Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

Craigslist, Inc. reviews

Is this your business?
656 reviews
222 Sutter Street
San Francisco, California 94108, US
Tel: 4153995200
craig@craigslist.org
2018 Customer choice award

656 Reviews From Our Community

Service
25
Value
23
Shipping
12
Returns
12
Quality
18

All Reviews

joeb1223
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/25/20
All you get for posting something to sell on craigs list is trolls scams and spam. Its not worth the time to post anything. They know it, we know it sir hope they consider shutting it down. Its just a place where shady crappy awful people hang out and wait to prey. A very dark useless place.
davida1757
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/18/20
Now Craiglist had decided millions of dollars in advertising isn't enough. They are charging owners to post listings. Very greedy company.
jakea65
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/18/20
If your not gay your post will get flagged .They and all the sick creepers on the planet it took over .I use doublelist ..FREE and the creeps and gays have their own place to post .
wilbers13
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/16/20
I requested a female driver ed teacher so I could regain my drivers license. these craigslist owners immediately put a male responder to my ad and tried to convince me males are better for me. I can now understand why because san farancisco is the biggest gathering of gay people in the world. I will never post on craigslist again

Tip for consumers: anything coed is immediately flagged

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
jamesb2438
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/21/19
Pathetic site now scammers by the dozens bad sellers bad buyers very ignorant people posting no control by craigslist what so ever the site is a JOKE!!!! My rating is not a one it's a ZERO!!!
mikek461
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
12/18/19
CL in my city is officially dead and corrupt to the core and 100% of the ads are from the 3rd world scammers. India, Pakistan etc.. I'm not joking when I say 100% . I went to view a main page and they show about 50 posts, well it was obvious as day that all 50 ads were posted by the same person. Its a 3rd world scam crew that has infected kijijii and craigslist, they make contacts for both buying and selling, the ads are not as ridiculous as the scammers of the past who tell you they won a diamond mine and just need to get the money out of the country. These are quite sophisticated and mostly revolve around IDENTITY THEFT or other spoofing tactics. They are either spoofing you or spoofing someone else using your identity. They also do scripts and programs, this includes ransoms, computer lock ups, credit card and banking scams, other scams that have morphed over the years but all revolve around the same things. Its basically looking for weaknesses, exploits, your kids, etc and they have literally hundreds of scams they can apply on you based on what they find. Some cockroach will call and try get your kids to give up your address or reveal other personal information, maybe get you to visit a website so they can grab your IP, or worse find an open port. Since scam sites like CL and kijiji have forced accounts it has everyone infected, you will be contacted eventually as a buyer or seller and slowly these terrorist build a complete profile on you. It may take them years but I have proven that the same scam screws have been working this for years. I was able to track some back as far as 5 years to ebay but today they are working craigslist and kijiji and the scams have hundreds of variations. They even have job applications and gig offers but all of them feature the same thing, a scammer saying send me a scan of your license or some proof you are a driver so you get the job or some variation of this scam. All I can say is if you're a buyer or seller get a $10 cell phone and never give your real name out. These companies like CL and kijiji are the problem, they ar 100% fraud trying to be global and be in every city, that is why they do such a poor job and always need to up the stakes on their so called safety efforts, which always fails and morphs into bigger scam infecting more people. Trade locally , AVOID TEXT MESSAGES, USE CALLS ONLY until you know the person.
vicc8
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
12/7/19
THE MAN WHO WORKS FOR CRAIGSLIST POSTING CAR ADS HAS BUILT A FULL TIME BUSINESS POSTING SCAM CAR ADS 24/7 IN 3 STATES IN THE SOUTH EAST. SINCE HE WORKS FOR CL HE WONT FLAG HIS OWN SCAM ADS. NOW AFTER I REPORTED THIS TO HOME OFFICE IN SF. CA. HE WILL ONLY FLAG ONE OF HIS SCAM ADS AFTER IT HAS BEEN UP LONG ENOUGH TO HARVEST A BUNCH OF OUR EMAIL ADDRESSES. TODAY HE FLAGGED ONE AD AND IN 15 MINUTES HAD POSTED A NEW AD IN 3 STATES WITH 3 DIFFERENT PHONE NUMBERS AND THIS AD HAD BEEN FLAGGED AT LEAST 10 TIME. HELP ME DRIVE THIS BOTTOM FEEDING DEAD BEAT OF CL

