Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Tinder

Tinder reviews

Is this your business?
348 reviews
8300 Douglas Avenue
Dallas, Texas 75225, United States
Tel: 4068825440
help@gotinder.com
2017 Customer choice award

348 Reviews From Our Community

Service
7
Value
7
Shipping
3
Returns
3
Quality
7

All Reviews

bettyl64
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/10/18

Ladies, be careful , meet many scammers on site. Normally is the Nigerian targeting Asian ladies. They used other people photo to scam . Dont give your personal photo or information to them.

Advertisement
sailawayt
2 reviews
11 helpful votes
5/6/18

With the Evil Empire having acquired all of the major online dating sites -- and now moving into the app business -- I had hoped to make use of Tinder before it was rendered useless. However, I was too late. And when Match Corp. took over OKCupid, the same transformation had taken place. The devious and outright fraudulent behavior that is so openly evident with OKC, Match and POF is now clearly present in the Tinder software system. In other words, the same diabolical programming that has been pulling this on everyone who used their online dating sites is now installed and in operation with Tinder. People who join can look forward to the following special features: real persons who have swiped right on your profile and Liked You are deliberately kept invisible. Instead, you will be treated to a pre-selected small number of either company made faked profiles, or inactive ones that they have elected to put on your activity page. This is also the case concerning the supposed matches, although a little more effort is made to keep you hooked, by having one of their illiterate operatives feign a conversation with you. These must be the budget variety of cyber criminals hired by Tinder -- because they can hardly spell or punctuate.

As with Match -- and its wicked associates operating under the different names listed above -- the idea with Tinder is to keep you hanging on, believing that your lack of success is due to your photos being unattractive or perhaps your essay wording not being quite right. This leads to endless revisions by people, thinking they just have to improve their profiles a little to make the system work. The Tinder ownership and management must find this to be amusing, since they are running a site which is designed to prevent people from finding each other.

In my other review here, I opened up OKCupid like a Christmas turkey -- and went into great detail about how the system programmers for Match Corp. have created a completely artificial environment for the members to experience on their dating sites. Welcome to Tinder. The other real members on the site either can't see you at all, or, they do see you -- but when swiping right -- you never see it shown on your message page (Tinder Plus). It's tough to take, but those hours of sifting through hundreds of profiles on Tinder weren't going to be productive of anything. The system is designed to prevent you from meeting anyone. Please re-read that last sentence, slowly. Yes, and that is the horrible truth about the Evil Empire's dating sites and its outright contempt for good people.

The number of real profiles I've read -- with the gals lamenting that the guys match, but never say anything -- are astronomical. I hate seeing this happening and it was part of my inspiration to contribute here on the review site. Yes, well, OF COURSE they don't say anything to you -- they can't. They don't really exist. The guy you right swiped on is probably already married to someone and doesn't even know that he's still being featured on the site. This is the same for us guys, with the stream of inactive profiles to plow through -- and of course -- there's the site-made variety of faked accounts to consider. Personally, I prefer the crooks on OKC, because they can at least carry a conversation. The pay rate is clearly better for the cowards and losers employed by Match and OKC to defraud people. Let's examine some of the writing by the company paid fraud artists used by Tinder, shall we? It's time for some comic relief. It's been reported here that Bumble appears to have all of its profiles written by the same person? Yes, they are. Whoever said that is dead on and thank you for contributing to the effort here. Oh yes, I wasted my time and money there for a while. I then went to Clover, in the hope of finding an independent app that wasn't doing this to people. Well, ahem, there are no real members even active on the entire site. Stay away. Jeesh, I got off track there. Let's get back to the comedians who pretend to be members on Tinder. Some of my favorite sayings in the phony women's profiles, which are repeated HUNDREDS of times in the company made fakes, are the following (and notice the spelling): *** I love to wear six inch heals *** please don't waist my time here ***. Well, I do hope that their shoes HEAL them and that their WAIST is OK. Good grief. That's rather shocking grammar usage for gals listed as being CEO's in their profiles! And remember, these aren't independent scammers from Nigeria doing this, these are people employed by Tinder.

