Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of MakerGeeks

MakerGeeks reviews

113 reviews
Maker Center Hwy 174
Republic, MO 65738, US
supportdesk@makergeeks.com

113 Reviews From Our Community

Service
23
Value
21
Shipping
23
Returns
14
Quality
21

All Reviews

richardm802
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/15/19

I placed my order Nov 24th and I still have not received it and it is Jan 15th. I email them and they do not reply. They suck. There is no phone number on the website.

donnah370
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/10/19

Ordered the Black Friday box....nothing. Signed up for the monthly subscription and paid for December and NOTHING. When I emailed they said they just shipped the free t-shirt yesterday. I don't care about the free t-shirt. $45 down the drain. Don't know how to cancel further orders. Wish I would have researched first, lesson learned.

nicolef142
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/6/19

This company is terrible. They will take your money but never ship out your items. You can get in contact with them. They only give you an email but never reply. I have had to dispute two different purchases with my credit card company to get my money back. This company is a joke. Don't do any business with them. I know I am done with them.

kyanooshs
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/26/18

Here how it works:
You order one sample to test their product. You get the first one. Then you order more. You never get it.
Their price is so cheap. Their are selling their filament at least 50% less than the market value, but how they can survive if they really produce them in the USA? I have already answer that question: You receive nothing, even they don't bother themselves to answer you email.
To complete their plot, they don't accept Paypal and they haven't put their phone number or address on their website! So it is real hard to get your money back!

I found an address in case you need to go to court(it may be an old address):
810 N $#*!erson Ct
Springfield, MO 65803-2305

Here is my story: they haven't sent my last 3 orders($200).

chrish853
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/18/18

I placed an order on the Black Friday weekend, Now 22, for a really god deal, and they never filled it. My emails asking when it shipped and how, since it was listed as being shipped, were today just met with "Your order was cancelled at your request." Uh, NO, guys, Their website is cryptic, no way to tell if/when it shipped or how. Granted, there was a small delay because there was a snowstorm on the East Coast in the days after I ordered, but that would only affect them if they did not have the filament in stock at all in the first place. ARGH. my whole project has ground to a halt because of them, and now I'm without. They said they refunded my money. I don't see it anywhere in my bank account. Off to Hatchbox.

albiec
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/18/18

Well same problem as the other reviews have. Ordered filaments and did the monthly box subscription. Been getting the monthly subscription. Also received my order of 2 HTPLA. But I got a 100 gift card from them with the monthly subscription. 1st off had to bug them to get the gift card added to my account. 2nd I ordered 4 more of the HTPLA filament using the gift card but am yet to receive them this was in Nov 5. I emailed them 1 response we are back ordered. Ok fine account says unfulfilled. After another week I emailed them no response but account status changed from Unfulfilled to fulfilled but no shipping info. I since been emailing them no response from them. Been sending an email every day so far no response. I am going to keep on emailing them until I get a response ( probably Wont) But I am going to do it anyway. I today canceled my monthly subscription. I will not be doing business with them ever again. Also am going to write a lengthy complaint to the BBB. !Warning do not order from this company you have been warned.

donf262
1 review
5 helpful votes
12/14/18

They don't answer emails and they won't give you tracking information on orders that you never received. They give out gift cards and don't honor them when you want to order their filament. Just a terrible company. I don't understand how they stay in business!

scotts726
1 review
4 helpful votes
12/12/18

Now that I see the same issues others are having with makergeeks, I wish I would have looked before I purchased a few hundred dollars worth of plastic and joined the monthly club (Which I will be cancelling this week) - Like many other reviews, I have multiple orders that are pending over a month and they have excuses for everything, and have promised to ship my orders three times now - not to mention a credit they owe me that has been promised for over three weeks now. Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere - even the few spools I did get before my current issues were just OK - one jammed into a print since the spool was not wound correctly, I need to unroll a fair amount of the spool to get it to correctly feed for the remainder of the spool. To recap - I have over 20 spools on order and if I will ever get them remains to be seen - This weekend I will be sending each charge to Visa and I will request that they block Makergeeks from charging my card.. Lets address that one now as well - a Business is not allowed to charge you until they ship your item, but Makergeeks and Josh are all too quick to take your money.... wonder why :)

briang327
1 review
4 helpful votes
12/8/18

These guys are an absolute joke. I've ordered 3 times in the past and every time there's some problem and lies about production being down. I now have two orders purchased on sale over a month ago and no shipment nor a reply to any of my emails or request to cancel. DO NOT BUT FROM HERE!