Tip for consumers: REPORT THIS FRAUD TO THE FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION EVERY DAY LIKE I HAVE BEEN DOING FOR THE LAST 2 WEEKS

Service
Value
Quality
marinam121
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/3/19
BEWARE this Craig's List ad from *****@yahoo Listed are two different locations: Catskills & Orlando SAME PHOTOGRAPH - The "owner" does not respond to email sent via CL email.
[Can't upload the photo.]
chadl114
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/29/19
So stupid for craigslist to start charging 5 dollars to post when they could just add some ads to make lots of money I use to be loyal to craigslist now bye bye craigslist hello offer up
johnw1956
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
10/22/19
I made an ad on Craigslist so that I can find homes for my puppies it clearly says that rehoming pets for a small fee is okay and that is exactly what I'm trying to do but for some reason Craigslist keeps flagging my post before it can even be put up in the list this is really frustrating i need this fixed as soon as possible

Tip for consumers: Use Market Place

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
mitchelld25
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/19/19
I have been looking at houses and apartments on craigslist for a month now and everyone I have called has been a scam every single one,I even flagged over 300 post and craigslist will not even remove the scammers (thats un real)Will no longer be using craigslist and I would advise everyone to move on

Tip for consumers: DO NOT USE CRAIGSLIST NOTHING BUT SCAMMERS AND THE WORST PART IS CRAIGSLIST DOES NOTHING ABOUT IT EVEN IF YOU REPORT IT

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
laurelb38
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/18/19
I wasted so much time setting up an account with craigslist, and putting an ad to sale my Mom's house, only to have it deleted for no reason within a few days. I wasted more time trying to figure out what happened to my ad, only to find out that craigslist makes a regular practice of ghosting people's accounts with no grounds. I got a couple of dead end responses to the ad. I put it on Facebook's Marketplace and I had over 1000 views in less than 24 hours. It took 5 days to get 2 serious offers. It is now sold, no thanks to craigslist!!
lead22
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/11/19
Craigslist.com could care less about the MANY PREDATORS they bring on their own company website. Allowing just any sick demented bored, jealous, and depressed public to just start flagging good community Ads is a BIG JOKE there. I have found better places to run ads. I agree with most ALL the other Reviews...that Craigslist.com is NOT one of the best places to do business nor try to just find newcomers to a genuine Adult Recreation Club that has been formed for 10 Years.Too Much Jealousy in Florida by those who ended up in Florida because they were "Running Away From Something Bad Back Home"! Florida is filled with very ill people...Beware Before Moving To Florida...what you have to "put up with" in that State just to live a normal life and FORGET about running Ads on Craigslist.com!!
jeffreyz15
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/23/19
Hello I buy and sell cars as a dealer and I been using Craigslist over 10 years you guy are charging me 5 dollars a post i see u guys became greedy I have no choice now but to post my cars on author sites that r free and great to sell on no body goes on crigslist anymore you guys ruined it 5 dollars a post really?? Wat a shame well sad to say but good bye Craigslist
rosaliec15
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/20/19
Corey R Fields business names; CF Haulers, CFAUTO, CF TOWING: "I am a man of my word to be trusted" he stated; as he requests half a payment at the beginning of the hauling job and the balance at the end of the job. The fact is: He abandoned the job after getting paid half. The work he did was minimal, he promised to send a refund and Never Did! Beware!!!!
rayb244
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/4/19
I use to love Craigslist. But now they won't answer an email and can't talk to anyone so that leaves us no choice but to move to someone else. Normally on an ad I would get many many replies, but with their new program where you cannot put your email address in the ad you get 1 reply instead of 10; SAD No wonder Craigslist is going to the dogs. SAD used them for past ten years.
samanthas327
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/27/19
I use to love Craigslist. It is now riddled with scam artists and porn freaks. Stay away. Far away. It's not worth the hassle of finding out you are going to get ripped off.
staro1
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/4/19
Beware of craisglist , there so many fake seller there who will offer you fake things but luckily i was able to recover back all I lose in craiglist . please beware, if anyone has similar issue
johnd2440
5 reviews
15 helpful votes
7/30/19
scammers, they stole my money, I called severally they didn't pick my calls and I sent them messages through email forty times they never respondedI paid about $2500.00 for house rent to the owner, just to find out it all a scam. I was lucky to recover it back through an agent I met through a friend, I got back $1000.00 out of my money, he promised to help with the balance. so if you are a victim like me, message him through this email( admin AT dellj4001ATgmailDOTcom )
thatg14
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/29/19
I don't know why there are so many bad reviews for Craigslist. I've used it for years and years, and I made a bunch of money and bought a bunch of really cool stuff for low dollar.
I haven't read all the reviews, but if you're getting ripped off for sending money, or accepting cashier's checks or any other type of payment other than currency you're a freaking moron. Most of the bad comments I read we're bad due to the ineptitude of the customer. If you think I'm full of crap, try using OfferUp or let-go. Unbelievably bad everything. Sure Craigslist has issues, but like I said, I've been doing this for years, and I have never had a serious problem. Stay away from letgo and especially, especially offerup.
the only reason I gave this review a four-star and not five, is because they're charging $5 to advertise a vehicle. I have sold, and purchased at least a dozen vehicles in the last six or seven years. Due to all the scams and rip-offs out there, you must watch your azz. You can't expect a company that does this volume of business to make sure YOU don't do something stupid.
thomasd359
2 reviews
7 helpful votes
7/28/19
I have bought and sold many things on craigslist. One really has to be on the lookout for scams because. If you are trying to sell a product or service then competitors will flag the hell out of your ads just so you get removed.

