Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Folica

Folica reviews

27 reviews
Folica Headquarters, 675 3rd Ave
New York, NY 10017, United States
Tel: 1-888-919-HAIR (4247)
fcs@folica.com

27 Reviews From Our Community

Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

kt111
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/30/17

I have bought multiple flat irons for myself and for my sister. Awesome customer service and my products always arrived in less than a week. I did have one problem with the cord. I called customer service and they had me send it back to them on their postage and sent me a brand new one. I am very disappointed to see that they have gone out of business. Totally loved their products and the prices were always reasonable.

tricias25
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/10/17

I wanted to cancel my order but was not able to despite making contact to someone on their Facebook page. She said they'd forward my request to cancel my order, but i got my stuff anyways. After reading the other reviews, I guess I'm lucky to at least get my stuff. I hope it works. Maybe you can try to get some one to respond on their FB site? Good luck everyone!

cairac
1 review
4 helpful votes
4/2/17

I am a professional stylist. Loved.....LOVED sedu by the way. I bought and flat iron in September of 2016, II stopped working December 2016. I finally sent it back to be replaced February 2017, received it in February it stopped working the beginning of march. Wanted to get my money back but it seems that the company has shut down.....I want my money back!!!!!!!!!

dawnh78
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/31/17

YEAH WHERE IS MY ORDER, IM PISSED I ORDERED JAN19,2017 HER IT IS MARCH 31ST I WAS ALREADY CHARGED $164.80 TO MY ACT IM PISSED... SEVERAL CALLS AND EMAILS. I WILL NEVER RECOMEND THIS PLACE...,...

danas79
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/24/17

This place is terrible. I ordered from them years ago with no problem, but this time I placed an order on 3/10 and received an order confirmation. My card was charged that day, and 3 days later I had not received anything about shipping so I checked online, there was no record of the order and the charge on my card had been reversed. Emailed them 3 times to ask what happened and received no response. Stay away from this place, terrible way to do business. At least I got my money back but no explanation, and then was worried that they would re-charge my card when I bought the item somewhere else and it would be a whole mess to return it.

kianag
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/22/17

Hi all,

Folica.com looks like a legit website to order your hair products, but STAY AWAY from this site. I ordered a flat iron from them last week and immediately received a confirmation email (which is very standard). But after checking "my account" shortly after my order was placed, I noticed that under "orders", it wasn't updated. I immediately emailed them to confirm that the order was placed since it wasn't showing in my account and no response. I waited 48 hours and still the order wasn't updated into my account. I sent them an email again with no response. throughout that week, I called their 1-888 line and the phone wouldn't even ring, it was a constant busy signal. Even when I clicked on the link (in my confirmation email) to check for delivery updates it would go straight to "my account" with no update and the continuous "no orders associated with this account". The standard shipping is 1-7 business days and after I didn't receive my order, I called my bank and spoke to someone in disputes and thankfully I'm protected because Folica didn't honour their delivery policy so I got a credit from my bank and my bank will take care of disputing it with a 3rd party. Do not do business with this company. I may receive the package later on, who knows...but I will return it immediately and make sure I'm credited for the shipping costs. They are unprofessional, seem to be illegitimate, and not worth the hassle or concern of wondering whether your item is being shipped, or even simply if your order was processed. WORST ONLINE SERVICE!

jeanetteb25
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/22/17

I placed an order online on Folica.com March 10 and received an email saying they received my order same day and haven't received anything since. I ordered from them about 5 years ago now with no issues. I My husband tried calling and only gets a busy signal and has sent a few emails with no response. I went on their Facebook page and it looks like the company closed abruptly, according to some of the comments. The website is also down and their phone line is busy (for a week). They took money out of my account for the order on March 12. I personally have attempted to call them, email them, Facebook message them and Tweet to them with NO response. I am currently disputing this with my bank to get my money back. I have screen shots of all the Facebook comments as well as a Tweet from Twitter stating that I need to file a complaint and that they took her money as well.

