Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of NoLongerLonely

NoLongerLonely reviews

37 reviews
East Greenbush, NY 12061, US
webmaster@nolongerlonely.com

37 Reviews From Our Community

All Reviews

cy12
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/10/18

Except for the odd few types who are judgemental, whined @ and betrayed me... I visit for those I adore who are tight friends with me and loyal also nice to me for the most part, I always will. Sorry to those who hate me I don't care for you guys that much. I will be back again though to visit the chat :)

msmaym
1 review
7 helpful votes
9/16/18

I've been on this site forever. I will tell you one thing you will come across on the site with many people that will help you and listen in your time of need. I have had exchanged gifts mutely with members for various reasons. I am not telling to join the sites so you can get gifts, its the meaning behind the gift that someone cares for you. There are some shady people on NLL that are just on some negative path for sure you will discover that in time, just like any where else. It's like that old saying goes , " there is always a bad apple amongst the bunch". Nobody is perfect and the site can at times can be helpful. As for dating its really hard to find someone that is local and tons of people are all over the USA and the world. Lots of long distance and online relationships. The web master used to seem to care however now it appears he is otherwise preoccupied or overwhelmed with the site. He does not return emails to members or take users off the site that have been proved to be abusive & unsafe. He believes in second chances which are good will of faith, We all mess things up from time to time nobody is perfect. People get in disagreements and have differences it happens. However these people will be allotted years and years of chances terrorizing and traumatizing other members. I used to moderate the site for years, I was really devoted to the community of NLL it once gave me a purpose. Sadly after some time, I could not handle the mischief in chat anymore and decided not to moderate; The site it has changed for the worst and it's a free for all. Yet still I am a member because I have a family circle of member that are through hard and good times. I basically keep in contact with certain members. I am not writing this to point fingers or call names everyone has there own personal experience. I encourage you take a chance see for yourself . I highly suggest to just beware of the people whom are unstable that are not there for betterment and personal growth. I hope you will try the NLL site because there are a few and far between good caring people are still on there if your in a crisis or need to talk to people whom are also suffering from mental illness.

leeleem2
1 review
8 helpful votes
9/16/18

Stopped into chatroom reluctantly just to take a peek and what a surprise! A dark force lies in the chatroom. Drug addicts and alcoholics that have a gang run the chatroom and a couple of mods are in on it. Dont be a fairly healthy person or attractive because you will have the gang show up and start problems. A bunch of $#*!es and freaks!!!! The person that runs the gang is * and she is a heroine addict. Her and her beau. They have various accounts and come in as the gang as other users. * is her pseudo account. The white trash girls in the gang scope out guys to basically prey on and lure into their sick dysfunctional world so anyone who is threat is booted out and humiliated. The people in the gang are * and a few others. Its not a place to get help or better. The place will get you sicker. A bunch of white trash drug addicts hos and broken drug addict men!!! Stay far far far and far away! It is hell!!!! Literally.

*Personal information redacted by admin

jesh3
1 review
7 helpful votes
9/12/18

I have had my HellaNervous membership on NLL since 05-23-2005. This site is not only nostalgic for me, but has really and truly been a comfort for many years. I have made very close friendships with many of my fellow members, to where we send each other packages and Christmas cards, talk to each other on the phone, and are connected through other social media. In all my years of coming and going on this site, and chatting in the chatroom i have only recently and on a few occasions had problems with other members, but that is solved simply by blocking. This is a site for people that suffer from MI, for sure, and things can get a bit overwhelming, those moments are few and far between. 98% of the time its a very welcoming, supportive atmosphere and I love being able to come into chat and unwind, vent, etc. I have nothing negative to say about other members or this site. If you do join, hit me up and say Hi. You will see for yourself what it's really like.

