Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Intothedarkroom

Intothedarkroom reviews

36 reviews
2800 South Rural Road
Higley, AZ 85236, US
Tel: +1-480-305-0515
michael.sablone@intothedarkroom.com

36 Reviews From Our Community

Service
4
Value
4
Shipping
2
Returns
2
Quality
4

All Reviews

marneem
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/15/19

I have been a client for over 6 years and they have been impossible to work with. There is no phone number, email, or live chat feature to trouble shoot. The VEND cart feature just stopped working - my clients cannot access their galleries any more and I have been trying to work with customer service for over 2 weeks to get this fixed.

emilym181
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/22/18

I've been using ITDR for a few years now and absolutely love working with them! Their customer service always blows me away. Not only do they answer any questions I have quickly and efficiently, but they follow up and truly listen. Even when technology is consistently changing, they manage to keep up and in some aspects seem ahead of the game. The platform to build and manage my site is extremely easy to use and is very versatile, allowing me create a unique voice in a saturated market. I have absolutely no reason to look elsewhere for my website or hosting needs. Thanks guys!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
timh142
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/6/18

I've been a customer for several years. I use a 3rd party hosting service but I've purchased a few templates from Intothedarkroom as my website has evolved over time. I've been pleased with each template. They have all been simple to use. The support team has been great whenever I came across an issue that I needed assistance with. The support team has always been responsive eventuate at night. I'm a very satisfied customer.

rebeccaf54
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/20/18

I have been with Intothedarkroom for several years now and rarely have any issues but when I do, they are right on it! I am a creative artist but not very techy so anything to do with hosting, websites, domains, UGH is the worst. They always are very good about talking me though things until I have a grasp on what is going on. I really appreciate all their hard work because I know it has to be frustrating to deal with folks like me LOL. Thanks Michael for getting me up and running with the new hosting site! You are the BEST!

taram77
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/27/17

I recently updated my blog that I have had with ITDR for 8 years. It would be an understatement to say that I had white glove, step by step, incredible help. Michael worked tirelessly, seemingly around the clock, until my blog was up and running and looked exactly how I hoped it would. This isn't an exaggeration. I was truly blown away by how much service and attention I got.
If you're a busy photographer who does not have time to have their website down (that's you) and don't really have time (or desire) to build a new one, I can't recommend itdr enough.
tara

jamesm718
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/16/17

ITDR continually charges me for bandwidth upgrades, then THE OWNER had the nerve to personally insult my intelligence for calling him out on this.

I'm paying $29/month for their 'silver 1GB' service, and have been a loyal customer for 5+ years, only to find out that they're not charging $29 for their 'gold, 5GB' service but DONT HAVE THE PROFESSIONALISM to upgrade their existing customers accounts accordingly Instead, they charge you a HIGHER rate for LESS service. As a business owner, I dont have time to check to see if my hosting company is OVERCHARGING me for their services. Apparently you can't trust these guys to be an HONEST BUSINESS>

ITDR hasn't updated their templates in YEARS, and it really shows. I was extremely surprised to find out that they've rebranded as yet another company trying to sell wedding photographers on marketing workshops, yet these guys are neither wedding photographers nor marketing specialists. I was forced to go with a different webhost and template designer because they've abandoned designing modern templates and have relegated themselves to merely collecting 'rent' on outdated designs.

Most sites are now using fullpage content blocks, horizontally sliding content and a host of other attractive, modern features. ITDR continues to use the same old single page gallery design, and is great if you want your WEBSITE TO LOOK LIKE IT'S 10 YEARS OLD, but not so great if you actually care about staying relevant.