vincentp70
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/28/18

Placed an order on October 29th... Did not ship for 2 weeks... Cancelled order which they responded via email... Its Nov 29th and I still haven't gotten a refund despite twice a week emails that they said they would... Lousy customer service. This has also happened to a couple other people I know... Frustrating...

jimmyb121
1 review
5 helpful votes
11/26/18

MakerGeeks is offering 50% off site wide coupon. for today Cyber-Monday.

You will regret ever doing business with them. They will take your 50% Cash and that's it! You won't see a darn thing. EVER!

It's been over 2 years, and noda, nothing, crickets. State is so backlogged on these guys that it will take the public to close them down.

You have been warned.

All those fluffy 5 star ratings are Smith's buddies boosting his ratings.

mikeb818
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/15/18

What can I say that hasn't been said already? Don't buy from here. I tried to give them a second chance and they screwed me again. Double charged me one month for my Geek box without delivery, ignored all my emails, out of 7 months subscription, delivered 2 times, and more I'm sure but not worth getting into. Finally had to call the CC company and chargeback for the undelivered product. Oh well... To their credit, the product that did get delivered was worth the prices, but you end up paying double or triple from my experience with there dishonest billing.

One last thing: what company do they produce for as they claim? I've never seen any other distributor carry plastics with the temps they use for PLA. I have to assume that that claim is another bunch of B.S. from a B.S. company.

ryanh259
1 review
4 helpful votes
10/18/18

ordered 5 rolls of filament, they sent one, then gave me the run around for weeks going back and forth between it being out of stock and them having more orders than they expected and playing catch up, back to it being out of stock

stevenb448
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/14/18

I ordered two spools and only ever got one. The quality was good, but it took email badgering to get them to send it. Second one never arrived and the request for a refund that was cheerfully agreed to also never arrived. So basically the product was ok but the service is absolutely terrible, so don't buy unless you don't care if and when you ever get it.

timb409
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/12/18

Ordered some HTPLA. They were apparently out of stock but didn't tell me. Emailed a week later. Got a refund but they shipped it anyways. Does not print well.

Ordered Dragon Metallic Silver Shine, tolerance is supposed to be .05mm on a 1.75mm spool. I'm getting readings as low as 1.67 and the filament is grinding before there's even any retractions.

Signed up for the monthly box. They don't tell you they bill you on the first of the month but don't ship until after the last day of the month. The entire business feels very scammy. DO NOT GIVE THEM MONEY

mercuryw
1 review
4 helpful votes
9/28/18

Maker Geeks advertises very cheap filament, but the business is a scam. Here's how it works: if you place small orders with them (which almost anyone will do at first, to test them out), they will ship it. It is mediocre quality (apparently much worse now that in the past, given the recent reviews), but is indeed cheap. In my first two orders, they screwed up both, sending me the wrong color one time and the wrong filament size the second time. Nonetheless, I figured that if I ordered just one type of filament, in a single color, they couldn't possibly mess it up. I placed a very large order for our business. Besides an order confirmation, I heard nothing from them for two months. When I followed up, they sent the basic "will ship soon note." After three more months, I asked for a refund. They agreed, claiming they would refund it right away. Not yet realizing that this was a scam, I assumed they did so, and stupidly didn't check my credit card statement. I placed another large order six months or so later, and got the same treatment. Crickets. I emailed them, and didn't get a response. Needless to say, they never shipped it, and never responded to requests for a refund. I then looked back and discovered that they had lied about refunding my earlier shipment. The scam works like this: they make sure to fulfil small orders the best they can, in order to lure in (with big sales) large orders from high-volume companies. These folks are the least likely to be checking back to see what shipped when, if things were refunded, etc. They do not actually fulfil large orders. As others have found when investigating, their physical address is bogus, and they do not have a phone they will answer. Basically, you are left with no recourse once scammed by them, except to initiate a lawsuit. However, to do so, you would have to discover a real physical location, which would likely require hiring a private detective. This is a scam masquerading under a veneer of incompetence.

