Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

ScanDigital Photo Scanning reviews

47 reviews
9900 Westpoint Dr, STE 138
Indianapolis, IN 46256, US
Tel: 888.333.2808
info@scandigital.com

47 Reviews From Our Community

Service
4
Value
4
Shipping
4
Returns
1
Quality
4

All Reviews

kathyg105
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/13/17

I am completely disappointed and utterly frustrated. I sent in 19 mini VHS tapes to be transferred to CDs and an external drive (it took 2 months). What I received were awful. Most had video calibration on them with white noise and couldnt be watched. I sent them back for a re-do. When I received the new CDs and external drive (after yet another 2 months) the white noise and video calibration were gone but the sound kept going out. When the sound WAS on, it wasnt in sync with with the video. Its so frustrating to watch someones lips moving and their voice is somewhere else. I sent in my Groupon receipt and credit card charge receipt and asked for a refund of those charges. I felt another re-do at this point was ridiculous. They sent a reply that theyd look into it. That was over a month ago. So this has been almost SIX months of frustration. I emailed them AGAIN asking what the delay was and received a generic email saying I needed to reopen and reply to the request number. Aaarrggghhh!! I just sent in another email stating my frustration and asked again for the refund. Who knows what kind of response Ill get. So Im resorting to this negative review. I dont like writing them but I feel this one is deserved. Oh, and Im never using Groupon again either. I think the value v/s quality simply isnt worth it.

Advertisement
michaels549
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/11/17

I purchased the Groupon special of $16 for 3 dvd's. Now That I am ready to use them I notice that the promotional value expired on Dec. 8, 2016. So now, they have no value to me, don't bother.

rickn21
1 review
5 helpful votes
12/7/16

I sent them 20 small reel Super 8 films to be made into a CD. First I am charged $37.90. A week later I am charged $252.80!!!!!!!!!!!!!! for 20 films. Then to top it off 10 days later I am charged another $63.20. I never received prior notice of these charges. Lord knows, if I knew I would be charged $252.80 for this service I'd of had a friend come over with his Camcorder and film them while I run them on the projector and had them send my films back to me. So each film transferred to DVD cost me $17.69 per 3 minute film. I urge everyone to shop around. These fees are exhorbitant. I will never use this company again. Plus I got the old run around email back when I sent them a email telling them I thought there charges were much to high. Never again will I use ScanDigital.

lorys2
1 review
8 helpful votes
9/22/16

I sent them my VHS tapes to convert (using a groupon deal) and they charged $160 more WITHOUT my consent. (Had my credit card on file). When I called they were extremely rude. Still waiting for a manager and I'm out $160!!
And the quality of the DVDs was TERRIBLE !

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
donnaz13
1 review
5 helpful votes
8/26/16

I had a groupon and thought I would try them out with a simple smaller project before I sent a bigger one with old slides. So glad I made that decision because with smaller project, they just added more charges to my credit card that they weren't up front about. Beware of this fact, they will add more charges to your credit card!!

rw45
1 review
5 helpful votes
7/18/16

They received my tapes and did nothing for more than 2 weeks. When I questioned customer service about it, I got some nonsense about how they had to secure (?) my tapes. When I complained about the fact that they were taking too long to even process my tapes, the response was to say "we clearly state it could take so many (don't remember the number) of weeks to process your order'. Well, it's the LAST time ScanDigital gets any business from me. And for all the time they took, the finished product was NOTHING special. Next time I'll use Southtree!

kayg23
1 review
8 helpful votes
5/14/16

I used a groupon and they make you put in a credit card number for "shipping" but they keep charging you more and more and there is nothing that you can do about it. You cannot remove your card information and they wont refund you. I placed a block on my card and disputed the charges with my card company.

This is a scam and the groupon is worthless and you will end up paying the full amount anyway

if36
1 review
10 helpful votes
10/17/15

I spent $700 to get my films and pictures on a DVD and it looks terrible. I called and they refuse to do anything to fix it. I didn't even get my pictures on a DVD which of course they said they would send to me. They didn't fix any of the old films to look better so the pictures probably look awful too. They are terrible with customer service and don't care to help you out in any way. They got their money and don't care. And to top it off it took over 4 months to get the stupid, worthless DVD. Worthless Company!

alizaa
1 review
11 helpful votes
10/9/15

I used a Groupon and carefully counted out my photos. They charged me an incredible amount of money and phone calls and emails still have not rectified the situation. I would never have used them at this price!!!

mjc5
1 review
8 helpful votes
9/28/15

Don't trust your slides to this company. If something goes wrong, they don't care enough to fix it.

