Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Zillow

Zillow reviews

Is this your business?
571 reviews
1301 Second Avenue, Floor 31
Seattle, WA 98101
Tel: 1-206-470-7000
press@zillow.com

571 Reviews From Our Community

Service
29
Value
31
Shipping
9
Returns
9
Quality
28

All Reviews

frand28
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/15/19

ZILLOW ALLOWS SLANDEROUS AND LIBELOUS POSTS OF REALTORS AND DOESNT ALLOW A RESPONSE FROM THE REALTOR I HAVE HAD UNQUALIFIED TENANTS GIVE ME BAD REVIEWS BECAUSE I CAUGHT THEM FALSIFYING PAPEROWRK I KEOT THE DIRTBAGS FROM GETTING AN APARTMENT AND ZILLOW ALLOWS THEM TO SLAM ME....ZILLOW CHEATED ME WHEN I PAID FOPR ADVERTISISNG BY SENDING LEADS ALREADY LISTED ZILLOW NEEDS TO GET LOST

lauriet59
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/15/19

I listed my home with my agent as per normal. Zillow picked up the listing and slammed us with a very low Zestimate and outrageously low priced comps. I have been trying for two weeks to get some straight answers from Zillow and have had little success. This directly impacts our home sale. Zillow should not be allowed to get away with gross misrepresentation's that they admit may be "inaccurate".

shirleyg95
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/9/19

Waste of time - VERY rude people who do the call back to verify an ad - 6 failed times I tried to list a for sale by owner ad... Use another company...

dianas263
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/24/19

just got off the phone with someone who refused to identify themselves who was rude and threatening (this is your last warning maam) I said warning for what? my husband and I own property we wanted to sell. this rude rep said they do not do listings for two owners. This btw was a re-list of a post we had put on Zillow a year ago and have re posted two other times. They do not even have someone to answer their customer service number really left a bad taste for me.

carolk204
4 reviews
5 helpful votes
11/27/18

No matter what you type in as a limit on the amount of rent you can afford, they only show places way out of the price range any average person could afford. Waste of time!0

gabrielaf11
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/13/18

The sales people exaggerate on how many leads you get. The leads are almost all worthless. It's a 6 month contract with a 2 month buy out fine to get out of their"contract". They instantly break the contract the first month into it because I never got the 18 leads that they promised me.

Where do I start with Zillow/Trulia!! I have been advertising with Zillow as a premier agent for months now, and I can tell you that it is 100% a scam. I needed a new place to allocate some advertising dollars and decided to give Zillow a try. The sales rep, Kevin **, told me the number of leads per zip I would receive (18) for the spend I was willing to do ($1400 a month). Zillow makes you sign a 6 month contract, and I was a bit hesitant to commit to $8400 for 6 months worth of advertising.

Over the first few weeks, I realized that I made a terrible BIG mistake. I would say 90% of the leads are absolutely worthless. I was receiving rental leads and I told the rep that I needed leads for home purchases ONLY. That's how we make money-selling homes and not renting them!! He respond that he was a are and that they would refund me and never fit credit me or refund me! Second off they were advertising properties that were not listed for months or that were sold months ago... TOTAL SCAM AND TOTAL DECEPTIVE ADVERTISING!! Not sure how they are still around and how this company Is not shut down yet. I have had several real estate agents go on there a click the lead and then tell me they are agents wondering about the property for sale that was not for sale on our local Realtracs website! Of course it's not on MLS because ZILLOW WAS FALSY ADVERTISING THIS PROPERTY.

At the end of the day that lead was counted against my leads as a one of my leads- It's a TOTAL SCAM- DO NOT ADVERTISE WITH THESE SHARKS!! It is a SCAM. I asked the rep, Kevin, to see if he can cancel my first week into it and of course he could not. He asked me to pay 2 months to buy out of my contract! WOW!!! I asked him if I get leads for those 2 months and he said NO- that month buy out (2800) was to get out of their scam! I want to get the word out to everyone in the real estate business so maybe I can save you from getting scammed and ripped off. DO NOT ADVERTISE ON ZILLOW or TRULIA! I am filing a class action lawsuit against them for so many reasons. If you would like to join me- send me a message.

They falsely advertise homes that are not available as a form of bait and switch and they send you this lead. The client calls wanting to get this home that sold months ago for the lower price and you have to instantly advise them that zillow does not update their system for months and by that time- you lost the potential client interested in buying a home.

