Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Buytopia.ca

Buytopia.ca reviews

25 reviews
183 Bathurst Street
Downtown Toronto, ON M5T, CA
Tel: 416-479-9590
support@buytopia.ca

25 Reviews From Our Community

Service
1
Value
1
Shipping
1
Returns
1
Quality
1

All Reviews

alfredh49
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/21/19

Purchased an electric blanket from Buytopia, it was defective and returned, they gave me credits into my buytopia account and refused to credit my credit card. Don't like being forced to buy from them.

carriea42
1 review
5 helpful votes
6/26/18

I applied and got a Master Card through Buytopia with a 3 to 5 weeks delivery promise of a $75.00 gift card of my choice. That was MARCH 31. I sent them several emails and they give me the same run around- we will get back to you asap (they never do) etc. then they blame MasterCard for the delay. MasterCard tells me they have nothing to do with the gift cards because the deal was through Buytopia.
Horrible company, never deal with them-I hope they go under.!!!

marilyng62
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/26/18

Experienced similar issues to others. We received 'canned' emails but the latest said they are having serious operational issues and have not been able to process orders or refunds.
Going to contact CBC Marketplace.
Likely this company is closing down.

jasmineb59
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/20/18

This is so ridiculous. Was supposed to get a $100 The Bay card from them. Tried to get for 9 months without success. They offered $120 credit on Buytopia. Accepted it at last to end this journey. Ended up buying merchandise on their site as it was not accepted on the deal I wanted. Bought 4 shot glasses, one was broken, so they agreed to credit 25% of the price paid. Am stuck with 3 shot glasses... Only half of the rest of the merchandise came, very poor quality, the rest never came. After 6 months, they agreed to cancel the order and promised to give me a credit on their web site (!) and 3 months after - still no credit, only promises that it will be done "shortly" Soooo frustrating. It takes forever for them to answer emails and their phone number no longer works. Don't know what recourse I have against them but I am truly fed up! Even with the credit, I will have to purchase merchandise that may never come... DON'T GET CAUGHT!!! STAY AWAY FROM THEM!!!

iyay
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/21/18

Customer service is non existent. how this company is still able to operate in a country like Canada is beyond me. They do not have a customer service number and they do not respond to emails no matter how many you send.
They refused a deliver on an order so i asked for a refund which they agreed to but its been 4 months now and I still don't have my $638 back!

sandys155
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/15/18

I too fell victim to the buytopia scam. I bought something in November and never received. I started inquiring in the new year and I just received replies like it is in transit so nothing we can do and sorry it is late but nothing we can do. I inquired probably 6 times until I finally filed a complaint with the BBB.
Buytopia responded to me within hours and said they would refund my money but would take 10-15 days. At this point the BBB closed my complaint as they thought resolved. 3 weeks later I did not have my money so went back to the BBB and also sent Buytopia an email stating I filed a complaint with the BBB and would also be contacting the Ontario Consumer Complaint Board (https://www.ontario.ca/page/filing-consumer-complaint#section-0) if I hadn't heard within the week. I received an answer saying my money was refunded that day but would take 48 hrs to show up. It showed up 3 days later.
A lot of work but was definitely worth it! They should be shut down! NEVER buy from them!

kevinl59
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
3/7/18

So I ordered an Esso card that was "suppose" to have a Voucher and a 10c off per litre card. They sent me some confirmation thing that didn't work, people at shell acted like it was a fraud. I tried contacting them through their phone # and got a message saying " To better assist you and for quicker response times we have changed over to an email based support " how is that better, or quicker. They got back to me and said they issued a refund and it should take 7-15 business days. 23 business days later I still don't have it, I have recontacted them and they simply said "It should be refunded back to your account shortly". Called my bank, they also seemed alarmed and advised that I ask buytopia for a transaction confirmation # of their refund, however it's been 3 days and no response. BUYER BEWARE!!! Only reason they got one star is because I can't rate them a zero.

devif
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/26/18

I purchased a Buytopia voucher for a watch last September 2017.
Delivery was expected to be within 6 weeks after closing of deal. After 6 weeks I checked online on the status of the package and saw it was coming from Singapore and listed as in-transit, for this reason, I give it some extra time. I kept checking but it was always the same in transit I emailed Support@buytopia and was told they do not give refund when item is in transit (this was months after the expected delivery date). Finally, on January 29, 2018 it showed item reached Canada. To date no item was delivered to me, I kept emailing Buytopia, I was told be patient then was given a tracking number which does not exist in the system!!
Buytopia should be contacting the manufacturer to resolve this situation or they should not have been allowed to use their website to sell their produce. They should be held accountable
I have given up of receiving this product or getting a refund from Buytopia.
Devi

lisah383
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/26/18

I ordered a watch for my husband for Christmas back in November 2017 and its now Feb 2018 and I have still not received my order. The UPS tracking number they provided doesnt exist and the only customer service contact is an email adress that they ignore most of the time. Very poor customer service. I will never deal with them again....AVOID COMPLETELY!!!!!!

