Roomster.com is busy in raking money?

Tip for consumers: Do you have lots of time and money to waste? Is Roomster.com a reputable business entity? Read what others say about
Roomster.com . . . Think twice or 3 times before you jump. . .

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
mg367
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/5/19

I deactivated my roomster account 2 months ago yet I continued to be charged and asked customer service for a refund. There response was that because I did not tell them prior to being charged I will not receive a refund. I highly recommend not using roomster or do not expect quality customer service because they only care about $$ not the customer!

joelg106
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/1/19

If you delete your account then try to sign up again the site will not allow you to recreate an account if you previously used your cell phone or email account to be verified. And to top it off you cannot click on the help icon unless you can sign in. You guys SUCK!

litam2
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/26/19

thanks for awesome website..i find my room in this website. so i think any time its the best web site in online room shearing site

francoisb21
1 review
9 helpful votes
5/16/19

French student with an internship in chicago I wanted to find an apartment for 3 months, during my free version I got many "messages", in order to see them I had to pay a subscription (1 week = 7$). However when I had this premium account: only scam messages...... "send the money to the family lawyer..."
Moreover after this week of subscription, no more news, no more emails.... But of course when you pay for 1 week in premium ($7) you also "subscribe" to a subscription of $25 per month without seeing it!!!! it's a nice theft, a site where you will only find scams!!

I advise you not to run away!!!!!!!

perryw27
1 review
7 helpful votes
5/11/19

After paying for a few months (canceling my subscription after every payment fortunately) my account was suddenly deleted. No email saying I did something wrong (I had only sent inquiries out to people to see if they had interest in my room or answered inquiries), and no way to contact them as everything is automated AND requires having an account to access (thanks for deleting mine). Now I am out the rest of my subscription period and people I hope were real leads, but given the amount of bogus inquiries I cannot be sure, I cannot follow up to set up house tours. Please avoid and if you do use the site for some reason be SURE to cancel your subscription after paying because I have seen a lot of other people with similar issues. Definitely would recommend to avoid once again.

candicel29
1 review
7 helpful votes
5/5/19

Very poor bad experience with Roomster. Out of about 20 ads posted, only 2 were verified, and all the pics of the young women were sexy type pics, and their bios were almost the same. I never got a response from any of them, then of course if you don't cancel the subscription (which I did thank God) you get charged 3 X more. Ugh stay away!

christinem425
1 review
17 helpful votes
4/20/19

I was looking for a room to rent using craigslist and the listings would say they did NOT respond to emails via Craigslist, you HAD to go over to roomster and chat with them there. Of course, over at roomster you had to PAY for a subscription in order to be able to message someone or read their message to you. There are one or two legitimate listings, but by far MOST are phony listings designed to get you to the site. The photos of the people are also clearly not real. The big-boobed 20-year old posing on the beach is not the person that is trying to rent you a roomif there even IS a real room behind this fake facade!! All the room photos show beautifully decorated rooms. NOT real. Then this morning an ad for an iPhone shows up as having a room for rent. WTF? Roomster's algorithm probably just grabbed an ad from Craigslist that it thought was a room for rent?
I don't know, this whole site is shady. Everything about this site screams of being fake and a scam in order to get your subscription money.

jenniferk339
1 review
14 helpful votes
3/23/19

This is an update to my first review where I gave 1 star because they charged me when I had already canceled and wouldn't refund me. I am updating to 3 stars since they did eventually refund my full purchase. I would just say to think about it. I had to pay to read messages people sent me.. come to find out they didn't really send ME messages... you just get "messages" when new people join matching a listing you may have. None of the people you get messages from respond back..... likely because they would have to pay too... The messages I got were not about my listings so I paid to see global messages. If you do the trial, be sure you cancel right away so you don't get charges the membership full price.

Roomster attempted to help this customer through the Sitejabber Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond

maxa58
1 review
54 helpful votes
12/13/18

Was lured from Craigslist with deceptive advertising. They advertise on craigslist asking you to create an account to apply for the Craigslist advertised room. I created an account and paid for a week subscription. I Sent out 13 messages about open rooms on the website and didn't get a single response. I'm not even convinced that the advertised postings on Craigslist were real; they're really just looking to lure you into a paid subscription. I don't mind paying for a legitimate service, but this reeks of deceptive advertising and foul play.

