Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of OkCupid

OkCupid reviews

Is this your business?
1,007 reviews
39 W 14th St Ste 502
New York, NY 10011-7403, USA
Tel: +1.8556528743
help@crazyblinddate.com
2017 Customer choice award

1,007 Reviews From Our Community

Service
46
Value
46
Shipping
18
Returns
20
Quality
43

All Reviews

nancyd150
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/16/17

Okcupid Sail70e29 is again another fake profile for Randy Sonnier rss70 on plenty of fish. Claims he's a Captain and sails all the time...part time carpenter that's unemployed for the winter with a broken down sailboat that he calls home, who's just looking for free room and board provided by some unexpecting woman..he's handsome and charming and a complete sociopath..on a Friday night he claims to be sailing..reality is he's spent all week on line looking for a hookup. Ok cupid and plenty of fish are just a place these people go for a captive hunting ground.

Advertisement
johnm1223
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/15/17

I used this site back in the day and decided to try it again with wejustfit (my cousin recommended WJF). I prefer WJF all things considered but Cupid still has some potential and so much depends on where you are and how many members these kind of sites have in your area. OkCupid used to be really busy where I am but its not what it was in terms of numbers anymore IMHO.

johnm1213
4 reviews
6 helpful votes
11/8/17

Imo not bad but also not good enough. Been only using it for three weeks and did not really felt like I am getting nowhere with OKC. Pretty average, imo!

arielc25
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/3/17

I live in California, I look ok and I am a computer engineer so I was surprised to get almost no response from women I contacted, and no one contacted me. In the past I had good experience with other dating sites( that are not free).
So I decide to check what is going on. I created a fake profile of a 43 year old woman who looks above average. This profile got 220 messages in less than 24-hours that it was open.
So I think that the chances for a men to meet a woman in this site are quiet small, at least California.

amberv11
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/1/17

I met the man I have been looking for my whole life on OK Cupid. We met 10 weeks ago and are getting married and planning on starting a family ASAP.

michellej123
1 review
4 helpful votes
10/20/17

Too much time wasted on nonexistent people. Many cannot put together a grammatically correct sentence.

The app itself is easy to use but no evidence of scammer removal.

brendam166
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/18/17

Quite liking this dating site. Not sure it's as good as my all time fave wejustfit but it's not far off. Some really nice people on their and a good way to kill time, I just spend my commute to work firing out messages & doing searches then. By the time I get home I usually have a reply, although not always of course. Quite happy with it. B. McAuley, 27, Stirling

ak836
2 reviews
10 helpful votes
10/15/17

Why does okCupid allow someone text me even if it's not a mutual like?
I blocked at least 50 people over the period of just 2 months if using it because of all the harassing messages. Guys are just indecent here.
They post pictures that are offensive, indecent.. Okcupid doesn't do anything to filter them? I've reported at least 30 profiles.
You can't see who visited your profile anymore. So you don't know if there's a creepy stalker of yours....
And what's the deal with not providing an option to delete a profile??? I can only disable my profile!!!???

Tip for consumers: I can give 0 stars but there's no such option here unfortunately....

Service
Value
Quality
aliciaf18
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
10/13/17

It doesn't focus on the important things, education and occupation are optional and there are thousands of other irrelevant matching questions which the answers can be changed after 24 hours. Not possible for professionals to weed out the trash.

michaelt242
3 reviews
5 helpful votes
10/3/17

OkCupid is by far my favorite of all the sites Ive tried and Ive had the most success on it despite currently being single. It offers options other sites dont like narrowing down your search criteria to specific groups and types as well as giving a person the freedom to choose between a variety of sexual orientations and preferences. It may not seem like a big deal to most people, but other sites flat out exclude certain groups due to their lack of options. Im not poly or in an open relationship, but some people are and not all of them are swingers for god sake! If you are looking for a site thats not as vanilla as the mainstream dating sites and no where near as hardcore as some others, OkCupid might be a good choice for you.

mikeo79
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/18/17

Not sure I get all the gd reviews. Yes their are tunnes of people but the site isnt as fun as wejustfit.com or even tinder + ive not had as many dates as I thot I was gonna get.

steveb295
1 review
6 helpful votes
9/14/17

If someone makes a false accusation against you, they don't ask for your side of the story - they want to make a "safe user experience" for the person who reported you, so they automatically ban you. Quality has gone way downhill in recent months - was seeing the same people over and over again. Total waste of time.

crocodilef
3 reviews
9 helpful votes
9/11/17

Being a free dating site is nice. What is not nice is the thousands of assessment questions you have the opportunity to answer or not, but they are what the site uses to determine your "match percentage". Many of the questions are repetitive or just plain stupid. After getting an additional 200+ "likes" within two weeks of changing my profile picture so guys would know what I look like from the front, I concluded that the assessment questions were also irrelevant for a lot of users. I did go on dates with 7 different men from OKCupid, but didn't find Mr. Right, and didn't feel like wasting any more time on there.