donaldm126
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/23/18

Ordered a product November 7 for Christmas. Never received the product or credit, Its now February! They ignore emails and don't list a phone number.

avoid.

daves292
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/27/18

I ordered three items last November and have had nothing but frustration in trying to get some satisfaction. One item received defective, second never received and third one out of business ( voucher ) You cant reach these people by phone and they ignore e mails for weeks. Now after two months they tell me I am no longer eligible for a refund. I cant beleive they can take your money and not stand behind the product they sell. I WILL NEVER BUY ANYTHING FROM BUTOPIA

katrinam39
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/18/18

I've purchased 3 things from Buytopia - all being hotel deals. While these were valid because I was assigned vouchers, I was trying to purchase a vacuum from them but got an error each time. Reading these reviews, maybe for the best I didn't buy a physical product from them.
Emailed customer service about 4 times (over a week) and no response. AND, if you try to call, it's just a recording telling you to email. I will no longer do business with a company with such poor customer service.

jm375
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/16/18

I had to laugh at the reviews saying still waiting from October/November. I AM STILL WAITING FOR 2 ITEMS FROM JULY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. "You will see them by Christmas" Oh I laughed out loud at that one :-). I have threatened legal and criminal and have pretty much resigned myself to the fact that my $80 is gone. I will try the BBB but only because I am interested in what may happen, not that I think I will see the goods or my money.
If you are new to Buytopia ......run! run as fast and as far away as possible.

noral20
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/10/18

Dealing with them since Nov 2017. Still no refund as promised. Horrible customer service. STAY AWAY FROM BUYTOPIA!!

mohammadq8
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/10/18

I ordered things back in the day from buytopia. While it would take a long time, I was okay to wait as there was not too many sites that did what they did. As time went on, their wait times got longer and customer service switched to emails and no phone number I could call. Recently, I got a credit due to the wrong product being delivered (3 months to get here) and used that towards a few products. None of those products have shown up. I sent several emails and got a short response with a promise that everything would show up by Christmas. Lo and below, nothing showed up and no response since then (I've sent emails every few days since then). It seems like this is the consistent thread of what people have been saying, and I am thinking that it may be time for greater action to be taken. If you are a new consumer, there are tons better sites out there.

debbies183
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/9/18

I sure do, why do you not respond to E-Mails about products I have paid for and never received??????????? I am still looking for 3 items NOT HERE YET

mylenec2
1 review
3 helpful votes
1/3/18

I ordered 3 items that I was suppose to get on time for Christmas on November 24th. By December 11th, I hadn't received anything so I sent 1 first email. They replied the same day not to worry... That my order was going to be in on time. Guess what? I didn't received anything yet!!! I sent 2 more emails and tried to call without getting any answers! My next step is to contact my credit card to fill a complain. I have been stolen!! And believe me... I will write my story on every review site that I can find on the web!!

Tip for consumers: Please... DO NOT USE THIS SITE!

garya63
1 review
4 helpful votes
12/22/17

Sent 3 emails to support email address within the last 2 weeks and no response. Ordered products in Oct, 2017

paulinek2
6 reviews
7 helpful votes
10/31/17
• Updated review

Just a few lines to update you on what happened when Buytopia.ca found out about my review. They contacted me to ask me to take my bad review off Sitejabber, as they were now going to refund (to my form of payment) 2 of the items that I purchased and did not receive. The other one (not received by me) apparently could not be refunded because it was shipped. (Shipped to where, I don't know, because as I said, not received by me.) So instead of a refund, they are going to give me a credit for their site. Apparently, their policy on items shipped, and paid for by the customer, can only be a credit on their site. I don't believe it! Why would I even go on their site anymore, even if they are giving me a credit. If they can't send me even one of the orders that I did with their site, do they think that I am stupid enough to believe if I used the credit that I would even GET the merchandise. They are still a lousy site, with even worse Customer Service. Compared to Groupon, WagJag, Hautelook, Zuilly, and Beyond the Rack, sites that I use regularly, they fall so far short that I will leave the credit on their site and never, never, never deal with them again. And to think, that for the sake of about $30.00 (that is about the amount credited to my account) I would have revised the review and told you all that they had indeed pulled thru with good Customer Service and had satisfied me.

Response from Buytopia S., Buytopia.ca Representative
Hello,

Thanks for the update. As a business all our terms and conditions are on our website along with the refund policy. Any customer making a purchase has access to those details even before they make a purchase so in turn they make an informed decision. We do not refund back the credit card once an item is shipped. There are rare occasions when customers do not receive their orders and to remedy that we offer a store credit refund which can be used to make any purchase on our website.

