SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government’s NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of OkCupid

OkCupid reviews

Is this your business?
610 reviews
64%
Categories: Dating
39 W 14th St Ste 502
New York, NY 10011-7403, USA
Tel: +1.8556528743
help@crazyblinddate.com
This business is not yet responding to reviews. If this is your business claim it and respond free.

610 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
43
Value
41
Shipping
16
Returns
18
Quality
39

All Reviews

roset57
14 reviews
2 helpful votes
8/28/16

I love this site

Ask Rose about OkCupid
Advertisement
justins105
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/21/16

First a quick history for the youngsters: OKCupid has been around for years and emerged from another site called SparkMatch. In 2011, the large media conglomerate IAC bought OKCupid and it completely went downhill. Here's why you shouldn't support it.

SparkMatch was a bit wild and lax on enforcement of rules, but it was fun. It had journals, quizzes, blogs, an IM, and event invitations--it was a community where people hung out for hours, not just a meat market. All these features went away after the buyout and there was an expose showing that the new owners mine user data. The "compatibility" questions are still there, but don't be fooled: they're basically a long-term psychology experiment used for marketing. That IAC company? They own more than 150 brands and it's written in the site rules that OKCupid can share whatever data it wants with the rest of its umbrella. That's right: if you answer questions about sex, drugs, or rock and roll, hundreds of brands might have that information.

It gets worse. To be fair, let's ignore the stuff beyond OKCupid's control. After all, every dating site has scammers, spammers, bots and trolls. But the admins are now your worst enemies. Here's a choice quote from their TOS: "[We] reserve the right to determine...what constitutes harassment or mischief...and may partially or completely deny service to any infringing party." Just legal jargon to protect themselves, right? Wrong. If you Google "OKCupid complaints," you'll find hundreds of stories of people getting banned for no reason whatsoever. Many of them were new to the site or had never said anything remotely offensive to anybody. They lost their profile content and all their conversations: several of these folks were invalids or had no realistic chance of finding romance offline. In many cases they clicked a brand new profile and it disappeared from the site just a few seconds later. Suspicious, isn't it?

The only thing worse than this new era of draconian enforcement is the methods behind it. First your messages will get throttled. You won't even know you did anything wrong; you'll just notice you aren't getting mail after a while. Then if you log out (or don't, and the admins force a logout) you'll see a message saying "Technical problems--try again later." That's right: they'll lie to you just because they can, getting you to waste more time on something that has no expected resolution. This is truly the definition of heartless. If you catch on and email them, or figure out their blacklist method (hint: browser fingerprinting) they'll delete your account altogether and say you were harassing people instead of talking to you like a human being. And--here's the question of the day. Let's say that somehow you are the world's biggest jerk, and your online arguments aren't just simple misunderstandings. Since when is that grounds for account deletion? Isn't that why there's a Block button, so users can resolve their own disagreements? When people argue in real life, they don't get thrown in jail for it.

This happens in such alarmingly large numbers that there are many theories as to why: the site admins only want users who answer questions so they can mine their data, or that they're booting certain demographics to encourage some weird diverse liberal haven. Long story short, it's heartless and it's unfair. Paid users have even been terminated this way, having to argue back and forth just to recoup their membership costs. The icing on the cake is that IAC owns most every free dating venue by now, including Plenty of Fish and Tinder. The difference between those and OKCupid? Honest communication and fair treatment of users, not deceptive or sadistic admins who treat members like something on the bottom of their shoes. Don't let the funky, slangy welcome messages fool you if you're new to the site. OKCupid is a shell of what it was years ago. It's not "laid back" and its moderators will kick you to the curb, without justifiable cause. If you must date for free, do it somewhere else. Anywhere else.

