Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of OkCupid

OkCupid reviews

Is this your business?
1,079 reviews
39 W 14th St Ste 502
New York, NY 10011-7403
Tel: +1-214-853-4309
2018 Customer choice award

1,079 Reviews From Our Community

Service
51
Value
51
Quality
47

All Reviews

tya25
5 reviews
25 helpful votes
4/7/19

It is designed to keep you just interested, but not to find you a relationship. I guess if it did, they will lose business. In terms of this, this site (as well as most dating sites) is a scam.
1. Your message is not directly delivered. Your message is only visible to the receiver if they "like" you. I do not understand why any person would write a proper introduction to someone or more than a few words because the chances of your message being read is nearly non-existent.
2. The matching process is superficial. You're basically matched by the pictures and a small introduction, assuming there's mutual "liking" of these two criteria. As mentioned above (no.1), there's no mutual selection happening based on a conversation. Looks do matter, but when there's profile after profile to choose from, the selection process becomes too superficial.
3. They do not show all available profiles in your area, so good luck if you live in a small town. Every time I refresh the browsing page, the same few people shows up. As I've found out, you must "pass / unlike" them in order to have a new person shown to you. Algorithms are against users in this case.
4. Difficult to find people based on interests because they only allow their own keywords under the search options.

Overall, I found Okcupid to be a huge waste of time, a platform designed to defeat the purpose it's meant to do from a customers' point of view.

beverlyw124
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/31/19

People wouldn't be on OKCupid if they weren't looking for friends.

It is both rude and disrespectful for that website to hire people to pose as potential friends just to get members on that website to shell out their money for memberships.

This website is in effect mocking people and then ripping them off just to line their own pockets. What I felt as disappointment has turned to anger.

OKCupid is just a scam.

Tip for consumers: Don't sign up and don't pay your money.

Service
Value
Quality
garryr24
2 reviews
7 helpful votes
3/26/19

The OkCupid site is one of these things in life that you expect to be one thing and it turns out to be some thing totally different. You think a big player like this wouldn't try to tease you into joining with a bunch of messages that claim to be from real people just to get you to pay, but they do it. Youd think they would have a huge number of girls using the site and showing in searches in every part of the UK (I mean if less well known sites like wejustfit.com can keep you busy dating for months then surely OkCupid can rite??!?) but no, they don't have many in a lot of areas. Youd expect customer service to be the best. But It's all a let down for me I expected better from the coca cola off the dating world.

dylank26
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/23/19

Well I got a lot of likes from girls but no way to see who are they, you have to pay for that. But Someone like me back and they send me notification "See picture, I cover her face" and they ask me to start and say something nice to her, but when I click to her profile who like me back but they say the person doesn't exist "She was so pretty too :(" and eventually ask me pay for boost my profile so I am not sure, I feel like its just for try to make me pay Monthly payment because why the profile doesn't exist if she like me back a minute before?! Anyway beside that nothing really happening. I have send many message to many girls who has about 80 to 96% match but I never got response.

benh212
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
3/20/19

I am a long-term user looking for serious relationships.But most of the girls here only focus on my wallet, not really want to establish a relationship with me.So I'm going to give up.If you want to find a serious long-term relationship, maybe you can try MFC.A good website for finding real relationships.http://www.multifriendschat.com/Home/Reg/login?pn=LawTeacher

hugj
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/19/19

Have used ok cupid on and off for a number of years..But have noticed a rapid decline in it's usable, free functions that were available on the site. For example, you can longer see users that viewed your profile. The messaging functions are now very limited. To name but a few of the functions that were available for free. Due to this reason, could possibly mean a decline in the amount of people now using the site? There also seem to be a lot more fake profiles and likes etc. Which may be a way of getting you to sign up to it's paid functions? As you can only see your likes if you sign up to it's paid services.. These are just a few of my gripes with ok cupid, which is a real shame as it used be a great dating website. But won't bother with it anymore, even if it is a free(ish) dating website!

