Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of OKdress.co.uk

OKdress.co.uk reviews

94 reviews
SITE CLOSED
London, LONDON W1B, GB
service@okdress.co.uk

94 Reviews From Our Community

Service
5
Value
5
Shipping
5
Returns
3
Quality
5

All Reviews

gillf1
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/27/15

I was very nervous after reading some of the reviews but I needn't have worried my dress is beautiful and wonderful quality, I had a seamstress in Wales look at it and she was amazed at the fit considering I only sent my measurements. Hats off to the people who put so much work into my lovely dress, I will be proud to wear it on my wedding day. Thank you to everyone at OKdress. Gill x

georgiad4
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/27/15

I was worried about my order from reading other reviews but it came within 2 weeks of ordering it and looks great. It doesn't look exactly the same as the photo but it is of really good quality and I am really happy with it. Reasonable prices as well, nothing wrong with the company!

donnas64
1 review
4 helpful votes
4/24/15

Wish I had read reviews before buying from this site. I literally cried as I opened my dress today. Didn't look like the one I ordered at all. Had lots of loose threads, looked really cheap, size was incorrect. Smelt like old fish. The sequins were badly sewed on. Wasn't even the correct shape. I was looking forward to receiving this dress, as it was beautiful in the picture and I couldn't believe they sent me this, no one would EVER wear it, especially on there big day, so disappointed. I thought this was to good to be true, thought I was getting a bargain but £200 is a lot of money to just throw away, could be put towards a dress that's worth the money. Truth is you get what you pay for. I can't understand why this company gets away with this scamming. DO NOT ORDER FROM THIS SITE, any good reviews written are written by the company themselves. Doubt I'll even get my money back as there return policy is so complicated and will have to spend more money on receiving a refund. There must be something, someone, that can be done to stop this site. Goes without saying but it's not even worth the 1 star.

damarisg
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/16/15

I ordered the dress (wedding dress) from UK, it got delivered from China as well and I had to pay an extra tax (they paid it back to me as I obligated them). It took almost TWO MONTHS to get the dress delivered after calling them several times. The dress was horrible, it was not even similar to the picture shown on the website even the size was the wrong one. I would never ever wear that dress on my wedding. I had to change it all, and assemble it myself as it was a really awful dress. I paid 100 pound to get it fixed. DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM THEM. Careless with Customers and they don't reply emails only calls. They don't even speak proper English.

kelip
1 review
4 helpful votes
4/12/15

Ordered a dress which arrived 2 weeks late !!!!!
The dress was a cheap copy and looked nothing like the dress I had ordered off there website.The top part had cheap sequins sown on,and smelly of fishy.
Very disappointed am now stuck with a dress never to be worn.
Do not waste your money,wish I had read reviews before purchasing ,as I thought I d ordered a dress from the uk not from China.

sharrond2
1 review
3 helpful votes
4/7/15

Dress was way to big, dress was not sewn properly and last but not least nothing like in the picture I would like a full refund.

annaw31
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/6/15

Ordered my wedding dress and two braidsmaid dresses from there. Cheaply made, smell like old fish and on top of that they aOrdered my wedding dress and two braidsmaid dresses from there. Cheaply made, smell like old fish and on top of that they are using designers photos without permission. They take at least twice as long to deliver than they promise and don't respond to emails. Girls be aware!re using designers photos without permission. They take at least twice as long to deliver than they promise and don't respond to emails. Girls be aware!

moirak1
2 reviews
10 helpful votes
4/3/15

I ordered a burghangy prom dress for my daughter they sent a red one emailed them to say wrong colour sent they disagreed saying colour was right so no refund given so left with wrong colour dress didn't say delivery from China either total scam company do not go near.

laurak55
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/1/15

I have just received my prom dress in the post from okdress.co.uk and I was pleasantly surprised. Me and my mum were indeed skeptical about ordering from China, however the dress is beautiful. It does look different in person than in the picture on the website, as it looks a slightly different colour and in the photo it looks like it has more diamontes.
I did have to email the service team to ask when I would receive my dress, I ordered it on March 1st and got it April 1st.
If I ever needed to, I would potentially order from them again :)

jessicam97
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/23/15

I was extremely skeptical but I definitely should have listened to the negative comments. I ordered a black satin dress with really beautiful bead detailing and a row of buttons down the train. First of all, it took over a month to arrive when the max time to both tailor and ship the dress was 14 days. Customer service is nonexistent when emailed after the dress hadn't arrived for about 20+ days. The beading was a nightmare. They used cheap looking, chunky, plastic rhinestones and sequins in a pattern not at all similar to the picture. The buttons down the train were completely left out. The shape of the embellishment was completely off. I am now worried about the return process as I have read bad reviews about their customer service and now experienced it first hand. I'm sure there are people who have had better experiences and on a more positive note, I used custom sizing which was fairly accurate. If you do take your chances, definitely custom order the size. The price is great but unfortunately the outcome reflects this. Weigh the pros and cons before ordering, read all reviews, and make a decision for yourself. Expect the worst when ordering something like this on the internet. I hate to leave such a negative comment but this was very disappointing. I've learned my lesson.