Let's face it though. It has a terrible interface. There are a lot of really strange people on there and it can be brutal to those who don't know what there doing. Yet, it is pretty much the only game in town as far as internet classifieds
evans347
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/27/19
I am five other people have been ripped off by somebody Chad Michael Bruns renting a house room in St Augustine. He claims there is a washer and dryer on-site as well as a stove oven range. This is a scam!he took my money personally and never put it towards rent the electricity went out and the internet went out while I was there in one month. I tried to contact Craigslist multiple times and they did not stop him from continuing to post. I have people after I have left their complaining because of my posts on Craigslist about him. Yes I am posting about somebody who ripped me off in the housing market apartments rented rooms. this is sad that Craigslist will not take care of the issue and will not do anything at all after 2 months now of me posting against a rip-off artist!
allisonp63
4 reviews
3 helpful votes
7/27/19
Ok so there's a lot about Craigslist I really love but first let's get the elephant out of the room... YES there are scammers and perverts. I've seen all kinds of ads there for roommates that I've signed up for that people never ever let me actually contact them and people thought I was a prostitute.

Basically if you're looking for a roommate you need to apply for as many ads as possible because up to 50% of them are going to be fake. But if you can find a genuine ad it's one of the best places to find a roommate. I have tried on several occasions to find roommates on Facebook and no one will reply. I don't enjoy Facebook for finding a roommate.

As far as rideshares go it's also great! I have a hard time getting around because I can't drive and I needed people to drive me to work. I don't have a job but I was willing to pay people for the ride and they said they'd do it for free. The woman I spoke to actually said I could be her roommate and that she'd drive me to work and to see my family. Yes people there thought I might be a prostitute but after I found the GOOD people I was very happy with the services offered by Craigslist. Never EVER been able to find someone to drive me around on Facebook.

I've never had a bad experience here. Just use common sense.
jacquelinef68
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
6/22/19
They Flagg all your ads and remove them so don't bother trying to post and ad here it's a big waste of time
clairep76
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/8/19
The room turned out to be an amazing new space in my home. Tim was great. He is very creative and came up with some interesting ideas. He came in time and completed the project pretty quickly. His pricing was very fair as well. We are very happy with his work. Would definitely recommend him!
289 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No, and DO NOT talk to the forum...trolls just waiting to attack anyone who is frustrated.

