We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
  • Bookmark

    American Furniture Manufacturing

American Furniture Manufacturing

Is this your business?
21 reviews
Corporate Values

Overview

American Furniture Manufacturing has a consumer rating of 1.29 stars from 21 reviews indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. American Furniture Manufacturing ranks 405th among Furniture sites.

  • Service
    1
  • Value
    2
  • Shipping
    2
  • Returns
    2
  • Quality
    2
Positive reviews (last 12 months): 0%
Positive
0
Neutral
0
Negative
1
View ratings trends
3
See all photos
How would you rate American Furniture Manufacturing?
Top Positive Review

“I'm looking to see if it has a warranty on the furniture I just bought”

Sandra J.
5/25/19

I'm trying to find out how do I get a warranty do I get it from the store. Or do I have to set an off of the warranty.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Worst quality!”

Jeni W.
10/18/20

I have a sectional. Within 2 months of using it, the "bonded" leather, or paper thin pleather, is peeling off like crazy. I've never owned such a piece of crap furniture. The pillows are covering even more peeling areas.

See critical reviews

Reviews (21)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

jeniw9
1 review
0 helpful votes
October 18th, 2020

I have a sectional. Within 2 months of using it, the "bonded" leather, or paper thin pleather, is peeling off like crazy. I've never owned such a piece of crap furniture. The pillows are covering even more peeling areas.

connies607
1 review
1 helpful vote
April 19th, 2020

Arms on sofas & lovesats pop (cardboard), thin stuffing/lining the arms of furniture, also, sofas move around easily even on carpet.

Tip for consumers:
Ask around first consider reviews.

Products used:
Really can't see from the photos the lack of quality, and you definitely can't hear the popping arms when you place your hands on the arms!
N/A on returns and shipping, no options to deselect star once pressed.
Purchased from Gardner White in Michigan 2019.

Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
rickl301
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 4th, 2021

Little over a year ago, i bought what I thought was a real nice Sofa Bed, for my spare bedroom. Two or three times a year my Sister inlaw comes over from Tucson. Stays for a week, then goes home. She is 60 yrs old. Any way, she came for Thanksgiving, She sat on it. The leg broke. Had American Furniture come out. Found out the legs were held by a staple Gun. It cost over $400.00. It looked nice, Maybe worth $50.00. I was told it was out of Warenty. If I paid them a $100.00 they would repair. What staple new legs on JUNK. I through it away. Suggest really look at what your buying at American Furniture!

kelleyd31
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 27th, 2019

I bought chair & ottoman in March 2019 at Levin Furniture in Cleveland Ohio. I wish I could show you a picture of it. My husband says it looks like a car wreck. I bought it for myself, I weigh 120 Lbs. & it looks like it was an elephants chair. It is going to the curb this week. In the trash in less than a year. Levin Furniture shame on you for carrying such garbage.

caroleh80
1 review
0 helpful votes
August 20th, 2019

I purchased 2 love seats and a sofa from Breault & Martineau in St-Bruno, Quebec, what pieces of crap is AFM ponding off on us, there is no finishing of the fabric on all 3 pieces, the underlay is not properly sewn, I just bought this $#*! in May 2019 and already looks like it's been used and abused for years, I WANT MY MONEY BACK! 2050. 00$

jeannettew15
1 review
0 helpful votes
August 21st, 2019

This is a very cheap piece of furniture. The pleather is very poor. The workmanship is poor. Especially for the price, that they was asking for. I will never again buy anything from this cheap building manufacturing company.

sandraj180
1 review
0 helpful votes
May 25th, 2019

I'm trying to find out how do I get a warranty do I get it from the store. Or do I have to set an off of the warranty.

suzanned118
1 review
0 helpful votes
October 17th, 2018

Purchased a sofa from Boscov's, little did I know that it was junk. After 2 years the "leather" is peeling from one arm of the sofa for no apparent reason. Tried calling the manufacturer, but there is no answer from this company. Called Guardian the Protection plan but the flaking "leather" is not covered - no surprise. Terribly upset with the workmanship and the response from both Guardian and Boscovs

fredf202
1 review
2 helpful votes
March 1st, 2020

Bought 2 recliners from big lots and one is stilling going ok with my gentle 120lb wife's exclusive use. The other one was doing ok untill I fell asleep in it one time. (280lbs) when I awoke the arm was pushed out 2" and the footrest was bent. When I flipped it over I found it has some thin steel support and cheap utility osb combined with decent laminated plywood. The cheap stuff gave out. The material covering is fine. I am writing to them to see if they make a stronger model and if so might try them again. But in the future I will be flipping furniture upside down for inspection before purchase. I also feel I'm not that upset because I paid big lot price not furniture store price.