julese6
1 review
8 helpful votes
9/5/17

I met a guy in May and we started a relationship. Atleast we said it was. He uses his daughter as and excuse not to spend time together so he can dates multiple women. He disappeared alot. Clams he doesn't get your calls or text until the weekend is over. I'm not sure why he acts this way because he looks like a little troll. His name is Jesse Garrett and lives in Terrell tx.

jf118
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/4/17

I aint tried many of these online dating websites but I cant say I'm all that blown away by OkCupid. It takes an awful lot longer to get up and running than the other site I liked (wejustfit.com) and im not sure im such a big believer in all the scientific hogwash. It's hella busy though, ill give it that. JF

keithh98
1 review
10 helpful votes
8/30/17

Not realistic because women will get more attention on here than in real life so it seems to give them an inflated ego. Most don't even respond to your messages and if they do it might be a word or two but hardly ever reply by asking a question back. And if you do actually meet up with someone, well most likely they will be fooling around on the site looking for attention and Mr. Perfect. I'm sure there are some good women on OKCupid but you have to dig really deep to find them. Oh yeah, women like to post their best pics which may not be current. Sadly enough I've met plenty of women who looked nothing like what they advertised.

oliverw25
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
8/21/17

Did not help to me. Lot of people just hanging out without any will to find real relationships ;-(

billyb114
2 reviews
9 helpful votes
8/14/17

Don't waste your time. Women with baggage will report you for nothing and they will delete your account because a woman complained I guess

brooklynk
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/7/17

OkCupid has still got it, I had a great date last night and feeling positively giddy this morning haha! Doing well at the moment, had a date last week with a guy from wejustfit.com and that went well too. I'm like bridget jones in one of her good phases hahaha long may it continue!!!

ericf66
1 review
6 helpful votes
8/6/17

Had the account for about two years, went on a couple of dates, answered hundreds of questions everything from Ethics, 2017, Politics, Sex, Dating, Lifestyle, had over 20 'likes'. Came across someone who said she 'wanted to suck the blood of guys that kept messaging her'. Having never messaged this person before, I was banned from the site. Had never had one infraction, its one strike your out to the folks at OKC. Would rather be single to share the sentiments of many.

olgao10
1 review
7 helpful votes
7/30/17

okc account, the previous accounts got banned for no reason! i reported that problem so many times but no one replied to my msg! i have 0 view, 0 like, 0 reply on there after having upload of mine dosen of nice pics viewing fifty !!!profiles,"liking" twenty profiles AND WRITING TO TEN PEOPLE ."0"VIEWS .THEY HIDINF PPL,S PROFILES SO PPL "go pay "30$ ...Scammers.No reply from OkCupid IS NOT SO "OK" This app sucks!

hanbananav
1 review
5 helpful votes
7/28/17

I was on okcupid for about 3 months. Filled out a profile, answered the questions, never paid for it. I got hundreds of messages from men. A lot of them complete loosers, but there were some good, decent men on there, even in my area. I talked to a lot of guys. I was a single mom, but didnt mention that in my profile. Id only mention my daughter if i was interested after conversating for a bit. Most guys said they didnt mind, but a lot of the conversations slowly faded to an end after id mention it. I met 3 guys in person. The first one ended up being a really nice guy. But religiously he was more extreme than me and it didnt work out after 2 dates he ended it, we became freinds on facebook though. The second guy seemed great and was all into me, but it just didnt work out. We dated for a month, nothing serious. We didnt fool around. He suddenly stopped talking to me without an explanation. The next day i met on okcupid the man i would marry. It started out cute sweet conversation. I mentioned i had a daughter and he seemed totally ok about it. Said he had a big family with lots of neices and nephews from cousins. I gave him my number that same day and we started texting. We matched on okcupid by 70 percent i think? We had a lot in common. He lived 4 miles away. He lived alone with his 2 dogs and took care of himself and had a lot going for him. I found out he was a firefighter too. How lucky did i get?! We met 3 days later and the rest is history. He met my daughter a little over a month later and i sold my house and moved in with him 4 months after that. We were engaged after 6 months together and a year and 8 months after we first met, we are married and planning another child. We have luck and online dating to thank, specifically okcupid.

melissat74
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/27/17

About 51/2 years ago I was in to the process of getting divorce and I was not going to be in to a relationship any time soon. But little did I know, my friend sign me in to okcupid and I started to look at people and ask question here and there and here I am 5 years later with the most awesome husband I could've ask for and most of all we were bless with two little ones!!! Fairy tale do happen if you give yourself a chance to let it happen!!! I could not be more happy with this website and would definitely recommand it to any single person out there!!!

magdap2
1 review
9 helpful votes
7/25/17

I set up the account, spend several hours (!) answering their match questions, browsed some matches (did not seem very well matched, though, because the questions asked were strange at best, a lot about sex, too...). Then stayed away from the site for about three days and when I came back, I tried to log in, but my account was cancelled. Complete waste of time!

simones28
7 reviews
15 helpful votes
7/23/17

I've gone off and on with this site a few times. I find it fun to use so am giving it 2 stars, the quality of men I give 0. I see the same the guys always on there. They LIVE on this site. Apparently all the other women find them repulsive or they wouldn't be spending their lives on there with obviously no results! 99% of the men are thug types, look like serial killers or have huge beards. Get a clue.

