Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of MyHeritage

MyHeritage reviews

2,679 reviews
2975 Executive Parkway, Suite 310
Lehi, UT 84043, IL
Tel: 1-888-377-0588
aaron@myheritage.com

2,679 Reviews From Our Community

Service
141
Value
112
Shipping
58
Returns
55
Quality
105

All Reviews

geraldineb45
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/24/19

MyHeritage do all it's possible to help customers. I'm really satisfied by the answers to my problem and by the solution that was found.

judym379
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/23/19

I had some trouble with my family tree. I couldn't get the local teams help so went the long way round. The person I dealt with was very helpful and fixed the problem. Thanks!!

bens346
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/22/19

I have been using their site for about 8 years and developed a wonderful family tree. Using their tools I have discovered lost branches of my family and my wife's family. I have uncovered records and documents about family members from previous generations and from all over the world.
Their customer support is very good, whether by email or by phone.

gerhardn9
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/16/19

Had some problems with my family tree, some of them i several weeks. This morning at last I called - why didn't I call earlier?
All my questions got answered immediately, got an e-mail with a description to solve one problem an best of all: mistakes I had made became corrected at once. I am so satisfied!
Gerhard Nuss

michals40
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/15/19

MyHeritage is an excellent heritage preservation application. This user-friendly tool that helps you record and manage all the knowledge you have about your family history. You can store, present and access different types of media for hundreds of family members. The application presents the family ties in a very clear, useful format (which you can customize to meet your specific needs).
It also constantly offers exciting discoveries about existing family members and potential relations in other family trees - helping you fill in the blanks.

I would also like to point out the excellent service I received from customer support, troubleshooting some tricky technical issue. Melissa A went out of her way to find creative solutions and her professional, kind service made a huge difference.

toniy8
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/15/19

Meagan was so very patient and helpful! I love her accent and diction! I am a person of little words!

noeliaa3
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/14/19

So helpful! I'm so happy, the girl give me a nice attention, talk to me kindly and had lot of patience.

redak9
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/14/19

I had a problem with my kits. but your specialists have done very quickly and they have solved the problem. I am very happy with the service. in addition, they give me a good

haimr
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/14/19

High service attitude, pleasant conversation, professionalism, deep knowledge, caring, sincere desire to help, patience, creativity and conveying the feeling that the service provider loves what he does and proud of the company in which he works.

marias565
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/9/19

DNA Probe ist angeblich auch nach Monaten nicht im Labor in den USA angekommen. Keine Antwort auf Nachfragen und Reklamation und Stornierung. Absolute Funkstille. Das Unternehmen MyHeritage ist nichts weiter als ein Betrug. Niemand sollte auf dieses Angebot hereinfallen.

Response from MyHeritage S., MyHeritage Representative
Dear Maria,

I regret to learn that your DNA samples haven't been received by our lab yet.

I'd be glad to follow-up on this on a direct basis. Please contact me at "catarina.vipsupport@myheritage.com" from your registered email address so I can assist you as soon as possible.

Kind regards,
Catarina
MyHeritage Team


****************************************** Google Translate - French ******************************************


Chère Maria,

J'ai le regret d'apprendre que vos échantillons d'ADN n'ont pas encore été reçus par notre laboratoire.

Je serais heureux de faire un suivi sur cette base directement. Veuillez me contacter à l'adresse "catarina.vipsupport@myheritage.com" à partir de votre adresse e-mail enregistrée afin que je puisse vous aider dans les meilleurs délais.

Sincères amitiés,
Catarina
Équipe MyHeritage
julioa30
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/9/19

Very useful and ease to use! One place to centralize all the information regarding the entire family. And if you have family members abroad, they can also participate in their own languages. All family photos and videos organized in one place accessible to all members. And if you have any problem to operate the site, the support assists you very efficiently.

joyb115
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/8/19

These are bad actors. I cancelled the free trial 4 days in. They took the money out of my Paypal account right after I called them and got " all circuits are busy" over and over again. They were obviously listening in and illegally withdrew the money. I'm certain of this because I was on the phone with Paypal and the rep said the money was withdrawn just minutes before. The phone # they gave Paypal is not in service. This is a scam company and I hope I convince some to stay away. I have filed a dispute claim with Paypal and MyHeritage has not returned their calls. At least Paypal has been able to block future monthly billing but I'm hoping to get my $92.78 back. Good luck to all and DON'T DO THE FREE TRIAL. --Joy

Response from MyHeritage S., MyHeritage Representative
Dear Joy,

I'm sorry you feel this way and I'll do all I can to assist you with this.

Please note that your refund is guaranteed by all means because of our money back guarantee to ensure all of our members with a full refund by contacting Customer Support within thirty (30) days of the initial purchase date of the subscription.

I'd be happy to investigate this situation personally and to make it up to you.

Please email me at your earliest convenience at "catarina.vipsupport@myheritage.com" so I may assist you with your refund.

