Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Agoda

Agoda reviews

Is this your business?
3159 reviews
Hotels, Travel, Travel Deals
20 Cecil Street, #1401,, Equity Plaza
Singapore, Central Region 049705, Singapore
Tel: +44 20 3027 7900
agipllc@agoda.com

3,159 Reviews From Our Community

Service
228
Value
223
Shipping
99
Returns
110
Quality
184

All Reviews

borisg16
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/13/17

Made reservation for our anniversary and they canceled a day before, will never use again. Customer service is not working, you call, wait for 30 min and they will hang out.

Advertisement
thomasq14
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/12/17

We were fleeing Florida 3 days prior to hurricane Irma striking Florida. Through Agoda I booked a room @ Red Roof Inn - Chipley Florida for two nights as a shelter almost 300 miles from our Saint Augustine condo. I called the hotel ahead on the night preceding our departure and was told we had no reservation and consequently no room!
Thanks Agoda.
Agoda did manage to charge my credit card for more than $140.00 . That charge now being disputed.

ankitak7
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/8/17

I made a booking at Hotel Sahara Star. I was asked when I would be arriving at the hotel and I provided that information. Now I assume that if the hotel does not have a room available for me when I arrive at the hotel, I would be communicated in advance so I can alter my plans accordingly. No such thing happened. The room was not to be available till 6 hours after my arrival at the hotel. When I called the customer service, the representative did not really solve the issue but kept repeating that it is covered by their terms and conditions. In stead of being apologetic she was extremely rude and unprofessional. Never using the service again.

barryh46
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/8/17

Mistakenly made a double booking . In the first day, website does not allow me to amend the date for check in. Second day, it allowed me to amend the check in date. I was prompted to key in credit card info without showinng amount to be charged. Made a bet, and keyed in. What made me jaw dropped was that , instead of cancelling the doubled booking and just moving the check in date with zero cost, I was charged the amount that was doulded the cost if I had forfeited the mistaken booking and made a fresh booking by myself. Perhaps this the exact way how the corp makes money. So when interact with this particular webs service, be more vigilant and think again when render your credit card info. Do not fall into the trap...

keithb113
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/7/17

Made a reservation two days ago they cancelled it on me last night. Completely incompetent customer service is rude and completely incompetent

jamesc473
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/6/17

Do not use this company! They cancelled three of our hotel reservations in japan without notifying us, resulting in $1500 in rebooking charges that Agoda refused to reimburse us for. Our calls to their company were not returned while we were on vacation. Although, we did have a very disturbing and unprofessional phone call from their customer service team a few weeks later. I wish I searched the internet for reviews before using them- so many bad reviews! This company should not be in business and must be avoided at all cost.

lukew58
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/1/17

Long story but basically Agoda had a hotel listed that shouldn't have been on there. When we arrived we were told that the hotel does not take bookings through agoda and hasn't done for several months due to agoda withholding funds. We couldn't stay at the hotel as it was full and even after we contacted agoda customer service we didn't get a refund.

davidr408
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/1/17

Tried to make reservation. Put I all Dara and hit enter. The internet on my computer then closed. Not their fault. However, never got an email confirmation. So I email. Their customer service responds. Asks for my phone number, and tells me they have 24 hour customer service line. Sent phone number and tried calling. Get answering machine. Need either booking number or extension of who I want to talk with. Have neither, and 0 doesn't work. They email...said tried calling but can't reach. Then another email...same name...send us your country code. Each email tells me about their 24 hour customer service line...so three times I ask for extension to dial when I call. Nothing. I will not be using this site, and have alerted my credit card company so as not to be charged.

kevinf93
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/1/17

When you book a hotel you give Credit Card details.... Very small print states that this info is pass to the hotel to wait for your hotel bill payment... Hotel staff then have access to you CC and can, and have, used it! First you know is when you receive a Fraud alert from your CC company!!! Why? because the hotel user ID is NOT Agoda, and your card is Blocked due to intended fraud use! TRUE

lat666
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/26/17

False advertising. There are cups & electric kettle on the picture, but in fact, there aren't. It takes me too long time to ask for hot water, after a lot of discussions.
The room is too small, the WC is for baby size only.
This is the worst hotel we have ever experienced.

