SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government’s NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of Lumosity

Lumosity reviews

178 reviews
25%
140 New Montgomery Street, Floor 19
San Francisco, CA 94105
Tel: 1465486019554
info@lumosity.com

178 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
23
Value
27
Shipping
6
Returns
14
Quality
23

All Reviews

bobb1123
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/6/16

I liked the brain exercises and used for a long time. Eventually stopped though. Saw bill on credit card last year for recurring subscription. Called Lumosity and miraculously spoke to a real person. They refused to remove the charge, but said the would take me off recurring billing. Fast forward one year and they have charged me again. Now, it is impossible to get a real person on the line to discuss this. Working through credit card company to reverse the charge. Despite what I think is a good product, this is a criminal operation and it should be prosecuted accordingly.

Ask Bob about Lumosity
Advertisement
lc77
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/21/16

Lumosity has a bizarre refund payment policy and will NOT provide any refund for purchases made through the App Store !

My husband & I both subscribed (by mistake) and they won't refund one of the payments.

Crazy !

Ask L about Lumosity
carl-axeld
Carl-Axel D.
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/10/16

Fun interactive games, much better than alternatives

Excellent customer support!

Ask Carl-Axel about Lumosity
kayriem
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/2/16

I play it and my step daughters love to grab my phone just to play it. This is very useful to see how fast you brain can think. Ots great and im planning on doing a project on it.

Ask Kayrie about Lumosity
jrr8
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/28/16

I am frustrated because I activated my account on a long sleepless night where I was looking for something to do with myself. I would not start Luminosity at a time when you are sleep deprived, tired otherwise, not at your best, etc.; rather do it when you are fresh and ready to do your best. If you take the initial baseline test and are subpar for yourself, bad news. They will not facilitate you starting over again. They will act like it is almost impossible to do. Starting again is thus cumbersome at best and they will act like it screws everything up. NO it does not....I think it is overall pretty good, but cust. service not so good....

Ask JR about Lumosity
kirsteny
1 review
17 helpful votes
6/24/16

This company has terrible customer service and the auto renewal is deceptive and a predatory practice especially since many MDs, OTs and PTs are recommending this particular service to people with traumatic brain injuries.

I never received an email saying my account was due for renewal or for auto-billing. I haven't used it in the last year and Lumosity refuses to give me a refund for the $99. Moreover, they didn't even offer a prorated refund for the remainder of the year. Worse than this, I haven't used this in over a year so I'm really owed 1.5 years of refund if this was a legitimate customer satisfaction-guaranteed business.

Lumosity also refused to answer their 800# as listed when my credit card company called them about my disputed charge.

I would not do business with this company ever again. If the science is decent it shouldn't depend on unscrupulous and deceptive business practices.

Ask Kirsten about Lumosity
rosc250
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/13/16

I was due to retire and so would have time on my hands. I treated myself to a lifetime subscription after trying the games for free. I'm 67 and have reached the top (92%) of my age group. I'm aware that my scores are likely to gradually decrease as I age but I will be happy as long as I remain over the 50 percentile for my age group. It also encourages me to keep up my keyboard skills. My grandchildren play Lumosity and it's fun and interesting to compare our scores in the different categories. Don't take it too hard if you get a low score - you can always try to improve next time.

Ask Ros about Lumosity
judithn8
1 review
12 helpful votes
4/28/16

I received a gift subscription to Lumosity as a Christmas gift from a friend. After playing it for four months, I don't see any real improvement in my brain function. Evidently, I got the most basic package because I only get about a dozen games to play over and over again--even if I don't like them--and once my workout for the day is done, I can't play again until the next day. Also, if I'm on the last game and accidently hit "next" instead of "play again," there's no way to go back. Very annoying. Some of my scores have improved and continue to improve, but others have stayed pretty much the same or even decreased. I don't see any real difference in my day-to-day ability to function in the world. When this subscription is up, I won't renew. There are enough free games on the web to play which are as good or better at challenging your brain than Lumosity's.

