We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    Craigslist

2018 CUSTOMER CHOICE AWARD
Corporate Values

Overview

Craigslist has a consumer rating of 3.61 stars from 671 reviews indicating that most consumers are generally satisfied with their purchases. Craigslist also ranks 2nd among Classifieds sites.

Positive reviews (last 12 months): 7.9%
Positive
3
Neutral
3
Negative
32
View ratings trends
13
See all photos

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

  • I'm blown away at the distance some people will drive to pick up a good deal.
  • But my husband didn't actualy go into our PayPal account.
  • 2018 Customer Choice Winner

Critical highlights

  • Or you better be armed because you either have money to buy or you have something of value they want.
  • I especially avoid any ads that don't give a business address, phone number, fax number or email address.
  • It is time for a change please, anything visual would be nice.
How would you rate Craigslist?
Top Positive Review

“Like it”

Avril K.
6/21/20

I use this service when I need to buy something very cheap. It is convenient in use. The last time I bought a used Apple watch for my husband. It is like a new.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Craigslist Flagging my Post that follows the rules 150%”

cedrick d.
7/2/20

Wow does craigslist get really retarded. Every single post I put up is flagged by craigslist before anyone can see it yet there can be 50 million porn ad and hookers and prostitution ads, what the heeeeeck....I read online forums and other people in same situation are clueless on what to do well not me you will see.

See critical reviews

Reviews (671)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

phone number (16) money (57) people (109) email address (8) time (105) customer service (6) credit card (6) ads (71) post anything (5) paypal account (2) job (73) 2 years (4)
cedrickd1
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 2nd, 2020
Wow does craigslist get really $#*!ed. Every single post I put up is flagged by craigslist before anyone can see it yet there can be 50 million porn ad and hookers and prostitution ads, what the heeeeeck....I read online forums and other people in same situation are clueless on what to do well not me you will see.
joeb1223
1 review
3 helpful votes
January 25th, 2020
All you get for posting something to sell on craigs list is trolls scams and spam. Its not worth the time to post anything. They know it, we know it sir hope they consider shutting it down. Its just a place where shady crappy awful people hang out and wait to prey. A very dark useless place.
tylerc199
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 4th, 2020
Craigslist is horrible because they let dealer's take over because the dealers pay them money, $3 and add. And if a dealer is unhappy with a private add like mine, then they will get the moderators to take it down because it's competition at a cheaper price. He'll take the ad down without telling you or letting you know and then when you reach out to the Forum to find out why it would take him down you get treated like garbage and talked down to, because those people have no life and just like to have power over people just like some police officers nowadays
tristind5
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 4th, 2020
Dont waste your time, with it now no longer being free to post and usually nothing but scams ill be sticking to facebook marketplace
edwardm652
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 14th, 2020
Craigslist still promoting sex & sex trafficking under "missed connections"! I have reached out several times and no response at all.
wilbers13
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 16th, 2020
I requested a female driver ed teacher so I could regain my drivers license. these craigslist owners immediately put a male responder to my ad and tried to convince me males are better for me. I can now understand why because san farancisco is the biggest gathering of gay people in the world. I will never post on craigslist again

Tip for consumers: anything coed is immediately flagged

bridgetb120
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
June 4th, 2020
My ad was written like this,
I'm offering a wonderful 60 min massage.
My place or yours.
*******532.
Call or text the day your ready.
deekd
1 review
0 helpful votes
February 8th, 2020
I am out of Iowa. I used to post stuff all the time for sale, and look to find things. Now last year Craigslist started charging money to post. They got to be joking. Now not much is being posted so can't find anything. And if you do post something you get scam emails and texts all the time. Have used them for years now they are a joke will use different sites now.
mikec328
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
April 27th, 2020
Craigslist has become a Spam and over posting bastion wasteland. I looked in the cell phone section and 90%
of ALL ads are one guy over-spamming his ads w useless titles.. hundreds of the same ad.
A waste. craigslist does nothing about these schmucks
I have moved on to faceb marketplace
davida1757
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 18th, 2020
Now Craiglist had decided millions of dollars in advertising isn't enough. They are charging owners to post listings. Very greedy company.
avrilk4
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
June 21st, 2020
I use this service when I need to buy something very cheap. It is convenient in use. The last time I bought a used Apple watch for my husband. It is like a new.
susans1971
1 review
0 helpful votes
April 7th, 2020
This site sucks 110%. They leave moronic nitwits power to flag and remove honest ads to rid the competition. You can't post ads a couple towns away. WTF???? This is the dumbest selling site ever. Follow their guidelines......flagged!!!! Post an ad.......flagged!!!!! I'm sick of it!!!!!!! That's why the Legal Beagle team that took on PetSmart (soon to close) and other corporations is on the case against Craigslist. The wrath coming will end Craigslist. Let's hope someone will create a site similar that doesn't flag or remove posts. Flagging a ad that's for a few towns over is nuts. Die Craigslist!!!!!!! Soon you will, go Legal Beagle team.
davids3890
David S.
1 review
0 helpful votes
May 21st, 2020
Always get flagged bs site most of the time if you do get a response it's some creepy person trying to hook up its bs
jakea65
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 18th, 2020
If your not gay your post will get flagged .They and all the sick creepers on the planet it took over .I use doublelist ..FREE and the creeps and gays have their own place to post .
billyl72
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 24th, 2020
My boyfriend and i hit a lottery number and decided ti give out free money to nearby women. We posted an ad on craigslist that any woman in our area could meet and get an envelope with money in it. No sex, no touching, just get the envelope and leave.