591 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 4
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Sure! If you want to wait til hell freezes over. You're better off getting more fat cats! :-)

By michael h.
Helpful answer 4
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

OLC is so so...... Most of the woman are in dream land and seeking Mr USA.. And are not going to meet you in person 95% of the time.... You really need to weed out the B.S & players.... And that is simple to do........ If they can't meet you in person in public with in one week. Drop them.... Don't waste your time.... Next!

By Danny M.
Helpful answer 3
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Terri - this is what I recently sent in about OKC. I will answer your specific questions at the end of this. I have heard many complaints about OKC and scammers. But I AM NOT HAVING ANYWHERE NEAR THE PROBLEMS THAT OTHERS ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT. I am on several sites, and I experience about the same % of scammers on all. 1) it is so easy to spot a scanner - he wants to use email or text/phone right away. Is this really a problem? I immediately block. 2) if he is in Africa or any other 3rd world nation, I immediately block. I filter my messages so that I do not receive messages from anyone who has answered less than 100 questions or is at least an 85% match. Scammers are so obvious. Also, I note that most scammers claim to be "god-fearing christians," or "looking for an LTR or marriage." I am an atheist and very liberal and state this in my profile and my questions. I know what I am about to say is very offputting, snobbish, elite, etc., but I don't think scammers hit atheist, well-educated, and skeptical people as much as they do others (christians). Sorry, but I did say you wouldn't like that. Scammers are on every site. I have been following the sites and the complaints about scammers. My conclusion, based on my experience, blogs, and LOTS of research, indicate that every site has about the same amount of scammers. Sites that provide almost 0% info on potential matches (Zoosk, POF, tagged, Chemistry, Match, ourtime, etc. - all worthless for matching, IMO) do NOT have fewer scammer than OKC. I am also a moderator on OKC. WORD: Do a GIS on every picture on every profile on every site. It will tell you if the pics were stolen from a commercial source (models, actors, etc.) or not. I have had a ton (sometimes 3/week) of dates from OKC, and I do not believe any of these guys were scammers. Finally, if you know how to spot a scammer, what difference does it make how many there are on any site? I am 59. Yes, I have many very young men contacting me. I just say "You are too young, but thank you for your interest." If they reply, I block. As I stated, I've met tons of great guys (and of course, creeps) and had a lot of dates. I have a lot of correspondence before the date, and make it clear that I am looking for LTR and NOT FWB, NSA (what a load of crap). I have not clicked with anyone yet; but the, I am an atheist, free-thinker, liberal in Texas. Not a lot of guys hit on me (after 18 months on OKC, I only get about 8 guys/week hitting on me. Check my profile: I'm not gorgeous (LIB75002) or email me: joannar75002@gmail.com). I will be happy to help you further, if requested.

By Joanna R.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

If you use care and caution it's safe. Women are subjected to more weirdos but you can block them. Spammers are going to get through and they will usually ask for your email or phone number. If someone interests you message a lot before you meet and always meet in a public place. If someone insists on more than you're comfortable with move on.

By Marty E.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes, I have had this happen a lot. People just want your phone number because they don't want to use the site. Then they want to ask questions like where you are from. I guess so they can research you. I am real leery about giving out my email and phone numbers. All kinds of scammers out there.

By Connie E.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes, it is completely free... You pay for the more advanced features, but over the last ten years or so, I have met my last 6 lovers through the site ( though oftentimes it turns out that we already knew the same people... The matching algorithms are simply _that_ *good*!) and have never given them a single penny. ( though honestly, I really should, if only out of gratitude! ) Give it a try, it really is head and shoulders above the rest of the sites out there...!

By Todd M.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes. They'll never meet with you because they're contractors and 3rd party representatives, which is a fancy term for scam artists contacting you and pretending to be someone you think that you're looking at in the picture/profile that you are in contact with. The photos are ripped off from Facebook, Tumbler, or porn websites. THESE ARE THIEVES! I was robbed for over 150$ by one of these sites, and it's time to let everyone know. MAKE SURE THAT YOU READ ALL REVIEWS BEFORE REGISTERING FOR ANYTHING!!!

By John D.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Unless they have everything backed up, you're out of luck.

By Ian H.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I got over 500 "likes" in my 7 months on OKC. I never paid to see them. A lot of them were from men who lived more than 200 miles away, I'm guessing. Being tall, thin, never married, and childless, I got a lot of messages. I only met 7 of the men who messaged me. "Likes" are pretty irrelevant, so just see what you get with the free messages.

By Crocodile F.
Questions? Get answers from the OkCupid staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
OkCupid?
Post Review