Sincerely,
Catarina,
MyHeritage Team
shirleyw123
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
5/8/19

I received very personalised service from My Heritage. I needed to be rung back over renewal of my subscription, and ended up being rung back twice as I was unable to take the first call and both calls were made at exactly at the time agreed upon. It was important that I didn't miss these calls as I receive a lot of nuisance calls at home so don't always answer my phone. I was impressed with the politeness and warmth of this My Heritage staff member.

monicas181
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
5/7/19

I have around 40000 person on my web family tree once they have deleted it by mistake with no back up. For the second time they have lost a lot of critical information, now they have done it again!
I am waiting for 4 day for a solution but still nothing.
They don't car about losing years of working

Response from MyHeritage S., MyHeritage Representative
Dear Monica,

I'm sorry to read your low star review.

I'd be glad to assist you on a direct basis. Please contact me at "catarina.vipsupport@myheritage.com" so I can investigate the issue you are experiencing as soon as possible.

Kind regards,
Catarina,
MyHeritage Team
jae1
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/7/19

I'll be honest. I was very anxious. Needed to cancel my subscription. In a panic. Not at my best or nicest. Was expecting an argument. No. They just cancelled it for me that very minute. No problem. So I apologise to the lady on the 'phone (UK number but she was American) for my "attitude". 100% satisfied!

Service
alessandroo9
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/7/19

Es una empresa muy seria, y sus programas de Genealogía, realmente perfectos. Family Tree builder tiene un desempeño absolutamente lógico y que no ofrece problemas para utilizarlo. El análisis conjunto estadístico es realmente formidable.

It is a very serious company, and its programs of Genealogy, really perfect. Family Tree builder has an absolutely logical performance and does not offer problems to use it. The joint statistical analysis is really formidable.

millieh19
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/7/19

If you can't find an answer to your question on their FAQ page and you call the customer service line - be prepared. Hold time for my morning call was almost one hour. The customer assistant Mark was very helpful and answered my inquiry - so he deserves 5 stars. But that long of a wait is just unacceptable!

agatas4
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/5/19

I am waiting for my test more then weeks. Probably delivery has missed. I call to call center - they promise send a new one and nothing... I think it's a false company.

Response from MyHeritage S., MyHeritage Representative
Dear Agata,

I'm sorry to learn about your experience.

I'd be happy to assist you with your DNA kit replacement on a direct basis. Please contact me at "catarina.vipsupport@myheritage.com" via your registered email address so I can arrange for a replacement DNA kit to be sent to you as soon as possible.

Kind regards,
Catarina,
MyHeritage Team
merjav
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/5/19

Olen tyytyväinen MyHeritagen palveluun ja olen iloinen kun minua autettiin puhelimessa Suomenkielellä! Kiitos.

clivej6
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/3/19

A little while back I had an issue that was to do with a third party used by MyHeritage, not specifically to them. I was a little grumpy when I made my views known, but it was handled brilliantly. So, many congrats and very well done to Johnny on the MyHeritage support team for handling it so well. He, and MyHeritage, demonstrated spectacularly good customer service in resolving the issue swiftly. They didn't get rattled, they dealt with it smartly. Their response was admirable, and I am very appreciative. Top marks, guys!

charlottel103
Charlotte L.
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/3/19

Tak til Maja for en fantastisk support i går og i dag. Det hjalp mig meget, at tale med dig. Nu har jeg også talt med din svenske kollega og fået rettet mit abonnement til.

reinerg
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/2/19

Es wurde mir bei meinem DNA Problem sehr schnell und ohne weiteres geholfen. Danke.Ich bekomme ein neues Kit und kann dann weitermachen.

elenicek
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/30/19

My card was billed, but I wanted to undo the activation of the type of service in question. Getting my money back was not a difficult issue at all. Thank you, MyHeritage! Since English is not my first language, I'm specially thankful for the chance of both expressing myself and getting help in my mother tongue. Customer support was very friendly. Thanks again!

marilynb170
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/29/19

The MyHeritage Support Team provided excellent responses to my query and resolved the issued quickly.

samw254
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/29/19

Sent a request for support on 1st April, each question took a week to respond too, now today 29 days later my support request has been closed without resolution, being a Premium member spending over £100 a year i expected better service.

Don't buy a subscription if you use a Mac, the Family Tree builder doesn't work fully.

Angry customer of 6 years.....

Response from MyHeritage S., MyHeritage Representative
Hi Sam,

I absolutely sympathize with your struggle in contacting our support center and I'm sorry for the lack of empathy you have experienced. I will do all I can to help.

I do know that most Family Tree Builder features run perfectly on a Mac. However, there are a few features that are not compatible and are not available such as the Book Report, maps and some others that are available on the Windows Version.