Response from John S., Roomster Representative
Max, Every single listing on Roomster is created by a real person using a social login and verified using an email & text. We record an ip address for every single account created and login history. I'm sorry that you didn't like our service, but your post is irresponsible. As you may know you created an account on roomster on 1/13/2017 11:39:30 PM, using FB login we verified you using your Linkedin, email & text on 12/3/2018 9:38:58 PM when you accessed your account. All our users are just as real as you.
kirstenm13
3 reviews
40 helpful votes
10/29/18

subscribed for a trial period. NOT ONE person replied. This is such a rip-off. I even contacted a person on craigs who then said to go on roomster. however: on that site i could NOT find the room i looked at. i texted the person via craigslist. No reply - nothing. None of them have answered so far. I cancelled my trial after 3 days. will see if they charge me for another 30 days or 7 days. i am thinking of calling my bank to avoid any future charges.

Response from John S., Roomster Representative
Kirsten Mattick signed up on 10/23/2018 6:15:09 PM and canceled on 10/26/2018 2:41:16 PM. She decided that we were a joke because she didn't find a room in 3 days. That's not very fair. She also canceled her subscription so there are no future charges of any kind.
juellesc
1 review
33 helpful votes
10/25/18

I tried the five-day Roomster trial. I live in New York City, so I figured the site would have some legit listings as it can be a tough city to find housing. For every one real listing there are 15 scam listings. I'd also like to note that there are not many real users / listings on here.

I wish Roomster would take an active role is cleaning up the false listings. You can tell they are fake because 1. the rent prices are insanely low 2. the user immediately asks to chat with you via email and tells you he is out of town for his job and you can wire him the monthly rent.

I'm only out $7.95 so it's not the worst thing in the world, but I would not recommend this particular site. Instead, I had success with the Roomi app and Spare Room.

nikkif27
1 review
25 helpful votes
10/20/18

This website is terrible and very misleading! I signed up for a 5 day trail period which was $7.95. They lead you to believe that you are paying for just those specific amount of days. Turns out that they just automatically renew your account with a monthly subscriptions. The way they operate is really SHADY considering that there is no notices before or after the charges, not even in an email like most normal and ethical businesses would do. I found out 2 months later that they charged me $24.95 twice; 5 days after my trail period ended and then again on October 18th. Their customer service is trash. Most online subscriptions that I have dealt with usually refund charges even if you canceled the subscription after the billing period, especially if you were not aware. The guy who I was speaking to online was so useless and unhelpful.Terrible customer Service! Also the majority of the profiles on roomster are scammers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The fact that they save your credit card information online is also very shady!!

pavithram1
1 review
23 helpful votes
10/14/18

I signed up for the 5-day trial. Any legitimate website sends you a warning email, or notification to remind you that the paid subscription is coming to an end. However, I received nothing and I was charged $24.92 on my credit card.

I got no leads!! Also, no one replied to the messages I sent them. I only got random messages from people who I never contacted. Please stay away from this site.

I agree there is an auto-renewal clause, but so does audible. I had no such experience with other websites. Even if I canceled the subscription after the free period, I was still paid back. I am really upset!

I do not understand why they only picked few members for a refund and they did not provide the others. I see discrimination!!!

They are also PCI violators. They retain the CVV code after purchase, they send it back to you when you dispute the additional payment ($24.92). By sending the purchase details along with your CVV, they share all your highly sensitive information with the online hackers. I had to order a new credit card!!!!!

