We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
  • Bookmark

    Craigslist

2018 CUSTOMER CHOICE AWARD
Corporate Values

Overview

Craigslist has a consumer rating of 3.47 stars from 729 reviews indicating that most customers are generally satisfied with their purchases. Consumers satisfied with Craigslist most frequently mention good deals, many people and western union. Craigslist ranks 2nd among Classifieds sites.

Positive reviews (last 12 months): 11.8%
Positive
4
Neutral
1
Negative
29
View ratings trends
27
See all photos

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

  • I'm blown away at the distance some people will drive to pick up a good deal.
  • You will receive a week upfront payment as well as some money to move the van (2015 Ford Van) over.
  • 2018 Customer Choice Winner

Critical highlights

  • I was looking to speed up the process and left my phone number for contact info.
  • I especially avoid any ads that don't give a business address, phone number, fax number or email address.
  • It's just a waste of time filling out app and resumes.
How would you rate Craigslist?
Top Positive Review

“DEAL OR NO DEAL”

Ron A.
8/5/20

So let's just say Craigslist is one big gamble. You never know what you're going to get. But as long as you can read people via messages then you should have good experiences. I would reccomend this website to anyone who needs to save some cash.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“This platform is officially dead. Garbage.”

Joshua B.
6/27/21

Any legit ad is flagged on some technicality and the rest are all spammer scammers. Don't waste your time. Even posting using only the relay leaves your phone number getting bombed with spam calls. I get up to 30 scammer calls a day after I post on CL. Dump this site for good. Its yesterday years news. Washed up.

See critical reviews

Reviews (729)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

phone number (16) people (116) email address (9) money (60) time (107) customer service (7) credit card (5) ads (78) post anything (5) paypal account (2) job (74) 2 years (4)
joshuab981
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 27th, 2021

Any legit ad is flagged on some technicality and the rest are all spammer scammers. Don't waste your time. Even posting using only the relay leaves your phone number getting bombed with spam calls. I get up to 30 scammer calls a day after I post on CL. Dump this site for good. Its yesterday years news. Washed up.

Tip for consumers:
Don't waste your time. Craigsli*& is done.

Products used:
Community.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
cedrickd1
1 review
5 helpful votes
July 2nd, 2020

Wow does craigslist get really $#*!ed. Every single post I put up is flagged by craigslist before anyone can see it yet there can be 50 million porn ad and hookers and prostitution ads, what the heeeeeck... I read online forums and other people in same situation are clueless on what to do well not me you will see.

donaldt630
4 reviews
6 helpful votes
August 14th, 2020

Like all these sites online, you have to be on guard, people (buyers) will have you running in circles until the cows come home. And NEVER agree to deliver, that gives them the advantage. When you arrive at the destination, they'll start wit the usual jerkoff games to get you to lower your price. I make it a point to never leave my chair for anything off the internet until they've arrived. I have a 2 or 3 question limit before i delete them and I do not get into texting marathons.

lashl2
3 reviews
9 helpful votes
August 28th, 2021

Posted a request for friends only, specifically saying no sex or I'd block them. Literally just a friends with similar interests post. Never even made it to a live listing. They have a section called "missed encounters" and it's mostly sex workers, which doesn't bother ME, but they obviously allow them. Is it because they are "straight"? I want to see this crap site fall the way of MySpace... someone please develop a better model using their idea of a national platform, and just put ads at the bottom. No one cares about small ads at the bottom, I promise. Get paid, do better than Craigslist. They are an outdated model and provide almost nothing. Someone with computer website know how please make a better site!

Tip for consumers:
Only a viable option for bland things like buying a car. There is an opportunity here....anyone can do better than these “owners” do.

Products used:
Missed Connections

jacquelinef209
1 review
3 helpful votes
April 30th, 2021

I will never try and put an ad on Craigslist again, what a waste of time, who ever heard of a platform where your competition can flag you and get your ads removed for no reason

joeb1223
1 review
6 helpful votes
January 25th, 2020

All you get for posting something to sell on craigs list is trolls scams and spam. Its not worth the time to post anything. They know it, we know it sir hope they consider shutting it down. Its just a place where shady crappy awful people hang out and wait to prey. A very dark useless place.

edwards882
1 review
1 helpful vote
November 16th, 2020

I give up on Craigslist, use to be a good site but now they keep removing my listings for no reason. So then I have to keep reposting. Not worth it. Go to marketplace or offer up.
F---------

nancye593
1 review
0 helpful votes
May 21st, 2021

5/21 I used Craigslist to find a local mover. It worked out excellent! Not only did Larry show up 10 min. Early, he and his partner worked fast and efficiently. I would recommend Budget Moving Service in Grand Rapids. I wish I could go on his ad and rate him there instead of doing it this way.

