SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government’s NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of HomeAway

HomeAway reviews

Is this your business?
752 reviews
7%
1011 W. Fifth Street, Suite 300
Austin, Texas, USA
Tel: +1.5126841100
csong@homeaway.com
This business is not yet responding to reviews. If this is your business claim it and respond free.

752 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
80
Value
70
Shipping
20
Returns
33
Quality
61

All Reviews

jayg70
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/23/17

This site posts prices for rentals but when you try to book, the owners either send you an updated price which has increased by a huge amount or they send you to other, more expensive bookings on other sites. Terrible site! Don't waste your time.

Advertisement
patu5
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/23/17

This Jan I went to LaVista Azule in Turtle Cove in the Turks and Caicos.I stayed in 204 at the resort for two weeks.The resort had 2pools one heated and one not They also have a hot tub.The grounds were well kept and the staff were helpful.The owner Steve was great throughout the rental and Tina was the best They give you a cell phone to use durning your staMake sure you ask Tina how to get additional minutes.This unit located in building 2 number 204 had an elevator that is helpful when you have baggage and groceries because some of the other buildings doesn't and there are a lot of steps to some of the other buildings So do ask about an elevator if you want more roomThis room is for 2people and is clean and well appointed.The best part is the large balcony great! The bed was very comfortable and Tv had a lot of choices The kitchen is well eguiped and was stainless steel appliances with granite countertops For places to eat I would recommend La Bouchard excellent then just a 10minute walk to the marina was Mango Reef try their escargot the best is 6classjc and 6 done in a garlic cream sauce The best since I lived in Paris.For local food and also Chinese menus try the local favoriteChinsond Grill shack on the leeward highway great Caribbean and also some Chinese
food. Great inexpensive place to sit inside or out The best French food was at Le Bouchon du village in Regents Square aGreat Steak au Pouvire with frites best outside of France this young chef owner has everygoing for it crowded so make a reservation.Stay away from any restaurant that gives out mosquito spay one testurant has u siting outside under a lot of palm trees and people have a problem with the mosquitoes biting their legs.Remember Zika only had 24. reported cases as of Jan but it's always wise to bring off or something of similar nature with youI went to Turks and Cacios instead of Puerto Rico because of that reason now there are numerous water activ s avaible You don't have to book anything on line before you go Wait till you get there and see what the winds are doing before you snorkel or parasail You can snorkel for free in Turtle Cove at Smiths Reef or Coral gardens acess. road Just bring a chair and umbrella you can rent one from nearby hotel for 10$ a chair and 20$ umbrella per day Steve provides 2chairs And snorkel equipment but I always bring my own mask just to be surLastly you will need a car to go to Chalk Bay.This was the highlight of my trip. Call Las Brisas and ask if their boat is going out they need at 4people to go out The captain and Alder were great It's a two hour trip and the most beautiful green water in the world You can snorkel there but not many fish Oprah and Bill Gates have homes there needs t to shabby!! Have lunch or a drink at LasBrisas. Then stop for dinner at Grace 's cottage make a reservation in season Every Thursday night in Turtle Cove there is a Fish Fry fun vendors music etc Must do! Lastly,you will need a car go. to Bobs just short walk from La Visita Azule He and his son are great good prices 324$ per week including all taxes and fees they will give you a ride back to the hotel. a 25$ savings right there. Well I think I covered it all have a ball certain airports you can fly direct t TCI from Boston t TCI 350$ not bad!!!! Pat Urso Ri

beverleyi1
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/23/17

I have just put my property on homeaway and received a booking, I then looked at the payment situation and my customers were charged immediately for the deposit but I won't receive anything until 1-7 days after they arrive. I have now read that homeaway don't give you the security deposit, you have to fight for it and that's the dame with the non refundable deposit. What a scam, how are they allowed to do,this?

It says on the website, somewhere very hidden that I,don't have to use there payment system and I can be paid directly but I cannot,find,out how ?

lif38
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/21/17

it is completely up to the owner to rebook your days- homeaway has no say in the owner rebooking your days or cancelling your reservation

jennyo16
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/20/17

Home Away somehow booked two reservations with my name and under my credit card. I only booked one reservation and I have been going back and forth between HomeAway customer support and Killington's Customer support to get the reservation I never booked cancelled and my money back that i never authorized to leave my account. I have been dealing with John Raimond from Home Away and Betty and Lisa the Manager at Killington Accommodations. There is no sense in urgency to help me get back $716.93 that was taken from me. I am outraged at the customer service I have received.

Tip for consumers: Be EXTREMELY cautious when booking through home away. Check your bank account daily and keep track of what they say they will deduct from your account. I've been robbed of my money!

