Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of OkCupid

OkCupid reviews

Is this your business?
1,092 reviews
39 W 14th St Ste 502
New York, NY 10011-7403
Tel: +1-214-853-4309
2018 Customer choice award

1,092 Reviews From Our Community

Service
51
Value
51
Quality
47

All Reviews

johny228
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/13/19

Fake profiles - girls using pictures of models and porn stars, Some of them are actually connected to the site, to find out what members have to say. Ask for Hangouts or WhatsApp immediately, and if they get this far, then they need money for food, a phone card or a plane fare. Run by people who are offensive and spiteful.

chrisr600
4 reviews
15 helpful votes
7/11/19

Loads of fake profiles. You can search the glossy photographs via Google and see that the picture was downloaded. I've been reporting them and then blocking them. If it's THAT obvious to me then I'm not sure how these get approved. It's a scammers paradise. I paid for 3 months and won't be renewing. Sites like https://j4l.com/402001 or bit.ly/ladypassion cost more but they at least can offer you truly verified profiles.

akinolae
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
7/11/19

You. An be friends with some people for years and later realise they are not friends with you. This will make them feel detached

jens167
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/30/19

Within a week of using I had almost 400 likes, but was confused as to where all these guys were at because the same list of people kept popping up on my matches over and over even after swiping left on them. So what's the point of disliking someone only to have them reappear multiple times? When you've disliked the same string of people 4 times, that's a problem.

I hate that I didn't know who messages me until I kept going through random profiles to see on their photo "This person messaged you". I can either dislike them or go to their profile to see what they said. But this also means I could miss someone if they get lost in the shuffle.

I kept getting matched with guys that were only there for hookups/sex when I clearly marked I was interested in relationships. Matches that were super religious, though I marked atheism was very important to me. And matches that were outside my checked age range. If I check my range as 30-50 I'm not expecting 26 year old dudes to pop up in my matches!

They had plenty of profiles that weren't filled out, didn't have a photo of themselves, or profiles that seemed straight up fake. You are going to get that on every site. But my issue was trying to see when people last logged in, I mean, maybe I didn't care to browse enough but how do I know if profiles are even active any longer? I don't want to waste my time if someone hasn't logged in for months or years.

The last straw for me, which made me delete it was the guy that messaged me after we both liked each other saying "Did you look at my profile?" When I checked I see he is only on there to find women for oral s*x. Again, this is a poorly matching system. Ugh!

zerpg
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
6/21/19

When I signed up for the free version within 5 minutes was told I had 22 women that liked me....but none of these people were revealed...just greyed out circles. The site informed me I had to be A-listed and buy a membership to see who liked me. It is far more complicated to send a "person" a message...they ask a lot of invasive idiotic questions...you answer them and they supposedly send these monologues to the person you wish to meet to see how well they match up....since it is impossible to match with a fictional fraud that aspect is a bad joke. The free site version and their FAQ section all say that if you match with someone , then , and ONLY then, can you directly message them. NOT TRUE. I did get a 'match' and when i tried to message them was informed I need to pay to see what they had to say to me.. Since there is no indication or 'proof' I matched with anything..Again there is no customer service in the form of email or phone...you are referred to a site called "Get Human" which charges $40 per month RECURRING to answer questions and all you get is a chat box with a robot.....I'm not sending the $#*! punks that run this fraud a cent. COMPLETE AND UTTER FRAUD!!! As I said with Tinder...call a class action atty or the Better Business Bureau or the Atty General's office...with the gov functionaries you'll get a run around and hopeless bureaucracy..useless too (EXCEPT THE PRIVATE LAWYER).but they are pros and at least pick up the phone to keep their ancient scams running...again repetitively: I realize many of you, if you had the attention span to read this,will disagree and waste your money or time anyway...I can't say 'good luck' because luck and skill do not work with cyber frauds...with zero personnel to contact..And the final point is, and i say this to dudes because they are the only real people who are desperate enough to use these frauds....call yourself a good hooker...spend the money...get exactly what you want sexually...They are sociopaths incapable of feeling, true enough, but at least you get your biology satisfied....THE INTERNET IS 99.999% fraud. don't you get that yet? what will it take? And here gentlemen, I take a low and theatric stage bow...and leave you to your respective follies and desperation with a lost cause...If you are over 20 and not a billionaire, completely forget american females.....

martinso2
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
6/17/19

So, the fact was that I tried out loads of dating websites last four years and OK Cupid was one of such, it's usability was 'A' okay (user friendly) but my complain is that based on it's history on the list of top dating site, OKCupid had the potential to be the best of the best, it's progressive progression is so slow to the point that it's less to be desired after using the platform for a long period of time. But on a scale of 1 - 10 I'll still rate OKCupid a hard 6.