I'm afraid that with the monopoly now in place by the Evil Empire, we are all stranded and have been betrayed by the horrible ownership and people participating in these company made hoaxes. Lastly, I would say that if these phone app companies were honest, they'd be fantastic. I like the simplicity of using them. And although I'm not into hook-ups, it's clear that the ORIGINAL Tinder was a terrific app -- and thousands of real people found real people there. That sounds nice, doesn't it? We are presently in a world of darkness in the online dating industry and the commission of fraud by this corporation's dating site companies is being done RIGHT OUT IN THE OPEN now. Be on the lookout for the next wave of smaller dating sites being gobbled up by Match Group, as a complete monopoly is presently taking place.

Just remember this: it wasn't YOU being rejected on these sites -- it was the greed minded Match Group Inc. ownership, the trick software systems now being used by them -- and their scummy henchmen -- that engineered your bad experiences there. (And I do hope some of them are reading this). It's almost like we need a giant Pest Control Exterminator Service to come in and just sterilize the entire online dating industry. Seriously. And then, perhaps, a new dawn.

As always, many thanks to the folks who took the time to write in about their experiences with the new Tinder here. I marvel at the other review sites online that are showing 4 1/2 stars as a review rating for this app! Oh yes, the Evil Empire also has its operatives running convincing fake review sites -- and there's several of them presently active. Keep in mind that the revenue generated by Match Group and its crime syndicate is in the hundreds of millions of dollars. They can afford to buy as many phony review sites as they see fit.

My compliments to the ownership of this site, in providing a free speech forum to help us all from being taken advantage of. It has helped me many times.

Take care everyone. Peace.
And don't let me catch you on one of those awful sites again.
Promise? OK. :)

sp1265
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/9/18

What a waste of time. Went through multiple profiles only to get 2 matches. Neither replied! Paid to "boost" and for unlimited likes, garnered no interest.

Basically you have to be a model to use this site. If you're not, prepare to be ignored

juliat64
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/5/18

Yes, exactly like I said in the headline - one day you try to open your Tinder app and get a message that you had been banned. You then try to contact the customer service truly believing that it was a mistake as you have done absolutely nothing to deserve a ban, but the customer service only confirm that you had been banned, and "Unfortunately, we cannot provide any more detailed information at this time".

So - you are told by Tinder team that you are a bad person. SO bad person that they could not stand you on Tinder and had to kick you out. As about why they deem you a bad person? - go figure it out yourself.

I read a lot of reviews where people say the same - it can happen to anyone.

And - they do not refund you the purchase if you are a Gold subscriber. You pay your own money for being called a bad guy :(

Yes, I'd say "Stay away from this app, guys".
They have the absolutely worst customer care I have ever come across in my 40 years of life.

davids997
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/28/18

Tinder get three stars (or hearts lol) from me. Not good enough for me to give up my WeJustFit.com subscription but still worth checking out if you havent yet.

claytonr10
58 reviews
136 helpful votes
3/13/18

If you're like me and you have severe social anxiety, you've probably tried Tinder or some other online dating app.
Hey look, Tinder is good for hookup culture. If you wanna find a guy/girl to hookup with and then forget about, this is the app for you. BUT... if you're on Tinder looking for true love, or looking for that soulmate, I would highly recommend looking for that elsewhere. You're essentially... erm... looking for love in all the wrong places. It's amazing what you can find when you approach people in person. The initial attraction is authentic.

And even if you do find romance on Tinder, it's not the good kind. It's the dead end kind. In most cases (And I said most, not all, before you get offended) of couples/matches who are made on Tinder, one of you usually ends up having some kind of emotional baggage that will one day rear its ugly head somewhere down the road. The result is seldom "happy ever after".

If you're afraid to meet people in person, I suggest talking to friends more often. Letting yourself go around people you feel comfortable with. Start by saying hello to someone you walk by on the street. You don't have to have a casual conversation, just say hello and smile. Preferably not someone you find attractive. This will increase your anxiety. Start by this and feeling more confident in yourself. But you won't find real love on Tinder or any online dating app. If anything, this will make things worse for your lonesome.