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
kellyw104
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/19/17

We have been fighting insurance fund returns on trip and damage rentals for three units which did not work out thru no fault of our own!

HOMEAWAY is holding $800 in our credit card funds which they are blaming on the insurance they sell!
They are fingerpoint each other's Dept and have received no emails or phone calls from HOMEAWAY!

I'm sure CEO Brian Sharples loves the idea of taking money with immediate bookings and not return funds while they set in his bank account

gregp48
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
2/18/17

Well...as usual,  HomeAway customer service is of NO HELP.
In your recent response:
1.  You didn't even bother to respond to my 2nd issue AT ALL.
2.  YOU MUST correct YOUR error in service fees charged to my most recent guests.  I copy the original message here because I have ZERO confidence that any CS staff is competent enough to scroll down in a message.  Here's what I wrote:
"Our most recent two guest: Lxxx and Nxxx, have been charged two different service fees even though each of them paid identical deposits, cleaning fee and sales tax. Lxxx charged $135; Nxxx $124. Why?"
It is not merely disgusting that you have not addressed this issue...It further CEMENTS my belief, based on several previous non-helpful CS responses, that none of you CS personnel will ever provide decent, reliable, honest, or accurate assistance.
Your CS service is badly broken...I hold out zero hope you will ever make your CS state of the art, much less even competent.
I'm not finished with this matter...I am incensed and will explore ALL possible ways to express these thoughts on social media.

prakshas
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/17/17

we were looking forward to a hen weekend in the summer of 2018. We paid our deposit only to be told(wrongly)that it had been double booked. There was a long delay in being reimbursed and many stressful emails and telephone calls later,we realised that we were left almost £80 out of pocket due to the euro conversion. We have had no apology for their mistake or any offer of a goodwill gesture of any sort. This is appalling customer service and homeaway can be sure that we will be spreading this message far and wide.

davea77
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/17/17

I attempted to book the Sieber House on Lake Rescue for 2 weeks this summer 2017 but was inexplicably declined. I found the house on homeway.com, where my dates were (and still are) available. I sent an inquiry to the property manager, Kristen Merrow at Lilypad Properties, who was quick to reply and answer my questions. She indicated the dates looked to be available but wanted to confirm with the homeowner. She included an invoice for the rental in her response. I heard nothing for 10 days. I sent two emails which were followed by another two weeks without a reply. Seeing that the home was still available, I went ahead and booked the reservation on the Homeaway site, only to finally receive an email from Kristen that my reservation was declined. I asked for an explanation but again, did not receive a reply. After filing a complaint with Homeaway, Kristen called me to claim that she did try to contact me outside of the homeaway system to recommend some other homes. She claims the house is booked for the entire summer but it still shows as available on the Homeaway site for my dates and most of the summer.

I hope the property owners are able to read this review and see how unprofessionally their property manager handled this situation. I put a lot of time and effort into planning my vacations and rely on sites like Homeaway to make the search and rental process secure and trouble-free. If homeowners are going to rent their homes, they (or those who manage the property) should provide accurate information on the rental and respond to the renter in a reasonable amount of time. Neither happened in this case and that is wrong.

Homeaway offered zero assistance and wouldn't even let me post this review on their site because, get this, I never stayed at the house...right morons...that's why I'm writing the review

angelad94
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/16/17

This company have no idea. We booked a villa and paid a rather large deposit to then have it cancelled in error by the owner. However, we are out of pocket by over £70 because despite the owner refunding, we have had to pay transfer and charges due to change in euros and pounds and their charges and they have done nothing to help sort it out. No customer service and couldn't care less about us. Will definitely not be using this company again as it's not worth the risk.

robw66
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/16/17

Based on the prior comments - ours is an all too familiar experience. We also wish there were a zero rating available!

Made a booking for a Chicago apartment - money paid - confirmation received.
Exchange of several friendly emails with host - all seemed fine.
2 weeks later, the host (Ryan)emailed: do you still want the place?
We replied: of course, you have our payment as the guarantee don't you?
2 days later: your booking is cancelled, your money has been refunded (we are better off than most it seems...)
Contacted Ryan: he says " yeah, I just saw that, can you explain what happened?"
Huh?!? I'm supposed to explain?
Being generous - he screwed up...he doesnt understand the system - At worst he screwed us over and took someone he knows (the subsequent booking was forna day shorter...) But we just wanted a quick explanation and - oh, I dont know - an apology? But he has never replied since
Started the complaint process to see if HomeAway could get him to remove the booking that got dropped into our slot and reinstate us
I mean, that is what any of us would do right? Call the second booking (it was for only a 4 day weekend our booking was for 5), ,apologize for the screwup and put the original booking back in....
Anyway - as you can guess from the prior postings, the common theme from the HA people we have heard from is "how the location is managed is all on the host". NOT acceptable - they are the 3rd partner in these transactions and making lots of money off the process (one of the biggest booking organizations in the world) - they should insist on some standards towards the guests using their system.