By Sebastion L.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

All you can really do isjust "flag" the ad when you click on it. It gives you the ability to delete the posting. Nothing more. Craigslist gives no way's to post negative reviews. Unless you take the ad posting and info and post your own ad as the negative outcome or info. to pass on your experience. Lots of others are doing it as scam alerts or fraud alerts. Only remember that if you do, then the person whom your referring to also can "flag" your posting also.

By mike m.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I have posted many adds with craigslist my house, furniture and pets in the past. I am trying to post an dog now that showed up on here on the 4th of July. But all my adds get deleted use to love craigslist now I hate Craigslist. Big waste of my time every add I post gets deleted if I will selling cocaine I can understand craigslist use a funking little common sence. Don't call the customer service number thank you for calling Craigslist but there is no one here to help you. I have posted last add with Craiglist longer customer.

By sabre c.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

In order to list items I first take the best pictures I can and take quite a few as you can post alot on listing. Then depending on item I'm listing I get dementions any and as much as I can. Now you need to create an account on Craigslist and no they change nothing for you to list or take a percentage of item sold unlike ebay. When you create your account you do have to provide a valid email but they only give it out if you check the box when posting that they can, Craigslist prefers you don't give out your own. They will make an email for you item and then forward it to you when someone inquires. When I checked emails regulary I would have them give my email out and had no problems until I had a box of misc items and then I received alot of sexual messages, so I never use my personal one anymore . I due have people text me ( there is a box you can mark if you'd prefer that method of contact) working the hours I do I've always used it since that option came out. I've never had any problems with a buyer calling or texting me. I've sold alot of items some were the same item just reposted it when I got more to sell. And I've always had people come to my house and never had any problems I did have one no show. 1) set up account it works for all the different areas. 2) It been along time but I believe they send you an email to verify it's valid 3) find area I want to post in Delaware, Milwaukee ect and if it's a large city you'll need to deside which area is closest to you 4) go to area you picked say Eastern Shore get on main page I mostly use smart phone top left is a menu touch it and you want to go to my account ( make sure if they sent verification email you verified it) 5) sign into your account I believe it gives you obtions of sell an item or my account, go to sell an item it will ask if you're the owner or I believe other is for mass selling. Then pick best category if it's a lawnmower go to garden ect. Now your making post it will give you options of default email which they recomend or the obtion of having them call or text you. Then you'll need to come up with a short popping post of course put in what your selling and any words that make it seem it's the best. Then give as much info as you can about item selling and make sure to be honest about it. There's an area that asks you who's manufacturer what's it's condition I usually skip that as it's in item description but it could help to sell it. Then theres a map so people know around where you are if you don't want them coming to your house put in zipcode of a town by you. Then it will have you upload pictures. Make sure the best one is uploaded first as that's the one that people see by your post and add the rest of pictures. Also at the beginning it will ask for a dollar amount for item. When pictures are done loading hit publish. Sometimes they send an email verifying post, but they will inform you they are. If they do make sure to go to email and verify it as item won't post till you do. Post will automatically delete after a month to 45 days it comes inactive first so you have option of reposting it. If you want to delete or modify posting sign into craiglist account and touch on my account and all your active and inactive posts are there touch on either delete post or edit. It's very simple and easy to do if you forget to fill in say asking price when you go to publish post it will tell you you something wasnt filled in. I know the government was trying to pass a law that we have to pay taxes on what we sell but I haven't done much selling on eBay or craiglist so I haven't checked if it passed It sounded like it wasn't going to. Hope this helps I am computer dumb and can post on here so most people should have no problems. Terri

By Terri S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

If you want support, go to a real site. Nothing but trolls at CL who prey on anyone asking for help in the forum.

By Sebastion L.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

just set up another email account and your back on

By marla l.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Craigslist, Inc. staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

15 Photos for Craigslist, Inc.

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Craigslist, Inc.?
Post Review