Bugs and feature requests are prioritized according to how many users are affected by them and how much resources and time they require of the development team. Some Mac issues that seem minor may actually be related to the infrastructure and require major changes that affect many other features.

In any case, I'd like to investigate the issue you have reported and perhaps escalate it to the appropriate department.

Unfortunately, I am unable to locate your registered MyHeritage account under the name you provide here as Sam W.

Therefore, please e-mail me directly at rafael.vipsupport@myheritage.com so I may escalate your complaint as soon as possible.

Sincerely
Rafael
MyHeritage

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 5
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

My issue was the automatic renewal without any kind of courtesy reminder prior to the effective date, as other businesses do. Advising one year in advance is a poor business practice. When I contacted them immediately on the renewal effective date, they refused to cancel and offered me a 25% discount. They eventually gave me the full refund but it was due to me turning it over to AMEX to resolve. I do however agree with the advice to base your renewal on your own personal experience.

By A H.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Make sure if able to Export and save file as GEDCOM. This can be used in almost all Genealogy software. I had to contact CEO office, before any refund of funds taken from my account returned. The escalation team, then ended my involvement, but note Still being harassed by emails, pop-ups???

By Claire W.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I have both, and I prefer the Family Tree Builder program Heritage provides (it's easier for me to use). I also like the photo albums feature, the layout of the "tree" and a number of other features. Ancestry has good databases, but Heritage does, as well. Although most databases overlap, sometimes one site will have a better search system to access the databases. Also, I think that if you want all the high end features, Heritage costs less.

By William Z.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Probbably you should like to know what are additional charges - described on MyHeritage site: Help Center > Account and Subscriptions > Subscriptions Whats the difference between a FAMILY SITE SUBSCRIPTION and a DATA SUBSCRIPTION? A Family Site Subscription (Premium or PremiumPlus) entitles you to increased storage on your family site for people in the family tree, photos, videos and documents. A Data Subscription entitles you with the access to billions of historical records in all the collections in SuperSearch. You also get unlimited access to Record Matches, including confirming and rejecting matches, if you have a family tree on MyHeritage.com. In addition, you can save and extract information from historical records you find in SuperSearch or get with Record Matches directly to your family tree.

By Julija L.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Dear Susan, Thank you for posting your question to us here on SiteJabber. I agree with Sandra in that you should write to the support team from your registered email address to support@myheritage.com and a friendly representative will be in contact with you at the first available moment. Trusting this has proven useful. Kind Regards, Dean, MyHeritage Team.

By MyHeritage S., MyHeritage Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Dear Jonathan and fellow users, In regards to the FTB not working, I may have found a solution, please follow these directions. Please right click on the FTB icon on your desktop, and click on 'Properties': Once you have opened the 'Properties' menu then click on the 'Compatibility' tab: If the field "Run this program in compatibility mode for:" is checked, and it says below "Windows 7", uncheck the box. Please let me know if this has solved the issue. Should this not work for you then please get in touch with the support team at support@myheritage.com from your registered MyHeritage email address and a friendly representative will help you at the first available moment. Kind Regards, Dean, MyHeritage Team.

By MyHeritage S., MyHeritage Representative
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Julija L. A: Probbably you should like to know what are additional charges - described on MyHeritage site: Help Center > Account and Subscriptions > Subscriptions Whats the difference between a FAMILY SITE SUBSCRIPTION and a DATA SUBSCRIPTION? A Family Site Subscription (Premium or PremiumPlus) entitles you to increased storage on your family site for people in the family tree, photos, videos and documents. A Data Subscription entitles you with the access to billions of historical records in all the collections in SuperSearch. You also get unlimited access to Record Matches, including confirming and rejecting matches, if you have a family tree on MyHeritage.com. In addition, you can save and extract information from historical records you find in SuperSearch or get with Record Matches directly to your family tree.

By Julija L.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

You know, I think the best way to ask anything at all is to send an email to support@myheritage.com which spells out your grievance or difficulty. I have invariably found the team to be respectful of my complaints or difficulties and to give easy-to-understand answers. I always feel respected. If you want to withdraw from the programme they will tell you how to do so. If you need more support and clarity, they will take great pains to explain. I don't think the system sets out to get the better of their customers, but they are, of course, in the process of making money out of their service. It is, after all a business, but if it does not suit your needs, no-one can force you to stay in the game. Best wishes, with your query!

By Denice W.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Dear Carolyn, Thank you for posting a question here on SiteJabber. I would like for you to as advised contact me directly at support@myheritage.com from your registered email address and also place my name within the subject of the email to ensure that you are forwarded directly to me. I will be more than happy to assist you with any questions or problems you may have. Looking forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards, Dean, MyHeritage Team.

By MyHeritage S., MyHeritage Representative
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I believe a direct ancestor is someone without whom you would not be here. All your other ancestors are indirect.

By William Z.
Questions? Get answers from the MyHeritage staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
MyHeritage?
Post Review