jh467
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/15/19

My account was stolen by a hacker and OKC allowed them to change my login e-mail address without even sending a confirmation e-mail to the original e-mail address. Now I can't login or reset my password as it's associated with another e-mail, meanwhile some prick is using my account to scam women. OKC support is apparently non-existent as I haven't been able to get a reply through any of their channels and they don't even have a phone number to call. I'm a paying customer and can't get any help. After looking into it, it seems my experience is pretty common. Use a site that cares about security and customer service.

cathya94
1 review
4 helpful votes
3/11/19

After 3 years on OKC, all I can say to any self-respecting woman is, "Run the other way!" The best thing to come from OKC in my experience is, I have met one man three years ago, who I still see occasionally. He moved 150 miles away.

The other encounters I've had are scammers, married men actively looking for mistresses (no, thanks) and verbally abusive misogynists.

My most recent incident was the last straw that led me to delete my profile permanently. This man and I messaged a couple of days on the site. We then texted a couple days. I invited him to phone me. That's when he explained that he had adopted two children. This came as a shock to me, since he is my age (late 50's). While I respect his willingness to take in these kids whose mother was a drug addict, I didn't wish to share his journey. He asked if I wanted to meet him in person. I said no and he hung up on me. I texted him and thanked him for calling and hanging up on me. He launched into the most hateful insults I've ever gotten, all because is wasn't interested in dating a man with children. I called him a bully. He replied with more profanity and insults. I reported him to OKC for harassment. He replied that he did the same to me. I deleted his number from my phone and the texts he had sent. I did not deserve this outpouring of misogyny from this caveman in any way.

Any woman with any self-respect would not put her profile on OKC. Spare yourself the heartache.

misreadm
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/24/19

I thought of joining but checked online to see all the different controversies site involved in . Owners are millionaires . Why should I give my information for greedy owners to use to make themselves even richer .datingcsutes are businesses first and foremost and ok Cupid owners have lots of bad press .

amandaj178
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/18/19

After ending a long-term relationship, I decided to give dating another try. Meeting people isn't my strong suit and most of the guys I met in person weren't right for me. OkCupid allowed me to find exactly what I was looking for. I'm now engaged after meeting a man on OkCupid after dating for a little over a year. I highly recommend. They match you very well, he and I had a 97% match!

dianea126
1 review
3 helpful votes
1/23/19

A bit slow for my liking but maybe thats just me? Im more into wejustfit.com at the moment, quick and easy. Diane (36), Wolverhampton GB

carlose27
24 reviews
69 helpful votes
1/8/19

It's free. I never get responses. Most of the women are not attractive. Most of us will never find love in any form we try and the electronic world is no different. But I least I don't have to pay. You get what you pay for. You see what I mean?

jasonc170
2 reviews
13 helpful votes
11/16/18

Another scam site. People will message you and then just disappear. Messaged several women and no response. Lots of deleted profiles. This site is a bust.

matth2634
17 reviews
44 helpful votes
11/13/18

Got banned after girl complained on me. Lots of scammers, women on there to use and abuse me. Maybe 2% are genuine and nice. OkCupid sucks! Again my account suspended. Pitiful.

ds318
1 review
5 helpful votes
11/13/18

They continuously repeat the same profiles on the swipe left or right part.

I paid for A-list unfortunately and still couldn't even see my own sent messages.

You can send a message to someone you like after seeing their pics and reading their profile and guess what? They don't even get your message unless they happen to randomly like your profile? Not a good system.

ianb184
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/12/18

Dont get the fuss. Seems average so far. Yes good member numbers but there are actually more in my city on wejustfit.com and ive had more dates there.

susanj266
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/10/18

Too many scammers and fake people on this site .The site now asks for photo to create a profile , so many still have picures of the floor, buildings , but not themselves.