Tip for consumers:
The owner of the moving co. returned my phone call within minutes. He is honest, hardworking and very skilled at moving. In 3 hrs. the contents of the 2 bd. rm. apt. was moved 30 miles to new home. Larry is the owner. He listened to what I needed done. He gave us the choice to help move stuff with him and his helper or they could move it all. He was laid back and super easy to do business with. I highly recommend Budget Moving Service (Grand Rapids area). He was half price of any other mover.

Products used:
a local moving co. in Grand Rapids, Mich.

BUDGET MOVING SERVICE*** (GRAND RAPIDS & SURROUNDING AREAS)

robertc1256
2 reviews
12 helpful votes
October 30th, 2020

Craigslist arbitrarily deletes ads and systematically lies about it, claiming that ads not displayed are published and visible; it's been getting away with this for more than a decade. There are no clear-cut rules about links in ads; it's suggested that too many cause ads to be flagged for removal, but even when all links to external information are removed, Craigslist continues to delete the ad, never providing any explanation whatsoever. All kinds of scams and frauds are tolerated and dealers constantly post as private owners, but I cannot advertise my own $70 computer for sale because the ad is repeatedly removed. Morons try to make out that Craigslist's problems are posters' instead.

kwasio2
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 21st, 2021

Website is full of idiot scammers from india! Complete idiots! I've been contacted by around 100 within 6 months! FIX YOUR STUPID SITE! THIS SHOULD BE LIKE OFFERUP WHERE THEY CONSTANTLY BAN FAKE ACCOUNTS! CRAIGLIST SEEMS TO BE LIKE A GHOST TOWN AND ONLY SOMETIMES YOU GET LUCKY FOR A SALE!

Tip for consumers:
DONT USE CRAIGLIST IF YOUR NOT SELLING COFFEE TABLES, DESK OR BIG ITEMS !! YOU'RE WAISTING YOUR TIME !!

Products used:
NONE

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
tylerc199
1 review
5 helpful votes
June 4th, 2020

Craigslist is horrible because they let dealer's take over because the dealers pay them money, $3 and add. And if a dealer is unhappy with a private add like mine, then they will get the moderators to take it down because it's competition at a cheaper price. He'll take the ad down without telling you or letting you know and then when you reach out to the Forum to find out why it would take him down you get treated like garbage and talked down to, because those people have no life and just like to have power over people just like some police officers nowadays

roxyr14
7 reviews
5 helpful votes
July 15th, 2021

Posting on Craigslist is a joke. You spent a half hour making an ad, only for it to get flagged and removed nearly immediately by trolls, since Craigslist let's everyone and their mother flag ads without reason. You try contacting Craigslist about the issue and they're too good to even reply. If you're lucky enough for your ad to not get flagged two minutes after you post it, you will get contacted by nothing but spammers, scammers, and time wasters. All the people who claim to be interested in buying or even taking something for free are "no shows", and aren't even kind enough to tell you they changed your mind. You'll wait around all day for people to never show up. Conversely, buying is a nightmare as well. People never respond to their ads, which leads you to wonder why they put one up in the first place if they have no intention to sell. And don't even get me started on all the puppy mill and other inappropriate ads Craigslist doesn't remove.

Service
Value
Quality
jeffr279
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
July 14th, 2020

If Craigslist can "ghost" a local ad for a Schwinn 8 ways from Sunday whenever they feel like it, then they can certainly stop giving (seriously like super-lazy-dont-even-gotta-try) hackers & cyber criminals access to millions of kids phones worldwide, who are selling their skateboards & Pokemon cards & gotta deal with this garbage: (please see pic)

Plus the usual 5 or so virusy emails in my inbox. They (CL) make billions on paid ads now, so they can fix/filter this tired scam thing easily, but seem to choose to ignore anything that involves any effort whatsoever, leaning instead on a few tired warnings nobody sees or reads, especially kids.