They just need to be taught how to market and to get the correct adverting so that they have a good product to offer. There are so many bad reviews on zillow doing this to all Real estate agents all over the internet. please help me take these people!

giselal6
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/22/18

The John Aguirre team is by far the BEST realtor team. They were so helpful and professional making this process a breeze.
Thank you so much.

shawns139
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/19/18

The houses you view and prices you see never match up. They use pictures and very low prices to find people interested in house shopping and sell you as a lead. THE PICTURES AND HOUSES ARE NOT as seen. One house I liked sold in 2013.... it's 2018. The link will show you 90k when the realtor gets on the phone it's 250k. What a joke. Handing pissed off leads to realtors. Poor people are For examplehttps://www.zillow.com/homedetails/2507-E-Derrick-Rd-Carlsbad-NM-88220/111356353_zpid/?utm_source=txtshare

jcr8
1 review
5 helpful votes
9/24/18

The people recruiting realtors will promise you anything to get you to sign up, once you have joined Zillow. What they tell you is all a lie. I did not received what I was promised nor was the way they said I was going to.

andyd84
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/17/18

I have no idea what happened, my house was at $850,000. Now it's at $767,000 2 weeks later. That's almost $100,000. Just keeps going down. By the end of the month. It should be worth about 10k. What a joke for almost 2 acres of lake shore property.....

toms661
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/13/18

Zillow,
Your position seems to be designed to be legally safe, for now, but the reality is your Zestimate is a powerful number that everyone else has to work to overcome. If you undervalue a property you cost people real money, and you give no recourse. This is a very unfair business practice.

Tom

On Sep 12, 2018, at 8:49 AM, Chris S. (Zillow) <care@zillow.com> wrote:

##- Please type your reply above this line -##
Your request (5864326) has been updated. To add additional comments, reply to this email.

Chris S.
Chris S. (Zillow Help Center)
Sep 12, 8:49 AM PDT

Hi again,

Thank you for the follow-up.

For the first and second question, we are trying to let you know that our Zestimate is not actually a value that is pertaining to or for comparative market analysis. This is just an estimate that is being calculated based on the data, sales records, tax information and the home facts (Bedrooms, baths, square footage); a starting point value of the home. The Zestimate algorithm models are constantly updating to provide the very best starting value of a home given the data that we have available. This is the reason why we do not use or accept appraisals for the homes, on Zillow, because it's important that the Zestimate algorithm be consistently applied to all properties in a similar manner by using the same data points for every property. An appraiser physically inspects the property and takes special features, location, and market conditions into account. We do not factor these details into our Zestimate.

The current Zestimate is $140,368, the last time I have checked the property page, the Zestimate was $139,460. This is the calculation based on the data we have from the property page. You may look at Zestimate history & details to know how it was calculated.

For the third question, since thousands of data points go into the Zestimate calculation, it is difficult to pinpoint a specific reason for the difference in Zestimate between your home and your neighbor's home.

To name a few possible reasons:
-Quality of the homes (materials, upgrades)
-Floor plan/structural layout might be correlated with the values
-Past transaction history
-Tax assessments

You may check them on the home page you are referring as the identical unit of your home, so you would have the chance to compare and know the difference in the home facts.

For the fourth question, what you see is the Private Zestimate. This can only be seen by the home owner and you have that because you have the chance to edit your comps. But it will not be publicized because the comps that appear on our property pages are computer generated.

Lastly, be noted that Zestimate cannot be manually edited or removed from the home page. The only thing that will change it is by updating the home facts or any incorrect data that you see on the home page. Again, we don't mean this estimation to be an official appraisal.

Thank you for understanding this matter.
Thank you for using Zillow.

Chris S.
Consumer Care Advocate
https://zillow.zendesk.com/hc/en-us

App User
App User
Sep 11, 5:24 PM PDT

This is a follow-up to your previous request #5810361 "Zestimate inquiry"

Hi Chris,

I understand most of your note but where I'm still confused is the following:

1) The local realtor says my property is about $180K
2) Zestimate says $140K
3) The identical unit next door to mine has a Zestimate of $148K
3) If I use the Zillow "View my Comps", it gives $241K
4) In the 2 years before you changed your algorithm my property Zestimate went from $146K to $176K, and then in one month, the month your new algorithm started, it dropped to $121K, a drop of $55K or 31%!
7/6/16 146,500
12/24/16 165,017
2/15/17 167,913
4/10/17 175,520
8/1/17 121,055

As so many people make use of Zillow when hunting for a home, it is really not right to present my home as $140K when it is likely between $175K and $200K.

Can you do anything to correct the public online Zestimate for my property.