We should have stayed with the tried and true BOOKING.COM which we have used for 25 years of travelling witout a hitch....buuuut my wife found this lovely looking apartment on HA for a little less money so we tried it. Mistake. By the way we have also kicked AirBNB to the curb due to their new " we gotta' know everything about you approach"
Anyway - going to Chicago? Avoid Ryans "cozy west loop apartment w/ jacuzzi on HA and VRBO...

jamese104
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/16/17

Worse set up ever. Paid a large amount waited 24 hrs and didn't get property. Made a bunch of calls and it was hard to even get anybody on the phone. Not sure if I'm even getting my money back. Very stressful and inconvenient. When I was able to talk to someone they weren't any help nor did they care!! Worst experience ever... They don't care I still need a place to rent and they have my money. Will never use again.

anessas
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/15/17

DOES NOT DESERVE ANY STARS........I had a horrible experience with a property manager. After contacting homeaway.com customer service to help with a fraudulent rental property they were of no assistance. Safe to say it was a big waste of my time. I was ultimatley charged and never given a refund not to mention I HAD TO CANCEL MY ENTIRE FAMILY VACATION!!! Do not trust this site! Do not book anything from a property manager named LOURDES and DO NOT book from a company called PELICAN EXECUTIVE SUITES. (My full review of my experience is below)
First off I had to CANCEL MY ENTIRE VACATION. Long story short they did not properly book my reservation and I WAS STILL CHARGED. The property manager decided to offer me a 2 bedroom for one night and the second night they were going to move me into a 1 bedroom.....I HAD 6 PEOPLE!!!! How does that make any sense?? They placed me on hold numerous times for at least 30 minutes minimum. When I finally got a manager on the phone she said she was going to email me with some options, I wasn't surprised that I NEVER received the email. Then when I called the receptionist to speak with the manager again she said the manager had left and would not be back until after the weekend.....my immediate response was "How could your manager go home and not fix an ongoing issue with my booking?" Mind you my "planned vacation" was less than a week away. The receptionist then told me that if I didnt confirm my booking I was going to lose the reservation. Did I mention they were still going to charge me FULL PRICE! Do not trust this listing! I think its a bunch of representatives who speak little to no English and con people into booking with them just so they can take their money.

Tip for consumers: DO NOT USE THIS SITE
DO NOT TALK TO PROPERTY MANAGER NAMED LOURDES
DO NOT BOOK WITH PELICAN EXECUTIVE SUITES

donnan32
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/14/17

We rented a home that was dirty. I contacted Homeaway and they said we had to deal with the home owner, and that usually just by creating a report the homeowner usually resolves the issue. I had taken pictures of the big cobwebs, leaky faucet, kitchen light did'nt work, really filthy furnace filter that we had to walk by at eye level on the way down the stairs from the bedrooms, ants on the kitchen floor, etc. I thought I deserved some money back (I spent a lot on the rental) due to unclean conditions and the home owner emailed me back saying that previous customers didn't complain and she didn't see a problem. She said to email her husband, a Lawyer, and he would handle it. She created a customer bad report on me even though I did nothing wrong. I asked her later if she honestly thought I was a bad customer and she said no and that they were cleaning up the house and fixing things.

Service
Value
Quality
carinab3
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/12/17

We booked a dream family holiday to Florida with HomeAway but due to unforeseen circumstances had to cancel.

We trusted that our booking was safe as we booked through their website and paid via PayPal, the promise was 100% money back if 30 days notice of cancellation.
We initially paid initially through the HomeAway site payment wouldnt go through to owner for some reason so they advised me to pay owner direct. They also advised me to liaise with him directly. I did and went on to sign the rental agreement as I was assured it was normal practice.

When we cancelled the owner refused to refund the money and kept the 1200 even though we gave 100 +days notice, on the rental agreement I signed it stated (in very small writing) that he could keep ALL of the money regardless of how much cancellation was given. It was never made clear that this agreement would supersede that of the booking agent. In addition the agreement was signed after payment!!!!
Home away said that the agreement superseded theres and refused to help any further!!!
DO NOT USE!! They are obviously well versed at scamming people.

calebz
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/11/17

I tried to book a cabin for my girlsfriends birthday, but I was declined for no apart reason. But my card was still charged $1,380. They eventual refunded the money, but I took almost a week. Which therefore threw off booking another cabin. Customer service was horrible, I had someone who barely spoke English.

