We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
This website seems to be closed. Find similar businesses
  • Bookmark

    Newlightingdirect.co.uk

Corporate Values

Overview

Newlightingdirect.co.uk has a consumer rating of 1.34 stars from 47 reviews indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. Consumers complaining about Newlightingdirect.co.uk most frequently mention credit card, trading standards and legal action problems. Newlightingdirect.co.uk ranks 387th among Furniture sites.

View ratings trends

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

No positive highlights yet

Critical highlights

  • They will be refering the matter to Trading Standards, but they act on volume complaints.
  • I am waiting for a refund which apparently takes 28 days...
How would you rate Newlightingdirect.co.uk?
Top Positive Review

“I would definately deal with them again”

david t.
11/30/09

I would definately deal with them again. Although I do think they should have contacted us about the delay, but at least we were able to contact them and find out what status our order was. *IN SUMMARY* Their website is very useful. They give you all the dimensions and prices for each item, and also show the full range of matching products for each light. I would recommend newlightingdirect to anyone looking for lighting.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“We ordered 3 lights on 2 Sept 2009 and all we have...”

Rod H.
1/14/10

We ordered 3 lights on 2 Sept 2009 and all we have recieved since are the same letters others seem to have had which appear to be nothing but lies and excuses from this company. But no goods or refund. We are going to the small claims court on principle if it is not already too late. Save yourself a lot of grief and Do Not Get Involved with this company.

See critical reviews

Reviews (47)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

trading standards (9) 28 days (6) credit card company (7) money (25) new furniture (4) not buy (4) accounts team (3) order (33) firm delivery date (2) this company (18)
davidt8
1 review
0 helpful votes
November 30th, 2009

I would definately deal with them again. Although I do think they should have contacted us about the delay, but at least we were able to contact them and find out what status our order was. *IN SUMMARY* Their website is very useful. They give you all the dimensions and prices for each item, and also show the full range of matching products for each light. I would recommend newlightingdirect to anyone looking for lighting.

rodh
1 review
3 helpful votes
January 14th, 2010

We ordered 3 lights on 2 Sept 2009 and all we have recieved since are the same letters others seem to have had which appear to be nothing but lies and excuses from this company.
But no goods or refund.
We are going to the small claims court on principle if it is not already too late.
Save yourself a lot of grief and Do Not Get Involved with this company.

fionag
1 review
4 helpful votes
December 6th, 2009

Hi

I have just heard from Consumer Direct regarding my complaint again NLD. They will be refering the matter to Trading Standards, but they act on volume complaints.
Please telephone 08454 040506 to register your case.

When I telephone NLD I did manage to get to speak with Jason Pritchard who claims to be the sales manager. Tried to speak with accounts but he said they do not have a phone and are in a locked office?!
Told him we would commence legal proceedings the next day then followed this with an email. A few hours later they did reply and say that they had authorised a paypal refund. Paypal says it will take up to 7 days - so will wait and see.

Best wishes & good Luck everyone Fiona

danielw1
1 review
3 helpful votes
February 1st, 2010

Abserloutly useless load of S*** unless u like listing to excuses don't buy from them i have had
Its to cold to deliver
Its to warm to deliver
Its stuck in customs
It to near christmas
We r not working today the office goldfish died we r in morning
And to try and speek to any one you might as well phone the local zoo and ask for the monkey enclosure they would know more about the order! DONT BUY FROM THEM!

samt1
1 review
3 helpful votes
November 10th, 2009

Just recieved my lights and I love them! They really are superb quality. Everything from start to finish was superb. It was a little worrying reading reviews on here about the delivery but mine arrived on time. I am sure a lot of companies are having a hard time in this recession, I have my own shop and I have trouble getting deliveries in from suppliers. I am a happy customer.

christinas1
1 review
6 helpful votes
November 22nd, 2009

This is a terrible website. Just as everyone is saying, no communication and only fobbed off when you do communicate with them. I placed my order on the 10 October and still have no goods! I cancelled my order on Friday 20th and got e-mail back informing me that they were now in the process of refunding my monies as it had been passed to the accounts team! I will keep you posted as to what happens. In fact after reading these reviews i am going to contact my credit card company.

christinah
1 review
1 helpful vote
November 23rd, 2009

I would like to thank all at newlightingdirect my lights have been fitted today and they look fab. I saw the lights in my local shop first and I saved a packet with these. I will recommend you to all my friends. Thanks again

vikkif
1 review
3 helpful votes
February 5th, 2010

Absolutely terrible. Will be contacting Darlington Police today. I have made attempts to contact them and no response. When I call the number I cannot get through as the line continues to be engaged ALL DAY! Will be suing for civil recovery and speaking to police to have them prosecuted! I suggest everyone else who has had the same experience do this too!

jasonl3
1 review
2 helpful votes
January 4th, 2010

Ordered my lights on 25/10/2009, it is now 04/01/2010! I have emailed them on several occasions, with no reply.