geegeea1
1 review
5 helpful votes
3/17/17

I was hesitant to buy from this site as I've never heard of them but from a Youtuber. I purchased the SEDU flat iron for $82 on a Tuesday, was charged immediately. Their website says processing takes 24 hours and shipping takes up to 7 days. I got an email thanking me for the order but never shipping confirmation. By Saturday I emailed them. Zero response. I thought it was strange that I didn't even get a "we received your email and will be back with you as soon as possible" response, but nothing. I thought, well maybe because it's Saturday. No response by Monday evening, so I called the number I saw when I sent the email through their site. There was a busy tone, tried again busy tone. I called them again Tuesday morning a few minutes after they opened. It just rang, tried again, it just rang. Emailed them again, no response. Finally I called my credit card company to cancel their order and they informed me that Sunday night they returned my money to my credit card. Again, no notice of any kind and I haven't heard from the as of yet. I'd probably avoid this company, extremely sketchy. What would have happened had I received something damaged if I can't even get into contact with the company to begin with!!?????

ginamariej
1 review
3 helpful votes
1/18/17

They use verbiage as though they stand behind their products... and it's just not so !! I made a purchase of a SEDU flat iron and in approximately 2 years it stopped working. I called to order another one, only to find out that they sell refurbished products !! They offered to replace my product at no charge, which was a pleasant surprise ! They said that they would notate the order to ensure that I received a 'brand new' SEDU and not a refurbished one. Well, I called today...1 1/2 years later to advise them that my 'brand new' SEDU just stopped working. I was told that the 2-year warranty starts from my original purchase price....so not replacement, no warranty....NO MORE FOLICA FOR ME!!!!! I don't appreciate being 'duped' and or scammed ! My issue with myself is that I told lots of people about FOLICA.COM and I can kick myself for it ! Life is stressful enough without crap like this and businesses 'jabbing' you when you are a patron of theirs....and a returning one at that....it's just crap !!

virginial18
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/23/16

I used to shop exclusively on this website - not anymore. My Sedu 38mm curling iron stopped turning on recently so I emailed Sedu customer service to see about fixing or replacing it, my email was responded to by a Folica customer service rep, after many back and forth emails over a week long, plus me being asked to dig up the original order info (luckily it was purchased through Folica and I did find it) she tells me that the warranty was up 5 months ago and the best they can do is offer a discount on a new Folica purchase. I asked if I can send it in for repair she says no. I said can I purchase this item on your website? Guess what, they don't carry that item any more, they don't even manufacture it any longer. So I'm left with a $140 piece of trash 2 years and 5 months after purchasing it. Thanks Folica, you just lost another client!

jennifery23
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/15/16

I ordered one item over a week and a half ago. I keep getting notices that my one item will arrive in tow more days. It's was supposed to be here on the 11, then they said the 12th, then they said the 16th, now I've been told the 18th. If it actually arrives I will be in shock. I could have just gone to the place the manufacturer them and made it home by now. I won't ever order online again. Don't order something you actually want from them, unless you don't mind waiting several weeks to a month to get it. Glad I didn't pay for the fastest shipping option. Expedited is not the best option, and definitely don't even consider their standard option either. Thank god I didn't pick standard. Ugh!

daves178
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/9/16

Terrible customer service, auto additions on your order, and revenge e-mail spam when you complain. This place needs to be shut down and I have filed several complaints with the local BBB.

candices19
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/31/16

I was looking to make an order online for overnight delivery on another site.
I took one last look to make sure I wasn't missing a sale- right?
I found this link and clicked on it:
GK Hair The Best Treatment 33.8 oz New · Global Keratin $239.95
I clicked on it the link and there was the great product I needed to order 33.9 oz for $240 ok..
I went to top of page to open account.
It refreshes page-My linked to product was gone. Couldn't be found. ( I got it from my history for you)
I look up the product. Now it's not available. '
They switch me to a 10 oz for $160!
Well, I was NOT happy but.. they had a special, $30 off for $150 - STILL NOT nearly comparable to what I clicked.
I tried to purchase & check out-
Nope- It then, It only gave me $16 off.