Service
Value
Quality
lisav143
1 review
6 helpful votes
9/10/18

I have been a member of nll for 14 years. Made some real life friends from the site. But dont go on chat. Screwed up people are on chat. People that easily insulted or feel slighted. I am a bible reading christian and my faith has enormously helped my mental health. I also am very functional in the world. The chat room has women in their 30s that for some reason cant get dates or boyfriends so they are jealous of male attention you get from guys on chat. And if your older thsn them, prettier than them, they cant handle it and their claws come out. I live a wholesome with good values and have no problem getting suitors. Basically its a bunch of loser women on chat that have never been married. Its AWFUL. Stick to adults on the site that you can message. Sometimes you bump into good eggs that are consistent. Chat is loserville to the max.

samanthap122
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/6/18

top The website is a good website overall if your there for support and to make friends. But the chatroom can be full of drama. Some girls are envious of other girls that are prettier and more together than they are. Some people on chat are not medicated or in treatment and can create additional drama. Just look for the people who seem like they have their lives on track and are stable and you will be fine. Otherwise, its a decent site.

idag12
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/9/18

I loved this site, and treasure some of the connections I made there....there was a time this site was very helpful for my mental state...but the webmaster/owner/Jim does not take care of the trolls and drama queens. Chat seems to have been taken over by trolls or borderline (BPD) users whose main purpose to cause drama for fun. I emailed webmaster about some things, but he didn't even open my email. Well, maybe he will read this! the chat room is in dire need of cleaning up, starting with most mods! It has become a free for all in there! its hostile, rude, paranoid, and just plain hurtful. Certain problem users and mods need to be removed. How many times does a problem chatter need to be reported before being dealt with? rather, make them moderator? COME ONE!!!!!!!!!!!! PLEASE.......Jim, come see what your baby, NLL chat, is up to these days! (incognito)......

paulw303
1 review
8 helpful votes
4/19/18

I'm not going to say people are bad as some have, as the vast majority truly aren't. The reason you see some negatives here is a consequence of chucking umpteen of us together in one place who have mental health issues for various reasons, It was never going to be easy. This is a site in all honesty that could be more harmful to you and your own mental health than good and wont be for everyone. There are hundreds maybe thousands, possibly even hundreds of thousands (you'll be so lucky Jim) that have left for this very reason. For some it may work for others it most definitely will not.

With that all said, you'd expect then the owner having claimed to be one of us to have a more hands on approach. That in a community such as this would be a near necessity. So then you can't excuse the poor irresponsible manner, have to say lackadaisical approach to running the site they have taken. They only ever seem to listen to a select few members, very conveniently. Genuine requests or concerns put forward from the community seem to be largely dismissed with a few tried and tested prepared statements for the occasion. it's all "he said she said" "paranoia" and "toxic" amongst a slew of other tired excuses.. Yes the owner says these things to mental health community members, nice that. But hey keeps things simple and ticking over how you want it without the need to do, well anything basically. Minimum effort for maximum profit is the mantra my friends and it's a slogan most befitting the site these days. Laughably I and others have even been threatened with legal action in the past for saying the site is poorly managed

And what privilege did they bestow upon us long suffering members having finally given the NLL community the long awaited and promised face lift.. Not forgetting the incredible generosity that was the site demolition job, whereby the much loved forum, blog, art, story and poem sections amongst others were given the heave-ho. A mere week or so after maybe less, a 2 times price hike from 20 dollars (may have even been 10 at one point) to 40 was introduced. The problem is you see, people with a mental illness showing they have a mental illness (or being toxic as they'd call it).. So it's you who was damaging the sites reputation as he claimed, it's you who's costing him his chances of making money from you because you and your mental illness were on public display.. Hence getting rid of those sections

So we're now left with the chatroom, the only remaining survivor to the NLL cull where all his henchmen hang out, one of the reasons it still remains?. Which in no way (as we can see from various reviews here) is any different.. That too has toxicity as he likes to call it whenever there is criticisms of the site or people with a mental illness showing they have a mental illness.. The difference is the chatroom is hidden away in a handy little cubbyhole and resets itself.

NLL use to be a social network site with all that it had, now it's a shadow of it's former self having been stripped bare (easy money) and declared a dating site as it was all along apparently?... Of course it was of course, that's why it use to be what $10 with all those features and is now $40 with none of them... How very charitable and kind to your wallet. :D

matts268
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/3/18

No longer lonely is a crazy site full of crazy people. It will most likely be a mistake, but it will be fun.

chrisk211
1 review
8 helpful votes
3/15/18

I like the site, chatroom is the best. You can always find people who understand your problems. Everyone is friendly, mods are great, Alyona is the best <3