ad7110
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/11/17

We booked in homeaway for two nights stay in Hanbi Mansions, Baguio. Four days before our date of arrival our grandfather died. We asked the owners for a chance to rebook since our group will not make it due to the death of my mom's dad and the owners agreed to rebook us but homeaway would not allow it. The owners said, we can't change the date if homeaway does not agree because they might not pay them. Homeaway gave us the usual statement, it's company policy not to be allowed rebooking 7 days before date. It was PHP23K which they will not return even on death of a family member. PLEASE DON'T BOOK FROM THIS COMPANY. Go direct to the owners/hotel.

fernandof5
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/10/17

They increase the amount of the price owners ask for rentals, to have pornografic profits.
Imoral and nasty!

christys32
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/10/17

I had requested to cancel my reservation on the same day is was made because I selected the wrong size property. I corresponded with the owner of the property and asked her not to accept the reservation because of this error. She accepted it anyway, the money was taken from my account and now I have to contact customer service to get my money back. Well guess what they will place you on hold and never pick up, they will tell you their call volume is higher than expected (NO YOU JUST DONT PICK UP THE PHONE). Good luck getting your money back.

peteo5
1 review
5 helpful votes
2/8/17

As a property owner I have been advertising our property on what was formerly known as Holiday Rentals since 2006. Brilliant. No fuss. You simply contacted the holiday maker and got on with it. Along came HomeAway. I can only describe it now as a shambles. The "dashboard", through which we communicate is a minefield and they have introduced a "service charge" payable by the guest on top of our advertised rates. For us to advertise at one rate and for HomeAway to charge a significant increase is immoral, unethical and money grabbing. They then have the brass neck to charge the property owner a fee for money transactions paid by the guest. All of this without any consultation or warning. I have spent a long time talking to their "customer support" which has been a total waste of time. Answers to questions, when you can understand them, are scripted, they are not allowed to say where they are based and no access is allowed to any form of manager. I'm hoping to find an alternative website but in any event will not be renewing my near £300 fee with these scammers.

carolw117
1 review
4 helpful votes
2/8/17

BEWARE of this company. I had reservations for a cabin, unfortunately the cabin was burnt down in a fire before I could take the vacation. The owner refunded my deposit that I paid directly to him in full. BUT, HOME AWAY gave me the run-around for over a month for the service fee that I paid directly to them.

samuelk32
1 review
6 helpful votes
2/8/17

Beware the greed at homeaway. They are trying to charge a Service Fee of 6.5% or $118 on my family cottage rental of $1,800/wk. Since they have not received any fees for weeks I have rented this year, as I have many returnees, they apparently are blocking my site from the public view although I paid them their $399 rental fee for advertising.

krisztat
1 review
4 helpful votes
2/8/17

We asked for their help because the apartment we rented out was full of mildew everywhere - the obtrusive smell and the living funghi on the walls all around the flat was evident. We have paid out the full amount in advance, and the owner refused to talk about it ("Das ist normal!"). We would have needed to move out immediately, e.g. because we had a 6-month-old just about to recover from obstructive bronchitis, and we couldn't sleep during the night because of the penetrant air.

When we contacted them, and asked for assistance in finding another flat and refund, they refused it, saying they have nothing to do with these kind of issues. Later on I found their terms and conditions, and it was clearly stated there that we would have been eligible for that - so demanded for recompensation again. They just kept on saying that mildew is a matter of cleanliness, and we shouldn't expect any kind of help or recompensation from them regarding this.

So if you think you pay the service fee for some kind of protection or service, be prepared that if you have any kind of issue, they just shake you off despite all the evidence!

Look at the photos: Do you think it's a matter of cleaning? Would you have your baby (who even has a respiratory disease) stay under these conditions? Would you let down a baby with a severe respiratory disease like this?

charmp1
1 review
4 helpful votes
2/8/17

Homeaway is a scam never got my money back poor customer service do not even try Home away! they will steal your money and give you poor customer service! you have been warned!

naimas
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/6/17

I got two fraudulent booking from home away...They collected the payment thru their site the guest was an identity thief Home away took the fraudulent payment thru the site process it as a payment. someone called and told me that there was a fraudulent person in my home. Then the credit card company did a charge back...long story the criminal guest messed up my apartment and home away offered NO compensation although they have insurance I was out this was two guest back to back...take my advice use AIRBNB or make your own site....steer clear of anything to do with HOME AWAY!

86 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the HomeAway staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
johnb801
John B.
4 days, 20 hours ago
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
judyt29
Judy T.
1 week, 4 days ago
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
See 20 more questions
See more Q&A
Questions? Get answers from the HomeAway staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

14 Photos for HomeAway

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
HomeAway?
Post Review