I just thought I'd put this out there for anyone who feels insecure or has anxiety, looking for REAL love, and is thinking of using Tinder. Plenty of people on Tinder anxious to find a real romance but I hate to break it to you, it's a false promise. Your chances of finding this on any online dating app are extremely slim.

rons160
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/13/18

my female roommate uses tinder to get a guy within the hour.... for women who want to hook up its a great site. i would guess most of the mens profiles are real.
for men, over 90% of the profiles are links to porn cam sites. less then 1% are real women. The left overs are scammers wanting you to send them money so they can come visit you

edwardb145
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
2/21/18

Heres the thing, Im not much into dating. I only really downloaded this app as a joke but quickly began enjoying myself. As a stupid app that you can use to pass the time and talk to random people online it works great. You both need to agree to talk to each other, through the surprisingly effective voting system, this means in most cases you can avoid spam bots (I say most cases because some are bound to slip through the net, especially is you swipe right on every profile). When you start a conversation, assuming you can break the ice, you can have a fairly good conversation with some. The premium version does more than just remove adds, which is something I look for in this sort of thing. Overall the app is good, but...

Yes, there is a bit, there always will be with these sorts of things. While the app is good for passing the time and having fun, when it comes to finding a relationship I would go for a paid alternative. I say this because most people (especially around the age of twenty or younger) are infect only on there as a joke, so it makes it difficult. I wouldnt recommend it for this purpose.

I could probably do a more in-depth analysis, but the thing is most people know this app isnt the best and only use it as a joke so...

Tip for consumers: Dont use if you are legitiately trying to date

Service
Value
Quality
jeremiahm36
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/19/18

Why not call it "Hell's Soothing Flame"? The word tender means showing gentleness and concern or sympathy, yet they decided to go with Tinder.

I prefer to associate dating with tenderness, as opposed to seeing myself as an insignificant kindling sacrifice to be torched out of existence.

Tinder is a pre funeral party, the place millennials go to die. I've heard rumblings there is an underground community within the community, where impure women do unspeakable things with animals. Apparently, the code is something like "Swipes right for dogs", or "I only swiped right for your dog". Do what you want with that information.

Look, to each their own. But this app ain't for me.

-Meyerson

cloea
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/14/18

I picked up one cute guy. we texted directly on the phone.
Getting close . But He send me Porn video. ( Why Guy thinks Girls will be happy to watch female vagina ?)
I did block him immidiately, but I can not calm down, so I am reviewing now,
Thank you !

iant72
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/12/18

Up until recently i'd been arranging all my dates through WeJustFit.com but I finally gave in and tried the tinder app. It's everywhere, from hollywood movies to subway posters so its not like any single online daters can really avoid it. I had been using the cell phone version of we just fit and for all the talk about tinder I cant really see why its any better (for NYC a least). OK tinder is more quick, aint no doubting that! But im not sure that's really what im looking for from internet dating. I like to take my time reading profiles and go online when I want not when the app tells me to. Online dating is serious for me, it's not about speed, so ill be sticking with WeJustFit I think.

lauriec39
3 reviews
4 helpful votes
2/9/18

I paid the $19.99 to join. Then I find that I cannot narrow my age search without upgrading, I cannot see my likes without upgrading, and cannot find out more information of my likes without upgrading. This is the most frustrating match site. I have used "Match" dating site in the past and it is so much more straight forward regarding pricing and easier to navigate. I couldn't get a refund (of course) but was told I could continue to use even though I cancelled my subscription. It's worthless to me due to all of the above reasons, so I just threw out $19.99.

lindat167
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/30/18

I ordered a purse from this company and it took forever to get it. I called almost everyday got answering machine. Sent several emails stated they would answer within 12-24 hrs. Never heard from them.Got the purse and as soon as I opened it I could tell it was an imatattion: Packed it back up and sent it straight back that day. They recieved itDec 16th and I have not gotten my money back yet .j reported them to the fraud unit. They have until February 2 nd to return money. I have had other people. O plain about this company. Linda.

doreenc21
1 review
4 helpful votes
1/7/18

An andre blephin thought be had but didnt. Have a profile of white bearded guy and says he is a widower. Smh

seank60
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
1/6/18

I have been using this app for a few months, but recently deleted it for a few reasons:

1. Every time I get a match from someone, I end up getting unmatched probably all because I am a transgendered woman. No wonder why a few of the new matches disappear.

2. Whenever I am in the middle of a text or if he wants to meet me in person, I end up unmatched and the text disappears. Very disheartening, but true.

For us transgendered ladies out there, we are in the lookout for real relationships, but it's not simple as a flash for most of us, so if Tinder was to improve it's search filters with something like this "Male looking for transgender/ladyboys", this would be much easier because it will only focus on guys who are interested in transgender people. Other than that, this app was a waste of time and I would never use it again.

