Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

Orchard Supply Hardware (OSH) reviews

Is this your business?
19 reviews
6450 V?_a Del Oro
San Jose, CA 95119, US
Tel: 1 888 SHOP OSH (1-888-746-7674)
oshmkt@osh.com

19 Reviews From Our Community

Service
2
Value
2
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
2

All Reviews

miker294
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/10/17

I've been going to OSH since 1980 and have been a member of the rewards program since January of 2012. In that whole time I've redeemed maybe two "rewards." The reason? OSH deletes your rewards if you don't use them within a specified time! If you go into Sears or Office Depot and give your telephone number they say "You have an $x.xx reward accumulated. Do you want to use it?" Orchard NEVER does that. So if you miss the email from them, the reward is gone. It p***es you off. This can't possibly be a motivator of sales. It's more of a disincentive program than rewards program.

danielk117
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/18/17

The store is awesome. It is clean and very organized. I will definitely shop there more in the future. The store employees were constantly asking if I need any assistance. The store manager Chris Tamaru came up to introduced himself and asked if I needed any help. Very informative. I also met Greg who was also helpful. I'm glad I stopped in. I think I found my new hardware store.

raym899
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/26/17

Once email access is set up you can not get help to correct errors in the account. store staff will not help tell you to go to email for corrections.
However if you can't get into a account you are lost.

lauriek23
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/17/17

Loved the one on Branham...always had help.This one on Blossom Hill ...ugh. They have everything if you can find it or a knowledgeable person to help you. No one around. Finally a young guy, in answer to a question , just pointed to vague areas in this large store. As in "back there" . At 80 years old I cannot walk miles around the store to find stuff and and I spent an hour just trying to find stuff or a person.

albertf31
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/8/17

Just wanted to let the people know how wonderful and helpful these following people are at OSH Manteca, CA. The Asst. Manager, Ms. Tamera Fells :) was outstanding!!! and the two workers who carried all my stuff out to put into the car.

paulw205
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/1/17

My rewards never seem to amount to anything. Its really annoying considering that every transaction I'm asked to give the information to the cashier which takes quite a while.

Suggestion: Instead of rewards just give consistently great values. Also that greeter at the front door is a really great service; hope that will continue. This separates you from Home Depot and even Central Valley here in Napa, CA where the employees flee from any inquiry. Yet Wal-Mart still has the greeter and good prices. Your return policy and checkout process are better. The check out process would be twice as fast if you dump the rewards program.

joanief
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/19/16

I went to the store at 1375 Blossom Hill Road STE 24 in San Jose, Ca and I was looking for a Filter for my furnace. I was fortunate enough to have a very helpful gentleman by the name of "Sa'ed." He was helpful and explained everything to me regarding the items I was looking at. Sa'ed helped me with the filters and then helped me with some items for Christmas, and then helped me decide on nozzles and sprinkler hoses, etc. He knew the items well and he didn't push me to buy anything but he helped me the whole time through the store. He was a wonderful help. He was attentive and had a good knowledge about everything in the store. I enjoyed his positiveness and helpfulness. He even helped me to my car with the items after I bought them. He is truly the best salesman I have ever had at Orchard Supply. I will go back to see him at the store when I need something for my home. Orchard Supply Hardware has an excellent employee! If you visit the Blossom Hill Road Store at Meridian, ask for Sa'ed to help. Thank you Sa'ed for your help !

Service
Value
Quality
janetf28
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/11/16

I recently purchased a BBQ from OSH. Service was great, very friendly. The BBQ was supposed to be assembled and available for me to pick up the following week. There was a small problem and assembler was not scheduled to come in, so a week later it was still not ready. After I contacted OSH they were very quick with a reply. Katie was very helpful and apologetic and got right on it. Without me asking she said they would have it assembled and deliver it for free, because of the mixup and inconvenience. Wow. I then got a call from Victoria again apologizing and asking when would be convenient for them to deliver. My BBQ was delivered the following day. Mistakes happen, but it is how the situation is resolved that matters. I was very pleased with OSH customer service and resolution to a mistake

jc109
14 reviews
25 helpful votes
10/11/16

Great service! There is person located at the entry door to help customers right away. A person was paged to meet me at the aisle for further assistance. They were knowledgeable and friendly. Much better than going to Home Depot because no one wants to help.

jimo31
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/9/16

I bought patio furniture from OSH a little over a year ago....every single chair has broken around the welds, and is now unusable. went to the store to see what can be done, and got the run around. They could not fine my transaction, they woud only credit me the lowest sales discount amount, bring in my chairs first, only to get no resolution to my issue.

OSH patio furniture is sub=standard, to say the least. I got nothing from them to resolve my issue. I would thin that patio furniture should last more than a year, but apparently not if you buy from OSH.

I have decided to purchase only from Home Depot from now on, as they have always stood behind their product. Since this dealing with OSH over the chairs, I have decided to only buy from Lowes or Home Depot.

OSH had no interest in trying to resolve my issue with sub-standard products that they sell.

Do not buy appliances, patio furniture, or any high end item from them....they do not stand behind their products, even if defective.

bobbij3
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/21/16

Today we went to buy cushions for the table and chairs previously purchased at Orchard Supplies in Sonora, California. The price on the shelf stated $14.95, yet when the cushions were rung up it was £39.99. Huge difference. The check-out girl (Jami) did not attempt to argue with us when we said the shelf said $14.99 nor make us feel as if we were trying to pull a fast one or embarrass us. She notified the manager and asked if she could honor the price. I showed the manager where I found them and the proper price had fallen to the floor and indeed, it did say $14.99 below the cushions. He offered a compromise to half the price of the cushions with no hesitation and apologized. I thought this was more than fair and in no way did they make us feel bad. I was seriously impressed.

bonnieb59
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/6/16

I ordered a Suncast shed, costing about $600, from OSH online on November 31. I requested, but never received, an email confirmation of the order. In fact, I never received the courtesy of a reply to my request. Luckily, they did send the shed to me.