It got flagged immediately (because allll the Craigslist worthless horny men rather degrade women for money so they saw our ad as competition threat) .. but the ads that entend to degrade women for money stayed up running no problem

Craigslist is AWARE of those abuse degrading ads but will let them run even when flagged. They cater to little old horny men who want to degrade women.

Test it yourself, have you and some friends flag a degrading ad, it will still run. Then make an ad about helping women for FREE, it will get flagged right away

Craigslist is a MASOGONISTIC site. prospering off the degradation of women
adrianp120
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 9th, 2020
Craigslist flagged I don't like this page is scammed no safe here I don't recommend the people I post
jigars11
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 18th, 2020
all genuine adds are removed . and there is no reason or explaination . same adds if reposted are removed
johnh3778
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 21st, 2020
DL gay married men preying on trannys & hetero men, crossdressers pedophiles, Sex addicts this is what Craigslist missed connections section is all about, Craigslist should rename their :Missed Connections section to,
LOSERS section
vicc8
3 reviews
4 helpful votes
December 7th, 2019
THE MAN WHO WORKS FOR CRAIGSLIST POSTING CAR ADS HAS BUILT A FULL TIME BUSINESS POSTING SCAM CAR ADS 24/7 IN 3 STATES IN THE SOUTH EAST. SINCE HE WORKS FOR CL HE WONT FLAG HIS OWN SCAM ADS. NOW AFTER I REPORTED THIS TO HOME OFFICE IN SF. CA. HE WILL ONLY FLAG ONE OF HIS SCAM ADS AFTER IT HAS BEEN UP LONG ENOUGH TO HARVEST A BUNCH OF OUR EMAIL ADDRESSES. TODAY HE FLAGGED ONE AD AND IN 15 MINUTES HAD POSTED A NEW AD IN 3 STATES WITH 3 DIFFERENT PHONE NUMBERS AND THIS AD HAD BEEN FLAGGED AT LEAST 10 TIME. HELP ME DRIVE THIS BOTTOM FEEDING DEAD BEAT OF CL

Tip for consumers: REPORT THIS FRAUD TO THE FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION EVERY DAY LIKE I HAVE BEEN DOING FOR THE LAST 2 WEEKS

johnw1956
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
October 22nd, 2019
I made an ad on Craigslist so that I can find homes for my puppies it clearly says that rehoming pets for a small fee is okay and that is exactly what I'm trying to do but for some reason Craigslist keeps flagging my post before it can even be put up in the list this is really frustrating i need this fixed as soon as possible

Tip for consumers: Use Market Place

jamesb2438
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 21st, 2019
Pathetic site now scammers by the dozens bad sellers bad buyers very ignorant people posting no control by craigslist what so ever the site is a JOKE!!!! My rating is not a one it's a ZERO!!!
laurelb38
1 review
0 helpful votes
October 18th, 2019
I wasted so much time setting up an account with craigslist, and putting an ad to sale my Mom's house, only to have it deleted for no reason within a few days. I wasted more time trying to figure out what happened to my ad, only to find out that craigslist makes a regular practice of ghosting people's accounts with no grounds. I got a couple of dead end responses to the ad. I put it on Facebook's Marketplace and I had over 1000 views in less than 24 hours. It took 5 days to get 2 serious offers. It is now sold, no thanks to craigslist!!
jeffreyz15
1 review
1 helpful vote
September 23rd, 2019
Hello I buy and sell cars as a dealer and I been using Craigslist over 10 years you guy are charging me 5 dollars a post i see u guys became greedy I have no choice now but to post my cars on author sites that r free and great to sell on no body goes on crigslist anymore you guys ruined it 5 dollars a post really?? Wat a shame well sad to say but good bye Craigslist
rayb244
1 review
0 helpful votes
September 4th, 2019
I use to love Craigslist. But now they won't answer an email and can't talk to anyone so that leaves us no choice but to move to someone else. Normally on an ad I would get many many replies, but with their new program where you cannot put your email address in the ad you get 1 reply instead of 10; SAD No wonder Craigslist is going to the dogs. SAD used them for past ten years.
ronnya9
2 reviews
23 helpful votes
March 4th, 2018
Looking for a used car in "owner only" section. No matter what city I look at, there is roughly 30% or more fake ads, and dealers trying to mislead people. 2 year old car for $1501? Wasting a ridiculous amount of time figuring out which ads are real, and which are fake. No way to complain to Craigslist, and they in NO WAY police their own site for these leaches that are obvious! I stopped using the site, too much of a time waster!!!