Tip for consumers: FOR TRANSGENDER USERS:

Please be aware that just because you end up with a match does not necessarily mean that he or she really likes you. If a person happens to text you after the match, be prepared to know that this discussion may not last much longer. This review is based on my experience and it is to save others from going through what I have been going through.

kls7
1 review
5 helpful votes
12/27/17

I'll start with the only reason I tried Tinder was because of positive results from some other people who ended up in relationships.
I have been on and off Tinder a few different times now so my opinion is the men that I either chatted with,messaged, or had an actual conversation with, and the few I met in person were not the type of men I would be attracted to or interested in the real world if I was just out and about. Also with all the numerous men I communicated with I actually only decided to meet two in person.
The men I did meet in person did not look anything like the pictures on their Tinder profile, really pissed me off there. Both of these men had to be a minimum of 100+ pounds over weight, EASY! One guy I met all he talked about non stop was his ex-wife and her new boyfriend and child support and going back and forth to court, etc. the other guy I met this guy cussed so much it was unreal, literally every other word was profanity and again he looked nothing like his picture and upon meeting he asked me very inappropriate questions about my personal life. All the other men that I only just talked to by phone were basically the same; they just talked about their ex-wives non-stop, or they talked about themselves non-stop and trying to promote their business, and another guy I spoke to by phone a few times, we actually were supposed to meet up; he cancelled twice so after that I cut off communication. Then a guy I spoke to only by phone claims he was out of town and could not meet up but would "fly" back to meet me later sometime (yeah right). Tinder is no different than all the online dating sites its filled with these people who are out for either just sex, the men are already in relationships or married, the men are not serious at all not even just to do a quick meetup, and in my opinion the men are simply just playing games and wasting everyone else's time in the process. It seems to me the men on Tinder and many sites like POF are like that "bottom of the barrel" men, these are guys you wouldn't notice on the street, nor would you be interested on any level. So in addition to all that from an intellectual view, the men I spoke to couldn't even hold an intelligent conversation, one of the guys I spoke with was asking me all these questions like "what's my favorite color"?, and it seemed like to me he probably googled questions to ask because he had no clue how to carry on a conversation whatsoever. Seriously this is what I was dealing with on Tinder and for me it was just a waste of time, I was just hoping to meet someone to maybe go out and date and get to know, these guys didn't even make it to that level the majority of them didn't last after the first real conversation. Also I can't even tell you how many times I swiped left. The age range for these men were between 35-45 years old. Sad..

martinc124
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/21/17

Its a 6/10 dating site for me. Not the worse out there but I prefer sites like wejustfit.com that are a tad more 'underground' and have people who know the internet better and IMHO are just more interesting

clarkkentk
147 reviews
1,646 helpful votes
12/21/17

Tinder has helped thousands of people get lucky, and even married. A few years from now there will be a generation owing a chunk of its size to Tinder

alicer51
3 reviews
0 helpful votes
12/14/17

It's easy to use. There's actual people and not just fakes. I made a few friends thanks to it. Three stars because lot of people just misunderstud the concept of it. I you want to hook up go to the club.