jm392
1 review
4 helpful votes
July 21st, 2017

Purchased sectional made by AFM. Few months later the arm of sectional on one side just fell apart completely. Framing was defective. AFM 1 year frame warranty is worthless since they claim that any frame issues are not a result of normal wear and tear and refuse to honor their warranty or fix their shoddy craftsmanship. It failed while my arm was resting on it! If you want to spend a lot of money on junk furniture made by a dishonest company, then AFM is for you. BEWARE!

sherryw92
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
February 7th, 2019

Have the sofa less than two years and the seams are coming apart. Nothing but JUNK, the replacement won't come from your company.

veronicar45
1 review
4 helpful votes
February 18th, 2018

I purchased a Sofa in November and when my daughter came home for Christmas break it was ruined. She flopped down like any teenager/young adult would and all the springs went out of whack! I called the company and not only were they unkind, unprofessional, and unknowledgeable, they made no attempt to help me. I will have to pay someone to fix the springs. I wish I would have researched this company in advance. If you are thinking about buying from this manufacturer, think hard and long. The Sofa I replaced had survived many years, many family reunions, many children and many nights used as a bed. After over ten years it was replaced with a real piece of junk.

heatherm198
1 review
3 helpful votes
November 2nd, 2017

I bought 2 chair and a half recliners. Within 6 months they started falling apart and within 9 months we ccontacted them and they didn't replace them but are sending parts to fix them. The whole reclining mechanisms are warped and broken and the chairs are coming apart. Also the staples were sticking out everywhere in the back.

This is a cheap company that doesn't take any pride in their work and doesn't mind inconveniencing their customers once they get your money. They don't care about their reputation. It's pure junk and I spent my hard earned money when I could have bought something quality for the same price elsewhere.

Ashamed to say they're made in America.

melissam168
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
January 7th, 2017

It's Junk! Just got a sectional that we waited two months for 2 of 4 toss pillows have holes and one the seam is inside out. Big hole in the seam and staple showing at the front of the couch! JUNK. Ashamed it's American made!

thomast104
1 review
3 helpful votes
September 28th, 2017

AFM makes the worst damn furniture and then won't stand behind their products. Bought a loveseat recliner that has completely fell apart and there answer to me was go back to the store and see what they will do for you, what terrible company backing

waynej29
1 review
4 helpful votes
April 15th, 2017

I purchased 3 pieces from BIG Lots! All have recliners. The couch is 2 recliners oversized and the are very poorly constructed. The oversized chiar hasn't broke yet but it's barely used because it's so uncomfortable when in the reclining position. Actually all of the recliners are uncomfortable very uncomfortable in the reclining position. There is a wood beam that cuts into your back when reclined on all 3 pieces! I'm very unsatisfied with the quality. I paid over $2000 on all 3 pieces! I'll never buy furniture from this company again!
Thanks
Wayne Jackson
*******962

suef26
1 review
3 helpful votes
January 31st, 2017

First $25 K table came in months late in wrong boring stain color And top was scratched up.
Second 40 K table came in weeks late and still wrong boring stain color

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
tiffanyl41
1 review
5 helpful votes
February 17th, 2017

I'm e -mailing you again, about the purchase of a new couch I have made recently. I have pictures that I would love for you to see. The arms are in 5 sections and the end of one was broke not once but twice. I am in the process of contacting for 2 news. Thanks

raneeb
1 review
3 helpful votes
October 4th, 2016

I bought a couch loveseat and chair after 1 year all the springs in the cushions started to pop through and the material is worn through i purchased all 3 pieces at jc pennys and they told me it was a manufactoring problem and wouldn't have anything to do with it so now I'm stuck because it's out of warrenty i will never buy another american manufactoring products again and i will not recommend this company to anyone

janeeni
1 review
4 helpful votes
December 4th, 2016

I purchased an AFM recliner from Big Lots last year. Within a few months, one side of the chair's frame came apart. I stuff pillows along the sides to make it useable but it is very disappointing. I will not purchase from this company again.

kayer3
1 review
7 helpful votes
April 20th, 2016

We purchased a red sofa and love seat in bonded leather from JMP Furniture in Gulfport MS. The furniture was made by American. The first set was damaged and replaced by JMP. They were very cooperative but it did take a long time to get a new set. The 2nd love seat was damaged. Again replaced in time but not timely fashion. The 3rd love seat lasted awhile when the color started coming off and the seat on one side bunched up where you sit. The other seat on the other side broke down. Yet another love seat was delivered with damage of cuts & scrapes and the color is wearing off. Now a completely different set is supposed to be delivered in a different fabric and color that we agreed to. We are being told that there is no warranty on this furniture and JMP wanted us to pay the delivery charge. JMP Furniture said the original set we purchased was discontinued because there was so much trouble with the fabric. American advertised it's quality furniture. NOT TRUE! Do not buy their brand.

Q&A (12)

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the American Furniture Manufacturing staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

How do I know I can trust these reviews about American Furniture Manufacturing?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members

See reviews as you browse with our Chrome extension

1.3
21 reviews
Have a question about American Furniture Manufacturing?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business