danb437
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/31/18

I've ordered filament from MG several times. First 2 times no problems. Then in July 18 I ordered 4 spools and waited 3 weeks. Then emailed them asking for status 3 days in a row and got no response. After 4th email was told it would ship "tomorrow". Still nothing, waited a week, emailed again saying ship now or give me a refund. Nameless person responded saying would ship "today". Still nothing. Next day I emailed again and was given excuse that UPS truck was full. Finally shipped and product was ok but not worth the bad experience. They have to fix customer service or they'll fail. Without customer service you've got nothing. No phone number to call, no name on responses. BAD business!

nay1
1 review
5 helpful votes
8/26/18

I used to buy from these guys pretty frequently since they often had deals that made it the cheapest filament that would print decently. You always had to deal with long leads times and having to always keep an eye on the order; more than half the time they would forget to ship the order and you'd have to email them asking where it was. However since their quality has also gone to garbage; after getting two rolls of 1.75 filament that had spots with greater than 2mm diameter that kept jamming in the printer I gave up on them.

kodys4
1 review
5 helpful votes
8/23/18

Placed an order with MG and then decided to do my due diligence afterwards. After seeing reviews I promptly called my credit card company and tried to reverse the transaction. They told me I had to at least request a refund. I e-mailed MG and did just that and to my surprise they responded right away saying they would issue a refund if I wanted, but could also ship out the order right away. I told them I just wanted the refund. At this point all communications ceased. The next day I got an e-mail saying my order had shipped so I sent an angry e-mail asking why it was shipped when I clearly requested a refund. Its been a week now and I still haven't heard from them.

I've contact my bank again and am in the process of reversing the charges. This company is VERY shady and not worth the hassle at all.

kylek97
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/14/18

All this company does is steal your money and deliver you nothing. Over month old orders have yet to be fulfilled. Customer service is non existent and makes promises to ship but never does. AVOID!!!

jamest488
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/14/18

what to expect if you place orders with Maker Geeks . com
Order Date Payment Status Fulfillment Status Total
#52444 August 03, 2018 Paid Unfulfilled $29.95
#50414 July 18, 2018 Paid Unfulfilled $117.00
#49337 July 03, 2018 Paid Unfulfilled $29.95
#47104 June 03, 2018 Paid Unfulfilled $29.95
#46952 May 31, 2018 Paid Unfulfilled $24.55
#46951 May 31, 2018 Paid Fulfilled $23.90
#45235 May 03, 2018 Paid Unfulfilled $29.95
#42314 April 03, 2018 Paid Unfulfilled $29.95
#40555 March 16, 2018 Paid Partial $78.48
#40156 March 11, 2018 Paid Unfulfilled $29.95
#39707 March 03, 2018 Paid Unfulfilled $29.95
#38281 February 13, 2018 Paid Fulfilled $127.75
#38144 February 11, 2018 Paid Unfulfilled $29.95
#37804 February 05, 2018 Paid Fulfilled $23.90
#37737 February 03, 2018 Paid Unfulfilled $29.95
#36332 January 11, 2018 Paid Fulfilled $110.36
#35974 January 03, 2018 Paid Partial $101.95
ACCOUNT DETAILS

joelc115
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
7/19/18

Orders are either slow or never get delivered, what does get delivered is usually damaged. I've sent 4 emails about a purchase I made and no response at all

terryk134
1 review
4 helpful votes
7/18/18

I was very excited about this company and their product and made the mistake of ordering a lot of filament before I tried one. I am now the proud owner of a lot of bad PLA filament. First, it does not flow well off the spool and gets tangled very easily. Consequently, I have to monitor the print job to keep the filament flowing off the spool or it gets stuck. Second, as evidenced by the amount of times I have to change out the dessicant, coupled with some poor print quality, the filament appears to have a high water content and doesn't work well. They have cool colors, but the filament is "crap". And of course the customer service is poor. I wasn't receiving my order, had to contact them many times only to be told they were out of stock of many of my items. They didn't make the effort to contact me to let me know this, I had to contact them. I don't recommend this "made in America" company which is a shame.