donh252
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
11/8/18

OK cupid makes you answer hundreds of questions for a questionable goal of it being able to to match you based on their secret algorithm. Well, after having answered a 1000 and receiving laughable matches in return it is clear that the real goal is okcupid harvesting your data (and running experiments on it) Their algorithm will leave you exhasporated and without any recourse because, 1- you cannot tweak their algorithm to make it more accurate, and they will hide most users from you based on what they see fit, 2- their support is almost nonexistent, and inconsistent in their answers, 3-their memberships are non refundable. You are better off with a more privacy oriented site that won't waste your time forcing you to churn data they can harvest and resell.

johnr1210
1 review
14 helpful votes
10/23/18

My profile was deleted only because I expressed support for Trump. The vast majority of female participants on OKcupid are either Trump haters or Ghanaian scammers. I wouldn´t be surprised to hear that this site is supported by Soros & Co.

kismetk1
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/22/18

I have been with my now husband for five years and married for three. We have a baby boy. I am thankful for okcupid and sticking with it and being light about it and knowing what I wanted and he did too. You can be polite if someone you don't see yourself messages you. There are women and men out there that want and accept a number of things. Enjoy the process and you will find one that fits the bill. Meeting, dating then marrying is a big commitment. I am thankful for ok Cupid. Cheers and good luck to people, keep your hopes up.

rossb85
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/4/18

I've had a couple of dates on OkCupid, not as many as I had on wejustfit.com but ive used that longer so it's fair enough. Anyway with OkCupid one was really nice and I think we'll stay in touch, the other was a non-starter, got a train to glasgow to meet up and let's just say it wasn't worth the butterflies or the train ticket. Went to one of the Match Nights events too but weather was typically terrible so turnout was poor. So at this point nothing to write home about but also not a waste of time either.

georgem457
1 review
5 helpful votes
9/21/18

In 2016 I joined OkCupid, as "MoSailingGuy" took the time to answer about 300 questions. About a year after joining I met a lady by the name of "ToeKnee" she and I had a 93% match rating. We messaged, emailed, finally met after several months of that, and we were comfortable with each other from the start. The magic a great first date, but we knew a lot about each other before we ever met, thanks to long daily emails. When we finally met face to face we just looked at each other a lot. Didn't take all that long before we both felt the same way. Didn't take long and we were together full time. If it wasn't for OkCupid am not sure if we would have ever crossed paths. We are still together, and could not be happier. Made answering all those questions worth while.

gd74
1 review
10 helpful votes
9/17/18

Dating is hard enough, but OK Cupid makes it even harder. Deletes visibility of and communication with who you texted an initial "hello" to unless that party either responds or "likes" you in return. Until that happens the other person's profile is "poof" gone. Problem is you are not sure that your message was ever received. The web site has just introduced uncertainty into what is an already uncertain process. OK Cupid says they do that so that person won't be pestered with unwanted messages. Guess the web site insists on treating adults like middle schoolers who are not able to use a "block" button. Secondly they seriously restrict matches. I live in a 4-5 million metropolitan area. Searched for women looking for men aged 50-70. Guess how many OK Cupid offers5 yes five. Not five who liked my profile, but five available in my targeted demographic. Who designed this website's algorithm, the competition? Not renewing, not worth the money

anad67
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/15/18

I met my husband on this website and fell in love immediately! We our now happily married with a beautiful family!

bubbaj3
1 review
10 helpful votes
9/15/18

They changed the website and now it's almost impossible to your to get messages seen on the website. Just delete your account bec even if someone like you, it's hard to find out who it was

591 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 3
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Fake profiles, hookers, catfish, and assorted looney tunes - call them what you will - as they're here in profusion. If you're happy picking through the trash, then dig in. For me, life is too short to waste on dispiriting experiences like this. Never again!

By Jeff R.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

OLC is so so...... Most of the woman are in dream land and seeking Mr USA.. And are not going to meet you in person 95% of the time.... You really need to weed out the B.S & players.... And that is simple to do........ If they can't meet you in person in public with in one week. Drop them.... Don't waste your time.... Next!