We try our best to offer a fair resolution to all our customers but if your request is something we cannot accommodate, specially when you already know (or you are expected to have read) the refund policy, the we cannot do much to turn this into a positive experience for you.

We apologize that the resolution we offered was not what you were expecting. Hope you have better luck somewhere else.

Regards,

Buytopia Support
“If I could give this site negative stars, I would.”
9/28/17
• Previous review

I ordered 3 items from this site, back as far as April/May 2017, so far I have not received one of them. They; were on 3 separate orders and, at first, when I was concerned about this site, they still had a working phone number. I was told that they would like into this and contact me within 2 weeks, well 2 weeks then 4 weeks then 6 weeks went by, so I decided to call again. Then I found out that they did not have a working phone number and you had to contact them at their e-mail address. I did that in August and was told that they would be contacting the vendor to find out what had happened. Well, after that I never heard from them again. I tried e-mailing them, many, many times, but to no avail. They are "shysters". They have no intention of filling all the orders, and if you don't get yours, too bad. No customer service, no money back, no apologies. I do not expect my money back, but will keep my account open until the end of this year just in case there is something that happens regarding a credit. (I know that I am fooling myself and that this will never happen.) So for any of you looking at this site, remember the saying "if it seems too good to be true, it is", with this site. Never again, Buyotopia, there are a lot of legitimate sites out there that you can safely count on, this is not one!

Response from Buytopia S., Buytopia.ca Representative
Hi Pauline! We have sent you a private message. Please get back to us, as we would love to help you out!
Regards,
Buytopia support
kunals5
1 review
4 helpful votes
7/19/17

One of the worst company I have experience in Deal business. No customer support. no proper Response. Canceled your order without any notice. You have to call for refund. When you ask for refund call center said 5 to 10 days. when you call after 10 days then they say within 48 hours. In short there is no automated system for refund. If you missed to call them for your refund then you will loose your money. It looks like they are making good amount from people who missed to verify their refund.

Tip for consumers: Better stay away.....

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Response from Buytopia S., Buytopia.ca Representative
Hi Kunal,

We apologize for the experience you have had this time with Buytopia. We have sent you a private message. Please get back to us as we would love to help you out!

Regards,
Buytopia Support
roberta420
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
10/12/16

Both companies are terrible. Shipping is painfully slow, comes from China, and they will not replace damaged items.

Response from Buytopia S., Buytopia.ca Representative
Hi Robert,

We have sent you a private message, Please get back to us, as we would love to help you out!

Regards,
Buytopia support
robertc253
1 review
4 helpful votes
5/31/16

I ordered gel soles on April 4/16 and they confirmed the order. To date I have received nothing, so I phoned their support number several times , usually getting "your call is next in line, then after 15 minutes, " sorry this operator is away, please leave a message". Finally I got through to a person called Victor who took my email address and advised there had been a shipping problem, but it has now been shipped from China to Canada on May 25/16. They are located in Toronto, Canada and all they do is take your money and order then forward it on to a Chinese supplier and cannot do anything else if they fail to supply. DO NOT DEAL WITH THESE SCAM ARTISTS! I now will report them to BBB in Toronto but there are so many complains in there now I don't think it will do any good. Don't deal with these guys, prices look good but your just going to get sucked in and get frustrated!

renej8
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
1/5/16

To be fair, I have ordered from buytopia in the past, but this incident is the worst customer service I've had, I would not be surprised if they don't last much longer. People are not used to bad service, this is my experience. Ordered a dog collar October 11, three weeks later followed up, told it was shipped, how it was shipped I don't know, but was told 6 weeks delivery. At the end of the sixth week, not received, followed up again, told it was shipped Oct.19, it seems it is six weeks after they order from supplier, followed up six weeks after Oct.19, told in transit, one more week. One week later, no collar, told was actually shipped Oct.30, expect it mid December. Mid December told in transit, received it couple days before Christmas.
I found this product on Ali-baba for $1.89 U.S. (I paid $8) with six week delivery. I have had orders from Ali-baba and generally are 6-7 weeks.
Buytopia buys from somewhere in the Netherlands, my guess is that this may be a middle man situation because the Ali-baba collars are identical.

sourg2
15 reviews
31 helpful votes
11/15/15

Over $400 in purchases: messages sent to various dealers. No responses.

spanishprides
5 reviews
9 helpful votes
12/17/12

I have had nothing but GREAT experiences w/this website. I buy vouchers from them knowing that "if" I every have a problem w/any of my purchases they will b on it immediately even while ur on the ph w/customer service.
I've only had 1 issue & when I called them they contacted the company while I was on the ph & I received my item 7 days later. ..
I LUV BUYTOPIA!!!!!!!!

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Buytopia.ca staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Buytopia.ca?
Post Review