Ask Judith about Lumosity
mlt
1 review
8 helpful votes
4/17/16

I signed up for a Lumosity family package. After paying it has a perpetual message " We cannot process your application at the moment"

Regretfully, transaction went through, Called my credit card to cancel so that i do not get recurring charges and will DEFINITELY CHALLENGE THE PAYMENT MADE.
17 April 2016

Ask ml about Lumosity
susanz28
1 review
5 helpful votes
3/29/16

I broke my ankle last April. Luminosity was something that was able to make my time spent at home productive. My favorite part of the day was doing Luminosity. As a result of my constant use of Luminosity, I found that it actually repaired parts of my brain that gave me better memory, attention and problem solving abilities. I was great at speed and flexibility right from the beginning. As I progressed in the other areas, I saw great life changing results. I always wrote better than I spoke. The ability to slow down and do better in areas that I still struggled with, gave me the ability to speak better. I believe that in slowing down to improve my ability to have better memory, attention, and problem solving caused me to slow down before I spoke. Now I'd say that my ability to speak is more in line with my ability to write. I am coming off more like the intelligent person that I have always been in my ability to communicate. Thank you Luminosity!

Ask Susan about Lumosity
michellew113
1 review
17 helpful votes
3/2/16

I have been using Lumosity for several years, but have recently developed a hand and head tremor which deem it next to impossible to play most the games on the site. I wrote to the company to ask for suggestions, and NEVER heard back. They are quick to take our money, but not to offer service. I tried calling the company today, and of course got a recording which said to write them an email which I have done twice already. I wish I could talk to a person. The company has already had legal action for automatically charging credit cards for renewals. You think the company would improve its policies.

Ask Michelle about Lumosity
danielp94
1 review
11 helpful votes
2/24/16

Started using Lumosity when I was having memory and concentration issues. I went from 23rd to 91st percentile in a few months, but my memory and concentration in the real world have not improved. Most of the games are boring. Some depend on the equipment used for example "Eagle Eye" is much easier to play on a small screen. My score can double when I use my laptop vs. my 26" screen. What's up with that? At best Lumosity is a timewaster for people who aren't into computer gaming. At worst it is a total scam.

Ask Daniel about Lumosity
luisc40
1 review
5 helpful votes
1/25/16

I am a professional boxer and I mainly concentrate on attention, and within 2 months of playing attention games my reflects gotten seriously good that I can barely get hit in the ring now.. 100 thumbs up

Ask luis about Lumosity
richs33
1 review
21 helpful votes
1/19/16

Faulty app, continuous sneaky billing despite opting out, NO Phone number & take forever to respond with Pre written responses of no explanation what's really going on. Then will use every excuse not to reimburse non approved funds taken from you. I feel this company preys on what they believe as "stupid people needing brain improvements". I'm surprised they are still in business, not being sued.
Very Disapointed Fraustrated EX Customer.

Ask Rich about Lumosity
jamesm375
1 review
20 helpful votes
1/17/16

I liked this for the first month, so I bought a year subscription. I am usually careful to deselect auto-renew boxes. We'll a month after that and it got repetitive, I could see that it wasn't helping. But they continue to charge me the next year. Thank to the lawsuit, I am aware of what is happening and switched the account off of autorenew. Will set an alarm to double check that they didn't charge me again later this year. The folks who run this site are low life criminals looking to take as many $50 nibbles as they can. No thanks to NPR for promoting the f^ck out them last year.

Ask James about Lumosity
joelm67
1 review
4 helpful votes
1/10/16

and in particular one doesn't get a sharper mind by doing mindless things. When I hit a plateau on a game, I look for ways to play or look at the game differently.

Ask Joel about Lumosity
meyera4
1 review
12 helpful votes
1/10/16

I signed up for Lumosity over 5 years ago. After 2 years, I decided to cancel my subscription. I called and advised them of this and they told me that being that the annual subscription was just auto renewed the prior month that there was nothing that could be done. They told me I would not be auto-renewed again. This turned out to be not true. They continued billing me. Recently I asked for a refund and pointed to the fact that the account has not been accessed in 3 years. They refused to refund anything. Make sure that you read the fine print!!!