Service
Value
Quality
manyn
1 review
5 helpful votes
3/15/18

Although there are forces of darkness that organize on a skype room, I fight tirelessly to bring their reign of terror to an end. I'm sorry NoLongerLonely doesn't have a better rating, but don't believe the people saying that the site needs to be shut down. Gotham is worth saving.

sparklet
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/15/18

I have made many lovely connections through this site and will continue to do so. wonderful resource for making friends and mental health support

phillipo4
1 review
5 helpful votes
3/15/18

the site is alright but the chat room really makes the site for me, the people are friendly, the mods are courteous, nothing but good things.

phoenixr3
6 reviews
8 helpful votes
3/3/18

I am premium member for more than 2 years, I have triple diagnosis of OCD+Bipolar II+ADHD, but this site when I joined was only for blogs otherwise I wouldnt have bothered paying $20. But what the mods have done makes me even more sick than I am even on medicines. And I dont know why Jim doesnt bother to rearrange all moderators, or he even doesnt bother to just say hi in chatroom in rare appearence.

Chatroom is stinking heck worse than any 4th world sewer with racist intolerant swearing trolls made by mods and their group who RUiN the chatroom with all sorts of humiliations like pros, porn, pak, f***, retard, kek, etc.See screenshots for yourself and get convinced. I have took lot of backups that their trolls touching the sky!

I have been on nll for about 2 years. But, worse is I have been harassed by the moderator especially the Russian for quite some time and even now, who accuse me for being pedophile on basis of once written blog post of age >=12 (Japan AoC=13) being adult and even corrected on Andrew's insistence for concern of present day violation of Age of Consent related crimes that UK or EU has set 16. They take personally on me saying - "I need 12 yo wife, gf, ete, etc.", again and again in chatroom. I got very irritated and said TRUTH NOT CURSE - hell will fall on world and especially the West when ozone layer dissolves, Ice Caps of Poles melt that temperature will soar that as Buddhist eschatology mentions - in end times human lifespan will be 10 years and sexual maturity reach at 5 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buddhist_eschatology). They even more humiliate me- racially, culturally, historically, intellectually, like a 4th world civilization, and even more pitiable in chatroom. Guess what when high energy UV and X rays reach earth, not too far. I was very upset and lost entire night sleep.

DROP YOUR MOST POWERFUL POINT OF KNOWLEDGE(in a fb group; I copy paste):
WW3 c.2028 and WW4 c.2038 (I know not with what weapons(conventional, fire) World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks(missiles) and stones(nukes). Albert Einstein)
A personality with 2 normal eyes and 3rd vertical standing eye for Hindus (Krishna/ Shankar; see tree below) for Islam (Antichrist) Will Become Emperor of World amidst chaos- c.2028; hero of one community is villain of other community.
9-10 superpowers corresponding to 9-10 religions(see tree below) will emerge that will fight and lose all might.
Russia will become most powerful and very egoistic. I know Putin has Midas touch plan - transeurasian project( https://goo.gl/4sFFa9), making money from all round the world to pour into Russia by multitude ways. BBC Documentary too resonated my thoughts - Putin will take out most from world. They also verbalized; should situation arise they will take the whole world to kneels ~ Ramzan Kadyrov.
All Krishna, Abraham, Buddha, Christ, Muhammad, etc will be all revealed, alongside God ... From 2028. New Era(Calendar) 1(d)-1(m)-1(y) will start 2028, spiritual revolution, with Golden Era World.
A Communist (prez) dictator will rule India(freeze accounts, nationalize all men and material) and famine, great civil war will ensue ...c.2028, military seize control form absolute govt. Indo-Pak(also Hindu-Muslim civil) war leading to WW4 through joining of other nations - Christian Superpowers support India, China supporting Pakistan, main war b/w America and Russia(mental confusion due to extreme temperatures, dissolution of ozone layer, see tree below) - all nations will be taken down one by one.
Final Armageddon(by superpowers) causing major earthquakes, most of world sink, incessant rain, freeze, moon to fall into the Pacific, change of earth axis, little portion of Northern India(Delhi) become North Pole other planets to clash and fall on to Jupiter c.2038. Souls go to the original state and be liberated and salvaged. Before end everything will go asymptotic to infinity.
Repairing the damage, setting the state of atoms and molecules to original state - 2038 - 78; c. 2070-78 Golden Age start. Population c. 450,000.
More info: adhyatmik-university.com, youtube.com/channel/UCheMmIGwcrWayrruedEkwnQ (need updating, due to unmanageable volume of information), there are other information blogs and pages could be found on my official fb page(fb.com/Phoenix.russ12).
skype: phoenix.russ1

Tip for consumers: Better stay away and see for some other dating or even free social sites...