I rarely write a negative review but in this case it is well warranted. Service from ScanDigital was attrocious start to finish and they did not even give me the courtesy of responding to my letter to them explaining all that went wrong with my order. Alaskans beware! If you don't live in Anchorage, you are in for an even longer wait for your order because they only ship UPS ground - which, contrary to the guarantee on their website, is not trackable in most of Alaska.

To start, took almost 4 months to complete the final of my three of my orders (all sent same day to them: 1 took about two months, 2nd took about 3 months). Despite trying to charge me three separate shipping charges (total of $75), and completing the three orders at vastly different times, they held all three orders until the bitter end and shipped all three together in one box. Total shipping I did end up paying $50, acutal shipping cost for the single box they shipped me $18 (I don't mind paying a fair handling cost but $30 is outrageous and $57 would have been robbery). Repeatedly called them during over the final two month period to find out where my orders were and was repeatedly told they would ship tomorrow. Tomorrow, tomorrow, tomorrow...

When I finally received my orders, two out of three were about the quality I expected and I would not be writing this complaint if it weren't for everything else. But the third was complete garbage and is almost completely unusable even for cataloging yet I can't get a refund for the garbage. In fact, I had to manipulate one file so it would even load because it was corrupted off the disk (the scan on that one is half dark/half light). The quality of the bad order is like very poor quality copies from an old photocopier.

It has been almost a month since I sent my letter of complaint and not a word of response. Apparently they don't care which is the worst thing yet.

Image 1: corrupted file
Image 2: very poor scan by SD
Image 3: my scan of same file from years ago on desktop scanner. Much closer in color and everything to original slide.

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
Response from Ashinie K., ScanDigital Photo Scanning Representative
Hello MJ C,

I am sorry to hear you have not had a pleasant experience with ScanDigital. Unfortunately, I am unable to locate an order under "MJ C" in our system, but I would like to try and address your issues nonetheless.

Our work is 100% guaranteed. If you are sure your slides are not the problem at all, we will be more than happy to re-scan the images with issues. Feel free to give us a call at your convenience if this is the case. I hope this helps.

Best Regards,

Danny L.
patricias67
2 reviews
8 helpful votes
9/3/15

Used a groupon as others have. Quality was really bad. Film was about 45 years old so I didn't expect perfection, but much of it was so black I couldn't even identify who was in it. I think I could do better myself at no cost since I still have the projector, but wanted to save time. I ordered it 6/23 and received it 8/3. I feel as though I have thrown $300 away. Very disappointed. After reading reviews I see there is no sense in complaining to the company. They already have my money. Please don't make the same mistake I made. Read the reviews. I'm back to where I was, doing them myself.

Response from Ashinie K., ScanDigital Photo Scanning Representative
Hello Patricia,

Thank you for reaching out to us! I am sorry to hear that you are not happy with the film transfer you received. I understand that the order was delayed and I apologize for any inconveniences that the delay has caused. We try our best to get orders completed and shipped out as soon as possible, but we did have an extensive backlog of orders, so therefore, orders were delayed. As per the quality of the film you have received, please let us know more details so that we can look into this for you. If indeed this is a transfer error, then we are happy to resolve this for you with a re-transfer. Please contact us at 888.333.2808 and will be happy to assist you.

Again, we appreciate your business and feedback.

Please let me know if you have any other questions.

Best Regards,
Ashinie Kapuge
lorim39
1 review
9 helpful votes
8/25/15

Do not use this service. Waited a long time to have my order come back incorrect (same 2 hours of video recorded over and over on 2 discs - 4 hours never copied), and I was over charged. The customer service rep initially tried to tell me what happened was impossible. Told me I could get a refund, then the next email said no refund. I agreed to have them redo it, since they would not offer a refund, and that took forever again, with no correspondence about the status of my redo. Redo quality was bad....skipping video that was not happening on original VHS. Had to email them in detail about the overcharge, and email them 3 times to get an response. They finally admitted to overcharging me (which I told them at the start of this episode) and and refunded me. They pretended to be customer service oriented, but there is NO quality control or satisfaction guaranteed as stated all over their website. DO NOT USE!

