Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of OkCupid

OkCupid reviews

Is this your business?
1,068 reviews
39 W 14th St Ste 502
New York, NY 10011-7403, USA
Tel: +1-214-853-4309
help@crazyblinddate.com
2017 Customer choice award

1,068 Reviews From Our Community

Service
50
Value
50
Shipping
20
Returns
22
Quality
46

All Reviews

matth2634
9 reviews
13 helpful votes
11/13/18

Got banned after girl complained on me. Lots of scammers, women on there to use and abuse me. Maybe 2% are genuine and nice. OkCupid sucks!

ds318
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/13/18

They continuously repeat the same profiles on the swipe left or right part.

I paid for A-list unfortunately and still couldn't even see my own sent messages.

You can send a message to someone you like after seeing their pics and reading their profile and guess what? They don't even get your message unless they happen to randomly like your profile? Not a good system.

ianb184
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/12/18

Dont get the fuss. Seems average so far. Yes good member numbers but there are actually more in my city on wejustfit.com and ive had more dates there.

susanj266
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/10/18

Too many scammers and fake people on this site .The site now asks for photo to create a profile , so many still have picures of the floor, buildings , but not themselves.

donh252
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
11/8/18

OK cupid makes you answer hundreds of questions for a questionable goal of it being able to to match you based on their secret algorithm. Well, after having answered a 1000 and receiving laughable matches in return it is clear that the real goal is okcupid harvesting your data (and running experiments on it) Their algorithm will leave you exhasporated and without any recourse because, 1- you cannot tweak their algorithm to make it more accurate, and they will hide most users from you based on what they see fit, 2- their support is almost nonexistent, and inconsistent in their answers, 3-their memberships are non refundable. You are better off with a more privacy oriented site that won't waste your time forcing you to churn data they can harvest and resell.

simonb157
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
10/27/18

On this site there is a lot of fake girls. Some kind a guy hides behind the computer screen and creates fake profiles. I caught him twice, at first he's acting nicely and then starts to offering nude photos in exchange of yours. Please share this review

johnr1210
1 review
6 helpful votes
10/23/18

My profile was deleted only because I expressed support for Trump. The vast majority of female participants on OKcupid are either Trump haters or Ghanaian scammers. I wouldn´t be surprised to hear that this site is supported by Soros & Co.

kismetk1
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/22/18

I have been with my now husband for five years and married for three. We have a baby boy. I am thankful for okcupid and sticking with it and being light about it and knowing what I wanted and he did too. You can be polite if someone you don't see yourself messages you. There are women and men out there that want and accept a number of things. Enjoy the process and you will find one that fits the bill. Meeting, dating then marrying is a big commitment. I am thankful for ok Cupid. Cheers and good luck to people, keep your hopes up.

rossb85
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/4/18

I've had a couple of dates on OkCupid, not as many as I had on wejustfit.com but ive used that longer so it's fair enough. Anyway with OkCupid one was really nice and I think we'll stay in touch, the other was a non-starter, got a train to glasgow to meet up and let's just say it wasn't worth the butterflies or the train ticket. Went to one of the Match Nights events too but weather was typically terrible so turnout was poor. So at this point nothing to write home about but also not a waste of time either.

georgem457
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/21/18

In 2016 I joined OkCupid, as "MoSailingGuy" took the time to answer about 300 questions. About a year after joining I met a lady by the name of "ToeKnee" she and I had a 93% match rating. We messaged, emailed, finally met after several months of that, and we were comfortable with each other from the start. The magic a great first date, but we knew a lot about each other before we ever met, thanks to long daily emails. When we finally met face to face we just looked at each other a lot. Didn't take all that long before we both felt the same way. Didn't take long and we were together full time. If it wasn't for OkCupid am not sure if we would have ever crossed paths. We are still together, and could not be happier. Made answering all those questions worth while.

gd74
1 review
7 helpful votes
9/17/18

Dating is hard enough, but OK Cupid makes it even harder. Deletes visibility of and communication with who you texted an initial "hello" to unless that party either responds or "likes" you in return. Until that happens the other person's profile is "poof" gone. Problem is you are not sure that your message was ever received. The web site has just introduced uncertainty into what is an already uncertain process. OK Cupid says they do that so that person won't be pestered with unwanted messages. Guess the web site insists on treating adults like middle schoolers who are not able to use a "block" button. Secondly they seriously restrict matches. I live in a 4-5 million metropolitan area. Searched for women looking for men aged 50-70. Guess how many OK Cupid offers5 yes five. Not five who liked my profile, but five available in my targeted demographic. Who designed this website's algorithm, the competition? Not renewing, not worth the money

anad67
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/15/18

I met my husband on this website and fell in love immediately! We our now happily married with a beautiful family!

bubbaj3
1 review
9 helpful votes
9/15/18

They changed the website and now it's almost impossible to your to get messages seen on the website. Just delete your account bec even if someone like you, it's hard to find out who it was

matthewf18
7 reviews
60 helpful votes
9/7/18

You have to be a complete moron to pay for this site, you will get a lot of really good looking women looking at your profile but none of them are real. If you are dumb enough to pay the women are like magicians, they disappear.

ronm290
1 review
6 helpful votes
9/1/18

I spent hours getting my account set up and messaging a few women and instead of seeing if I had a reply the next day my account is banned.