renees151
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/28/19

I have been a customer for years and one day I just couldn't log in. Got a message saying my account had been suspended for breaking a rule, but they won't tell me which one. I can't imagine what it could be. Wondering if someone I met turned me in for being fake out of spite. I emailed customer service and they still wouldn't give me a reason.... just told me I'm no longer being charged. Ridiculous.

ujirik
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
5/20/19

There's nothing really special with the site just like a regular dating sites, plus am always having issues with my account

frankh237
3 reviews
5 helpful votes
5/17/19

OkCupid is good . Not as good as We Just Fit . But still good . If you haven't tried it you should .

marl6
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/16/19

This is the worst dating site I've ever been on and it's so so overrated that I'm pretty sure people who write positive five star reviews were paid by the company themselves. As soon as you sign up, your account will often be automatically suspended as they "review" it, however, if you don't contact them about it, they'll never restore it. And even if you do, they probably won't restore it either. Even if it's been restored, you're going to be suspended again, again, and again, for literally no reason. This is an exclusive site for a circle of special people that the moderators personally approve of. If they don't like you, you simply will be rejected, for whatever reason they think of (you'll never know the reason, since there is none actually). They ask a lot of questions, and if they don't like your answers or personal opinion on things, again, you'll get suspended. It will be disguised as "violation of the terms of service". Don't bother using this site, the staff won't help you. It's utterly useless. That's the "democracy" and "equality" they're so proud of promoting.

albertov22
3 reviews
0 helpful votes
5/11/19

Used to be a good website and I met a few good looking ladies from there, but lately it has become stale and boring with not so many profiles in my area now so I'm talking now with foreigners from other countries. The site is not great just okay because it let you do some chatting with members without paying which is rarely on similar websites. But the quality of membership has gone somewhat stale and without choices.

yasira12
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
5/10/19

It's good for dating but it's not show all available profile Available near by. Only few high ranking but overall experience good and reliable

richardm852
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/2/19

I have used OKCupid for a few years. It progressively gets worse, but at this point I do not know how it could get worse, but it probably will. The site sends me messages that someone messaged me. But does not tell me who. And there are no messages in my Inbox. At least half of the profiles are women who have answered exactly 15 questions, are young, attractive, have one picture, and are completely fake or in Indonesia,,,,I guess the competition is just too great, and this site failed to evolve

sterlingh27
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/25/19

First having to pay and this is with all online dating site. I believe we should paid when we get a date or at least a trial. Now on to this site the interface suck and some profile are fake but the worst is the people you meet on here they don't read profile and many women give one word answers.i am currently dating someone from there and it not how I imagined let just say she is not ready to date. I would get into the story but it making my head out thinking about it.

nicholasj15
4 reviews
7 helpful votes
4/24/19

It's not the worst dating app I've used. This is just below POF in terms of my top dating apps. It's alot easier to use than other sites and it has some similar qualities I like about POF. It just didn't leave as big an impact as other apps have.

tya25
5 reviews
28 helpful votes
4/7/19

It is designed to keep you just interested, but not to find you a relationship. I guess if it did, they will lose business. In terms of this, this site (as well as most dating sites) is a scam.
1. Your message is not directly delivered. Your message is only visible to the receiver if they "like" you. I do not understand why any person would write a proper introduction to someone or more than a few words because the chances of your message being read is nearly non-existent.
2. The matching process is superficial. You're basically matched by the pictures and a small introduction, assuming there's mutual "liking" of these two criteria. As mentioned above (no.1), there's no mutual selection happening based on a conversation. Looks do matter, but when there's profile after profile to choose from, the selection process becomes too superficial.
3. They do not show all available profiles in your area, so good luck if you live in a small town. Every time I refresh the browsing page, the same few people shows up. As I've found out, you must "pass / unlike" them in order to have a new person shown to you. Algorithms are against users in this case.
4. Difficult to find people based on interests because they only allow their own keywords under the search options.

Overall, I found Okcupid to be a huge waste of time, a platform designed to defeat the purpose it's meant to do from a customers' point of view.

beverlyw124
1 review
6 helpful votes
3/31/19

People wouldn't be on OKCupid if they weren't looking for friends.

It is both rude and disrespectful for that website to hire people to pose as potential friends just to get members on that website to shell out their money for memberships.

This website is in effect mocking people and then ripping them off just to line their own pockets. What I felt as disappointment has turned to anger.

OKCupid is just a scam.

Tip for consumers: Don't sign up and don't pay your money.