Thanks,
Tom

[7OVEX9-70M2]

closurec
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/9/18

Scammer tryin to rent 2136 Sandridge Circle in Eustis ( doesn't exist). He states that his wife has cancer so he has a lockbox. Has you create an account through renter.com with a password. Then gets your info because a credit card has to be entered to pay the .99 fee. I have used this service before so didn't think anything of it. His phone number is (765) 986-1277. My point is that there should be a verification process so these crooks can't keep doing this.

susanr370
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/8/18

This guy is great! He not only provides great service with style, personality and lots of helpful tips, but he actually LISTENS to his clients! I would wholeheartedly recommend him to anyone in the area who is considering buying or selling property.

kellyj147
1 review
3 helpful votes
9/5/18

Last week (8/28/18), Zillow's "Zestimate" of my home value was $562,147. I was getting ready to list my home, and I decided to give "Zillow Offer" a try. I completed the easy, online form that day, after which I received a phone call from one of their agents, Kate. Because I'd indicated on the application that I was working with a realtor, they needed to speak with my agent. I had my realtor call Kate at Zillow the next day to answer her questions. She was told that we would have a Zillow Offer by Friday, 9/1/18. I was out of town for the Labor Day weekend, but upon my return I found that Zillow had offered me $461,843 over $100,000 less than their "Zestimate". I checked Zillow again on 9/3/18 to find that Zillow had dropped their Zestimate of my home to $508,362; a $53,785 drop in value over the course of a few days!

I tried to call Kate at Zillow on 9/3/18 (which was Labor Day), and left a voice message asking for an explanation of this "suspicious" activity. I've watched Zillow for months and months now, and a fluctuation of a few hundred dollars over a week's time is not unusual, but we were talking about a 10% decrease! I did not hear from Kate as of Tuesday morning (9/4/18), so I called and left her another voice mail. After watching the value drop even further (now to $507, 686) I tried to call again in the afternoon.

An agent named Cindy answered. She saw I had been working with Kate and asked if I wanted her to have Kate call me. She confirmed that Kate was working that day, but said they had been "busy." I told her no, that I'd already left two messages for her, and that I wanted to speak with someone who could actually help explain the situation, which I knew Kate could not do (she'd already informed me that she was not involved in the pricing/valuations). Cindy tried to assure me that the valuations were based on "an algorithm," and that the zestimates are constantly changing. I told her that I understood this, but that I know my home's area and I also had the comps for my home. I assured her that we did not have any recent closings that would cause my home to lose 10% of its value in a matter of days. Cindy said she would have a manager call me back.

Today is 9/5/18. Kate has not returned my calls. No manager has returned my calls. No one at Zillow has reached out to me. In the meantime, today Zillow's Zestimate shows that my home's value has dropped 10.2% in the past 30 days. The house next door to mine (which is my identical floor plan) has experienced a +0.6% increase in value over 30 days (and is valued at more than $50,000 over the current "value" of my home). Another home a few doors down (again, identical floor plan) has experienced a -0.5% decrease in value over 30 days, although it is valued at nearly $90,000 more than my home. If this is an algorithm at work, Zillow had better audit their software engineer's work! If a class-action suit is organized, sign me up.

caitlyns13
29 reviews
28 helpful votes
8/30/18

I love that it shows me the zestimate (Zillow estimate) of how much I would be paying a month and that it is easy to navigate and filter to what we need. My only complaint is that I have reached out in the past to agents and never got any responses except for one time and it wasn't the greatest interaction. Other than that it is easy and useful, I just recommend using a Realtor you know or local to that area.

lisap430
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/28/18

Their game is smoke and mirrors. $2,500 minimum monthly fees for realtors to get their face up on the site - They list the realtors that pay them so that buyers think that they are the contact for the property. It's completely misleading and starts your relationship with new clients off on a lie.

Don't do it I say! You will better spend your marketing dollars elsewhere.

chriss944
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/23/18

You can't be honest in your review. I didn't curse or use foul language! I just used honesty but can't be honest on Zillow. I'm off to REDFIN!!

samirp3
15 reviews
13 helpful votes
8/22/18

I also lost about $175,000 to a Greenfield Capital broker and 2 fake binary option website as well but I am sharing my experience here so as to enlighten and educate everyone that is losing money or has lost money to a scam binary options, dating scams and fake ICOs.