rond203
1 review
6 helpful votes
11/21/17

First off Im 48, not at all ugly, and in good shape, and retired?! The app idea itself is great- my problem is Im in an open marriage- yeah well sorry after years of working on our intimacy shes gone through child birth and menopause and intimacy really low and mine is not! We decided I can go oustside. Im still prefacing this all: I am a personable attractive person looking for friendship and intimacy- that is apparently NOT OK with womens 30-50 in Bay Area Ca. Well the women in this area my age are obviously over achievers and well, narcissistic yet they all want LTR. Hey I have flown planes, jumped out of perfectly good ones, rode motorcycles, travelled, freelance author, educated but they have to show u pix of themselves doing what I just said- if I did that I hope people would laugh at such a show off?!! I talked to a really nice rubenesque (I like that- sometimes they are a lot less vain) and we were having a really great talk ab everything! I forgot to put my height on my profile- so I was 2 shorter than her and that would throw off her mojo?!?! That is soooo Ca. Female!!!
So u have to list your height and that u are a good person and honest (I always have been) and that you arent a man and you will commit to LTR forever just because they can take selfies and list every accomplishment?
Venting here- Ill stop. You have to be clear on your little write up of yourself- heres the critique: the write up area should contain more characters so you can provide EVERY detail for what is really your interview! If u both swipe that u like each others page it opens a text bubble and you can choose to converse- very well done. I did buy a subscription that needs this all up for around $20 just for one month. Since Im obviously in the evil poly category now, I should have listed that although plenty are like yuck poly (Im going skydiving and taking care of me- come get me Im so much more awesome- thats why Im single). I did see some decent people who identified as poly and even less women in their 50s who were a little too far out there?! Hey its Ca. So people gotta throw in the no trump supporters or conservatives. Wow really? So sorry to rant but the Tinder idea is inspired but in Bay Area Ca. Its a joke. Lots of attractive ladies my age with kids single looking for their next husband?!? Nothing on their profile and not serious ab this at all. Then they will grill you until they know ur in no way looking to have any quality time with a lady but only job interview for LTR. Perhaps younger folks have a better time because theres so much sex drugs n podcasts? FYI stay away from Ashley Madison and Wild which are total scams to make u buy tokens with fake people trying to talk to you. Also Fet Life can be OK but I believe it works best with my non-hetero friends. I may try OK Cupid and just be brutally honest. I thought I had a pretty entertaining Tinder page that was descriptive, good pix, humorous, real. Some barely took the time to read it before responding. It could just be me in my situation: over forty and craving a partner with my vitality and passion and friendship- I guess thats just me being shallow. This is just being honest: many women are going through menopause and child birth really curtails sex for them- just nature. Well there is always that 30 something mother of my friends of my son who has been hitting on me and wants an affair- damn what??? Like I need that drama in my life!!! Isnt that overture a little more inappropriate than what Im trying to do?

danielj101
1 review
5 helpful votes
11/18/17

Tinder is an easy-to-use-dating-app. The free version has good amont of features. However, I don't like thae fact that it connects through FB and even displays some information from FB, such as education.

I prefer old-school-dating-sites like Mingle2Day, Match and Cupid because I don't feel comfortable with Tinder displaying some of my FB details but overall experience was nice.

jk192
1 review
6 helpful votes
11/3/17

To my opinion tinder is a $#*!, i'm not talking about what kind of guys you can meet there, of course, all people are different and maybe not possible to meet a serious guy there, but help team keeping silence and they blocked me as soon as i paid for tinder plus for a month, they blocked me twice, because of "other guys complaining", but this is not true, i was everytime very polite, trying to match an american guy, i guess americans really weird, they can complain on ur profile because you are ignoring them, but as a fact tinder team blocked me and didn't return money for tinder plus monthly subscription, they don't stay in touch and don't reply my messages. so my opinion is tinder is a $#*!!!

ak836
2 reviews
17 helpful votes
10/15/17

You cannot find a serious relationship here. Guys are creepy on this site. This one is going to doom. Not a good site for women who're looking for something serious.

robertp307
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/11/17

Tinder is a good site but dont limit yourselves guys. Try them all wejustfit.com, match, etc etc etc etc and give each site 3 months to prove themselves. That way your being realistic & not expecting to much but you also no that if it doesnt get you a date by then, its time to kick that mofo to the kerb ha ha! Works for me anyway.

hudsons17
5 reviews
18 helpful votes
10/5/17

Everyone's using Tinder, so did I. Did I like it? Yes and No! It is a cool dating app and you can easily get in touch with other singles but the people are very superficial. Maybe not bad if you are looking for a hookup but if you really want to find someone special Mingle2day and eHarmony haver a better concept, in my opinion. Tinder is just not for me.

153 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Is any dating site legit?

By Claire k.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

It's a scam, like all these other sites. Maybe not as bad as other ones, but in the long run, you still get robbed.

By John D.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

It is free. just keep in mind that most of the profiles are fake..you'll have to go through several hundred of them to have any hopes of getting in contact with a real person

By Kelly S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I am here looking for s genuine person Please contact me

By Angella L.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

you will review a thousand profiles before even 1 is a match so you decide

By Kelly S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

no cost, just a lot of time so I guess that is a cost

By Kelly S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

If you search online for 'android emulators' you can have google play up and running in no time

By Wil G.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Tinder staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Tinder?
Post Review