Ask Meyer about Lumosity
karyne2
1 review
15 helpful votes
1/4/16

took money out of my paypal account when i went to find what email it was on encase i made one while drinking so i wrote every email i had in the forgot password and all said no account but yet they are taking money out of my paypal EXPLAINED IT 7 TIMES TO THE PERSON WHOS $#*!ING STUPID STILL HAS GOTTEN THE I HAVE NO ACCOUNT WHY ARE YOU TAKING MY MONEY....

Ask Karyn about Lumosity
taray2
4 reviews
4 helpful votes
12/31/15

I started out with my problem solving ability at 99.8%, As I wondered where I could go from here, I've found myself now at 85%. So did I lose brain power???
My memory, though, which had been at 50% rose to the 92% once I gave it more attention and effort.
To sum it, I've learned the games and improved my performance of them to the top of my age group by learning them. After a while some of them became boring. I skip them all the time (hence losing points?) Some others I've reached as high as I can (e.g. trains at level 12) and all my failed efforts only lower my scores, not improve my brain ability.

For me, Lumosity is fun.

Ask Tara about Lumosity
cherylb46
1 review
5 helpful votes
12/27/15

The only way to improve you score was to use a faster computer. Very boring.

Ask Cheryl about Lumosity
diannes22
1 review
16 helpful votes
12/16/15

I subscribed to the premium version and one month later I emailed them to ask if I could convert to the family plan and how the price would change. I got a detailed email saying they would reimburse the unused portion of my premium plan. So I converted to the family plan and they refused to reimburse me IAW their own email. So...beware! They rip you off, even if say they won't. They don't honor their promises.

Ask Dianne about Lumosity
jayd193
1 review
5 helpful votes
12/7/15

I used Lumosity for a year and had no trouble canceling when subscription period came to an end. I'm surprised to see all the negative reviews about auto-renewal. It seems like these people didn't read the terms when they signed up. I really enjoyed the games and found them challenging and Lumosity added new ones frequently. I'm planning to start my subscription again, but while I was doing price research, I stumbled upon these reviews and just thought I'd chime in with a different perspective.

Ask Jay about Lumosity
susieg4
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/28/15

Why am I suddenly locked out from playing the games I usually play? If I am at an anniversary, why haven't received a notice?

Ask Susie about Lumosity
oliverf16
1 review
17 helpful votes
11/9/15

I subscribed for several years and enjoyed the product a lot. However, one thing I didn't learn was that the subscription was set to auto-renew by default. When I discovered that my credit card had been debited but I hadn't planned to continue the service, I filled out their online cancellation form within 30 days of the renewal. The site said it would take a few days or weeks for the credit to show up on my credit card bill. When eventually it didn't, I contacted the company but they said that I was now outside of the 60-day refund window. Moral: if you like the games, by all means, sign up. Just make sure that you've cancelled the auto-renew feature.

Service
Value
Returns
Ask Oliver about Lumosity
melaniek10
1 review
11 helpful votes
11/6/15

This is a waste of money. It hasn't been proven that these games add the value that is claimed. All they do is improve the user's skill through repetition of the same task playing the same game over and over again. You can achieve this by doing something else FOR FREE. It's also difficult to get them to stop charging the credit card so don't give them your credit card. The customer service leaves a lot to be desired. It just is not worth it. Overall, I would stay away from this. The same games are given over and over again. I can find free games that are better than the ones that cost money at Lumosity.

Ask melanie about Lumosity

27 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the Lumosity staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
margyk
Margy K.
on 9/7/16
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
margyk
Margy K.
on 9/7/16
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
See 20 more questions
See more Q&A
Questions? Get answers from the Lumosity staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Lumosity?
Post Review