However , I have been able to recover all the money I lost to online fraud with the help of a recovery professional and I am pleased to inform you that there is hope for everyone that has lost money to scam.
you can reach out to them by searching for Miguel Aruso (Cybercrime Investigator) on Quora.

susanl68
74 reviews
222 helpful votes
8/20/18

Zillow is mostly accurate, not always, but mostly. Sometimes, transactions and transactional information disappears completely, and it is impossible to find it, get it back or verify what happened. Sometimes, I have filed a rating for those they push and promote, and Zillow trashes any ratings that aren't 4 or 5 star ratings. Zillow is very biased and sells out. Overall, Zillow is very useful and a bit better than any of its competitors.

Service
Value
Quality
jackp159
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/19/18

They're very dishonest. They change the price on you & reduce the number of leads.
I don't trust the sales people

katherinea56
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/18/18

Zillow needs to take down their estimate of home values. Zillow is hurting sales and making it harder to sell homes. TAKE DOWN ZESTIMATES.

js460
39 reviews
40 helpful votes
8/8/18

Zillow is really easy to use, and I like to use it for fun to look up some of the prices of houses, apartments, etc in my neighborhood. Great for when I am curious about real estate.

ljl4
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/7/18

Horrible customer service. I listed my rental on Zillow and started getting calls the same day. 48 hours later I had my rental secured with a new tenant! Great! So now I have been spending the last two weeks trying to remove the rental so people stop calling me. I have contacted Zillow corporate in Seattle three times and all you get is an answering machine telling you to leave a message and I'll call you back. They never called back. There is no Tab for landlords on their website! Oh we can a half later, I am giving up. The thing is, that this is going to reflect negatively on Zillow because when people don't get return phone calls for me, they will blame Zillow, not me.

lindsaym62
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
8/6/18

Great Wonderful People! Look forward to always working with them on finding locations. Cindy Crutcher is a wondeful person. :)

valeriem127
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/3/18

They do list all homes on their site. They do not include Redfin homes. If you want to know what what really on the market, use another site.

190 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Almost every real estate search site is driven by MLS listing information and if you don't list, chances are very good that sites will have different and often conflicting info. Zillow allows one to claim a Zillow listing and put up your own details and photos, but you really need to have every site accurate. Our solution was to list through zerotolist.com, which charges buyers a small fee that we are offering to pay. This instantly cleared up all our internet listing inconsistencies. That being said, the majority of our showings have come from small signs at intersections within a mile of our house, and flyers we distributed to 35 businesses in our area.

By Steve G.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes you can. We did this at the top of the description and on the photos. We made it clear that we were on our own and to contact us. We did get calls finally after doing this. Good luck all you FSBO sellers out there. I hope it pays off for all of you.

By cindy b.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Unfortunately they still show up in BING. So ZIllow is really slow to make full updates all over the net.

By Rosanne F.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I used Postlets to rent our house but it did not go through Zillow. Our house was for sale at the same time. I had a hard time taking it down from the rental sites after we sold the house. We received calls for about 1 year after the house sold and even while we had it rented. I had to work at each site to find where it got posted. It was hard work to get it delisted as a rental.

By l s.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I certainly feel for you. The exact same thing happened to us. We decided to put our own information and number on every single photo and in the description. We started to get some calls from buyers instead of Realtors. I hope this helps and the best of luck with your sale.

By cindy b.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Good luck!

By Mary M.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

You could remove your listing by following the instructions you find on the Zillow website.

By Angela C.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

As far as I know you can't. I had my home appraised at 375k, but the Zillow estimate is 271k. If you check sale prices vs Zillow estimates they are most often WAY OFF. Appraisers are also scamming home owners, as they are mostly incompetent.

By georgie p.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I have no idea. I know that you pay them. I am against it completely since I listed a home on my own. It isnt fair to the seller at all. It confuses the buyer . I have had non stop calls from realtors as well as text messages ...emails ...and mailings. They want to list it when we already did all the work. They get upset that i am selling my own property on my own. It is my right and my property. We had no ide that agents would be listed on our own FSBO listing when we first did this.' They make it look like the agents are involved in my listing since the agent contact info. Is listed before ours We never planned to work with a realtor. We are now more turned off than ever. Many potential buyers call them first since zillow is misleading and the realtors discourage them from our listing. I had my sister contact a few and they lied about it and said it was off the market since when they tried to bully me into working with them. I said no. I sell houses on my own. I do the renovations...the marketing...the staging . I sell them. Its desperate that they have to gang up on sellers who are minding their own business. Its a real estate mafia and its desperate of zillow and the agents.

By cindy b.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Zillow staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

10 Photos for Zillow

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Zillow?
Post Review