They also sell you on a subscription plan that is an absolute joke in terms of alotted bandwidth, then continually AUTOMATICALLY UPGRADE YOU multiple times a month, throughout the year, to the tune of .50cents each time. They send you flattering emails that claim your business is getting HEAVY TRAFFIC, and needed MORE BANDWIDTH, but when you look at your GOOGLE ANALTYICS, it TELLS A VERY DIFFERENT STORY. They then get extremely RUDE and PERSONALLY INSULTING when you call them on this SHADY BUSINESS PRACTICE of selling insufficient hosting packages that FORCE YOU to upgrade.

repeated .50 cent increases to your account over the course of the year ADDS UP, especially when you consider they're doing this to hundreds if not thousands of customers---$$$$$$ for them.

STOP selling people on insufficient hosting packages ITDR, and give people a package that meets their needs from the beginning.

I've experienced good customer service from this company in the past, but when I called them out for claiming my site (which only received 35 visitors last month) was something receiving heavy traffic and needed a BANDWIDTH UPGRADE, the OWNER of the company COMPLETELY LOST ALL PROFESSIONALISM and started LASHING INTO ME.

This is NOT how you run a business.

Tip for consumers: go elsewhere. there are much more modern website template companies out there.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Response from michael s., Intothedarkroom Representative
James, it's a pity you still feel slighted after everything. I am sorry that you still have yet to figure out the math, but I'll try one last time here. You were paying $29 a month because you were on the monthly Sliver plan. If you were on the Silver Quarterly ($57 every three months), it would be equivalent to only $19 a month. The Gold plan works similarly: $39 a month for the monthly plan, with a discount for paying quarterly ($87 every three months) reducing it to the equivalent of $29 a month. We are not the only company that offers discounts for extended time plans -- I feel silly even writing this -- we didn't even invent the concept. It's just how many online services price things out.

Most of your other issues simply seem to be rants, and I think it's a good thing that sites like sitejabber exists so you can vent your frustrations.

That said, we update our templates almost monthly. Not everyone wants what you want. We have clients that are deeply embedded in traditional websites. Sure, the single-scroller website platform is as pervasive as ever, and it's something we'll address -- but it's an inherently complicated type of website to build and maintain. To be sure, when we do launch that particular product, we're going to make it easy and accessible to the everyman/everywoman -- not just for the John Malkovich's of the world that can afford squarespace's specialists.

I am glad, however, that you admit we've been good stewards of your site and customer service all the way up until the math problem.
georger52
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/19/15

I've been with Intothedarkroom for years now. Many other companies that have popped up since I started using their products, and I've looked at many of them closely, but none offer anything better than the intothedarkroom products or designs. They consistently offer updated products, have excellent customer service and great instructions and videos on how to use the back end of their templates. I have everything uploaded and hosted on HostGator because I need to host other things for clients, and it's not difficult to manage with a small learning curve. I can't recommend them any higher. Beautiful designs, great code, awesome people who care about you being successful at your business. Happy to be a long time customer.

billw85
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/28/15

Products are always up-to-date, service is nothing short of outstanding and they listen to the needs of their customers. I've been using Into The Dark Room for years now and if I find something I like better, I'll switch, but I haven't switched and I've been with them for years.

The only problem you are likely to have is, just when you think they have released the perfect template and you get it all setup, then BANG they come out with a new one that implements the latest technology with up-to-minute design. They started the hosting (all in one) plan so now I can change anytime I want - THAT IS A HUGE BENEFIT. So you can look around all you want (I did) but when you come back they'll be here and so will I. Just for information, I am in no way connected to this company other that a satisfied customer.

oonab
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/26/15

I have been with into the darkroom for over 3 years now. They consistently have meet and exceeded my expectations! It seems like every time I start thinking I need another product or need something changed they release exactly what I'm looking for. Their customer service has been excellent and it seems like they offer something for everyone. I definitely recommend them with 5 stars!!

triciad4
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/26/15

I have been using ITDR's slideshow software and shopping cart for several years and have had excellent service - I also moved hosting to their company this year and have had a great experience!