By then I was invested in this ( Everyone understands what I mean-ha!) I called the company- waited for 15 min. The very tired lady answers the phone. Said that product was excluded from the special. I told her I First clicked on the exclusion- (since I got bit off the first page)
I told her- I clicked exclusions since ing from the website. And there was NOTHING listed.
Plus it can't be excluded they were going to give me $16 off.
She said it was only 10 %.
She, of course, couldn't or wouldn't assist me.
I missed my window of time to order my timeframe.
So.. I thought I'd GIVE THE PUBLIC a warning that didn't get.
Happy Shopping! PS: I make a point of writing (min) 3 Good Reviews for any 1 poor one. I actually don't have time to do reviews. Which is also why I do more good-before I feel a right to do a poor oneJust Sayin' : )

Tip for consumers: Don't TRUST their Ads, or Their Website Discounts and don't count on Customer Service.

helenf23
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
2/5/16

I shopped Folica for many years but never had cause to return anything. A couple of months ago I purchased a hair treatment that cost me $42! I didn't like the results after trying the product so I returned it. Since I hadn't received a refund yet,I called this week. I was told that since the product was opened, I am only entitled to a store credit, not a refund. What???!!! How am I supposed to know how the product works if I don't try it? Apparently they don't stand by the products they sell. I will NEVER shop this company again. In addition, they never communicated this to me. If I didn't call, I would have no idea that they issued me a store credit. Please be warned if you shop this store; Sephora blows them away!

fuongg
1 review
5 helpful votes
8/9/15

I have literally spends hundreds of dollars on their website buying flat irons, blow dryers, and hair products worth hundreds of dollars. When I received a flat iron that was defective THREE TIMES, I finally called in and nicely just asked the representative to replace it. Most people would flip out after waiting almost a MONTH each time the flat iron went out but I was raised better then that. This last time, when the representative demanded that I get a black replacement instead. I'm sorry I paid $140 for a pink one. She was SO rude and when I tried to explain to her that I just wanted what I ordered she replied back with "OKAY OKAY OKAY OKAY" practically yelling at. Then she continued with I'm going to return your money okay. You obviously don't like our product. WHAT? NO you sent me a defective product 3 times. I tried to be understanding and said nothing rude yet you yell at me and assume things about me. I seriously think she's so trashy! NEVER AGAIN EVER!!!

danielag3
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/31/15

DO NOT ORDER from this company! You can get the SAME products at the SAME price on Amazon and avoid their terrible customer service and return policy.

I got a Chi hair dryer as a gift and by the time I received it, it was already past the 30 day return/exchange window. I understand a 30 day limit to receive a refund but only 30 days to exchange is completely ridiculous. I've have never seen any other company with a policy like this.

Additionally, when I tried to speak with a customer service rep they refused to talk to me because I was not the original purchaser because again, this was a gift. They required that the gift-giver email or call to give permission for them to speak with me. Again, I have never heard of a policy like this. It's embarrassing, and a waste of time, to ask my friend to get involved.

The hair dryer is still in its original box, never opened, never used. They offered me no solution except to call the manufacturer. I will NEVER order anything from this company and encourage everyone to think twice before ordering!

francesh29
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/12/15

DO NOT ORDER FROM FOLICA. I bought a GHD Professional 1" Styler and returned it 4 times for a new one but every time it has been defective and they refuse to give me a refund. When I speak with customer service the person gives me the same scripted response. Now I am stuck with a defective item and am out $200.

susanv5
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/8/13

Worst online shopping experience ever. Ordered 45 of an in stock item for very nice favors at a ladies' charity luncheon. Placed order a month in advance on my no limit AmEx. With time growing short, emailed to see where order was. No response. Called and was told order was cancelled because "it was too big." Not a problem with my card, just "too big." Customer service would not pay for expedited shipping, then when I agreed to oay fir that, suddenly they were out of this item. I was left with nothing four days out from my event. Absolutely livid.