I just tried to register the product online at Suncast's site. However, I have no receipt, so I was not able to register the purchase. I will not be able to use the product's warranty if there is a problem. I also was unable to receive Club Orchard credit for the purchase.

There is a complete lack of customer service for their web site. I won't order online from OSH again.

jang42
10 reviews
12 helpful votes
3/20/16

OSH doesn't know what it is. It has become so boutiquey that finding some real hardware items is often quite iffy. No more building materials like lumber and bricks, at least in our local store. Nice displays of pretty patio and garden items, but that is not "Supply Hardware." Prices are average, certainly not bargain. They have a rewards program, but I've not figured out what it is about--I've never got any discounts. The plants seem OK, but there is no staff to advise one and going to a dedicated nursery is a far better choice for the dedicated gardener. They do have lots of things like bug killers and cleaning products. Also lights and bulbs, but the prices seem high. Locally our choice is between OSH and Home Depot. I long for the old-fashioned hardware store.

Service
Value
Quality
maryanng14
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/4/16

Best customer service by far. We were limited to the extent of the Hardware/Supply stores in our city. In my opinion, they were so small and carried limited items. Needless to say, when OHS opened in our City, I was ecstatic. This is my "go to" store for everything. OUTSTANDING CUSTOMER SERVICE; YOU ARE GREETED WHEN YOU ENTER THE STORE AND IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR SOMETHING IN PARTICULAR, YOU ARE DIRECTED TO THE AREA, INSTEAD OF WANDERING AROUND, WASTING TIME OR TRYING TO FIND SOMEONE TO HELP YOU. I find their staff knowledgeable, personable, and patient. Love the fact they provide suggestions as well. My most recent interaction was with TYLER. He assisted me with some gardening supplies. What a delightful and helpful young man. In my opinion, he is a true asset to your company and I will continue to be a loyal customer. It is so pleasant shopping here, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS STORE AND BELIEVE ME, THEIR STAFF KNOWS THE TRUE MEANING OF "GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE". Thank you for the opportunity to write my review.

carolineb22
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/18/15

I was very dismayed when visiting our local store to purchase some fresh plants to pot at seven birthday gifts. I found at least 60 percent of the plants dead, almost dead and in need of water. I spoke to the customer service gal and she just said, "Oh, okay the garden lady is here today I will tell her" I really did not want to drive to Home Depot or other locations for my purchase, I prefer local.

judyl27
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/19/15

I recently purchased an offset umbrella at the Watsonville OSH. It was the last one, so I took the floor model. After getting it home I filled up the bases with sand. When I put the umbrella up I realized the rotating unite was leaning toward the umbrella. I called the store and talked to the manager, Erin. He ordered me another one and allowed me to just take the part I needed. The very nice young man in the back (pick-up area) tried two different stands until we found the right one and put it together for me. I can't say enought about how polite and helpful everyone is in the Watsonville OSH. Wonderful experience.

laureea
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/3/14

What is the purpose of a Rewards Program when the personnel are uneducated on the mechanics of redeeming points? I was told the rewards will always roll over and now I am told that I have lost points. Why is the consumer obligated to take time to constantly check online for rewards. I would suggest that OSH find a more sophisticated method of rewarding their Club OSH members. Presently it seems the company is banking on the fact that they have made it too difficult.
Train your checkers on the truth of the Club Rewards procedures when they sign up. Easy to enroll and VERY difficult to be reward.

carln10
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/16/14

Have you noticed that Osh doesn't say CHRISTMAS in their ads?

robertl18
3 reviews
18 helpful votes
4/2/12

This is about the service I recieved at Orchard supply I have been shopping at for 30 years. This is so bad you would think I made it up. But trust me it is true! On this past Sunday (4-1) I was to give a B day party for my 91 year old mom. She likes BBQ. I knew my old gas grill was worn out and dangerous. Iron inside rusted out. Sunday before (3-25) Orchard had a coupon fro a made in USA Huntington grill. I went on tues 3-27. they could not find any. Oh these are pre assembled. they could not find any even though computer said had two. I ran out of time. 1 hour plus, said i would come back next day, I did, after looking again oops we must be out.I suffer from a disability and needed to get home so said come back next day and get perhaps more expensive model. And man of my word I did. 2 hours to figure out the SKU and price of ones on floor. Way out of budget.. So they won and I bought a different product. Oh they did give me a small discount. Probably did not pay the fuel bill back and forth @ 4.45$ a gallon. Have a Big car v-8. So I bought a charbroil grill (more on this later) 79 dollars for the delever next day ha ha 10 miles? So I get a call same evening delivery windo is 8 to 12. ok still time to put together. when almost 12 get a callcan't find this one!!!!!!! Remember I am cleaning the house getting all to do ready. Finally I call store at almost 4 pm and ask if I get one or not ??? Oh yes we sending guys to ANOTHER store to get one!!!!! Why was this impossible at the very start?
So after dinner start putting together ( Charbroil) Please understand this kind of stuff is easy for me and I have proper tools.This charbroil 4 burner made in China has more packing the bbq edges where you could cut yourself. It said the fire box was two person job..I lifted one hand and aligned with other. At midnight I put it half assembled i garage. We had great bbq!! How? Filled old cast iron Brinkman with charcoal!! Rib so good! And also my brother who is an eenginer saw the new one and said pathetic design. cost more that on I wanted too! I see my family next week Have 2 U.C. Berkley Lawers in that group. Might have a little chatt

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Orchard Supply Hardware (OSH) staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Orchard Supply Hardware (OSH)?
Post Review