Ask Justin about OkCupid
joes599
1 review
5 helpful votes
8/17/16

This writing is for the few intelligent souls who actually do their due diligence before joining dating sites. There are many free dating sites out there: OkCupid, PlentyofFish, and Mingle2 to name a few. At one time I was a member of all of them. My last venture into the free world of dating sites was OkCupid. Now I was not actually the site moderator; I was invited to moderate as many members often are who post a complaint or spot spam or
a scam. I received a message from the OKC admin inviting me to take part in the moderating of the site. I guess the sheer number of fake profiles, scammers, escorts, and other site offending users was too much for the site and so they decided to tap into the membership for help. A button was added to my drop down menu: Moderation.
The OKC moderation adventure. I really didnt want to get sucked into this but I was hoping that maybe my paid membership might get stretched out for a month or two simply by the number of profiles I was reviewing. The rules for marking a profile are vague and ambiguous. For example: It clearly states face pic not required then on the same page says that artwork or photos that are not the member are not allowed. The marking codes are not inclusive enough or defined enough for all of the alleged offensives that appear in profiles. Other offensives include: :Nudity photos, photos of genitalia, children, or other offensive pics.
Pay attention this is how you find scammers, liars, cheaters, and hmmmm escorts. Moderators are encouraged to use Google image search and Tineye to search ferret out photo piracy. This generally gets a violation of:GIS- Google image search, TE- Tineye, NTU- Not the user, OS- Overtly sexual, to name a few. What I found is that of the profile I reviewed 70% of the male profiles were pirated photos (actors, professionals, ad models) that usually pulled up scammer page links in GIS. 20% were non-user pics in inactive accounts and 10% were cool guys who just needed to move a photo or two into an album.
Of the womens profiles most of the things I discovered were: 50% escort language or links to sex sites, 20% were pirated photos (pornstars, actors, ad models) with scammer language, 10% were non-user pics in inactive accounts, and 20% cool ladies who again just needed to move a photo or two into an album. Links to sex sites are a dead give-away.
What began to happen was because I often looked at the actual page of the user it kicks up a notification to that user. So I would get endless visits to my page and sometimes snarky and offensive messages such as:Who the F**<k are you?. So.to notify the use of why I was there Id leave a little message:moderator view or something similar. This reduced the number of visits and the language of the messages was better:Ok, no problem, etc.
Then one female user sent me a message:Are you and actual moderator or just using a line to score dates?. Rut-roh Shaggy. I answered her query simply by telling her to read my profile which is obvious to any reader that it would be nearly impossible to score dates by posing as a moderator. Wellwhat happened next is what I figured would happened. She snarkly replied ooooookkkaayyyy and then more than likely complained to the website. I couldnt log in to my account for about eight hours and received an email telling me my account was deleted blah, blah, blah.
My suggestions to anyone on or considering joining a dating site.
First: If you get an invitation to moderate tell them to get lost. This is simply an attempt to put someone out in front of the brand as a scapegoat to decrease liability to the company. Youre expendable, right? After all youre considered a loser who cant find anyone in the real world. Second: Dont bother wasting your time or money on dating sites. Look around you when youre out of the house: Ive found more persons to have activities with than on dating sites that way. Out of the persons Ive met from dating sites most have been looking for free stuff, extremely demanding, expensive gifts, paying their bills, or escorts. Third if you join a site use the tools they use to separate the real deal from the scammers: Google image search or Tineye.
Fourth: photo pirating is a big problem. Your pic could end up being used
for illegal purposes or identity theft. I hope everyone finds someone to end
the loneliness. Good luck.

Ask Joe about OkCupid
colina12
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/16/16

Id say most of the girls on this site are genuine. Probably 60% of those ive spoken with. Maybe not as high a number as on wejustfit (my personal favorite dating site) but still better than most of these kinda sites. Not sure what else matters im not looking for a nice design, im looking for girls. And there are a good amount here so im content at that.

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
Ask Colin about OkCupid
dericks6
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/9/16

very good site

Ask derick about OkCupid
robbb3
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/8/16

Don't pay any attention to all those negative reviews. OKCupid is a great dating site. I have been browsing the internet to find a legit dating site for YEARSSSS and OKCupid, Mingle2day and Tinder (if you prefer to go mobile) are the only ones which worked for me. Easy to use, nice people to chat with. Keep it up, guys!

Ask Robb about OkCupid
miai
3 reviews
18 helpful votes
8/2/16

Online dating free or paid is a scam! Men just use them for hook ups.

Ask Mia about OkCupid
ianm103
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/2/16

When looking for girl online there is only one place on start and it's here. Sure, there are a few hidden gems out there (e.g wejustfit.com) but overall OkCupid is what you need to meet a girl. I love it!

Ask Ian about OkCupid
ashlyk1
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/2/16

I was only on okcupid for a couple months before I met the love of my life. I never thought a dating site could really work, but it did. After 15 months of dating, we are getting married. And I owe it all to okcupid for the opportunity to meet.