Service
Value
Quality
garryr24
2 reviews
10 helpful votes
3/26/19

The OkCupid site is one of these things in life that you expect to be one thing and it turns out to be some thing totally different. You think a big player like this wouldn't try to tease you into joining with a bunch of messages that claim to be from real people just to get you to pay, but they do it. Youd think they would have a huge number of girls using the site and showing in searches in every part of the UK (I mean if less well known sites like wejustfit.com can keep you busy dating for months then surely OkCupid can rite??!?) but no, they don't have many in a lot of areas. Youd expect customer service to be the best. But It's all a let down for me I expected better from the coca cola off the dating world.

dylank26
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/23/19

Well I got a lot of likes from girls but no way to see who are they, you have to pay for that. But Someone like me back and they send me notification "See picture, I cover her face" and they ask me to start and say something nice to her, but when I click to her profile who like me back but they say the person doesn't exist "She was so pretty too :(" and eventually ask me pay for boost my profile so I am not sure, I feel like its just for try to make me pay Monthly payment because why the profile doesn't exist if she like me back a minute before?! Anyway beside that nothing really happening. I have send many message to many girls who has about 80 to 96% match but I never got response.

benh212
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
3/20/19

I am a long-term user looking for serious relationships.But most of the girls here only focus on my wallet, not really want to establish a relationship with me.So I'm going to give up.If you want to find a serious long-term relationship, maybe you can try MFC.A good website for finding real relationships.http://www.multifriendschat.com/Home/Reg/login?pn=LawTeacher

hugj
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/19/19

Have used ok cupid on and off for a number of years..But have noticed a rapid decline in it's usable, free functions that were available on the site. For example, you can longer see users that viewed your profile. The messaging functions are now very limited. To name but a few of the functions that were available for free. Due to this reason, could possibly mean a decline in the amount of people now using the site? There also seem to be a lot more fake profiles and likes etc. Which may be a way of getting you to sign up to it's paid functions? As you can only see your likes if you sign up to it's paid services.. These are just a few of my gripes with ok cupid, which is a real shame as it used be a great dating website. But won't bother with it anymore, even if it is a free(ish) dating website!

jh467
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/15/19

My account was stolen by a hacker and OKC allowed them to change my login e-mail address without even sending a confirmation e-mail to the original e-mail address. Now I can't login or reset my password as it's associated with another e-mail, meanwhile some prick is using my account to scam women. OKC support is apparently non-existent as I haven't been able to get a reply through any of their channels and they don't even have a phone number to call. I'm a paying customer and can't get any help. After looking into it, it seems my experience is pretty common. Use a site that cares about security and customer service.

cathya94
1 review
9 helpful votes
3/11/19

After 3 years on OKC, all I can say to any self-respecting woman is, "Run the other way!" The best thing to come from OKC in my experience is, I have met one man three years ago, who I still see occasionally. He moved 150 miles away.

The other encounters I've had are scammers, married men actively looking for mistresses (no, thanks) and verbally abusive misogynists.

My most recent incident was the last straw that led me to delete my profile permanently. This man and I messaged a couple of days on the site. We then texted a couple days. I invited him to phone me. That's when he explained that he had adopted two children. This came as a shock to me, since he is my age (late 50's). While I respect his willingness to take in these kids whose mother was a drug addict, I didn't wish to share his journey. He asked if I wanted to meet him in person. I said no and he hung up on me. I texted him and thanked him for calling and hanging up on me. He launched into the most hateful insults I've ever gotten, all because is wasn't interested in dating a man with children. I called him a bully. He replied with more profanity and insults. I reported him to OKC for harassment. He replied that he did the same to me. I deleted his number from my phone and the texts he had sent. I did not deserve this outpouring of misogyny from this caveman in any way.

Any woman with any self-respect would not put her profile on OKC. Spare yourself the heartache.

misreadm
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/24/19

I thought of joining but checked online to see all the different controversies site involved in . Owners are millionaires . Why should I give my information for greedy owners to use to make themselves even richer .datingcsutes are businesses first and foremost and ok Cupid owners have lots of bad press .

amandaj178
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/18/19

After ending a long-term relationship, I decided to give dating another try. Meeting people isn't my strong suit and most of the guys I met in person weren't right for me. OkCupid allowed me to find exactly what I was looking for. I'm now engaged after meeting a man on OkCupid after dating for a little over a year. I highly recommend. They match you very well, he and I had a 97% match!

591 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 3
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Fake profiles, hookers, catfish, and assorted looney tunes - call them what you will - as they're here in profusion. If you're happy picking through the trash, then dig in. For me, life is too short to waste on dispiriting experiences like this. Never again!