Response from Ashinie K., ScanDigital Photo Scanning Representative
Hello Lori,
I am sorry for the inconvenience and the delay in getting your re-transfer completed. When we transfer tapes, we do the best that we are able to do with what is on the tapes. Our transfer does not decrease or change the quality of the tape. I am not sure why the tape came out skipping and we would like to have it double checked again. I understand that the first time it was re-transferred, it did take some time, but I can assure you to get the tape turned around in a much faster time frame. I understand that we had charged the tape incorrectly, and I apologize for this. But it has been resolved. If you are interested in re-transferring the tape, please let us know and we will be happy to get that set up for you.
Best Regards,
Ashinie Kapuge
jacquec2
1 review
7 helpful votes
7/26/15

What a terribly run company!! Extremely expensive and slow. It took soooo many months to get my order processed. I had to call several times just to get them to do anything. Then I got my order and it was wrong. I had to send everything back and have them do it again. Many months and phone calls later, I get my order again. And one of my VHS tapes was damaged beyond repair. I called to complain but no one cared. Horrible, horrible, horrible company. Go anywhere else.

Response from Ashinie K., ScanDigital Photo Scanning Representative
Hello Jacque,

I am very sorry to see that your order took 2 months to process. Our current turnaround time is 4 - 6 weeks, but unfortunately, not every order meets our estimated completion date. I apologize for any inconvenience.

I don't see any notes in your order about issues with the order so if this is the case, we encourage you to contact us so that we can try to resolve this for you. I hope this helps.

Best Regards,

Danny L.
kathyk34
1 review
6 helpful votes
4/27/15

The service was quick but not real thrilled with an additional $19.95 charge stating that one VHS was too long to fit so they used 2 cd??? Also were 2 shipping charges for an additional $9.95 EACH Really ? I had to to pay shipping to and from? Never heard of a company that does not ship their items themselves.......not so sure about this, so my $29.00 Groupon turned into $59.00 deal. quite a difference for me .

Response from Ashinie K., ScanDigital Photo Scanning Representative
Hello Kathy,

I cannot locate an order in our system matching that information under your name so I cannot reply with specifics, but I am more than happy to provide general information.

We do ship UPS Ground for $10 flat rate, within the continental U.S. This is stated on our order form under shipping options. Although you do not have to use one of our shipping options to ship in your materials, all orders are returned via UPS. It sounds like when you placed your order online you chose to use our inbound shipping option, and we did ship your materials back to you using the same option.

Our video transfers are also charged per tape, 2 hours or less. Tapes over 2 hours are charged as an additional transfer for every 2 hour block of time. You will also find that clearly stated on our video pricing page. Here is a link, if needed: http://www.scandigital.com/film-and-video-pricing.php

I am sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied with our service, but I am glad you received your completed media and at least got to enjoy the $71 Groupon savings on your order.

Best Regards,

Danny L.
joyd19
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/23/15

I was very impressed with the service from scandigital. they kept me informed of the progress by email and at my request held the DVDS, until I had returned from my holiday.am really enjoying the DVDS---much better than VHS tapes!!!m

Response from Ashinie K., ScanDigital Photo Scanning Representative
Hi Joy!

Thank you very much for trusting us with your precious memories. We are very happy to hear how pleased you are with the final product and we really hope you continue to enjoy them for many years to come!

Feel free to contact us should you have any questions about your most current order, or if you need any help with a new order.

Best Regards,

Danny L
brutef
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
3/2/15

Took FOUR MONTHS to get a refund processed from these people. They reply with flowery emails promising action BUT IT DOES NOT HAPPEN.
DO NOT DEAL WITH THEM!!

BUYER BEWARE

Response from Ashinie K., ScanDigital Photo Scanning Representative
Hello Brute,

I am sorry to hear you are not happy with our service. Unfortunately, we do not have any customers by this name in our system so I am not sure if this is for the proper company, but if a refund fell through the cracks with us, I apologize for any inconvenience.

Best Regards,

Danny L.
daniellem23
1 review
4 helpful votes
1/5/15

Terrible company!!!

I used a Groupon to have photos put on a CD, I am out of work at the moment so I thought it would a nice inexpensive gesture to have some of my moms photos put on a disc for her. Before purchasing I called and asked about how many photos will the Groupon cover. I was told up to 1000. I sent in about 200 thinking I would be safe. Apparently I was wrong... At checkout I had to make payment of $10 for a shipping label which I expected. What I wasn't expecting was that same card to be charged an extra $160 without my consent. When I called to cancel the order and get a refund they just kept repeating that they cannot refund me because services were rendered. So when I asked to speak to a manager I was told they were unavailable. A little later I got a call back from the agent I was speaking to saying that in good faith they will credit me 20%. Which is crap seeing as they withdrew my account so the 20% was just covering my overdraft fee. To someone out of work every little bit counts. I asked to speak to the manager again and of course they were still unavailable. I called back and low and behold still no manager available, how convenient.