Ask Ashly about OkCupid
peterc132
1 review
5 helpful votes
8/2/16

Here is my take on online dating - I hate it with a vengeance, and I am becoming more and more bitter as I get older. It is especially a nightmare for men like myself. Despite what they tell you, the dating sites are mostly male-dominated, so women stand a marginally better chance of success than men do, but not much.

There is a BBC Scotland documentary on YouTube which gives the lowdown on dating sites. Check it out if you can. It tells you what I suspected all along. They openly admit that they create literally millions of fake profiles, and if they did not do this, they would go out of business. This means that the system cannot possibly work. They claim this is to promote their business, which is ridiculous. When genuine people like myself join, they simply match them up with fake profiles or ex-members of the site. This means you are sending messages to a non-existent person, or rather a robot, and a robot will reply.

If honest people join, they are not matched up at all, and even if they are, messages are blocked. They are sent, but they disappear, obviously sabotaged by the dating site. Another dirty trick is for a member to receive a message from you without your knowledge. That is obviously a fake message written and sent by the site, and has nothing to do with you. This could explain why, out of the blue, you may receive an abusive message from an irate lady because she received an unpleasant message from you, about which you know nothing. It may also be a conspiracy on the part of the dating site to find an excuse to delete your account without giving a reason, for which dating sites are also notorious.

So what is the point in online dating, even if it is free with OK Cupid? You just waste your time, but not your money? If you see a photo of someone you like the look of, it is probably a porn actor or a model, and nobody is behind that photo, only a bot. The documentary I mentioned before even brought attention to a photo of the American actress Michelle Pfeiffer being used in a fake profile.

And if you find a real person you want to contact, all contact will be blocked. What more can I say? The system is 100% scam. How can any of this be legal? It is not. It is illegal.
Just look at the reviews - they are mostly negative, and they make horrible reading. I do not know what to do now. I will never have a girlfriend in my life, after learning the hard way with these awful dating sites. Should I commit suicide?

Ask Peter about OkCupid
susanp119
9 reviews
5 helpful votes
7/26/16

I used the site for less time than expected because I found a great partner faster than expected. Their algorithm is great at finding compatible people, plus they have cute personality and other tests.

Ask Susan about OkCupid
sammies24
2 reviews
7 helpful votes
7/22/16

My picture was flagged by one of the guys, solely because i wouldn't entertain him nor talk sexually. Therefore he flagged my picture. 90% of the guys on here only want sex anyways, but when a woman turns them down they want to act like a baby. Maybe y'all should offer tutorials for assholish guys so they will actually learn how to speak to a woman.

Ask Sammie about OkCupid
gilberta10
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/19/16

Really pleased with OkCupid I have to say. Id rank it up there with WeJustFit.com in terms of selection of girls/ number of fakes/ variety of functions/ mobile site/ etc. Think those are pretty much the cream of the fun dating crop at the moment, although im still due to try a couple of new ones in the coming months. Would recommend.

Ask Gilbert about OkCupid
cranec
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/11/16

I talked to several men, but only met two. The second one is now my boyfriend, and we'll be moving across the country together this month. Truly, he is the most amazing, kind, loving, handsome, patient, intelligent man I have ever met. I'm blown away with how quickly I found someone (2 months), especially someone like him. I'm very, very pleased with this service. Also, it's very easy to use. I recommend it to all my single friends.

Ask Crane about OkCupid
mattheww66
1 review
4 helpful votes
7/5/16

Im not sure when it happened but when I speak to friends about online dating now they all seem to be using cool new quirky sites (like wejustfit.com) or dating apps (like tinder, tangled, etc). Its like the big fish (OkCupid being the biggest traditionally) have almost got so well known that theyre now too vanilla! For me, I still like OkCupid and cant help the feeling that the people who say the stopped using it probably still do use it, but are acting too current too admit theyre still on it! Maybe its like how some clothes brands become so common that people deliberately start avoiding them (can you tell I work in fashion?!). Anyway ill be sticking with OkCupid, it may not be the coolest site anymore (when was online dating ever cool anyway) but its busy and thats the main thing.

