Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

Craigslist, Inc. reviews

Is this your business?
648 reviews
222 Sutter Street
San Francisco, California 94108, US
Tel: 4153995200
craig@craigslist.org
2018 Customer choice award

648 Reviews From Our Community

Service
23
Value
21
Shipping
11
Returns
11
Quality
16

All Reviews

anthonye68
1 review
5 helpful votes
7/7/18
I posted a trailer with the smoke on it over 5 times 10 minutes later you guys flag it and delete it who's how the hell are you supposed to post anything for sale if you guys keep deleting it all right swipes are starting to come a freaking joke I've tried and tried and all your dumbass just keep doing flagging it or deleting it I am done coming to Craigslist
johnm2187
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/1/18
Russian Bots are controlling or attempting to control the sections of politics and Rant/Rave in several cities across the nation. I try and report it and no one EVER GETS BACK TO ME. They also have porn posted and no one monitors it. There also has been threatening posts to form militias, shoot people and start a Civil War, yet, Craigslist just leaves them for someone else to flag. Sometimes after flagging the post doesn't get removed. Craigslist needs to get it together. Right now, they don't do squat to protect the consumer, our country our countries people!
tifffanyl
5 reviews
13 helpful votes
6/28/18
My experience with Craigslist have been good. I was able to sell a few quality items. And there are legit buyers out there willing to pay but you just have to know how to weed out the scams. Some are so obvious that it's hard to believe people fall for them. Scams are going to come from any site that is free. If you are a very trusting person then don't deal with anyone on craigslist. Don't give interested buyers or sellers your phone number right away. Communicate via email thru craigslist. I went as far as creating an email soley dedicated to craigslist buyers/sellers communication once a date & time of transaction is set. DON'T BE A SUCKER!!
craigslists
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/18/18
For a long time, apparently, Craigslist has had problems with replying to ads. My problems just started several weeks ago.

They have locked down their forums, however (my email address is apparently not good enough for them), and so, I can't echo other people who have also been recently locked out of replying.

People, if you want to post something, please put the contact info in the body of the post.

The blame for this problem has been laid on the innocent users, with comments in the forum blaming users as abusers and that's why they are getting this mysterious "something went wrong" message. I am not an abuser or a scanner. In fact, I hardly ever use Craigslist.

In my investigations, I also read that users were being arbitrarily punished if they looked like they weren't local. This matched my experiments. With much struggle, I got another, distant internet address. I had the same error when I tried near my locale (with a distant internet protocol address) but the foreign local neighborhoods actually were reply-able (with the new address).

Since this problem has been an issue for so many years, and there is a pattern of blaming the victims, silencing the victims, and arbitrarily punishing random users who look out of line, I cannot recommend this website. To Craigslist, apparently, the users are not the customers or even the products, they are the enemy, to be fought and denied service to. This insane level of hostility to its customers should be enough to put Craigslist out of business.

If you are a lawyer, I encourage you to pursue legal action against Craigslist, for their discriminatory practices. If you were wronged by Craigslist, you should seek justice.

If you know of an alternative website, please use it instead.
mitchd16
1 review
5 helpful votes
6/12/18
I cannot get any answers from anyone at Craigslist why they continue to remove my legal & ethical ads, an ad I've used for three plus years that is suddenly being removed without explanation. Poor business practice on their part. Equally frustrating, no one to contact at their home office for help. Again, poor business practice
chrisd425
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/6/18
Bought 2 pairs of cross-country skiis and a bag for under $35. Met the couple in a public place and they met me halfway. I think it was a great experience for the sellers aswell.
jeffreys109
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/1/18
So far I really enjoy the app.I will be redeeming my first gift card later this week
.It is easy to use.I enjoy taking the surveys in my spare time.I wish I qualified for more serveys
ronaldb109
15 reviews
30 helpful votes
4/24/18
I have found that ALMOST ALL advertisers on this site are phony. I think they have ulterior motives apart from what they are advertising. Contractors don't even bother to call you or email you back. If they don't even get back with you, why are they advertising on Craigslist?
harryh43
98 reviews
137 helpful votes
4/24/18
Craigslist is starting to charge across all categories for advertising, whether it's for professional services of any kind, etc. I've used it for 10 yrs as part of my advertising strategy, and have only gotten 4-5 clients over that time, so for free, it's fine to use. If they're going to charge me, I want to see the metrics of how many people view my ads, where they're from, time of day, day of week, all the professional metrics that a business would expect out of a for-profit advertising platform. Obviously they don't have that and never will release metrics like that to the public. There are lots of other free sites that are used as much as Craigslist now, which has lost its popularity over the last several years. That's where I'm going.
beatricef6
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/2/18
BEWARE of Yuliya Vlasenko as she lists puppies for sale and claims them to be pure breed and that they come with AKC Registration; however, when she receives her money she claims she is waiting on the AKC. I contacted the AKC to find out that she never registered the litter. The AKC provided information as to what I needed to do on my end; however, I want to be sure everyone is aware of this lady and her pathological lies and false advertisement. She is a back yard breeder that does not care for any of the animals and simply looking for the money. She involves her two young daughters in the schemes; sad to say but true. There are other reviews on Yelp on her and they're all negative. She lists her puppies on craigslist, puppyfinder.com and ebay. These puppies are not healthy; nor are they AKC registered as she falsely advertises.
gq4
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/31/18
I was disappointed when I saw this:

"US Congress just passed HR 1865, "FOSTA", seeking to subject websites to criminal and civil liability when third parties (users) misuse online personals unlawfully.