seand32
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/20/15

I have used intothedarkroom templates for several years, and have built 6 different websites using 5 different templates. I liked using them so much as a photographer that I sold a client a finished site using their template to advertise for a very high end hotel (www.elchantetamarindo.com). My current portfolio (www.photographercostarica.com) runs on a Bisbee HTML5 template, and I am in love with the way that it sells my work for me. I really owe much of my success to the versatility and power of their highly SEO friendly templates, it gives me a strong marketing edge and the free updates are an amazing added value. When I migrated from my old and horrible godaddy server to a superior one, I had some serious database issues that were beyond my scope of understanding. Anthony at intothedarkroom responded to my problem in less than an hour on a Sunday night and got into the new sever and configured it while I waited. They frankly have the best customer service that I have ever dealt with online, and they answer right away with fast and knowledgeable technicians. I can recommend their superior products without hesitation.

Tip for consumers: By a blog site to compliment a website template for really consistent branding.

Service
Value
Quality
heatherc51
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/20/15

Everything about my experience with Into The Darkroom has been positive - their designs, ease of use of their websites and their customer service goes above and beyond so much so that their pricing is almost too good to be true! Will continue to work with them and would recommend to any of my friends and colleagues!

robw42
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/19/15

I've been with this company for years and they have been like a running partner in the success of my business. Always attentive to my needs and eager to turn my suggestions into tangible products. I have tried many others and investigated countless competitors and I can say without a doubt- ITDR is the best. Beyond just the most forward thinking products, their customer service goes above and beyond. When your site is down because of something you forgot to do and they respond late on a Sunday night with an immediate fix, you know you're in good hands. Nobody els does that!

brandonm56
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/19/15

I started using Intothedarkroom templates 3 or 4 years ago and have loved it from day one. I've since then upgraded to a new template set for my website and blog. I can't express the amount of pleasure I have with their customer service. I've had to pester them many times over the years with various questions or issues, and they helped with every one of them regardless of whether or not it was even a problem with their end (which rarely if ever it was). I love how easy they make everything and how on top of things they are. I hear people all the time talk about their personal issues with their websites, and I always point them to Intothedarkroom because their templates are easy to operate and don't require hiring a web guy to create and maintain it, plus have the best support team ever! I love'em and will stick with them for many more years.

karenm79
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
8/19/15

I have been with ITDR for about 5-6 years and have been completely satisfied. I am very impressed with their customer service and quick response to any issues I have had (and there have NOT been many!) Most recently I had a client point out a glitch in the VEND photo cart when using the favorites tab. After investigating and finding the clients take on the glitch to be accurate, I sent a service ticket to ITDR. They said they would check it out and get back to me. Their first response indicated there was indeed a glitch and that they would take care of it. With in a week or so an update came out and the issue was fixed. I continue to be very pleased with company and would recommend them highly to others. Thanks ITDR!!!

pamelao4
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/19/15

I've been using Intothedarkroom products for a few years now, and I can't say enough good things about the customer service they provide and the products they offer. I started out with one of their blogsite templates that I installed on Wordpress. When I had questions, they were there to help me immediately. I now have my website, blog, photo cart, and slideshows all through Intothedarkroom using their membership plan, and I'm beyond thrilled with how everything works seamlessly. Again, when I've had any questions, I go to the tutorials, and if I can't find what I need there, I submit a request, and they get back to me in a very timely manner. These folks are amazing at what they do and deserve my sincere appreciation. I love the way my site works and love the clean modern look. Major thumbs up!

jamies72
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/19/15

I have to say, that Into the Darkroom is RAD! I searched long and hard for my site and have since created 3 other sites through Into the Darkroom for my successful photography business! The templates are clean and easy to manage, my last site...the boudoir site only took me a few hours to create! Constantly my clients are telling me they loved the website, and how easy it is to navigate. I also use Flaunt through Into the Darkroom to show my clients their images in an east to view and upload gallery! I recommend Into the Darkroom to all my peeps who are looking to create a new website! IF you would like to see how custom you can create the site, please check out my landing page...if you want. From there you can visit my photography site (Sarin...I think) and my blog (Clove...I think) and then my Boudoir site (Mantigan...I think)
http://jamiesoloriophotography.com/
xoxo,
Jamie Solroio

Tip for consumers: I researched all of the sites that were available at Into the Darkroom and looked at their sample sites to help me create my site.