They obviously don't know how to run a business or are deliberately scamming people.

newlightingdirect.co.uk complaints == AVOID AT ALL COSTS

helenj1
1 review
3 helpful votes
March 1st, 2010

This company is also known as New Furniture Direct. Please do not deal with this company, they take your money and never supply the goods, we have finally got our money back after 4 months of being promissed the refund had been processed, but I beleve the only reason we got our refund was due to the fact that we arrange for someone to go and collect the cheque. If you are having similar problems with this company contact Consumer Direct on *******506 and they will be able to give advice and pass your problem onto Trading Standards.

darreng
1 review
2 helpful votes
January 4th, 2010

DO NOT USE THIS WEBSITE, they say that it is in stock and take your money straightaway, but then they say it will be 2-4 weeks, but after 7 weeks there was still no sign of my lights so i cancelled the order, i am still waiting for my money back after 27 days of cancelling. They have had my money since 25 October, it is now 4th January. This company is a disgrace and should be closed down so DO NOT ORDER FROM THEM!

peterj4
1 review
3 helpful votes
February 12th, 2010

What can I say?
ME TOO!

Ordered a light and paid by Paypal on 11Oct09
Cancelled the order on 26Nov09 when they admitted that they could not supply
I have been told that the Director has personally sent me a refund by cheque
But I have received nothing and now they are not communicating

I can believe all that has been written before
Do not buy from them but help remove them
They give the web a bad name!
Peter

lindak3
1 review
3 helpful votes
March 22nd, 2010

Well I can only say that after reading all these emails that this company is consistent with all its lies and appalling customer service and would appear to be no more than a scam company. I too have been told like everyone else
2 weeks delay when ordered
Further promises -nothing
Cannot get on phone - always engaged
Offered 10% discount if I wait for order to come
After cancelling was promised refund
Something went wrong with refund process **sounding familiar yet**
Would try again, could be up to 28 days
Still nothing
Offered to send a cheque - ** well what a surprise - no cheque**
Thanks to all who offered advise I have contacted my bank who will hopefully get my money back for me. They were very helpful
My first call tomorrow will to be trading standards.

Good luck to everyone in trying to get your money back and a very serious warning to anyone else - please please please do not order anything from this company.

martif
1 review
2 helpful votes
March 25th, 2010

www.newlightingdirect.co.uk and www.newfurnituredirect.co.uk appear to have now ceased trading. I do hope people haven't lost their money. I did a search for the director (Mr Mark Lloyd) and found this address and contact number. It might not be real though:

Tel: *******881
Fax: *******086
11 Ropner Gardens
Darlington, Durham DL2 1FB
GB

sonnym
1 review
3 helpful votes
January 14th, 2010

I too wish I'd seen this review site before placing an Order. Although the price seemed OK, they took full payment at Order receipt point and would appear to have been clearly not in a position to supply the goods at all. While I subsequently progress chased non delivery, many reasons were offered, but still 9 weeks later no goods, so cancelled the Order and bought via another Company who had the item in stock and delivered next day. I was informed that it would take 28 days to process my Credit and despite more chase-ups, 8 weeks has now elapsed and still no Credit! They've had my money for 18 weeks now and still no sign of being re-funded which really feels like I've been duped! Hopefully, my Credit card Company will come to my rescue and this experience has really turned out to be a lesson in life - be careful and be warned!

abiolai
1 review
3 helpful votes
March 1st, 2010

OMG I bought goods worth over a thousand pounds and I havent gotten it yet... I am close to tears right now... i have called their telephone emailed them yet nothing. No actually the only email i got is that it would take 2 wks [order number is 59755] its a month after. To think they are quick to collect my money and i don't even live here. I am so close to filing a criminal lawsuit against them. I have called the darlington police station and trading standards to seek advice. There shld definitely be a jail term for dis consistent method of taking money from people like this... this is so fraudulent on several stands... never ever ever trade wit this site newlightingdirect.co.uk... you can be sure dey would take your money but never give u updates or deliver your goods

lostp
1 review
5 helpful votes
March 1st, 2010

I wish I had read these reviews too. I placed an order on 3/01/10 and after 3 weeks was told the manufacture's delayed and will get in another 3 weeks. This is on email by Adam. After further 3 weeks, same story but this time I was offered a further 10% discount for the troubles.