amys79
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/13/15

This website is absolutely appalling. I ordered a dress for my sister's wedding over a month ago and it has still not arrived! When I emailed them to enquire as to where my package was, they tried to claim that the delay had been caused because of Chinese New Year...a holiday that began 10 days AFTER I placed my order. I have received such appalling customer service since I made the complaint, and after reading other reviews I have very low expectations of this dress. Such a shame as the website looked so good, but this company is TERRIBLE.

If you are looking for a shopping experience that is either easy or in any way pleasant, do not use this website. As for the quality of their stock, I do not have high hopes for the package ever arriving, let alone the dress being of a decent quality.

Stay clear from OKDress.co.uk!

judys30
1 review
3 helpful votes
1/17/15

A BIG SCAM......

I've purchased a bridal dress from them, the tailoring and embellishment on the dress was so horrible. I can't believe those people would think that I be wearing such a $#*!ty thing on my wedding day. A total loss of time and money!!!

ellieb24
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/2/14

I was petrified of this dress never arriving and not being able to get my money back but the communication was great and they replied fast to every concerned email I sent! The dress arrived when they said it would and I loved it! I can't vouch for other customers but I spent all my time worrying over this dress never arriving and me losing my money and turns out I had nothing to worry about!

chloef3
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/27/14

Excellent! Do not listen to these negative reviews, they must be talking about a completely different site! I was sceptical because of all the reviews after I saw this site and was even scared I wouldn't like the dress when it turned up. I was so wrong! The dress was exactly as shown on the site! Every detail is perfect! I can't wait to wear it on our wedding day and wow my soon to be husband!

I was worried it wouldn't turn up in time and I wasn't going to hear anything from the company because of a language barrier. But I contacted them and even put it in Chinese underneath just to try and be polite, and I heard back from them almost straight away (in very good English!). Service gave me a tracking number for my parcel with DHL so I could see its every move all the way from when it left the factory in Shanghai to landing in London and being delivered. I could see all 18 steps which was brilliant! So although you have to pay £35 delivery, it was well worth it, knowing that my dress was going to get here safely! I was unfortunately one of the ones whose parcel got stopped by customs to be checked over so was charged an extra £17, but this is no fault of the company. Just a warning to people ordering stuff from overseas. You may be lucky and not have to pay a penny extra!

Great communication, great service, great dress, great company! I am so amazed an happy that I risked trusting the positive comments on here over the negative ones! For the money I paid you wouldn't even be able to get a layer of a dress in a wedding shop and it will be the exact same quality! Just 10x the price!!

Only confusing thing was that they stitched the label onto the outside of my Ivory dress with pink thread.. But with a careful hand and cotton pick, this came off easily!

Highly recommend OKdress!

Thank you so much to the people who worked on my dress! <3

Tip for consumers: I definitely recommend taking the time to use the custom size option! Especially if you go for a zip up dress. Mine is a lace up and because I filled in the custom size, it fits absolutely perfectly! Happy Shopping!!

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
dellah4
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/18/14

I ordered a dress from this company last week, got to the final stage of paying, put all my details in and then it said try again later, it's took the money out my bank,,I've tried to log into my account but no such account exists, i will be very surprised if any dress turns up,, please avoid this site ,, I had to leave a star but didn't want to

amyt26
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/17/14

Do yourself a favor and do not read any of the bad reviews as I did! I spent 12 days worrying for nothing!
This company custom made my beautiful dress to my exact size and shipped it over within the 14 days they said it would take. I emailed them a few days after ordering, asking if it would arrive in time for my sisters wedding. I had an email back the next day saying they would do their best. And they did with more then a week to go till the wedding.
Love my dress and would definitely use them again, service was very professional. The quality of the dress is fantastic too.