Service
Value
Quality
jaclynl2
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/19/15

I discovered ITDR 5 years ago and it was the best thing that has happened to my business. I'm a wedding photographer whose also a trained graphic designer and finding the right template that matched my vision seemed like an impossible task until I found ITDR. They have a wide variety of clean, modern templates and the best part is - they are completely customizable. My entire business; website, blog & sales cart are ITDR templates and platforms.

Their is a bit of a learning curve when setting up their templates however they give the best tutorials that are easy to understand. If you're still stuck then contact customer service. They are pleasant, knowledgable and best of all, fast!

One other thing that I really like about IDRT is that they take their customers feedback seriously. I've often written in how they could make things a little better and I always get a response back and an estimate on when that change might be happening if it's already in the works.

I would highly recommend ITDR!

alana109
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/19/15

I too am not one for reviews, but I remember what it was like starting out building a website. There's so much to choose from out there. I was led to IntoTheDarkRoom by big name professional photographers. Since then, I haven't looked back. I really can't believe some of the negative comments here.

Their templates are regularly updated and feature today's up to date features.

I recall myself royally screwing up my web page. They had it repaired in a short period of time. Speaking of customer service, they have gone beyond the call of duty by responding sometimes at late (or very early) hours. They have the personal touch that I have yet to see anywhere else. All that with amazing prices.

juliee9
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/19/15

I've purchased both a blogsite and a website. I think since purchasing the first product over 4 years ago their customer service has improved a lot, so wouldn't take a lot of notice re the bad reviews.

They aren't targeted at beginners but I found then relatively easy to set up with the instructions.

I love how they are constantly improving templates for SEO and keeping. With the latest trends in technology.

Best decision I made!!

todds43
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/18/15

I've been in business over 15 years and used several different website templates by 4 different companies. The year before I switched to Into the darkroom my business was down. I looked at many different templates before I decided to go with Into the darkroom. I had reservation because the prices they charged seemed too low for a quality product. With the low price I wasn't expecting great customer service, I figured that would be the trade-off. The template was easy to install and customize. My business increased and I was able to increase my prices. But the biggest surprise was the great customer service I received. I don't often write reviews but I'm so over the top thrilled by their customer service that I decided I must write this review to say thank you to Into the Darkroom. At this point I can't imagine using any other company, they've been so helpful.

cyg5
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/18/15

I don't understand where some people are getting their bad attitude about ITDR, but my experience has been exceptional, reasonable, and very competent. They have customers worldwide and behave as a world-class company. I can even reach one of their reps by NAME, and they update their software constantly, ensuring that I never have to go through the pain of making sure everything on my site is running with the latest tweaks. I give them my HIGHEST recommendation.

johns837
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/25/15

Obnoxiously expensive..terrible customer service...and IMPOSSIBLE to work with. Honestly, I can not STAND this program. I'd rather not have a website than use intothedarkroom.

suzannen1
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/17/14

I absolutely love Into the Darkroom. Can't say enough good things about them. Excellent designs, easy installation, and awesome customer service. I've had support tickets answered on weekends and holidays. Will be a customer for life.

alvaroo3
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/31/14

Dont work with this company. Even if the software ro build is not bad (maybe too simple payouts)
Its almost impossible to put ypur site online if you are not an expert.
The customer service is a joke
They sometimes answer after 2 or 3 days ,sometimes they just dont answer.
They dont understand the custpmer support in this kind of bussiness is essential
I spend a week building my site and im waiting so the c. Support help me to put it online.
There is a lot of companies more serious to work with
Absolutely frustrating experience
Never again

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Its a legit company, but not one you should ever work with.

By Marnee M.
Questions? Get answers from the Intothedarkroom staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Intothedarkroom?
Post Review