mattw180
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/27/18

Multiple emails go unanswered with questions regarding my order placed over two months ago, I submit a payment dispute with Paypal (which they no longer seem to accept, probably because of the buyer protections that give customers actual recourse to recover their money) and within 2 minutes I receive a reply saying "Oh, so sorry, for some reason our system put your order on hold, we can ship it out right away!" I'm willing to give them the chance to fulfil my order, partly because it was a good price for filament, and partly because I've worked in light manufacturing and I know some things slip through the cracks... But really, this is way beyond the pale as far as customer service and fulfilment goes. Will not be ordering from the again. I have very good results with the slightly more expensive 3DSolutech filament sold on Amazon, which arrives on my doorstep within 2 days without fail (prime member) and is also 100% USA made and sourced.

jasonw322
1 review
8 helpful votes
6/15/18

I've ordered from MG a couple of times now. Sadly, there won't be another. And with the loss of my business, they also lose the business of the entire school I mentor at. All because they won't actually ship anything... anything at all.
I keep getting responses "We are late getting our colorant, we'll ship what we have"... or "We're upgrading you to xxx so we can ship it". Nothing. It's over 2 months, and all I have are variants of the same response. I suppose I should be happier than others here, at least I'm getting a response! Still, I'd rather have the material I ordered.
I note that the blog announcement on their site says "We have a new website! It's faster, it's streamlined"... but they don't say anything about "We'll actually ship orders now!". Just that they can take them faster.
Oh well. Bypass them. I'm going to try some from other places and see how it works. At least I have a higher probability of actually getting something to try!

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
This question is for reviewer "Scott D." In your review you said: "I just noticed all of the one star reviews below. Not sure who these people are...Not sure what agenda these reviewers have..." I will be happy to tell you my "agenda" for writing a 1-star review: To warn people that MakerGeeks.com is a SCAM business. I can PROVE that I was defrauded by Joshua and I gave that proof to the Better Business Bureau, as have several other customers. Anyone who wants to know the TRUTH, can look up MakerGeeks.com on the BBB site. Search for "MakerGeeks.com" or Maker Geeks" (2 words). The BBB did an INVESTIGATION of MakerGeeks.com and made a report, with the result being a rating of F and 1 star. The BBB says: "The BBB letter grade represents the BBB's opinion of how the business is likely to interact with its customers. The ratings system relies on a proprietary formula that takes into account 17 factors based on objective information and actual incidences of a businesss behavior that have been verified and evaluated by BBB professionals." Considering the BBB's very negative report on MakerGeeks.com, why should anyone trust the 5-star reviews here? Fake reviews are easy to write. Note that in this question section, Joshua continues to ignore my request for his phone # and address. Also note that according to the BBB report, MakerGeeks.com failed to provide valid contact info. It obviously does not want to respond to all the complaints. Hiding from its customers and the BBB--does that sound like a legit business?
Answer:

Even though BBB is another useless scam, Sally D here is correct. MakerGeeks is a cleverly operated niche scam business that targets customers who do not have time to dispute a $400-$900 charge. They randomly fulfill orders with generic filament, never fulfill larger orders, and seem to employ a few people to run the website, some blogs, and produce fake reviews, like 50% of reviews in this thread. You can help shut them down by complaining to FTC, local MO authorities (assuming that they are in MO) and to domainabuse-AT-tucows.com where their domain name is registered.

By Phil K.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Sally, according to https://bsd.sos.mo.gov/BusinessEntity/BusinessEntityDetail.aspx?page=beSearch&ID=3838579 Maker Geeks Manufacturing, Inc. 810 N $#*!erson Ct Springfield, MO 65803 and MakerGeeks.com 812 E State Hwy 174 Republic, MO 65738

By Roger W.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the MakerGeeks staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

9 Photos for MakerGeeks

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
MakerGeeks?
Post Review