I only got the refund after raising the CVV code issue. Anyways, be careful guys.

jeremyc139
1 review
20 helpful votes
7/24/18

If you've been frustrated with scammers on Craigslist, just wait till you sign up for a paid account with Roomster. Fraudulent listings abound in this space. I have yet to hear from support about how they deal with these scams.
Never send $$ to someone who promises to mail you the keys to a property.
This website has given me nothing but taken precious time in my search for an apartment to rent.
Those who've wasted money on this scam site have an option to get your money back: Contact your credit card company, describe the scam, and they'll likely dispute the charge to your credit card, and credit back your account.
I've included a screenshot of the correspondence between myself and a Roomster representative.
It appears that founder and CEO of Roomster took the opportunity to lie to you in his reply to my post here. I, in fact, did request a refund and was denied, as you can see in the attached photo. Only by contacting my credit card company, was I able to sequester a refund. It is not surprising that Mr. John Shriber's company has 213 complaints with the Better Business Bureau and has just 1 star on Sitejabber.

Roomster attempted to help this customer through the Sitejabber Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond

Response from John S., Roomster Representative
Yes, Jeremy Cowen used our service for ONE day before contacting his credit card company. he also contacted us, and we issued him a refund right away.
We even sent him a message on 7/24/2018 3:20:38 PM saying so. "
In response to your concerns regarding billing, your account has been approved for a full refund. The request has already been sent to Roomster’s billing department to be processed. We will let you know as soon as your account has been credited. In the meantime your account status had been reverted back to the basic “free account”.
Jeremy Cowen https://www.linkedin.com/in/jeremy-cowen-a80204137/ is not a very nice person, we issued him a refund & he writes an untrue review and is proud that he tried to steal from us. Sad.

**please also note that we serve millions of people each year. 213 complaints over 3 years is less than .00003% of total users.
olofd
1 review
38 helpful votes
4/3/18

Tried it and it was horrible. Literally only spam messages that were irrelevant to my search, and expensive. Did the 5 day trial. After 4 days (?!) the charged for the next month. What is the point of a 5 day trial if you are charging for another month after 4 days? Complete rip off, stay away.

Roomster attempted to help this customer through the Sitejabber Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond

Response from John S., Roomster Representative
This review, is not accurate. Olof Dallner purchased a subscription on 3/27/2018 2:05:55 PM that renewed on 4/1/2018 12:28:02 PM. THAT'S MORE THAN FIVE DAYS!!!!

All Roomster subscription charges were authorized by you at the time of purchase via PayPal and a receipt was sent to you with instructions how and when to cancel to avoid any additional charges.


- PayPal Subscription: https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_profile-recurring-payments&encrypted_profile_id=I-4K19K0UAX2WU

- Purchase Receipt: https://www.roomster.com/user/receipt/NjE0c0hBb2I0aDZ3Y0pjbU9yNVpDYytmVTg3MXc2bjU=

- Billing History: https://bnc.lt/diNm/whBnNyqkSI?path=settings


If you "Cancel Subscription" (https://bnc.lt/diNm/whBnNyqkSI?path=settings) you will have full access to your mailbox for the duration of your paid period, but it will not be renewed.

Our visual tutorial (https://www.roomster.com/tutorial) is available to view the process of subscribing and canceling.
gregga11
1 review
57 helpful votes
3/26/18

Nothing on here is legit. I messaged so many people and didn't get a single reply. I would get random messages from people saying "I spoil my roommates" and other super weird stuff. $30 and a month later, not a single lead.

UPDATE: "Customer Service" has reached out to me several times telling me that they will refund my money if I take down my review. I said, you give me the money back, I'll take down my review"...3 months of going back and forth, forgetting our entire email history a few times, still no refund so....my review is still here!

Roomster attempted to help this customer through the Sitejabber Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond

alexiab5
1 review
6 helpful votes
3/23/18

---UPDATED---

A Roomster Rep contacted me. He gave me a refund. Thank you Roomster! Here's a copy of his response to me and my original review at the bottom. I would rate this site 4 stars considering the site doesn't have anything other than automated chat bots. John was right, I had overreacted. I really didn't know i was going to be charged again. His response:

Alexia. I have gone and processed a refund for the last charge, i had to cancel your subscription, because it was still active. As an FYI had you canceled your subscription on your own you would not have been charged to begin with. The screenshots of your actual payment page & the email we sent you prove that we are not "Scammers" which is really a mean and unfair thing to say, since we are not at all.

best,
John

Original Review-
This site is terrible!! I paid for a 5-day trial period for $7.95 and 5 days later I was charged $24.95 for an additional 5 days!! They did NOT tell me that my trial started a subscription and now I can't pay my credit card bill because they took the money from me with no warning or reminder email or anything. I contacted customer service but they don't have real people, only an automated chat! DO NOT USE THIS SITE. SERIOUSLY.