To make things worse I received the CD and they claim if you bundle your photos they can make separate folders, which they did but they mixed up the photos in the different folders.

Now it's a month later and I still haven't received my 20%. I called and was told that billing is behind but they will expedite my credit since I called. Funny how billing wasn't behind when it came to charging my card...

Response from Ashinie K., ScanDigital Photo Scanning Representative
I am sorry to hear you have had a negative experience with ScanDigital. I believe there is a bit of a misunderstanding as to who would have told you that $100 covers 1,000 photos, as the Groupon says you can use the $100 Groupon towards a bulk order of 1,000 or more images, and we charge per item.

I do believe there is other services that provide such pricing as they throw the photos through a feeder, but we hand scan all items here. It is possible, as we see it happen a lot, that you could have mistakenly called the wrong company before placing your order with us.

Again, I apologize for any inconvenience, but I hope this clears things up. Here is a link to our pricing page which can be found straight on our site if you would like more information. http://www.scandigital.com/photography-pricing.php.

Please note, we do try to scan all images in order received, but this is not always something that is just automatic for all orders, if the customer does not specifically request it, and it is not clear within the materials.

Best Regards,

Danny L.
susanf34
1 review
7 helpful votes
12/15/14

Will never use again, would not recommend. Customer service was poor, communications were slow and also conflicting amongst multiple people. Scared to even look at the quality of my dvd's at this point. Sent in 5 tapes (per Groupon) and one could not be used because it had "mold" on it. Ok that's fine - but don't charge me for TWO additional dvd's since one was over 5 hours, charge me for ONE, and how about a heads up before you go ahead and just take that incorrect charge out of my account?

How about giving me a call to resolve my concerns instead of responding to a negative review? When I asked to speak to a manager everyone was "in a meeting" and no one has reached out, yet someone sure is quick to respond to an online review. Just another example of poor customer service. Still waiting. . .

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
Response from Ashinie K., ScanDigital Photo Scanning Representative
Hello Susan,

I am very sorry to hear you are not happy with our service. Groupon does provide you an example of things that can be transferred using your Groupon, but those are not the full details. It is just an example. We ask that you only send in what you would like transferred, based on our pricing.

We try to clearly state our pricing on our page, and this includes tapes that are over 2 hours. Again, I apologize for any confusion, but I do hope you are pleased with the final product.

Best Regards,

Danny L.
andrewm119
1 review
10 helpful votes
11/25/14

IMPORTANT. They charged my credit card without my permission and misled me on the estimated cost. They estimated the cost to complete my order and the final charge was $69 more than they estimated. Did they call me to ask permission? NO. Did they offer any solutions when I phoned them to discuss the charges? NO. I believe they are using the Groupon deal to drive traffic/customers...then charge them exorbitant fees to make more $$. It's really too bad as their work is quality, but based upon my one and only experience, they can't be trusted.

Response from Ashinie K., ScanDigital Photo Scanning Representative
.

Hello Andrew,

I apologize for any confusion. Our pricing is clearly stated on our website, and we only processed what you sent in. Under our Terms & Conditions we ask that you only send in what you would like processed, and by accepting them, you are giving us permission to charge for the work done, which is only what the customer sends in.

That said, I am sorry to hear you had a negative experience with ScanDigital, but I really hope you are pleased with the final product.

Best Regards,

Danny L.
richardr48
1 review
6 helpful votes
10/6/14

Really bad company, We sent in movies back in July 2014 for a surprise 90 party for my Mom, they can't even tell me where they are, just praying they aren't lost. October,2014

Response from Ashinie K., ScanDigital Photo Scanning Representative
Hello Richard,

I am very sorry to hear you have had a bad experience with ScanDigital. I do not have any uncompleted orders for any Richard R. in the system. Can you please provide us with an order ID or a different name if the order is not for you? We will be more than happy to look into this for you.

Best Regards,
Danny L.
888.333.2808
yaseminc
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/27/14

You guys are AMAZING!!! I am so glad I found your service. I just wanted to let you all know how happy I am with my photo disc. The digital images look so clean and I can finally get rid of these bulky photo albums. I cannot thank you guys enough, but I will recommend you to all my friends and family!! My video tapes are next!! :)

Tip for consumers: From reading all of these reviews, I would suggest calling before sending in your stuff or taking the time to actually review their pricing page. I did not use a "Groupon" with my order, not sure what that is, but I can only imagine this would solve your problem.

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
Response from Ashinie K., ScanDigital Photo Scanning Representative
Hi Yasemin!