sophieb43
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/22/17

Check direct rates before you book here, they're not at all competitive is what we found out too late, and we've arrived to find we've been overcharged for lesser rooms and amenities by going through Agoda - feel ripped off. We complained and they offered only to refund the current difference in price for a 2-night stay booking direct, despite the fact we are here longer, but the "customer satisfaction team" seems not to care about customer happiness at all, very spiky and stern to deal with and refused to take my complaint any further and talked down to me. Really awful customer service! Will be avoiding in the future.

ginaw31
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/21/17

After a two week hassle that included bank statement proof of being charged twice for my hotel, Agoda will NOT refund my money. The bank has confirmed the double charge via email and phone. Agoda KNOWS the mistake and now my bank is being forced to investigate the matter further.

zvikaf
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/20/17

Agoda false advertising wrong address!!!
my booking ID:225829796
The real saigoneer hotel in different address location.

azizs2
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
8/16/17

I booked hotel rooms on agoda and after making the payment I realised that it was for the wrong dates. Worst still, it was a non-refundable booking. Still, I requested agoda to try and get my booking changed for the required dates. However, since they were unable to reach the hotel for over 24 hrs. they cancelled my booking and offered to give me a gift voucher for the same amount to be used on agoda in the future. However, I requested them to give me a refund in cash instead and they did!

jaid34
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/16/17

Even if you get Confirmation Email for your Booking, there is no guarantee that you will get a room. And if you complain with the customer service they will give you a $#*!ty alternative or give you 10% discount to compensate their mistakes. My holiday got totally screwed. I spent over 1, 50, 000 for Rooms, Flights and travel and had a horrific experience.

sallyr44
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/7/17

Booked a hotel with "pay at hotel"option. The hotel charged my cc completely. Will not give me a refund. Agoda has posted pay at hotel and also has a cancellation policy of free cancellation if cancelled 2 weeks before check in. I have gone back and forth with agoda for almost 3 weeks. They will not admit to a technical error and will not give me my money back. I have provided them with screen shots as evidence of pay at hotel and also screen shot of the cancellation policy. Poor customer service. I will never use them ND will make sure alot of people won't . Will be reporting this to the better business beureu.

js310
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/5/17

Nothing is what it seems on the Agoda website. I entered the dates for my chosen hotel and booked the hotel. On confirmation, the dates had changed to my original search a few weeks previously not the dates I had chosen. I paid a fortune but guess what, it was not refundable. Beware of this site

annef51
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/2/17

And you may get sickwsick when you have to deal with Bad sadistic rude agent an then you are just stocked there and cannot do otherwise because You already paid your money
This is the worst experience it is not a company it is a group of sick of mad people who make you turn around hours without helping with your problem. I presume they enjoyed it. Get away from this company to save your business trip or vacation

debbieh109
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/31/17

I have never booked with or even heard of this site before, but after booking a hotel through another site, this site popped up and was $10 cheaper. So, okay, I cancelled the original and booked through Agoda. Luckily I had no issues like other people, but when I got my visa bill a month later, they charged a "foreign transaction fee" of almost $5, so now the savings was only $5 total. Never anywhere on their site did it indicate this was a foreign website (like paying in dollars or euros). Customer beware.

woll4
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/31/17

Have to cancel with my pregnant wife for medical reasons but they still cashed the reservation! Despite 45 minutes on their pay phone number and returned 4 times justificatories, no news, no credit note nor refund.
Terrible commercial service. Book your hotels directly !

shail80
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/27/17

Of course they give the best rates for hotels booking, but then you get your credit card bill and see they charged you extra - much more than the booking first offer which you agreed for.
There is only one word for this: thieves!
Beware of Agoda.com.

lindsayl19
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/22/17

We planned a trip to Amsterdam a couple months in advance. Booked through Agoda and had an issue with my card because it expired in the two months. I received an email to update payment, followed the links and directions and thought all was fine and good to go. Leave for Europe and have limited internet access. After a week we go to Amsterdam to settle in to our hotel booked through agoda. It was not reserved. The hotel had me call agoda and they said the reservation had been cancelled. I did not cancel. I check my email and find agoda emailed me 2 days before my stay and said if my card wasn't re-entered within 24 hours my stay would be cancelled. Another email the day before says it was cancelled. There was nothing we could do without email access..so we had no where to stay. Luckily my husband found a place last minute across town. What a mess!