After a couple of weeks I called the manufacuture of the lights and they told me that never received an order for my lights! Now I don't get response to my emails.

I have contacted the credit card company. Will contact consumerdirect soon.

elizabethw2
1 review
3 helpful votes
February 26th, 2010

Please do not order from this company. Like others I too I ordered lights and money was taken straight away from my paypal account without lights being in stock. I finally cancelled order after numerous excuses from them about stock
Becoming available but then never arriving. Then excuses about accounts team not processing refund correctly and a refund to be reissued, this has never arrived. I tried getting help from paypal, but because I had waited too long they were unable to help me. Finally last week I resorted to sending a letter recorded delivery to Diane Bernard who I believe is a director, this letter was signed for by someone called Lloyd but guess what? No reply.
Can someone out there suggest how I can get my money back?
Pat Wood (A very angry and disgruntled customer)

stephp
1 review
3 helpful votes
March 5th, 2010

I can confirm that I have experienced the same with New Lighting Direct as others. Order placed in November, numerous rounds of e-mails debating delay and then I cancelled the order in January. I sent a letter warning of final notice before legal proceedings in February (after the 30 days refund period) and was assured a refund was coming. Which of course did not. I am now proceeding with a Chargeback via my credit card company. Consumer Direct have the letter templates, but Fair Trading will not investigate unless they get significant complaints, so its important if you have received poor service/had money taken without goods being received that you report it.
UPDATE - I can confirm that my credit card company are progressing a chargeback with mastercard and the value of my order has been credited back to my card whilst the dispute is resolved. BUT be careful, there is a time limit on the chargeback service, so you must document your dispute with NLD and ensure that you have given them an opportunity to refund after cancellation, which they have 28 days to do. In my case, and others, there may well be a round of e-mails from NLD saying someone didn't get the refund right and it bounced back. Wait 5 days and your company will contact you... and so on. If you don't stay on top of this, you could find yourself time barred from getting a refund.

disgruntledw
1 review
4 helpful votes
March 5th, 2010

I believe this company is about to be struck off the company register list and will appear in the official gazette on the 9th March 2010. I too ordered goods from them in November and despite several e. Mails regarding delivery of goods and refund I have had no success. Looks like we have all been conned.

michellek2
1 review
6 helpful votes
October 23rd, 2009

I argee with other 2 reviews, never order anything from them. I bought lights from them in June, they took my money and I've waited 23 weeks and still haven't recieved my lights. I have sent loads of emails, written to them, telephoned them and all I get is pathetic excuses and told delivery will be in 3-5 working days but nothing ever arrives.

tinag1
1 review
3 helpful votes
January 22nd, 2010

Ordered our item back in September, light was promised and promised to be delivered but never came, cancelled order and now waiting a refund. Have sent two letters recorded delivery asking for money back, been waiting now 63 days for refund, no communication been received, have mailed them also, still no response. Consumer direct gave me advice and now having to take legal action against company to get money back, also Companies House have confirmed that they are behind with registering with them and owe them £375, stay away from this company I think they will not be around for much longer. STAY AWAY STAY AWAY

hn1
1 review
6 helpful votes
December 2nd, 2009

Oh I wish I had read these reviews before I paid any monies to this company! I too have waited many weeks for my delivery which never came (& never left the manufacturer...). 23 days ago I was told I would get a refund but surprise... surprise... no refund as yet. No response to my emails - they have no intention of refunding my monies! I am now taking action and I will be contacting watchdog. Those waiting for refunds... don't hold your breath...! PLEASE DO NOT BUY FROM THIS WEBSITE...!

pamelaw1
1 review
4 helpful votes
January 24th, 2010

Do not use under any circumstances. This site is taking people's money under false pretences

peterw4
1 review
2 helpful votes
March 30th, 2010

I did a serch on google earth for 11 Ropner Gardens Darlington, Durham DL2 1FB and found that address is a block of flats!

Q&A (1)

Answer:

Yep thought so, did not get a refund within the five working days having to now resort to court action!

By Tina G.
See more answers (7)

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the Newlightingdirect.co.uk staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Newlightingdirect.co.uk?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about Newlightingdirect.co.uk?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business