Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Gilt City

Gilt City reviews

21 reviews
2 Park Avenue, 4th Floor
New York, NY 10016, US
Tel: (877) GILT-NYC (877-445-8692)
support@giltcity.com

21 Reviews From Our Community

Service
2
Value
2
Shipping
1
Returns
1
Quality
1

All Reviews

davidc1279
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/14/18
• Updated review

Just received an E-mail that Gilt was going to refund my money: I had actually found the certificates and was able to use them. It was in the eleventh hour, and a last minute effort on my part.
I E-mailed back and told them not to do the refund - I know Crazy !! Anyway being honest sometimes requires sacrifice: I promised to leave a follow up Positive Review .
This is it "Good Work Gilt and Thank You for Trying" !!

“A lot like our government They Lie !!”
8/10/18
• Previous review

Have purchased a considerable number of Gilt City Vouchers: They just changed hands Do not use them !! I have two older vouchers that are now expired do to their lack of customer service. When they changed hands, everyone was told to print out vouchers, as it may be awhile before they were available. I did all of mine, but misplaced 2 of them: I tried 5 times, asking them politely to recover my vouchers to no avail They did not even answer my last two E-Mails !! They "S*ck" !!

ty14
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/30/18
• Updated review

The business is under stress. Their customer service are trying to drag replies as long as possible so that they can file for bankruptcy in time (and keep your money). If you have outstanding refund/balance with them, request them back right away and in circumstances, involve legal as soon as possible.

“Scam. Be careful because your vouchers might not be recognized. Customer Service non-existent.”
8/9/18
• Previous review

Gilt City is a scam. You purchased a voucher there and only two things might happen: 1. the website is down and you cannot see your voucher. But they won't refund you because of the 'user agreement'
2. the vendor was not aware of the voucher.
Either case, don't count on the customer services because their average turn-around is > 1 month --> at least by then your voucher, if valid at all, would have already expired :)

qiangc
10 reviews
1 helpful vote
12/20/17

i was bought 9pices watches in jomoshopthe reason is trust it and good service and very good price for every one pice of watches.

Response from Gilt S., Gilt City Representative
Hi Qiang,

Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share them with us! We greatly appreciate your positive feedback your Gilt experience and your fabulous watches, as it is always good to see when our members are pleased with our products and services.

Wishing you and your loved ones a very Merry Christmas from everyone here at Gilt :)

Yours in style,
Maureen
#giltservice
kristil22
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/14/17

I had a $300 voucher for Dr. Perricone and their web site would not accept the code. I reached out to Gilt City twice and was told completely different information. They told me to contact Dr. Perricone directly. When i went back into my Gilt City account the voucher was no longer in my account! I FINALLY got a hold of someone and they sent me a pdf of my certificate and I placed my order. I spent over 2 hours chasing this! Never again!!!

Response from Gilt S., Gilt City Representative
Hi Kristi,

I am truly sorry for any upset or time wasted. I assure you that is not the standard or experience we strive for here in Gilt City.

I understand this must have been frustrating, if you would like to discuss this matter further please do send me an email to service@gilt.com ATT:Maureen

Again, my apologies for any inconvenience caused, I hope we have the opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Warm regards,
Maureen
#giltservice
arthurz5
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/12/17

Make sure you read all the fine print as they won't allow you to return any deal which you accidentally purchased not seeing that the deal was for NEW customers only. Even though they admit to being able to refund such purchases in certain circumstances they made it clear that they would NOT refund my purchase, even though I made it clear to them that I couldn't use the Voucher and hence the deal as I was NOT a new customer.

Tip for consumers: Don't use this site or if you do then it's at your own risk and don't expect any Customer Service Support as they will keep your money and tell you to deal with the vendor instead of them on attempting to salvage the purchased amount. (Even though it's a law in California that you can't be denied the value of the purchase, etc...)

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
Response from Gilt S., Gilt City Representative
Hi Arthur,

I am sorry that we are unable to do as you request in this case. Again, I am very sorry for any upset in this matter, I assure you that you are a valued member and we do try our best to make exceptions however some rules can not be broken :(

Should you require any further assistance in the future please do let us know.

Warm regards,
Maureen
#giltservice
ayg2
5 reviews
3 helpful votes
12/10/17

I personally have not purchased from gilt itself but had the unpleasant experience of dealing with their sister company, saks OFF5th, I stay away from anything saks now!

Response from Gilt S., Gilt City Representative
Hi there,

I am very sorry to hear that.

All of us here at Gilt would love the opportunity to show what a great experience shopping on Gilt can be :)

If you change your mind or need any assistance please do send us an email to service@gilt.com

Happy Holidays :)

Warm regards,
Maureen
#giltservice
shangl
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/26/17

The customer representative said he will refund through credit card -- did not happen. I purchased a voucher for Puritans.com, which then in the next hour realized cannot be applied to all Puritan's products and called customer service the very next availability. The representative said he will refund through credit card, which I made sure by asking. He did not do that, and I did not get a notice about this, until I noticed it in my bank statement and callled. He then said it was "policy" that it cannot be refunded. Why can't you said that from the beginning? Also, "policy" is an excuse for not caring for the issue you have.

Response from Gilt S., Gilt City Representative
Hi Shang,

I am very sorry for any confusion or upset caused.

I would be happy to look into this matter for you.

Please forward your order number to service@gilt.com ATT: Maureen

I will be sure to have this investigated for oyu.

Warm regards,
Maureen
#giltservice
bettinaf1
4 reviews
0 helpful votes
11/9/17

I have purchased a few items from this site and have been extremely satisfied. There items are "stand out pieces" which I have received many compliments on when I wear them.