Thank you very much for being a valued customer. We are very glad to hear how pleased you are with the final product and really appreciate you taking the time to provide your experience with everyone.

I completely agree with your "Tip for consumers" and I think it will really help many customers in the future.

Thank you again for your review and we hope you continue to enjoy your newly digitized memories for many years to come!

Feel free to contact us with any questions or if you need help with a future order.

Best,

Danny L.
jonb46
1 review
7 helpful votes
8/9/14

Totally unprofessional. Three attempts at the same material and still garbage.

I submitted a job to scan slides and they took over two months and came back not to my request which they had agreed; no cropping or color correction. Additionally the scenes were very dark.

I sent them back and they took another month and only rescanned 6 slides.

The third attempt and the scans have a heavy blue cast which is not in the original and they are also scanned too dark.

This service is exceptionally poor and they cannot perform the basic scanning service.

Response from Ashinie K., ScanDigital Photo Scanning Representative
Hello Jon. I am very sorry for any inconvenience with your transfer, but we really appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. This sounds like a very easy correction and something we could definitely do for you, so I don't know why it was not done properly the first time. I see from the order notes that your materials were re-transferred a third time. I am not sure if this corrected the issue for you, but if not, I ask that you consider sending back the slides and I will personally make sure they are properly scanned as to your specifications. Again, I am really sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused, but I look forward to the opportunity to make you a satisfied customer.
barbarah37
1 review
10 helpful votes
6/16/14

Using a Groupon, I sent Scan Digital many family photos to be digitized, including several 8x10s. Several weeks later I got back the disk. The photos were scanned improperly so they are all underexposed. But worst of all, they lost my irreplaceable 8x10s and they are not on the disk. Several calls to the company have not produced any result other than they "can't find the photos." This is a horrible company who pretends to give good customer service by including little thank-you notes with your order. Bull$#*!. I am heartsick over this.

Response from Ashinie K., ScanDigital Photo Scanning Representative
Hello Barbara,

I am very sorry to hear you have had a negative experience with ScanDigital. The safety of our customer's materials are our top priority. I assure you that our entire process is very airtight.

All orders are individually scanned upon arrival and only one order is checked in at a time. All materials are inventoried and placed in a secure bin which is sealed and only opened by the technician that will be processing that specific order. Each order is then securely sealed in the bin once again and gets processed by Billing and finally your order is shipped. Emails are automatically sent out every step of the way.

Unfortunately, it looks like the images you are missing were never checked in, and this is why they were never scanned and are not in your completed disc. However, as a courtesy, we did open a full investigation and looked through our entire warehouse for your materials to ensure we did everything we possibly could to make sure the photos were not here. Since the images never arrived here and were not checked in, we did not have any luck finding anything under the description of your missing images. I apologize for any inconvenience.

I do hope that your images came up at your location.

Feel free to contact us with any questions you may have.

Best Regards,

Danny L.
susani
1 review
10 helpful votes
6/11/14

Don't want to bore anyone reading all these reviews but my story is basically the same: sent in 6 VHS, waited forever, got 6 DVDs and 6 VHS back but all were mislabled, unfinished, and one wasn't even mine!! Multiple phone calls talking to different people every time and they never found my VHS. Gone forever!! I hope Groupon knows just how bad this company is and never accepts an offer from them again. Horrible service, practically nonexistent customer relations, and LIES!!

Response from Ashinie K., ScanDigital Photo Scanning Representative
.
Hello Susan,

I am really sorry to hear of your negative experience with ScanDigital. Please provide me with an order ID and I can look into this further, or give us a call at 888.333.2808. Once I have the full details of this situation I can follow up with you.

Best Regards,

Danny L.
treyh11
1 review
4 helpful votes
6/5/14

Though there was a hiccup with the application of a Groupon to my first order (quickly remedied with an email to them), I was very pleased with the service. The quality of the digitization of slides came back clean and crisp. I was impressed with the handling--slides were meticulously returned to the boxes in which they were packed. I received my DVD / slides back approximately within the 8 week estimate range.

Also, I apparently entered a digit incorrectly on my address when placing the order. Not to worry, I received a call on my cell that the package was returned to SD, and asked to re-enter or provide another address. Keeping track of priceless slides is important, to say the least. Even when I goofed, SD had my back.

Nicole at customer service helped me re-route my package and also correct my Groupon issue. Kudos.

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the ScanDigital Photo Scanning staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

7 Photos for ScanDigital Photo Scanning

From the business

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
ScanDigital Photo Scanning?
Post Review