sherylc3
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/28/13

I had pretty good service actually. I was about to make have my order shipped but Stephanie G from the Customer Service Team warned me that the Flat Iron and Blow Dryer would not work internationally. Of course that just made me change my mind completely and I immediately mailed for a refund. I am now awaiting a reply about the refund.

michellev7
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/3/13

Do not order anything from this site. They sell fake products and do not like to refund faulty items. Have had so many problems from them.

laurenn3
7 reviews
14 helpful votes
3/28/13

They have great prices on salon quality products, and they have constant discounts. This is a fun place to shop. They also have a great selection of nail polishes. I didn't need to return anything I ordered, so I don't know first hand about how well the return process works with this company.

lir8
1 review
3 helpful votes
1/26/13

BEWARE: WARRANTY NOT HONORED! Folica's customer service has taken a nose-dive!

My SEDU 1-1/2" FLAT IRON stopped heating up. I returned it via Priority Mail within the 2-year warranty period to Folica's Return Dept. along with a copy of my original receipt, the Folica return form found on their website, and a check to cover costs--all as instructed by Folica. WHAT A WASTE OF TIME AND EFFORT! Within a week the package containing all of the items was returned to me UNOPENED and marked REFUSED - RETURN TO SENDER! I called Folica immediately, and the customer service rep falsely claimed they sent my broken flat iron back because "it was a 2007 model," when in fact THEY DID NOT EVEN OPEN MY PACKAGE to discover that the item I returned was purchased less than two years ago in 2011.

It's a great iron, but it does not last long at all, and one cannot count on Folica to honor the warranty. I switched to a BAYBYLISS PRO NANO TITANIUM for nearly half the price and a 4-year warranty and love it even more than the Sedu.

Folica: You've lost a longtime repeat customer for good. Shame on you.

katiej4
20 reviews
24 helpful votes
4/25/12

Great prices on high-end hair products. Sedu hair dryer and flat iron are to die for. I got a great deal on both. They always have discounts!!!

shanellt
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
4/12/12

I love this site because I can research expensive beauty products before I buy them. I haven't bought anything directly from the site yet, but I have researched everything I bought from the stores through folica.com first and so far they have been dead-on about the quality and what-not. (So far, I've bought 2 flat irons from H2Pro and several beauty product from Nu Expressions.) My next quest is to buy an expensive hair dryer directly from the site so that I can rate their customer service and the quality of their products.

ramap
1 review
3 helpful votes
4/4/11

I live in canada so i don't get the perks of free shipping even i spent over $200 worth product shopping but this website will charge you anywhere from $19.99- $30 for shipping but when they ship they do not tell that you will be getting dinged with extra duty charges.when the product arrive you have to pay over $20 minimum to release your stuff from UPS.
I bought a flat iron which as soon i got (after paying for 2 day shipping i got it after 6 days )i plugged it on it didn't worked so now i am stuck with the flat iron which is not working after going through all that trouble .i wanted them to refund me for teh product which is not working if i send them the product back so now i have to pay for the shipping again.what kind of company is this they don't care about their customer and their problems.They have anly one receptionist on teh other side of the phone line .so you have to wait ages to get through .
Over all i would never recommend this site for any canadian to buy anything from there .i would rate is 0 out of 5

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hey, I am not sure what happened to Folica, I used to order from them all the time in 2001 - 2013. I recently had to buy a new wand and found the site to be down and a LOT of complaints from customers not receiving their products. My guess is they went out of business, I'm just surprised they turned around and ripped everyone off in the end bc I had zero problems with them in the past - it's so unethical, illegal, and just plain disappointing that PEOPLE can be so horrible. I'm really sorry if I'm right. You need to call the company you used to pay for the iron and ask for a refund.

By Michele P.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Folica staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Folica?
Post Review