Tip for consumers: pick a different sight. With no word and no word back my account was just locked for no reason.

Service
Value
Quality
leep112
6 reviews
3 helpful votes
8/31/18

i been a member on Okcupid for quite a few years tho before rarely used the site maybe logged in a few times.

but have started to use it a lot more now over the past year in general i don't have many complaints its a better site than many of the others i have tried and this site seems to have better standards

admittedly i am a bit annoyed about the new messaging system i mean before if someone sends a message it would be in your inbox but unless you both like each other you wont see the message until you have scanned the double take ( tho in double take you can see the person who sent message ) once you like that person then you can start communicating it is a biit of a pain in the a$$ but still its better than some other sites

i had met 1 lady from this site in the past tho we only ended up as friends so at least i made a friend from the site..

currently i am chatting to 3 ladies all is going well and i do find that the ladies on this site are more real maybe more educated or on the level compaired to other sites

there is also a lot less gold diggers and from what i hea a lot less perverted old men looking to play with the young girls so thats a bonus..

but problem i do find with this site is its performance in terms of loading sometimes it will take a bit of time for the site to respond when i click the read more from my gmail account or when site is loaded it takes some time for the message box to appear also i find sometimes that when sending a message i get the error no responce and message not sent

other than that i don't really see any other problem with the site i have no real complaints i admit it wuld be nice to have a little more choices without having to pay but nope i cannot complain

so hopefully i will soon get to meet one of these girls i am chatting with.

so to all the daters out there i will say good luck on finding your man/lady

deannas75
1 review
8 helpful votes
8/25/18

This dating site just does not work. The matches are abominable and you only see if someone is interested in you if you also "like" them. If someone sends you a message, you don't see it unless you also happen to see their profile and like them too. Who decided to filter my messages?? It's crazy. People are leaving this dating site in droves. Whatever you do, don't pay for any services because they are bogus.

Additionally, the site goes down periodically and does not function at all for hours on end..... What could be a great dating site is probably the worst of any out there.

aggelikiy
7 reviews
10 helpful votes
8/14/18

I joined and put a real and nice photo of myself, and then had no other pics for the time being and so I added a photo of my home grown tomatoes, as a display of personality, and it got flagged but someone and got deleted. I had a nicely written out profile, answered nearly all the questions and really made an effort, and for them to flag that 1 photo which wasn't of ME, was pathetic!!!! I realized the way it's set up doesn't work for me, at least... you should be able to put any photo you want up, if you already have a photo of yourself there. So I deleted the profile right away, feeling unwelcomed and penalized after just a few hrs of having joined. And I'm a good looking female, and a nice person. I guess it wasn't meant to be. Thanks OKSTUPID.com.

peterk281
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
8/2/18

I've been joined but did not find the right one. I love pantyhose so after joined to pantyhosedating.co.uk

peterr253
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/31/18

I've been a serial dater for the past two years, and just recently discovered I am bisexual. When switching from gay to bisexual on okcupid, I was bombarded with thousands and thousands of proportional pretty women and hardly any of my usual jocks. Where is the equality in this, okcupid???? Why do you want me to be straight???!!!! If you feel like you have been discriminated against by okcupid because of your sexuality, send me a message and we can talk about litigation!! I am NOT here for THIS!!

debbiel179
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/9/18

OkCupid better than some say but not anything to write home about unless you meet someone special. The only dating site that's found me an actual relationship was WeJustFit but unfortunately I blew that so here I am again, comparing & trying. At least its all cheaper than it used to be. Debbie

alexanderr71
6 reviews
1 helpful vote
7/9/18

top dating site? I had slightly different expectations when I joined. But oh well... maybe the time will come.
That being said, I dont necessarily love the layout and the general feel of this site. Could do with some imporvements, imo.

lorih166
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/28/18

I don't understand the reviews stating "don't waste your $". I found my perfect match for free. We each answered about 40 random questions. From there we could see we were potentially compatible. It's up to you to carry a conversation & connect on a deeper level once you find the potential partners. We are 50, have finally found each other & couldn't be happier (nearly a year later). THANK YOU OK CUPID !!!!

josephl251
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
6/26/18

For gay men, not too many options. But the UI I am not fond of. It's all over the place and hard to find what you want. The search engine also need to be improved. Otherwise I think good to have in the rotation of apps as it is popular.

peters586
8 reviews
7 helpful votes
6/23/18

The webistes doesnt match me with any suitable matches in my area. The website has a number of good criteria to filter your potential matches but just not enough people use this site.

