We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    Craigslist

2018 CUSTOMER CHOICE AWARD
Corporate Values

Overview

Craigslist has a consumer rating of 3.58 stars from 681 reviews indicating that most consumers are generally satisfied with their purchases. Craigslist also ranks 2nd among Classifieds sites.

Positive reviews (last 12 months): 7.5%
Positive
3
Neutral
2
Negative
35
View ratings trends
16
See all photos

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

  • I'm blown away at the distance some people will drive to pick up a good deal.
  • You will receive a week upfront payment as well as some money to move the van (2015 Ford Van) over.
  • 2018 Customer Choice Winner

Critical highlights

  • I especially avoid any ads that don't give a business address, phone number, fax number or email address.
  • It's just a waste of time filling out app and resumes.
  • I want everyone to know how terrible I think their customer service is.
How would you rate Craigslist?
Top Positive Review

“DEAL OR NO DEAL”

Ron A.
8/5/20

So let's just say Craigslist is one big gamble. You never know what you're going to get. But as long as you can read people via messages then you should have good experiences. I would reccomend this website to anyone who needs to save some cash.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Craigslist Flagging my Post that follows the rules 150%”

cedrick d.
7/2/20

Wow does craigslist get really $#*!ed. Every single post I put up is flagged by craigslist before anyone can see it yet there can be 50 million porn ad and hookers and prostitution ads, what the heeeeeck... I read online forums and other people in same situation are clueless on what to do well not me you will see.

See critical reviews

Reviews (681)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

phone number (16) people (115) email address (9) money (60) time (105) customer service (6) credit card (5) ads (75) post anything (5) paypal account (2) job (74) 2 years (4)
merlinh17
1 review
0 helpful votes
September 1st, 2020
We recently purchased a 2020 Chevy Blazer from Piehl Motors in Princeton and was very pleased with the experience. The entire experience was professional and easy to make the deal. Larry Lucas was our salesperson and was professional and knowledgeable. This is the 3 vehicle that we have purchased from Piehl's and would highly recommend the experience to anyone looking to purchase a car.
clairep76
1 review
1 helpful vote
June 8th, 2019
The room turned out to be an amazing new space in my home. Tim was great. He is very creative and came up with some interesting ideas. He came in time and completed the project pretty quickly. His pricing was very fair as well. We are very happy with his work. Would definitely recommend him!
ronniec23
1 review
1 helpful vote
February 25th, 2017
Carlton Edwards was awesome as a salesperson. I purchased a used 2003 Honda Accord Coupe and he went out of his way to assist me. The car was a good deal with low mileage and he helped me reach my final decision. The car had a slight damage in the front bumper. He even assured me to get that fixed at a future date at a nominal price. A very helpful salesperson and I will go back to him for future trade in and buying a new vehicle. God Bless him. Ronnie B. Chatterjee Elmhurst Queens, New York
rudolphr16
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 15th, 2019
Carpenter Gary Greenwald does good work at affordable prices. The work this man does is like a masterpiece.
brittanyk16
1 review
1 helpful vote
November 3rd, 2017
I've always loved this website! From being able to sell your stuff, searching for jobs, and purchasing things, this site offers it all! Not to mention, being able to make $$$ by posting ads for some companies! There's definitely some non-legitimate ads out there but there are also legit ones too! This is always a site I refer to whenever I need anything! Highly recommended!
allisonp63
4 reviews
7 helpful votes
July 27th, 2019
Ok so there's a lot about Craigslist I really love but first let's get the elephant out of the room... YES there are scammers and perverts. I've seen all kinds of ads there for roommates that I've signed up for that people never ever let me actually contact them and people thought I was a prostitute.

Basically if you're looking for a roommate you need to apply for as many ads as possible because up to 50% of them are going to be fake. But if you can find a genuine ad it's one of the best places to find a roommate. I have tried on several occasions to find roommates on Facebook and no one will reply. I don't enjoy Facebook for finding a roommate.

As far as rideshares go it's also great! I have a hard time getting around because I can't drive and I needed people to drive me to work. I don't have a job but I was willing to pay people for the ride and they said they'd do it for free. The woman I spoke to actually said I could be her roommate and that she'd drive me to work and to see my family. Yes people there thought I might be a prostitute but after I found the GOOD people I was very happy with the services offered by Craigslist. Never EVER been able to find someone to drive me around on Facebook.