Any tool or service can be misused. We can't take such risk without jeopardizing all our other services, so we are regretfully taking craigslist personals offline. Hopefully we can bring them back some day.

To the millions of spouses, partners, and couples who met through craigslist, we wish you every happiness!"
ronnya9
2 reviews
10 helpful votes
3/4/18
Looking for a used car in "owner only" section. No matter what city I look at, there is roughly 30% or more fake ads, and dealers trying to mislead people. 2 year old car for $1501? Wasting a ridiculous amount of time figuring out which ads are real, and which are fake. No way to complain to Craigslist, and they in NO WAY police their own site for these leaches that are obvious! I stopped using the site, too much of a time waster!!!
jeffersonl11
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
1/11/18
This site is easy to navigate plus it is where I am earning from the products I am selling. Thanks to this company I highly recommend this company to everyone.
scotth176
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/24/17
I look for items specifically located for sale in the city and surrounding areas that I live in. I do not consider 200 300 400 500 miles with in my local area. What is the problem.? Craigslist used to be a very functional site until the geniuses that design it decided that they could make it better. They have destroyed what was once a great site to shop on. My only option is to delete it and find something else to do my shopping on. Damn them for ruining such a great site.!
kishorep3
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/14/17
VB Engineering provides services like Arc Flash Study Consultants, Osha Arc Flash Standards, NFPA Compliant 70e Arc Flash Warning Labels.

Tip for consumers: http://www.arcflashstudyconsultants.com/osha-nfpa-arc-flash-study-requirements.html

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
marinar23
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/7/17
All of the inquiries about the items I posted were a scam. I dont know how you can have this web site that encourages those people that want to get over. Very disappointed. The buyers should be vetted before getting to the seller. It does not seem that people at craigslist care.
brittanyk16
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/3/17
I've always loved this website! From being able to sell your stuff, searching for jobs, and purchasing things, this site offers it all! Not to mention, being able to make $$$ by posting ads for some companies! There's definitely some non-legitimate ads out there but there are also legit ones too! This is always a site I refer to whenever I need anything! Highly recommended!!
jamiem139
57 reviews
27 helpful votes
10/30/17
Between the creeps and criminals on this site--It's hard for me to give a good review. It's flooded with scam, spam, and creeps! Most of the people can not be trusted so if you use this site, use caution! The site is generally okay.
joannc29
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/7/17
This person is a general contractor and realtor. I would never use him again or recommend his services to anyone. He didn't start the project when he was supposed to, his work was not good. He made excuses everyday why he could not come to my property, and in the end he never even finished the job.
emmap46
1 review
3 helpful votes
9/25/17
JUST DONT GO ON THIS ITS A SCAM IT SHOULD BE BANNED I HOPE IT GETS BANNED FOR LIFE I HATE IT ITS SUCH A TRASHY WEBSITE.
pattim32
1 review
0 helpful votes
9/21/17
Room to rent at 182 Orchid Drive, Mastic Beach for $650 with many extras. Ken is actually not the owner of the property but is renting the house and in turn renting out rooms to other individuals. Found out that not only no extras but kitchen undergoing repair (with no finish in sight) no counter space and had to provide own microwave and keep in room which very small. Proved to be a very uncomfortable and bit bizarre situation. Arrangements were not suitable to either party so Ken notified that he wanted the room vacated by 1st of month two weeks beforehand. Then on the 1st when everything was removed he informed that he did not have the security deposit!! Told to come back following Saturday where yet again told not only did he not have it but he knew from the start he had spent it and lied just to get belongings removed. Now in the process of having to go to small claims court. Bizarre experience so beware of this rental..
deborahs134
2 reviews
9 helpful votes
9/16/17
Try to go to the Duluth superior site for local items. Stopped going because they allow users to ignore the rules and even removed users ability to flag! Rampant abuse on this site. Now allowing pet sales, guns, etc. Won't allow anyone to flag and put the ads right back up
zaniet
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/22/17
Saw the add, my car was hit by someone who had no insurance about 1 year ago, so I call the guy twice, can not leave him a VM cause his VM is full, so he calls me back, tell him what the issue was and he tells me to send him a picture, he calls me back and tells me the job will cost $250 asked him if he guarantees the work he said, if you are not happy with it you don't have to pay me, ok. He fixes the car like dodo... leaves all the was on the car, I'm thinking he is hiding something, I finally got him to remove the wax and the car looks like dodo.. he posted the add 12 days ago DO NOT USE THIS GUY he does not know what he is doing. He came with his "mother", which look like his girlfriend with this wig on that was not very becoming, also looks like she was hiding something??????
georginad5
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/10/17
I got a name and # from your list it was Maratone Movers their phone # is *******340.
they made an apointment to move some furnature they never showed up and would not answer their phone
samj39
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
7/23/17
Don't waste your time with this website. It is Spam Central and the number of bogus ads on this site is worse than ever. Trying to find anything legitimate on this site is a complete waste of time. The housing ads are especially bad. 2017
Service
Value
Quality
289 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No, and DO NOT talk to the forum...trolls just waiting to attack anyone who is frustrated.