Q&A (15)

Answer:

No, and DO NOT talk to the forum...trolls just waiting to attack anyone who is frustrated.

By Sebastion L.
See more answers (3)
Answer:

All you can really do isjust "flag" the ad when you click on it. It gives you the ability to delete the posting. Nothing more. Craigslist gives no way's to post negative reviews. Unless you take the ad posting and info and post your own ad as the negative outcome or info. to pass on your experience. Lots of others are doing it as scam alerts or fraud alerts. Only remember that if you do, then the person whom your referring to also can "flag" your posting also.

By mike m.
See more answers (2)
Answer:

I have posted many adds with craigslist my house, furniture and pets in the past. I am trying to post an dog now that showed up on here on the 4th of July. But all my adds get deleted use to love craigslist now I hate Craigslist. Big waste of my time every add I post gets deleted if I will selling cocaine I can understand craigslist use a funking little common sence. Don't call the customer service number thank you for calling Craigslist but there is no one here to help you. I have posted last add with Craiglist longer customer.

By sabre c.
Answer:

In order to list items I first take the best pictures I can and take quite a few as you can post alot on listing. Then depending on item I'm listing I get dementions any and as much as I can. Now you need to create an account on Craigslist and no they change nothing for you to list or take a percentage of item sold unlike ebay. When you create your account you do have to provide a valid email but they only give it out if you check the box when posting that they can, Craigslist prefers you don't give out your own. They will make an email for you item and then forward it to you when someone inquires. When I checked emails regulary I would have them give my email out and had no problems until I had a box of misc items and then I received alot of sexual messages, so I never use my personal one anymore . I due have people text me ( there is a box you can mark if you'd prefer that method of contact) working the hours I do I've always used it since that option came out. I've never had any problems with a buyer calling or texting me. I've sold alot of items some were the same item just reposted it when I got more to sell. And I've always had people come to my house and never had any problems I did have one no show. 1) set up account it works for all the different areas. 2) It been along time but I believe they send you an email to verify it's valid 3) find area I want to post in Delaware, Milwaukee ect and if it's a large city you'll need to deside which area is closest to you 4) go to area you picked say Eastern Shore get on main page I mostly use smart phone top left is a menu touch it and you want to go to my account ( make sure if they sent verification email you verified it) 5) sign into your account I believe it gives you obtions of sell an item or my account, go to sell an item it will ask if you're the owner or I believe other is for mass selling. Then pick best category if it's a lawnmower go to garden ect. Now your making post it will give you options of default email which they recomend or the obtion of having them call or text you. Then you'll need to come up with a short popping post of course put in what your selling and any words that make it seem it's the best. Then give as much info as you can about item selling and make sure to be honest about it. There's an area that asks you who's manufacturer what's it's condition I usually skip that as it's in item description but it could help to sell it. Then theres a map so people know around where you are if you don't want them coming to your house put in zipcode of a town by you. Then it will have you upload pictures. Make sure the best one is uploaded first as that's the one that people see by your post and add the rest of pictures. Also at the beginning it will ask for a dollar amount for item. When pictures are done loading hit publish. Sometimes they send an email verifying post, but they will inform you they are. If they do make sure to go to email and verify it as item won't post till you do. Post will automatically delete after a month to 45 days it comes inactive first so you have option of reposting it. If you want to delete or modify posting sign into craiglist account and touch on my account and all your active and inactive posts are there touch on either delete post or edit. It's very simple and easy to do if you forget to fill in say asking price when you go to publish post it will tell you you something wasnt filled in. I know the government was trying to pass a law that we have to pay taxes on what we sell but I haven't done much selling on eBay or craiglist so I haven't checked if it passed It sounded like it wasn't going to. Hope this helps I am computer dumb and can post on here so most people should have no problems. Terri

By Terri S.
Answer:

If you want support, go to a real site. Nothing but trolls at CL who prey on anyone asking for help in the forum.

By Sebastion L.
Answer:

just set up another email account and your back on

By marla l.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the Craigslist staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

craigslist provides local classifieds and forums for jobs, housing, for sale, services, local community, and events

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Craigslist?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about Craigslist?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business