I've never had a bad experience here. Just use common sense.
jenniferr429
189 reviews
257 helpful votes
October 30th, 2018
Besides Amazon and Facebook to find what I need. Easy to use and always on time. But you do have to be careful with some of the items in the list. Knowing what's fraud and what's not will help you dearly.
jeffreys109
1 review
0 helpful votes
May 1st, 2018
So far I really enjoy the app. I will be redeeming my first gift card later this week. It is easy to use. I enjoy taking the surveys in my spare time. I wish I qualified for more serveys
doloresa22
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
November 9th, 2018
Got a lawnmower from a guy in my county, no troubles at all, showed on time and the product was used as shown in pictures and in working condition! And the price was right!
Good alternative to lowes or amazon imho.
ibrahimovitchk
3 reviews
22 helpful votes
December 21st, 2018
When I tried all Available spy apps but didn't get desired result I had to hire a competent and reliable mobile phone hacker.
Solidarity Hacker (AT) GMAIL.COM
This hacker delivered access link to a secured platform where I was able to view all the communication activities on my cheating partner's mobile phone including but not limited to phone call logs history and its audio recording, WhatsApp Facebook messenger Snapchat Instagram Viber kik and all other Apps located and operating on my partner's mobile device. Use a reliable, trusted and user friendly platform from the competent hacker.
Solidarity Hacker AT GMAIL.COM
favort
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
March 20th, 2017
I bought a car on Craig's lists sold my this company 3 weeks ago and now it needs $5300 worth of repairs. Do not buy cars from them!
kathyl70
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
September 4th, 2016
I hire this man and his Son to Put up Cameras and set up The DVR He came with out any Tools and expect to Use mine Then Try to drill a Hole into My wall I told him it was Block and you have to have the right Drill Bit to go Thru the wall He did not Listen Now I have a Hole He Left me a MESS The Cameras do Not record they only live play so i have to hire some one else to come do A Job this man screwed up@ night the camera are all white so Im not sure what he has done. Do Not hite this person waste of time and your Money

Tip for consumers: do not hire

Service
Value
Quality
jonathanh64
11 reviews
17 helpful votes
April 16th, 2016
Great place to find things locally, I have successfully bought and sold here. But be careful! People can be dishonest and Craigslist does not guarantee anything (how could they they don't charge). Treat it as if you were responding to a paper add in the newspaper or posted in a public place.
scottp80
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
July 5th, 2016
Really love Craigslist. I call it Craigs. Always find good deals, but be careful! It's easy to get caught up and get a bad item!
thet13
1 review
1 helpful vote
April 23rd, 2016
The best of the best! Rachel *******276 She is drop dead gorgeous. Outstanding personality and performance unparalleled- amazing. Very addictive. Don't waste your time with the fakes she is the real deal/ total package worth every bit of what she wants for her time you will always want to tip to trust and believe me when I tell you...
josiahp9
1 review
1 helpful vote
March 5th, 2016
Willy responded on short notice to aerate our front yard. He was on-time, business like, and did a GREAT job at a reasonable price.
jeno12
1 review
1 helpful vote
August 14th, 2016
Mike's TV Install in Dallas was a great value and service all around. Mike was professional, quick, and mounted my TV beautifully without any mistakes or mishaps. I would highly recommend this service to anyone looking to mount any size TV on a wall or even brick wall, with all the wires hidden behind the wall!
sandral81
1 review
1 helpful vote
May 19th, 2016
I hired this company to do some remodeling for me and want to let anyone that needs someone to do some remodeling - Affordable Builders Construction of Reeds Spring, MO had dome me an excellent job at a very good price. They are truly professionals.
antonior36
1 review
1 helpful vote
August 26th, 2016
Watch for job interviews asking you for money up front $100 or more. Plus osha SCAM!
joyceh19
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
May 12th, 2015
Problem with CL just gotten to big an not enough support for customers. That's why facebook will take over the classifieds but I did notice on google I saw buysaleandtrade.com they're advertising no fees for classified and auctions while using customers facebook profiles.
juliem129
1 review
1 helpful vote
May 4th, 2016
My son's renters moved out and the inside needed painting. He lives in Minneapolis and and the house is here in Portland so he found someone to do the work and asked us to help. My husband and I showed up at the appointed hour but the painter did not show up. I called my son and he found Francisco Munoz on Craig's list and gave him a call. Francisco showed up within an hour with equipment and a big smile. He painted living room, dining room, hallway and 2 bedrooms. He did several applications in the bedrooms because the old paint was very dark. He also added texture to the family room and painted the ceiling. When we returned all the holes and blemishes had been covered up and the house looked like new. I was astonished! He worked so fast and yet so well. I could see his sense of pride and how much heart he puts into his work! Francisco is a treasure! I cannot recommend him any higher. Also he only charged us $430.00! What a deal! I wish he did everything for a house!
amberw29
1 review
1 helpful vote
October 13th, 2015
Craigslist have been flagging every post of mine and there nothing wrong with the post it's very frustrating because I'm trying to sell my house and it won't post my ad it's been doing this for weeks now and it can't be fixed if you want another website use backpage it's way better craigslist sucksssss super bad!
jennifers93
4 reviews
9 helpful votes
May 22nd, 2014
I love this site! It is great for selling furniture or even for picking up a good deal here and there. After my son told me about it, I was able to sell a whole heap of things we had sitting in our garage. Very happy with the overall experience and the best part is that it is free! Thank you Craigslist.
rachaelr10
4 reviews
6 helpful votes
June 8th, 2016
Using this for simple stuff that I need or need to sell and it's simple and easy and trust worthy
kaylah4
4 reviews
8 helpful votes
June 30th, 2013
This site is amazing; I have gotten my car, my rat cage, and my kitchen table/chairs here, all at ridiculously low prices for great quality. Plus 2 jobs that I found posted here. It just has every major thing you could ever need!