Ask Matthew about OkCupid
davidm467
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/2/16

OKCUPID is free! I found a good woman and we are into our seventh month together and all is well. It wasn't easy. I had to figure out who the scammers are and who the real ones are. Worth the effort because I tried the traditional methods and never managed to find a good woman. I found one because of OKCUPID! YAY!

Tip for consumers: Here is a tip. Be patient. Be careful. Be honest.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask David about OkCupid
clairel29
7 reviews
46 helpful votes
6/29/16

Not great, takes a long time to sign up.

Ask Claire about OkCupid
lisam315
1 review
8 helpful votes
6/27/16

For every 10 guys that messaged me only one was reaI. I recently got a message from lovestick1 and IJK04 one said his name was Michael the other was Bryan and they were using the same pictures!!!!!

Ask Lisa about OkCupid
johna525
1 review
6 helpful votes
6/22/16

I use OkCupid along with WeJustFit.com and POF and find the combination works pretty well. Its not expensive to do it that way and you dont get bored of being on one site all the time and seeing the same faces again and again. Plus you obviously improve your chances of meeting the one as you end up going on quite a few dates with people. All the sites are pretty different too, so you find things you like about one that you dont necessarily find on the other sites. But each has their advantages id say. With this site its probably the mobile app, which is super easy to use and has a nice layout. So yeah id say its a good website to use if youre doing a combination of sites.

Ask John about OkCupid
am7060
3 reviews
8 helpful votes
6/17/16

I got lots of responses but .I found that waaaay too many of them were from scammers (or guys too young-or too old -or too strange-for anything like a LTR) Okay for dipping my foot into the waters, but I just deleted my profile...overall, too much of hassle wielding my way through all of that. (and ironically, after all those "Likes"? Never did meet any of them) Well, time to try somewhere else...

Ask a about OkCupid
christopherr63
30 reviews
28 helpful votes
6/16/16

Definitely, the best Dating Site I've used. Loved the match system that it has. The questions that are asked sometimes are odd,but I think doing matches based on questions people ask and the importance they rank those make a lot of sense. Any relationship I started with someone from this site was a good one.

Ask Christopher about OkCupid
martinl77
1 review
10 helpful votes
6/15/16

Compared to all the other dating sites out there - and of course compared to all the dating scams you will find - OkCupid pretty much kicks ass! It ain't perfect though and I know that most people will most likely find someone special on those prime dating sites like Mingle2day. But let's face the facts here: OKCupid is pretty much a cool dating site. You will find fake profile on any other site as well. After all, I am not using it anymore because as mentioned I am more than happy using some other site but I did in the past and I thought it was more than just "ok":)

Ask Martin about OkCupid
karinn1
1 review
8 helpful votes
6/12/16

I have not found another dating site with the amount of scammers I found on OkCupid ! In the last week I found about a dozen fake profiles !!!
The sad and disturbing part is, the scammers are all still doing their dirty business - even after I reported them, providing OkCupid with reliable data and proof of their wrongdoing.
Ladies, please beware and be cautious!
Photos of the profiles can be scanned on the Google site
https://images.google.com/

Tip for consumers: Ladies, please beware and be cautious!
Photos of the profiles can be scanned on the Google site
https://images.google.com/

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Karin about OkCupid
susanb176
1 review
9 helpful votes
6/10/16

The men that contacted me and I was talking too, found to be FAKES... Ladies, Please Beware. They are using other profiles, DO a background CHECK on all of them.

Ask Susan about OkCupid
johnm685
2 reviews
42 helpful votes
6/7/16

I have used this site for years. In my "settings", I have always chosen the privacy option that is supposed to allow only other site members to view my profile. My personal info is not supposed to be used for OkCupid's advertising purposes.

However, I have just discovered that when someone Googles my user name, one of my photos comes up, and with it, a paragraph from my profile appears. This is one of the methods OkCupid uses to advertise its site.

What is it about "private" that OkCupid doesn't understand?

Ask John about OkCupid
294 ratings were submitted through the SiteJabber Browser Extension

22 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the OkCupid staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
7/23/16
Add your answer
I am affiliated with this business
I have no affiliation with this business
Posting guidelines
6/5/16
Add your answer
I am affiliated with this business
I have no affiliation with this business
Posting guidelines
See 20 more questions
See more Q&A
LoadingLoading...
Questions? Get answers from the OkCupid staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Similar Pages

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
OkCupid?
Post Review