Service
Value
Quality
stevens248
1 review
8 helpful votes
12/21/17

The site is a good idea in theory but it's full of bugs that never get fixed. And the webmaster never replies to e-mails. And if the bugs don't prevent you from sending messages, you'll find that most members have such bad mental health problems that they can't keep up a regular correspondence. Don't bother joining, it'll be a waste of your time.

garyl126
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/16/17

I've been a long standing member of www.NoLongerLonely.com and I've enjoyed corresponding with many people, some of whom are located in other countries. NoLongerLonely.com is unique in that all members have an emotional or psychiatric diagnoses, so members need not worry how to "break the ice" when corresponding with someone that they'd like to date or correspond with since we're all in the same boat, so to speak.

The webmaster's passion needs to be recognized because this website is not inexpensive to maintain, yet membership fees are extremely low. I can't say enough good things about www.NoLongerLonely.com.

andrewg127
1 review
5 helpful votes
8/1/17

The idea of the site is great. It's well worth joining the site and giving it a go if you have mental health problems and want to meet new people. It needs more members ideally though (it probably needs to be advertised more).

jcw9
1 review
10 helpful votes
5/29/17

nolongerlonely is a badly moderated site, its chatroom is full of gutless trolls who abuse and threaten everyone who is new and if you stand up for yourself and give it back they cry and complain, they got everyone they knew to block me via mass message then tried to get me kicked off by the mod when that all failed they tried to send me a virus! gutless trolls and shut ins run this site which is a shame because there are nice people on there too!

Response from James L., NoLongerLonely Representative
I'm sorry you had this experience. While our chat moderators are given power to maintain civility I know that at times the overstep their bounds. I encourage anyone with a negative experience to reach me (the webmaster) directly.
lees170
1 review
7 helpful votes
4/29/17

Don't waste your time. Just tried the site again. I see they have a new design but the functionality is lacking. I filled out my profile a few times and after each time I hit the Submit key, it wouldn't save it. I noticed most of the users haven't been on since last year. I guess people are realizing that the site is a dud.

Response from James L., NoLongerLonely Representative
We've had 4500 unique users since the start of 2017. A bit marketing push is coming soon. Please let me know the functionality you feel is lacking I will be glad to looking at improving the site experience
eonf
2 reviews
9 helpful votes
1/18/17

It's good value and promises something very positive to people with mental health issues (such as myself). However, the comments regarding the aggressive attitudes on the site are true. Recently, 'Jim' the webmaster, installed a new website template, which not only brought it up to date but also got rid of the toxic forums, although the chat room still exists. The messaging had teething problems and despite emailing 'Jim' about this, I received no response whatsoever, but did find that someone had been poking around in my profile blocking people and messaging other profiles that were then deleted. I started chatting to someone (supposed to be from the UK) who seemed really nice, but I noticed that some of the writing sounded American and not English and quite fake. The profile was suddenly deleted. I smell a rat. Previously I've had smiles from people who are nowhere near me and never reply to messages, and this seemed like a trick to get me to buy a membership. If you live anywhere other than the US, the users are few and far between. I've cancelled my membership.

Tip for consumers: As with all dating sites, be vigilant for scams and fakes - and this includes the site owner/admin.

Service
Value
Quality
axelh28
1 review
19 helpful votes
11/2/16

I decided to check the site out after being off it for a year. What do I see? The same users, most of whom have not updated their photos since 2011 but are still currently active on the site. These are the same users who won't reply to messages. My advice, especially If you're a guy, is do NOT waste your time on here. Truthfully, the site will only make whatever conditions you have, worse.