I dont think I've ever had this particular problem with LetGo, 5 mile or any other free site I can think of thats still around. Not since like 2000? Not even Offer up (pretty bad one btw) was all virusy & full of scam emails like CL still is. Usually only seeing this nowadays on completely unmanned or abandoned "zombie" sites -not ones that are actuallly "legit" businesses with over a billion in ad revenue. Truly disgraceful that people *still* have to put up with 30 criminal fakers for every 5 ads they place on there.

rona275
4 reviews
2 helpful votes
August 5th, 2020

So let's just say Craigslist is one big gamble. You never know what you're going to get. But as long as you can read people via messages then you should have good experiences. I would reccomend this website to anyone who needs to save some cash.

mariliac2
16 reviews
29 helpful votes
October 14th, 2020

I conducted an "accidental experiment" on rental house search and took my time to verify the public records of each property, check the owner's identity, usually cloned by the scammers, contact the real state company who actually managed the property and, to my surprise, the prevalence of the known "Nigerian scam" is absolute. Of the 37 ads on my sample, all were scams (which I reported to the FBI). Too bad: in 2016 I used the platform to find the house I live now and it was true-to-price.
Transnational Criminal Organizations are taking advantage of the American housing crisis and this problem won't go away. Craigslist should not be used for house or car searches.

catherineg336
4 reviews
0 helpful votes
March 30th, 2021

I would recommend MintonBlock and Cryptominer Solutions to anyone that needs to grow or build a very good passive income this year. I actually prefer MintonBlock because of their wider range of coins portfolio with weekly/monthly profits guaranteed. Thank me later.

Service
Value
Quality
jilla303
1 review
0 helpful votes
May 22nd, 2021

I just moved into the Addison at Universal in Orlando, FL and this is best place I have ever lived. The staff really cares about the place looking nice and clean. I live facing the pool and on the weekends it is busy but I can assure you the office staff are on it regarding residents and guests not tearing up the amenities. Everyone is super nice and it is like living at a resort. Very pet friendly and they even have a pet spa. Office closes at 6pm but they have someone that works until 9pm so the pool, technology room, and inside amenities are available. Don't waste your money on these other over priced complex, here you actually get what you pay for! Thank you staff!

Service
Value
Quality
teresaj212
1 review
1 helpful vote
September 14th, 2020

So on 09.03.2020 Jeff Dungan came to my home to see if my dryer could be fixed. NEVER taking it apart to see what was wrong with it... Listen to me tell him the noise that it made. Said that it needed a pulley. He charged me $50 for coming out and $40 for the part.= $90. Promising to come back when the part came in. I NEVER seen him again. Please be aware of JEFF DUNGAN he's a CROOK! Not a real business man******* 1:06 pm 09.14.2020 Jeff just sent me the $90... I still wouldn't do business with him. UNPROFESSIONAL

tristind5
1 review
2 helpful votes
June 4th, 2020

Dont waste your time, with it now no longer being free to post and usually nothing but scams ill be sticking to facebook marketplace

kendrear
1 review
2 helpful votes
August 26th, 2020

Craigslist will allow anyone to post a rental home on their website scammer's at best! They do not have safety measures in place to identify these people that scam on properties everyday. IT IS OUT OF HAND and something needs to be done!

edwardm652
1 review
2 helpful votes
June 14th, 2020

Craigslist still promoting sex & sex trafficking under "missed connections"! I have reached out several times and no response at all.

reuv
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
September 17th, 2020

I have written to JIM, CRAIG, CLIFF and the LEGAL team asking for explanation of why my ads are being deleted but they never respond to my inquiries.

In a sense i am glad to see that their days are truly numbered because you just can't a business in a free society as such.

merlinh17
1 review
0 helpful votes
September 1st, 2020

We recently purchased a 2020 Chevy Blazer from Piehl Motors in Princeton and was very pleased with the experience. The entire experience was professional and easy to make the deal. Larry Lucas was our salesperson and was professional and knowledgeable. This is the 3 vehicle that we have purchased from Piehl's and would highly recommend the experience to anyone looking to purchase a car.

tomb1549
1 review
0 helpful votes
October 11th, 2021

I have posted several times on Craigslist and have found that most of the buyers are fraudulent or scams. Craigslist needs to implement a better user verification system.

wilbers13
1 review
1 helpful vote
January 16th, 2020

I requested a female driver ed teacher so I could regain my drivers license. These craigslist owners immediately put a male responder to my ad and tried to convince me males are better for me. I can now understand why because san farancisco is the biggest gathering of gay people in the world. I will never post on craigslist again

Tip for consumers:
anything coed is immediately flagged

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

Q&A (17)

Answer:

No, and DO NOT talk to the forum... trolls just waiting to attack anyone who is frustrated.