Response from Gilt S., Gilt City Representative
Hi Bettina,

We are so happy to hear that, it is always great to hear when our members are happy with there goods :)

Thank you kindly for taking time to share this feedback with us. Happy Shopping!

Warm regards,
Maureen
#giltservice
rickj62
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
11/6/17

I buy from Gilt since 2012, I remember in the past Gilt offered larger discounts, now most of the items are more expensive...

Response from Gilt S., Gilt City Representative
Hi Rick,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! I will certainly ensure this is passed on to the relevant team for further review.

Have a lovely evening.

Warm regards,
Maureen #giltservice
ngap1
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
10/30/17

I really buy on jomashop.com because this site is reputable and has very good results. I am completely satisfied with the service here

Response from Gilt S., Gilt City Representative
Hey there,

We are always glad to hear that our members are happy :) Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Have a lovely evening and most of all Happy Shopping!

Warm regards,
Maureen
Gilt Customer Service
kareng177
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
10/17/17

The shoebox deal was very good, but a lot of the deals are so obscure or based in NYC. I live on Long Island so it's not that helpful and the prices aren't as competitive of what they used to be

Response from Gilt S., Gilt City Representative
Hi Karen,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to the old offers and new on Gilt City.

We really do appreciate the time you have taken to share these concerns with us and will ensure that they are shared with the relevant department.

Warm regards,
Maureen
Customer Service Specialist
luisr56
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/15/17

I received an email with an offer 25 off if you referring a friend. I did my friend bought at gilt I received an email with the 25 off but when I try to use it it was not valid. I contact Gilt customer service if they can call it that, they answer was that sorry this email was send by mistake. Never happen to me with groupon so far good experience with them.

Response from Gilt S., Gilt City Representative
Hi Luis,

I am terribly sorry for any upset caused.

I would be happy to look into this further for you. Please forward your email address to service@gilt.com Place ATT Maureen in the subject.

I will do my very best to resolve this for you :)

Warm regards,
Maureen
Gilt Customer Service
aarthys
3 reviews
5 helpful votes
7/11/17

I bought a voucher for Sabon nyc from gilt city, for a 100$ voucher for 50$. Sabon has free shipping on 69$. After adding 104$ worth of stuff, the 100$ "voucher" applied as a coupon code, taking 100$ off, but free shipping did not apply. Contacted sabon, they explained the same thing. Do you know the cost of shipping at sabon? It is 19.99$ So i basically paid 50$+23.99$ totally 73.99$. Needless to say I will not be shopping at gilt city or sabon again.

Tip for consumers: Save your money

Service
Value
Shipping
rhondah39
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/27/16

I purchased a voucher from gilt city for a lobster boil for 2 for John Dorey's restaurant. When we arrived and got seated we were told that the lobster boil was no longer available. It was replace with a bouillabaisse to share which we did not want. The manager offered to credit us the amount we paid for the voucher toward our check. After the credit our bill was still $100 not including the tip. When I complained to Gilt City all they offered was a $10.00 credit to be used within 3 months. That offer was unacceptable considering the amount of money we spent. I have no intention of using the $10 because I don't think I will be patronizing them again.

stevenm128
2 reviews
7 helpful votes
1/16/16

My friend send me a $20 credit for gilt.com I purchased my order they charge me the $20 instead call to cancel to customer service they told me they could do anything really smh bad service first n last time I order something from them

lindar83
2 reviews
13 helpful votes
9/17/15

After writing my initial review of Gilt and their customer service on 9/12/2015, I received a message from Gilt CS rep Laura, on 9/13/2015, apologizing for the experience, and would like to look further into the issue and provide a satisfactory resolution. I have since then replied two times to Laura at Gilt, but have not heard back from Laura or Gilt as of today 9/17/2015, nor any action has been taken to remedy the issue. Once again, Gilt has exemplified their poor customer service.

rosen107
14 reviews
41 helpful votes
8/17/15

I just purchased something from giltcity. The voucher cost me $88 for $220 on another website. I think that is a steal. There is absolutely NO REFUNDS, so make sure you really really want it. It is like livingsocial/groupon, but a lot less overwhelming. It is also a discount towards LUXURIOUS items/experiences. Also, read the fine print (shipping prices vary) and go to the purchasing website and check shipping. It can be as low as $5 or more. Be wary. My purchase will be coming in soon. I will update.

You can get $25 off your first giltcity order with this referral link: www.giltcity.com/invite/113918407aa4ap7d6mp7

jenniferh89
4 reviews
12 helpful votes
5/19/15

This place has horrible customer service when it comes to returns they will simply ignore you and if you try to remove yourself from their email list they will ignore your request again and continue to spam your email constantly even if you ask to never be sent another email.

meganm21
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/26/15

Thank you gilt city for your excellent customer support and refunding me for my voucher, which, due to my oversight, was not redeemable because i was not a first time customer. I will continue to be a loyal customer of gilt city over other discount websites.

kakas
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/17/14

such a bad experience with a gilt city deal I purchased. Would not refund!!!! Terrible customer service. Groupon and LivingSocial are much better!

stephanien3
87 reviews
171 helpful votes
4/21/14

It's an off shoot of Gilt.com. It is more geared towards experiences, like Groupon, but trying to appeal to a more "refined" clientele. I have liked some of the things I have bought, but there is a strict NO REFUND policy. That kind of stinks!

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hey! This would need to be discussed with another department other then customer service, If you can please email us at service@gilt.com or provide an email address for me to send some information too about this. Thanks!

By Gilt S., Gilt City Representative
Questions? Get answers from the Gilt City staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Gilt City?
Post Review