By Sebastion L.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

All you can really do isjust "flag" the ad when you click on it. It gives you the ability to delete the posting. Nothing more. Craigslist gives no way's to post negative reviews. Unless you take the ad posting and info and post your own ad as the negative outcome or info. to pass on your experience. Lots of others are doing it as scam alerts or fraud alerts. Only remember that if you do, then the person whom your referring to also can "flag" your posting also.

By mike m.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I have posted many adds with craigslist my house, furniture and pets in the past. I am trying to post an dog now that showed up on here on the 4th of July. But all my adds get deleted use to love craigslist now I hate Craigslist. Big waste of my time every add I post gets deleted if I will selling cocaine I can understand craigslist use a funking little common sence. Don't call the customer service number thank you for calling Craigslist but there is no one here to help you. I have posted last add with Craiglist longer customer.

By sabre c.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

In order to list items I first take the best pictures I can and take quite a few as you can post alot on listing. Then depending on item I'm listing I get dementions any and as much as I can. Now you need to create an account on Craigslist and no they change nothing for you to list or take a percentage of item sold unlike ebay. When you create your account you do have to provide a valid email but they only give it out if you check the box when posting that they can, Craigslist prefers you don't give out your own. They will make an email for you item and then forward it to you when someone inquires. When I checked emails regulary I would have them give my email out and had no problems until I had a box of misc items and then I received alot of sexual messages, so I never use my personal one anymore . I due have people text me ( there is a box you can mark if you'd prefer that method of contact) working the hours I do I've always used it since that option came out. I've never had any problems with a buyer calling or texting me. I've sold alot of items some were the same item just reposted it when I got more to sell. And I've always had people come to my house and never had any problems I did have one no show. 1) set up account it works for all the different areas. 2) It been along time but I believe they send you an email to verify it's valid 3) find area I want to post in Delaware, Milwaukee ect and if it's a large city you'll need to deside which area is closest to you 4) go to area you picked say Eastern Shore get on main page I mostly use smart phone top left is a menu touch it and you want to go to my account ( make sure if they sent verification email you verified it) 5) sign into your account I believe it gives you obtions of sell an item or my account, go to sell an item it will ask if you're the owner or I believe other is for mass selling. Then pick best category if it's a lawnmower go to garden ect. Now your making post it will give you options of default email which they recomend or the obtion of having them call or text you. Then you'll need to come up with a short popping post of course put in what your selling and any words that make it seem it's the best. Then give as much info as you can about item selling and make sure to be honest about it. There's an area that asks you who's manufacturer what's it's condition I usually skip that as it's in item description but it could help to sell it. Then theres a map so people know around where you are if you don't want them coming to your house put in zipcode of a town by you. Then it will have you upload pictures. Make sure the best one is uploaded first as that's the one that people see by your post and add the rest of pictures. Also at the beginning it will ask for a dollar amount for item. When pictures are done loading hit publish. Sometimes they send an email verifying post, but they will inform you they are. If they do make sure to go to email and verify it as item won't post till you do. Post will automatically delete after a month to 45 days it comes inactive first so you have option of reposting it. If you want to delete or modify posting sign into craiglist account and touch on my account and all your active and inactive posts are there touch on either delete post or edit. It's very simple and easy to do if you forget to fill in say asking price when you go to publish post it will tell you you something wasnt filled in. I know the government was trying to pass a law that we have to pay taxes on what we sell but I haven't done much selling on eBay or craiglist so I haven't checked if it passed It sounded like it wasn't going to. Hope this helps I am computer dumb and can post on here so most people should have no problems. Terri

By Terri S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

If you want support, go to a real site. Nothing but trolls at CL who prey on anyone asking for help in the forum.

By Sebastion L.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

just set up another email account and your back on

By marla l.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Craigslist, Inc. staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

16 Photos for Craigslist, Inc.

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Craigslist, Inc.?
Post Review