Obviously just make sure you see photos of what you are buying, do your research, see it in person before committing to the sale, etc so you don't get ripped off.

Q&A (16)

Answer:

No, and DO NOT talk to the forum... trolls just waiting to attack anyone who is frustrated.

By Sebastion L.
See more answers (3)
Answer:

All you can really do isjust "flag" the ad when you click on it. It gives you the ability to delete the posting. Nothing more. Craigslist gives no way's to post negative reviews. Unless you take the ad posting and info and post your own ad as the negative outcome or info. To pass on your experience. Lots of others are doing it as scam alerts or fraud alerts. Only remember that if you do, then the person whom your referring to also can "flag" your posting also.

By mike m.
See more answers (2)
Answer:

I have posted many adds with craigslist my house, furniture and pets in the past. I am trying to post an dog now that showed up on here on the 4th of July. But all my adds get deleted use to love craigslist now I hate Craigslist. Big waste of my time every add I post gets deleted if I will selling cocaine I can understand craigslist use a funking little common sence. Don't call the customer service number thank you for calling Craigslist but there is no one here to help you. I have posted last add with Craiglist longer customer.

By sabre c.
Answer:

In order to list items I first take the best pictures I can and take quite a few as you can post alot on listing. Then depending on item I'm listing I get dementions any and as much as I can. Now you need to create an account on Craigslist and no they change nothing for you to list or take a percentage of item sold unlike ebay. When you create your account you do have to provide a valid email but they only give it out if you check the box when posting that they can, Craigslist prefers you don't give out your own. They will make an email for you item and then forward it to you when someone inquires. When I checked emails regulary I would have them give my email out and had no problems until I had a box of misc items and then I received alot of sexual messages, so I never use my personal one anymore. I due have people text me ( there is a box you can mark if you'd prefer that method of contact) working the hours I do I've always used it since that option came out. I've never had any problems with a buyer calling or texting me. I've sold alot of items some were the same item just reposted it when I got more to sell. And I've always had people come to my house and never had any problems I did have one no show. 1) set up account it works for all the different areas. 2) It been along time but I believe they send you an email to verify it's valid 3) find area I want to post in Delaware, Milwaukee ect and if it's a large city you'll need to deside which area is closest to you 4) go to area you picked say Eastern Shore get on main page I mostly use smart phone top left is a menu touch it and you want to go to my account ( make sure if they sent verification email you verified it) 5) sign into your account I believe it gives you obtions of sell an item or my account, go to sell an item it will ask if you're the owner or I believe other is for mass selling. Then pick best category if it's a lawnmower go to garden ect. Now your making post it will give you options of default email which they recomend or the obtion of having them call or text you. Then you'll need to come up with a short popping post of course put in what your selling and any words that make it seem it's the best. Then give as much info as you can about item selling and make sure to be honest about it. There's an area that asks you who's manufacturer what's it's condition I usually skip that as it's in item description but it could help to sell it. Then theres a map so people know around where you are if you don't want them coming to your house put in zipcode of a town by you. Then it will have you upload pictures. Make sure the best one is uploaded first as that's the one that people see by your post and add the rest of pictures. Also at the beginning it will ask for a dollar amount for item. When pictures are done loading hit publish. Sometimes they send an email verifying post, but they will inform you they are. If they do make sure to go to email and verify it as item won't post till you do. Post will automatically delete after a month to 45 days it comes inactive first so you have option of reposting it. If you want to delete or modify posting sign into craiglist account and touch on my account and all your active and inactive posts are there touch on either delete post or edit. It's very simple and easy to do if you forget to fill in say asking price when you go to publish post it will tell you you something wasnt filled in. I know the government was trying to pass a law that we have to pay taxes on what we sell but I haven't done much selling on eBay or craiglist so I haven't checked if it passed It sounded like it wasn't going to. Hope this helps I am computer dumb and can post on here so most people should have no problems. Terri

By Terri S.
Answer:

If you want support, go to a real site. Nothing but trolls at CL who prey on anyone asking for help in the forum.

By Sebastion L.
Answer:

Just set up another email account and your back on

By marla l.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the Craigslist staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

craigslist provides local classifieds and forums for jobs, housing, for sale, services, local community, and events

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Craigslist?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about Craigslist?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business