By Sebastion L.
See more answers (3)
Answer:

All you can really do isjust "flag" the ad when you click on it. It gives you the ability to delete the posting. Nothing more. Craigslist gives no way's to post negative reviews. Unless you take the ad posting and info and post your own ad as the negative outcome or info. To pass on your experience. Lots of others are doing it as scam alerts or fraud alerts. Only remember that if you do, then the person whom your referring to also can "flag" your posting also.

By mike m.
See more answers (2)
Answer:

Because the dealers pay them. Craigslist has turned into a spammers haven. There are next to no real postings left. The scammers flag real postings so their ads get priority. Its a dead site.

By Joshua B.
Answer:

I have posted many adds with craigslist my house, furniture and pets in the past. I am trying to post an dog now that showed up on here on the 4th of July. But all my adds get deleted use to love craigslist now I hate Craigslist. Big waste of my time every add I post gets deleted if I will selling cocaine I can understand craigslist use a funking little common sence. Don't call the customer service number thank you for calling Craigslist but there is no one here to help you. I have posted last add with Craiglist longer customer.

By sabre c.
Answer:

In order to list items I first take the best pictures I can and take quite a few as you can post alot on listing. Then depending on item I'm listing I get dementions any and as much as I can. Now you need to create an account on Craigslist and no they change nothing for you to list or take a percentage of item sold unlike ebay. When you create your account you do have to provide a valid email but they only give it out if you check the box when posting that they can, Craigslist prefers you don't give out your own. They will make an email for you item and then forward it to you when someone inquires. When I checked emails regulary I would have them give my email out and had no problems until I had a box of misc items and then I received alot of sexual messages, so I never use my personal one anymore. I due have people text me ( there is a box you can mark if you'd prefer that method of contact) working the hours I do I've always used it since that option came out. I've never had any problems with a buyer calling or texting me. I've sold alot of items some were the same item just reposted it when I got more to sell. And I've always had people come to my house and never had any problems I did have one no show. 1) set up account it works for all the different areas. 2) It been along time but I believe they send you an email to verify it's valid 3) find area I want to post in Delaware, Milwaukee ect and if it's a large city you'll need to deside which area is closest to you 4) go to area you picked say Eastern Shore get on main page I mostly use smart phone top left is a menu touch it and you want to go to my account ( make sure if they sent verification email you verified it) 5) sign into your account I believe it gives you obtions of sell an item or my account, go to sell an item it will ask if you're the owner or I believe other is for mass selling. Then pick best category if it's a lawnmower go to garden ect. Now your making post it will give you options of default email which they recomend or the obtion of having them call or text you. Then you'll need to come up with a short popping post of course put in what your selling and any words that make it seem it's the best. Then give as much info as you can about item selling and make sure to be honest about it. There's an area that asks you who's manufacturer what's it's condition I usually skip that as it's in item description but it could help to sell it. Then theres a map so people know around where you are if you don't want them coming to your house put in zipcode of a town by you. Then it will have you upload pictures. Make sure the best one is uploaded first as that's the one that people see by your post and add the rest of pictures. Also at the beginning it will ask for a dollar amount for item. When pictures are done loading hit publish. Sometimes they send an email verifying post, but they will inform you they are. If they do make sure to go to email and verify it as item won't post till you do. Post will automatically delete after a month to 45 days it comes inactive first so you have option of reposting it. If you want to delete or modify posting sign into craiglist account and touch on my account and all your active and inactive posts are there touch on either delete post or edit. It's very simple and easy to do if you forget to fill in say asking price when you go to publish post it will tell you you something wasnt filled in. I know the government was trying to pass a law that we have to pay taxes on what we sell but I haven't done much selling on eBay or craiglist so I haven't checked if it passed It sounded like it wasn't going to. Hope this helps I am computer dumb and can post on here so most people should have no problems. Terri

By Terri S.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the Craigslist staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

craigslist provides local classifieds and forums for jobs, housing, for sale, services, local community, and events

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Craigslist?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members

See reviews as you browse with our Chrome extension

3.5
729 reviews
Have a question about Craigslist?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business