If you use this company, stay on top of your email and don't trust that things will be fine. I will never use them and would not recommend to others.

gitsys
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/15/17

Guaranteed a rate on the confirmation they sent us and now we may have to
pay an additional $11+. They refuse to cooperate, Not their fault. they say Cheats and scam
company Email responses are a joke Stay away from them

carolinep26
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/28/17

I booked a room for 4 May 23rd to 28th. We had a 14 hours drive to Manhattan. When we got there (Midnight), the receptionnist at the hotel told me they double booked us and that they could'nt accomodate us because they were full. Also, they mentionned they informed Agoda about it, but no e-mail was sent to us.
I called Agoda to learn theywould reimburse me for the whole stay and they would payone day extra for inconvience to me. I asked them to find me a place to stay for one night instead of giving me this compensation and they refused.
It was in the middle of the night. Although the agent was polite and nice, Agoda couldn't care less about the fact I did not have a place to sleep. I had to call around myself to finally find a room (3 o'clock in the morning) that cost me almost 700 $ CAD for few hours sleep (400 $ more than planned) because all afordable hotels were booked.

mohammedn13
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/27/17

I have booked tickets for hotel in madinah for 2 days from April 22-24 in Bhasporous hotel , Madinah , saudi arabia .

Suddenly on 21st night i have recived e mail stating my booking has been canceled due to unavailablity and they will pay me for 3 days that is one day extra for inconvience . I was wondering since i have booked the rooms on 16th that is almost a week before , even my card was charged at the same day . There was no customer care number , i emailed them that this is not acceptable but it doesent matter since they already canceled it .

After couple of emails , i have recieved my money after 10 days with the same amount what i paid .

I would never prefer this kind of useless service since i had big problem during my visit to madinah because of hotel cancelation on such a short notice .

Mohammed Naser
Maakkah , saudi arabia

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer
9
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I didn't know that? I have had the best deals from them and I find them very helpful.

By Sandra B. on 5/28/15
Helpful answer
5
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I don't bother making lists just search for where I am going and select the best deal for at least 1 mth before its needed and keep track of prices

By steve B. on 6/22/15
Helpful answer
2
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Great Site. No worries...Go Ahead you can trust Agoda. Member almost 3 years now and never a problem

By Richard D. on 5/7/15
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

janice depends on the hotel most want to use the credit card given for security due to fraud so check with the hotel first befor your husband becomes distraught

By Mel L. on 4/13/15
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

It was my understanding that you receive points according to the amount of money you spend on reservations, not on writing reviews.

By Bonnie S. on 10/13/15
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Marlon, you have to register to Agoda affiliation program, you will see all the history about your Agoda purchase and points. I use Agda very often, and I have already enjoyed a couple of weekends for free redeeming my points. of course when booking cheap hotels you get a few points only, so it will take time till you can get full benefits from it. It's a great way to keep customers with them, they are very smart.

By Alessandro P. on 12/5/12
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I am not aware of any reward for posting a review !

By Tee-Hong T. on 10/26/15
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I usually use my mobile phone to show the voucher, bbut most times hotels are not even bothered to see it as they have your name on file.

By Bob H. on 11/20/15
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

ask your bank for a copy of the statement if you dont have one but a valid id would be handy if the hotel/motel do not allow then give them the flick and sue them

By Mel L. on 9/18/15
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

sorry for the delay in response when i have booked through Agoda i know it is done but if your not feeling good about it then yes you can check but the result will still be the same when you arrive some of the tricks hotels /motels use is to say they never received the booking which is why Agoda gives you a booking reference hope this helps

By Mel L. on 2/16/16
Questions? Get answers from the Agoda staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

18 Photos for Agoda

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Agoda?
Post Review