Tip for consumers: Carefully read the fine print. Don't skim over it because you're in a rush. Really read it.

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
rachelr106
1 review
19 helpful votes
3/22/18

I got the trial membership and I thought I wouldn't be charged for the full version for several weeks. 5 days later, I was charged 24.95 for the full membership. During the trial period, anyone I messaged never replied. I emailed the company asking for a refund because I believe the information was misleading. They were rude and said I wouldn't be refunded. Please don't waste your time or money. You'll spend 30+ bucks on absolutely nothing.

Roomster attempted to help this customer through the Sitejabber Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond

mattm177
1 review
32 helpful votes
3/1/18

This site is a fraud, fake, a total joke. They misrepresent the cost, say your only paying for limited time ($7.95 for x days) then bam! $24.95 shows up on charge (F@@K you with fine BS print that wasn't clear upfront).

Roomster attempted to help this customer through the Sitejabber Resolution Center, but the customer did not respond

Response from John S., Roomster Representative
Just because a reviewer post a negative review does not make it true. see Matt McGowan's transaction screenshot & the receipt that was sent to him via email.

All Roomster subscription charges were authorized by you at the time of purchase and a receipt was sent to you with instructions how and when to cancel to avoid any additional charges.


- Payment Screenshot: https://www.roomster.com/user/paymentscreen/VFgyVFZjcXkxOVlYRmV6VzBlQ0Vrd0d4bWtEN3YwSjA=

- Purchase Receipt: https://www.roomster.com/user/receipt/VFgyVFZjcXkxOVlYRmV6VzBlQ0Vrd0d4bWtEN3YwSjA=

- Billing History: https://bnc.lt/diNm/whBnNyqkSI?path=settings


If you "Cancel Subscription" (https://bnc.lt/diNm/whBnNyqkSI?path=settings) you will have full access to your mailbox for the duration of your paid period, but it will not be renewed.

Our visual tutorial (https://www.roomster.com/tutorial) is available to view the process of subscribing and canceling.
1 rating was submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

We do not post on Craigslist and do not spam or send any messages like this.

By John S., Roomster Representative
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Roomster has a 24/7 fully staffed Help Desk. Please login to your account and you will receive excellent customer service.

By John S., Roomster Representative
Helpful answer -1
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Roomster has a 24/7 fully staffed Help Desk. Please login to your account and you will receive excellent customer service.

By John S., Roomster Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

These are untrue statements. We have asked our many satisfied customers to post their positive experiences about Roomster to counteract the negative, and mostly untrue statements posted about us. If you notice that Sitejabber has negative reviews of almost every company doing business in the united states. If it was all true, there would be no business left and everyone would be out of work. People never write good reviews, people love to be negative. its sad.

By John S., Roomster Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

that makes little to no sense. undeleted? what does that even mean?n you want to create an account after you deleted it? go ahead.

By John S., Roomster Representative
Helpful answer -1
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Aminah, Roomster did not post that ad on Craigslist, we did not create that link and there fore we can not offer support for it. This looks to be one of our affiliates, who should not be doing this. We will be removing this person from our affiliate program. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

By John S., Roomster Representative
Helpful answer -1
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Roomster has a 24/7 fully staffed Help Desk. Please login to your account and you will receive excellent customer service.

By John S., Roomster Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I suggest contacting Roomster's 24/7 customer support service help desk.

By John S., Roomster Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I don't know why you would be asking questions about Roomster on this site, when we have a 24/7 customer service help desk. Go to http:///www.roomster.com

By John S., Roomster Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi David, Thanks for the question. We do not send text messages or spam our clients so its not us! text messages can be sent on Roomster to from one member to another.

By John S., Roomster Representative
Questions? Get answers from the Roomster staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Roomster?
Post Review