Response from James L., NoLongerLonely Representative
Online dating isn't for everyone. My advice is not to let others make decisions for you. Give us a try. We are one of the rare sites that actually has a free trial period (2 weeks). What do you have to lose?
joshuar39
1 review
9 helpful votes
10/30/16

This is actually a good site. I had a mental breakdown last year when I wrote that review. I tried deleting it before but couldn't remember my password for this. Anyway, there are problems mainly because the members have problems. It comes with the territory.

Response from James L., NoLongerLonely Representative
If you see this Joshua please contact me directly. I agree I could have been more hands-on with the chatroom. You should know all blogs, stories etc are taken down because of the toxic behavior you referenced. Your characterization of me is way off. I've taken a HUGE net loss since the site was started. Compare my charges $4.95 one month versus mentalillnessdating charges $40. This site takes my time, effort personal investment. How many dating site owners interject themselves into the daily drama of their site? I think I am way more available and sensitive to my users than just about any. How dare you accuse me of faking my mental illness. Who is being toxic now?
jillianm16
1 review
9 helpful votes
10/18/16

While the site claims that racist, sexist and otherwise offensive content is not permitted, there is virtually nobody who moderates the writing section. This allows neo nazis to run rampant ( one user even has a Hitler avatar). There are endless, repetitive rants about how men are superior to women, accentuated by frequent "choice words" such as "sluts". 'Should women be allowed to vote' or 'Why is the white race better than the black race ' are considered worthwhile discussion subjects on this site. Women who protest will be treated with ridicule and condescension while males who disagree with these extremist views are labeled " effeminate".
There are lenghty explanations highlighting the evilness of Islam alternating with judgmental bible preaching,
Although the Mission Statement declares that users "don't have to hide those pill bottles anymore", members who talk about their prescribed psychiatric medications are vilified and labeled 'drug abuser',
Various religious fanatics promote the idea to deal with severe mental illness using non pharmaceutical modalities only,
This website maybe suitable for dim witted males with an inferiority complex, but ladies, folks of African descent or non Christian faith: Run!
As dating sites in general suffer from a notorious under representation of women, this one seems to deteriorate fast into an all white sausage party,

Response from James L., NoLongerLonely Representative
All of those portions of the site that had public writings have been taken down. I apologize you viewed things there that were upsetting. I hope you will give us another try.
david
1 review
10 helpful votes
10/15/16

Long time subscriber here, bought while I was homeless instead a hot meal! Have observed the site go through various stages and while the majority of problems seem to stem from the sites chatroom, with racist comments being thrown around with great aplomb / threatening & abusive language / moderators abusing their positions, it's other areas of the site these same members pollute that have been taken offline. Au revoir to the wonderful forum and blog sections, features that were advertised as lifetime guaranteed access, while the chatroom remains open. Backwards logic by site administration.

Very disappointed to see what NLL has become, and how Jim seems to have allowed himself to be manipulated by a certain member, into shutting down parts of the site. Jim should be begging former members to return, those who made NLL great in the first place, than placating those eternal whingers (but only when it suits), who have contributed to the sites downfall.

Response from James L., NoLongerLonely Representative
I took down those sections because they were too toxic and upsetting many members. I encouraged frequent users of the blogs/forums to create their own BBS off-site and they have done so. Expect a re-engagement campaign very soon...I will be incentivizing as many users as possible to come back and give us another try.
chrisn44
1 review
15 helpful votes
5/9/16

This site needs to be shut down! The people posting positive reviews for this site, are the nut jobs from this site. Don't believe any of the positive reviews. The worst part of the site is the chatroom and the people in there, especially the moderators who are bullies. The site is worse than middle and high school! A lot of 40 year olds on here act like 10 year olds.

Tip for consumers: IF you do join..stay OUT of the chatroom! That is where the real psychopaths roam!

Service
Value
Quality
Response from James L., NoLongerLonely Representative
Sorry Chris. I hope you would give us another try. If you encounter someone unpleasant I want to know about it.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Normally Daniel I approve profiles a few times per day. I was travelling recently so things slowed down a bit. Sorry if I left you waiting!

By James L., NoLongerLonely Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes, the whole site was re-vamped in January.

By Andrew G.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I don't personally know of any other hoarders on the site but I'm sure that there are some. Also, due to the nature of the site, I'm sure that most members will be understanding about your situation even if they aren't hoarders themselves.

By Andrew G.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the NoLongerLonely staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
NoLongerLonely?
Post Review