591 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 3
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Fake profiles, hookers, catfish, and assorted looney tunes - call them what you will - as they're here in profusion. If you're happy picking through the trash, then dig in. For me, life is too short to waste on dispiriting experiences like this. Never again!

By Jeff R.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

OLC is so so...... Most of the woman are in dream land and seeking Mr USA.. And are not going to meet you in person 95% of the time.... You really need to weed out the B.S & players.... And that is simple to do........ If they can't meet you in person in public with in one week. Drop them.... Don't waste your time.... Next!

By Danny M.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Terri - this is what I recently sent in about OKC. I will answer your specific questions at the end of this. I have heard many complaints about OKC and scammers. But I AM NOT HAVING ANYWHERE NEAR THE PROBLEMS THAT OTHERS ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT. I am on several sites, and I experience about the same % of scammers on all. 1) it is so easy to spot a scanner - he wants to use email or text/phone right away. Is this really a problem? I immediately block. 2) if he is in Africa or any other 3rd world nation, I immediately block. I filter my messages so that I do not receive messages from anyone who has answered less than 100 questions or is at least an 85% match. Scammers are so obvious. Also, I note that most scammers claim to be "god-fearing christians," or "looking for an LTR or marriage." I am an atheist and very liberal and state this in my profile and my questions. I know what I am about to say is very offputting, snobbish, elite, etc., but I don't think scammers hit atheist, well-educated, and skeptical people as much as they do others (christians). Sorry, but I did say you wouldn't like that. Scammers are on every site. I have been following the sites and the complaints about scammers. My conclusion, based on my experience, blogs, and LOTS of research, indicate that every site has about the same amount of scammers. Sites that provide almost 0% info on potential matches (Zoosk, POF, tagged, Chemistry, Match, ourtime, etc. - all worthless for matching, IMO) do NOT have fewer scammer than OKC. I am also a moderator on OKC. WORD: Do a GIS on every picture on every profile on every site. It will tell you if the pics were stolen from a commercial source (models, actors, etc.) or not. I have had a ton (sometimes 3/week) of dates from OKC, and I do not believe any of these guys were scammers. Finally, if you know how to spot a scammer, what difference does it make how many there are on any site? I am 59. Yes, I have many very young men contacting me. I just say "You are too young, but thank you for your interest." If they reply, I block. As I stated, I've met tons of great guys (and of course, creeps) and had a lot of dates. I have a lot of correspondence before the date, and make it clear that I am looking for LTR and NOT FWB, NSA (what a load of crap). I have not clicked with anyone yet; but the, I am an atheist, free-thinker, liberal in Texas. Not a lot of guys hit on me (after 18 months on OKC, I only get about 8 guys/week hitting on me. Check my profile: I'm not gorgeous (LIB75002) or email me: joannar75002@gmail.com). I will be happy to help you further, if requested.

By Joanna R.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

If you use care and caution it's safe. Women are subjected to more weirdos but you can block them. Spammers are going to get through and they will usually ask for your email or phone number. If someone interests you message a lot before you meet and always meet in a public place. If someone insists on more than you're comfortable with move on.

By Marty E.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes, I have had this happen a lot. People just want your phone number because they don't want to use the site. Then they want to ask questions like where you are from. I guess so they can research you. I am real leery about giving out my email and phone numbers. All kinds of scammers out there.

By Connie E.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes, it is completely free... You pay for the more advanced features, but over the last ten years or so, I have met my last 6 lovers through the site ( though oftentimes it turns out that we already knew the same people... The matching algorithms are simply _that_ *good*!) and have never given them a single penny. ( though honestly, I really should, if only out of gratitude! ) Give it a try, it really is head and shoulders above the rest of the sites out there...!

By Todd M.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes. They'll never meet with you because they're contractors and 3rd party representatives, which is a fancy term for scam artists contacting you and pretending to be someone you think that you're looking at in the picture/profile that you are in contact with. The photos are ripped off from Facebook, Tumbler, or porn websites. THESE ARE THIEVES! I was robbed for over 150$ by one of these sites, and it's time to let everyone know. MAKE SURE THAT YOU READ ALL REVIEWS BEFORE REGISTERING FOR ANYTHING!!!

By John D.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Unless they have everything backed up, you're out of luck.

By Ian H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Same site, smae people, same matches, but slightly different features.

By Jacco V.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I got over 500 "likes" in my 7 months on OKC. I never paid to see them. A lot of them were from men who lived more than 200 miles away, I'm guessing. Being tall, thin, never married, and childless, I got a lot of messages. I only met 7 of the men who messaged me. "Likes" are pretty irrelevant, so just see what you get with the free messages.

By Crocodile F.
Questions? Get answers from the OkCupid staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

2 Photos for OkCupid

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
OkCupid?
Post Review