By Jeff R.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

OLC is so so...... Most of the woman are in dream land and seeking Mr USA.. And are not going to meet you in person 95% of the time.... You really need to weed out the B.S & players.... And that is simple to do........ If they can't meet you in person in public with in one week. Drop them.... Don't waste your time.... Next!

By Danny M.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Terri - this is what I recently sent in about OKC. I will answer your specific questions at the end of this. I have heard many complaints about OKC and scammers. But I AM NOT HAVING ANYWHERE NEAR THE PROBLEMS THAT OTHERS ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT. I am on several sites, and I experience about the same % of scammers on all. 1) it is so easy to spot a scanner - he wants to use email or text/phone right away. Is this really a problem? I immediately block. 2) if he is in Africa or any other 3rd world nation, I immediately block. I filter my messages so that I do not receive messages from anyone who has answered less than 100 questions or is at least an 85% match. Scammers are so obvious. Also, I note that most scammers claim to be "god-fearing christians," or "looking for an LTR or marriage." I am an atheist and very liberal and state this in my profile and my questions. I know what I am about to say is very offputting, snobbish, elite, etc., but I don't think scammers hit atheist, well-educated, and skeptical people as much as they do others (christians). Sorry, but I did say you wouldn't like that. Scammers are on every site. I have been following the sites and the complaints about scammers. My conclusion, based on my experience, blogs, and LOTS of research, indicate that every site has about the same amount of scammers. Sites that provide almost 0% info on potential matches (Zoosk, POF, tagged, Chemistry, Match, ourtime, etc. - all worthless for matching, IMO) do NOT have fewer scammer than OKC. I am also a moderator on OKC. WORD: Do a GIS on every picture on every profile on every site. It will tell you if the pics were stolen from a commercial source (models, actors, etc.) or not. I have had a ton (sometimes 3/week) of dates from OKC, and I do not believe any of these guys were scammers. Finally, if you know how to spot a scammer, what difference does it make how many there are on any site? I am 59. Yes, I have many very young men contacting me. I just say "You are too young, but thank you for your interest." If they reply, I block. As I stated, I've met tons of great guys (and of course, creeps) and had a lot of dates. I have a lot of correspondence before the date, and make it clear that I am looking for LTR and NOT FWB, NSA (what a load of crap). I have not clicked with anyone yet; but the, I am an atheist, free-thinker, liberal in Texas. Not a lot of guys hit on me (after 18 months on OKC, I only get about 8 guys/week hitting on me. Check my profile: I'm not gorgeous (LIB75002) or email me: joannar75002@gmail.com). I will be happy to help you further, if requested.

By Joanna R.
Helpful answer 2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

If you use care and caution it's safe. Women are subjected to more weirdos but you can block them. Spammers are going to get through and they will usually ask for your email or phone number. If someone interests you message a lot before you meet and always meet in a public place. If someone insists on more than you're comfortable with move on.

By Marty E.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes, I have had this happen a lot. People just want your phone number because they don't want to use the site. Then they want to ask questions like where you are from. I guess so they can research you. I am real leery about giving out my email and phone numbers. All kinds of scammers out there.

By Connie E.
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes, it is completely free... You pay for the more advanced features, but over the last ten years or so, I have met my last 6 lovers through the site ( though oftentimes it turns out that we already knew the same people... The matching algorithms are simply _that_ *good*!) and have never given them a single penny. ( though honestly, I really should, if only out of gratitude! ) Give it a try, it really is head and shoulders above the rest of the sites out there...!

By Todd M.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes. They'll never meet with you because they're contractors and 3rd party representatives, which is a fancy term for scam artists contacting you and pretending to be someone you think that you're looking at in the picture/profile that you are in contact with. The photos are ripped off from Facebook, Tumbler, or porn websites. THESE ARE THIEVES! I was robbed for over 150$ by one of these sites, and it's time to let everyone know. MAKE SURE THAT YOU READ ALL REVIEWS BEFORE REGISTERING FOR ANYTHING!!!

By John D.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

The best way to retrieve deleted messages from OKCupid is to contact the company help line as a kind of authority (INTERPOL, Police... ), else, deletion of messages from the personal user members area is dead and gone.

By Martins O.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Same site, smae people, same matches, but slightly different features.

By Jacco V.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I got over 500 "likes" in my 7 months on OKC. I never paid to see them. A lot of them were from men who lived more than 200 miles away, I'm guessing. Being tall, thin, never married, and childless, I got a lot of messages. I only met 7 of the men who messaged me. "Likes" are pretty irrelevant, so just see what you get with the free messages.

By Crocodile F.
Questions? Get answers from the OkCupid staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

6 Photos for OkCupid

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
OkCupid?
Post Review