Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Material World

Material World reviews

13 reviews
Brooklyn, NY 11232, US
Tel: +1-866-674-5842
info@materialworld.co

13 reviews with 3 stars

lindseyr80
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/11/19
Lots of questions. Anxious to see if my box looks anything like the advertisement pieces
Reason I chose this business: Cute items on the ad for a great price
carissag65
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/9/19
ashleighb26
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/28/19
Questionnaire was simple, I look forward to receiving my first bow!
Reason I chose this business: Because I am a brand snob.
trevaw2
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/27/19
desireet24
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/25/19
Reserving judgement as I had a bad experience with another service like this...
Reason I chose this business: I love the idea of not buying fast fashion and recycling designer items.
allih4
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/13/19
I feel like box works great for me and haven't had any issues. It's easy, all I have to do is get my box and just ship back what I don't really like. Plus everything is at really good prices. For my lifestyle and budget it works!
christineb392
1 review
4 helpful votes
7/10/19
I recently tried out material world and did two boxes. I liked a few of the items they sent me and ended up buying 1 top total of both boxes. I paid $60 for the top (including the styling fee) which felt pretty reasonable for a silk Joie top. Overall, I don't feel like the boxes matched my style yet you still have to pay the $30 styling fee.

After the first box, I updated my style profile to better reflect what I was looking for and still didn't feel like a great fit. I have a very casual lifestyle, work in tech and wanted a few summer items. Most of the things I received in the box felt very "preppy" or "business casual" but really I just wanted a few great summer pieces.

I thought two rounds felt like a solid try and really like the top I bought!
annam530
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/15/19
Material Box is such a great service for me! I'm a stay at home mom so I love having someone pick out my clothes for me and just send it to my home. I use other subscription services too and I honestly don't even think I would shop any other way
rebeccat151
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/9/19
Just did my first trade in. I needed to sell my clothes and wanted to make some extra cash. I used one of their free labels and sent my stuff. I thought it might take awhile to get paid for my items but it only took a couple of days so that was good and i got my money through my paypal so i liked that! I'll use it again when i need some extra money
stacys159
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/4/19
I live kinda far from any good shopping so when I heard about this company I was excited to get designer clothing at cheap prices (especially since there's no good shopping where I live). I think it's easy to use and it's great to be able to shop the brands I like without having to go to a mall or anything. I like that it just gets delivered to me and then I just keep what I want
akexandrian
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/28/19
I use this company to sell my clothes and it really helps me get rid of all the clutter I get from shopping too often :) awesome for when you want to make some extra cash
kimc413
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/7/19
ive used places to sell my clothes before at buffalo exchange and I didn't love it so when I heard about material world I figured I would see what it was about. It was pretty easy, I got a free label and sent my stuff in. It took about 1 month or so for them to give me an offer but I was able to transfer the money to my paypal account which was convenient. I'm used to having to wait for my items to sell at other resell places.
sarahr317
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/2/19
I tried my first box and I liked it. I didn't love everything but for the most part I felt like it matched my style. I bought one thing. A kate spade top that was like $30 after the styling fee I already paid. I'm gonna try it again!

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I liked that it was designer clothing. I had read a good review in a fashion magazine of good repute.

By Gretchen I.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I've been waiting since October 18 for an offer. Two months, minimum.

By Mary K.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

REAL REAL - MUCH BETTER!! It's consignment which begins at 50% but increases with price and usage.

By Mary K.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Material World staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

9 Photos for Material World

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Material World?
Post Review