By Danny M.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Terri - this is what I recently sent in about OKC. I will answer your specific questions at the end of this. I have heard many complaints about OKC and scammers. But I AM NOT HAVING ANYWHERE NEAR THE PROBLEMS THAT OTHERS ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT. I am on several sites, and I experience about the same % of scammers on all. 1) it is so easy to spot a scanner - he wants to use email or text/phone right away. Is this really a problem? I immediately block. 2) if he is in Africa or any other 3rd world nation, I immediately block. I filter my messages so that I do not receive messages from anyone who has answered less than 100 questions or is at least an 85% match. Scammers are so obvious. Also, I note that most scammers claim to be "god-fearing christians," or "looking for an LTR or marriage." I am an atheist and very liberal and state this in my profile and my questions. I know what I am about to say is very offputting, snobbish, elite, etc., but I don't think scammers hit atheist, well-educated, and skeptical people as much as they do others (christians). Sorry, but I did say you wouldn't like that. Scammers are on every site. I have been following the sites and the complaints about scammers. My conclusion, based on my experience, blogs, and LOTS of research, indicate that every site has about the same amount of scammers. Sites that provide almost 0% info on potential matches (Zoosk, POF, tagged, Chemistry, Match, ourtime, etc. - all worthless for matching, IMO) do NOT have fewer scammer than OKC. I am also a moderator on OKC. WORD: Do a GIS on every picture on every profile on every site. It will tell you if the pics were stolen from a commercial source (models, actors, etc.) or not. I have had a ton (sometimes 3/week) of dates from OKC, and I do not believe any of these guys were scammers. Finally, if you know how to spot a scammer, what difference does it make how many there are on any site? I am 59. Yes, I have many very young men contacting me. I just say "You are too young, but thank you for your interest." If they reply, I block. As I stated, I've met tons of great guys (and of course, creeps) and had a lot of dates. I have a lot of correspondence before the date, and make it clear that I am looking for LTR and NOT FWB, NSA (what a load of crap). I have not clicked with anyone yet; but the, I am an atheist, free-thinker, liberal in Texas. Not a lot of guys hit on me (after 18 months on OKC, I only get about 8 guys/week hitting on me. Check my profile: I'm not gorgeous (LIB75002) or email me: joannar75002@gmail.com). I will be happy to help you further, if requested.

By Joanna R.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

If you use care and caution it's safe. Women are subjected to more weirdos but you can block them. Spammers are going to get through and they will usually ask for your email or phone number. If someone interests you message a lot before you meet and always meet in a public place. If someone insists on more than you're comfortable with move on.

By Marty E.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes, I have had this happen a lot. People just want your phone number because they don't want to use the site. Then they want to ask questions like where you are from. I guess so they can research you. I am real leery about giving out my email and phone numbers. All kinds of scammers out there.

By Connie E.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes, it is completely free... You pay for the more advanced features, but over the last ten years or so, I have met my last 6 lovers through the site ( though oftentimes it turns out that we already knew the same people... The matching algorithms are simply _that_ *good*!) and have never given them a single penny. ( though honestly, I really should, if only out of gratitude! ) Give it a try, it really is head and shoulders above the rest of the sites out there...!

By Todd M.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes. They'll never meet with you because they're contractors and 3rd party representatives, which is a fancy term for scam artists contacting you and pretending to be someone you think that you're looking at in the picture/profile that you are in contact with. The photos are ripped off from Facebook, Tumbler, or porn websites. THESE ARE THIEVES! I was robbed for over 150$ by one of these sites, and it's time to let everyone know. MAKE SURE THAT YOU READ ALL REVIEWS BEFORE REGISTERING FOR ANYTHING!!!

By John D.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Unless they have everything backed up, you're out of luck.

By Ian H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Same site, smae people, same matches, but slightly different features.

By Jacco V.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I got over 500 "likes" in my 7 months on OKC. I never paid to see them. A lot of them were from men who lived more than 200 miles away, I'm guessing. Being tall, thin, never married, and childless, I got a lot of messages. I only met 7 of the men who messaged me. "Likes" are pretty irrelevant, so just see what you get with the free messages.

By Crocodile F.
Questions? Get answers from the OkCupid staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

6 Photos for OkCupid

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
OkCupid?
Post Review