zeraho
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/2/14

This site has the worst customer care ever!
They did not deliver my wedding dress and never returned my
money, calls or email. Worst still they can't speak English so even if you are lucky to get through to them on phone, you never understand what they say neither can they comprehend you.
It is the worst online shopping experience ever!
THEY DONT deserve any star at all

gheormana
2 reviews
10 helpful votes
10/1/14

Hello.
I buy my wedding dress from okdress.co.uk, but I am verry verry disapointed. The dress is from a verry bad quality of material, the model is not the same, I want to return the product but they don't want to ghive me the money back. In a few words: the are selling bad dresses, bad quality of material and they are cheating the people.
DON'T BUY FROM THEM ENITHYNG.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
yaniss104
1 review
5 helpful votes
8/10/14

The worst experience ever! This site is a real scam. My dress arrive in over a month and was the worst copy i ever seen. Don't order for this site!!!! They never answer your emails and they never return the money. Real scam!!

suep16
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/2/14

DO NOT BUY FROM THIS **** COMPANY terrible workmanship will not reply to my emails. I wouldn't have given any stars but it wouldn't save my review so hence the 1 star. I wish I could report them so they would have to stop trading, robbers the lot of them. Stick to UK in future!!!!

vivienneb
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/30/14

Delighted! Overjoyed.

I ordered a dress from this company, then after paying the money, started reading bad reviews and instantly regretted it. I even tried to stop my money going through my bank, without success. I was resigned to losing my money.

But I HAVE to praise them. I told them I was getting married in a week and needed a rush order. I sent them my measurements. And in ONLY a week later. One day before the deadline to fly off for my wedding. My gorgeous dress arrived. A perfect fit. I ordered the Asymmetrical Train, Beading Mermaid dress.
http://www.okdress.co.uk/shop/dress/wd9201/

What is really funny, is after reading all the awful reviews, I went on eBay and bid for 3 other, second hand wedding dresses and won them ALL. - and they haven't arrived - even from the UK!! Lesson learned. People are more inclined to complain than compliment. There must be loads of genuine happy people out there, that have dealt with this company.

Now here is the trick. I wrote to them in English AND Chinese (using Google translate). They don't reply because they don't speak English. That's all. So if you want to write to them, speak their language, and expect to receive Chinese emails back (Google translate again)

I have a truly beautiful wedding dress, at a fraction of the cost. This is not a fake review. This is Vivienne B in the UK. 30th June 2014

ailishw
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/11/14

Ordered a dress online from this website but due to an 'Unknown Error' message that popped up on my laptop, I had accidentally then ordered two identical dresses from this website. Attempted to contact website to cancel one dress, but recieved no reply so just thought, better wait until it comes and then send it back. Neither dress has as of yet been delivered almost three weeks later and both my orders are 'processing'. After numerous failed attempts to contact the website, whose contact telephone number is in China, I still have not received any requested information from this website as the the whereabouts of my dresses. Interesting also to see that a few reviewers on this website and various others have only posted one review, and that's to explain how brilliant their dresses are.

sarab22
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/9/14

My dress arrived 2 months later beware do not order frommhere

michaelw85
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/14/14
laurab63
1 review
5 helpful votes
2/28/14

I got 2 classy prom dresses from Okdress. Have uploaded the photos here. I choose the dark green color, the dresses are in different design. Each dress was very beautiful and flattering. We're very pleased with this purchase. Strongly recommend this website!

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No you can't.. I've been trying for weeks because they sent me a dress 6 inches too short and it was covered in stains.. They are refusing to give me my money back even though I've sent pictures for evidence. They are very rude and told me it's no good to them and there's nothing wrong with it! Horrible company

By Emma L.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

The dresses I ordered took over 2 weeks to arrive, and I was gutted when they turned up wrong. I'd advise having a back up plan just incase

By Hayley C.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I used the online chat to keep a trace on my order. No problems and was delivered on time and dresses were good

By Alison M.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Tbh I didn't try but heard they are appalling at refunds!!! I think the jist of it was that you wouldn't get your full refund and it wasn't really worth the hassle for the amount that you got back. Don't order from them!!!!

By Elizabeth H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Honestly it's not worth the risk, yes they're cheaper and you're saving money but they're done to a really poor standard - and the ones I ordered were just a plain satin material, no fancy business. I've emailed their customer service frequently and even after they eventually said they would compensate me 10% of what I spent I've since received nothing and now don't get replys to my emails at all. My honest opinion is you'll more likely than not need to pay for alterations for the dress as well as the dress price and shipping, if that works out cheaper for you than getting another dress than it might work but it didn't work for me.

By Amber G.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the OKdress.co.uk staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
OKdress.co.uk?
Post Review